Fruendel Stuart: DLP Party Members Will be Protected
Submitted by Anthony Davis
Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart
The Democratic Labour Party’s (DLP’s) 60th annual conference opened with the party’s President, Prime Minister Freundel Stuart, jabbing at Opposition tactics.
In an address to delegates, Stuart spoke of the party’s […]responsibility to come up with solutions to situations that ordinary Barbadians face from day to day – Barbados Today 4 August 2015
My, my, my, what superciliousness!
The Prime Minster is effectively telling us that he only needs the votes of DLP members in the next elections. The editorial in the same edition asks the question – “Will we see Mr. Stuart off his horse?”
From this disdainful speech that clearly will not be the case!
First he should explain to the country where the jet skis were when he was growing up, because he is at that age where his Government is putting people out to pasture. However, he knows that that won’t happen to him yet. So, to learn about the DLP’s strategy for carrying forward OUR country, every man Jack must join the DLP.
How interesting!
I, for one, do not intend joining any party – unless it is a birthday one or such like. Mr. Stuart had better wheel and come again, because his speech was the epitome of haughtiness and self-aggrandizement. He wants to take OUR country forward, but the way will be privy only to those of us who hold a DLP membership book. The rest of us can stand outside and beg to be allowed into this hallowed sanctuary.
The people of this country are already begging enough.
They are begging for relief from overburdening taxes which the Minister of Finance gives away as it pleases him.
They are begging for their welfare cheques to be paid.
They are begging for things at our lone hospital – the QEH – to be brought back to normal, and for it to be given enough funding to bring it back to the institution it was before 2008, instead of people having to eat cold food and drink cold tea because the cooking services have been outsourced, and the doctors/nurses need the equipment to carry out their duties in a proper manner.
They are begging because having sent in sick note after sick note – some of them since May – they have not received one red cent.
The pensioners are begging for their cheques to be sent in a timely manner – especially that some of them don’t receive anything more than a pittance.
We have a Psychiatric Hospital in which it is not even suitable to keep animals. We have a Child Care Board which lacks personnel and funding – especially seeing the number of children who are being abused.
Yet, the Minister of Finance, while on the one hand is whining about “a low cash flow” when it comes to the populace of this country, on the other has millions of dollars of our taxes to give away to every Johnny come lately.
Every day one sees more vagrants on the streets – and the most hurtful part is that women are now joining the number.
This country has been brought to its knees during the last seven years, and we have a Prime Minister who has the audacity to tell us that only by being a member of the DLP can we know what he is going to do about its downward spiral into the abyss.

Hard ears you would not hear?
LikeLike
@ Anthony Davis
What do you expect from a party whose 60th anniversary slogan is:
“Democratic Labour Party: Celebrating 60, IT’S ALL ABOUT MEMBERS.”
http://www.dlpbarbados.org/site/promotion/60th-anniversary/
LikeLike
The following excerpts were taken from the DLP’s web-site:
“A number of reports and resolutions will be discussed during the conference. Two reports will be done from the parliamentary group. These reports will be done by the Attorney General, The Hon. Adriel Brathwaite, Q.C., MP on, “How the Office of the Attorney General and the Ministry of Home Affairs contribute to our way of life”. The second report will be delivered by Senator Dr. The Hon. Esther Byer, Minister of Labour and Social Security on, “The National Insurance and its Contribution to Society”.
“These reports will provide valuable insight into the work that this DLP administration continues to do as we create a Barbados which is socially balanced, environmentally sound, economically viable and characterized by GOOD GOVERNANCE.”
Imagine these frauds mentioning “good governance” against the background of failing to implement ITAL within 100 days on assuming office in 2008.
It is now going on to 8 years this DLP administration has held the reins of government and Barbadians have not seen any sign of ITAL, ministerial code of conduct and DLP parliamentarians declaring their assets.
The DLP has continued to demonstrate that they are only interested in securing a third term in office.
LikeLike
It is a disgrace that Michael Carrington, Mara Thompson, Michael Lashley and Donville Inniss actually proclaim themselves leaders aided by Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart.
Kudos to Justice Marston Gibson for seeking help from the US Justice Department to help with advice to combat the backlog at the supreme court, said logjam caused by the lawyers who have their own organized crime syndicate operating within the court which makes a mockery of the system. If the lawyers would do their jobs instead of using the court system to steal from clients, sell out their clients to the insurance companies and wreak havoc for personal gain over the years, there would be no need to seek help.
I have seen first hand the damage caused by years of abuse by these organized criminals.
Why did Adriel Brathwaite, knowing of his compadres predilection to be corrupt, not seek this help years ago, as Attorney General….steupss
LikeLike
Totally true about most of the attorneys. I have a friend right now with nowhere to turn to get her money. Just as everybody has a LIme story, everybody has an attorney story.
LikeLike
An organized minority can always take advantage of a disorganized majority.
LikeLike
So silly !
LikeLike
And the Prime Minister will be begging the party faithful for donations to the Party on September 19 when he will be the featured speaker at annual Errol Barrow Memorial Dinner in Toronto.
http://dlpbarbadoscanada.com/event/8th-annual-errol-barrow-memorial-dinner/
Check out the President’s (Reynold Austin) Message at
http://dlpbarbadoscanada.com/about-dlp/
Looks like the President could update his message, and the rest of the website, to include activities since 2009.
LikeLike
I an=m so sick of this joker for a Prime Minister. He has gone past being the worse PM EVER!
LikeLike
I checked in at Rubis yesterday for petrol and was told that the price increased from last Monday from 3.19 to 3.27 per ltr.I am not aware that the usual announcement of “a slight increase” was effective midnite Sunday 16th August.Meanwhile the price of a barrel on the US market yesterday was in the region of $38.00 Why was Darcy Boyce
called a quisling by Owen Arthur?Is the quisling now betraying the bajan public too?
LikeLike
@Prodigal,
If you want to go past words, then it is worst. If you want to say so, say it.
But we don’t expect anything different from you folk!
LikeLike
Thanks Gabriel, find it incredible we had an increase at the pump at a time when the raw material for making gasoline and diesel has reached all time low and not a buzz in the country. Then there is the disrespect by government shown to taxpayers by not communicating the change. This comes at a time the PM promises to adopt a more communicative stance.
LikeLike
@David,
Seems we need an expert to explain the Barbados situation re gas prices.
Canada.
“Little wonder that Canadians, whose taxes on fuel are double those of the US and growing — with Ontario set to introduce cap and trade, adding 2.6 cents per litre to the price of gas — pay a premium for their gasoline and lament the cruel irony of gas prices that are grossly out of sync with crumbling crude prices.”
LikeLike
On August 4th the AAA quoted gas prices:
2.69 per gln a week ago
2.84 per gln a month ago
3.72 per gln a year ago
from a high of 4.23 per gln in June 2004
Today the AAA is quoting 2.59 per gln,about BD$1.36 per litre
Meanwhile in Nova Scotia Canada, today,gas prices dropped .05 per litre overnight to CA$1.03 per litre,about BD$1.54 per litre!!!
Bajans are really being taken for a big ride compliments minister of energy Darcy Boyce,an unelected member of the cabinet of the DLP administration.Its another form of taxation and must be stopped forthwith.
LikeLike
“The DLP has continued to demonstrate that they are only interested in securing a third term in office.”
Mr Arta putting your entire remarks into context I can only assume that the above excerpt Is ‘a slip of the lip’ unless you meant to say ‘interested in securing their pensions’.
