Submitted by Beresford

BLPIn dire times, while the society rallies in national survival mode, driven by personal crises, there is always that element that crassly exploits the desperate times for solely their own good.

As Barbados struggles and becomes daily weighed down under the onslaught […]of exploitation,punishment and inhumane treatment, its most unfortunate position is that those who should be the rescuers and protectors are its pillagers.

The DLP Government is presiding over the massacre of all that has held Barbados together, made it shine beyond compare and forged a country that was singled out universally as a beacon of excellence.

What has Barbados come to now? Forget the wiping out of the strongest economy in the region for years. Except that the ever decaying productive sectors have spawned massive unemployment, declining government revenues, never mind the increased VAT which is now manifesting itself in the collapse of our social sector and infrastructure.

As roads fall apart, there is bedlam in bus terminals as workers and parents are left stranded. All kinds of critical drugs are now suddenly disappearing from pharmacies. The least said about the QEH, the better.

Barbadians are now made to shed tears and to submit themselves to the shame, humiliation, of begging the DLP Government for their rightful due – payouts, severance.

The heart-rending spectacle of cut off Transport Board workers begging for money they should have received long ago – this is what Barbados has come to.

Government workers locked out of a building by Al Barrack, a man at his wit’s end, forced to padlock his building because the DLP resolutely refused to honour the Court – the Court judgment – and pay up.

Hoteliers still waiting for concessions. They are coming and coming, but never come.

As predicted, registrations at UWI tumbling directly as a result of the DLP’s cutting off of tuition fees for Barbadians. With the evidence mounting, the hearts of the DLP only hardening.

The cold hearted, calculated, cruel approach of the DLP is most vivid in the constant tissue of lies in which they have shrouded their wickedness.

There is just no way to believe the utterances of the DLP, starting from the Prime Minister.

He of no public servants going home. He of free education will not be touched. He of free health care to be maintained.

In every instance, Freundel Stuart has lied to Barbadians.

How does a country progress when no one can believe the leader of the country?

The heart of Barbados, the middle class, has been cut out by the policies and deception of the DLP.

The DLP has destroyed this group that has been the glue in Barbados, those that moved from poor to middle class, through sheer hard work and the programmes, mainly free education, and aspired to go further.

The nearly 30 increased and new taxes have been a straight punch to the face of the middle class. This wide swath of Barbados has been waylaid by the DLP as most so categorised have been the ones less able to withstand changes in economic or national circumstances.

And the loss hope of a majority of Barbadians is wrapped up in the waste basket of the DLP in which has been thrown the support that has transformed thousands of lives through university education.

The desolation and wiping out of the middle class is one of the more sordid outcomes of a DLP Government that has boxed itself into nothing else but surviving at all costs.

It is telling that people who a decade and two ago were themselves aspiring have crushed the dreams and mobility of people just like them.

Imagine Stuart is a Prime Minister! Could not have happened without his passage through free university education. Could not have happened without the social supports that aided his mother and allowed him to dabble in histrionics and whatever else without worrying about how he would eat, go school or even sleep.

Look at Dem! Not one can remove himself from this equation.

Pompous and Falstaffian as they now are, not a single member of the DLP Government could contemplate their outsize good fortune, which they are exploiting to the fullest, without the economic and social structures that have underpinned Barbados’ progress.

It is the worse patronage and height of deceit for Stuart and DLP Ministers to be fully engorged with their luck and plea empathy even as they, as the Trinis say, mammigua – lie to the public.

Many things in Barbados need an end putting to them or correcting. The court system. Economy. QEH. Transport Board. Water Authority. Tourism. Look anywhere, and there is a looming crisis or threat to Barbados as we know it, as we wish it.

Few are as excruciating and in need of reform now as the DLP penchant for spinning and lying.

A society without the example of good governance from the top is one that will descend into anarchy.

And one with no hope shared by thousands, drop outs, inertia, an underclass, a society stymied.

