Submitted by DAVID  COMISSIONG, President, Clement Payne Movement
Don'tPanic
Don’tPanic

A NEW CONCEPT OF DEVELOPMENT

I totally reject Prime Minister Freundel Stuart’s often repeated admonition that Barbados […]

is a weak and vulnerable society / economy that is caught up in an international recession and that can do little or nothing about its predicament.

On the contrary, I see Barbados as a sturdy little nation that possesses resources which – if properly organized and mobilized – can propel the country forward and upward, international recession or no international recession!

As far as I am concerned there is no need for us to remain in a negative helpless posture of national hand-wringing and despondency! Rather, let us recognize that out salvation lies within our own hands, and that what we need to do is to organize ourselves and our national resources for social and economic production.

But central to such a mission is a national education system that is designed to reproduce, preserve and root us in our distinctive Bajan / Caribbean national culture, and to foster a national propensity for self-confidence, initiative, high academic or technical achievement, social solidarity, cooperative work, independent thought, and self-reliance.

The idea would be to establish the type of national education system that could provide the foundation for a model of development in which we Barbadians assume the primary responsibility for establishing productive enterprises, and in which the economic development of Barbados is based squarely on our country’s educational and human development!

In other words, we need to jettison this idea that the foreign investor will be our savior, or that Barbados could or should “develop” itself by increasing the number of its citizens employed in relatively unskilled, low-technology, dead end manufacturing, tourism or other service jobs!

I therefore envisage a new Barbados economy based on the following planks:-

1. Education, as a foreign exchange earning industry in its own right;

2. High technology manufacturing;

3. Intensive, high technology-based food production;

4. Cultural or arts-based industries;

5. Cultural and heritage tourism;

6. Health tourism;

7. Sports tourism;

8. A national “Employee Share-Ownership Programme”;

9. Public/Private sector partnership in the development and commercial use of such national assets as our rum, sugar, sea island cotton, solar technology, classic Bajan furniture, pepper sauce, black belly sheep, Cricket heritage, classic Bajan literature, pottery, and the list goes on;

10. A cooperative or people’s sector of the economy based on a combining and mobilization of the resources of our credit unions, cooperatives, trade unions, churches, educational institutions and community-based organizations;

11. An organized Public/Private Sector effort to provide for the technical, administrative, managerial and trade-related needs of our fellow CARICOM member states;

12. A meaningful national entrepreneurial partnership with the Barbadian and wider Caribbean Diaspora in North America and Europe;

13. A systematic process of small business development based– among other things– on the directing of government contracts and government expenditure towards small business;

14. A series of local environmental development projects, with funding provided under the international Global Warming / Climate Change agenda;

15. Development of a new relationship with Latin America based– in the first instance– on enhanced relations with Venezuela and Cuba, and on Barbados joining Petro Caribe and the Bolivarian Alliance For Latin America and the Caribbean (ALBA);

16. Engagement with the African Union (AU) on their Diaspora / Sixth Region initiative by undertaking joint AU / Barbados developmental projects;

17. Expansion of Solar Energy mechanisms and applications right across the island;

18. A systematic effort to dismantle the national “log-jam” of un-met human needs, un-employed people, and un-used financial resources with a national programme of low income housing construction; expanded educational programmes; expanded health care provision; local food production; and solar energy production;

19. An organized “Research and Development” effort based on and in the University of the West Indies; and

20. Implementation of the  notion that– especially in a period of economic distress – each Government ministry must identify and undertake responsibility for developing at least one concrete project that will add significant economic value to our nation.

If one closely examines these twenty propositions one will discern that at the heart of each proposition is the notion of a conscious, patriotic, culturally rooted, highly educated and trained Barbadian population.

Thus, we come right back to the fundamental issue of education and national identity formation!

In the next component of this extended essay I will outline a proposal for a revamping of Barbados’ educational system (and the umbilically connected spheres of cultural development and mass media), before going on to explain how my twenty developmental propositions can be implemented in our beloved country.

(To be continued.)

142 responses to “DON’T AGONIZE! ORGANIZE! (ii)”

1. Mr Commisiong

Why do you wast your time coming in the BU rum shop to cast your pearls before swine?