On another note I am baffled as to how the reports on, “How the Office of the Attorney General and the Ministry of Home Affairs contribute to our way of life” and “The National Insurance and its Contribution to Society”delivered by the Attorney General, The Hon. Adriel Brathwaite, Q.C., and by Senator Dr. The Hon. Esther Byer, Minister of Labour and Social Security can provide valuable insight into the work that this DLP administration continues to do as we create a Barbados which is socially balanced, environmentally sound, economically viable and characterized by GOOD GOVERNANCE.”
Just goes to show that even on such an important occasion as their 60th anniversary that no thought seems to have gone into their message to the public at this important juncture of their history with the economy of Barbados on the verge of annihilation.
LikeLike
I was waiting for someone to comment on the petrol price.Nothing for us the consumers.This is another opportunity to get the economy going but these vagrants in suits and skirts will just hope it carries through into the winter tourist season so we can see inflated arrivals again.They better hope the violence doesn’t increase to unmanageable proportions.
LikeLike
Why is it that every time the price of oil goes down on the world market, the price of gas and diesel go up in Barbados?……………….and please do not tell me anything about futures………………where the hell would this bankrupt government get money to buy large stockpiles of oil when they cannot even service their foreign debt?
On another note, every damn week these morons are on DLPTV and in the Advocate signing loan agreements.
Why are these morons continuing to borrow money at exorbitant rates as you know they have reduced this fine nation to junk status?
If the economy is not growing, we are not producing any goods to export to earn foreign exchange, where is the money going to come from to repay these loans?
Why are the morons continuing to borrow money to build buildings?
They do not care…………and they will not be around to have to worry about repayments, they would be somewhere enjoying their ill gotten gains!
LikeLike
Are we forgetting about Cahill and allowing it to fizzle out like the government wants?
LikeLike
name one party in the history of Barbados governance that have more successful achievements than the DLP that have been instrumental in building social bridges between government and household,
LikeLike
as for cahill the dlp has left the loose ends for Mia to hang her self Ta ! Ta! by the way Mia still looking for her LEC
LikeLike
Your arrogance will be your downfall………….one day coming soon! The old folks never lie……time is longer than twine!
LikeLike
i bet you Prodigal can.t name one,, Clue look behind door NO 1
LikeLike
In my post at 5.58pm today August 4th should have read August 24th and June 2004 should have read June 2014.
LikeLike
@Prodigal; should be “worse” instead of words
LikeLike
“as for cahill the dlp has left the loose ends for Mia to hang her self Ta ! Ta! by the way Mia still looking for her LEC”
She is probably awaiting the outcome of the investigations into the matter launched by the dithering Attorney General
LikeLike
Alvin
I am told that my contribution here on BU are all the same, and was instructed to dig deeper for something worthwhile to say here on BU.
But when one get throughout reading these many statements here on BU, one starts to ponder the validity of the statement David made yesterday because most if not all of these statements of which we read above with the exception of yours and AC are belittling to the current administration and has been that way from my inception on this BU blog.
I have never once hear David say anything positive about the current DLP administration, and give credit where credit is due.
LikeLike
“name one party in the history of Barbados governance that have more successful achievements than the DLP that have been instrumental in building social bridges between government and household,”
Fortunately or unfortunately; the BLP.
LikeLike
Prior to the January 2008 general elections, Barbados Underground was dominated with contributions that were extremely critical of the then BLP administration.
During that time BLP supporters were probably also of the opinion that “David (did not) say anything positive about the current (BLP) administration, and give credit where credit is due.”
LikeLike
look dompey do not scratch or hurt the brain about what david say or for that matter the way in which others on BU critique your comments, If you have an objective stick to it and do not be swayed or bamboozled by no one criticisms , But most importantly try not to be a crowd pleaser that is the worst of the worst psychological disaster you will experienced especially if a situation called for going “against” the grain of popular opinion . Always be true your self .
LikeLike
Lie that you tell balance.. Shame on You lie that you tell. but one thing for sure that can be stated , The BLP has a long record of opposing positive positive change ,
LikeLike
ac August 27, 2015 at 6:11 AM #
Lie that you tell balance.. Shame on You lie that you tell. but one thing for sure that can be stated , The BLP has a long record of opposing positive positive change ,
No lie AC ask your Gran Gran but by the way have you ever heard about the Tenantries Act which is the greatest piece of empowerment legislation for the poor black man to have been promulgated in Barbados. It paved the way for the average man to own a piece of the rock at little costs thereby opening areas of housing development all over the country in places which you would once consider to be behind God’s back. Wouldn’t even dwell on the universal right to vote or the Workmen’s compensation Act or the Deep Water Harbour or the Queen Elizabeth Hospital or Seawell Airport development. The DLP did good things too when it was a DLP.
LikeLike
Balance those mentioned are “no brainers and aresimply a part of governance and cannot be
detached from the overall management of a civilised society
LikeLike
ARE WE LIVING IN THE END TIMES?
Facts become credible FACTS, when they are WARRANTED to the relevant degree of certainty.
The structure of Justification, in defending any propositional TRUTH claim, is COHERENCE, coherence IS* our sole criteria for TRUTH.
The Bible God’s Word has NEVER proved to be wrong over the entire course of history.
Question: “Are we living in the end times?”
Answer: The Bible prophesies of many events that will occur in the end times. These events can be categorized as natural signs, spiritual signs, sociological signs, technological signs, and political signs. We can look to what the Bible says about these things, and if the signs are present in abundance, we can be certain that we are, in fact, living in the end times.
Luke 21:11 lists some of the natural signs that will occur before Jesus’ Second Coming:
“There will be great earthquakes, famines and pestilences in various places, and fearful events and great signs from heaven.” In 13 years, between 1991 and 2004, the United States alone has experienced 5 of its costliest hurricanes in history, 3 of its 4 largest tornado swarms in history, and 9 of the 10 greatest disasters as determined by FEMA. We have recently seen Hurricane Sandy, which some have called the “perfect storm.” There is a huge upswing in the prevalence of sinkholes. As for great signs from heaven, we’ve seen the Chelyabinsk meteor, which exploded over Russia, emitting a powerful shock wave. All of these events seem to be a warm up to what is coming next—“birth pangs,” as Jesus called them (Matthew 24:8).
The Bible lists both positive and negative spiritual signs. In 2 Timothy 4:3-4 we discover that many people will follow false teachers. We see now an increase in cultic groups, heresy, deception and occultism, with many choosing to follow new age or pagan religions. On the positive side, Joel 2:28-29 prophesies that there will be a great outpouring of the Holy Spirit. Joel’s prophecy was fulfilled on the Day of Pentecost (Acts 2:16), and we are still seeing the effects of that outpouring in revivals and Spirit-led Christian movements, worldwide preaching of the gospel message, and the emergence of Messianic Judaism.
Along with the signs in the natural and spiritual realms, there are signs in society. The immorality rampant in society today is a symptom of mankind’s rebellion against God. Abortion, homosexuality, drug abuse and child molestation are proof that “evildoers and impostors will go from bad to worse” (2 Timothy 3:13). We are now living in a hedonistic and materialistic society. People are lovers of themselves – “looking out for number one” – and doing what is right in their own eyes. All these things, and many more, can be seen around us every day (see 2 Timothy 3:1-4).
The fulfillment of some end-times prophecies seemed impossible until the advent of modern technology. Daniel 12:4 foretold an increase in knowledge. Some of the judgments in Revelation are more easily imagined in a nuclear age. In Revelation 13, the Antichrist will control commerce by forcing people to take the mark of the beast, and, given today’s advances in computer chip technology, the tools he will use may very well be here already. And through the internet, radio and television, the gospel can now be proclaimed to the entire world (Mark 13:10).
