Submitted by Wayne Cadogan

Anything that is going to negatively affect this country and further push it into the mire, whether it be the government, unions, outside forces or our very own masses, I will speak out against these or any atrocious acts as it is my duty as a Barbadian to enlighten the masses of such damaging acts.

[โ€ฆ]

The NUPW in this case is wrong in stating that the striking Sanitation Workers should be paid for their time off from work. It is the union that called the workers to strike and therefore, they are the ones that should be paying the workers for the time off that they did not work.

There are two issues which are wrong here, one is that the striking workers should not have been on the compound during the strike as it was a union strike initiated by the union and not the business, and secondly, it is the union that should be paying the workers for the time spent off from work during the strike.

The country had to suffer the indignity of not having their garbage collected during the strike, no fault of theirs and therefore should not as taxpayers have to pay the striking workers salaries. The union should be in a position, that if it is going to call its members to go on strike, that they should be in a position to pay the strikers salaries as that is what part of their union dues is supposed to cover. It is grossly unfair for the taxpayers not to have their garbage collected and have to pay the striking workers too.

212 responses to “Wrong Move, NUPW Should Pay Striking Workers”

1. I found it amazing that the Acting Assistant General Secretary was asking the Board of the Sanitation to be considerate and pay the workers so to have a peaceful solution to the striking workers returning to work.
    They should not be paid. The unions are always using the Sanitation workers as pawns in they fight for other workers who are better paid by far.
    If you want them to strike pay them

2. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Cannon Fodder, I called them. It would be interesting to learn if on the day,after the strike was called off ,when the Sanitation Workers stayed off the job, because they were not paid for the previous strike days,if people from the civil service and other collar and tie jobs, were willing to go over to the SSA depot in Wildey and lend the SSA workers some solidarity brotherly and sisterly support.
    Its not always a case of he who calls the tune, pays the piper.

3. Just spent a week in Bim and the stench of garbage all over was not nice. Pay them for striking? Are the out of their minds?

4. There is no argument here.The striking workers must be paid or the SSA will be having nightmares in carrying out their mission.Pay the workers and stop nickpicking.Ever heard of winning a battle and losing the war.Thats precisely what SSA management will encounter.Barbados does not have militant unionism.What we have are incompetent ministers of government and an abrasive,combative PM who is out of his depth since the dead king left these shores,never to return.Barrow has died and so did the DLP.What we have now are blinded,corrupt impostors.EWB said it”after me is Sandy,after Sandy is Philip,after Philip any number can play”.how prophetic!

5. Wayne you are bang on target with your comments the Bees yard fowls are going to eat you alive . An important correction to your post is the SSA workers remain on strike garbage has not been touched in the island since MacDowell called out the troops. They shouldn’t get a red cent from government. Let the NUPW and the BWU pay them. If the unions don’t pay the SSA workers should retain the best of the ambulance chasing lawyers here in abundance and take the unions to court. In Shakespeare’s world that’s poetic justice.

6. Now is not the the to debate whether to pay SSA workers for 3 days, Barbados is sinking under the weight of garbage at the height of the crop over season. Want to guess how many will return to the island any time soon?

On 19 July 2015 at 02:07, Barbados Underground wrote:

7. It is the Sanitation workers who will suffer also .No pay. The tourist don’t come .No more Sanitation department because the Government will not have money to pay. The private sector will take over. If they get jobs there and strike they will not get pay either.

The government from what is going on seems to have the support of the silent majority on this one.

It seems that the government has the silent majority on most issues because the marches and strikes cannot get past 5000 persons taking part at any time.

Where are all of those persons who gathered to look for that person in St. George?

By the way a private contractor was seen going in at Springer School every day moving garbage every day for CXC because teachers were there marking exams.

The sanitation workers are good people but are used too much by unions

8. @Clone, Like you, I don’t believe striking workers can expect to be paid, that I why I thought the government set a bad precedent when it paid the striking Alexandria teachers.
    It is the NUPW responsibility to pay the SSA workers lost wages, and it should set up an account into which anyone who wants to assist can deposit any amount they want to/can afford to. Record keeping in such an account must be top notch and be open to scrutiny.
    I remember reading a contribution in which Bush Tea said he made such a donation, and
    I’m willing to have one made in my name.

9. NO! NO! NO! can’t set precedent ,it would come back to bite govt in the arsse,,NO! NO! NO!

10. If the workers are paid by the SSA and the unions need them to strike again in the near future if discussions fail, what should the workers be expected to do?

