Submitted by Douglas
Dr. Maria Agard, Christ Church West M.P.

The most powerful way I can register my strongest opposition to this undemocratic and unconstitutional cutting of members’ rights and tinkering with our Constitution is to withdraw from the contest for the post of Chairman.” 

[…]

“We must quell all other attempts to secure the domination by a few to the detriment of the majority”

“I ask that you … to come out and demand respect for and a retention of the democratic values and time honoured traditions of integrity and fair play that have always guided this great Party

[Extracts from a letter signed by Mia Mottley in 2011]

“I am at the end of my tether with this shouting across the party via the media…” [Mia Mottley 2015]

Mottley vs Maria is not political it’s about class.  Mia [who describes herself as a third generation parliamentarian] will get her chance to tell Maria what she thinks of her as a woman and who is boss lady. This public dance by Mia must be noted as she once again pretends to come in and save the day. Her open opposition to Maria is no secret, however, her pedestal stance on these matters confuses the public as she behaved far worse than Maria when the shoe was on the other foot. Maria should NOT listen to any high and mighty, pious, holier than thou, loving and caring attitude from Mia.

The public of Barbados must be reminded of the shouting across the media led by Mia in 2011. She wanted to be leader so bad then that she went public to speak her mind hoping to gain some public sympathy. The strategy fell flat and Jerome was victorious in that election. Mia’s call back then “to quell all other attempts to secure the domination by a few to the detriment of the majority …” is instructive as she struggles to maintain legitimacy as leader.

The Mia conference held this weekend at Foundation school fell flat and poor Jerome could not even face the public at the end of the conference instead opting to issue a written press statement. The reality of struggles on the other side is clear for all to see.

Mottley leads an institution which has chalked up a world record for Branch voter list infelicities that is unmatched in the region. Yet they claim to have all the answers to unravel the troubling affairs of the globe. Jerome at the press conference to launch the activities made it quite clear that, there is no “magic wand” in resolving the issues that confront the small island states. Jerome was quoted as saying …I am not saying that we will wave a magic wand and everything will be resolved.

It is clear he distanced himself from the public utterances of his boss lady who claims she brings hope to the nation.

The underlying message in this latest political saga of the opposition revolves around rules. The rules that apply to Mottley don’t apply to Maria. Mottley refers to herself as a third generation parliamentarian which irritates her parliamentary colleagues. She speaks with a clear entitlement around the issue of leadership. Maria will never fill the eyes of the opposition leader for more than one reason. Maria must come clean to redeem herself in this regard or allow Mottley to bury her political career.

There can be no bigger fumbler of political utterances than the Mia conference 2015 chairman who continues to embarrass the top brass of the party. This top brass is not Mottley’s top brass by the way. The public saw through the press conference and how tense the chairman was as Jerome started to speak and spoke the truth. What is clear in this public fracas is the ultimate issue of class. Mottley lays claim to class while dismissing Maria as not worthy of acceptance. This kind of public snubbing was what the political involvement of blacks in public life was to correct but sadly today it is reinforce by the attitudes and behaviours on the other side. George Orwell must have heard about Mottley when he scripted his novel Animal Farm. “All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others.” Maria you will NOT win!

202 responses to “Mottley vs Maria”

1. Frederick Falconberg Avatar
    Frederick Falconberg

Agard is just a mid term distraction for the LOO and the BLP. She will will not last as long as a fart in an open air concert in St.George.

2. If Barbadians, as a people, were in anyway worthy, then this would have been a PERFECT opportunity for a few individuals and groups – like Walter, Jeff C, David (BU), Caswell, Come-and-sing-along, Grenville, BARP, Deeds and even PDC to organise a summit meeting to chart a NEW path for Barbados….and create a NEW party of Integrity and Transparency.

But a people ALWAYS get exactly what they deserve.