And there are political signs. The restoration of Israel to her land in 1948 is the single most impressive fulfilled prophecy proving that we live in the end times. At the turn of the 20th century, no one would have dreamed that Israel would be back in her land, let alone occupying Jerusalem. Jerusalem is definitely at the center of geopolitics and stands alone against many enemies; Zechariah 12:3 confirms this: “On that day, when all the nations of the earth are gathered against her, I will make Jerusalem an immovable rock for all the nations. All who try to move it will injure themselves.” Matthew 24:6-7 predicted that “nation will rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom.” “Wars and rumors of wars” are definitely characteristic of this present age.
These are just a few of the signs that we are living in the end of the age. There are many more. God gave us these prophecies because He does not want anyone to perish, and He always gives ample warning before pouring out His wrath (2 Peter 3:9).
Are we living in the end times? The rapture could occur at any moment. God will deal with sin either by grace or by wrath. John 3:36 says, “Whoever believes in the Son has eternal life, but whoever rejects the Son will not see life, for God’s wrath remains on them.” Those who do not accept Jesus Christ as their savior will remain under the Lord’s wrath.
The good news is that it’s not too late to choose eternal life. All that is required is acceptance, by faith, of God’s free gift of grace. There is nothing you can do to earn grace; Jesus has paid the price for you (Romans 3:24). Are you ready for the Lord’s return? Or will you experience His wrath?
http://www.gotquestions.org
LikeLike
WHAT IS FUNDAMENTALISM?
Answer: The word fundamental can describe any religious impulse that adheres to its basic tenets. Fundamentalism, for the purpose of this article, is a movement within the church that holds to the essentials of the Christian faith. In modern times the word fundamentalist is often used in a derogatory sense.
The Fundamentalist movement has its roots in Princeton Theological Seminary because of its association with graduates from that institution. Two wealthy church laymen commissioned ninety-seven conservative church leaders from all over the Western world to write 12 volumes on the basic tenets of the Christian faith. They then published these writings and distributed over 300,000 copies free of charge to ministers and others involved in church leadership. The books were entitled The Fundamentals, and they are still in print today as a two-volume set.
Fundamentalism was formalized in the late 19th century and early 20th century by conservative Christians—John Nelson Darby, Dwight L. Moody, B. B. Warfield, Billy Sunday, and others—who were concerned that moral values were being eroded by modernism—a belief that human beings (rather than God) create, improve, and reshape their environment with the aid of scientific knowledge, technology and practical experimentation. In addition to fighting the influence of modernism, the church was struggling with the German higher criticism movement, which sought to deny the inerrancy of Scripture.
Fundamentalism is built on five tenets of the Christian faith, although there is much more to the movement than adherence to these tenets:
1) The Bible is literally true. Associated with this tenet is the belief that the Bible is inerrant, that is, without error and free from all contradictions.
2) The virgin birth and deity of Christ. Fundamentalists believe that Jesus was born of the virgin Mary and conceived by the Holy Spirit and that He was and is the Son of God, fully human and fully divine.
3) The substitutionary atonement of Jesus Christ on the cross. Fundamentalism teaches that salvation is obtained only through God’s grace and human faith in Christ’s crucifixion for the sins of mankind.
4) The bodily resurrection of Jesus. On the third day after His crucifixion, Jesus rose from the grave and now sits at the right hand of God the Father.
5) The authenticity of Jesus’ miracles as recorded in Scripture and the literal, pre-millennial second coming of Christ to earth.
Other points of doctrine held by Fundamentalists are that Moses wrote the first five books of the Bible and that the church will be raptured prior to the tribulation of the end times. Most Fundamentalists are also dispensationalists.
The Fundamentalist movement has often embraced a certain militancy for truth, and this led to some infighting. Many new denominations and fellowships appeared, as people left their churches in the name of doctrinal purity. One of the defining characteristics of Fundamentalism has been to see itself as the guardian of the truth, usually to the exclusion of others’ biblical interpretation. At that time of the rise of Fundamentalism, the world was embracing liberalism, modernism, and Darwinism, and the church itself was being invaded by false teachers. Fundamentalism was a reaction against the loss of biblical teaching.
The movement took a severe hit in 1925 by liberal press coverage of the legendary Scopes trial. Although Fundamentalists won the case, they were mocked publicly. Afterwards, Fundamentalism began to splinter and refocus. The most prominent and vocal group in the USA has been the Christian Right. This group of self-described Fundamentalists has been more involved in political movements than most other religious groups. By the 1990s, groups such as the Christian Coalition and Family Research Council have influenced politics and cultural issues. Today, Fundamentalism lives on in various evangelical groups such as the Southern Baptist Convention. Together, these groups claim to have more than 30 million followers.
Like all movements, Fundamentalism has enjoyed both successes and failures. The greatest failure may be in allowing Fundamentalism’s detractors define what it means to be a Fundamentalist. As a result, many people today see Fundamentalists as radical, snake-handling extremists who want to establish a state religion and force their beliefs on everyone else. This is far from the truth. Fundamentalists seek to guard the truth of Scripture and defend the Christian faith, which was “once for all entrusted to the saints” (Jude 1:3).
The church today is struggling in the postmodern, secular culture and needs people who are not ashamed to proclaim the gospel of Christ. Truth does not change, and adherence to the fundamental principles of doctrine is needful. These principles are the bedrock upon which Christianity stands, and, as Jesus taught, the house built upon the Rock will weather any storm (Matthew 7:24-25).
http://www.gotquestions.org
LikeLike
But balance drain brainers are exemplary actions executed to. help the poor and under privilege in any society like many which the DLP implemented in its sixty years going against most opposing views and the dictates of the BLP doing what seemed impossible possible with a boldness that confuse and confound their critics to this very day.
LikeLike
After winning the general election of 1961 EWB’s first order of business was to find employment for Bajans.Accordingly,being blessed with good eyesight and good foresight,as a former navigator he observed there were lots of rocks at the Seawell Airport in the vicinity of the runway.He therefore established a crash programme(pun unintended) and sent some of the unemployed to “pick up rockstones”at Seawell.
LikeLike
The DLP has brought Barbados to its knees.
Every time since the first EWB reign, the DLP has shown that it cannot manage Barbados.
The DLP has this country in a mess ……..
…….crime is on the rise, the citizens are afraid
……. jobs have dried up, the citizens cannot find jobs as no one is hiring not even the morons
……. they cannot or would not repay its taxpayers their tax refunds
….. they tell the people the NIS is sound, yet those who put in claims cannot get their claims on a timely basis
…..the Mental Hospital is in a state not fit for animals far less the citizens
…..the QEH is in a mess, doctors are at their wits’ end
…..poor people children whose only avenue out of poverty was to get an education are now shut out from getting an education from either BCC or UWI
And the low information voters like the ac’s think that the DLP is fit for use? Continue to borrow away, DLP, that is the only thing you all seem to be doing. Somebody else will repay the debts you are racking up! Morons!
LikeLike
Off Topic, BUT
Beware …… Bearing Gifts
Lawyer missing as China cuts down crosses from Christian churches
By: Associated Press, Published on Thu Aug 27 2015
BEIJING — A well-known Chinese Christian lawyer had been out of contact for almost two days after being taken away by government workers in an eastern province where local authorities are under a deadline to remove the Christian symbol, the cross, from church roofs, his colleague said Thursday.
The Beijing law firm had received no word on Zhang Kai, and neither had his family, said Yang Xingquan.
Zhang has been providing legal counsel for churches in Zhejiang province in their resistance to the government order, which has been criticized as unconstitutional and infringing upon the right of religious freedom.
Zhang and his assistant were in a church in the city of Wenzhou on Tuesday night when they were taken away by government workers, Yang said.
Wenzhou, a coastal city in Zhejiang, is known for its entrepreneurship as well as its many Protestant and Catholic churches.
Calls to Wenzhou police were hung up upon the mention of the lawyer.
