The death of Abijah Holder-Philips which occurred at the entrance/exit of Coverley to the ABC Highway will soon be forgotten EXCEPT for his parents and close circle of friends and family. Many continue to question the protrusion from Coverley which encroaches on the shoulder of the highway. Should we expect a statement from Chief Town Planner Mark Williams to explain why the Coverley Exit to the Highway was approved? #Mark Maloney

Here is a video captured by a member of the BU community of the funny looking arrangement.

118 responses to “Interesting Coverley Exit to ABC Highway”

1. How many accidents occurred at that exit?

2. The key issue for BU is whether the protrusion was given the proper scrutiny from the authorities.

3. This is par for the course in Barbados which has some of the most ridiculous road layouts and junctions in the world. Not to mention the stupid “jam busting” and abandonment of the keep left rule on the ABC. This would make sense on a 6 lane highway but not a dual carriageway.
    For some reason Barbadian planners and ministers think that they know better than the rest of the world.

4. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Valid point David. Based on the professionalism of the team at the Ministry (what I know of them anyhow) I suspect that internationally accepted regs were followed as best as is possible.

Is there enough merge road and adequate lighting to highlight the abutment; that can always be debated and I suspect the legal eagles will do just that.

5. Wow! That setup is kinda confusing.

6. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

According to Mia Mottley, Preconco, was ordered by the town and country planning to remove the dangerous protrusion. As per usual, a call from on high reassured Preconco all would be well with the dangerous obstruction. The pissy rats in the DLP do not give to wuk ups about the TP order or the fact that someone died. Preconco provided much assistance during their campaign and continues to ensure that at every project awarded to them, the main players get what they said to put in.

7. There is an indication that a round-a-bout is to be constructed at this location.If it comes about,I have a feeling Bajans will name it after the youngster irrespective of what the officials name it.

8. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Donna, it is a bit distressing I would agree but surely you have driven or been driven on US highways. It takes a brave neophyte Bajan driver to navigate some of the entrance and exits on highways there. Cars are merging to exit while others are making entrance to the highway from the local streets in a very ‘short road window’. Some of those setups are seemingly very dangerous. This one is no where near that level of concern.

SSS, if what your allegation is correct then again we are back to the question raised yesterday about professionals in the Central Bank. The big difference is that a life was lost and others could be.

Your allegation – assuming no negligence by the driver- is grounds for a major civil suit.

Are you saying that a local company would place their very existence in peril by building a road-hazard like this. And that compounding that, you are also alleging that the mothers and fathers in the Min. of Transport and T&CP were so callous and indifferent that they allowed said hazard to be maintained .

I recall years back there was a cacophony over the two lanes at roundabouts re-set process where both were for straight onward or one only . A rather minor issue but vigorously debated. Using that as a simple guide you are suggesting that these same ministry folks would kowtow to a dangerous traffic situation due to political expediency and place their lives too in danger!

I can’t believe that this is as cut and dried as that. Not every Bajan is so callous!

There are issues with the construction but they could have been properly mitigated to allow safe, continuous use. I do hope the youth’s family can receive validation of whatever negligence led to this.

9. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

@bookworm, when you do not have the room for 6-lane highways what then do you do?? Don’t you have to cut and contrive as best as possible within the demands of international standards.

I missed your piece until after I posted above and I had completely forgotten that ‘jam-busting’ moniker as I tried to explain that point. Would have saved quite a few words.

For the record, I had no problem with jam-busting then and have none with it now.

I have had the pleasure or displeasure really of traveling on a few international road roundabouts and the palaver that we Bajans generated on that jam-busting is riotously laughable compared to the issues I have seen.

I suspect those Bajan planners of whom you speak have a great wealth of knowledge, seen many more road design/layouts than you or I, have broad experience and understand the road issues much better than which we give them credit.

10. @Bookworm,
    the Belle entrances and exits are the same, the e
    entrances to Coverley are no different. What is required is care when driving along that highway. Bajan drivers do not exercise due care and attention.
    Before passing judgement on our road planners wait until the investigation is complete to determine who or what is to blame

11. De Ingrunt Word,

I am not that brave.

