There is enough evidence (documents) in the public space about Clare Cowan, Cahill Energy and Barbados connections to move the conversation in Barbados to one of accountability. In the documents attached Bizzy’s name is mentioned which explains why Voice of Barbados will not want to offend a major advertiser.

[…]

BU apologizes for the quality of the documents.

Bjerkham of JADA (member of the Board of the Central Bank of Barbados and major campaign contributor of government) explains why the government has been lazy to shut the project down.

The unprofessional language used by the principal of Cahill et al who have been engaged to facilitate a USD350 million waste to energy gasification plant is scary. The government continues to disrespect Barbadians about the truth concerning Cahill Energy waste to energy project. It is evident from the documents attached Barbadians should be very concerned.

The absence of investigative journalism from the traditional media is also of concern. Cahill Barbados deal, like 3S Barbados, pokes a hole in our governance system. It again exposes the graft/malfeasance between private and public sector players. Who will pay the price?

Enough!

155 responses to “Cahill Energy Scam and Local Connections, EXPOSED!”

1. If Barbados weren’t a banana republic, the government should have fallen by now and the ministers involved should have been measured by John Nurse’s tailors.

2. So the government of Barbados, including the Prime Minister and his cronies from the private sector are indeed included in this scam.

The country is broke, they are running around the globe begging nationals to invest in Barbados, to pay our remittances, so they can enrich this Clare Cowan?

Barbados needs a proper hospital, more seniors homes, extensive road repairs and they are planning this white elephant? They know we cannot produce enough garbage to feed the monster and want to grow grass rather than food. When they plant grass, where are they going to get the FX to import food basics? My God, what did I help to elect?

Please Bajans, forgive me. I knew not what I was doing when I paid passage and travelled home to vote for these stupid lying hypocrites, who care nothing for their electorate.

In one year my land taxes went from $246 Barbados to $816 Barbados. When the tax officer was questioned about the 300% increase on a piece of country land in St. Joseph, we were told that the Government has decreed that any land below Horse Hill is now Bathsheba. I never knew Bathsheba with little peasant houses and some cottages was a high end locale. So, now Joy Road, Gaggs Hill, Joes River, Frizers, Hillswick, St. Elizabeth Village, even up under Hackleton’s Cliff is now Bathsheba. Lord have mercy.

3. @Pat

Yes we need all those things you identified but we also need a waste to management strategy as well.

4. We thought that the PM did not know of this scam but he did know and was to give the woman an answer by March 12th.

My goodness, what a wicked bunch of idiots.

That June 1 email of Cowan is very inciteful into the character of the woman! My goodness!

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Prodigal Son

All along I have been saying that the Prime Minister is a lot of things but he is not a crook. These circumstances might cause me to rethink that but I will have to give it some thought before I make any future pronouncements in this regard.

6. A simple observation some will accuse BU – Why is Clare Cowan sending messages to the private email addresses of our ministers?

7. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

David, that’s a good laugh re your rhetorical query “…Why is Clare Cowan sending messages to the private email addresses of our ministers?”

I presume for the same reasons that a private email server are imperiling the Presidential aspirations of a certain former US First Lady!

It was always impossible that the PM could not have been aware of this matter. It was laughable when he made his recent remarks that suggested such a possibility.

There are liars and then of course there are God fearing men. Often we tend to perceive that the two are mutually exclusive. They are not.

Would it be shocking if some of these docs were already previously available to the Opposition? The actions by Mia Mottley particularly the recent noise in Parliament falls into the same category as the PM’s then obvious comedic presentations on this matter.

Oh lawd David. Where was BU during HARP or the Stokes Affair…or even when Tom just up and died….oh my lawd!

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

de Ingrunt Word

I would not be surprised if these documents were not leaked by the Opposition and by some circuitous route found their way on BU. You see they might not want their past dealings exposed in a tit-for-tat exchange so they can’t be identify with this leak.

9. The question I will ask is ‘when did the PM know?’

10. @Brief

He signed a letter dated 2 March, 2014 didn’t he?