That we can seriously expect ANY good to come from these two political shiite bags after what we have seen over the past 30 years speaks to our collective idiocy…

…and there is only ONE way that idiots end up…… Broke and destitute….like AC…

@ Dompey
    Why don’t you retire and let your wife post?
    You only talk sense when you consult with her…. 🙂

3. Are you serious Agard has lasted longer than a snow cone in hell in as much she has Mia looking for a quick strategy
    as she tries her very best to drum up major support from among Agard following who us not budging

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother Bush Tea,

I was looking at your post this morning and it triggered the ole man thoughts bout one Baffy mek two weeks ago bout Bagnell Point and dat dere was to be de launching uh a nex political salvation party at 6pm dat Friday dat was gine change all uh Barbados

I remember cause my man Hants was did want to know if it did gine get stream tuh Canada and was did axe Baffy tuh tek notes and share.

Friday is de feed my sheeps day and I was did tired aftah de encounter with de sheeple in Broad Street but I did was wundering if Baffy did report as expected.

I been noticing a sorta easing of sorts regarding dat man Baffy doah, he doan post nuh mo and when he post he does doan cuss Timothy Simmons at dat lend my friends de guvment money place Dem call micro enterprises funders

I hope dem ent get to Baffy doah he did jes a good fellah wid a mouf pun he dat BDLP both did fear…

5. is this the same MIa who have consistently accused the govt of not being able to make decision.
    Now Mia what about that decision you promised to make a week ago what is taking you so long

6. In Her OWN words a week ago

Now the silence is deafening

Opposition Leader Mia Mottley has had enough of the impasse between Christ Church
    And she sent a strong message to the entire Barbados Labour Party (BLP) membership yesterday saying she would meet with Agard and the branch executive this week to settle the matter once and for all. However, she warned party faithful to keep the BLP’s dirty linen out of the public domain.
    “Let it be understood that this is a team, and there is one captain,” Mottley told a packed hall at the Christ Church Foundation School. “I will lead 29 players on to the field,” she said, breaking her silence on the feud.

7. I would not put anything past Mottley in a selfish bid to score cheap political points. George Payne basically accused her of stealing party funds, poor Mascoll must know that she was instrumental in trying to get him defeated in 2008 but he has nowhere left to go after he burned his bridges. Now she is on an obvious campaign to get rid of Maria Agard because she believes that she must have all “yes men” lined up in her corner.
    Is this the same hypocrite that runs around talking about accommodating different views? If you read Animal Farm, you would understand why you should never allow Mottley to get maximum political power in Bim

8. Punishment by laughter Avatar
    Punishment by laughter

Bush Tea November 2, 2015 at 9:00 AM #

like Walter, Jeff C, David (BU), Caswell, Come-and-sing-along, Grenville, BARP, Deeds and even PDC to organise a summit meeting to chart a NEW path for Barbados

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Bushes the only persons missing from that group to make it a constitutionally installed cabinet are Boxcart, Douchecan, Seola and Eric Fly.

9. The problem with Mia is that she is so busy starting fires that when her house is burning to the ground she does/nt know the difference between a nose and a hose. Her cabinet ministers are keenly aware of her ulterior motives to cast doubt and blame on others in her desperate fight for self preservation

10. Banana Republican Avatar
    Banana Republican

so dum dum Sinckler, crazy horse Worrell and duncy boy Boyce gone to OSA as economic advisor? I can’t wait for the elections, this is going to be so much damn fun it will be unreal.

11. Punishment by laughter Avatar
    Punishment by laughter

Gearbox is a must in the cabinet lineup.

12. @slippery banana republic aka known as blp yard fowl you won/t know the difference between patriotism and yard fowl politics
    You been around Mia too long.

13. The selection of OSA as chief economic is a open admission by the DLP and Prime Minister that that the Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs has been a total and utter failure. Any other PM, in any part of the world, would have fired or moved Sinckler and allowed the new incoming MOF to select a new Governor of the Central Bank.

14. @ Punishment by laughter,

The late Gearbox had skills and intelligence.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Willie’s November 3, 2015 at 10:26 AM

The DLP -one must admit- is 1000 times smarter than the BLP when it comes to political strategy and skullduggery.
    The DLP’s management of the economy has proved to be a blatant failure and that administration is now forced to do the things it should have been doing since 2012; namely, the undertaking of a privatization programme and outsourcing of many of the existing public sector functions in order to restructure the public sector to make it fit for the 21st Century world of ICT and a much vaunted well-educated self-reliant citizenry.