This is what Freundel Stuart and the DLP have wrought and are breeding.

In such an outcome, they will be no saviours and all losers.

237 responses to “Killing Hope, Middle Class”

1. We only have to look at Germany to see what a vibrant middle class does for any country. Germany is run, not by its big industrial companies, but its myriad of small, and medium-sized businesses. This is a Government which talks utter rubbish about Barbados becoming a First World Country – talk is cheap! If any German minister had done many of the things which the ministers of this Government have done he/she would be out of the door – either by resignation or by its citizens demanding his/her resignation, and no matter how long it took they would demonstrate and demonstrate until that individual resigned. That is what is called a democracy. Barbados used to be one also, but sadly I must agree with some reports that it is not. The worst part is to see people having to go back to the 20th Century and run to standpipes with buckets and other containers to get water, whereas this Government can give away 30 years of water without the BWA being able to intervene! That really takes the cake, with every one of them standing up in Parliament and selfrighteously stating that Cahill Energy’s Waste-to-energy plasma plant is the best thing for Barbados since sliced bread! You live in a water-scarce country and you have the audacity to give away water? That is the epitome of superciliousness!

2. It is hard to read an article about brass bowls destroying a brass bowl country, when it is written by the brass bowls who started the brass bowl destruction – thus leading the brass bowl citizens to elect the current brass bowl jackasses that are the subject of the said brass bowl article…
    …so frig that….!!

3. Again BU sees the relevance to repeat: the Opposition always makes sense yet when it assumes Office it departs from promises made to the people it promised to serve. The real Orwellian Animal Farm scenario playing out over and over and over. In 2007 the DLP played the role of the BLP on BU. Who remember Dark Knight, Sylvan Greenidge, Henderson Bovell et at? We are doom to suffer in perpetuity because we have resisted learning from mistakes of the past.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

So wait, DBLP politicians did not know that when you wipe out the middle class, all is lost, unless you can revive the very class you wiped out.

They obviouly never knew that it’s the small businesses, Mom and Pop shops and stores, not the large, greedy, oversized companies that keeps countries afloat, I have said this on here how many times. Maybe it will take a German telling them that to make them believe.

5. What is happening in Barbados today the onus can only be put on it’s people. A society that hates its own. What’s it we call our self – passive? nonsense! Just a bunch of dumb people, to dumb to realize that we are duped. If the love for country was in higher esteem than the love for self there is no way this Government will still be in “power” – I love that word!

6. Barrow and Adams must be turning in their graves as we approach 50 years of Independence. A large ‘educated’ middleclass having acquired the material comfort (things) of life forgot that by disengaging from the very system that created now sees it crumbling. A middleclass hamstrung to break its silence because the majority is largely a paycheck away from the bailiffs knock.

7. Another day! The same armchair opiners and pseudo intellectuals talking the same shite!
    QUESTION: How does a country progress when no one can believe the leader of the country?
    ANSWER: By logging on to BU and talking talking shite BUT CAN DO not ONE TING BOUT NUTTIN. Ah lie?

8. @Georgie Porgie

Why don’t you go on the Nation website and post the same shite you are posting on BU? It is clear you bode ill will to Barbados Underground. Three strikes and you are gone. Final warning.

9. HOW DOES MY POST DIFFER FROM ONE ABOVE ? you know which one

WHY DO YOU WANT TO CONTROL ME? AND NOT OTHERS? WHY SHOULD I GO ON THE NATION WEBSITE?

THE STATMENT I MADE IS AS TRUE AS JOHN 3:!6 DOES THE LONG TALK EVERYDAY CHANGE ANYTHING IN BARBADOS? IT DOES NOT AND YOU KNOW IT!

DO I HAVE TO BODE WELL FOR BU TO POST ON BU? IS THAT A CONDITION FOR POSTING NOW?