12. MAM produced documents of correspondence from top officials in the Ministry of Public Works where they disputed Mark Maloney’s response to the allegations made at the Tyrol Cot meeting.

They more or less called Mark Maloney a liar especially when he said he had no connection with Housing Concepts. The official in the document questioned how he could deny this when his correspondence to the MTW bore this name. The document confirmed that he had no permission to build this protrusion in the highway and that it is built on lands belonging to the Crown. A night last week I passed there and all the lights along that section were out…………it was very dangerous as you had to use full beams……even if there were “cat eyes” along the culvert of the garden would help.

The ministry official in the document even questioned Mark Maloney’s words on his announcement of building a roundabout…………this was denied so the person could not understand how he could be raising the matter again. MAM also shown enforcement orders yet this man continues to flout the law and the public servants……………..but he has the coverage of the minister.

I can only wonder how this man can continue to flout the law. Sometime last year, a property owner at the top of Oistins Hill built a wall. The wall replaced the old existing wall which the coral stones of which it was built with were beginning to give way. Where the property owner went wrong was that he made the wall too high. In no time, MTW and Police descended on the man’s place with bulldozers and knocked down the wall, they did not even leave the wall to the original height……………..talk about one law for the Medes and another for Persians.

Lord, what is going to become of Barbados when these wild boys are voted out of office??

13. True, Bajan drivers do not exercise due care an attention in far too many cases. That is precisely why I wouldn’t as a planner ok an unnecessary hazard like that one.

14. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Alvin Cummins

You were one of the chief jackasses responsible for the representation that was, maybe and still is, the bias base Barbados National Union of Fisherfolks. And if what i Know about your contributions there is anything to go by, from people that I know in the fisherfolk community, you are always intent on defending shite, while seeking to destroy and alienate those who are trying. So, one can always expect you to defend shite no matter what type of shite it is. Barbadians are as far as I am concern drive far more safer than most other countries. Have you ever was in a position to see how their drive in other neighbouring islands? All countries got their do shite drivers. So stop talking piss about Barbadians need to exercise more care on the road. Have you ever seen the madness in India, Europe, Germany, Netherlands, or even in England. The death rate on these motorways and dual carriage ways are high, in spite of controls, speed cameras whatever. What you and your always defending these shitety rats in the DLP need to understand is that the darn protrusion was ordered to be removed. It is an obstruction of X amount of meters needed for cars to have that open view to execute proper judgement. One of your stinking slimy DLP crooks from on high allowed it to remain there despite the request for its removal. If it was ordered to be removed because a pose a real danger to the drving public, how the ass driving with due care got anything to do with the life that was lost, you two face moron. I really shite-hole dislike hypocrites and slimy rats.

15. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Prodigal Son

You sound like a real clown. You know that as long as you have your tantacles in the government you can get away with anything. Mark Maloney has paid certain ministers a good piece a change. Why you think he is getting all the work; he and the other popular names associated with these crooked bitches in the DLP. As long as you can these bitches in government a few Sir Grantleys they grant you the desire of your heart.

And I can tell you up front that all those whose loyalities go beyond ignoring the obvious shite of these two crooked and wicked is ass parties, have had their share of the pie one way or the other. That is why it is easy for these bitches to ignore all the wrong and argue strong and foolish on the behave of their pay masters. This shite makes me so angry.

16. SSS

So angry that you called me a clown?…………LOL! i know and understand that he who pays the piper, calls the tune!

17. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Prodigal Son

I am sorry about that. Meant it in no serious way but this Jack donkey defender of the DLP Alvin Cummims would say these crooks ain’t do no shite even if he see them jobbying in the corner. Wah em in too hard to see the relationship with Preconco Mark Maloney and DLP ministers. It is obvious that money talking big time. Mark Maloney must get these millions because crooked ass Dennis ‘ De Dealer’ Lowe and Michael ‘in de money’ Lashley are being paid their share of the Preconco contracts. These bitches so confident that it is not a problem for them to take cars from Transtec. Not a boy ain’t going to touch them. Stinking slimy nasty ass rats.

18. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

A major highway and stinking DLP politicians allow this shite to be built practically on the motor way just because they got to scratch Mark Maloney back for scratching theres.

19. @ Alvin C

Take roundabouts, something that we know a lot about in the UK, where as you know we drive on the left as well.
    Approaching a roundabout we KNOW that the left lane is for turning left and for straight ahead, The right lane is for turning right only. Sometimes, space permitting, there are 3 lanes, in which case the left is for turning left only, the centre lane is for straight ahead only and the right lane is for turning right
    This logical,understood by all and guess what, it works without major jams.
    In Bim,SOME roundabouts follow the above rules,most have reinvented the wheel to allow both lanes to go straight ahead. This is ok untill the 2 lanes going straight ahead merge into one lane on the roundabout as per the Earl Barrow rounabout. Guess where the jams are and why.
    Also the abandonment of the keep left rule on a 2 carriageway is probably the MOST stupid thing that I have ever seen. It results in slow moving traffic in both lanes and faster traffic weaving around to overtake.
    I wonder why the rest of the world has not adopted this?

BTW, Before I retired I drove 60,000 miles a year around Europe so I do have some experience.

20. Doh!….Errol Barrow

21. Colonel Buggy Avatar

And to add insult to injury, the MTW has gone along and placed the below international road sign (blue denotes international) outside of the Coverley peninsula . This sign in effect directs a driver to take either road,as indicated by the road sign, as either of them leads to the same destination. Imagine a visitor traveling along this section of road,especially at night, sees this sign, and pulls over left , looking for that non existent alternative road. These signs can also be found at other junctions on the highway,and yes I’ve seen a driver , traveling on the ABC Highway one night ,at one of these junctions, pulling over onto the emergency lane thinking it was an alternative lane.
    @ bookworm.
    The ideal way to use a roundabout,which you have described , was borne out in Southampton,at Roundabouts with Compass point markings on the road surface within the roundabout . Sort of ” training wheels ” for the inexperienced , and also American visitors.

http://i.imgur.com/ATSq6vj.jpg

22. @Colonel Buggy

To Alvin Cummin’s earlier comment, what is different about Coverley Exit compared to at the Belle Exit?

23. Colonel Buggy Avatar

And one of the dangers now prevalent at this junction, is that some drivers exiting the junction,from the Villages and wishing to travel towards Bridgetown,instead of traveling towards the airport,and turning at the roundabout there,as was intended,are now making a sharp right turn at this exit,and their view of approaching traffic is severely restricted by the bushy outcrop.

24. David July 16, 2015 at 2:56 PM #
    @Colonel Buggy

To Alvin Cummin’s earlier comment, what is different about Coverley Exit compared to at the Belle Exit?

The Belle exit is on a dual carriageway, Coverley is a single carriageway. As any fule kno’. Bajans automatically drive in the right hand lane on a dual.

25. @ Colonel B
    How many of the few living in the Villages would want to drive to the airport as opposed to Btown? Great road planning! Also do you expect the road planners to use the signs as they do in the rest of the world? You MUST know that Bim planners know best!

Incidentally, you cannot drive across the ABC, you cannot turn right on to the ABC. BUT, you can stop in the carriageway to buy nuts,akees,coconut water,roast corn or a paper! Madness.

26. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Donna July 16, 2015 at 9:54 AM #

True, Bajan drivers do not exercise due care an attention in far too many cases. That is precisely why I wouldn’t as a planner ok an unnecessary hazard like that one.
    …………………………………………………………………………………….
    Recently I’ve been asking myself ,If we still carry out a driving test for a driving license. But ideally what is required more than a tough driving test, is a more comprehensive driver training programme for all drivers. We have people driving trucks, big 4×4 pickups with just a car license, and when they get into trouble ,they haven’t a clue how to prevent an accident.

