Submitted by Kammie Holder, Advocacy Director, Future Centre Trust
Clare Cowan, CEO of Cahill Energy

Tuesday October 27th 2015 will forever be etched in my memory for two reasons. One, it was the day members of the DLP who gained the government on a ticket of transparency and integrity squandered the mandate earned.

[โ€ฆ]

The second, was the failure of the prime minister as head of cabinet and leader of country to invite alternatives to Cahill Plasma Gasification in treating to waste reduction.

I am extremely shocked that my friend Mr James Paul is quoted as saying “Bajans must welcome new technology.” Never knew Bajans feared technology, perhaps Mr Paul never took time to read the Cahill MOU, Implementation Agreement or Power Purchase Agreement or for that matter researched Plasma Gasification. Let me state for the record, environmental justice does not exist in Barbados if we consider Pegwell Boggs and the dust complaints of Checker Hall residents are considered.

I will take the time to present some pros and cons for the benefit of members of parliament who have followed four blind men to wreak havoc on Barbados financially, environmentally and socially.

• Cahill Energy Barbados seems to be a pot of gold despite no plant exist of the proposed 1000 tons daily for this new technology.
  • Why all the operational Plasma Gasification Plants which are in operation are but demonstration plants?
  • Why if this technology is so great and is a Harvard invention why no commercial plasma gasification plants exist.
  • Mr Chris Sinckler is true that Cahill will be guaranteed $120M per year as free cash flow thanks to deleveraging for the first 5 years despite capital expenditure of $180M yearly, thus can you explain the maths?
  • Donville Inniss  as Minister of Commerce, are you aware From May 15th, 2014 – the start of โ€œPower Purchase Agreementโ€, price charged to consumers for electricity will increase every 3 years to reflect the increasing operational cost?
  • Why would Cahill burn GOB waste for $30 when hazardous watch can fetch $250 per ton?
  • Who monitors air quality and who will in the future?
  • What are the specific protocols for monitoring nanoparticles and PM2.5?
  • Is it true the PM2.5 and nanoparticles cannot be filtered by lungs are linked to blood cancer and scarring of lungs.
  • How will the 9 tons of Caustic Soda be treated to eliminate contamination of ground water and marine life?
  • Will the residents of Sandy Lane serviced by the Molyneaux Aquifer experience greater water outage due to Cahill Water wells?
  • Who builds a factory upwind of residents that will have to flare at times?
  • Dioxins, Carbon Monoxide, NOx, acids, chlorides, fluorides, sulphates, phosphates, sodium and calcium?
  • Which GOB department possess the protocols to benchmark Cahill?
  • Name a plasma gasification plant that has met stipulated emission control limits?
  • Can the Minister of Finance tell Barbadians if itโ€™s true no commercial Plasma Gasification Plants exist in the US due to stringent environmental requirements?
  • Can any person involve in the Cahill negotiations tell Barbadians if finderโ€™s fees will be paid and to whom?
  • Are there any laws that require all ministers to conduct government business using only assigned work emails?
  • Can the Cahill Plasma Gasification, Doddโ€™s Prison, Hardwood, Pierhead Project and 3S stand up to international scrutiny of good governance?
  • Where will the bottom ash be landfilled and who will monitor chemical composition?
  • Will Cahill Energy Barbados provide cheaper electricity that the current provider BL&P?
  • Who will maintain baseload during the Cahill 35 days off grid maintenance period?
  • Can the Minister of Energy or Commerce tell Barbadians if Cahill will be regulated by the FCT in lieu of its guaranteed 2.5%
  • Dr Denis Lowe, can you tell Barbadians if the waste falls below (12- 14MJ/kg) who will pay the 5 to 14% increased processing fees.
  • Is it true if the GOB is unable to supply waste and biomass in accordance to the contract, it has to compensate CEB for its losses, including losses in revenue as per the โ€œPower Purchase Agreement?
  • Will the facility be a major source of hazardous air pollutants (HAP)?
  • Does the Implementation Agreement include the process for adopting a new waste separation plan with public participation?
  • What are allowable excess emissions from malfunctions?
  • Is not Barbados part of international treaties which prohibit transportation of port waste outside ports?
  • Can the self appointed Czar of  Ship Waste Hon Denis Kellman who will monitor the ships lining up to provide Cahill with garbage?

