Erskine Griffith
In response to a BU commenter (Artaxerxes), former popular Talk Show host Walter Blackman delivered a stinging response – required reading for all Barbadians

“Some students may be fortunate enough to gain scholarships and pursue […]qualifications in areas that will benefit the development of Barbados.

But after graduating they are confronted with the reality that they are no employment opportunities available to them here.”

Artaxerxes,
You have commingled two concepts here, so let us separate the two strands.

Strand 1: Many students gain scholarships and pursue qualifications in many areas that would undoubtedly benefit the development of Barbados. That is a fact.

I hate to lean on personal experience here, but it is the quickest method I can use to get over the point.

I was awarded a fellowship by the OAS to study a masters in actuarial science because the OAS, the World Bank, and the IMF believed that a Barbadian should be trained at that level to provide expertise to the NIS of Barbados as the system matured.
I was working in the budget department of the Ministry of Finance, and Mr. Michael Parris was my boss at the time. Although, I had only studied maths up to ‘O’ level at Combermere, I attacked my post-graduate studies with a sense of confidence and determination. So much so, that I was the only student at the University of Nebraska to receive an A in Social Security the year I studied it.

We had no actuaries and no exam centre in Barbados at the time, so thinking ahead, I approached the Society of Actuaries and enquired if I could take the actuarial professional exams on my return to Barbados. If I managed to pass a professional exam before leaving the USA, the Society promised to establish a test centre in Barbados. I passed my exam, and by doing so, succeeded in getting Bridgetown established as a test centre so that other Barbadians coming after me would enjoy the privilege of taking their actuarial professional exams at home.

Strand 2: After graduation, these students are confronted with the reality that there are no employment opportunities available TO THEM here.

The Tom Adams administration was midway in its second term of office when I returned to Barbados, and the first thing I noticed was the extent to which the working environment in the Ministry of Finance had changed. Mr. Parris had moved on to become company secretary of the Arawak Cement Plant. Mr. Erskine Griffith was now saddled with the opportunity of charting my professional career. I was not a member of any political party.
To make a long story short, Mr. Griffith placed me in an acting position (reviewing letters written by Barbadians seeking a waiver of duties and taxes) which rewarded me with an acting allowance of $30 per month. All of my attempts to secure employment in government in areas related to my chosen profession (NIS, Insurance Corporation of Barbados, Supervisor of Insurance Office) were systematically blocked and thwarted. Eventually, Mr. Griffith had me transferred to the Ministry of Agriculture.

Clearly, Mr. Griffith, as Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Finance, had his own handpicked list of “experts” to assist the Government of Barbados with its handling of financial matters. Personally, over the course of about 30 years, Mr. Griffith rose to giddying heights (Director of Finance and Planning, Head of the Civil Service, a diplomatic posting in Brussels, BLP senator, and Minister of Agriculture in the Owen Arthur administration). Is it possible that that ministerial posting contributed to Owen Arthur’s downfall?

Now take a few seconds and contrast the rise of Mr. Griffith with the fortunes of the government’s financial sector. Start by mentally recalling the annual Auditor-General’s reports that point to a pervasive, repetitive and sickening breach of government’s financial regulations, dwell for a moment on the scandalous and corrosive CLICO robbery and the complicit behavior of the various actors involved, then think seriously about the millions of taxpayers’ dollars that ought to have ended up in the Treasury, but didn’t. Think also about the millions of dollars that should have never left the Treasury, but did. Ponder on the low probability of you getting an NIS pension, because in actual fact, the politicians and senior civil servants have ensured that no actuary has been aligned to the NIS long enough to raise the hue and cry over the rape and wastage of mandatory contributions paid by Barbadian workers.

Barbados has not reached this blighted predicament by accident. We are here because thousands had to suffer so that a few individuals, who really “ain’t worth what Paddy shot it”, could establish a system to suit their selfish and short-sighted purposes. Some employment opportunities exist in Barbados, but they are deliberately blocked off until the “right” person can be handpicked.

Artaxerxes, I was only 28 years old when I came up against this iniquitous system in Barbados for the first time. Although quite young, I rationalized that it was not me alone that was being victimized. There had to be thousands more suffering the same fate. This rationalization enabled me to keep my sanity, if nothing else. Sometimes, I detect a slight hint of disgust blended with frustration in your writing, and that deep aching pain of long ago comes rushing back to haunt and mock me. Maybe, its about time that all of us Barbadians who have been “unfaired” by this system start thinking about doing something about it.