Local Christians said at least 11 pastors and church members had been taken away by police this week, most likely to deter resistance by churches against the cross removal.
Zhejiang authorities began to remove crosses last year, citing violation of building codes. A rule set earlier this year mandates that all crosses be wholly affixed to building facades, which state media say is for safety concerns.
Critics say the government is trying to reduce the visibility of Christianity, which has been growing rapidly in China and may even rival the ruling Communist Party in size.
LikeLike
According to Hoyos…the doolittle administration really didn’t have to do anything fuh Barbados to get lucky.
Wen tings brown in Babadus, I keep hearing ” it aint got nutten to do wid de wirl economy. It is Dem fault.
So I just glad that de wirl economy as affected by de diving price a oil is saving de Babadus economy.
Let de shiite rap begin….
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/71438/hoyos-file-oil-game-thrones-saving-economy
LikeLike
Then there is Maaascoll . He too is tellig us how lucky Barbados is despite Dem failure to tell de people wha gine on.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/71551/matters-oil-usd300m
LikeLike
No one, no one, not even supporters of the BLP who were obviously distraught at losing the 2008 election would have thought that this nightmare would have gone on so long. Unbelievable.
The dems cannot get this country manage. Every time they are in office, the economy tanks and crime sky rockets out of control. I heard the Trini woman, a diehard dem saying on Brasstacks that Fumble should ask the AG to resign as he is not up to the job and that Fumble should ask an old hand like Keith Simmons to come back. Is this how desperate the dems have become? How old is Keith Simmons? Not nearly 80?
I have a relative who is a dem and when the BLP was in office when we say…look at what is happening in the world……….the dem would say………I do not want to hear anything about what is going on overseas, I am only interested in what is going on in Barbados, this is where I live. Is this not typical DLP behaviour prior to 2008?
Fast forward to post election 2008…..everything is world recession, world recession, world recession. Nothing is ever the DLP’s fault.
They blame the BLP, they blame the private sector for not doing their part and accuse them of only waiting on handouts from the government and insult them by saying they only want to suck on the government nipples………while they, the government give all the government contracts to two white men…….yet at the same time want the rest of the private sector to get their stupid arses out of trouble.
Unbelievable!
LikeLike
Has anyone seen my Alvin. He is the idiot who talks about all his succeses. I need him bad. Sweet A were are you. Please writei some shite so I can skatspraddle your ass.
Your babes in Cuss
S S S
LikeLike
ac August 27, 2015 at 12:52 PM #
Perhaps you could raise the level of this “discussion” by listing (for the benefit of those who do not know), the number of policies “the DLP implemented in its sixty years to help the poor and under privilege,” and which of those policies the BLP opposed?
If you decide to respond please do so WITHOUT using unnecessary metaphors, ambiguities and generalized statements.
List the policies, please!!
LikeLike
Artaxerxes
Especially any in the years 2008 until now!
LikeLike
Sir i do not have to mae a list but for sure you and many of your family mambers are benefactors to free Education.
Free Healthy care
Social security scheme
Severance payment
maternity leave with pay.
Free lunch
after school day care
and the free bus rides all of which was opposed by the BLP
not to forget cutting off the navel string and becoming an independent Nation.
You might choose to forget but history records and decide who was right and who was wrong
LikeLike
I am afraid of my family going to the hospital in case of severe illness. The self-declared elite, consisting of politicians and bureaucrats will fly to Miami.
Most industrialised countries borrow for 0 or 1 % money – Barbados for 10 %. Sounds right?
Where is the much needed structural reform for the budget? Higher taxes will not make it, nor bigger public builings; they will not force down the debt – GDP ratio. A micro-state like Barbados cannot afford so many ministries, so many “official” Mercedes Benz cars, so many public offices, so many embassies, government building fitting in size to the US or Russia. The overhead costs are simply to high. No prayer in church, no talk in parliament, no educated essay, no other talk, nothing will change this natural law.
Money in such a small economy is not created by an act of parliament but by getting FX in. That is the brutal truth.
The shocking fact is, that so many people in Barbados still think it goes on like the last 40 years, that is “working less hard than in Toronto or New York” (as I read it in forums! NOT my opinion), that it is enough to go at 9 to office in a dress, playing with your iphone, chatting, having one hour lunch and leaving at 4 in the afternoon. Wake up!
Noble speeches in church and dressing up at court is not bringing in ONE coin FX into Barbados. The people working in the hotels and in the offshore-offices, the people in export industries, they are the true heroes keeping Barbados afloat, not the elite emulating the structures of industrialised countries which obviously do NOT fit here.
Public employment at public offices will not create any substantial growth, only the private sector can do this. Where are the ideas for a third business sector beside offshore finances and tourism? All the elite is doing is thinking of social welfare, entitlements, not improving the private sector, especially export industries.
To sum up: Barbados needs less government (except security forces), less public spending, more private initiative, new ideas for getting FX.
LikeLike
Zoe i have read you post and have found them to be very interesting,quite recently i followed an article which was documented by a Jewish Rabbi which speaks of the fall once again of the united states of America economy and it’s dollar and strange enough it is predicted to occur around the 13th day of next month two days after 911,which would see serious problems for the entire world. The final blood moon is also scheduled to appear next month during the Jewish feast of tabernacles and once again the Jewish Rabbis have stated that this final blood moon will be significant in terms of biblical prophecies, actually it is clear sign of the end times and the catastrophic events which are about to take place before the soon return of Jesus Christ, well they will be the doubters and the scoffers, but i for sometime now i have been very wary of the times and everything is adding up,those who choose to worry about the politics of man continue,nothing will change regardless of who is in political control whether in Barbados or in other part of the world mankind has lost the ability to properly govern and manage his own affairs,man can no longer live peacefully among themselves and as you have said zoe the signs are already here something big is about to happen.
LikeLike
@Zoe,
What is eternal life? What is its purpose? Is it logical;? What form will it take? Apart from the voice in your head that tells YOU to believe this, where is your proof of it? And don’t tell me you know this from Jesus. What about those billions who would have come into this world and gone out of it before Jesus was born?
LikeLike
Hear,hear Alvin.You do have some sense after all.
LikeLike
c August 27, 2015 at 10:16 AM #
“Balance those mentioned are “no brainers and aresimply a part of governance and cannot be
detached from the overall management of a civilised society”
I cannot interpret what you intend or want to covey but am I to understand your comment relates to the below mentiones as well
“Sir i do not have to mae a list but for sure you and many of your family mambers are benefactors to free Education.
Free Healthy care
Social security scheme
Severance payment
maternity leave with pay.
Free lunch
after school day care
and the free bus rides all of which was opposed by the BLP
not to forget cutting off the navel string and becoming an independent Nation.
You might choose to forget but history records and decide who was right and who was wrong”
LikeLike
Don’t worry! Some of us have caught on to what kind of guy you are. We can tell that even though you are critical of this government’s performance you would be so happy if they had a “Damascus experience” and turned this country around before it is too late. Many of the contributors here I can tell are of the same ilk. It’s not about DLP or BLP. It’s about Barbados.
LikeLike
“You might choose to forget but history records and decide who was right and who was wrong…”
Thank you for the information.
As it relates to the BLP opposing independence, unfortunately I do not have any knowledge of that situation because I was too young to remember. However, I heard this from the older folk, many of whom are/were obviously DLP supporters.
I find it extremely difficult to believe that the BLP opposed free education, since they were responsible for extending this initiative to tertiary level.
Moreover, it would have been an idiotic endeavor for any political party to oppose free health care, NIS, the severance payments act, maternity leave with pay and school meals, because members of the party, their relatives and friends would be able to significantly benefit from these policies, as well as ALL Barbadians, since it is from these people the BLP would want to solicit votes.