Sad that the proponents of a questionable $700M Plasma Gasification Plant believe the garbage they spoke in parliament.

171 responses to “Questions for Clair Cowan of Cahill Energy and Government of Barbados”

1. Guys, sorry to interject on your discussion, just asking for advice about an unrelated matter.

I am ‘considering’ to set up a wood furniture retail company.

I am thinking a name like Massy (Furniture) Limited might be good.

Do you think that the regulator will allow the name?

Thank you.

2. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@ Crusoe

Change the a in Massy to e in Messy and wallah, you good to go.

3. @Kammie Holder October 30, 2015 at 12:33 AM #

โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.

“The Prime Minister as head of cabinet needs to investigate who took Cahill to Capital Finance Corp and share the findings with cabinet That triggered US State Department involvements who called Barbados to find out why a GOB minister would be doing such on behalf of a private firm seeking to raise such large sums. To say it raised a red flag is putting it mild for that is the norm in Africa but not common to Barbados. Thus who can have confidence in this project?

How many of you are away that Clair attempted two similar projects in 2010 that fell thru then asked 7th Heaven to seek a buyer of technology within Caricom.”

I thought I had been paying pretty close attention to this Cowan/Cahill matter; but this is the first I have seen about the Capital Finance Corp issue and involvement and US State Department.

Also two attempts in 2010 by Cowan to float similar schemes.

Would appreciate if you would be good enough to share some links

4. @AC, Ministers of government don’t do business on behalf of country using their emails.

Cahill Energy Barbados will not be in any position to provide cheap electricity.

The revenue guarateed to CEH by GOB is in excess of $100M yearly for 30 yrs and Cahill can extend contract beyond 30 years.

This Cahill deal smells like garbage, really stink.

@AC, you are doing more than the GOB in ccommunicating but you are not an elected official. The default penalty is the capital investment of $700M plus loss of projected earnings. Thus the only way out will be the citizens saving face of GOB by taking fight to CEB/Claire Cowan and Investors. I am not the enemy for asking for dialogue and open government on a suspect project.

5. CEB and not CEH…
    @Piece go to the right cocktails reception and you will hear it from irrefutable sources.

With such large transactions people get shafted and talk thus all the leaked emails.

I still have hope the GOB will admit it made a hasty mistake and engage in citizen focused alternatives with the Future Centre Trust in conjunction with the Solid Waste Department.

We must seek conversation over confrontation.

6. Just talked to a Bajan who recently returned to the Great White North after spending two weeks in Barbados. A guy I thought would be tuned in.

When I asked him what he had heard about the Cowan/Cahill WtE plant while he was visiting Barbados he said he had not heard anything about it.

Seems you still have some work to do on increasing the conversation

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Kammie Holder

The last time I heard that word conversation bandied about this cvntry was in “Conversation with the Nation” Owen Arfur campaign and its 13 round the cvntry meetings convened to gauge the popularity of the then ruling party.

You seem to be a Bajan who loves his cvntry but you need to grow you a pair NOW else you will get chewed up and the Future Centre Trust will become a has been NGO.

THE WTF PLANT cannot be entertained in any for or fashion and this Cahill matter MUST BE the single implement to unhinge the DLP and its incompetent henchmen. BEFORE 2018, our cvntry CANNOT GO 3 YEARS WITH THEM AT THE HELM.

“Starving this administration of supplies” like how the French Resistance did with nazi Germany’s invading forces and how the latter ‘s U boats sought to do with supplies to Englant during said war is one of the few serious methods available to a disillusioned citizenry in this battle against this oppression by incompetents

I, for one, will watch how you and RastaR come here and agitate contra Clare of Cahill and when it comes to doing something, which yo claim has been offered to you, you and the same Deep Pockets Crew start to speed wobble!!!

How long have you been here begging and beseeching unreasonable men to retract this madness and seriously consider the alternatives you have enunciated???

Yet, like if you are mentally challenged, euphemism for Slow as Ass, you are here, post a bill giving said project tenure at Vaucluse, wiggling out of your only next step.

I went to your Future Centre Trust site to see if anything about this contra What the Fuvk Plasma Gassification matter was on your site.

Not one shyte!!!

Not one article that shows how the rest of you, Harold Hoyte, Vivianne Gittens, Meryck Adrianna how you feel about this.

Why is that?