11. now reality set in david talking about sensible debate, well bro too little too late can;t have the bottle and the spoon. when at the first strike action you and the orchestra blp were all singing from the same hymn book and shouting praises to the workers for bringing the country to its knees,i hope the first people to get the garbage collected would be the innocent people who was not engaged in the mass parade ,and the likes of you and the union leadership get theirs collect last hopefully in a year or so,,

12. @David
    But cuddear. How can a Union insist that it was absolutely right where the law was concerned, then turn around and ask for a different law to be broken??

“The salaries and wages of officers and employees who go on strike will not be paid for any day or portion of a day during which they are on strike. Thus, if an officer or employee merely reports for work on any day of a strike but does not work for the day, he will not receive pay in respect of that day; if he works only for a part of any day of a strike he will not be paid for that period of the day during which his services are withheld”

No legal luminaries needed to interpret that one.

NUPW needs to dig into their strike fund. Let’s see if Bajans are really willing to taste a little discomfort to force the greater and longer term good.

As I said elsewhere, you can win the battle but lose the war.

Just observing

13. @Observing

What had been the custom? It is the MoL who had been giving weight to protocol AND the law.

14. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Observing

Which law are you quoting? You might be surprised to discover that you are wrong again in respect of Sanitation workers.

Some of you are pretending that it is unusual to pay Sanitation for the period when they were on strike. It has always been pay them before they strike some more, this time for the money that has not been paid. It is better to pay them rather than let the garbage pile up and make Barbados more unattractive to visitors who bring in the much needed foreign exchange. Talk about a penny wise and a pound foolish. Maybe, the writer of this post should have called himself “Pound Foolish” because that is what he is encouraging this country to be. If they do not work for a few days in support of their union, they will still have the same amount of garbage to remove when they return to work. In essence, if they were on strike for three days, when they return to work they will have to remove the accumulation. Stop nitpicking before the rat population mushrooms.

15. I am quite sure that government foresaw the impending sanitation strike, so why wasn’t a contingency plan in place to alleviate the accumulation of garbage round and about the island. Now perhaps, I am thinking internationally because I do remember antagonistically of course, when our union called a strike in 1990 because our former governor took a defiance stance regarding the union concessions, so the word was given to the union membership that we were in for long bitter battle. And so it was. But the point I wish to emphasize is this: the former governor was quite proactive because he had had a contingency plan in place on the heels of our anticipatory strike. The moral of the story is this: the former governor had hired substituted employees months in advanced to take our place, and to break the back union. But his efforts failed even though we were on the strike line for two months and some change, but we were able to apply for partial-unemployment, and the union gave whom every turned upon the strike line daily a few dollars to put in their pockets. But the strike in 1990 forever changed our union because a lot of my coworkers crossed the picket line, and could never again be looked at in the same light because their were now enjoying the benefits of our sacrifices for those two long intolerable months.

16. Caswell Franklyn

Perhaps, you should give some thought to a Rain-Day-Fund as our union has done in instances were there is no other alternative but to strike. It would assist those on the picket-line with their basic needs. That’s if you haven’t done so already of course?

17. I sometimes marvel at caswell’s reasoning. not one cent will they receive. next time the ssa will have a contingency plan, pay the private haulers with the money saved. the union cannot sustain a strike it has no money and it had to borrow 71000 to give food assistance, if you withdraw your labour that’s your right, but the consequences of your action belong to you, plan and simple.

18. are-we-there-yet Avatar

If the NUPW had a strike fund it should be brimming over from the monies accumulated over the many years it did not have a strike under the enlightened leadership of the past leaders.

Perhaps Caswell should tell us if any of the Unions have a strike fund and if not why not.

Perhaps that was one of the casualities of the highly vaunted Social Partnership?

Perhaps it needs to be resuscitated in a new era where the Union has to be more combative to properly service the workers, especially in their fights with Government that must be continuing on a path of even harsher anti-worker acts to accord with external committments?

But perhaps a strike fund may not be necessary if the status quo continues with an implicit recognition that there is no need for strikes.

