GateThe following message was received from someone who appears to be an abused consumer. Another helpless Barbadian consumer. BU sent a message to the mentioned company, however, we have not been able to elicit a response from Metal Craft Works.

[…]

[Redaction applied by BU]

I paid Bruce Boucaud of Metalcraft Works over $8 000 to fabricate and install a gate for me. The gate was installed in April 2014 and by Feb 2015 it was rusting. There was no zinc coating as promised and no rust proofing Several telephone calls were made to Bruce and written complaints but he has refused to rectify the problem. With the legal system in Barbados in such disarray XXXX XXXXX XXXXXX XXXXXX. I am yet to receive competent and satisfactory service from any small business in Barbados.

Relevant document: Copy of invoice

78 responses to “Metal Craft Works Accused of BAD Workmanship”

1. 8000 bajan seems like a cheap price for a motorized iron door ,one question I would ask is are there big dogs behind that big door for protection because once a dog pisses on an area it has the habit of doing it again and again. (Urine will certainly break down the metal ) Or maybe a neighbors pet. Only saying this because you didn’t say if it was upper or lower hinge and placement of motor.

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Lawson

Were it not for de fack that if i were to take pictures of the son’s gate and post them here on BU Amilcar Branch de lawyer would find which is my son house and den publish me son name and me name fuh libel

Archimedes once famously said “Give me a place to stand, and I shall move the Earth with it”

Bruce Baccu only know how to weld nice gates.

He, nor his staff, do not know nor understand the principle of how to build hinges NOR DO THEY UNNERSTAN that for a hinge to work, it has to be properly affixed in a wall or column

http://f.tqn.com/y/physics/1/W/y/4/-/-/Lever_Principle_3D.png

When you tek you ingrunt self and build a 500 pound gate and put it pun a piano hinge that cannot hold up the door pun me larder it blish to pull off and mek you gots tuh pay a nex man $500

Additionally, Bruce does only mek de gates de man at motomac does install de motors etc., and does got yo fight wid de shyte installations dat bruce does left, wid de impossible angles where leverage principles CANNOT WUK

Wunna does only talk causing wunna got a mouf right!! Wunna does go bout Barbados doah, and interact wid de peeple? all uh wunna hoighty toighty peeples frighten from societing wid de common man and woman doah so i doan expect dat and dat one Alvin who up in Eglinton Avenue, he is jes de furthurest of wunna and does talk de most pup…

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lawson….Amilcar Branche the Jamaican lawyer….he is thisclose to having has ass knee-deep in shit, because he is dishonest, sells out his clients to the highest bidder, lies to his clients, withholds evidence from the judges and the court. A real nasty piece of work that should be removed from Barbados.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That post was meant for Piece, bajans have to be warned about Amilcar Branche, I was just shown some information about what he does to his clients, unfortunately, the head of the Disciplinary committee is also Jamaican and also withholds evidence from the court so no one can complain to her about a fellow Jamaica, that is why he feels he can do whatever he likes but their are other ways to deal with that dishonesty.

Piece….don’t worry, you need not fear Amilcar, he is swimming with the right sharks now.

5. That looks like a gate I pass in molyneaux looks nice

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece….I also forgot to mention the two Bajan lawyers in the same office who coach Amilcar Branche, he’s been working with them since leaving UWI, they are Floyd Phillips and Dennis Chandler, therefore he really believes he is untouchable. It is beyond me why lawyers believe they have to treat clients like that to survive. Those three, Branche Phillips and Chandler their reputations now precede them, but Amilcar is particularly nasty and resentful of Bajans, I have personally witnessed his attitude.

Bajans would do well to avoid taking their land/property matters and personal injury cases to any of those 3 lawyers.

7. @Well Well

So far,as usual, you have not put anything substantive to discuss about the lawyer. Please do or leave it alone. We all know your beef with lawyers, any lawyer.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

No David….not any lawyer, there are lawyers near and dear to my heart. That matter is something shown to me, I do have copies, but it’s in process, I told you as soon as I can I will send it to you and I will, but I have to respect certain processes, I know you know what I am speaking about.

9. Sand blast , galvanise , apply a genuine metal primer and apply the finish paint.

If that was done correctly there would be no rust problem.