You site should take on the semblance of a national group at war with a technology which is putting our citizens at risk yet Wunna still in let be nice mode and clean up our beaches

Wusses!!!

8. PODRYR

Right on

Time for Future Centre Trust to move on beyond “nice mode’, and take the gloves off; even if it scares off some of those sponsors.

I am sure the Deep Pockets Sandy Lane Crew will step into the sponsorship breach to help protect their real estate investments.

9. @Pieces re your 10:04 AM post. Hard-hitting and on point. All activism needs to have a careful plan of escalation…

Mr Holder and the FTC have agitated well but you are right there is surely something ‘wussy’ about current actions.

But he did indicate there are some letters – I presume, suggesting legal or other action – to be unfurled soon. So maybe there are in escalation mode..but very slowly!

Also agree with you and don’t understand why ads in international papers about a possibly dangerous non-existent facility would impact our current tourism.

A smart person in their Board room simply needs to remind them that all PR is good!…the fact is that any major ad awareness on such an environmental no-no might be picked up by the news division of the papers and then ….look out.

We then have other activists and nature lovers doing more of their ting online and maybe even many making trips to this spot of beauty to validate why it should not be under a specter of possible environmental disaster.

Let the gov’t and Sealy deal wid that!

10. Mr. Holder what are talking about as to govt correspondence to relevant sources familiar green energy programs
    What possible connections are you assuming? For indeed the green energy program is not one of Homeland security whereby information is classified as highly sensitive
    Please explain your premise in reference to whatever email communication govt used

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Tell them, The Bushman..lol

12. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

pieceuhderockyeahright October 30, 2015 at 10:04 AM #
    @ Kammie Holder

My sweet piece reading that sweet piece calls for a kiss. I have not viewed the website but I would think that if the fight is on, the place where everyone looks and turn to these days for info, if not ammo, is the internet. So Kammie Holder and the future centre trust website should be filled with all sorts of documentation and a long list of dissenters opposing the Cahill Cowan WtE project and the government’s approach to jumping straight in the deep end without knowing what is at the bottom.

What kammie Holder needs to understanding is that he is now branded as an enemy of the state. It does not matter rather his cause is right or wrong, he is opposing the regime and their system and as history has thought us, the system set up to protect political elite is one that no lil black boy with a few English skills dare trample upon or pull down. He wants consultation, not confrontation but he needs to understand that the nature of the beast is combatant to increase confrontation resulting in a stale male for which he is to get the blame. If he reads carefully the more educated of the AC’s (Alvin the shite Cummins excluded) he will see that accusations are already flying left, right and centre to discredit him and the future centre trust.

Kammie time to launch a website attack against these pretensive brutes. Forget tourism, tourist like Barbados and will come, but they will run hard is shite from this environmental hazard that the government want to tell people is a step in the right direction. I would have believed that if the brutes did not create so much doubt surrounding their true intentions. After all, Lowe finally pay off his court ordered maintenance and got enough on his mother’s account to not worry about that ever again.

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I have spent the last 2 weeks trying to wrap my head around this Cahill brouhaha as I have not been consistently on BU for months, but it was brewing before my absence, if am getting this right and I wonder if the problem is mine, the GOB for the last couple years have been/are hot to give the green light to a company, with an idea and a smile, who have no money and are struggling to access funding for this project to start in Barbados, that project can compromise the quantity and quality of lifesaving drinking water for the citizens, their gassification plant, if they ever get the money can cause health issues for the citizens of Barbados, did I leave out any other life threatening problems to Bajans. Dennis Lowe is beside himself with anticipation to start gassifying.

Being a Canadian company they would have already tried all of the Angel Investors and gotten a NO, or they would have the money.

Knowing that Due Diligence is always on point, there is now mention of the US State Department….did I get everything, did I miss out anyone.

Will we soon be hearing of RCMP involvement..

Piece……as we have no money, we need to try approaching Prime Minister Froon Froon Stuart and Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler with OUR business plan, see if it will fly, but you will need to wear a dress, I already have mine..

14. The Future Centre Trust must exhaust all avenues as an apolitical organizarimu lest we be seen as detractors as unpatriotic.

Its about being measured but never predictable neither will be react to every salvo fired by proponents in desperation. We will respond collectively with stakeholders when the mandate is given.
    Future Centre Trust is made of 6 directors and affiliated to many international organizations. We have presented to the Government of Grenada, Antigua and recently at a conference in California on our Core Network aka Community Recycling.