19. There is NO LAW that govern strikers which say that govt must guided by ;Penny wise pound foolish .however if these workers who are supposed to by law return to work after the strike action is complete there might be treading on sacred ground in their refusal and on a ground that gives govt the right to replaced them
    The Union should be notifying these workers who now can be called “wild cat strikers” that it in is their best interest to return to work instead of prolonging an agony of defeat which might cause them more harm done good in the long run and the necessity to salvage what is lost from these weeks of non payment rather than to continue to shoot themselves in the foot asking the govt and taxpayers for compensation for a JOB not done
    This is one ” round” of strike action which the SSS workers cannot win in the Court of public opinion

20. If the Government of Barbados were worth anything more than shit, this would NOT be an issue.
    OBVIOUSLY the workers should be paid for the three days. Wuh Shiite… the GOVERNMENT (Donville) created the problem by taking the industrial action to illegally dismiss workers based on age.
    In order to REDRESS this wrong, the union was forced to take counter action – because DONVILLE said up front that he was not backing down.

The counter-action was taken by the union and then agreed (by withdrawal /ignoring of the letters) to have been in support of THE LAWS of the damn land….

What shiite is this now… about the sanitation workers being asked to stand the cost of UPHOLDING the laws od Barbados….

SURELY this is the responsibility of those who BROKE the law in the first place and /or those who administer the law.
    IN BOTH INSTANCES, this is the damn GOVERNMENT.

Why don’t they make DONVILLE pay….?
    Brass bowls….!!!

21. Again ! again can’t say it enough that immaturity especially guided by political influence was a ticking bomb which eventually will backfired, on the infiltrators
    Rather than the Union leadership relying on basic commonsense before strike action which would have given their strikers more time for preparedness they allowed themselves to be exploited by political dictates that now in the long run cannot resolve another burning issue which by law gives the govt a right not to pay the SSS workers….. how sad.

22. …the other question is about this point of being ‘paid’ to do the RIGHT thing. Even if we have a completely hopeless set of bowls for a government, and even if they cannot comprehend the principle of going after JUSTICE rather than cheap political games, why should the UNION have to pay workers in order to defend THEIR own rights?
    ….mean EVERYBODY have to be blasted mendicants…..want! want! want! want…!!!

There are some things that are above ‘being paid’ for…
    A REAL man does what he has to do ….even at personal cost.

Jackasses who call on the Union to pay are only looking to create the identical situation where the COST of getting justice will be out of reach of the ordinary worker like the sanitation workers.
    Obviously this will mean that the unions COULD NOT afford to strike….so the Government/Employers could do as they like …and the union would be effectively dead. (except the EMPLOYERS union which could afford it).

…Is that not the current situation we have with Lawyers? .. and where ‘justice’ for poor people is ABSENT… because they ‘can’t afford a thieving lawyer…’?

23. St George's Dragon Avatar

Clone July 18, 2015 at 10:28 PM
    “Where are all of those persons who gathered to look for that person in St. George?”
    I would like to state for the record that this is a scandalous accusation. I have never had a person in me and if these fabrications are repeated you will hear from my lawyer.

24. @Bush Tea

Understand your argument but a strike fund by its design is meant to give the union leverage at the table not so?

25. @caswell
    sometimes it’s good to be purposely wrong in order to show a possible right.
    Your argument which will prove me wrong with respect to the extract I quoted
    can be reapplied to the BIDC position which led to this whole mess in the first place. Feel free to have a swing at it.

and by the way, you know as well as I that the employer is not obligated to automatically pay workers who are on strike, specifically when it has not been shown or agreed that the employer is wrong.

@Bushie
    no pain no gain.

the law for the Public Service is the extract I quoted.
    The general custom otherwise is that employers pay for a one day or two, no fret. If it’s shown that the employer is culpable then payment should definitely be made. The Union is also free to demand/negotiate payment if it’s not forthcoming. The catch in this case is that the issue is still ongoing and no one has been “proven” wrong yet.

Let me give my view. The law is an ass. Good relations negate the need for legal arguments anyday. Too bad we don’t have that anymore.

There’s light at the end of the tunnel though.

“โ€œIt has made me rethink how things are supposed to be done, and it has shown me that the job that I have is a really responsible one, and you have to be careful about every single decision that you take, even talking to the media. You have to make sure that what you say is what you mean”

AKanni McDowall –

Just observing

26. as usual deputy dawg alias bush tea stands up in the BU classroom sticking out like a sore thumb with his ridiculous analogical dribble. Negro If You Dont Work Yuh Dont get pay, That is the law, No wonder u And Caswell Franklin such good friends his analogy corresponds with your Dribble Under the Caswell LAW /ACT…… “PENNY WISE POUND FOOLISH which by the way i think is meant to impress or invoke some back door process as a guide,

27. @ David
    Understand your argument but a strike fund by its design is meant to give the union leverage at the table not so?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    That is the illusion for the uninitiated.

in fact…
    A strike fund is designed to place a COST on industrial action so that potential Union influence can be QUANTIFIED by the business sector and logical decisions made as to what actions are feasible and what are not.
    If there is NO strike fund, then vexed workers could conceivably exert unlimited action against an employer and possible force them to take actions that they would very much prefer to avoid (like paying fair wages etc)
    If the Union has $XM in ‘strike funds’, then the employer can calculate that this equates to Y days/weeks of action and hence calculate how much they can get away with.