10. De Ingrunt Word,

No it was not a mistake. The second doctor was appalled that she should have even recommended me for an ultrasound. He was even more appalled that after reading the results from that ultrasound she should suggest that she “could not rule out cancer.” Something about the care she took with her words alerted me to her duplicity and hence the second opinion. Before I did this I asked my hairdresser if she had ever heard of that doctor. (Women are notoriously garrulous at salons on Saturday mornings.) She informed me of the scalpel happy nature of the doctor.

Well Well,

I have no intention of sticking my neck out here as I am tired of sacrificing myself for others who are quick to desert you when the fat hits the fire. I am still in possession of the doctor’s correspondence but I do not have her recommendations in writing and hence I can prove nothing. Sooooo…. all I will say is that her office has a habit of expounding on God in one of our local newspapers. Do the research and you will know soon enough.

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Donna….quite understanable, you have to be careful, how and when you expose and yes, some doctors can be quite scalpel happy when it involves insurance money. These days people are learning to make both lawyers and doctors put everything they say in writing, which they of course avoid at all cost. This is the second instancevi heard of a predicament such as yours.

If something is not done about those who believe themselves untouchable in their viciousness, it’s just a matter of time before some angry person, unfortunately ends up in prison for one of them, which would be a travesty, in and of itself. The situation is very bad.

12. Well Well,

You go to a doctor for a check up, a simple check up, not for any health problem. You come away with a possible diagnosis of cancer. Several years later there is still NOTHING wrong with the organ she wanted to remove! NOTHING! She thought herself so superior that she didn’t even recognize that she was up against a person of intelligence. She actually thought she had me fooled! Her story wasn’t adding up and I picked up on it.

But seriously, if you want to know who she is do the simple search for the God spot.

13. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Lawyers in Barbados are absolutely amazing. One of my peeps on the rock told me that he was brought up on defamation charges because the woman of a popular food business vendor felt that she was denied the proper cordial due to her because of her new found status. Apparently, the woman came to him bombastically demanding that items stored on her behave be removed immediately. She was respectfully informed that items in store carried a different name and unless she provide proof or bring the person on the documents to verify the ownership they will not be able to dispatch her. The woman went to the boss, who storm his office shouting loudly that she cannot deal with jackass small people. The boss summons my peep, and asked what happen. My peep told the boss nothing of importance. The boss asked him if he was sure. He said absolutely sure. The boss asked him if he had an encounter with the woman standing before him because she accuse of poor treatment and stated that because of that treatment she cannot deal with jackass small people. My peep told the boss that he could not have dealt with a pig who do not deal with a jackass. And if he wants to be label a jackass by the pig he would send the pig out to handle the matter in a civil way

14. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

I apologisefor my late entry to this discussion. I am scarcely available to comment on BU during the week. This is a matter for the Office of Public Counsel, an entity established in 2003 to provide a quick, effective and cheap means of redress for local consumers of goods and services. I myself was never Public Counsel but, as stated above, I am the current Charman of the Consumer Claims Tribunal. The Office of Public Counsel will attempt to conciliate the matter between the parties and, if there is no resolution, the matter is then referrred to the Conssssumer Claims Tribunal for a trial and decision. There is no cost to the complainant consumer and the subject matter of the claim is below $10 000, which is the limit of the Tribunal’s jurisdiction.

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Donna….therein lies the rub. Professionals these days and I use the word very loosely, believe that having a degree or a few, somehow gives them a higher level of intelligence than their patients or clients, hence the reason so many of them are in trouble right now.

Barbados being yea big, their nasty attitudes makes the rounds of the island at the speed of light, their current patients/clients become wary of them, potential clients avoid them, then they cry out they are not making money, so much for their version of being intelligent and above it all, right.

Then they try to relocate to another country when the shit hits the fan but, unlike years ago, other countries are now pursuing vigorous due diligence when they do a background checks and on the ground investigations, all the nastiness these professionals have done to patients/clients comes to light ergo, no one wants them tainting their countries. That is the end result of they believing themselves the most intelligent and looking down on their patients/clients who ensure their livelihood.