Here is our website http://www.futurecenttetrust.org

The question still begs, why would government ministers use their personal email addtesses in communication with Claire Cowan.

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

There goes my idea about that dress again.

16. Deputy Dog deputy Avatar
    Deputy Dog deputy

Barbados Foreign Reserves at the LOWEST EVER and these madda-frackers play gardening wid our lives. PEOPLE OF BARBADOS wake up nuh….oper your eyes before its too late, Chris Stinkler could hold hands wid David Thompson. People of Barbados we getting SHAFTED again!!! Wake up nuh!

17. @Kammie

“The question still begs, why would government ministers use their personal email addresses in communication with Claire Cowan.”
    ……………………………………

Simple, they have things to hide! Are we not seeing the same thing unfold with Hilliary Clinton?

When they get skin out of office, there will be no records to hang them on files.

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Due Diligence and the Ingrunt Word

Even if the Future Centre Trust Wusses feared the adverse consequences of waging a war against the government of Barbados because the GoB might go ahead and lock up Vivianne for Sankey Prices Lasciviousness, even if they did not want to be hauled off to court for sedition, these wusses could at least show some token or passive resistance

A Website called “Visitors against the Gassification of Barbados”

A simple webpage where people, travelers to Barbados log on and “support” the cause

Something like this

http://imgur.com/thnGAsZ

Wunna got to get serious Kammie or get out of the Anti Plasma Gassification Campaign

This is not for Wusses

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

You go…..Piece

20. ac October 30, 2015 at 10:52 AM #

This ac post certainly was not by the regular JA!

21. Mr Holder I am believing that there is truth to what you have stated concerning your “patience”and the lack of the tolerance being emitted by those who have a vested interest to oppose the green energy project
    Reason being you are now attempting to used unsipid and irrational reasoning as questionable to govt correspondence
    As previously stated the interest of the state takes precedence and if govts actions falls within the rules and dictates of the Constitution then govt actions are correct
    Being cost effective is one such action and a correlation to good governance

22. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@my sweet piece

You bettas stop while you are ahead before I do not hunt you down and kiss you for the big bare of balls and hammer you wielding. Talk about starting the ball rolling., sweeet sweet sweet Piece

Kammie Holder October 30, 2015 at 11:52 AM #
    The Future Centre Trust must exhaust all avenues as an apolitical organizarimu lest we be seen as detractors as unpatriotic.

@Kammie

How many meetings have you been able to convene with the government that were fruitful? I am not talking about giving you a hearing while all the faces pun the government side remain screwed pooch and tell the story that: ”we are here only to entertain you.” There are meetings and then there are accommodations. Where you simply accommodated so that the government can say we met with the future centre trust Kammie Holder, but we do not give a rats ass what they are saying? I would like to know how much more dialogue you will have to exhaust before you take the sickle to the grass.

I got stop this legible writing shite making me sound like I making sense. Must be losing my bitch..no cussing wuh gaw blimah that ain’t me. Need cussaret.

23. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Wunna see this Kammie response though!!

He still in the mode about personal email addresses!!!

Thou idjit most government departments DO NOT HAVE EMAIL AND THOSE THAT DO, SINCE STEPHEN WILLIAMS AT SUNISLE had a long term contract under the BLP to host the government ‘s email, it would make sense not to use the government email if the son of Senator John Williams avowed supporter of the BLP still has access to confidential government email communication

Wunna see whu I talking bout? Dese is de cvnts that are forging the new intellectuals of our Renewable Energy revolution this is who is on the forefront of our battle against Cahill, Public Relations Officer Kammie Holder

If de deep pockets crew really want some body to run an anti Gassification Campaign why Dem doan get me, me grandson, Bush Tea, Well Well, Due Diligence, prodigal Son, Walter Blackman, and even Donkey to run a campaign wid Dem $$$ (donkey would be in charge of pyrotechnics cause he gots experience bunning down domestic residences and ting)

@ SSS

I gine hold you to that kiss, when next you come to the island and you soviet ing with your people’s dem send a confidential email via BU, we kin trust de Blogmaster and I going sneak way under de pretext uh de Feed my Sheep Committee special meeting.