11. A few weeks ago the “Honourable” Prime Minister told the country that the WTE project is not a done deal and that any further progress would be done with input from the citizenry. That being the case, the document written and signed by him will have to be a forgery. If that is not the case and the document is authentic, then we all will have to conclude that the prime minister is truly a boldfaced liar and cannot be trusted.
    The letter written by Claire Cowan on June 1, 2015 should be enough to send her to prison for a long time. Not to mention to penalty that should be paid by the prime minister and his cronies.
    I ask the Lord what have we done to deserve this lot of thieves and crooks to so govern us

12. This is an eye opener to all the doubting thomases like AC,Fractured,balance all you of the Fatted Calf Brigade.The woman among other things has admitted fraud involving the Government of Barbados.Staurt claims a few weeks ago he doesn’t know about this Cahill thing and we see he is writing to none other than Clare Cowan in March 2014.These culprits got to get jail time for this.The Canadian Government through its Embassy here should know about this scam.Jerkhamm,Tempro,Boyce,Estwick,Lowe,
    Stuart,Sinckler,all these guys in the loop.We miss Eric Fly bad bad.Mia must know about this and is silent like on 4 Seasons.Has she been retained again?

13. @Sea egg

I ask the Lord what have we done to deserve this lot of thieves and crooks to so govern us

It is what we have not done.

14. Brief
    October 4, 2015 at 6:59 PM #

The question I will ask is ‘when did the PM know?’

As per document dated March 3rd 2014, the prime minister knew by February 28th 2014. You would note that the pm wasted no time in following up with the said letter dated March 3rd 2014. He also implicated the entire cabinet as per first paragraph.
    It follows that Donville Inniss lied to us as well. Remember him saying that the cabinet did not know of any agreement with Cahill?
    I cannot ascribe any respect to Mr. Stuart as Prime Minister, hence my use of lower case letter indicating the level to which he has brought this island

15. lower case letters……

16. David

You are correct. We are to shoulder the blame because of what we did NOT do.

Thanks, David

17. Gabriel

Of course Mia has to know. Nothing gets past her. Her silence is truly deafening.

Ask Caswell. He may know more than he’s letting off

18. Be Christ, now that was worth the read.

19. Time will tell if Bajans take to the streets or take over parliament.

20. I resolve to deny my custom to Cave Shepherd since I think a Chief Operating Officer must be found among the 95% black barbadian population which has supported this store for over 106 years.
    Similarly,I resolve to deny my custom to H&B Hardware or any company Bizzy involved in based on his association with this crooked lying woman Cowan who lies to the people of Barbados and knowingly along with ministers of government seek to fleece my grand children of their patrimony.Fuvckrs all.A Venezuelan took me aside in Caracas years ago and said to me” Amigo,blanco man no good,blanco man no good”

21. LOL @ SuckaBubby
    Bushie seconds that ’emotion’…

Shiite Man … you making the other news media look like rabbits….

Boss, when the history of Barbados is written, you will stand out as the fellow who, having been handed just two talents, set about – not only growing these into a massive underground investment that changed the very face of the country, but doing so with such class, grace, patience, drive and tenacity that you would have to be a pice o’ bushman… 🙂

MUCHO respect D!!

22. @ David

Are you sure that the e-mail sent by Claire Cowan to Barry Munholland, dated June 1st, 2015 is authentic?

This woman would have to be crazy requesting someone, via e-mail, to prepare fraudulent financial statements.

Why would a con artist leave a paper trail with damning information and a “confession” that would “Claire-ly” implicate her and Bjorn Bjerkham in this CAHILL scam, and send it via e-mail?

Barbadians, who were asking for transparency and accountability relative to any contractual and other arrangements with this project, were met with much criticism from members and supporters of the DLP, with Denis Kellman recently accusing those individuals of being unpatriotic.

Interestingly, if this information is true, the “critics” were able, through due diligence, to essentially expose the scam surrounding the CAHILL project; something that Kellman and the other “patriots” he referred to were unable to do.