Since you are not yet retired, I am sure you have other things to do than come here to engage with a set of jokers who believe that BU can change anything.

re Some of the contributions are filled with gratuitous insults, ridicule, and intolerance. Why is this necessary? What is this all about?

By all means adopt a rigorous and uncompromising attitude towards public office holders who are paid by the taxpayers to perform their functions. But in the case of private citizens who give of themselves by getting involved in public life and public discourse, I think there should be a general attitude of respect and tolerance.

YOU CAN NOT EXPECT A SET OF SEMI-ILLITERATES DRAGGED UP FROM THE GUTTER WHO THINK THEY ARE EXPERTS AT EVERYTHING TO BEHAVE OTHERWISE. HOW CAN THEY? THEY DONT UNDERSTAND MUCH EXCEPT TO PULL DOWN

When you feel like posting…post. When you chose to do otherwise….forget it.

Watch now………lol lol lol lol

2. So much hatred! Poor man.

3. @David Comissiong

Thanks for posting to BU, the exchanges will get robust at times, it is the Internet of course, do not allow this to deter you. We live in an imperfect society and this is mirrored right here on BU.

4. Bush Tea, I only hope that you seriously consider the wisdom of Mr. David Commissiong words because I am 99.99% sure that his words were specfically directed at you and you alone sir.

5. Georgie Porgie

And as for you Sir, keeping on stewing in your own juices.
    I often marvel at your intellectual stance and question value of the education you have gotten because why would a gifted scholar of your caliber wish to confabulate with those of whom you consider semi -illiterate?

6. Further comments irrelevant to this blog will be deleted or blog comments turned off.

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

“Why will she train that wintry curl in such a springlike way?…”

A wiser man once said “Quite a lot of our contemporary culture is actually shot through with a resentment of limits and the passage of time, anger at what we can’t do, fear or even disgust at growing old.”

You must understand that while growing old in mandatory, to the degree that one lives to attain that age, there are those for whom that ageing issue is not accompanied with growing up.

Like I said before one incident of ridicule has so affected that character with hatred for this site that, while he pretends to not be interested in the happenings in the shop, he lurks in the shadows, neither fish nor fowl, not outside but not inside, in that in between zone.

It is called “the Golden Years: Growing old Ungracefully”

You are too young to understand the phenomena Donna, while some of us are passionate about the place where we are, the lives that we lived, the contributions that we have made and the offspring to whom we are still dear to, and communities that still accord us respect, there is a second set for whom the experience is agony.

Imagine this Donna.

The bowels that occupy this dribbly belly, once a 12 pack, now embarrass us in such a way that we dare not leave the house without an adult diaper suitably called Depend.

The teeth once a charming smile now are held in place by polydent and, when retiring, a thing that one does almost automatically as one may have dropsy, puts one at risk of swallowing said fixture, if you did not use enough polydent. Dear lady, I just dribbled.

Alzheimers, incontinence, flatulence, a myriad of the natural progressions besiege us in this enforced frailty of shell, so we become bitter old men, i speak from knowledge as I become irrelevant over time.

As fast as we were, as bright and whatever superlative one would ascribe to oneself, “he was the best …”, it shifts to being the comparative, “he used to be better than ..” but then a mystery Donna, you do not even move to that positive state and with that ignominy, self hate of being cast aside like a pair of old shoes, we become bitter at anything or anyone who would shine.

Behold the bane of the Blogmaster whose only sin was to have created a venue where the common man can express himself, under nom de plumes, and in so doing hath attracted the ire of this noted practitioner, a used to be, who now comes to the Rum Shop to scoff.

Irrelevant. There are no more medical articles to show one’s brilliance so what you see is scoffing or Growing Old Ungracefully a type that will not go Quietly into the Night but will hold onto the bed posts.

Come Sing a Song will Return, not because de ole man has not been too kindly to him, but because, IF HE is the reincarnation of Clement Payne as others have likened him to be, it will be prudent to champion his 21 points to a logical conclusion.

It cannot be that he will watch newcomers Granville or True Comer Walter come and state such truths and he, who has been the single occupant on the back of a Suzuki, let them pass unchallenged.