A country being run in this way can never prosper. My instincts tell me that a backlash is certainly coming.

161 responses to “Walter Blackman Tells It Like It Is”

1. Donna September 5, 2015 at 12:14 PM #
    Walter,

“Hurry up and make up your mind.! You seem genuinely concerned for Barbados. It will soon be too late.”

Donna,
    Thank you. I have found my campaign manager.
    Praise the Lord.

2. David
    Today’s Sun carries the lament of some PSV owners who have been read the riot act by Massy United Insurance.BU can take another bow for its contribution to law and order on the roads of this country.Massy reading BU.

3. @ Walter
    Boss… you like you is a piece uh bushman yuh… you have been operating way ahead of your times….
    Perhaps you are the one that has been ordained to sort out this lotta brass bowlery we got bout here …once and for all…

Start packing skippa….

4. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Bushtea;

re. your 1:48 pm post

True dat!!!

5. @Zoe

“I remain silent and seek to listen and learn from other secular fields of study, rather than ignorantly interject on matters of which I am grossly ignorant.”

What a nice and polite way of putting things.

6. @Walter

Another gem of an insight.

Have not forgotten the exchange you had with Jester Ince one Sunday when you questioned government’s strategy in investing in two buildings. Wonder if the NIS has been receiving rents from government for said two buildings.

7. I int know and I doan care bout dlp, blp, scholarships or nuffin so. All I want is fuh some body to fix the facking nis ting so that pensioners can be paid on the SAME DATE EVERY MONTH instead of dis every other Monday shite or every four Fridays or Mondays. Check how the US duz do it. NEVER FACKING LATE!!

8. Ok Mr BAFBFP let me see if I can think along your excellent lines of reason.

A political party is another form of NGO. Having two political parties or quasi NGO or gangs operating is bad for the people because they are not even answerable to their constituents. Thereore, you propose that “It is about time that relevant NGOs representing key interests, Enviroment, Health, Education, Security, Rural, Urban, Manufacturing etc chose their representatives to fill the seats of Cabinet.”

Sooooo…following your style, at this point I should insert appropriate cuss words for emphasis and impact in order to resonate how stupid the other person must be.

Alas, I’ll leave the faux indignation to you and ask again: Why even recommend an option that can’t get out of the starting blocks. Why even go down that Alice in Wonderland rabbit hole?

I try to stick with the practical.

All this palaver about changing structures is just that…ole talk. The power lies in the hands of the electorate and it must be harnessed and USED there vigorously. Strong and focused activism on the social media, the streets, here and everywhere possible like your same NGOs must be done loudly and incessantly to VOTE out corruption and start the process to shake the system back to some level of honesty.

The people are corrupt moreso than the system.

If you honestly believe that moving chairs around will not result in the same thing just in in a different set-up then I wish you well.

For practical purposes look at Greece. Major change by the left through the same flawed political process. But obviously I can’t read too quickly and can’t think to your level so please dismiss my ingrunce.

9. @Walter

When the history of talk radio is written in Barbados and the top two moderators are recorded the name Walter Blackman must figure. This is coming from a member of the BU household who started out by listening to Share and Frank Pardo.

10. @ David
    Walter was good, but Bushie still liked Lombe…. talk bout man INGUNT!!! 🙂

One day de Cement man called right after Lombe was waxing poetically about some aspect of barbadiana (some shiite to do with who knows where some village is… better than who…)

Lombe paused… too a deep breath and said ‘…yuh know what!? I don’t feel like talking to you today …. braps!
    Classic!!!

11. …somebody should do that to Mr P every damn day….. 🙂

12. @Bush Tea

There was the time Elombe and Mia had a little thing on the air as well.

13. Walter,

Not sure I’d make a good campaign manager but I’d be willing to assist in whatever capacity.

14. Elombe was a flipping bully

My man Word “The power lies in the hands of the electorate” is the biggest piece of bull shit ever sold to a population … power to do what ..? The electorate, once partitioned by geographical lines will always have no bearing on National policy. Policies are based on “interests” .. not geography.

