Submitted by Douglas

PM SAYS A NEW RESPONSE IS NEEDED TO WHAT HE CALLS “NEW TRADE UNIONISM”

NUPW BLP

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart is questioning the union’s position on escalating industrial industrial action even though the matter has been referred to the courts.[โ€ฆ]

Mr.Stuart has explained that the application before the court is not a regular application.  Mr Stuart says what is more concerning is that the BIDC has made certain reasonable commitments –

These include paying all entitlements if the courts determine the retirement exercise has been wrongful. Also to pay the retirees up until September and suspending the retirement orders. He added that the corporation is also willing to pay the workers up until December if need be. According to the prime minister the union is not allowing for the established processes to be completed. The Prime Minister also hinted that there are certain powers and procedures of parliament available to the government under Section 48 of the constitution. These speak to parliament making laws for peace, order and good governance of Barbados.

Prime Minister Stuart on NUPW strike action

335 responses to “Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart Breaks His Silence on NUPW BIDC Matter”

1. Observing,

Then tell me of one time when there was a situation such as this in the history of Labour/Government negotiations in Barbados.

2. de Ingrunt Word July 15, 2015 at 10:31 PM #

โ€œMin Byer says: โ€œThe BIDC offered not to act on the letters issued to the 10 retirees of the BIDC. 2) Those workers were still employees, now paid up to the September 30, 2015 โ€ฆ and BIDC accepted that they would remain as full employees, pending the outcome of the discussions.โ€,,,,,โ€

I cannot understand what Byer is saying.

Under ordinary circumstances a typical job contract would include terms of employment relative to an employee or employer wanting to end the working relationship.

For example, terms of employment would state both parties are required to give 4 weeksโ€™ notice on each side, if the employee or the employer wants to terminate his (employee) services.

Employers would usually pay the employee 4 weeks pay in LIEU OF NOTICE together with any accumulated vacation pay that may be due, which would prevent the employee from having to work the additional 4 weeks before he takes his leave permanently.

Hence, that employee is no longer employed by that organization.

3. @Prodigal Son July 15, 2015 at 10:36 PM “That was that moron John Goddard, [unfortunately] a former teacher at Harrison College.

I believe it would have been better if the Ministry of Education had left him at the St. George Secondary where he spent much of his teaching career.

4. @ Dee Word
    ..the letters were not withdrawn …they just will not be acted on….

Lotta shiite!!
    It would be better to withdraw the damn letters than for a big able corporation to have issued official letters to employees (legal contracts in a court of law) and then to be claiming that ‘these will not be acted on…’
    …you EVER heard such shiite?

When yuh start WRONG ….the best tactic is ALWAYS to admit error, apologise, and start over CORRECTLY…. not compound the folly with shiite…

@ Observing
    Boss … your glasses want changing…. either that – or you need to go back to mauby as your core drink….this alcohol thing ain’t working for you….
    Next shiite we going hear is AC agreeing with you….that would be the end of your observations AND your reputation…. LOL

@ King Solomon
    …wait Boss… you ain’t got over 1000 concubines to sort out? you got time to come here asking questions for AC?
    Tell us where the union disagrees that a company has the right and responsibility to adjust their staffing as economics and other operational dynamics dictate…?
    BUT…
    Would you be OK if a Company decides to let off all the white people because ‘they come from the moneyed class’?
    How about a company dismissing all those with medical issues? or those that don’t have a mortgage? ..or those not from Donville’s constituency?

Use some common sense Solomon man…. SOMEONE has to ensure that the Company does THE RIGHT THING ….otherwise they will obviously find a way to send home the BLP people and any BU critics that they can identify…. ๐Ÿ™‚

steupss… Solomon was a wise man … get another name do!

5. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Artax, all that is true re “Employers would usually pay the employee 4 weeks pay in LIEU OF NOTICE …” therefore in this scenario due to the dispute the employer is saying I want you to stay at home until we get this matter resolved.

The employee knows that the employer no longer wants him/here and pending a resolution that employer prefers the employee stay off the premises. That rather understandable in all practical sense. And of course is really the best course of action for both parties if we all clearly understand the issues of liability, possible claims of sabotage, etc etc.

The employee is not being disadvantaged at this time as he/she is being paid.

This is a practical, sensible and safe way forward in my view.

The chatter is posturing.

6. A bushman in all respects โ€“ outdated ideas, aggressive in nature and limited comprehension.

7. Bushie,

Ha. ha. ha, ha.. You must have had your sleep already. Nobody’s that sharp at this kind of time.

Sorry King Solomon, you can’t do anything with that one!

