BU continues to highlight the deplorable conditions at the island’s Psychiatric Hospital. A country must be judged by how it treats its senior citizens and the sick. If we are able to persuade international pop star Rihanna […]to visit the compound the publicity would be for a greater good and her goodwill will definitely bounce as result.

Rihanna, the patients and employees at the Black Rock institution implores you to visit!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

84 responses to “Rihanna, the Psychiatric Hospital Extends an Invitation to YOU!”

1. She’s de only Barbadian wid money? Please leh she lone. Stupse.

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Hants and David [BU]

I am starting to identify the agent provocateurs among us!!

I does rush past Hants’ entries because he does usually be enticing de ole man to view the things of Beauty that my new spiritual conscience on BU has, like my Madam, implored me to look away from.

Me Madam is ovah and away (fuh de information all uh wunna dats concerned bout if I eating good while de madam travelling til Sept ** i nearly say de date…)

and the Blogmaster LOL

Imagine when de ole man glimpse this in the side uh my screen “RIHANNA, THE PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL EXTENDS AN INVITATION TO YOU! ” I had was to rush to the article to see whu happen!!

Wunna dun know dat as i did predict some gun play and stabbings and ingrunce did happen ovah de weekend, and as de ole man predict more dan 3 or so persons gone home befo’ de ole man, causing uh dis Crop Ovah season.

Unnah done know dat each year a fellow, AND IS DOES ALWAYS BE WE MENSES, gine tell a man dat he gine kill he and do um.

And when I recall de shooting in Black Rock and jes glimpse de article, I was worried.

Might I suggest a rewording like

“A PLEA ON BEHALF OF THE MENTAL HOSPITAL STAFF, AND PATIENTS, GOES OUT TO SINGER EXTRAORDINAIRE RIHANNA” might be more palatable dan whu is deah now.

Wheretofore and hitherthereby, the other title is more apt for denizens of that institution now on passes.

Their Article, rather Public Notice, would read “AC & HEE HAW, THE PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL HAS ISSUED AN APB FOR THE TWO OF YOU! (and if wunna doan return by tomorrow morning we is coming fuh wunna donkey. Wunna ent gine like it cause we is coming with cattle prods and other proctological tools.

De tools is to deal with the effluent coming from wunna ringleader mouf…Oh no not dat ringleader pun Bay Street, is true dat he need proctological work done pun he, figuratively speaking, of course, my last name is not Parris, en we gine get he in 2018, no dis notice is fuh dat de one dat loose heah in cyberspace…

3. , this is your govts fault and the administrators there….they should be fired and replaced with someone who knows how to access and generate funding. Cida, paho whoever may have grants available. the private sector can always cough up money if the right person is asking. you can not tell me there isn’t any retirees on the island looking to get involved with something to make themselves relevant. Stores donate materials to get tax right offs that could easily spruce that place up. Quit looking to rihanna she has done enough it is some one else’s turn.

4. A headline worthy of the Sunday S or Barbados Adv, surely. How about SOL, THE PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL EXTENDS AN INVITATION TO YOU! or Parris, THE PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL EXTENDS AN INVITATION TO YOU! or Haloute, THE PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL EXTENDS AN INVITATION TO YOU or INNOTECH, THE PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL EXTENDS AN INVITATION TO YOU! or MALONEY, THE PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL EXTENDS AN INVITATION TO YOU!

5. @lawson

Where in the submission Rihanna is being asked for money?

6. David time is money, this problem should be able to stand on its own and infuriate the senses of any normal person. You have many people that turn away when a problem arises rather than solve it. All I am saying is she has come home to raise the profile of your cropover, she has been an ambassador for your island abroad she has donated to charities do you not think it is about time the rest of you stepped up to the plate and helped yourselves ……not in a politician type way lol but in a helping a brother type way

7. The government awarded a contract for the new sugar factory. Beg the contractors to send a crew to do repairs.

It would be a wonderful philanthropic act if they gave back a small portion of the profits they are making from this project.

Rihanna can send a cheque if she feels like it. How much money has she given to the QEH so far?

8. why is the chicken in there….does he think he is a human

9. @lawson

The neglect at the Black Rock institution has existed for decades. Using Rihanna’s name is more for swinging the spotlight on the problem more than asking for money. Like Fear play and others alluded it would be ideal if private sector companies were to get involved by this is not a sexual entity for most.

10. de Ingrut Word Avatar

We can all understand the frustrations related to the Psy Hospital but to evoke Rhianna’s name with this matter is beyond desperation.

In the 1980’s when I passed there most days (thus the ‘ingrunt’ in the moniker) and on occasion went into the compound on business ‘Jenkins’ was basically in this position. Some of those conditions have improved over time and then slipped again into these levels of disrepair despite trained and eager local administrators.