Furthermore, in an environment where Barbadians are not prone to forgive easily, I’m sure if the BLP did actually oppose those policy initiatives, (from which Barbadians would have derived essential benefits), that political party would not have been obliterated each time they contested the elections.
Additionally, you have not presented any supporting documents, excerpts or referrals to substantiate your comments, (re: all of which [were] opposed by the BLP), which suggests you are going by “hear say” or relying on DLP propaganda. Also, for individuals who are always mentioning “truth” and “facts,” this was an excellent opportunity for you to lead by example.
Yes, I agree that the BLP opposed the “free bus fares.” However, I believe they did so for good reason, since it was a political gimmick that was not well planned.
However, you must admit that many school children do not take advantage of facility and prefer to pay $1.50 and pack themselves in overloaded mini-buses and ZRs. Then there are disadvantages to ordinary commuters who experience difficulty in arriving at work on time, as a result of an unavailability of buses, many of which are deployed to service school bus routes.
Recently, Sinckler admitted the government has to review the “free bus fares” since it was unsustainable.
LikeLike
Give or take let’s assume you are correct in stating the BLP opposed these policies. Then we, as Barbadians, are within our rights to have been disturbed by those developments and our anger vented at that political organization.
Of course, you should be equally disturbed, and even more so, that the DLP was instrumental in reversing the progress gained by those policies you mentioned.
For example, was it not Sandiford and the DLP that amended the Severance Payment Act, to legislate a REDUCTION IN THE AMOUNT OF SEVERANCE PAYMENT AN INDIVIDUAL COULD RECEIVE?
Was it not Sandiford and the DLP that REDUCED the period in which an individual was eligible to receive unemployment benefits?
The level of service relative to health care in this island has rapidly deteriorated under this administration, and against the background of THREE ministers of health at the helm.
It is rather ironic for you to state the BLP opposed free education, yet you SUPPORTED the DLP for putting an END to free tertiary level education.
The NIS is also in shambles under this DLP administration. Women are experiencing much difficulty in receiving their maternity benefits, people are experiencing difficulties in receiving their sickness or unemployment benefits, while pensioners can be heard constantly on call-in-programs asking for some explanation why they have been unable to receive their pensions on time.
Lest I forget, was it not a BLP administration that implemented a policy whereby a man whose wife/girlfriend is pregnant and unemployed, could receive maternity benefits on her behalf? And you say they opposed the NIS?
When I take the above information into consideration, perhaps you are correct in mentioning “You might choose to forget but history records and decide who was right and who was wrong.”
Finally, if we take the politics out of these situations and look at them rationally, surely we must agree that many of Barrow’s policies were intended for the times in which they were introduced. But for an island with no natural resources, successive government would have had to borrow to maintain this vote “catching freeness.”
We could continue with this political jousting match, but in the end we all have to face reality.
As time progresses and the population increases, there would be a corresponding increase in demand for these goods and services. This where the theory of opportunity cost raises its head.
In an environment where resources are scare, it is impossible for governments to satisfy all the needs of society. As such, in order to make choices, we must sacrifice “something for something.” We must forgo, for example, financing health care to continue financing school children travelling free on government owned buses.
Although these policy initiatives are important, like it or not, whether you support the BLP or DLP, these social services have become unsustainable.
LikeLike
Artax, that is exactly the point: “Although these policy initiatives are important, like it or not, whether you support the BLP or DLP, these social services have become unsustainable.”
As you said, none of the policies were “free”. Barrow simply adopted the basic mantra of governance and used the collective of the country’s tax base to bring on-stream needed programs to stabalize and then propel Bajans to greater growth and development.
The BLP of the day surely questioned how these programs were going to be funded. But of course the programs were necessary. As you allude to, I imagine that the BLP’s disagreements were more about how to implement the programs to best manage the expansion of the country debt and the burden on the income base; in short about balancing the ‘business’ side of the ledger. Rather than broadly about not bring important social change to the country.
But at the end of the day it can be argued that they were ‘against some overall policy’ rather than define specifics so AC’s is standard political posturing to the lowest common denominator.
But what must be dealt with now is as you said, “these social services have become unsustainable.”
On the matter of independence, I too am a bit short in the tooth to also remember anything on the discourse of the day, but nothing strange there as I recall from reading the history of the activity.
Grantley was the older head who considered that our path forward was to remain in a firm union of the awesome British empire and then there was Errol, more recently out of uni and full of that independent vigor.
Because Grantlley wanted to stay his BLP down throughout history can be ‘rightly’ labelled as being against Independence.
But again, that is standard political posturing to the lowest common denominator because we should be able to bring a more discerning eye to the period, events and the people.
LikeLike
@ Artaxerxes
Two excellent posts at August 28, 2015 at 9:27 AM and at 8:44 AM
I saw the yardfowl’s response and could not be bothered to respond.
She/he and all of dems have conveniently forgotten that most of the gains made under the policies introduced by Barrow have been systematically removed from the people piece by piece under every succeeding DLP administration since Barrow.
……………….Poor conditions and poor service delivery at the QEH due to lack of basic supplies and medicines and now payment for some services
……………Because of the government’s hogging up of the NIS funds (some 73% at the latest revelation), the department is finding it hard to meet the claims of ordinary Barbadians daily
……..For the ac’s benefit, it was Grantley Herbert Adams who first introduced free secondary education. Barrow won the election and continued the process. You dems should be ashamed to tout education after you have massacred the hopes and dreams of thousands of poor Barbadians’ children. Now even you dems have now placed fees on students going to BCC so not even an associate degree is available for poor people’s children. If the parents are not working, it is obvious the children cannot get a tertiary education.
………….Free bus fares was another of the political gimmicks the lying dead king played on Barbadians. It was not in the DLP manifesto, it was a gimmick. After this, look at the state of the Transport Board’s finances and the Ministry of Education’s budget as the money had to come from the education budget.
You ac’s can gloat all you want but facts are stubborn things. Under Sandi, Thompson and now Stuart, Barbados has been made the poorer. Just look at the state of Barbados today and see the hopelessness, the frustration and the despair on the faces of the once so proud people.
LikeLike
@ De Word
An excellent contribution, De Word. Your impartiality/neutrality, especially when commenting on issues such as this, is always welcomed.
I was a baby when Barbados became independent, so I had to rely on reading and reports from older folk, to get an idea of the island’s political environment during the 1960s and 1970s. Although I was too young to vote in the 1981 general elections, I steadily became aware of Barbados’ political system, which I progressively resented as I became older.
One of the reasons for this resentment was that Barrow articulated a system of independence whereby Barbados would be free from depending on the former colonial masters. Yet, he (and subsequent DLP and BLP administrations) created a political system and social environment, whereby dependency was transferred from the colonialist to the politicians and as a strategy to secure votes.
In other words, during election campaigns, political parties always promise some sort of “freeness” to entice the electorate to vote for them. They have never reinforced the true meaning of independence and making Barbadians aware of the importance of self sufficiency. Politicians have created a mendicant society.
Let’s examine a social service as it relates to the Transport Board, for example. It is my understanding that prior to 1976, Barbadian commuters paid bus fare according to stages; there was a proportionate increase or decrease in bus fare depending on the destination.
Prior to the 1976 general elections, Barrow standardized bus fares to 25ȼ irrespective of destination. Obviously, this policy was welcomed by DLP supporters, who may have hailed it as a good initiative, but never had the foresight to anticipate the “detrimental implications” this policy would have on the Board’s future operations.
During the use of fare per stage, the fares were not reflective of market prices and warranted a subsidy as a social benefit. The fares being reduced to 25ȼ created a situation whereby the government had to look for additional funds to further subsidize fares and finance the Board’s operations.