Look, understanding that there are alternatives to one man one vote is the basis of the NO VOTE INITIATIVE … There is some guy in TnT now telling people to spoil their votes … That’s the spirit … that’s the start

15. Native Guyanese recently voted for a coalition party and thus were able to deny a racist political party the PPP/civic heavily influenced by a dishonest conniving racist party leader any further control of the purse Guyana.This racist behaved as though he was the overlord and the taxpayers were his serfs.He answered to no one.The swine.
    In similar vein the racist PP party of TnT is hopefully about to face the same outcome but it is hard to tell at this time.Panday says the woman is an alki.Some say she spends 5 of 7 days incommunicado and incoherent.If true its a sad day for the decent upright women of TnT and there are plenty of those.
    Perhaps the racist defender of the PPP and the PP one Rickey Singh who was employed by the PPP/c as a columnist,or as some say a delusional propagandist,not a journalist,was recently removed from the payroll of the PPP government whilst a columnist of the Guyana Chronicle newspaper.Singh says he resigned.The facts are that the GC refused to publish his contributions for the last 3 months and Singh was treated like the pariah he has become,in that nobody responded to his many queries as to the reasons why his ‘salary’ was unceremoniously withheld.What the silly little fellow didnt realize was that Jagdeo and Ramotar are no longer taken seriously.The likes of Jagdeo should be declared persona non grata in every English speaking Caribbean state.The swine.

16. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Can anyone tell the difference between Walter Blackman’s presentation of his academic history and experiences compared to that of Alvin Cummins? Walter is seeking to shed a perspective and some light on a system that continues to suit the desires of a few very well and, how those desires have been used to disadvantage a great number of promising Barbadians, who, if given the opportunity, could have made a difference where it matters. Whilst Alvin Cummins, the pretender, uses every opportunity he gets to talk about his achievements and to defend his position on why he supports everything that is bad about the Dems he loves. Alvi sweets, do you ever stand up for what is right or you just like to know you supporting wrong in your quest to gain more ignorance?

17. Bush Tea September 5, 2015 at 1:48 PM #
    @ Walter
    “Boss… you like you is a piece uh bushman yuh… you have been operating way ahead of your times….”

Bush Tea,
    As a young man, I could not walk around talking about retirement, pensions, annuities, and social security. You and the rest of the young Barbadian Boomers would have thought that I was crazy. So I had to wait for 30 years.

During all of that time, I consciously functioned as a social statistician, using the technique of participant observation. The truths which I uncovered from spending a generation in “the wilderness” can now be used to indict our political vampires and financial leeches in the court of public opinion.

The biggest deception, nay, as Shakespeare would say, “the most unkindest cut of all” is yet to play out for civil servants relying on government and NIS pensions.

18. Donna September 5, 2015 at 4:32 PM #
    Walter,

“Not sure I’d make a good campaign manager but I’d be willing to assist in whatever capacity.”

Donna,
    Whatever you can contribute, “by thought, word, and deed”, would be greatly appreciated.

19. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Walter

Whenever you are ready, I’ll be at your service. I have been a canvasser, platform speaker, campaign manager and election agent. All that I have learnt is available to you at no cost. Up and on!

20. @ Walter
    Donna,
    Whatever you can contribute, “by thought, word, and deed”, would be greatly appreciated.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Ahhh Hmmmm! ….see that shiite!!??

Skippa you now looking fuh trouble hear? …. REAL TROUBLE …. not the lotta shiite that you got from Griffith, Sandi and Thompson…. BIG trouble of the WHACKER type…

Unlike Donna, Bushie has KNOWN you from small… and indeed you ain’t a bad fella, …but Bushie ALSO knows that you ain’t no damn sweet bread. KEEP yuh eyes OFF Donna !!!
    Check with Islandgal if you want a Campaign manager or a Gal Friday…
    Call AC if you need transport …or …
    Consider Sunshine Sunny Shine if you want fire power ….

BUT LEFF OUT DONNA…!!

a word to the wise is usually sufficient to avoid a whacker in yuh donkey…

21. David September 5, 2015 at 2:14 PM #
    @Walter

“Have not forgotten the exchange you had with Jester Ince one Sunday when you questioned government’s strategy in investing in two buildings. Wonder if the NIS has been receiving rents from government for said two buildings.”

I remember that exchange very well. Listeners who were paying close attention would have gotten a first hand example of the nonsense that is bringing Barbados to its knees.

The actuary (a non-Barbadian) who the government of Barbados pays foreign exchange to for carrying out the triennial actuarial valuation of our NIS, had become quite concerned over the amount of NIS contributions the Government was using for its own purposes. He had recommended, from as far back as the days of the Owen Arthur Administration, that some NIS funds be invested overseas, and more be invested in private sector undertakings.