This is a ploy created by people who have the knack of reducing EVERY shiite to money terms….

28. St George's Dragon Avatar

Surely a sensible solution would be for the SSA to stick by the rules and not pay for strike days but recognise that there is extra work in the subsequent clear- up which should be paid at overtime rates.

29. A major risk for the SSA workers of withholding their services is for the country to realize that through alternative arrangements it can do without them. In such actions, you want to do enough to cause discomfort but not so much to become irrelevant (that is force the other party to the point of making alternative arrangements).

30. @Observing

What is your view on the MoL insisting on stakeholders following the protocol of consultation and custom yet we have enacted the ERA? Do you see a natural tension as a result?

31. @ AC
    ” Negro If You Dont Work Yuh Dont get pay, That is the law,…”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    …so what the F&^$ do we pay Froon for….???!!

NOTHING that this joker EVER says…comes to pass…
    Did he not say just last Monday that the BIDC matter will be decided in court?
    Did his minister not withdraw the letters two days after…?

Tell him to please refund his damn salary to the treasury….according to the LAW
    (F&^$ =Frig) ๐Ÿ™‚

jkass

32. @Bush Tea

You forgot to detail the flip side to your argument.

33. The SSA is advised to pay the workers and get on with the work of cleaning up the country and disposing of the dead.SSA workers have an arsenal of retaliative measures to bring management to a” christian feeling”.You DLP mail and media terrorists and crackhead enforcers would do well to tone down your ill advised combative engagement which serves only to show your shallowness of thought.

34. Gabriel July 19, 2015 at 8:50 AM #, if this is done, what guarantee is there that the SSA workers will not be used again in a few weeks if the BIDC/NUPW discussions fail? And, in such an event, should the workers be again paid?

35. I suggest that the workers show good faith by returning to work and going beyond the call of duty in quickly clearing the streets of garbage – then make a case to be paid for the days on strike.

36. And Alien what if SSA employees are not inclined to cooperate over the next 3 to 5 days?

37. Most people listened to the Prime Minister and said he was talking foolishness. I read him loud and clear when he said that you cannot have new wine in old wine skins. New wine, meaning new union leadership not following processes and striking when negotiations are on. Old wine skins seems to mean that the customs which allowed certain privileges to the trade unions would be looked at. For instance the Sanitation workers were always paid in the past when they strike but that was not a law but a privilege. The privilege is now removed.

I tried to read what the parable meant.

38. St George's Dragon Avatar

Let’s hope that the SSA workers are not too enthusiastic when they go to clear up at Ilaro Court or they could mistake a comatose man for a dead body.

39. @Clone

Why should a prime minister have to deliver his utterances in parable form?

40. The Unions have a right to strike , but not a right to pay. The Unions were within their right to question law and withhold their services albeit that it was an action that bears down heavily with negative consequences on the health of a country .
    However the SSS need to call on moral suasion for monetary relief can also be passed on to themselves by their actions to resumed the collection of garbage.
    Calling on one side to be moral while exempting one self from recognizing the inherent dangers done by actions which can be dangerous to society borders on self righteous indignant and a singularity of the mind to impose one,s will in deference to what is morally correct .

41. David July 19, 2015 at 9:17 AM #, we, the public, would expect the leaders we elected to make alternative arrangements to protect our health, such as contracting private companies to remove the garbage. At that point the SSA workers risk being irrelevant.

42. @david
    The ERA has become as problematic for workers and Unions as the 2007 Public Service Act was for the entire country. Note how both came the year before elections. Note too that the MoL has already said it needs to be reviewed and maybe amended. It looks and smells good but tastes awful.

Parties have to decide whether they are going the legal route (lawyers) or the industrial route (good faith, negotiation, practice and procedures).

The GoB prefers the legal route since it takes more time and diffuses the issues naturally. The Unions prefer the industrial route but their recent prosecution of matters and articulation of positions leaves alot to be desired, hence the lack of headway and the increasing tension.