8. David

I notice that you’re quick to respond to what I would consider a fair response to GP negative characterization of certain of the bloggers here, but would not respond fairly to the latter part of GP statement which is uncalled for in my judgment.

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I concur with Point 1. I always felt that you David should have led the charge of the banding together of teachers to go to Cuba and South America to teach English.

Point 2. High technology manufacturing; Vague yet sexy, interesting enough to get a questioning eyebrow raised but not deep enough to be of any substance.

Do you know what “High Technology requirements demand? the skills, the equipment matrices, the learning curves?

Give us an example of one that you have researched

10. Let us stay on the topic at hand. BU will always allow latitude using best judgement. We allow ourselves to be too easily distracted.

11. How are black people treated in Venezuela and Cuba ?

12. @ Piece ….
    Don’t expect the young and untested (or the “Growing Old Ungracefully”) to understand and appreciate the wisdom of experience.
    It is beyond their inept immaturity to appreciate that the methodology employed in creating diamonds demands the judicious application of extensive pressure.

Pressure is a VALUABLE tool.
    It quickly identifies the weak and the fragile …who crack and fade away…
    It hones the tough and resilient …. INCREASING their toughness and diamond qualities.

Do you recall your ‘warm’ welcome to Walter….?
    …and Artax’s robust accusation of recent…?
    …were he of less stern stuff, he would have, like the lonely old ungrateful among us, be still wallowing in self-pity while spending his days watching cricket from the 70’s…..
    Cuh dear…. pity the poor man as Donna observed…

None of us are perfect, and currently BU is about identifying LEADERS. Leaders are not made of shiite stuff….. Leaders are not those who must be cradled and spoon fed…
    Leaders MUST be made of stern stuff….

If David Come-and-sing-a-song is worth his salt, he too will pass the test of BU’s ‘diamond tester’ ….or he will fail and run away like Wickham….
    Either way, we are all the wiser…

Much as Bushie like s Caswell and Walter, THEY are not perfect, and they MUST be reminded of their weaknesses so that they can WORK on these….
    Caswell remains too small minded and introverted – it defeats his other excellent qualities.
    Walter still thinks a bit too much of his admittedly sharp intellect, He does NOT yet open himself truly to correction where it is appropriate… …a kind of ‘HC syndrome’ where, to have been called ‘wrong’ on an issue is considered to be sacrilege…..

NOTHING would please Bushie more than for us to discover that the REAL David C is indeed one of the diamonds and Gems that Barbados so desperately needs now….

…Soooo perceptive…. !!!

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Comrade

Point 3 carries the same issues as 2, what is the cost, how long will it take, are we talking hydroponics or indigenous/genetic modifications like sturdier ground provisions, fast growing pahwee mangoes on 10 foot trees yielding what 35ft trees yield? How can you expect us to discuss in a vacuum.

Then here is the other side of this “discussion”. Say that I do have such a tree, what then Comrade? I want my tree to generate some money today, what are you advocating?

Points 4-7 are sexy topics which, from the time that Adam was a lad, were being bandied around. However one does accept the health and medical tourism opportunities and forex generation one also needs to understand that the cost of these facilities is extremely high and the skill sets required to run these facilities are equally impacted by standards and the last time I checked the Continuous Practitioner Examinations registrations were not being adhered to by our General Practitioners. How would you anticipate seriously competing in that field if our doctors and nurses were/are not registering with local authorities??

I dun talk bout Point 8, I believe that barbados already has an ESOP programme in QEH, free secondary Schooling, free bus fares for students school meals, scholarships, NIS which needs to be enhanced so that it becomes supported through other mechanisms

Point 9 is a can of worms all by itself and will need an article just for that Public/Private Sector Partnerships in the context of Barbados are seen as the Minister getting he and his friends some money and tiefing de business from the private sector collaborator if it is lucrative enough

With each one of these pretty front house ideas you would have to bring me a document where you show how you have thought through the mechanics to protect the small man from the band spree of tiefing while hiding under de Crown

Point 10 agreed. Excluding dem vampires called de Church dat only know how to tex tithes but give nuffin in return udder dan hampers at Xmas and corn pone at Easter.

Point 11 is a Waste Foopism and you need to apologise to de Bloggers heah fuh calling dat word CARICOM, Dat are is dead.