8. King Solomon,

Well at least you tried. Not a bad effort but Bushie sure was funnier. Don’t mind that. I’ve had my share of licks too. We all have.

9. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Bushie, tell me something sir, have you ever, ever in the long years here on BU ever admitted that you were wrong. Oh dear, let me rephrase that. On the long years here have you ever agreed in print that a disavowal of your position was accurate ?

Since my time here the answer to that is : you mekking sport, right, Bushie wrong! LOL.

Sp good sir Byer and her folks at BIDC are likely cut of the same resolute cloth of you.

Whether they start right or start wrong…they right!

10. Unfortunately, there is nothing funny about โ€œleadersโ€ in our country misleading unsuspecting workers to destroy the country for personal objectives. And the offhandedness with which it is being done demonstrates a real lack of comprehension of the possible consequences of the actions being promoted. Slash-and-burn is outdated โ€“ continue to embrace it and be left behind.

11. @ Solomon
    “…outdated ideas, aggressive in nature and limited comprehension.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    LOL ….and a big-ass whacker.
    Bushie does indeed have ‘limited comprehension’ for shiite…

@ Dee Word
    Bushie, tell me something sir, have you ever, ever in the long years here on BU ever admitted that you were wrong….
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Yes….
    One “Micro Mock Engineer” once brought some new facts to BU which cat- straddled an analogy being built by the bushman….

But…
    Why the hell should Bushie EVER be wrong…????!!

Wuh cuh shiite…
    If a simple everyday bushman is adopted by BBE who obviously know EVERYTHING (because they CREATED the rules)
    ….what possibly is there NOT for Bushie to know?
    Boss it simple – what ain’t already rub off by YEARS of association…Bushie just gotta ASK!!!

…mean THAT wasn’t obvious all along…?
    You thought that Bushie was BRIGHT??!!???
    ha ha ha LOL
    OHHHH Shiiirrtttt!!!
    ..dat funny… ๐Ÿ™‚

12. @ Solomon
    Unfortunately, there is nothing funny about โ€œleadersโ€ in our country misleading unsuspecting workers to destroy the country for personal objectives. And the offhandedness with which it is being done demonstrates a real lack of comprehension of the possible consequences of the actions being promoted. Slash-and-burn is outdated โ€“ continue to embrace it and be left behind.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    NOW WE ARE TALKING!!!

This is EXACTLY the shiite that Froon and his band has been doing for eight years now…
    and their ‘off-handedness; has reached the stage where the lotta stealing and bribery is PUBLIC knowledge….and did you hear Froon the other night….? shiite man!!!

THANK GOD that a few young Bajans are prepared to STAND UP to this shiite and champion JUSTICE and FAIRNESS for all workers. There is some hope…

Truth, justice, righteousness and peace comes as a result of STANDING for right…not sitting for shiite.

13. If the government agrees there were missteps by not engaging the social partnership i.e. following a protocol established then logically the status quo should return i.e. the letters should be withdrawn. The MoL stated clearly they are back where they should have started, pick sense from nonsense.

@balance

You missed the prime ministers pronouncement that an employer is obligated to pay an employee not provide work?

14. they are not only young and immature but undergrads caught up in the long arm of a political wheel of exploitation ;
    The fact being that most negotiators know when to hold and when to fold.
    Bargaining entails a mindset of having to give and get but not with no one party receiving all of what they hoped for , The Young “rotten” turks came away from the bargaining table with a sense of exploitation and accomplishment reveled in the spirit of opportunism which eventually gave way and might have catapulted them into a world of self doubt
    This indeed is a case of a ship heading to shore laden with all kind of goodies but run aground because both captains were unskilled navigators and did not know how to read the map.

15. King Solomon (or whatever yuh gun change yuh name to now)

Bajan saying-

“If yuh doan laugh yuh gun cry.”

Translation-

Sometimes a little humour is the only way to keep it together.

A sense of humour and the ability to laugh at yourself even in the worse of circumstances is more helpful than you seem to know. That’s why jokes about your mother’s personality always seem to be a part of her eulogy. And all those who loved her laugh through their tears.

The Bushman has his role to play. He makes us laugh even when he annoys us. LOL.

Think on these things!

16. “When yuh start WRONG โ€ฆ.the best tactic is ALWAYS to admit error, apologise, and start over CORRECTLYโ€ฆ. not compound the folly with shiiteโ€ฆ”

ROTFLMAO……it is really hard for some people to take a dose of their own medicine!