Makes no sense trying to cut nutgrass with a cutlass. It might need to be pulled up from directly from the root.

At least it seems McDowall has learnt some lessons. That’s called growth.

@Alien
    good point. That’s how big people operate. Return to work, then push for pay and the obvious overtime that will result.

If they don’t they will squander any good will they had, erode the Union’s overall negotiating position and give Bro. Lowe another opportunity to line his pockets with cleanup contracts.

just observing

43. @ Observing
    “….good point. Thatโ€™s how big people operate. Return to work, then push for pay and the obvious overtime that will result.
    If they donโ€™t they will squander any good will they had, erode the Unionโ€™s overall negotiating position and give Bro. Lowe another opportunity to line his pockets with cleanup contracts.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

…man make up your mind nuh….
    Is it the above…
    …or is it indeed FOOLHARDY to give in when negotiating with persons who cannot be trusted? Is it not that WHEN DOING THE RIGHT THINGS, one should persist with one’s conscience…?

Those policemen awaiting a decision on promotions did the right thing by following process …right?
    The CLICO policyholders did the right thing by waiting on government …right?
    We are doing the ‘right’ think to let Cahill follow its natural course….right?
    The Marina Project followed the ‘right’ path ent it…?

steupsss…
    Boss, there comes a time when even brass bowls have had enough of piss….

44. What ‘flip side’ is that David?

45. @Bush Tea

It is the point Alien made, the SSA made irrelevant. Don’t see the government having the political capital to force it though.

46. @bushie
    You’re beginning to ramble man.

The SSA workers do not have a RIGHT to be paid.
    The BIDC workers had a RIGHT to be treated fairly.

Are you saying that the SSA workers should stand their ground for what’s NOT their right while the NUPW was right to retreat and claim victory despite NOT getting their right?

Stupse. I find when you have a soft spot for someone your eyes start to get misty.

Just observing

47. Observing
    What do you mean by the SSA workers not having a right to pay?Who started the ball rolling?Was it not the Government’s repeated ill treatment and disrespect of the workers of this country?You think people just get up one morning and decide they done working?Just so?NCC,Customs,NHC,Drainage,teachers,transport board and the list will go on.The rot got to stop.This terrorist administration got to stop bullying this country.

48. @Gabriel
    “This terrorist administration got to stop bullying this country.”

Any logic in my words on this specific issue will be lost. Fear not, 2018 is soon here and you can have your say.

Striking workers do not have an automatic right to be paid if the dispute still exists and wrong has not been proven on the part of the employer. Note well as well, the SSA went on strike in support of the BIDC not in direct response to an issue or grievance specifically affecting them.

If they and the NUPW say as you have that the real issue is ill treatment and disrespect, then the country should still be shut down all now until respect is returned and steps towards improving treatment are taken.

But hey, we like um so,

Just observing

49. This is a difficult situation in which I am not sure what should be done. Both sides seem to have a point. I will think some more on these things.

50. @ David
    You and Alien must live on another planet…
    What Government do without what SSA workers what…??!?

… wunna serious?
    Steupss this is the classic calypso about which animal is king…
    Why the hell do you think the Union ask them to lead…? Them or the port?
    …food IN and WASTE out….!

@ Observing
    ???Say What???
    Skippa, you need to come down to earth….
    If ANYONE initiates a WRONG action, then the total consequences of that action is their responsibility.

This is BASIC common sense…
    Otherwise in order to reduce their wage bill – all the government needs to do is unfair enough people …so that the unions go on strike….and help government to save on their wage bill. (LOL ..perhaps that is the thinking…)

If you come and TRESPASS on Bushie’s rights and the bushman is forced to bring out the BIG ASS whacker in order to get you to see which God you are serving…..
    …don’t you think you would bewell advised to stand the cost of the DAMAGES you incur to Bushie – the extra gas etc used…? – least the SUPER whacker is unleashed…?

…sometimes you think like Dompey yuh…..

@ Gabriel
    shiite man, you living up to your name… refreshing.

…so you interfere with a man, who then challenge you to a fight, put some licks in your tail ….and then insists that you pay for his damaged shirt….
    The COMMON SENSE thing to do is pay the man for the damn shirt and go your way the wiser for the experience.

WHAT…?
    …you going let the man kick your ass again and then MAKE you pay for a whole suit….?

steupsss …. oh WISDOM, why hast thou forsaken us….?