De madam calling de ole man so I gots to go and do de bidding of de same church dat i dun decry in Point 10 above

14. I can’t speak about venezuela because I haven’t read neither have I view much on relations regarding black people in that country, but I am fairly sure that I’ve read several years ago that Cuban blacks were confronting various forms of discrimination, despite the prevailing notion that such practice doesn’t exist in communist countries.

15. 1-2-3-4 lol rotflmao

i told you …….Watch now………lol lol lol lol

BU TOO SWEET THOUGH
    Psychologists abound all with delusions of grandeur and contradicting themselves.

16. THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT IS HAPPENING IN BARBADOS TODAY ah lie?

Ye have plowed wickedness, ye have reaped iniquity; ye have eaten the fruit of lies: because thou didst trust in thy way, in the multitude of thy mighty men.

Therefore shall a tumult arise among thy people, and all thy fortresses shall be spoiled

talking bout looking for leaders? bare joke!

17. Georgie Porgie

Oh shut up; yah fork tongue hypocrite!

You’re liken to the white man who speaks peace to the Indian on one side of his mouth, and on the other side he is planning for war.

18. Georgie, it is grammatically incorrect to place a COLON in front of the subordinate Conjunction BECAUSE in your above statement.

Remember Georgie, you’re separating a main-clause from a dependent-clause and it does not require a COLON, when you already have the subordinate conjunction BECAUSE.

19. Mr. Commissiong,

We are focusing on one point at present. That doesn’t mean that we won’t discuss the others later. Got to agree with Bushie that you must be made of sterner stuff and worry not about insults. Prove yourself!

Back to the first point – if we accept that one of Barbados’ biggest problems is low productivity then just improving this would go a long way towards solving our economic woes. If employees see an avenue where they may eventually have a stake in the business it may result in greater productivity as they could believe that they are actually working for themselves and not simply being exploited, underpaid to enrich a boss.

We always say that our biggest resource is our people. Motivating our people then would be the biggest success possible.

Hants,

That is a whole other discussion. My point about capitalism is not strictly about race but about a system which promotes greed. If we buy into that system the black race will never be unified enough to get out from under. It is about our response to the white man’s system not really about what the white man has done or is doing.

20. @Donna

How can we avoid greed when the capitalist system we promote is fueled by designing and marketing products and services to manipulate our behaviour? Read conspicuous consumption.

21. RE David October 28, 2015 at 6:08 PM #

How can we avoid greed when the capitalist system we promote is fueled by designing and marketing products and services to manipulate our behaviour? Read conspicuous consumption

1 WE CAN COME ON BU AND PRETEND TO BE PSYCHOLOGISTS

2 WE CAN COME ON BU AND “PRESSURE” THE OPINIONS OF POSTERS, FOR IN DOING SO WE WILL CREATE LEADERS THAT WILL CHANGE THINGS IN BARBADOS

3 WE CAN COME ON BU AND BOAST THAT A B C OR D DIDNT LAST LONG ON BU

22. Excellent analysis Donna.

Many businesses that, against the odds, DO NOT FAIL in difficult times, succeed because of the commitment of their employees. Treating such a critical resource as your employees, as a mere ‘production unit’ is a FUNDAMENTAL error in management judgement.
    To be honest, the mere offer of ‘ownership’ through shares is only a small part of the equation. Involvement in decision making, sharing and even creating the organisational vision and in the strategic planning process, can (and do) have SIGNIFICANT motivational impact on employees …. which redound to multiple benefits to the organisation.

@ Ping Pong
    The whole point of share ownership by employees is that they share the responsibilities of ownership … including liabilities which would surely accrue against share capital. Also the issue is not about employees taking CONTROL away from the owner. It is about recognising their worth as HUMAN BEINGS and not just chattel.

Why not just exit the BU rum shop?
    Why persist in coming to interact with ‘seed pickers’ and ignorant posters who are not in your intellectual class?
    What is the point of wasting your precious time with us trash…?
    Are you a glutton for self-punishment?

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

A very good question about buying into the system, I know people who stay away from the system and still survive, one way that works very well is to dumb down the greed, buy what you need and not what you want just because it was skilfully advertised using subliminal messaging.