This could only be have been done by borrowing or increasing taxes.
Criticizing Barrow in Barbados is tantamount to someone criticizing the Prophet Mohammed….. it produces similar wrath from his supporters. In my opinion, Barrow was similar to any politician; he capitalized on the socio economic environment at the time to do what he was paid as a politician to do, and that is implement policies to help the country.
It’s all good to talk about a “man’s vision,” but what is this vision worth when certain variables are not taken into consideration. Variables such as an increasing population, inflation and cost-of-living, which would ultimately affect the sustainability of the “vision.”
LikeLike
Say what you like ! say what you like! there is no disputing the Facts that the DLP in its sixty years of being an organization have put people first implementing policies whereby All have been become beneficiaries from free education to free bus fares , from severance pay to the maternity leave with pay. The DLP List is much longer than the BLP who had longer reigns of governance and plenty years of financial prosperity and stability to show except a proud and boastful record of decadence aide
Say what you like BLP misfits the records are there for all to gaze upon. Unfortunately over the years these policies were weakened by govts negligence in implementing policies that would have been the bedrock to creating long term and sustainable growth,, Growth sufficient enough to keep these policies strident and beneficial to an economy .but rather stubbornly remained out of ignorance or lack of vision to stay grounded on a one way path relying heavily on one sector to be the economical breadbasket.
Barbados and all small Carribbean nations living and surviving in a global community felt the wrath of the howling financial meltdown which took away many gains which were bread and butter policies to help the poor , leaving in the way devastating effects and unsustainable drops in performance of which many govts were unprepared and unable to carry the heavy burdens of social maintenance
Be that as it may No one can truthfully or rightfully argue that the Dlp did not set a path of provision/s with determined and specific and positive formulas /obectives to give the poor person a living chance to rise out of the ashes of despair on to a meaningful future of hope and security for generations to come,
LikeLike
Yes say what you like BLP foot soldiers the Dlp has a stellar record of implementing policies to help the poor and downtrodden Unfortunately the same can not be said of the BLP whose record shows waste and decadence with a few sprinkles of good measures toss in only to appease a few,
Say what you like ,the DLP actions to help eradicate poverty are written in the history books where all and sundry can gazed upon(education)
Say what you like misfits it takes that kind of intestinal fortitude initiated by vision and implemented through progressive frame of mind to believe that a small island with limited resources can offer anything free of value, heath and education to its people
Say what you like the fruit have been borne !The evidence is there ,Your sons and daughters have benefited from all of the valuable policies of the DLP whether B or D the Dlp govt has always put its people interest first even when their was a visible eclipse overshadowing both interest
LikeLike
“As it relates to the BLP opposing independence, unfortunately I do not have any knowledge of that situation because I was too young to remember. However, I heard this from the older folk, many of whom are/were obviously DLP supporters.”
My understanding from attending meetings in those days was that the BLP did not oppose independence per se but clamoured for independence within a federation which was fought for more intensely by a group referring to itself as “The under forties”. This group was made up of a cross section of personalities who later allied themselves or joined one or both of the political parties.
LikeLike
“The DLP List is much longer than the BLP who had longer reigns of governance”
If history does in your book records and decides the right to know; then the records of history of parliamentary governance by political parties in Barbados would record that the BLP held the reigns of Government for about 28 years between 1956 and 2007 whereas the DLP has held it for 30 years between 1961 and present.
LikeLike
Then too are we to say that Mr Barrow opposed independence because he was part of the attempt by the remaining eight smaller provinces of the defunct Federation of the West Indies, which struggled unsuccessfully to form a smaller federation of the so-called Little Eight.
LikeLike
What was done over the course of twenty years has been SUDDENLY undone over the course of the last seven. And therein lies the reason for our criticism. There was no weaning off the breast.
I doubt that Mr. Barrow intended for all the freeness to continue indefinitely for all citizens. It was probably unsustainable. It was meant to give the people a chance to become self-sufficient. Provision would have remained for the most vulnerable who hadn’t yet made it.
And into the fray rode David Thompson with grandiose promises that I dismissed as totally unnecessary and unsustainable. Interest free car loans for all civil servants and the like.
Now the civil servants are struggling even to pay bus fare.
Stop harping on past glories and face the reality that the people are facing every day. What is the way forward. Any other discussion at this time is irrelevant.
LikeLike
Rather than repeatedly mentioning “say what you like,” your contribution would have some meaningful value if you had listed the all those policies “written in the history books” you said the DLP introduced to “eradicate poverty” and present “the evidence” to BU to substantiate your claim.
Additionally, could you PLEASE desist from including so many metaphors in your contributions? This is BU, not a damn novel.
The DLP and its supporters need to STOP LIVING IN THE PAST and admit that the party has not implemented any NEW innovative policies since the ones you DEMS have constantly mentioned (NIS, NHC, school meals, etc.). And by continually mentioning them, it seems as though the DLP is of the opinion Barbadians are OBLIGATED to vote the DLP.
Fast forward to this present era and tell BU what are the “positive formulas /obectives to give the poor person a living chance to rise out of the ashes of despair on to a meaningful future of hope and security for generations to come,” that the DEMS implemented recently?
Are you referring to the same poor people who, in response to their queries about their temporary employment in the civil service, the heartless, arrogant moron, Freundel Stuart, said “Let’s be very frank – there are people in the public sector who are temporary employees. WHEN I LAST CHECKED THE DICTIONARY, TEMPORARY STILL MEANT ‘FOR THE TIME BEING’….?” [Barbados Advocate, September 3, 2013]
Are you referring to the same poor people who, over a year after being retrenched from “Beautify Barbados” are still awaiting their severance payments? Or the former NCC workers who were referred to a non-existent ERT?
I hope the poor people you alluded to are not among the over 4,000 that were retrenched from the civil service, many of whom had to wait over six months before receiving their severance payments?
Or the poor people who have not received an increase in salary since 2009, but are being burdened by a continual increase in taxation?
Or the poor people whose children cannot attend UWI, Cave Hill from this academic year (2015 – 2016) and how it would impact on their “meaningful future of hope and security?”
What about the poor people employed by UCAL that are owed millions of dollars by the government, often causing them not to be paid on time and have prevented them from receiving their share bonuses for the past 4 years?
Look, stop coming to BU with a lotta party political rhetorical diatribe and shiite, trying to defend the indefensible.
LikeLike
lets start with Free Education and Health, those are visible policies which All have been given and accessed extensively! true and tested! a catalyst designed to uproot depression! neglect ! low self esteem. and poverty,
No one can deny that those two policies have been the standard bearer to which many barbadains have benefited removing them out of poverty and putting them on a progressively successful life .
Yes forgetting how it all began might be a political tool to remove and rewrite history but fat chance for removing successful policies out of the hearts and minds of barbadians who not only seen or heard but have lived and benefited including YOU
LikeLike
Donna, your absolutley correct about our discussion moving forward which seems like the pendulum which oscillate back and forth.
now it isn’t no surprise that the present state of affairs have much bearing upon the past and this is evident in every facet of the human life. Take for example: the serial-killers throughout American history and the factor which has had a significant bearing on their pathology.
The social-scientists have founded a common-denominator between them all, and the important factor which has contributed to their psychopathic behaviour stems from their childhood.
Now, Donna, I have stated that fact to say this truth: the past with its good and evil lives in the present state of affairs; there is no getting around this fact. The state of affairs in Barbados didn’t just occurred overnight, it has been stewing in the pot for decades. A disease in its initial stage of diagnosis,if it doesn’t kill you on the onset progressively does so in the long run.