10. WHERE HAS THE FREE SPEECH & INDEPENDENT THOUGHT GONE SAH?

11. @GP

You have the intellect to lead and not to descend into the gutter with the dullards (seedpickers) in our likkle rumshop. The fact you persist with childish offering reflects poorly on you and not them. If BU were to respond to attacks the way you have what would have become of the forum in the nine years? Deal with the issues, of course exercise your freedom to dismiss nonsense, but there is a limit for crissakes when it impacts the quality of the overall blog. As always, and we have stated this in the past, all are welcome to post on BU, the idiots and the intelligent BUT we will not sit idle while a couple infect the quality of the rumshop.

On 31 October 2015 at 14:45, Barbados Underground wrote:

12. vmd and its predecssor used to be vibrant too from 2003-2009
    then thy started the bannings
    no one goes on vmd today

13. @David
    It is clear you bode ill will to Barbados Underground. Three strikes and you are gone. Final warning

Are you planning to ban GP? GP of St. Lawrence Boys, Ch. Ch Parish Church, Graeme Hall Swamp , Foundation & HC?

I am for freedom of speech and there have been a few malcontents on this blog who have not been banned and GP has provided some useful information in the past.
    So leave GP alone and scroll past his comments like you encourage others to do, “I disapprove of what you say but I will defend to the death your right to say it” (Evelyn Beatrice Hall)

14. @Sargeant

To whom much is given much is expected. The BU household respects GP for his contributions to BU and will hold him to a higher standard/account to some idiots who do not know better because of peanut brains/intellect. BU is finish with that so pick sense from nonsense. If BU fails because of our judgement it maybe that our time has come to be fade and die. We are sure there is a biological term for it.

Frankly BU absorbs a lot of time and we don’t have to do this. We are not bloody paid for it, it is done out of wanting to contribute to making Barbados a better place. We ask and ask – over and over – those of you who are labelled intelligent, to contribute positively to the blog. Frankly we are nearing a limit as we approach 10 years of doing this, be part of the journey or jump to hell off!

On 31 October 2015 at 14:56, Barbados Underground wrote:

15. David October 31, 2015 at 10:52 AM #

You have the intellect to lead and not to descend into the gutter with the dullards (seedpickers) in our likkle rumshop.

BUT THE SEED PICKER IS YOUR STAR BOY. YOU CANT TELL HIM NOTHING!

I ALSO HAVE THE INTELLECT TO COUNTER ATTACK ANY THAT ATTACK ME. THATS FUN

The fact you persist with childish offering reflects poorly on you and not them.
    I HAVE JUST CONDESCENDED TO JOIN THE QUALITY ON OFFER SIR
    i dont have to reflect anyway I KNOW WHO I AM AND WHAT I HAVE DONE AND CAN DO. I am tired trying to live up to people’s expctations

People (you call theem dullards )post shite here everyday and its OK wid you YOU DONT SAY THEIR OFFERINGS ARE CHILDISH
    Why cant I be a dullard too?
    I HAVE FOUND THAT MANY DULLARDS GET FAR IN LIFE e,g FUMBLE et al

we will not sit idle while a couple infect the quality of the rumshop.

YOU SIT IDLE AND LET PEOPLE ATTACK OTHERS
    WHEN THY ATTACK ME I AM NOT TO RESPOND?

IT SEEMS ON BU YOU HAVE TO LICK ASS AND RUN WID THE CROWD
    SAY WHAT PEOPLE THINK YOU SHOULD SAY– BE POLITICALLY CORRECT

I READ LOTS OF TALK TALK WHEN I COME HER BUT I READ NO SOLUTIONS

I SEE FOLK CUSS COMMISSIONG PHILIPS ON BU FOR STATING THEIR VIEWS

WHAT HAVE THESE SAME PEOPLE DONE OR PROPOSED OR ACHIEVED TELL ME

16. If BU fails because of our judgement it maybe that our time has come to be fade and die. We are sure there is a biological term for it.