23. @ Sea Egg October 4, 2015 at 7:04 PM #

A few weeks ago the “Honourable” Prime Minister told the country that the WTE project is not a done deal and that any further progress would be done with input from the citizenry. That being the case, the document written and signed by him will have to be a forgery. If that is not the case and the document is authentic, then we all will have to conclude that the prime minister is truly a boldfaced liar and cannot be trusted.

………………………….

Sea Egg,

I have always been very skeptical of the image people portrayed of this PM.

I never bought into this “Mr Integrity” stuff…………I never trusted the man. Has anyone forgotten the manifesto in which he lambasted David Thompson during their bitter feud. This man is no sweetbread!

I always viewed him as deceitful, cunning and sarcastic. I have always viewed him as a liar especially after he looked a little schoolboy in the eye and lied to the innocent child on his calling the election.

He is a politician….look at the lies he told before 2013…….no privitization under my watch, free tertiary education as long as I am PM…………months later the cold liar could come and tell the people ….Barrow never intended for education to be free for ever. You would trust a man like this?

I always felt that he had to know of this deal……there were suggestions that it was signed while he was away but even if that were so…………look he wrote to the woman and promised an answer by March 12, 2015. Only in September 2015 when BU and Future Trust turned the heat up on their tails was he smoked out to tell more lies.

I have no respect for these lied morons!

24. Artaxerxes October 4, 2015 at 8:15 PM #
    Are you sure that the e-mail sent by Claire Cowan to Barry Munholland, dated June 1st, 2015 is authentic?
    This woman would have to be crazy requesting someone, via e-mail, to prepare fraudulent financial statements.
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

My thoughts exactly.

25. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Artaxerxes

They said that she was a con artist: no one said she was smart. And quite frankly it would not take much to deceive those that she did.

26. The ACs presented to BU excerpts from the 2006 Auditor General’s reports to the praise of Walter Blackman.

However, I suspect the 2015 Auditor General’s report will make interesting reading as well.

27. @Artax

It is what it is, we shall see where the chips fall.

Yes Cowan has to be a phycho if the s email is authentic.

28. Caswell Franklyn October 4, 2015 at 8:23 PM #

“They said that she was a con artist: no one said she was smart. And quite frankly it would not take much to deceive those that she did.”

Caswell, now that is what I call a bouncer.

Hahahahahahahahahahahaha

29. There is NO WAY that Froon could NOT have known of the CAHILL scheme….NONE.
    Did he actually say that he was unaware? ..or that he was yet to give permission ..and in fact had not yet even looked at the land?
    Remember that when everyone had read the CLICO report -thanks th BU, Froon claimed to not yet having been given a copy?
    Perhaps he is not dishonest …..just daft!

30. @Bush Tea

The PM is a lawyer whose first response is to cloak himself in legalize. To hell with embracing good communication to include the electorate he serves.

31. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@ Caswell, now see that. I believe you just laid bare the full political machinations of this country when you said: ” I would not be surprised if these documents were not leaked by the Opposition …You see they might not want their past dealings exposed in a tit-for-tat exchange so they can’t be identify with this leak.”

I would take your bet and raise you $1M that you are absolutely right.

Either they leaked them or worked with those who leaked them. Bit 100% sure they were privvy to them long ago.

You are an astute man about town. Me, just an ingrunt fellow. So if I could be of the same persuasion as you on this then something gotta wrong.

I offer that Mia’s entire behaviour on this matter has been unspectacular and unimpressive. When have we known that a political control freak like her would not be fully informed (or ensure her acolytes get details) on the biggest scandal in Barbados since well (maybe Veco den).

Mr, Franklyn sir, Jeff said on another blog that you were a boss and the other day I also complimented your legal acumen so let me again pat you on the back this time for your disarming political smarts.

So the next question..what does this presage for her and elections?

She seems to have boxed herself into a corner in my view. A juicy scandal that should really topple this government if led by a charging opposition but she has to palm off the info to third parties!