17. Correction – The WORST of circumstances

18. Vandalism meets industrial relations with the appearance of a white powder. Not long ago a vandal destroyed Everton Weekes bust on University Hill. Who did these naughty things? Who repaired Sir Everton Weekes bust head? Bush Tea do you know? AC, are we there yet, donna , anyone ? Any guesses on the suspects? Bush Tea……….. shiite man speak up.

19. LOL @ in and out….
    cuh dear man…. yuh going kill poor bushie?
    Um is only a whacker the bushman got …after all.
    You probably calling fuh a chain saw bozie…
    You want Caswell!!!

20. In and Out,

I’m clueless. lol We might need Hercules Poirot on that one. Incidentally, I’m listening to one of Christie’s Audiobooks right now so I’ll be “In and Out”. Solved yesterday’s “Murder at Hunter Lodge” but no ideas yet on The Barbadian Mystery.

21. The NUPW new executive cannot be trusted. They rushed off to hold a press conference when everyone at the meeting left with the expectation that the chair would make a general pronouncement.
    As I see this new NUPW executive at work, I have reached the conclusion that there is more in the mortar than the pestle.
    Apparently, this strike had nothing to do with BIDC workers but a much bigger motive.

Secondly, Toni Moore did not have the overwhelming majoritySupport of the BWU for jumping into the NUPW strike as she claimed. Toni Moore should have been dealing with how BL&P said that they followed the law and there was no need to meet any further with her.

The unions are not looking good in this fiasco.

22. Deading with the replies of Donna and Bush Tea.

That vandalism on Weekes bust for sure destroyed a work of art. What say you Bush Tea? A pox on the vandals and the white powder senders.
    Busherts …………..shiite man don’t call on Casweel he’s not an artist his expertise is in strikes.

23. Well, well, well, what is happening in Barbados?

DLP stooge, Douglas used as his title for this post โ€œNUPW BLP Holding Barbadian to Ransom; The faces of home grown terrorist.โ€

Speaking of TERRORISM, the waste haulers protested against the introduction of the tipping fee, and the offices of their chief spokesman, Anderson Cherry, were burnt.

The government, through the Town and Country Development Planning Office and the BRA, responded by issuing an enforcement notice on one business and recommended an audit on another.
    Additionally, waste haulers will now be required to be registered and licensed by the SSA, pay an annual license fee and produce a tax clearance certificate from the BRA before the license can be issued.

As it relates to the impasse between the NUPW and the government, Stuart basically stated, using very strong language, if necessary, he would change the laws to control the unions.

Now, someone sent a โ€œwhite powderyโ€ substance addressed to the general secretary of the NUPW. A further inspection of the envelope revealed that it was found to contain newspaper reports about the march that was organized by the union.

In the same manner Stuart and his ministers lashed out at their critics, we have not heard any word of condemnation of these actions coming from the prime minister, attorney general, Donville Inniss or even Esther Byer.

The DLP yard-fowls assigned to BU are quick to insult those contributors who may offer constructive criticism of this administrationโ€™s policies.

When any individual or group criticizes Islam or the Prophet Mohammed, the Islamic radicals respond by acts of burning, intimidation, throwing substances on people, and threats filled with violent and aggressive language.

It is ironic that Douglas used the term โ€œhome grown terrorist.โ€

24. Politics aside, that is probably the worst contribution you ever made on this blog. Sometimes if you have nothing to say, say nothing.

25. @Artaxerses – Politics aside, that is probably the worst contribution you ever made on this blog. Sometimes if you have nothing to say, say nothing.

26. Today is a funny, funny night!

27. Bajanfuhlife July 16, 2015 at 11:59 AM #

“@Artaxerses โ€“ Politics aside, that is probably the worst contribution you ever made on this blog. Sometimes if you have nothing to say, say nothing.”

The truth hurts!

28. The truth is inconvenient for the DLP yardfowls. The truth hurts!

29. Freundel Stuart fired up the barbeque grill and the NUPW jump right on top of it.Welcome to the politics of bajan pigtails and grilling HA!Ha!

30. Bajanfuhlife July 16, 2015 at 11:59 AM #

Perhaps you should have also extended this advice to “Douglas” who wrote this article implying there is a connection between the NUPW and BLP, while calling them “home grown terrorist.”

And to PM Stuart for the shiite he spewed on Monday and the derogatory remarks he used to describe Akanni McDowall and Toni Moore.

The truth hurts, BFL, the truth hurts.

31. For me the only B and D I am concerned with are the ones that are found in the name BarBaDos. Why have we allowed these parties to incite us to relate to each other like this? Neither of them has done enough to evoke such strong loyalty on my part that my hackles rise in the presence of their opponents.

