Submitted by Douglas

PM SAYS A NEW RESPONSE IS NEEDED TO WHAT HE CALLS “NEW TRADE UNIONISM”

NUPW BLP

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart is questioning the union’s position on escalating industrial industrial action even though the matter has been referred to the courts.[โ€ฆ]

Mr.Stuart has explained that the application before the court is not a regular application.  Mr Stuart says what is more concerning is that the BIDC has made certain reasonable commitments –

These include paying all entitlements if the courts determine the retirement exercise has been wrongful. Also to pay the retirees up until September and suspending the retirement orders. He added that the corporation is also willing to pay the workers up until December if need be. According to the prime minister the union is not allowing for the established processes to be completed. The Prime Minister also hinted that there are certain powers and procedures of parliament available to the government under Section 48 of the constitution. These speak to parliament making laws for peace, order and good governance of Barbados.

Prime Minister Stuart on NUPW strike action

335 responses to “Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart Breaks His Silence on NUPW BIDC Matter”

1. So the state of labour unrest continues…….

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/69932/bwu-division-invited-meeting

2. David wrote “chatter, gloating on both sides for political gain.”

The political animals do that when they “smell blood”.

Seems like “labour unrest” has temporarily replaced “Cahill”.

3. @Hants

We need to get the garbage off the streets.

4. “The workers have been paid to September / December however the agreement is for them to not physically enter BIDC until the dispute is resolved.”

๏ˆ
    Sometimes; yes, in the spirit of industrial goodwill, one has to give and take but wrong is wrong and i am not supportive of the demand that the workers stay off the job until the dispute is resolved because
    (1) It is illegal to force workers in the public service to retire before 65
    (2) It is in breach of the Employments rights bill
    (3) It is in breach of the Constitution
    (4) It is morally and ethically unfair and without principle.

If the intention was to take some of the egg out of the adamant faces of the BIDC Board and Government; then another face saving measure would have had to be pursued but trampling on the rights of the workers.

5. @Hants

If these guys can’t get a simple communication and must bicker on the final how are expected to repose confidence in them? The is a sub committee of the social partnership for crissakes!

6. “So the state of labour unrest continues”

Al I would say to you Mr Hants is that he laughs last laughs the loudest. Let Mrs Cuckoo continue to crow in delight at taking advantage of a union firm in representing the interest of their workers on the one hand and mindful of the overall interest of the country on the other. I hope that when the interest of the country is no longer allowed to take precedence over the interest of the worker that the crowing does not stick in her craw. May she be reminded that the workers are still armed and strategically placed for battle at a moment’s notice if the deal is rejected by the Council.

7. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Has the Hon. Minister of Labour chaired an important meeting that ended in both sides agreeing, after the meeting, on the various agreements coming out of the meeting.

Bet yuh we gine hear more bout dis from de various non government participants at the meeting.

Isn’t this reminiscent of the Antigua PM’s recent one-sided dispute with our PM about what actually transpired in the recent (C)HoGs conference?

8. I believe the NUPW/BWU version of the outcome.

If they were wrong, why was her response not forthcoming since early this morning.

As Artaxerxes say, the meet and formulate a position with their lies and then issue a response.

Suckoo’s only aim was to avert the strike at all costs.

We know that she is always wrong so nothing new here!

9. The cause of all these problems in Barbados is an under performing economy.

Continuously downsizing and right sizing without sustained economic growth is doomed to failure.

Barbados needs to earn more money to pay civil servants and pay down debt.

10. De Ingrunt Word,

He does wake up foolish, take all day to “catch heself”, then give up and drift off to sleep again.

11. Some play checkers while others play chess. Some choose battles while others dig in for the war. The Union’s have once again been outmaneuvered and placed on the defensive.

@david 1:03
    We’re only now beginning. The real action is yet to come.

Just observing

12. Here is a case where the Unions could have learned and understand that at times silence is Golden.
    Ac was of the observation that both sides agree in good faith for that which is in the best interest of the country preferring to put Country which is noble and reasonably accepted if agreed by both parties and in the meanwhile let the law take a back seat while cooler heads prevails and in time come to an agreeable understanding of the law
    Once again the young brass bowls at the head of the Unions proved the PM right in his statement of adventurism and bullying tactics,
    THe fact that these adventurers who are still new in the area of bargaining and negotiations took the resolution as one of self gain was an arrogance that borders on selfish Victorious gratification and a need to display . AS such Dr byer was right in tabling all the negotiated issues and sending them to the media as to be as transparent and to show the flexibility as to where govt gave way for further negotiations for compromise. These young turks cannot escape the scathing eye but are truly examples of what blood thirsty opportunistic power can expose
    Yes the PM was spot on in his scathing analysis of the Young turks when in reality are just young Brass bowls.