BU WILL NOT FAIL BECAUSE OF MY COMMENTS
    AS LONG AS INTERESTING TOPICS ARE RAISED BU WILL CONTINUE

THE BIOLOGICAL TERM YOU ARE LOOKING FOR IS MOST LIKELY ” APOPTOSIS” programmd cell death

17. re those of you who are labelled intelligent,
    BUT DAVID YOUR STAR BOY HAS SAID HERE THAT GP IS NOT INTELLIGENT ah lie?

18. @David, “Frankly we are nearing a limit as we approach 10 years of doing this, be part of the journey or jump to hell off!”

Ten year is a short time, GP and the others you describe as “who do not know better” have been forging their behaviour for a life-time so stick in there.

That’s the good natured philosophy. The cheap psychology according to the Doc. LOLL

Your point is well though made and you can ban anyone you choose. Anyone, it’s YOUR blog. You have to make no excuses nor follow any lofty goals of ‘freedom of expression’ if you believe the abuse has gone beyond your acceptable limits.

Yet, the dissonance does add colour – don’t you think!

Consider, that even those who say they don’t like the sight of blood are the ones who spend the most time gawking at the most gruesome of road-side tragic spectacles.

Stick in there and continue to abide the perplexing behaviour or gawkers like Dr GP.

19. @GP

For the morning so far we have responded in similar manner to ac, the yardfowl and Passerby aka waiting etc. Bush Tea does his attacking with a style that is not hateful/vengeful and means no harm – he makes many other comments of value. He worked with BU when we were fledgeling and was one of the first, like you, to submit articles to raise the quality of what the likkle rumshop had to offer. He is a provocateur but harmless. When you were away guess who was asking about your status? Rise up man!

Your comment that BU allow others to post shite therefore you should be allowed to do same is shite.

On 31 October 2015 at 15:25, Barbados Underground wrote:

20. @GP

Further, Dee Igrunt Word has had to suffer at the end of your scathing yet read his last comment. This is what is required. In a rumshop the discussion straddles the gamut, the idjuts, the intelligent, the inebriated and all that follows etc. Man order a snap do!!!!

21. Bush Tea does his attacking with a style that is not hateful/vengeful and means no harm
    SO SINCE WHEN ARE YOU A DISCERNER OF THE THOUGHTS AND INTENTIONS OF MEN?

He is a provocateur but harmless. HE IS INDEED A PROVACATEUR BUT NOT HARMLESS. HE IS VERY OFFENSIVE TO ME AND OTHERS.
    BECAUSE OF HIM I HAVE REDUCED MUCH SERIOUS CONTRIBUTIONS IN MEDICINE TO BU. DO YOU KNOW THAT?

When you were away guess who was asking about your status? I WONDER WHY? WAS IT BECAUSE HE WANTED A WHIPPING BOY?

Your comment that BU allow others to post shite therefore you should be allowed to do same is shite. WHY NOT? I JUST HAVE CONDESCENDED TO BE LIKE THEM SO THAT I CAN FIT IN. THIS IS SOMETHING I HAVE LEARND OVER TIME

PEOPLE DONT LIKE YOU WHEN YOU EXCEL unless you are one of thee favored. SO YOU SIT AT THE BACK AND LISTEN………and laff

22. re Dee Igrunt Word has had to suffer at the end of your scathing
    ACTUALLY IT IS THE OTHER WAY AROUND with his psuedo psychology
    he is a source like others of great mirth

23. @Bush Tea

Let us do this, backoff GP with the use of colourful epithets from the bushie lexicon, he obviously cant handle the robust way you deal even if you do so with no malice.

Yes Bush Tea is known to a member of BU. He is a bright and credentialed man; like you, who has delivered and continues to deliver high service to country

24. @David

Am I missing something? Love her or hate her isn’t AC is foil for many of the folks who populate the blog? The essence of the blog people expressing differing opinions and the ensuing discussions.

Without people like AC it may be reduced to a “harmless” (agree wid dat) Bush Tea spouting his neologism about “aholes” all day long.