OSA in his hubristic zeal to prevent Ms Mottley from becoming PM would allow himself to be used (and abused) by the DLP to take lead responsibility for the Government’s upcoming programme of privatization and restructuring of statutory boards and some central government’s functions.

OSA, you are being used and will be made to look like a bloody old jackass should you see yourself as the obvious replacement to the Sir Frank Alleyne.
    We can guess you have not learnt your lesson in Machiavellian-type chicanery when you were used and made to look like a deceitful fool in Parliament by no other than FJS and the underhand passing of notes to trade Mia. Have you forgotten the denuding or dressing down tirades the same FJS unleashed on you not only in the 2008 and 2009 Budget presentations but also at Brittons Hill on the night before the last general elections in February 2013?

Do you want to hear a replay of these vilifications so that you get it clearly into your vengeance-laden head that neither FJS nor Stinkliar has any real respect for you and both view you only as drunken vicious vindictive s.o.b.

The DLP economic ship has run aground on the shoals of mismanagement arrogance and corruption.
    Our advice to you the Rt. Hon. OSA, please do not allow yourself to sink to the level Stinkliar and Fumble have found themselves. Continue to offer constructive criticism from your seat in Parliament. First let them apologize to you in public for the nasty vicious lies that were told on you. Then you could think about offering any additional advice or support in that dangerous lying party’s(dlp) attempts to rescue Barbados which they have destroyed in less than 6 years.

OSA, you might have been a good captain when SS Barbados was sailing on the high seas of economic tranquility. What is required now is not an old seadog but a ship salvager called IMF.

16. Goin wid owin….lol

17. Miller. Every time wunna blp yardfiwls opened mouth to speakvwunna proved what OSA said was right . wanna lost wanna souls
    Now here you come spitting the same shit cannot even for once put the best interest of the country first
    But rather prefer tow the line of yard fowl politics which Mia has readily used unsuccessfully to divide the country and now intentionally using to divide her own party

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac November 3, 2015 at 1:48 PM

Are you shamefacedly admitting that just like how the BLP has lost its soul so too has the DLP lost its way in managing the economic and social affairs of the country and in dire need of guidance if not replacement?

And we all thought that only the Cabinet was full of Eminent persons of outstanding intellectual achievement!
    What are Darcy Boyce, Jepter Ince and the peddler of Kellmanomics doing in the Cabinet? Can’t Fast-mouth Pornville Inniss offer advice as he does in respect of everything under the sun. After all it is ‘wunna’ time now to run things.

What has happened to David Muzzled Mouth Estwick and his plan to rescue Barbados? Isn’t Delisle Worrell a top notch economist too?

Now ac, do you want us to regurgitate the many acerbic attacks you made on poor OSA blaming him for every economic problem facing Bim? Do you remember when you and Carson C Cadogan used to vilify the man calling him a corrupt incompetent drunkard?
    Why on earth would you want to take advice from such a person?

‘Putting the interest of the country first’! Don’t make us laugh to death. Who has the country in its current economic state? The long-over recession or OSA your former nemesis now Merlin the economist?

Here is the deal:
    First fire the abject failure called Stinkliar. How can OSA work with Dr. Worrell?.
    Stop mentioning Greenland and the absence of toffee paper to justify the $100 million wastage. Then cancel the Cahill taxpayers rip-off scam and fire or lock up Quisling Boyce. Then we would back OSA in offering himself as your economic lifebuoy.

19. @ AC

Do you want OSA to join the DLP ? no reply mean yes

20. ac
    shameful, shameful, shameful. Nether the DLP not OSA have any shame. Whores, a pack of frigging whores.

21. Miller &Company you guys are real gutter Rats putting love for Party above the love for country
    Real gutter Rats in trut

22. One of Barbados’ most illustrious sons of the soil, Owen Seymour Arthur, will be elevated to the status of Knight of St. Andrew on 30 th November, 2015 as he preparea to take up his new posting as Chairperson of the Government of Barbados Economic Council.