Most people fall into that trap and don’t realize that companies spend million of dollars to target them just for that purpose of sucking up all their money. It’s a scam, plain and simple.
    L

24. @ David
    How can we avoid greed when the capitalist system we promote is fueled by designing and marketing products and serves to manipulate our behaviour?
    Proper question….
    But it begs the question of WHY we should allow a system to manipulate our behaviour? Why, instead, are we not identifying the KIND OF BEHAVIOURS that we want to promote…and designing systems which SUPPORT that result?
    This is what Donna means by ‘the white man system’. They have been able to exploit this greed-based capitalist approach to great advantage over blacks – MAINLY because we decided in the interim to abandon OUR traditional systems and to seek to match them with their greed…
    Blacks do much better in tribal /clannish / family settings …guided by the wisdom of elders, running ‘meeting turns’, and focusing on GROUP advancement. Generally, we have always been piss -poor at the dog-eat-dog game of naked greed.

25. QUESTION TO BU PRESSURIZERS

1 HOW MANY LEADERS HAS BU PRODUCED BY ENGAGING IN AD HOMINEMS AND PRETENDING TO BE PSYCHOLOGISTS?

2 HOW MANY LEADERS HAS BU PRODUCED BY PUTTING “PRESSURE” ON THE OPINIONS OF POSTERS,

3 HOW MANY LEADERS HAS BU CREATED THAT WILL CHANGE THINGS IN BARBADOS

4 HOW MANY LEADERS HAS BU CREATED BY BOASTING THAT A B C OR D DIDNT LAST LONG ON BU

26. Barbados is a capitalist country.

How do you propose to change to a socialist model.

Talk is cheap.

27. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@ Bush Tea, ‘Blacks do much better in tribal /clannish / family settings …guided by the wisdom of elders, running ‘meeting turns’, and focusing on GROUP advancement. ”

An interpretation of that interesting statement is that we Blacks are forever destined to huts and living off the land while the others build ships to travel to the moon.

The simple tone of your statement and what it portends in that context sets a worrying perspective.

I hope that you are really saying that those were just our foundations but that today the sou-sou is the credit union, which by now should have sprouted into investment banks fueling whipper smart investors in the mould of any top-notch financial maguffy worldwide…

In sum, we are using the foundational sou-sou’s clannish, family setting to establish a path towards the new book ‘How the Black Middle Class Re-took Its Stolen Legacy”.

Just wondering.

28. Donna

I hate to hear when some people employ the expression that the black race will never be unified.

The black race was fragmented always by its linguistics and cultural-ethos, before the days of its enslavement and colonization, so notion this of unifying the black race is an unrealizable reality.

It is important to note that most Africans identify themselves on the basis of the tribe rather than they national indentify, so this in off itself shows the level diversity and separatism within a given country on the African continent.

29. Dompey,

I am not suggesting that the entire black race should be unified. I am suggesting that we in Barbados, if we want to change the status quo will have to consider that the only way we can do it is to do it together and form groups for our mutual benefit. Individually we just don’t have the resources. Of course we can remain in the barrel like the proverbial crabs. But then we would have no one to blame but ourselves and should not complain about our state. Put up or shut up, I say!

30. David,

That one is too big for me to answer. I will have to give it some thought but I make no promises.

31. @ Dee Word
    …some of the largest and most impressive business models in this world are Co-operatives. Look up co-op Utilities, Insurance, manufacturing, Agriculture etc…
    The Co-op is the modern derivative of the sou sou and ‘Nationwide’ in your neck of the woods is an example of modern Co-op Insurance.

32. DONT AGONIZE,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,PRESSURIZE!
    DONT AGONIZE,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, OSTRACIZE!

33. So Comissiong finally made an appearance to comment on his embryonic idea. I was amused at the suggestion (from him) that activities in Capitalist countries could be a boon to economic recovery in Barbados. This suggests that DC is slowly distancing himself from the regimes in Havana and Caracas

Let me say at the outset that not everything that happens in other places is easily transferable to Barbados, businesses that offer employee ownership plans (also known as Employee Share Purchase Plans) are usually publicly traded companies and generally exist in countries where there is a vibrant stock market so the employee could recoup his investment in the event of hardship or for other financial reasons. If the shares are privately held, then the business may employ some internal mechanism to ensure that their employee is not out of pocket. The above does not reflect current circumstances in Barbados and is unlikely to be a reality anytime soon.