25. @Sargeant

Maybe the flip side of your view is possible? That the debate is elevated to the next level?

26. @ Beresford…. You speak on the behalf of the opposition. I am challenged by the fact that for all the information available where this CAHILL fiasco is concerned, one gets the sense that this fight was carried by a man named Kammie Holder and your leader just recently adopted her piggy back stance. One begins to wonder if February 2016 when all fellow members of the political class become fully vested in the pension for life scheme/scam had anything to do with Mia’s laissez-faire approach. You see Beresford where your party and this new look DLP is concerned the prevailing thought is that six equals a half dozen. After de lotta long talk…..all a wunna is one family.

27. Sargeant October 31, 2015 at 11:59 AM #

Without people like AC it may be reduced to a “harmless” (agree wid dat) Bush Tea spouting his neologism about “aholes” all day long.

YOU ARE 100% CORRECT
    IF BU IS reduced to a “harmless” (agree wid dat) Bush Tea spouting his neologism about “aholes” all day long IT WILL END UP JUST LIKE VMD

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David BU:

Barbados better be prepared for a sudden rise in oil prices. Low oil prices has been an economic lifeline and foreign reserves stopper for the year.

IS are claiming responsibility for the downing of a Russian passenger airliner over Egypt.
    Russia will use this as a distraction from its domestic problems and most likely send more troops into the ME to further establish its international hegemony and cock a snook at the Obama Administration.

29. @ Hamilton Hill
    Well said…!

Bush Tea …..Let us do this, backoff GP with the use of colourful epithets from the bushie lexicon, he obviously cant handle the robust way you deal even if you do so with no malice.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Cool Skippa…!!

Boss, when last did you see Bushie aim the whacker in that direction bosie…? The wicked flee when no man pursueth…
    Bushie has been whacking at more productive targets …like Dee Word… 🙂
    …and do you see how Dee Word has been ‘shotting’ on the BHL blog? Damn!!
    The man has been ANYTHING but ‘lukewarm’ of late…… he has been incisive, explosive and to the point.
    Steupsss…GP has a problem that we on BU cannot solve….. It seems like the very thought of ‘bush tea’ sets him off fussing and fuming…. he just need to stick to cocoa tea LOL
    ….Don’t expect Bushie to lose any sleep though ….

30. @Miller

Let us hope things settle down in the ME. Russia has asserted itself nicely in the ISIL scenario in Syria.

On the home front it is disappointing even with tourist arrivals up and a 144 million forex savings with rock bottom oil prices our economy remains in a comatose state.

31. David wrote” economy remains in a comatose state. ”

What do you expect ? No new industries. No innovation only consumption.

No natural resources and no improvement in the quality of education.

YOU HAVE TO EARN A LIVING. YOU ARE OVER YOUR CREDIT CARD LIMIT.

32. Well stated Hants. As usual you need no treatise to cut to the bone of the matter.

33. What is considered middle class in Barbados…I am no means joking when I say that I could not understand how the regular guy could survive in Barbados, I was what was considered middle class in Canada and my standard of living seemed to be well above the average bajan, yet a lot of things seemed extremely expensive for me

34. Wavell Avenue just won the fillies and mares sprint at the Breeder’s cup.

The announcer said that the “name of the horse is a place in BARBADOS and it was bred by Eugene Melnyk who name his horses after places in Barbados”

FREE advertising for the brand name BARBADOS.

35. RE Let us hope things settle down in the ME. Russia has asserted itself nicely in ………..the scenario in Syria.
    THINGS WILL GET WORSE IN THE ME UP UNTIL THE BATTLE OF ARMAGEDDON AS PROPHESIED

ESCHATOLOGISTS BELIEVE AS PREDICTED IN EZEKIEL 38 &39 THAT RUSSIA ALONG WITH IRAN WILL ATTACK ISRAEL AND BE DESTROYED BY GOD HIMSELF THERE.