Hail…..Sir owen.

23. How can any one person fault a citizen of their country for putting the best interest of their country first putting aside division in favour of civility and a patriotic duty which exemplified honour and statesmanship character
    Just think if Mia had used that type of approach to re- instill in the mind of her footsoldiers a call to patriotic duty instead of placing them on a war path in a battle against their country

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac November 3, 2015 at 3:34 PM

So you call us “gutter rats” just because we do not support lies, deceit and hypocrisy.
    When you were attacking the same OSA left, right and centre, all day and all night on BU were you working in the interest of the country or the DLP?
    What has OSA done to receive such a newly-found sainthood from you and the Fractured BLP?

OK ac, let us bury the hatchet and work together in the interest of the country. Now don’t run from this!
    Do you remember OSA’s main proposal during the last elections (and for which he was soundly beaten by lies) was a programme of privatization and outsourcing to create more room and activity for the private sector in order to stimulate and sustain economic growth? Now say Yes!

Since a leopard cannot change its spot would you be prepared to accept a similar proposal coming from your new economic knight in shining guru privatization garments to guide (y)our dear loving country through the quagmire of economic stagnation and ocean of no-confidence in the political directorate? You should remember this is the same man you accused of selling off Barbados to foreigners including the BNB.

Now where should we start this time around? Should it be GAIA?
    We don’t expect to respond, right ac?

25. No fool ! You are simply missing the point as you adhere to a politics of exclusiveness unable to endorse but prefer to be an agent of objectivity
    Yes Miller you have learned well while sitting at the feet of your now leader Mia leader the merchant of doom and gloom

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac November 3, 2015 at 5:20 PM
    “… but prefer to be an agent of objectivity…”

Yes indeed ac, I am an “agent of objectivity”; person who can see both sides of a situation. Unlike you, an agent of partisan political ‘ass-holery’.

Now let us see how much of a chameleon you are by confirming whether you will be going along with OSA”s privatization agenda. You must remember you and your ilk accused the same OSA of planning to send home 10,000 public sector workers. You have already sent home about 6,000 (Caswell Franklyn can confirm) so it leaves about 4,000 for OSA to shaft.
    What say, you ac?

27. The BLP guage is set on level Red reason being that OSA had snubbed themuch talked about ” eminent persons plan a brain child of Mia supposedly finding solutions to the economy but fell flatter than a pancake and a resounding vote of no cofidence from OSA
    Now the stupid BLp yardfowls are on a tirade making sure that this govt with the help of OSA does not inflict another embarrassment to their golden girl MIA,(hence the frothing at the mouth on a “supposedly” to happen event bandied about in the media)
    Just the sheer thought of OSA being aligned to anything having to do with this govt might be enough for the the foot soldiers to have an attempted coup d’ etat.
    listen up foot soldiers you have your work cut out just becareful how and where you fire your shots
    Mottley is not one to be known to stay around when things get all heated and out of control
    Her absence when the resolution bill for the land at Valcuse was being debated in the house should be enough food for thought
    Guess she might have had bigger and bitter fish to fry like throwing Agard under the bus,

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac November 3, 2015 at 6:51 PM

You are not only a political chameleon when it comes to OSA but also slippery as an eel when it comes to the approaching privatization train.

We only wish David of BU can reactivate some of your posts where you called OSA some of those worst things that can emanate from the forked tongue of a liar.

Now let us suppose OSA is prepared to take over the management of the economy from Stinkliar being his ‘yes-boy’ but only on condition that Guv. Worrell be fired. Would you agree with the throwing of the Doc under the DLP bus?

29. @ AC

All you DLP people have no shame,no moral integrity but want to stay in office of Government don’t matter what damage is done to Barbados by this PM and his makeup ministers, the thinking of you all to ask / want OSA for help is the ugly in every sense, but then again ugly is what the PM and his ministers sense and see when looking at any glass

30. An the irony is?

We were having this same conversation in 2006/7.

On 3 November 2015 at 23:26, Barbados Underground wrote:

31. What are you saying David?
    …that they are all a bunch of brass bowl jokers…?
    Including AC AND Miller… ??
    ha ha ha 🙂
    …Bushie just asking…!!!