Please do no wear nuffin dat show your wrist, ankles or Dem Nandoris causing dat may only cause de ole man to experience de Rapture before does who are is know de time and de season assemble (I ent calling gem name cause you know whu going happen)

To all

You see how a little pressure applied to Kammie Holder and Harold Hoyte s bluff got them showing their true colors??

YELLOW.??

24. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Dear SSS,

You will note dat I excluded you name from the list above cause young lady if you was on the team I fear dat de ole man was not going focus my efforts euphemism fuh Dem udder tings in de right direction.

You does talk some exciting tings dat does mek an octogenarian dribble nuff, nuff nuff …

Dem gots to be a law about cyberspace sexcitation … You single? Whuloss woman you scintillating even heah pun de airwaves you got de ole man a puffing …

25. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@My sweet piece

A mere kiss cause you to dribble and wobble? I certainly do not want you to end up like how Noel Lynch did one night in Berts Bar when came home for a few. Let us just say that he could not help telling me how I look along with other things that made told him I was gay and happy about it. And with that left to be told by my company he was watching me like he would trouble me. Piece you are a sweet doan mek no sport old fella. The SSS likes you.

26. It’s interesting to see how the protagonists on this blog are pushing Kammie to act. Do this! Do that! Why are they not acting themselves? The new ac is carrying out an exercise in obfuscation, with the occasional sprinkling of veiled threats. Kammie talks about apples, ac replies about oranges. You ‘en get it yet?

27. Seems like the Chihuahua,s are nipping away at Mr. Holder heels yellping why(u)
    So much pressure he must be under all because he volunteered to do the bidding of a higher class.
    If only he had foreseen he was stepping directly in the path of a fast moving locomotive

28. It seems some of have a lot of time to sprinkle the scratch grain on the ground to feed the yard fowls.

29. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ peltdownman

De ole man as one of de protagonist kin only speak fuh meself

At 80 nuff whu you would want an ole man to do?

Exhaust meself and de nex ting you know Whaplax and de Blogmaster make mention uh me nex week like he did of The Looking Glass?

Even at me age de ole man does got tuh hide behind a nom de plume which one or two fellers heah know de ole man alter ego and still got some respect fuh muh.

Credentials.

Is you an NGO? Is you a FUTURE Centre Trust? emphasis on Future?

You get dat yet?

You unnerstan why de Deep Pockets Peeple will go to the impotent Kammie tuh represent dem interests instead uh somebody hiding behind de name uh Peltdownman or PieceuhdeRock?

Yuh mean dat wunna ent unnerstan de mechanics uh de blog yet? Is you slow?

When Colin ??? De white man Future Center Trust ting mek a representation tuh de Inter-American Development Bank it mean sumting but de problem is dat dese part time NGO operatives so happy getting a $2k a month salary pun de side dat Dem prepared tuh sell out bajan so fuh dese thirty pieces uh silver!!

But you still right bout whu you saying doah goading men who got balls to do something which Kammie, a man who has given his name, by his recent admission seems tuh be lacking

Let de ole man explain why Kammie prevaricating

Suppose jes suppose dat de Future Center Trust management get change and a nex set uh DLP sympathizers get appointed, who gine butter Kammie bread fuh he?

Dis is whu Sexy Sunshine Suzanne mean when she talk bout balls, she speaks of men and women who will speak out, irrespective of if it is de Pope or de Prime Minister

Balls which few Bajans have

30. The fields and hills will be recalled……….grass will be king.

http://www.viaspace.com/giant_king_grass_info.php

31. David!David be nice…afterall what is happening is all your fault

@pelt down funny as it might seem they are both fruit
    One which became overly ripe and has begun to spoiled(apple
    The othervmost likely a navel orange which some perceives is ripe for the picking

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC….do you understand what is being said, I really don’t think so…lol

33. I think we should support the WTE plant.

There are enough cane fields that can be converted to grow king grass. Golf courses can also be converted if needed.

King grass looks like sugar cane so the Tourists will still admire the green fields.

34. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the cunt AC

Boo boo you referring to me? I can’t get you to refer to me just once so I can light in your ass. You know since this Cahill thing I on a mission to expose all you corrupt bitches and sniff money dogs. No respect for parasites and leeches.