ESCHATOLOGISTS BELIEVE ALSO THAT DAMASCUS WILL BE DESTROYED—ONE OF THE FEW UNFULFILLED OT PREDICTIONS
    THE QUESTION FOR THIS IS WHEN

36. @Miller etc.
    Russia will use this as a distraction from its domestic problems and most likely send more troops into the ME to further establish its international hegemony and cock a snook at the Obama Administration

Take a look at a map and you will see why Putin is in Syria, when he looks south from Moscow he can see all those Muslim countries. It’s a variation of the George Bush line “were fighting them there so we don’t have to fight them here”. Those “domestic” Chechens are the top recruits of ISIL and Putin hopes to bury them in Syria.

37. @Sargeant

Why stop short in your analysis? Putin supports Assad which brings him into conflict with US foreign policy. A tangle web they weave.

38. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

I was here spraining my brain to remember if when Viv was beating ball if anybody tell he back off. My thing is this. Try and match the turbo powered whacker……or jump out de way. Oh and by the way that whacker was trained at ac more often than anybody else, so lets stop the pampering. Mike Tyson cut nuff ass and then his get cut. Let boxers replace the bloomers and pelt some warm verbal blows at one another do.

39. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@David, if that ISIL/ISIS boast turns out to be true then this entire mess just got messier.

Not sure I understand Miller’s point that “Russia will use this as a distraction from its domestic problems and most likely send more troops into the ME…” because Putin interjected himself militarily in the fray and I don’t perceive he really needed any excuse to form a distraction….as all powerful as he is?

Frankly, maybe he wanted a ‘distraction’ to racket up support for Assad…can we put in pass Pres Putin to take out one planeload of his countrymen to escalate this conflict…I wouldn’t.

Putin would love nothing more than to usurp the US in this neck of the woods and if he now throws his powerful military might at ISIL as a result of this tragedy who exactly will begrudge him that right.

Either an ISIS great recruiting ploy or as rather stupid for ISIL/ISIS to be poking two Lions at the same tiime…Daniel survived one, they obviously want to up the ante and survive two!!!

Gee, where is the Pacha man with his Putin genius!

Incidentally David, self-banning works so intriguingly well on your site. Find the right button to push and ‘self-banning’ executes itself rather effectively….Still remember the blog when the precursor to that particular self immolation took place.

40. @David,

More free advertising. Breeders cup and the name of the #11 horse is……..” Barbados”

http://www.breederscup.com/contenders/125

41. @Hants good stuff but the Barbados brand is high in Canada, the problem is the exchange rate CAD:US stupid!

42. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@Dr GP, re “ACTUALLY IT IS THE OTHER WAY AROUND with his psuedo psychology
    he is a source like others of great mirth. Is it me or rather you who is the one that is tres amusing!

I came across this quote attributed to the Russian poet Tolstoy: “All happy families resemble each other”. That too is “psuedo psychology” as he provided no details on test/control groups and all the other evidence that is required to meet established standard for that sort of thing.

But you know what: it also so true, nonetheless.

Similarly Dr. GP it can be said, all intellectually wound-up, arrogant, angry men and women are also the same. So excuse me for not setting out details about traits of anal-retentive or quoting Freud or Jung.

You said: “I HAVE FOUND THAT MANY DULLARDS GET FAR IN LIFE e,g FUMBLE et a. And, “WHEN THY ATTACK ME I AM NOT TO RESPOND?”

Are you an intellectual because you won a scholarship thus showing great capacity to learn, retain and repeat or because you have great capacity to learn, assimilate, improve and disseminate well?

What makes Fumble (who perhaps was a schoolmate contemporary) a dulllard? How exactly can he be a dullard and he has bested a bunch of other boys and girls and was able to be elevated to be ‘first among equals’ as PM.

A simple example of how you palaver as desired with your own snobbish, arrogance (which we ALL display here at some time, admittedly) BUT find it so convenient to talk about being attacked and being mocked when others push back on you.