When a caller solicited my views on the idea of Government using NIS funds to construct buildings for its own use at Warrens, I threw cold water on the idea. That provoked a vitriolic outburst from Jepter Ince, Chairman of the NIS at the time, who stormed on to the programme and accused me of two wrongdoings:
    1. Being unprepared
    2. Misleading the people of Barbados.

I asked Jepter how much of the NIS funds the Government had already borrowed. Incredibly enough, he told Barbadians he did not know. The answer was 61% at the time. It was one of the biggest problems confronting the NIS of Barbados, and he as Chairman, knew nothing about it. That showed how really unprepared he was.

The argument that Jepter was trying to ram down Barbadians’ throat at the time was that the government was promising a rate of at least 6% on the investment. He didn’t recognize how silly and nonsensical that argument was. He simply was not knowledgeable enough to appreciate how much HE was misleading the people of Barbados. In any event, we have grown quite accustomed to listening to politicians spew forth frothy foolishness as justification for them to get their hands on taxpayers’ money.

Let us picture Ossie Moore approaching Jepter Ince now and reminding him that government could not even pay Barbadians their tax refunds recently. Do you think Jepter would understand, even at this late stage, that his boastful promise of a guaranteed 6% rate of return on that “Warrens buildings” project was utter nonsense? Or, as Bushie would say, mere brass bowlery?

Soon after that Programme, Jepter Ince was made a Senator and removed from being Chairman of NIS. PM David Thompson was nothing more than a crooked con-artist, so I cannot even venture to guess or speculate what that move was all about.

By the way, as soon as the programme was over, I received a call on VOB’s phone from Peter Wickham, who accused me of adopting a confrontational and adversarial stance against the government.
    That now triggers two questions: What type of stance, in relation to the government of Barbados, is Peter Wickham adopting now? Why?

22. Caswell Franklyn September 5, 2015 at 7:55 PM #
    Walter

“Whenever you are ready, I’ll be at your service. I have been a canvasser, platform speaker, campaign manager and election agent. All that I have learnt is available to you at no cost. Up and on!”

Caswell,
    Excellent. Thanks.
    Up and on, my brother.

23. Sure Blackie .. ga long and run .. Even if yah beat the PM in St. Michael, what good can you do as one man on the back bench in a talk shop environment ..? Why not be part of a movement for systemic change. ROK, head of the NGOs will very much like to talk to you

24. Bush Tea September 5, 2015 at 7:59 PM #
    @ Walter

“Skippa you now looking fuh trouble hear? …. REAL TROUBLE …. not the lotta shiite that you got from Griffith, Sandi and Thompson…. BIG trouble of the WHACKER type…

Unlike Donna, Bushie has KNOWN you from small… and indeed you ain’t a bad fella, …but Bushie ALSO knows that you ain’t no damn sweet bread. KEEP yuh eyes OFF Donna”

Bush Tea,
    I am going to admit to you that I was no sweet bread when I was small. My favourite game was “Mummy and Daddy”. I was always the Daddy. In this game the roles were reversed. My “children” went out to work, and I stayed home to “take care of” Mummy.
    Ranking second in importance was a game called “hide and seek”. I hid, successfully sought on many occasions, and could never be found. I only “came” when my mother called me.
    At age 7, I decided to stop running around, and committed my life to the Lord.

25. @BAFBFP September 4, 2015 at 9:46 PM “These fcukers did go over en away to import talent to design the Errol Barrow Statue”

Cuh dear ya could hardly call St. Lucia over and away. And to besides isn’t the St. Lucian guy who designed the Barrow statue not descended from Bajans from St. Lucy?

Stupsssseee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

26. BAFBFP September 5, 2015 at 9:34 PM #
    Sure Blackie .. ga long and run …… Why not be part of a movement for systemic change. ROK, head of the NGOs will very much like to talk to you”

BAFBFP,
    The events are not mutually exclusive. I could run, help Bushie polish brass bowls, work with Caswell to assist him with building his union, and provide whatever assistance I can to ROK and the NGOs. I am connected to ROK on Facebook, so let him know he can reach out to me whenever he wants to.