Concerning Cammie Holder, no one is attacking him, just telling him to mount the attack he will see the support. I do not see him doing the bidding of the upfront work for the white folk. I see his genuinely pushing he cause to protect Barbadians, but he must stop the outreach programme and roll out the fear factor. Government has used it successfully against docile bajans for years. Time for a little do for do at them.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The Cahill stench is all encompassing. A smile and an idea cannot buy a cup of coffee, a glass of lemonade, nothing, it’s worthless or we all would have bank loans and million dollar Angel investors.

There is something very wrong with this picture, only politicians would be dumb and greedy enough to fall into such an obvious honey trap.

36. Anyone who lives on Toronto will tell you that the majority of our household waste is recyclables and compost.

Very little garbage is created. In my household about half of a shopping bag per week.

This makes me speculate that a WTE plant in Barbados will need to use recyclables or “king grass” to “feed the beast” continuously.

37. Anyone who lives on Toronto will tell you that the majority of our household waste is recyclables and compost.

Very little garbage is created. In my household about half of a shopping bag per week.
    …………………………….

You are so right Hants. I have one shopping bag of garbage every two weeks. I have two compostors in my backyard and two in my allotment garden. I wash and reuse jars and plastic freezer bags. Nothing is wasted.

38. Well Well & Consequences October 30, 2015 at 3:14 PM #

ACโ€ฆ.do you understand what is being said,

Absolutely

With the attention now more than ever focused on Mr, Holder to do more,
    But the question is what more can he do for these “bigups” who have pretentious motives
    Unfortunately for Mr, Holder he is being caught between a rock and a hard place “damned if he do” and damned if he doesn.t
    cannot possibly see how Mr Holder is going to fight both ends of a war that he was unwittingly drawn into.
    The truth Being that those whose interest Mr , Holder is fighting to preserve does not give too hoots about barbados
    Their lives are shrouded in secrecy yet exposed by the millions of dollars they have inherited off the poor man.s back
    Interestingly enough that they have( now) taken their financial fight on the soil of barbadians who have never heard or seen of them in the past
    There must be something in our waters that attracts that caliber of privilege like bees to honey to our shores just take for instance the sound of WTE
    Never before in the history of our democracy has one Name attract so few because of one interest solely to protect and preserve and belief (you me ) it is not the environment.
    As for MR. Holder he needs to take some time out if it is only to catch his breath before the wind catch his sails and he heads into free fall
    For him it cannot be easy,

39. Well Well

Mr. Holder pretty much chose to engaged this battle because several years ago Mr. Holder was running around Facebook posing as a leading authority on Ghanaian culture.

The dude even went as far as to change his English name to a Ghanaian one, so I pretty much think that he is his worse enemy.

40. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Oh my God..can someone please bring back the intelligent writing AC and throw this one back out to sea Lorddddddd

41. @Well and Hants.

Hants what do you do with your used vehicle tyres? What becomes of them do you know? What happens with the wrecked cars that can never be driven again? Have you ever visited Hamilton and had a look at the Blast furnaces that scrap metal is dropped into to become steel to make the same cars again, and the trucks that are turned into stel I beams? What happens to these “scraps” in Barbados? What can be done with them. How long can these things be accumulated in Barbados? Can’t any of you look into the distance? Every cruise ship generates a large amount their material OF GARBAGE. If Barbados can offer a service to accept the garbage or waste from these cruise ships it is a potential source of foreign exchange. If Barbados had a facility that could accept and process (in whatever form) the tyres and scrap metal from different Caribbean countries, that is also a source of foreign exchange. All this is possible with a PLASMA Gasification Plant.
    I say no more.

42. SSS

The point that I was trying to make has little to do with intelligence and more to do with the fact that there are those persons such as Mr. Holder, who by the merely fact of being on social media, appoints themselves qualified authorities on a given issue of contention.

43. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin, Dompey, AC….everything has an upside and a downside, I was reading everyone’s comments, I hear the followers of DLP expounding on the wonders of a gassification plant, but it would be nice to hear from these same people the downside of such a project on the health of the citizens, the water quality and quantity, air quality and everything else that would affect the island and people negatively, it cannot be all sweetness and light, that is not real world scenarios.

Like Hants, I am well familiar with Canada’s system of garbage collection and separation a few days a week, I have never checked to see whether they use gasification or landfill like NY once did or probably still are, in all of this, I see Barbados as a very tiny island, what’s so hard about recycling, why all these convoluted contracts and secrecy, that is half the problem. Who are all these people involved and why are some of them unknown, the known ones are not exactly people the island should be doing business with, I googled them myself.