LikeLike
@Artaxerxes:
The Under Forties actually campaigned on a platform of Independence within a Federation, but they also campaigned against Independence, when the aborted Federation of the Little
Eight, was a still birth. They were all members of the BLP: Lindsay Bolden, Bree St. John. Lester Whitehead, Colin Williams, among others. The BLP actually sent a delegation to England in opposition to Barrow’s presentation of Barbados’ case for Independence.
Up until Barrow and the DLP’s decision to introduce no charges for secondary education, ALL secondary; such as Harrison College, St. Michael Girls, Combermere, (as opposed to so called secondary modern; Princess Margaret, St. Leonard’s etc) charged school fees.Contrary to your belief it was not done as a political tool. There was a social need for it to be done.
Re poor people and taxes, remember that there are allowances and deductions which move the “poor” out of the category of direct tax payers.
One New initiative is the new Labour laws, and the same ERT you mentioned.(Just one among many)
The ERT cannot be nonexistent when it has recently rendered a decision.
The way out of poverty is EDUCATION!!! Too many young people waste their time at school; primary and secondary and leave school with nothing to show for the time that they were supposed to be in school. By the time they reach the age when they should be in University; even if they have to pay part of their tuition, even if it was free they could not qualify to enter.
The Government; neither BLP nor DLP owes anything to anybody for free. If they institute social policies to ease the burden of day to day existence, someone has to pay for it, and if the young people don’t want to contribute to the costs then the problem is their’s
LikeLike
Alvin Cummins August 30, 2015 at 7:54 PM #
“Up until Barrow and the DLP’s decision to introduce no charges for secondary education, ALL secondary; such as Harrison College, St. Michael Girls, Combermere, (as opposed to so called secondary modern; Princess Margaret, St. Leonard’s etc) charged school fees.Contrary to your belief it was not done as a political tool. There was a social need for it to be done.”
Alvin Cummins, I think you are unable to comprehend what people write or you are deliberately misinterpreting contributions to suit your political agenda.
WHERE DID I STATE IN ANY OF MY CONTRIBUTIONS that “the DLP’s decision to introduce no charges for secondary education…… .Contrary to your belief it was not done as a political tool?”
I think you should DESIST from commenting/responding to my contributions, because you CONSTANTLY MISREPRESENT what I write and attribute things to me that I did not write, while responding according to suit your political agenda.
PLEASE MR. CUMMINS, YOU NEED TO STOP DOING THAT.
LikeLike
“One New initiative is the new Labour laws, and the same ERT you mentioned.(Just one among many). The ERT cannot be nonexistent when it has recently rendered a decision.”
I believe you have a problem with comprehension, because once again you have misrepresented what I wrote.
“The dispute at the National Conservation Commission (NCC) has been referred to the Employment Rights Tribunal, which will begin reviewing the matter tomorrow (Monday, May 26, 2014).
Prime Minister Freundel Stuart, who made the announcement this afternoon after meeting with representatives of trade unions and the NCC management at Government Headquarters for close to four hours, said the retrenchment issue would be the tribunal’s top priority at this time since “a number of missteps were made in the process.” [Barbados Today, May 25, 2014]
When Fruendel Stuart referred the NCC matter to the Employment Rights Tribunal in April 2014, the Tribunal had NEVER convened a meeting.
The Act was passed in 2012 and the ERT established in July 2013. The Tribunal had no printed application to facilitate an aggrieved employee filing a complaint in a structured/organised manner.
The NCC case was set to be heard before the ERT in November 2014. However, CTUSAB was critical of the government for failing to provide the ERT with “the necessary office accommodation, a venue for the hearings of the Tribunal, and the required administrative support staff which is necessary to the functioning of the Tribunal.”
“The Congress understands that the Employment Rights Tribunal was ready to hear its first cases in the month of November 2014; one of which was that of the NCC workers, BUT HAS BEEN UNABLE TO DO SO, AS THE REQUISITE INFRASTRUCTURE AND ADMINISTRATIVE SUPPORT STAFF WAS NOT IN PLACE.”
The original members were “resigned” to make way for the selection of new members. Nine members were subsequently selected, with Hal Gollop being appointed as chairman, and February 1, 2015 was the proposed start date for the tribunal to commence its functions.
Now, please tell me Cummins, was the ERT functioning when Stuart first referred the NCC matter to it?
LikeLike
@Artaxerxes
Alvin Cummins knows exactly what he is doing and what he wants to interpret from your contributions. Alvin Cummins is doing what he does best i.e. manipulate and distort facts to either destroy or render useless. I told you before that he is an apostate; one who serves a specific agenda for his own aggrandisement. He is nothing but a pathetic puppet.
LikeLike
it is amazing how the the speculators and percolators of barbados politics use their spin to diffuse opposing comments, Mr, Cummins points concerning what and how and who were the dissenters and distractors opposing Independence is correct , also his response on free education connect the dots .
LikeLike
The following article found in the Archives of the Internet is education especially the last paragraph. It is a pity we have to become mired in decisions of the past when hugh challenges confront us in the present.
http://archives.chicagotribune.com/1966/11/27/page/30/article/tiny-barbados-prepared-for-independence
LikeLike
Another jackass misrepresenting what people contribute, all in an effort to score political points.
These ACs exhibit ALL the characteristics that serve as a constant reminder why I would never support any political party, and to the extent where my stupidity is paraded when I write anything.
Do you people eat, drink and sleep DLP? You guys are “DLP fundamentalist.”
The “Urban Dictionary” defines “fundamentalist” as follows:
“A person who takes their (DLP) religion so literally and to such extremes that they contradict the very basis of their (DLP) faith. They typically believe in a literal, verbatim interpretation of their (DLP) scripture. They also have ridiculous, childish defenses to intelligent criticism of their (DLP) beliefs that border on insanity. The level of hypocrisy and stupidity most of these people exhibit is truly profound.”
The above definition “fits you guys to a T.” Shiite, people, you need to a life.
LikeLike
To be expected the PM addresses crime and other societal ills at a party gathering. When will he ever learn how to use the weight of his office to pull a country together.
LikeLike
Artax
Alvin Cummins has the right to interpret as he see fit and so have you, but this idea of being the blog police really speak to a personality which hasn’t any respect for the principle of democracy.
You write as you so desire and let the chips fall as their may, but it is an affront as well as it befouls collegiate discourse when you try to appiont yourself the final arbiter over what one ought or ought write on a public blog.
Now, I am quite sure Alvin can care less about you critique, but it is important that one make you aware of the fact that your out of order, and your failing attempt to impede one freedom of expression should and ought not be entertain on any social media blog.
And finally, who cares what the hell you think or what you believe to be fact or fiction, true or false? You’re not a locke, Kant or Jasper that one ought to pay homage to your third class opinion, say what you have to say and then get stepping stupid.
LikeLike
Every single blog…
LikeLike
“Re poor people and taxes, remember that there are allowances and deductions which move the “poor” out of the category of direct tax payers.”
SSS wrote: “Alvin Cummins is doing what he does best i.e. manipulate and distort facts to either destroy or render useless.” Apparently her assessment of you seems correct thus far.
Firstly, as it relates to “allowances and deductions which move the “poor” out of the category of direct tax payers,” you are INCORRECT. For your information, no individual can be “moved out of the category of direct tax payer.”
There is a difference between “direct taxes” and “indirect taxes.”
Direct taxes are the taxes that are levied on the income of individuals or organizations (i.e. income, corporation, land or inheritance tax). A direct tax is one that cannot be shifted by the taxpayer to someone else.
An indirect tax is a tax collected by an intermediary (such as a retail store) from the person who bears the ultimate economic burden of the tax (such as the customer). An indirect tax is one that can be shifted by the taxpayer to someone else. An indirect tax may increase the price of a good so that consumers are actually paying the tax by paying more for the products. VAT is an indirect tax.