How is the Psy Hosp different from the obvious failures that have been identified in the Child Care/Parental Abuse issues witnessed recently; how different to the issues of police brutality and cries of sexual harassment leveled at those officers?

How is it different from the terrible disrepair seen at the various ‘Children Home’ environments over the years?

Unless we have done our part well but failed miserably due to unrelenting gov’t pressure or such then it is utter laziness to seek a celebrity to supposedly highlight this.

Please leave Rhianna and her celebrity imprint for deeply intractable issues that are not related to long standing indifference which we Bajans and our NGOs and the GOVERNMENT have shown towards those who are disadvantaged.

After the 15 mins media blowup what budgetary, misuse of funding and other basic issues will be solved?

Ossie, what are you looking for under the street light? “My $10 bill, I dropped it over there in Jenkins but there ain’t no light there so I looking for it here”. Awright den, let me help you look!

So is Rhianna your street-light? Sorry, can’t help you look there.

But I understand the frustration…after all this is 35+ years later and we still are lost like Ossie’s with old Jenkins’ disrepair in the new and improved Psychiatric Hospital.

11. de Ingrut Word Avatar

OK David, seems you answered my query as I was palavering on the keyboard and watching TV!

Still don’t believe Rhianna has any spotlight responsibilities here.

This is our issue that we have shown tremendous indifference about. We need to deal with it with more gusto and enthusiasm and practical effort.

12. Please also extend this invitation to Sir Kyffin, Sir Charles and Sir David and include the QEH.

13. Wunna like to copy North Amurcan lifestyle.

copy this.

http://sunnybrook.ca/foundation/content/?page=donorspotlight

14. @IDee Word

If an aged long approach has been shown not to be working we have to try something else. Rihanna by her celebrity status makes her a perennial candidate to be approached on this and other causes. You are free of course to disagree.

15. Until “Mental Illness” affects them or family they’ll have little or no interest to visit…! They have their own agendas, fame and fortune! What most people do not understand is that the human brain has become extremely fragile of late…! Pressures of living in the main culprit…! The rich and famous have their own life style and can afford to pay for their health. It’s the government’s responsibility to provide reasonable health care!

16. @Shaft

The state of the psychiatric hospital is reflective of our insensitivity and ignorance about mental illness.

17. @ David,

Can the opposition be implored to raise this issue in parliament ?

18. Boy are we desperate when we need Rihanna to deal with issues such as these. Can’t we get together and tackle the issue ourselves? Are we so powerless that we need a saviour to get a few buildings fixed? Lord, we are pitiful!

19. I do not believe this ignorance and insensitivity about mental illness, you are mixing two things, you don’t have drugs in your hospital, you have to bring your own toilet paper when visiting your old age home this is less about mental illness than it is trying to patch a tire full of holes with only one patch. This is about money and only money. I have never seen an island where every family I have met seems to have a depression or mental illness story so people I am sure are quite aware of it, but how do you a lot resources?? usually by the squeaky wheel method and unless someone is fighting for them nothing will happen . I just don’t think Rihanna is a cow to be milked maybe the mental health commission should just do their jobs.

20. Some of you are confused by the mention of Rihanna. It is about BU being pragmatic to bring attention to a longstanding issue. One guess which blog is trending right now?

21. David, I don’t disagree with you that a spotlight needs to be shone and things done differently I am just not enthused that the issues are those that require the Rhianna high power klieg lights.

Incidentally, that Ossie Moore joke like many of the others is actually astute philosophical commentary wrapped into a ‘back country’ folly.

Just as you are seeking, Ossie knew to look under or shine the light where he would get attention to his problem.

Let’s use our celebrities more wisely!

Donna, made the point succinctly in her 40 odd words.

22. @Dee Word

But if what ideally should be happening is not working what do you do?

23. David, the answer to that lay in the hearts and determination of us all. On the Jeff’s blog your response asking Caswell how do we move away from the political class controlling the judiciary speaks to the same issue: some things are really very difficult to change. No easy answers.

The celebrity spotlight is used everywhere and for everything. We are reacting here because Ri-Ri is our only international superstar but your commentary is definitely just a par score (to borrow a golf analogy) in other places.

But even with such a spotlight do you really believe we would not be back to the same thing in a year or two?

We can agree, there are no easy answers.

24. @Dee Word

Think about if the use of Rihanna’s name on this blog provokes others to respond then it is a win win.

25. David,

I guess I’ve never needed a Rihanna to make me respond to these issues. I get your point, though.

26. Barbados is truly fuh cup.

Every small “problem” is left to grow into a major project.

The Mental hospital needs emergency repairs. It is not that fcukin difficult. There are enough carpenters,masons, painters, plumbers and electricians that can do the repairs in “no time flat.