Ms Mottley should be challenged for the leadership of the BLP and they unite behind a new leader in order to win.

Despite all the talk and froth over this grievous matter she appears so damaged that she could in fact lead her party to another defeat.

Have you Mr Franklyn completed your tutelage to Grenville yet?

If NOT NOW for a third party then WHEN….oh goodness can’t we see these two leaders are taking us for absolute fools!

32. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@ Artax the perplexing thing about exposures like these is that whether authentic or not they have put the cat among the pigeons as people now need to start to disprove their validity.

I presume that David and his team have covered their backside legally because they have some private correspondence pon here. So whatever laws are being contravened they know that they are suitably covered.

Oh my goodness, ‘Amazing scenes were witnessed here today when Mohani Biswas’.

That little sentence always stayed with me and always seemed so poignant from ‘House of Mr Biswas’.

Strange how the regional home of bobol and corruption comes to mind at this moment!

33. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

de Ingrunt Word

They are getting scared of the third party already. They started to muddy Grenville’s name already. Only on Thursday, a political person approached me with information on him that they think I should have before I commit to him. I feel that they want me to spread it while they keep their hands clean. They think that I am that dumb.

Even if the information turns out to be untrue, you know what they say: mud thrown at a wall might not stick but it leaves a dirty mark. These fools want me to throw the mud.

34. I am sick, just sick of these nasty bald pooch liars. That includes the ACs.

35. When are you the good people of Barbados going to really understand that the DLP ministers MPs and farmyard ducks are CURSE , I believed, I posted many times on this BU that David Thompson thief CLICO policyholders money ,buy votes, tell lies and win an election , for his action he dried up and dead , this PM , Ministers and yard ducks lied , got reelected, we are living the results of deception ,the power of prayers by the people are working, slow but working, these ministers are inflicted with a curse,can’t help themselves, some of us the people will be collateral damage

36. The Cahill Energy Company is not registered in Canada but in the Channel Islands and I guess in Barbados. So the Cdn. government probably wont have a case against Cahill.

But to ask a professional auditor from a reputable company to do what she wanted was stupid. Has she forgotten Enron and the Accounting Firm that prepared their cooked financials? I think the letter and response from Barry are genuine. He outlines why he has not responded quoting what has been keeping him busy. Of course, if he has any integrity he had no intention of doing her bidding.

The stupid woman went out and put herself in debt on a promise and pieces of paper signed by four block heads. The poor woman promised to share the largesse left, right and centre. She was salivating at the thought of all the money she would be receiving. I wonder how much the ministers got and how much more they were promised. I would also like to know who were instrumental in setting up this scam.

I hope David gets some more pertinent info. For instance a copy of the MOU, and other documents.

One wonders what Alvin Cummins will have to say re the new disclosures.

37. @Dee Word

BU deems it in the public interest to publish the information.

38. Denis Kellman
    Patriotism:…the last refuge of a scoundrel says Samuel Johnson
    Patriotism:…supporting your country all the time and your government when it deserves it says Mark Twain.

39. Peter Lawrence Thompson Avatar
    Peter Lawrence Thompson

I find it interesting that the open house charade at the Sandiford centre on July 23 happened over seven weeks after Clare Cowan’s apologetic email where she “finally admit defeat.” In any rational universe this project would be dead, but I’m not ready to stop being vigilant.

40. Walter Blackman Avatar

Artaxerxes October 4, 2015 at 8:24 PM #
    “The ACs presented to BU excerpts from the 2006 Auditor General’s reports to the praise of Walter Blackman.

However, I suspect the 2015 Auditor General’s report will make interesting reading as well”

Artaxerxes,
    And if a blogger were to reference such 2015 Auditor General’s report, which highlights financial improprieties, whilst commenting on a post captioned “Freundel ….Just not ready”, I would similarly argue that the blogger is making a good point, and is on topic.

I would be telling the truth.

41. Walter,

A stickler for accuracy, I see.

42. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

To those who are wondering so much about the source of the leak documents, let me tell you it does not matter. Rather the opposition leaked them or not it does not matter. What matters is the documents shows you clearly the operations of government ministers, a two face hypocrite for a Prime Minister and a scam that was set to deliver large sums of money into the pockets of all involve. It has also implicated, not just the DLP but the BLP as well, since their modus operandi tends to follow similar processes that have also brought them into the money over the years. What we have here is an opportunity to press for change by rejecting the current representers of both political parties on the grounds that they cannot be trusted with the people’s business and have proven themselves unfit to represent. Now the cuss

43. Duke of the Yorkist Avatar
    Duke of the Yorkist

I can’t wait for Parliament to resume later this month. What will the PM and John Boyce do with the motion submitted by the Leader of the Opposition to discuss Cahill Energy and have the MOU, PPP and Implementation Agreements laid before the House.

Clare is a puppet, chosen by the political and private sector to front this scam. The problem here is that she is obviously mentally unbalanced and has a major drinking problem. To my mind some of the more edgy emails can be explained in the context of her excessive drinking. In one day at the Hilton hotel she is reported to have drunk 14 rum and cokes.

44. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Now you people would understand why that stinking crab Alvin Cummins and the AC’s supported Cahill and represented the name of Cowan. All end with C because all are a bunch of deceitful cunts. At the heart of all of this, is Barbados as a source of free untaxed- meet- me -in- the- agreed- secluded- spot for- your- share- of- the money. You, people, do not know the years it takes people like Fruendel Stuart, Alvin Cummins, and Clare Cowan to practice pretense and deceit, while juxtaposing to present alternative aspects of themselves to appease their respective audiences. Now you know from the DLP and the stinking brigade of yardfowls and spent hens what it takes. Let us see what the next moves of the lying bitches will be. David, prepare yourself, this will wake up the Great Big Pretensive Shite posing as a Prime Minister. He will come with guns blazing asking the immoral DPP to dig up a case against BU. No need to focus on Dennis Lowe, we all know he and Darcy Boyce are born again treacherous. This situation will become the undivided attention of the biggest rabbit, who showed the whole of Barbados that as an unethical man he had/has no problem with what is wrong but will attack anything that is right.

45. Duke of the Yorkist Avatar
    Duke of the Yorkist

Cahill is a God send for the Opposition. I now understand why the Leader of the Opposition was so outraged on Budget Day, it is obvious she had a lot of inside information and intended to unhinge the Stuart administration with this CAHILL SCAM.

I think from now on Bajans should referred to this WTE project as the CAHILL SCAM.

46. Duke of the Yorkist Avatar
    Duke of the Yorkist

The name of BIZZY WILLIAMS, BJORN BJERKHAMN AND PHILIP TEMPRO keep coming up on this CAHILL SCAM, why? What was their role exactly?
    How much millions have been extracted and paid over to this CAHILL SCAM?

47. Duke of the Yorkist Avatar
    Duke of the Yorkist

C
    SCAM
    H
    I
    L
    L

48. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

This shite got me so mad. This was never about Barbados, this was about setting a deal in motion for benefits. THIS CALL FOR PROTEST ACTION AGAINST THE WICKEDNESS OF THIS GOVERNMENT. PROTEST TO GET THE DLP OUT OF OFFICE

49. Duke of the Yorkist Avatar
    Duke of the Yorkist

Once DARCY BOYCE is involved its never about a real project. Real projects need a lot of the money to be used in its construction. Its so much easier to create a phantom project and extract tens and tens of millions of dollars in ‘fees’, all appropriately paid to ‘overseas consultants’ in US or CAN dollars.

50. Duke of the Yorkist Avatar
    Duke of the Yorkist

It is interesting to note that the PM in his letter says that the Cabinet approved the project. Whilst some may think this means the PM was fully involved, I am more inclined to think that while the PM was busy doing the right thing in getting the Solicitor General’s comments and certificate, the WILD BOYS (SINCKLER, BOYCE, KELLMAN AND LOWE) refused to wait and rushed off and signed the agreements for the CAHILL SCAM.