27. As a follow up to my previous post, on single lane roads in the UK the left lane is for straight ahead and left turn, the right is for turning right.Intuitive and logical.
    Bim as usual knows better!
    Where did the road planners get their training if indeed they have any?

28. I am getting old!
    on single lane roads in the UK approaching a roundabout

29. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Prodigal Son July 16, 2015 at 9:52 AM #
    Sometime last year, a property owner at the top of Oistins Hill built a wall. The wall replaced the old existing wall which the coral stones of which it was built with were beginning to give way. Where the property owner went wrong was that he made the wall too high. In no time, MTW and Police descended on the man’s place with bulldozers and knocked down the wall, they did not even leave the wall to the original height……………..talk about one law for the Medes and another for Persians.

Lord, what is going to become of Barbados when these wild boys are voted out of office??
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Two wrongs never make a right. But at the same time this same property owner cut down a more that 60 year old massive mahogany tree .
    Perhaps he can now recoup some of his expenses, by charging the BWA and its contractors for using his property for months , as a storage depot, while undertaking their”capital project ‘ in the area.

30. Colonel

I agree with you that two wrongs do not make a right.

My point was …………..look at the haste with which they acted to take down this wall.

Yet they have an enforcement order to remove this garden and yet it stands to this hour!

31. Colonel Buggy Avatar

@bookworm
    Strange things happen in this country. When the ABC highway , near the Waterford /Hothersal Turning roundabout, cut through the fields of Friendship Plantation,a side road was constructed to the south and parallel to the ABC highway,with the intention that when the plantation owner/employees, needed to access fields on the other side, they would drive along Hothersal Turning road, go straight at the roundabout ,and then take a right turn on to the access road provided, at the point where “Comrie House’, used to be.
    Apparently this was not good enough, and coming from the direction of Warrens, on approach to the Waterford Roundabout , there was a massive billboard type warning signs, alerting drivers to look out FOR FARM VEHICLES CROSSING THE HIGHWAY.

32. Colonel Buggy Avatar

bookworm July 16, 2015 at 3:24 PM #
    A Staggered Junction,is something that we do not see in Barbados. Employing such junctions during the planning stages,or even retrofitting , of our highways, would have alleviated a lot of problems we now encounter at cross roads junctions on the ABC Highway, for a start such a junction will allow motorists to cross over , in a staggered fashion.

33. Black lives don’t matter, is that what we are staying in Barbados? A innocent child has died here and the idiots in Barbados arguing about who is in the wrong, who is in the right and whether TCPO permission exist or not.
    For f__k sake man, don’t we have anyone in Barbados who cares enough to drive up the there with a bobcat and truck and remove the blasted foolish island out of the roadway?

34. @SSS,

Your invective and obvious stupidity does not move me. Do you have something against the Barbados National Union of Fisherfolk Organizations? How does this get into the discussion on Bajan users of the highway? Why must people like you always resort to deprecating remarks, when you have nothing sensible to say to rebut your position? I don’t give two frumps about yo sl wheel and come again. People like you will ALWAYS remain where you are until you die..
    I still maintain that Bajan drivers do not use sense when driving. I have sat at my window and seen drivers; despite clearly marked signs, placed in the middle of the road, indicating that drivers should DETOUR, Road blocked, LOCAL TRAFFIC ONLY,, deliberately swerve around the signs drive up the road and have to reverse when the road is indeed blocked. I have seen this occurring both day and night. Was it driving responsibly when that minibus overturned in Nursery drive, of all places.
    Was it driving responsibly when a few weeks ago one driver on the ABC highway, ran into a car, stopped on the road to purchase roast corn from a vendor on the highway? Was it driving responsibly when that motorcyclist doing wheelies, killed that man on Bank Hall road? Is it driving responsibility when a ten wheeler truck, is driving at over 100 kilometres per hour (I was driving at 80 kph when he passed me and disappeared in the distance,) when the speed limit for these types of vehicles on that highway is supposed to be less than 60kph? Listen to Sergeant Seibert johnson any morning and listen to his pleas for drivers to exercise caution and proper driving habits.
    Don’t jump on my back for the failures of Bajan drivers.

and @dean Forrest “Black lives and white lives” are just the same; lives lost.