Secondly, Cummins, please tell me what “are (these) allowances and deductions?”
Perhaps you failed to listen to or read the 2015 Budget Speech re:
“Therefore, it is proposed that with effect from Income Tax Year 2015 that only the following deductions will be allowed along with the existing personal allowances; contributions to trade unions and statutory associations, donations to charities including the church, and energy audit retrofits. Other special credits such as foreign currency earnings allowance and double taxation relief will also remain in keeping with Treaty arrangements.”
This means, Cummins, that from this (2015) income year, Barbadian will no longer be able to claim:
………. Home improvement and mortgage interest allowance
………. Tax deduction for a registered retirement plan
………. Donations to registered and exempt charities
………. Approved provident or superannuation fund contribution
LikeLike
Why don’t you take sometime and read the disparaging comments Artar levels against people who have a democratic right to choose to support a political of their choice rather finding fault with my honest reply to the disrespectful and unjustifiable sentiments you guys levels as the DLP administration continually.
David, you’re the blogmaster and it is therefore incumbent on you to try to be impartial in your distribution of critique. You haven’t been in quite sometime now, and it is therefore apparent to the outside observer that you’re leaning more to a specific political following, when your job of the blogmaster is to stand aloof, and dispense your critique with the utmost of impartiality.
LikeLike
Artar
All you do all day long is to write a lot of bull, as those someone has time to read your nonsense. Man get a life, and you can’t find their are sold on Ebay these days.
LikeLike
Do you expect anything less from Ms. Dompey?
She behaves like a whore…….. always ready to “hold up she dress and block.”
BU provides her with a forum to exhibit her “intellectualism” and criticize or challenge those who fall within the groups who find her either repulsive or are intolerant of her. Being the coward she is it also provides her with a sanctuary whereby she does not have to undergo the humiliation of facing them.
No disrespect to women, but based on the way this individual behaves on BU, it cannot be a MAN. This individual’s reactions are characteristic of a homosexual. Perhaps her femininity evolved after years of being sexually molested by those big policemen at District A, in whose arms she ran to find the love that could not be found at home.
LikeLike
Alvin
Attack the idiot in the soft under belly, he is competent with statistics and probably can’t even put on his pants correctly in the morning.
LikeLike
Lol lol …. Oh God … am laughing my belly full… man your sound more like a bulla …. you seen to know those intimate details regarding the homosexual life. Good God help the she she …
LikeLike
So, I take it there is no way forward since you are still discussing the glories of the past. ERROL BARROW IS DEAD! GRANTLEY AND TOM ADAMS ARE DEAD! What has the current lot to offer us? DEATH?!!!!!!
LikeLike
“…every single blog’
++++++++++++++++
…man ban the donkey’s ass nuh!!!
Day does run til night catch um….
LikeLike
Atax
My behaviour has little to do with being a homosexual, and more to do with defending oneself in the face of ignorance. And by the way you’re no different than the white southern racist American who arbitrarily attributes a certain stereotypical characteristic to the black man in America, as you have done here to the homosexual on BU.
You ought to be ashamed of yourself because you have insulted the collective intelligence of the woman by employing the old adage (no disrespect to women on the one hand, while on the other hand, employing chauvinistic epithets which you have attributed to the homosexual.
Your emotional melted-down revealed two things about your character: one that you’re homophobia and two that you’re sexist. Listen! I have homosexual coworkers whom I have never once saw behaved in the manner in which you have described and attributed to gay people in your above statement.
And your allegation that I have somehow been sexually molested by the police men At District A was made for laughs Artax. All the police men that I have been associated at District A with were all ladies men, and may have had a sister or two of yours beneath their bedsheets.
And finally, one has to question the motive of a person who attributed homosexual tendencies to other, and wonder if their hatred of homosexual and the homosexual lifestyle is a deep-seated repression for their own homosexual propensity?
LikeLike
Bush Tea, David
“Every single blog”
It is no secret that I am a staunch DLP proponent, so it ought to be self- evident that my contribution on the BU blog would constitute the counterpoise of every argument. David, I have never once heard you and your lot attributed anything positive to the ruling party, so my response is as follows: EVERY SINGLE BLOG YOU AND YOUR LOT HAVE SOMETHING NEGATIVE TO SAY ABOUT THE DLP GOVERNMENT.
@ Bush Tea
I you have been calling for my censorship for years because you well know that I am you Achilles heel here on BU.
LikeLike
The blog will be closed if we continue…
Final warning.
LikeLike
And by the way David, I am returning to Facebook today because my absence should increase the quality and membership of your blog I hope.
LikeLike
so…your blog is just one out of millions … do me the favour my wife is going be please.
LikeLike
I am told that Fruendel ought to be looking within his own DLP political party and at some of his own cabinet ministers for information on the drug and gun running in Barbados; and not only, as I myself has suggested at the minority population of whites and indians on the island, although they too are playing quite a big role.
Contrary to what Fruendel is saying, just because it sounds like good sound bites, the police have known about the gun running on the island for well over a decade, it’s old news.
LikeLike
So the PM has thanked bajans for their support in getting the fiscal policies as implemented,working to the advantage of all.I read it thusly;the price of oil has allowed the PM with the scheming support of the minister of energy,to soak the unsuspecting public with an indirect tax by not reducing the price of petrol at the pump,in spite of the crash of the oil price since mid 2014.And so,the sleight of hand saving in foreign exchange has been credited to the reserves,and ipso facto(as Sir Frank Walcott would say)the public has helped the poor rakey fellas reduce the deficit.
Meanwhile the UWI staff had to await the payment of land tax receipts to get paid for August.No cabinet member suffers such a fate.Who will rid us of these incompetenets of Bay St.
LikeLike
@ Dompey August 31, 2015 at 10:53 AM #
David… And by the way David, I am returning to Facebook today because my absence should increase the quality and membership of your blog I hope.
♪♪♪ Hallelujah…….. Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, haalleeeluuujah!!!! ♪ ♬ ♬
LikeLike
Yes it is as equally and mostly important to remember the past and its fundamentals which are attached and incorporated to the future. That is how we learn. That is how we grow through knowledge and experience in our quest to separate fact fiction and truths from fallacy. There has always been an attempt BTy the blP to discard and disregard the social gains made to this country by the DLP in their haste to rewrite the history of the Barrow era an era which placed a stamp of benevolence for the poor
LikeLike
Today Dennis Johnson is supporting the call for a regional central bank.I have held this position ever since the IMF expressed displeasure at the influence of this minister of finance in the policy direction of the CBB,which governor is compliant being a card holding member of the fatted calf brigade.
On another topic but in the subject of regionalism,according to an article in the Guyana Chronicle of August 30th the IACHR has named Bharrat Jagdeo as a culpable party in the 1999 kidnapping and presumed murder of Franz Britton,aka ‘Collie Wills’.IACHR report #80/01 petition #12.264 identifies Ronald Gajraj,former minister of home affairs,Laurie Lewis,former CoP and Leon Fraser,head of the dreaded ‘black clothes’ police and a former Supt of Police as “responsible for Mr Britton’s disappearance whilst in police custody.
It is a total embarrassment that these named persons can hold high public office,some even to this day and walking around without let or hindrance and we say let us support this talk shop called Caricom.Manley,Barrow and Williams must be wondering where they went wrong in their calculations.
The indian guyanese media consultant so called,Rickie Singh,whom Freddie Kissoon says owes Bharrat Jagdeo a humungous favour,might make the above IACHR report and findings the subject of his biased analysis.These indians are so ridiculous in matters of state in Guyana and in Trinidad.God help Caricom with lepers like these.
LikeLike
George Frideric Handel, who might you be? lol
LikeLike