27. Commander in Chief aka -Prankster the Mankster eating Mangoes sunnyside up and egging off while Alfing around to the Max Avatar
    Commander in Chief aka -Prankster the Mankster eating Mangoes sunnyside up and egging off while Alfing around to the Max

Walter Blackman is a Coward.
    Walter Coward

28. @ Caswell Franklyn

Now I know , who and why you help,

Thank Caswell

29. @MoneyBrain September 5, 2015 at 12:29 PM “Mao said”

Wait!! You is a communist? And her e I was all the time thinking that you were an arch capitalist.

30. @MoneyBrain September 5, 2015 at 12:44 PM “Alvin…Yes, in your youth with Dippa Skippa the DLP was a force for advancing the Nation and implementing excellent philosophy….Secondly, in Canada you are supporting a young kid to lead the Nation who has little to offer besides his name. The mere fact he was selected leader is an act of DESPERATION for a collapsed party! Please dont tell me you would have supported Dippa’s son too. I went to school with him and he never distinguished himself, just like Justin.”

Dear moneybrain:

Can you please explain why 42 year old Justin Trudeau is a “young kid” and why the 38 year old DLP party leader Dippa the Skippa was a force for advancing the Nation”

31. Or have you [moneybrain] been fooled by those attack ads paid for by the Conservative Party?

32. Whether you like it or not Justin will be Prime Minister because people are sick and tired of whats his name.

Lolll!!!!

33. @Walter Blackman September 5, 2015 at 1:28 PM “The DLP election results showed that I received about 74% of the eligible votes, whilst Mr. Sandiford received almost 750%

Dear Walter:

Sadly the last time I passed a math exam was when I wrote the 11+ so can you please explain to me how in any election, even an internal DLP election one candidate can get 75% of the vote and the other candidate can get 750% I would have thought that is such a situation the votes can only add up to 100% not to 825%

34. @Simpy

Justin said,”budgets balance themselves”, ABSOLUTELY NO NEED to discuss further.
    Justin is a JOKE! The Kid has nothing to do with being 42, it is his stupidity and naivete that makes him the KID! He should go back to teaching but only low IQ kids! Cant have him wasting clever childrens time!

35. Simple Simon September 5, 2015 at 10:46 PM #

Dear Walter:

“…can you please explain to me how in any election, even an internal DLP election one candidate can get 75% of the vote and the other candidate can get 750% I would have thought that is such a situation the votes can only add up to 100% not to 825%”

Simple Simon,
    Let me tackle the problem from another angle.
    Suppose 5000 persons are eligible to vote in a general election in your constituency.
    Suppose also that the results of the election are as follows:
    Candidate A 3,750 votes
    Candidate B 37,500 votes

Candidate B was in charge of managing voter registration, making sure all election rules and regulations were observed, and making sure the elections were fair.

What do the results tell you about Candidate B?

36. Dear Walter:

Oops.

Wrong classroom.

I see that the solution was not a mathematics solution but rather an ethics solution.

I passed all my ethics classes. Always got A pluses in ethics.

37. Walter, what that maths tells us is that you needed to have one of your team or even an independent as straight as an arrow on that group “in charge of managing voter registration”.

Politics is a dirty game where win at all costs becomes the beginning and end for some. Period. But you know that.

However, based on the wonderful read of this history thus far you also ‘won’ your fight at the time to expose the shenanigans.

If you now move on to more current political victories then that footnote becomes a key chapter in your new political life.

More power to you.

On a purely comedic note: I am always amused to see the personal links when they pop-up. Whether they be old school ties, familial or otherwise. Amused because I recall some eons ago when the comments were made in Parliament about a ‘Mafia group’. At the time. as memory serves it was Branford and a posse of his party cohorts with the same old-school-ties.

This will forever exist here of course but still elicits a smile when we then sometimes get so vitriolic towards one-another. Some ties are evident but then some are not as readily seen, for ex Sandi and Richie’s shared God-parent relationship.

The humour of Bajan politics.

38. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Bush Tea

I like this Walter Blackman. I like how he writes and I like the fact that not only is he intelligent but he seems to love his island and want what is best for it. He is painting a picture of the truths we all seldom know or hear about. He seems not to be fearful and have sought to expose what is done in secret and why it is being done in secret, particularly in the relationships that exist between politics and the business community. I also like Caswell; well the truth is I have a thing for Caswell because he is standing for something while others seem to be plotting and planning for theirs. I would in a heart beat support these two on the basis of their ideals and wanting what is right for the island and its people. I would certainly take time off from work and support their campaign. Any change from the modus operandi of the two money grabbing parties is good enough for me. Tire of the Bees and sick to the bone of these darn Dems and their lap dogs like AC consortium.