35. Colonel Buggy Avatar

@David, Alvin is perfectly right. The arrangement at the Belle junction is similar in construction to that at Coverley. However the Belle junction is devoid of any foliage camouflaging the protrusion,and restricting any drivers view.It’s open-plan . The garden at Coverley, more of less jumps out at you,and could cause temporary confusion to some drivers. A good start would be to remove the plants and replace them with concrete.
    Perhaps we have forgotten when Hinds Transport Ltd, which had adopted the Graeme Hall roundabout, proceeded to plant a coconut tree in the middle of the roundabout ,and were directed to remove it in double quick time.

36. Colonel Buggy Avatar

@Alvin
    While we were busy keeping our eyes on the relatively few Public Service Vehicles drivers , we have allowed all other types of drivers to slip pass without challenge.
    In which other country,except maybe China would you find bicycles being ridden at nights without the faintest of lights? And now we have motor cycles driving about all hours on the night without lights.
    With the build up of the sargassum seaweed, it was feared that it would certainly put a big dent in visitor arrivals. A bigger dent will be placed on visitor arrivals, especially repeat visitors, due to the 24/7 ear splitting noise created by modified scrambler type motor cycles,which fly by many a police station ,and patrol, without being challenged. This is Barbados ,soon to achieve First World Status.

37. One difference between the Belle and Coverley entrance and exits is the length of them. Belle is much longer thereby providing greater acceleration and deceleration times. It is very difficult to get onto the single lane in heavy traffic when entering the ABC from Coverley, Of course the single lane provides its own difficulty.

38. The issue though, is there an enforcement order in place, was there an enforcement order issued and rescinded? Were concerns tabled by civil servants? Will the minister address the issue? Don’t hold your breath!

39. @Colonel Buggy and Big Brown

The other issue to consider as well is when exiting to join the ABC the driver has to keep a tight line to stay on the feeder lane. The left side in the approach has the ‘studs’ which drivers have to negotiate to avoid.

40. @David,
    For information:How long have the highway planners been working at Highways and Transport? Are these not the same ones who have been planning our highways for many years? How come all of a sudden they don’t know anything, according to some of your contributors.

41. @Alvin

Some Barbadians are questioning the exit from Coverley with good reason. It was squeezed into the highway design because it came long after the Highway was built. The issue here is not the competency of the planners, it is whether the TP issued an enforcement notice and whether pressure was exerted by Maloney and Co to have it stayed. Exercise your comprehension skills please.

42. @Colonel Buggy when you spoke about cyclists riding at night without lights, you neglected to mention…dressed in dark clothes. I almost ran into one of these near the kendal Hill gas station riding on the ABC highway. Scary!!!

43. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Big Brown July 16, 2015 at 9:12 PM #

One difference between the Belle and Coverley entrance and exits is the length of them. Belle is much longer thereby providing greater acceleration and deceleration times. It is very difficult to get onto the single lane in heavy traffic when entering the ABC from Coverley, Of course the single lane provides its own difficulty.
    …………………………………………………………………………………..
    In Barbados when a driver is on a side road, and wishes to enter the main road, he begs and pleads with every driver on the main drag to give him a break. But when he gets on the main road ,he ain’t giving way to any others trying to get an ease onto the main road.Frig them! Any decent driver seeing another driver trying to merge should make every effort to facilitate him. On a dual carriageway ,if traffic permits, it may mean moving over to the right hand lane.
    The again in Barbados, driver training concentrates on the ability to change gear and steer the vehicle well.