32. Donna July 16, 2015 at 1:01 PM #

โ€œFor me the only B and D I am concerned with are the ones that are found in the name BarBaDos. Why have we allowed these parties to incite us to relate to each other like this? Neither of them has done enough to evoke such strong loyalty on my part that my hackles rise in the presence of their opponents.โ€

I agree with your comments, Donna.

However, in previous contributions, you mentioned having voted for the DLP your entire life and would rather โ€œstay away from the polls, than to vote for the BLP.

Does this not illustrate your comments as being contradictory? To state you have consistently voted for the DLP clearly demonstrates that party โ€œhas done enough to evoke such strong loyaltyโ€ from you.

I am not one to be impressed by politicians or political parties, because, in my opinion, they all exhibit similar characteristics, but under the B or D banner.

RATHER THAN PRESENT BARBADOS WITH A SYSTEM OF GOOD GOVERNANCE, WHEREBY ACCOUNTABILITY, TRANSPARENCY, AS WELL AS EFFECTIVE AND EFFICIENT MANAGEMENT OF OUR SOCIAL AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT ARE PARAMOUNT, THIS CURRENT DLP ADMINISTRATION IS MORE CONCERNED WITH ENGAGING IN POLITICAL OPPORTUNISM AND PLAYING POLITICAL GAMES.

Take as an example, Donville Innissโ€™ response to the media when he was asked about the BIDC issue. Inniss was reported to have said he was disgusted by the behaviour of the BLP, who, according to him, appeared pleased about the impending strike action.

Then we have other parliamentarians, including the PM, and party supporters who have been making concerted efforts to have us focus away from the governmentโ€™s perceived new policy of forcibly retiring employees from statutory corporations, by attacking the characters and credibility of the union and its leaders, (referring to them as โ€œimmature young turksโ€) and implying the industrial action was motivated by the BLP.

Another example is the DEMSโ€™ response to certain allegations leveled at Denis Lowe and Michael Lashley, relative to them driving vehicles owned by a company that their ministries have been awarding maintenance contracts.
    What they did was to throw the usual โ€œred herringโ€ in the fray to distract us, by asking Mottley to present her LEC to the public. The yard-fowls were quick to jump on the band wagon and kept bringing that non-issue to the fore. However, we have received no clear response on the matter from Lowe or Lashley, we are yet to hear the results of the AGโ€™s investigation on Mottley and no information coming forward on CAHILL.

What ANNOYS me even more is the fact that this administration is ALWAYS ON THE DEFENSIVE, BELIEVES Barbadians MUST AGREE with EVERYTHING THEY DO and BEHAVES as though they are STILL the official opposition.

33. King Solomon July 15, 2015 at 11:55 PM #

“A bushman in all respects โ€“ outdated ideas, aggressive in nature and limited comprehension.”

King Solomon yuh got any wife vacancies? I tink I am fallin fuh yuh!

34. @ Artaxerxes July 16, 2015 at 2:08 PM #

“What ANNOYS me even more is the fact that this administration is ALWAYS ON THE DEFENSIVE, BELIEVES Barbadians MUST AGREE with EVERYTHING THEY DO and BEHAVES as though they are STILL the official opposition”.
    …………………………………………………………..

Another good post, Artaxerxes,

No offense meant to the disabled community but this bunch has not grown up because of their disabilities……………they are either “retarded”! or they are still children in adult bodies!

They had all the answers to whatever ailed Barbados during OSA’s time of governing but now cannot even mange a hot dog stand!

35. @ Bush Tea

Bushie boy, you know John Goddard so yah mussie went tah Harrison College den? Because it still remains a mystery as to whether or not you attended public school or you were home schooled. But it hasn’t really escape my notice that out of all of the conversations you have had on BU, you never once referrence a school of national reputation, as many here have done and continues to do.

36. HEE! HEE! artexeres tek dat muh boy tek dat, now yuh goona complain but it ain.t the dems to blame fuh this latest performance by the young turkeys tek dat,,,HEE! HEE!. i hope the Unions compensate the Sanitation workers .

37. Prodigal Son

Brother I don’t get it; where is the open-discontent of the masses if the state of affairs in Barbados is analogous to that of Haiti? Sir, you’re beginning to sound more like the dystopian-ideologue who spews and parrots his inconceivable fears of national demise.

38. Donna, what is your expectation of these two political parties? That they tell the truth, or that they deliver the goods? In any instance, it is an insult to the collective-intellect of the masses, to believe that the modern day Barbadian politicians would renege on their promises and expect to be re-elected because the masses have short memories.