Yeah, so much for thinking they are more intelligent than everyone one else because of a piece of parchment paper. Humility wins everytime, but I guess some are overwhelmed by greed and false status. I hope they eventually come down to earth and realize what they are up against, people have had enough.

There new found status is always their downfall.

16. @ Donna
    Bushie Doctor is one of the most professional, friendly and approachable persons that the bushman knows. He is also a personal friend.

BOTH OF THEM.

Annual checkups are alternated, and so are visits for any issues.
    This way, Bushie gets to compare results, diagnoses and suggestions on an ongoing basis.
    Of course such feedback is also compared with the millions of others freely available on the internet…

When dealing with persons who stand to make their fortune off the bushman’s misfortune, Bushie is loathed to be trusting…. next thing you know someone diagnose the whacker to be in need of major overhaul – requiring that bushie sell the hut ….. when all that is really needed is a little oil change …and to stop wasting string on AC hard donkey…..

17. one time I thought I had walked into bait shop…leeches..suckers..maggots…and night crawlers but it was a meeting of the bar association

18. @ Lawson
    Most of your illusions could be addressed if you would just stop drinking.
    No wonder you thought you were going into a ‘bait’ shop – when in fact it was a Bar…
    You were probably ALREADY laced … having just stumbled from another bar…

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Bushman and Lawson….there are some really conscientious doctors and lawyers, too few lawyers in my opinion, but lately it has become a free for all, although someone told me on Friday that I only think it’s lately because I have only started in the last few years paying attention to what is happening to people affected on the island. And it is only now in the last 8-9 years being highlighted jn a public forum.

Regardless, things cannot continue as they are, injured and other people who seek redress or treatment are being targeted and seen only as a way to steal their money to buy beemers, mercedes and benz, some will have the nervè to gush that the politicians and everyone is doing it.

It’s like the laws in Barbados was designèd to brutally and with extreme prejudice discriminate against these groups of pèople. Some of us discussed that the laws are maybe being twisted using the variouß available interpretations and misinterpretations available to attorneys; whichever it is, even the CCJ has recognizedd the laws on the island are being are being misused and àbused, aloowing professionals to lay siege to the island and in their lack of vision totally destroying any process that gives relief. Not to mention they themselves ending up with bad reputations, which they certainly deserve.

20. BT you are right, I should have stopped drinking 50 yrs ago can you imagine most of those years was 10 grand a year minimum…I could have bought a house.. but I am going to start going to church. I find it calming and soothing no trauma in there because God doesn’t think he is a doctor or lawyer.

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol!!!

22. why is this a topic the main topic should be the closing of natures produce (tim)
    the now lack of fresh lettuce etc that was being grown here in bim. this a travesty BB should make good , bring tim back, pay for him to set up again barbados really does need his operation, especially with most people crying over the cost of imported foods (current gov) SHAME ON ALL INVOLVED

23. Why should we have to suppress this issue at the expense of the other? Why don’t you submit something.

On 22 November 2015 at 22:12, Barbados Underground wrote:

24. For those interested in the Walsh vs /Ward berjerkham case can view the video on the CCJ website,
    For some reason the link does not work here ,unless the blogmaster use his technical skills to retrieve

http://www.caribbeancourtofjustice.org/

25. ac November 22, 2015 at 7:53 PM #
    For those interested in the Walsh vs /Ward berjerkham case can view the video on the CCJ website
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Also noticed under Member States that the CCJ does not appear to recognise the British Knighthood of the Governor-General of Barbados. He is listed as The Honourable Elliot Belgrave , CHB. No Sir , no KCMG . Is this an oversight or is it intentional?

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy

Dat is an ovah sight, look sharp and you gine notice dat dem ent change de name uh de last Chief Justice heheheheh

27. I wouldn’t trust MCW /Bruce Boucaud with a 10′ pole. Back in 2011 my company provided powder coating services for gates and railings he brought to me – just over $20,000 worth of work – had to spend about 10k suing him for lack of payment. 2022 and i’ve literally just received my last payment from him. My lawyers executed their due diligence and at the time, he owes truck loads of money in unpaid VAT & NIS. Also owed back then several months of rent to his landlord. The list goes on with this guy. Total trickster. I have 20 years in the metal finishing and fabrication business and know that a properly galvanized gate should generally give 10yrs of rust free performance.