So playing my “psuedo psychology” role again, I presume you are either Gemini born or ‘schizophrenzoid’ or an avowed gawker (as described before).

Either way, Doc you are an interesting personality.

BTW, do you remember saying here on BU that as a young doc in Bim that you had an almost ‘orgasmic’ (my word) pleasure in making fools of the lawyers and police prosecutors when you had to give evidence in court?

Who was mocking whom back then? Was that behaviour caused by us here with “psuedo psychology”babbling too.

Definitely an interesting personality you are…can’t stand the limelight but love to bask in glory!

43. Someone stated they dont make them like they use to.

Peter Gilkes's photo.

44. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@Hants, “More free advertising. Breeders cup and the name of the #11 horse is……..” Barbados”

Hope he doesn’t come LAST.

45. @David

I am trying to get a sense of this “conflict with US foreign policy”, if Putin is fighting ISIL perhaps the US is privately thinking -the enemy of my enemy is my frenemy-. Obama seems to have reversed his position about “no boots on the ground” since Russia has made its presence known. The Western bloc is also keen to reverse the flow of refugees now that they are at Europe’s doorstep and they have to deal with the fallout, this is why the “peace” talks now include Iran and Russia and soon to include Assad.

46. @Sargeant

Obama’s problem is that he in all his naivety pigeon holed himself by making the argument he will withdraw from Iraq, Afghanistan and god knows where else by declaring public timelines to boot. The ME is a fluid situation with problems located in decades of history in the post colonizing period, as you know closed positions taken will quickly have to be reopened in the ME.

47. @ David,

This Breeder’s cup is in Kentucky, USA. So this is exposure in the USA on NBC.

48. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@David re 3:06 PM post… That’s a wonderful ROFLLOL point of PERSPECTIVE.

A simialr pic of current leaders out yachting conjures up thoughts of wild-parties (ideally all heterosexual); any drugs in use; deals being connived …oh lawd!

David a pic is worth a thousand words and a few thousand salacious interpretations.

I think they still make them the same, you know, — afterall, Tradeau was a playboy womaniser reputed; was he not; Barrow certainly no slouch in that dept with allegations of other departments too. Mia would have fitted right in. LOLL

They did a much better job of taking care of the people’s business and theirs after.

Today the guys and gals take care of their business first and second, the people’s third.

Nice pic, though.

49. @David

Its called keeping a campaign promise, the American people were tired of the war and he said he was going to end it. Plus he was experiencing angst going to Dover Airforce base to salute the coffins when they were brought back home coupled with phoning and writing letters to the next of kin when they paid with their lives.

50. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@David; “Obama’s problem is that he in all his naivety pigeon holed himself by making the argument he will withdraw from Iraq…”

I wouldn’t call it naivety. It was a campaign promise. You lambasted our pols for not sticking to their promises in opposition/election season. So its a little tough to lambaste another politician for keeping his!

Although, of course, this was one promise that should have been broken. On that we agree. Bush caused the fissures in the ME; Obama, allowed those fissures to become dangerously wide caverns that may prove impossible to fill-in again.

Thus unfortunately historians will be harsh on Obama’s legacy re the growth of ISIS.

Comes back to this question of leadership.

The Pres went back on closing Gitmo in Cuba but apparently was unable to overcome the optics of dead soldiers being brought home to tearful relatives and their images being displayed on TV screens to ‘peels’ of silence to a fed-up nation.

Now he has a mess on his hands and as Sargeant said above this is a small step with advisory boots on the ground to reclaiming lost ground.

Note the withdrawal of troops in Afghanistan is delayed so as he moves to end his tenure he likely will be more aggressive in shoring up those mistakes he and his advisors made over there.

I would add though that the US also faced administrative issues with the Iraq Pres regarding how their troops would be ‘prosecuted’ for military activities. The Iraquis were pissed after various incidents and wanted to hold them more accountable …that was not going to happen. That too helped expedite the withdrawal process.