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…..it’s not like Barbados has scrap metal accumulation the size of Detroit’s. There are already people on the island exporting scap metal. Cruise ships are seasonal, how much foreign exchange can be generated from their garbage unless they visit the island year round generating mountains of garbage.

What I am trying to say is, there should be more transparency, the generation after us and the one after them will have to deal with the fall out from any schemes which go South because we may believe we have all the answers.

45. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Hants

I saw your 3.40 p.m. Post and wasn’t sure if you were generically supporting a Waste to Energy plant or this WtE plasma Gassification plant but being the stolid trooper you are I said that I would err on the side of you past reasoned discourses and believe the best of you.

http://imgur.com/PYKn1Ws

This is the third time during the last 7 days that Domps has made a sensible observation.

Domps opinions that Kammie is singing for his supper and seems to have bitten off more than he can chew, an opinion incredulously supported by the Antichrist.

When you find that the forces of your opponents are agreeing with you one has to pause and take serious stock

Without a doubt we are aware that Waste Disposal in Barbados is big business and this anti Clare Cohan battle is not a totally altruistic one. There are factions out there who are waiting with baited breath and are quite bizzie, sorry busy campaigning against Me Clare who are you??

WAste management is critical for our 144 sq. ml. island and appropriate WtE is equally desirable but it has to be carefully thought out, evaluated, and our solution sized and costed with precision.

De ole man predict that by the Tim all these fellows get through fighting over these spoils the USA or someone is going to has a product in stored that I can put on my house that will generate all my power requirements for $2500 a unit and all this posturing for $700 Million is going to be a nex Waste Foop.

46. Not only is Mr. Holder caught between a rock and a hard place but in effect the Future trust is dependant on financial support both within and outside of Barbados
    Mr.Holder effectiveness to deliver to those environmental groups who have given of their financial support over the years is now being put to test whereby he Must deliver
    This indeed is a do or die situation for his survival as he endlessly tries to engage govt at every level hoping to find that weak and broken link
    The question being does he have the sway and know how to be a champion for a cause belonging to others
    What is so intriguing is the way in which the game is played with an all but final episode being written and he becomes the victim of blame and ridicule by the game players
    Notice that out of the many comments to this post those who have been riding on the coattails of the Future Trust has not uttered a single word of support for Mr. Holder or even a Thank You
    Had it not for the few members of the BU classroom he would be cast out to sea
    This type of an attitude explains the mindset of those with whom Mr. Holder is actively working with against the green energy program.one of callousness and self serving
    Hopefully one day Mr. Holder might have learned his lesson

47. Alvin Cummins October 30, 2015 at 6:19 PM #

“What happens with the wrecked cars that can never be driven again? Have you ever visited Hamilton and had a look at the Blast furnaces that scrap metal is dropped into to become steel to make the same cars again, and the trucks that are turned into stel I beams? What happens to these โ€œscrapsโ€ in Barbados? What can be done with them. How long can these things be accumulated in Barbados?All this is possible with a PLASMA Gasification Plant. I say no more.”
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

So Alvin Cummins, are you saying that the old cars and trucks and scarp metal will be put into the Cahill PLASMA Gasification Plant?

48. @ pieceuhderockyeahright wrote to me ” wasnโ€™t sure if you were generically supporting a Waste to Energy plant “.

I am NOT supporting a Waste to Energy Plant in Barbados even though Alvin Cummins has a “master plan” to make Barbados a garbage processing centre for Cruise ships and for other Caribbean countries.

see his post above. Alvin Cummins October 30, 2015 at 6:19 PM #

49. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It would be nice to hear the answers to my questions re gassification plant…..that is why everyone feels there is something criminal going on, no one who is trying to sell the idea to the citizens, want to answer the really hard questions that should be answered, you, in good conscience, cannot expect the people to blindly agree to something that affects them and their descendants, without knowing ALL the terms and conditions.

That’s buying a pig in a bag.

50. @pieceuhderockyeahright, This was my (returning national plan ) but I am now too old and too broke so I am stuck in Canada. lol

http://www.greencarreports.com/news/1098363_will-tesla-powerwall-home-battery-save-money-cost-calculator-helps-you-decide