32. Wait, things are looking so bad for the dems, they cannot go on the Cahill threads to debate so they are out in force on this farce for a post…………….wow!

…………and I was missing all of this action as I stay away from Douglas’ posts……….

Miller, you and watchman have taken the fight the the yardfowls. Well done!

I cannot believe that these dems who post so many nasty posts on OSA over the life of BU, can come in 2015 and expect him to become their knight in shining armour.

Wow!…..we are desperate, aren’t we?

Is this the same man that the Froon said is an economist of no value…….he said economists are wanted all over the world and no one is asking for OSA or Mascoll.

Is OSA the same man they villified for years and whom ac in each of her/his post said that OSA stole $75,000, then $750,000? She/he was never sure which amount?

Wow, we are desperate, aren’t we…………I thought OSA was the man who put the country in this mess? Liars, deceivers…….and incompetent too!

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea November 3, 2015 at 7:46 PM

Why don’t you let me have my 5 mins of intellectual masturbation with my toy ac?

34. LT.HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE.

It never ceases to amaze me, these individuals here on this blog,i have been following this blog for a very long time before i ever considered making contributions and the majority of the persons who contributed are still here doing the same,they were the ones who hailed Arthur as a genius over the years and some were very critical of him as well,he was an economic guru and it has even been suggested that he will go down in history as the greatest prime minister this country has ever had,he has on occasion stated that he will always place country first if called upon and would be willing to serve,yet it seems like this would be a treasonous act,can someone please tell me why?Every day we have persons in this country on a certain call in program behaving like nothing good can or should happen in this country, it is like they would prefer the country to go to hell in a hand basket,i have always been a firm believer in the power of the tongue as the word of God so propagates so when i see all types of things going wrong, the economy, crime etc,i am not at all surprised, it is a clear case of the negatives that has been spoken over this country daily taking effect.We have a society or should i say sections of this society that seem not to want anything good for this country unless it is ran by their chosen ones, so any efforts to improve the general well being of this country must be scoffed at and treated with ridicule, is Owen Arthur not a son of this soil?We need to throw away the political blinkers and try to see things from the perspective of country first.Personally i see nothing wrong with him being appointed to any post that will assist with any development of this country for future generations,this country is not owned by anyone or any particular party who may have the notion of entitlement,it is time to put aside all differences and come to a common understanding that the entire world is in turmoil and unless there is cohesive strategies in charting the way forward success will always be elusive.

35. Marie agard in her words

36. @ Horatio

We need to throw away the political blinkers and try to see things from the perspective of country first.Personally i see nothing wrong with him being appointed to any post that will assist with any development of this country for future generations,this country is not owned by anyone or any particular party who may have the notion of entitlement,it is time to put aside all differences and come to a common understanding that the entire world is in turmoil and unless there is cohesive strategies in charting the way forward success will always be elusive……………..

………………………………………………………….

No one disputes what you wrote………….in a good and perfect Barbados where there are no ac’s, bajanfulife, fractured dem, waiting etc. who day after day lambaste the very people whom they want to save them now.

You do not have a problem with a party who vilified another leader to death and are now looking to this same person to save their hides?

This is from a party who refused the heed the call years ago to get a group together (is that not what others on BU were talking about for a while?)………..MAM called it an eminent persons group….the same OSA demonised her and told her to take his name off the list………………Fumble declared he does not need any eminent persons, he has his own eminent persons like Kellman, Stinkliar.

Did I hear you criticise Freundel then and tell him to put aside his political blinkers and try to see things from the perspective of the country first?

You need to take off your blinkers as well, it would seem!

37. Miller you are running way ahead of yourself. in the 2013 election the people said No to OSA plan for Privatization, Haven’t you got the MEMO yet,
    Good lord it is almost time for another election and YOU still have that card holding up against and the wind,
    Put it down ,Arthur did , just put it down,

38. Prodigal you could not help but join the conservation you like nuff nuff scratch grain so much so yuh guts bout ready to bust,
    look how yuh dey trash talking bout wuh dis body did say about OSA when YOU did nuff trash talking about OSA yuhself when OSA high tail out the back door at Roebuck Street and had all wunna yardfowls asking wuh happen doah ?