But we gine need a acting minister to address the problem and give a big brassbowl speech for political gain while letting mentally challenged Bajans live in worse conditions than some people kennels.

Eff I doan be careful I gine start ackin mad an en up in Jenkins next time I visit.

27. @David,

Just using Rihanna’s name is a win win.

Another win is that Bajan organisations in the Diaspora might be alerted by people like Alvin and others to divert some of their gifts to include the psychiatric hospital.

28. The churches with all their carpenters and masons and contractors for some reason have to wait till the ones from overseas come and do these projects for free. That is one of the reasons why I find it hard to reach my church on Sunday mornings. Pew warming does not appeal to me.

29. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Fair enough David…the mere specter of the spotlight can attract others who may not otherwise care to look.

So well said.

30. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

lawson August 9, 2015 at 8:38 AM #
    “why is the chicken in there….does he think he is a human”

Lawson,
    You might not believe it, but the “fowl cocks” in “Jinkins” are used to demonstrate how mad some persons really are.
    Let me take this opportunity to relate a story that comes from deep within the annals of “Jinkins” folklore.

A male patient was admitted to “Jinkins” suffering from a very rare mental illness: he thought he was a piece of corn, and that every fowl was out to eat him.

Psychiatrists, psychoanalysts, and psychologists spent hours and hours trying to convince him he was not a piece of corn.
    Eventually, they thought he was cured, so one day they released him.

He left “Jinkins” on foot, crossed over the road, and headed in the direction of The Nightengale Home.
    Unfortunately, a cock had espied a hen. The cock opened up one of its wings, pressed on the gas, and was heading full speed ahead to “thread” the hen. The mental ex-patient, seeing this cock running intently towards him, turned and fled towards the Jinkins gate from which he had exited a few minutes ago, hollering for murder all the way.

When the doctor asked him why he had returned, all frightened, he replied: “Doc, I know that I am not a piece of corn. But the fowls don’t know it. They still see me as a piece of corn, and the first one I came across tried to eat me. You have to call in all the fowls and work on them the same way you worked on me.You must now convince THEM that I am not a piece of corn.”
    So Lawson, the chickens you see in “Jinkins” are the ones that the doctors have not been able to convince as yet.
    Yuh hear lie?

Not that “Jinkins” has anything to do with this question, but what has become of Pachamamum? LOL.

31. you remember the old joke…my uncle is crazy he thinks he is a chicken his buddy says
    why don’t you have him committed…..I would but we need the eggs

32. We got Billionaires in Barbados, Bajan Billionaires, yes Billionaires and people are troubling Rihanna?

I get the point, but the issue, even if highlighted, would be glossed over.

Or monies given by overseas donations, diverted to the consolidated fund and matters made worse.

Better, have any improvement supervised by an International Body. But even there, monies and contracts go to buddies of the head boys… I know someone who used to work in a certain organization and the head boy there was a best bud of a leading businessman.

Guess who got contracts for supplies through islands….

33. @Crusoe,

Rihanna is a Bajan born superstar. BU mentioned her name and look how much discussion it has generated.

Out is this blog will come a call to others to REPAIR JENKINS and at least make it as nice as the DOG kennels in Fort George or Royal east Moreland.

Hopefully the Bajans who does frequent the events at the various consulates in the USA and Canada will get their alumni organisations to start a Repair Jenkins Fund.

34. Instead of using Rihanna’s name to attract attention to the plight of the Mental Hospital why not rally our own citizens to protest outside of the hospital to draw attention. If the citizens don’t want to do that then they like it so.

35. David

I am not quite sure who wrote the topic regarding Rihanna’s psychological state of mind, but had it been your daugther, I don’t think you would take too kindly if that remark was directed at her.

36. David

Let’s assume for a moment that this young lady was in a fragile state of mind as some here seems to assume, and she so happened to come across this article detailing her mental state, and she decides to engage in self injurious behaviour. Wouldn’t you or anyone else here feel a little bit responsible?

37. islandgal246 August 9, 2015 at 9:18 PM #
    Totally agree with you. Just like how the naval ships pay visits to the islands, and the crews are directed to which schools or other buildings that they should paint up and spruce up,passing scores of young unemployed men and women liming on the block ,on their way. But this little gesture of ” Hearts and Minds” ,enforces the belief that we are unable to do things for ourselves.

38. Hants August 9, 2015 at 8:38 AM #

The government awarded a contract for the new sugar factory. Beg the contractors to send a crew to do repairs.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    You expect the contractors to be able to carry our repairs to what was Jenkins Plantation buildings, when like Andrews sugar mill, they did not put it together,so are unable to dismantle or repair it.