39. Let me see if I got Walter right.He ran against Sandy and paid the ultimate price.He explained the course of events and for once in our political history,we now know why he lost that battle.Now,let’s go back a bit and consider two similar scenarios which have never been explained……..Lawrence Nurse challenged the concept of ‘President for Life’ in a BWU and sought to dethrone the heavy roller.He was fired for his audacity.So much for trade unionism and its democratic ideals…….Brandford Taitt challenged El Supremo of the Dems,Errol Walton himself for the Presidency of the DLP.He was cut down and was never the same since then.So much for the Democratic Labour Party and its democratic ideals.There is no such thing as a free lunch.The Denis Lowe theory abounds…what is in it for me!!!!

40. @ SSS
    “I like this Walter Blackman….”
    Bushie too.
    …especially now that we got an understanding bout Donna….

41. @ Gabriel
    He ran against Sandy and paid the ultimate price.

Not only Walter!
    Surely you know that this is the ANTI-MERITOCRACY approach used by the klan-like organisations in Barbados to maintain the status quo of mediocrity…
    From politics, to sport …even in the damn church we have clans bending the rules to keep themselves in ‘power’ while milking the damn system.

Either a young talent sells his soul and fall in line with the klan -to await his turn at the feeding trough- or be brandished as a rogue and vagabond…
    Wuh Caswell was in a similar position (although he was never half as bright as Walter… 🙂 …but he had nuff nuff balls)

What is different now is that such persons have a VOICE….
    It is called Barbados Underground….

42. @Bushue;
    I am sure you have heard or read of the Illuminati. Should make for interesting reading for you and those who do not know. This is a real world.

@Money Brain. Justin Trudeau may look like a “kid”, but he has the strength of his father; remember Trudeau Snr’s words “just watch me” during the Quebec crisis? Justin is a far better person and leader than Harper, who wants to show the Americans that he can be more right wing than them, among other things. Despite the ads, he will prevail, and I feel proud to have volunteered to work for his party. Go read his autobiography; “On Common Ground”, given to me by a friend, and really learn about him, his humanity and his sensitivity to other human beings. He is sound, and definitely not a “kid”. Didn’t know, but not surprised, that you are such a Conservative, with such extreme opinions.

@Gabriel,

Let us not forget T.T. Lewis and Clennel Wickham, among other challengers to the BLP hierarchy of Grantley Adams, and others who challenged Tom Adams et al, and their fates.

What happened to Winston Churchill after he saved the British Empire?

43. Bush Tea
    “……even in the damn church we have clans bending the rules…..”
    The story going the rounds is that the dean of the cathedral got the bishop in court over the pension rule that cost drexel his job long ago.Retiring at 70 is the new rule but the dean interpreting the rule to suit himself,drawing a pension at 65 and still drawing a salary as dean..Rumour has it that he say the rule is ambiguous.
    Maybe Prodigal can confirm/refute this story.

44. Bushie, you asssert “Either a young talent sells his soul and fall in line with the klan -to await his turn at the feeding trough- or be brandished as a rogue and vagabond”, but there is also the option to strike on on his/her own and establish the network and a new klan to be a formidable challenger.

As far as I know over centuries of life that is the natural order of the animal kingdom and as much as we humans have higher a level intelligence we must also follow that natural law. If we can produce a stronger force then we persevere and become the new Lion King. If we fail we are crushed.

And let us not get too giddy. This BU voice is surely strong but of course a lot, lot more is needed to become a formidable, effective political force. So onward to the prospective candidates to collective use of all the tools for political success.

@Alvin, do tell why Lord Churchill was vanquished from his post as PM.

Was he not a flawed leader (like us all) whose strength and wisdom were well suited to the days of war but at peace time he was unable to push back the strong challenges to his leadership and thus fell victim to the normal waves of politics; a peace time when it can be argued a different skill-set or rather a different focus in using that skill-set was needed and missteps less easily accepted.

That’s politics. What have you done for me lately mentality from the baying ambitious hounds who want to usurp your ‘throne’.

45. History is replete with the carcasses of the powerful,vanquished by the new kid on the block,strong and brave who having read the tea leaves,pounced at the appropriate time…
    In our time…Eric Williams,Margaret Thatcher,Jimmy Carter,Richard Nixon,Spiro Agnew,Grantley,Errol,Bree,Henry,Clyde,Basdeo,Owen to name a few.The only fools to misread the tea leaves are the jesters called the eager 11.If the size of a head was indicative of brainpower,Adriel Brathwaite would be an emperor among that lot.