39. Well, well, well. Last evening, the BBC aired a documentary entitled: “Britain’s forgotten slave owners”. The programme has sent seismic shock waves throughout the UK. Barbados featured heavily as being the first country in the world which built an economic model uniquely on slavery. Please read the review below.

http://www.theartsdesk.com/tv/britains-forgotten-slave-owners-bbc-two

40. LT. HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT. HORATIO CAINE.

I am amused at the story in the daily nation about a white powdered substance delivered to the head quarters of the union. I am amused because i cannot believe that any right thinking individuals would really give credence to the story it self, and by all means it is a story and a fictional one at that. The paper stated that this package was delivered to the union’s headquarters,late yesterday evening,do postmen here on the island deliver mail past their close off time, which is three pm? Who actually received the package of mail, did they converse with the delivery person? Or was a case of someone just walking unto the premises undetected placing the package in the office and just leaving?If this did not happen was it delivered by courier,whereby someone would have signed for it on delivery and therefore any such courier agency can be tracked?Next who in their right mind would place their handwriting on a document of sorts that can lead to an investigation where handwriting would definitely come into question? I would have thought that a person with such felonious intent would have resorted to a cut and paste note or a typed note which would prove a little more complex for investigators,and the choice of words used eg..GWINE AND TEK,, clearly an effort to make the author appear to hardly educated to a certain degree, but quite the opposite and a dead give away,this was the work of someone with a great degree of intelligence but as the old saying goes education is not common sense. This act was to designed to garner public support for the union, giving the impression that someone was acting in such a nefarious way for the government,but obviously it has not been a properly thought out sinister act,these persons must be properly interviewed, that is the union staff,and then this situation will become more and more clearer. I do not believe that this was the work of any true criminal element,the intentions are in deed drastic and criminal, but this was an act calculated and intended for a specific desired effect.My last point what does Mia Mottley has to do with all of this a union matter?Why was her photo in the said newspaper pullout also targeted? Was this coincidence?Or was this an effort to exempt her and any persons affiliated with the Barbados Labor Party from any suspicion,i guess someone will tell me,but i am sticking with that theory,that whole episode was bogus and a proper investigation will determine that it is,however any guilty party should be dealt with harshly by the law courts.

41. LT, why wouldn’t you believe that the white substance much like anthrax rather than cocaine could have been delivered to the union offices?

42. The union of 80s and 90s worked perpetually in the interest of the workers, but the union of our times would have us believe that its fundamental aim is to negotiate the best contract for the worker, while at the same time cutting deals with management which benefits both parties.

43. LT. HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT. HORATIO CAINE.

Dompey why the comparison between the two? I never questioned the delivery of the substance, or what is was,we know a substance was delivered, but i am curious about the method of delivery as you can clearly see, but maybe it was flour or baby powder.

44. Yes a real concocted story to take the heat off the thanksgiving turk- ys . but come to think of it seems like both Unions gone Into hiding not a peek from them not even a cuss word (today) for Freundel .what a difference a day makes.yesterday heroes today sheroes

45. LT. HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT. HORATIO CAINE.

No my dear ac, just like when a solution on the so called impasse was apparently near it did not go down well in certain quarters,we must always be i throes of confusion with the agenda of certain persons first and foremost,so do not fool yourself, you will hear about lives threatened, we are not being respected,so this is now an all out war, so lookout for strike and shut down the country’s new mantra in quick time,but as i have already stated i do not believe that that situation was genuine, but a mere ploy to fuel the proverbial fire of discord and such behaviors must be checked and immediately.

46. LT. HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT. HORATIO CAINE.

correction.. in the throes of.

47. Now don’t get it twisted there is a necessity for Unions. Unions have been the backbone of society in areas of strengthening and safeguarding the employees against rogue and unmanageable backroom practices by unethical employers.
    The problem that has happened in relation to the strike although it might give rise to the employee rights it does not rise to a warranted level for strike action rather but gave an intentional feeling one of selfserving directed and dictated by self interest and political motivation which brings into question the validity of the PM tongue lashing of the Union and what PM Stuart termed “a different brand of unionism ” which he gave as an assessment or an in the way the tide was moving
    Like it or not of what PM said he was correct in calling a spade a spade and in a broader view sending a message which cascade and specifically target those who had take humbrage under the disguise of Unionism to destroy barbados

48. Yeap you are correct Lt in your assessment .The signs are all written on the table the exuberance of victory eventhough short lived was a tell tale sign of an unstoppable object

49. Bush sh.t alias deputy dawg !artexeres ! Prodigal and miller all the roar of a mighty wind the unstoppables who believe they cannot be touched have finally disappeared. Could it be that the act of God bestowed on Barbados this morning committed the dastardly act.What a relief.