It will be a cold day in hell before his suggestion takes root in Barbados.

34. Georgie Porgie

Are you Barbadian?
    If you are a Barbadian which the evidence probably suggests, then where is your sense of nationalism? Where is your sense loyalty to your fellow country man irrespective of the differences which seems to separate you and him? Is this the way a man of class and prestige treats his fellow country? Why do you insist that the Devil manipulated and exploited you so readily and easily Porgie? Do you not see that your efforts here does more harm than good? Can you at least act like a man who has some sense and maturity for once? Brother I don’t know how to reach you or if you’re far beyond that reachable threshold?

35. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Things have really got to be serious when Domps becomes the voice of reason per the behaviour of The Bane of BU.

Could any one of the stalwarts here point me to the articles that hath made this “man” employ “hell hath no fury like a woman scorned”?

36. @ Piece
    It all started when Technician asked him why God created the devil… 🙂
    Then some BU joker asked why Jesus deliberately misled the masses with parables and where he and Zoe got their stupid Trinity shiite from….
    …it seems that the only thing more vindictive than a woman scorned is a HC man who don’t have answers..

37. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@Bushie, being the acknowledged ‘voice of … reason?’ on BU I ask: are both you and Pieces so seer like in your senior years that neither of you ‘read carefully’ anymore because you “already know what is, as is written”!

This is social media so any and all things are accepted…BUT as I respect you two gents as fonts of solid, salient reason I really presume you guys also hold yourself to some…let’s say… more normally acceptable standards, even in this wild-west world of social media!

So read quicklyagain, “… I hope that you are really saying that those were just our foundations but that today the sou-sou is the credit union…In sum, we are using the foundational sou-sou’s clannish, family setting to establish a path towards the new book ‘How the Black Middle Class Re-took Its Stolen Legacy”

Which you must realize is a statement wrapped in a simple rhetorical question.

And then read just as quickly, “…The Co-op is the modern derivative of the sou sou and ‘Nationwide’ in your neck of the woods is an example of modern Co-op Insurance.”

And tell me how a smart fellow who has probably written more essays and Positions Papers than I have dreamed about could waste ink in the second instance!

Bushie and Pieces, this is absolutely INCONSEQUENTIAL in the scheme of tings! So don’t let’s get too over wrought but I just thought I would prod both of you. And I know that both of you you are much more able to fire back rationally to any perceived ‘scathing’ attack with a little more polish.

At least I hope so. Oh lawd, LOLLL.

And BTW Mr Bush Tea I thought that your remark yesterday to Artax re how could he state to the effect that his mind is made-up so don’t tell him anything, was probably the most important piece of commentary for the site. I normally say it differently but your statement was de bomb…for ALL discourse.

of course EVERY one of our larger than life leaders behaved the same way as Artax did but it’s all in HOW you tell a person to ‘kiss your grits’…it’s all in the HOW! LOLLLL.

38. Shiite man Dee Word… yuh mean that Bushie can’t AGREE with you in piece (pun intended) now? THE BUSHMAN CONCURS…
    Bushie was just expanding ….

LORD!!!
    …LOL … you so much accustomed to feeling the stinging side of the whacker that you shocked that Bushie giving you the handle…? 🙂

39. Sargeant,

Nothing will take root because we are firmly planted in this dirty mess we keep complaining about.

We need to “free [our] minds and the rest will follow.

40. Mr. Comissiong’s leftist ideology, is glaringly demonstrated in his ardent support for Tyrannical Dictators like Fidel Castro.

The following are some salient facts on “Castro’s Slave Camp: Affection for New Killing Fields” by Jamie Glazov, in his literal masterpiece, UNITED IN HATE, The Left’s Romance with Tyranny and Terror, Copyright 2009.

Having seized power on January 1, 1959, Fidel Castro followed the tradition of Vladimir Lenin and immediately turned his country into a slave camp. Ever since, Cuba has distinguished itself as one of the most monstrous human-rights abusers in the world.