46. Look wah I now come cross … Bush Tea

http://www.cscbarbados.org/#wpcf7-f33-o1

47. Formed in 2011 and you now ‘come across’ um Baffy….?
    Wuh dat tell you?

@ Gabriel
    Problem with the eager 11 is that among them could not be found enough intelligence to even agree on a damn letter…
    ..or to even come up with a rational PR approach when the scheme was (inevitably) exposed…
    what does that tell you?

Our system of brass bowlery has been so endemic that even where outstanding talent clearly exists, it has been contaminated by the all pervasive bull shit that passes for rational thinking bout here….

So GP left and went abroad…
    Walter left and went abroad…
    Hants bout in Canada fishing…
    Caswell stayed home…but wasting time with small fry unions…

Lord only knows who else wasting time in cold-ass countries …while we suffer jackasses grazing in our Parliament.

@ Walter
    What the hell are you waiting on….. Plane fare?

48. Commander in Chief aka -Prankster the Mankster eating Mangoes sunnyside up and egging off while Alfing around to the Max September 5, 2015 at 10:09 PM #

“Walter Blackman is a Coward.”

My brave Commander in Chief,
    Your moniker alone reveals a mind that is desperately crying out for professional help.

The DLP won a landslide electoral victory in 1986 under Errol Barrow. In preparation for his first (and thank God, his last) attempt to lead the DLP into political battle, PM Erskine Sandiford decided that the Young Democrats should hold a political meeting in his constituency. I was slated as one of the speakers.

On the evening of the scheduled date of the meeting, I was at home getting ready when the telephone rang, I picked it up. A male voice on the other end said: “If you go on the platform tonight talking about the NIS, you will come home and find your wife and daughter dead.”

I went to the meeting and discovered, by listening to each speaker, that everyone of us had received death threats, VIA TELEPHONES operated by the Barbados Telephone Company. I saw this as a very vicious and heinous crime.

As each speaker revealed the death threat received, the crowd expressed shock and dismay over the fact that “the BLP” could do such an evil thing. With agony etched on their faces, people emitted loud sounds of “Oh my God” and “Oh no”.

I realized then that we had entered a very dark phase of our country’s political development. A political mastermind was now flying a kite to see what political benefits could possibly flow from the murder, or even the threat of murder, of unsuspecting and innocent political rookies.

That caller never realized the magnitude of his error when he mentioned the topic I was going to speak on. Donville Inniss had succeeded me as President of the Young Democrats, and four days before the meeting, he approached me and told me that he had all of the speakers lined up and all of their topics, except mine. At that point, I gave him my topic.

I deliberately waited until a few months had passed after the meeting, and then sought out Donville. We were good friends, politically speaking. After starting a routine, ordinary type of conversation, I decided to go after my goal.
    “Donville, did you have to give the list of names of the speakers and topics to anyone for the meeting we had in Sandiford’s constituency?
    He paused for a moment, and I could picture the inner workings of his brain as it tried to seek out and retrieve the data from its memory bank.
    “Now that you have asked, yes. Reggie asked me for the speakers and topics a day before the meeting.”

That meeting made me feel a deep sense of shame over the low level of depravity to which the DLP had sunk.

No father wants to experience the deep searing emotional pain and grief associated with the death of his daughter. When I recently read about the death of Sir LLoyd Erskine Sandiford’s daughter, I offered a minute of self-imposed silence as a sign of respect. During that minute of silence, a rebellious teardrop ripped itself from my right eye and slowly trickled down my face.

I also quietly and telepathically extended condolences to the family of David Thompson when he died.

We, as human beings, will never be able to fully understand the workings of the Lord.

Mr. Grantley Watson was the Commisioner of Police when this crime took place. He had nothing to do with this crime but I have often wondered why the RBPF never investigated this matter.
    Mr. Watson’s daughter, Tricia Watson, has studied law and has decided to actively participate in public life and discussion in Barbados. That is her right and she is to be commended. I offer her encouragement and sincerely wish her success in all of her endeavours. Since some of her ideas are political in nature, they will expose her to some degree of risk and ridicule because everyone will not agree with her. However, should anyone dare to threaten her life, or telephone her father about threats on her life, I would expect all resources of the law to be used in bringing the criminal to justice.