44. @David,
    I had a letter written to the Nation in support of and expressing empathy to Cynthia Forde when she drew attention to the blockage of the water course at Vaucluse, around the time of the approaching Sol Rally. She drew attention to the fact that town planning permission for change of use had been refused, but still plans went ahead for the race course to be built, including blocking the watercourse.. She had my empathy because I was pointing out that there were certain elements in the society who intended that they should get what they wanted, come hell or high water (going way back). I could understand her frustration. I showed the letter to a friend for him to vet it, and I eventually did not send it in for publication since I had to do other things. But these elements must not be a ALLOWED TO HOLD THE COUNTRY HOSTAGE TO THEIR WHIMS AND FANCIES.If they can’t get permission for change of use, they are not going to plant anything, sugar, food or anything else. What happens to the country does not matter. Their cynicism is what has the country in its predicament.

45. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

@ ACummings said, “If they can’t get permission for change of use, they are not going to plant anything, sugar, food or anything else.”

That is one very incomprehensible way to look at the matter.

A complicit government is the other.

The political power is real and used well can bring any businessman to their knees. But there must be a will to act by the politician.

Clearly you are indicating that there is no such will although something as important as a water way was being blocked.

46. @Dee Word

What is your perspective on a view political power is fed by those who have economic power?

47. David (not BU) Avatar

I think one of the major point which was missed here in the different in the Coverley and Belle is that the deceleration and acceleration point on the Coverley entrance and exit is to short.

1) Mark Maloney said MTW technical staff did the design, the letter Mia read stated MTW does not do work for private contractors.

2) it was build on crown lands and

3) not only was permission not given but they told him to move it

Mark Maloney has a lot to answer for and if the above is correct, the fact that Mia did it in the way she tells me she is one good ground, including the death of that child.

I really get that bajans are becoming very reckless on our road. we see it everyday but regardless a mother lost here child on that Coverley entrance and exit that was not suppose to be there.

48. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

David, re politics and those who have economic power, it’s that so called symbiotic relationship. But who is the parasite and who is the host !

Yes politicians need the campaign funds but the businessman also needs the pathway to maintain his profits, so a strong political figure can push and prod on key issues.

Certainly, in this case there is little doubt that safety is foremost. This should not be a nod and wink situation as is being suggested.

If true and a Minister really dismissed the verdict of the technical folks at the Ministry to allow a truly hazard situation then he or she must be drawn and quartered.

I am not trying to remake the world here to suggest that Ministers do not reject technical advice but its one thing to piss-parade in union negotiations without the advice of your team but overriding a highway construction matter is a TOTALLY different.

No amount of economic power should influence that.

49. The island in the road shoulder needs to be removed, PERIOD. If that were my child that died there I could you without any fear whatsoever, the developers would have to hire a 24 hour a day security company as work and their homes.

The simple thing is resign the bloody thing and make it as safe as possible.

50. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@ Alvins Cummins

I have to make sure that you know what I know about you as a blatant two face moron, who have colluded to support fisher folk organizations that just take government money and do not do one shite with it but pocket it for personal gains, while you chastise and refuse to support good ‘support groups’ with good intentions who are ridicule by you because you cannot control them with your type of shitety ass logic. If you doubt me ask Anderson Kinch why he sees you as a blatant idiot. And for the record creep from the crib, the SSS do not give a rats ass about you or your type of shitety ass views either. You are two faced, a hypocrite of the highest kind and mere make believer. You think hiding behind two books makes you the last say on the people’s say? Two face hypocrite. Know me good Mr.Alvin Cummins, when you are a wicked bitch I will not spare your ass. I know who I am and one thing I am not is pretensive little puppet. Telling me shite about I know nothing. you just wait and see how much I know you will be very surprise. You are on might torture list for being a nasty piece no different than the stinking crooked DLP ministers that you love. I got more dirt to pelt in ya crutch so stay tune. As for the nonsense you talking I will respond to you shortly to prove to you that they are many things in Barbados that are allowed to exist that fosters an environment of indiscipline that lends itself to a whole lot of rule breaking and stupidity in Barbados. You of all people know, you cannot build a house on a weak foundation thus you cannot have a society without proper social developmental planning. You and a few might be able to brag about this and that, others can’t because they are not as priviledge. So what are creating, an environment for tensions to develop, angers to be express and wars to be raged. Look at the many wars raging in recent times under your beloved shitety DLP. Get back to you shortly papa.