39. Why stop at the Psychiatric Hospital?
    http://i.imgur.com/Gbhrc8x.jpg

40. @Colonel Buggy

And isn’t this the point i.e Barbadians have shown a reluctance to demonstrate therefore the need to try other methods to achieve results. Bottomline we have to try to help the patients. Why get hung up on the use of Rihanna’s name when the objective is to create awareness?

41. David now that it takes 2 hours instead of two years to get to the island would you not say over time, half this problem should sort itself out.
    As another thought now that beer is 4 for 10 bucks and rum still a bargain the chances are a lot of people will die of diabetes or cirrhosis before the onset of late stage dementia or Alzheimer’s.
    Finally why not convert some of the politicians offices over to rooms for patients it seems they are already set up for people who are out of it.

42. @David,

You have succeeded in bringing awareness re the Psychiatric hospital.

Nothing wrong with using Rihanna’ name to bring attention to the plight of helpless Bajans who are living in squalor in a state run institution.

Hopefully one of the members of parliament who troll BU will see the photos and puke.

Then they will do something before the “story” spreads across the world that a Psychiatric hospital in Barbados is housing patients in deplorable disgusting conditions.

43. I am having a very BIG PROBLEM understanding how Rihanna can solve the problem of the Psychiatric Hospital in Barbados, while the Government and most of the good people of Barbados TALK, and TALK and MORE TALK about problems? Problems which came through MISMANAGEMENT of TAXPAYERS DOLLARS. No one but the good people of Barbados should deal with this problem. If Rihanna, or anyone else for that matter steps up to try resolving any of the problems that are being created by a poor excuse of ,or for a Government. Who’s PIMPING the people BIG TIME. And as usual, in return NOTHING but Bull Shit Promises. STAND up for once in your lives, and step to those that you’ve placed in power, AND DEMAND CHANGES THROUGH ACTIONS, AND NO MORE WORDS. The Government has SOLD OUT THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS LONG TIME AGO. AND A BLIND MAN CAN SEE THAT. STAND UP FOR WHAT YOU BELIEVE IN AND CUT OUT THE TALKING FOR A CHANGE. CHANGE COMES FROM ACTIONS, AND NOT WORDS.

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I agree, why the hell ya’ll want to be bothering Rihanna for, the same problems that exist at the Psyche hospital now, existed back in the 90’s when Rihanna was a mere child at that time, the DLP/BLP politicians, their esteemed friends, lackeys and sycophants had millions upon millions of dollars, so much so, that they were banking all that dirty money in the US, Switzerland, St. Lucia (ask Leroy Parris and Peter Harris) and everywhere else and the FBI had to pay the island a visit, no one thought of or cared about the elderly or the mentally challenged.

Rihanna should tell ya’ll go to hell. I am sure she has the projects in mind that she would want to distribute funds in order to get her tax breaks. Why don’t ya’ll ask all the thieving politicians who squandered the taxpayer’s money to put the damn money back in the treasury and stop stealing, taking bribes and allowing the minorities to financially rape the country.

45. Islandgal,

Tell me when you are planning the demonstration and I’ll be there.

46. @FearPlay August 9, 2015 at 8:11 AM ” How about SOL, THE PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL EXTENDS AN INVITATION TO YOU! or Parris, THE PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL EXTENDS AN INVITATION TO YOU! or Haloute, THE PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL EXTENDS AN INVITATION TO YOU or INNOTECH, THE PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL EXTENDS AN INVITATION TO YOU! or MALONEY, THE PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL EXTENDS AN INVITATION TO YOU!”

But neither SOL, Parris, Haolute, Innotech, nor Maloney have or have ever had or will ever have any mad people in their families so they don’t need to pay attention to the psychiatric hospital.

LOL!!!!!!!!!!

The psychiatric hospital is fa wunna mad people on BU.

47. And since Rihanna is earning most of her money in the U.S. and since the U.S. has its fair share of mad people, some would even say more that its fair share (you doubt me?) perhaps she has to spend some of her money helping the mad people there.

48. @Walter Blackman August 9, 2015 at 6:00 PM “A male patient was admitted to “Jinkins” suffering from a very rare mental illness: he thought he was a piece of corn, and that every fowl was out to eat him.”

This mn reminded me of one in the book “The man who mistook his wife for a hat” by Oliver Sacks.

49. @Hants August 9, 2015 at 10:07 AM “Wunna like to copy North Amurcan lifestyle. copy this: http://sunnybrook.ca/foundation/content/?page=donorspotlight

“The Brides’ Project sells donated wedding dresses, veils and shoes at half the garments’ retail value, with all proceeds going to cancer programs and charities – including Sunnybrook’s Odette Cancer Program.”

I like this. There must be thousands of single use wedding dresses bought and discarded in Barbados every year.