49. @Alvin

I am NOT a Conservative or member of any other Political Party. I am an arch skeptic bordering on cynic where Politics and Politicians are concerned. People’s motivations, especially Pols must always be analysed carefully. It always shocks me how people can be taken in by these mouthers. Trudeau is no more PM material than the sons of Sir Gary, Sir Clyde, Sir Don et al were Test Cricket player material.

I know that these Pols in the Western “Democratic” World are there to BUY Votes by any means. They routinely WASTE a large percentage of money, are ineffective, inefficient, encourage “LAZYASSES” to continue their useless ways, THIEF, Sell favours (CORRUPT as Hell). The White ones may just be a lil more sophisticated and have the benefit of being in large countries where it is more difficult for the people in the street to find out, unlike Bim. Too many humans are just plain crooks, some are just quite clever.

The time has come and is now CRITICAL that the honest, reasonably clever humans get involved in CLEANING this cesspool of politics up. AS you will see the Western World is in DEEEEEPP trouble because of Politicians jumping into to bed with sophisticated White collar criminals who want another $10mn even if it ruins the lives of 10mn people. It is also in a massive mess because of Pols BUYING Votes by largess, giving away the Treasury to those who have no intention of improving their lives by disciplined application ie LAZYASSES. Carrot and Stick is the only method that humans understand but Pols dont want to apply the Stick and this is exactly why we have the West FAILING miserably.

Humans must have INCENTIVE that if they are cleverer and/ or more hardworking, creative etc that they can earn more than those who are lazy. I was in China recently and the Tour Guide hit the nail square,”we had to change as there was no incentive for me to work harder when the guy in the next seat made the same $$$ with little or no effort.” When INCENTIVE appeared in China the standard of living took off like a Saturn 5 rocket.

Alvin, I dont have extreme opinions, I just see a “ball of Shyte” as it is when others see some supposed “leader” in Politics, business, education—have seen “leading” educators talk absolute BS and suck in parents whose children end up mediocre at best. The nonsense in this country when my kids were in Primary School, the utter politics of education eg we cant teach Phonics/ Phonetics, must be whole language; dont teach kids Times Tables. I taught my kids both and eventually pulled them out of the Public crap system becuse they were at least 2 Grades ahead. I have seen the results of the BOGUS education system in TO, a young man having won a Pres Schol to Uni who tried to commit suicide after his first major Exams because he went from 95%+ in some Fool School in Scarborough to 65% in Uni, even though he was a serious student trying his best. Government are useless PRECISELY because they dont have honest,professional analysts who intend to create an excellent system. Singapore does and they have had excellent results!

Life will be tougher for years to come as the Aging population stresses the BS systems we have and it will FRACTURE!

50. @Gabriel September 6, 2015 at 8:00 AM “the dean interpreting the rule to suit himself,drawing a pension at 65 and still drawing a salary as dean..Rumour has it that he say the rule is ambiguous.”

Who is he drawing the pension from, the church or the NIS?

If the church, why would the church be silly enough to pay both a salary and a pension to the same person, since surely he is not paying himself?

If he is drawing his NIS pension that is different since any of us can draw our pensions at 60 if we choose. However we must sign a form to NIS saying that we are no longer working. NIS should permit people who so choose to continue working even while drawing an NIS pension…And NIS should continue taking contributions from the pensioners salary, and of course BRA should be taxing the whole thing, but we would need to amend the NIS law, but there has been no serious look at our NIS rules since the Owen Arthur led reforms of almost 2 decades ago. We could note that the Canada Pension Plan on which our NIS is largely based several years ago amended its rules to permit those who chose, to continue working while collecting their pensions, but they must pay CPP contributions on the new income. When they take a final retirement their pension is adjusted upwards based on the fact that they continued to contribute to the system. A win-win but I’ve talked to some hard core dems and could not get this through their heads, They seem to have some “moral” opposition to people getting both NIS pensions and and a salary.

NIS should put itself in the position of continuing to collect contributions from those who choose to continue working beyond 65, or 70 or 80 or whenever. It should not be any government’s business to tell us when we must stop working. We OWN our own labour, and government should not be in the business of telling us when to stop working. If we choose to continue working the government’s only business is to continue to collect taxes and NIS from us.

I should say that my own mother choose to continue working for a year after she was collecting her NIS pension. She was a very good worker and her boss asked her to continue. Both she and her boss are long, long dead (of extreme old age) so no need for NIS to follow-up.