39. LT.HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE.

Prodigal unlike you i do not love anyone or any party to death do us part,if you are doing crap i will call you out on it. I was never in support of the cahill project and i said so already here on this blog.In a perfect Barbados we would never try to unceremoniously remove a member of parliament for the benefit of another either but i have not heard you defend Agard because you obviously cannot go against the grain so you will support her being treated unfairly,so you see prodigal my dear girl that is where we differ,please excuse me if i have gotten the gender wrong but you strike me as female anyway that is not an issue.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac November 3, 2015 at 8:38 PM

Wow, I just came! Now what are you on about this time? Oh, Arthur and Privatization.
    So he is no longer pushing the P&O (privatization and outsourcing) agenda but Stinkliar is now the point man.
    In the coming weeks when the P&O programme is actually forced on the government in order to get hold of quick cash your deceitful lying PM will do another volte-face as he did with the tuition fees for university students and claim he was never against privatization just a bit cautious.

Heard there is a cabal of overseas investors (Cowan not involved) interested in leasing, with the option to buy, the GAIA; all arranged through a certain well connected individual looking towards his finder’s fee.

41. Watchman speaking of shame did you read the laundry list of shame less characters in the Payne vs Hinckson court case as told by witness some of which were directed towards Mia involving allegations and illicit activity involving e mail circulation
    brother to thy own self be truth

42. I am over 60yrs and have heard some mouthing from the DLP people overtime from EWB to this crop of fungus to know when desperation enter that camp you get the impairment follow by the ability to deceive,the unrestricted thieving, exploitation and oppression to the end of their term in office, from 1976 to now at the end of all the DLP term in office a commission of inquiry could have been held , one was held and all roads lead to EWB because of the Ministers without a Ministry , that was and will always be DLP

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ LT.HORATIO CAINE. November 3, 2015 at 8:56 PM

How about you going against the grain and call a spade a spade?
    The same way you would not allow a convicted paedophile to mind your children why would you ask a well publicized paro to look after your finances?
    Weren’t the poor economic decisions made by the same Arthur blamed for the current economic morass?
    Why would you want a man who was vilified for selling out Barbados to foreigners for a mess of pottage and blamed consistently for his failure to restructure the economy when money was flowing like a burst pipe in the Belle to take charge of bringing Barbados back from the brink of economic disaster and international ignominy?

44. @ AC
    I am not a party yardfowl like you , I am a person with integrity

45. SO miller why don/t you stay on point lets hear your salvo on the Mia vs agard debate,
    I dare you to come on BU and tell it like it is .i dare you to have the cajoones to expose the silly behaviuor of your leader in her attempt to rally the troops in her favour as she does battle with the constituents of CH CH west who is adamant in their support for Marie Agard,

46. @ watchman i hear so too.. i also hear that you do not like scratch grain but eat plenty pollard

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac November 3, 2015 at 9:33 PM

So you want me to be that ‘ agent of objectivity’, as you so eloquently put it!
    Sorry to disappoint you but I don’t have a leader other than the purveyor of truth and justice.

Maria is not a minister of the Crown selling out Barbados neither is Mia the Prime Mover (P M) of lies and hypocrisy, get it?

48. Amen, miller!

……….the ac yardfowl crowing tonight….cluck, cluck, cluck….come for Maria Agard corn!

49. Dems are amazing party animals! They can spin any story to suit dlp propaganda.

I well remember David Estwick sat down in cabinet meetings and could not get an audience with the PM. He had to go on radio and threaten to resign because no one would listen to him.

He lined up Arabs to buy out Barbados debt, he prepared a cabinet paper which was then leaked some how to the Nation. When the PM realised that he was serious and would catspraddled the PM’s only ambition in life……….that is to keep being PM, Estwick was then accommodated……………..only after he exposed the Stinkliar and the DLP as the cause for all Barbados’ economic woes!

Ac, go feed on your brand name scratch grain I just sent you!