Half a million human beings have passed through Cuba’s gulag. Since Cuba’s total population in only around eleven million, that gives Castro’s despotism the highest political incarceration rate per capita on earth. Firing squads carried out more than FIFTEEN THOUSAND EXECUTIONS. Torture has been institutionalized; myriad human rights organizations have documented the regime’s use of electric shoch, dark coffin-sized isolation cells, and beatings to punish “anti-socialist elements.” The Castro regime’s barbarity is best epitomized by Camilo Cienfuegos Plan, the program of horrors followed in the forced labor camp on the Isle of Pines. Forced to work almost naked, prisoners were made to cut grass with their teeth and to sit in latrine trenches for long periods of time. Torture is routine.

Since Castro’s death cult, like other leftist ideologies, believes that human blood purifies the earth – and since manifestations of grief affirm the reality of the individual, and thus anathema to the totality – mourning for the departed became taboo. Just like Mao’s China and Pol Pot’s Cambodia, Castro’s Cuba warned family members of murdered dissidents not to cry at their funerals.

A Committee for the Defense of the Cuban Revolution ( CDR) governs every single city block and every agricultural production unit. The CDR’s purpose is to monitor the affairs of every family and to report anything suspicious. A Cuban’s entire life is spent under the surveillance of his CDR, which controls everything from food rations to his employment to his use of free time, A vicious RACISM against BLACKS accompanies this repression. In pre-Castro Cuba, blacks enjoyed upward social mobility and served in many government positions. In Castro’s Cuba, the jail population is 80 percent black, while the government hierarchy is 100 percent white.

Cuban communism follows Lenin’s and Stalin’s idea of “equality,” wherein members of the nomenklatura live like millionaires, while ordinary Cubans live in utter poverty.

Denied to right to vote under Castro’s Cuba, Cubans have voted with their feet. Pre-Castro Cuba had the highest per capita immigration rate in the Western hemisphere. Under Castro, approximately TWO MILLION Cuban citizens (out of eleven million) have escaped their country. Many have done so by floating on rafts or inner tubes in shark-infested waters. An estimated FIFTY THOUSAND to EIGHTY-SEVEN THOUSAND have lost their lives. Not content to trust the sharks, Castro has sent helicopters to drop sandbags onto the rafts of would-be-escapees, or just gun them all down. Epitomizing this barbarity was the TUGBOAT MASSACRE of July 13, 1994, in which Castro ORDERED Cuban patrol boats to KILL FORTY-ONE unarmed Cuban civilans – TEN OF THEM CHILDREN who were using an old wooden tugboat in their attempt to flee Cuba.

Naturally, the Left (like Comissiong et al), initiated a romance with Castro and his slave camp, just as it did with Lenin’s and Stalin’s Gulag.

41. Not saying you are wrong. Just questioning the sources for your information because propaganda works both ways.

42. mawning all
    Georgie Porgie insists
    DONT AGONIZE,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,PRESSURIZE!
    DONT AGONIZE,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, OSTRACIZE!
    DONT AGONIZE,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,BE CIRCUMCISED!
    DONT AGONIZE,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, FOSSILIZE!
    DONT AGONIZE,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, VICTIMIZE!
    DONT AGONIZE,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,CRITICIZE!
    DONT AGONIZE,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,FRATERNIZE!
    DONT AGONIZE,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,EVANGELIZE!

43. quid scripsi, scripsi et quid dixi, dixi! lol lol lol
    as Gearbox would say aaaaaaaaaaaaaaahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

44. @ Donna
    Some of the people that have freed their mind as to the callous happen in Barbados have leave Barbados,

45. @ Zoe
    If you are judging David C by his support of Castro, how would you judge those who support Netanyahu ….. and his apartheid and fascists policies in Gaza and the West Bank?
    Does it depend on which tyrannical dictator one quotes…?

Do you know that even Dompey has been known to make wise statements….and one of these days, even AC may well do so too… 🙂

46. Bushie,

But these people were chosen by God to do this. Everybody else is a second class human.

47. It never ceased to amaze how some adults are just like children in mind. Take heed because karma is a bitch.

48. GP,

Yabba dabba do do to you toooooo!

49. In order to reach somebody one must use that person’s language.

50. David,

Once a man, twice a child.