13. Btw Prodigal i sure was enjoying that humble pie , a pity that i can.t have double serving but i should have think twice before eating especially knowing Mottley might have had a hand stirring that pie

14. i guess tonight gonna be a quite night in the BU classaroom as the blp yardfowls try to regain lost ground after that glorious victory which fizzle into a agonizing day of defeat,

15. Ha! Ha! artexeres ac does not have to admit any wrong as i had previously stated in my comment that the country’s best interest took precedence and the law was set aside. Unfortunately for the disheveled turks they misinterpret a Victory for the country as a victory for themselves and that is how they got the message wrong.
    Well it would be interesting to see how they regroup and called these workers back on strike who have already been cut in their wages.
    The fact is that the agreement was meant to be a comprise and not to be a victory party for one side or another in light of the Fact that the burning issue of the law was still a challenging piece of the puzzle, Well i’ll be dam’

16. @Observing

It will be interesting the response by the Unions. It is hard to fathom with veterans like Roslyn Smith, Patrick Frost, Delcia Burke et al there would have gone away with a misread as sugested by the MoL.

17. no! the more experienced members did not misread anything but kept closed mouths rather than upsetting the rotten Turks and been seen as not to be team members.However it is truly dumfounding to believe that these so called union “negotiators would be so foolish to open themselves to public exposure and potential ridicule among their members after several days of putting the country best interest on a downward spiral only now to be seen as gloating vessels riding a political merry go around

18. Why does anyone believe anything this minister or any DLP minister say? Does anyone believe what the Governor of the Central Bank say?

I see very little difference to what the minister is objecting and what the unions aid. She did not want it out there that the BIDC placed a hold on the letters…………that’s her gripe……….she alone was to proclaim whatever rhetoric the DLP wanted spewed!

19. Things aint bad in Barbados?? I heard they caught a boat load of bajan senior citizens trying to sneak into haiti

20. @David
    It’s called excitation. A very dangerous thing to have when dealing with the Rt. Hon. F. J. Stuart QC. MP. Note well…the Hon. MoL does not unpick her teeth without consent or agreement. Neither can the subcomittee meet without knowledge of the chairman of the entire partnership. Nuff said.

@Prodigal 5:34
    Even if their version is correct, the blow has been struck and seeds of doubt and uncertainty sown. Young Moore and McDowall now have to tread carefully especially depending on what side the other subcommittee members agree to. Mind you, these private sector people do not want a national strike.

Imagine the NUPW relying on the “totally objective” Patrick Frost as their note taker. The same Frost that advised Mary Redman so well with Foundation School, Alexandra, Jeff Broome and the recent CXC SBAs. That says it all. Some poker games require more than balls and brawn.

The BIDC will still send home people as always planned, just like Light and Power. The anomaly in the Pension / Statuatory Pension Act still remains to possibly be used by another board if they choose to, just like QEH will now do with a little more finesse and silence. The biggest cannon in the Union’s arsenal has been blunted, for now, again. The outstanding issue of “respect” and “ill treatment” still obtains without apology or regret. The Union now has to explain to its members what this all means….that’s if they ever figure it out for themselves.

Sun Tzu once said โ€œIf you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles. If you know yourself but not the enemy, for every victory gained you will also suffer a defeat. If you know neither the enemy nor yourself, you will succumb in every battle.โ€

I’m returning to my hole now that the show is over. Was hoping for that tipping point but I guess we shall carry on as normal, as usual. We like um so.

Just observing.

21. There has been a concerted effort by the DEMS to attack on the character and credibility of Akanni McDowall and Toni Moore.

It is very interesting to note that the DLP and ALL their yard-fowls have adopted the rhetoric of referring to both these union leaders as being โ€œyoungโ€ and their actions โ€œimmature,โ€ as well as saying they are being politically motivated.

On one hand the DLP pimps are suggesting to us the best choice is for the over 60 year old to go home and give younger people a chance to work, and on the other hand, we see two young people (Moore and McDowall) coming to the fore, exhibiting their leadership skills, and they are being called โ€œyoung and immature.โ€

I heard the โ€œTrinidadian Womanโ€ on Brass Tacks making similar remarks about McDowall and Moore and trying to raise similar arguments for Stuart as is being done by certain individuals on BU.

As I mentioned in a previous contribution, McDowall cannot get up one morning and DEMAND the members of the union to strike.

There has to be consultation with the executive council, the unionโ€™s senior management and probably the unionโ€™s legal advisors. The NUPW is also affiliated to international trade union organizations that may be consulted by them for various reasons, if necessary.

The strategy would then be discussed with the union membership, who would have supported and endorsed the strike action, thereby ratifying and permitting such action to be undertaken.

As it relates to the BWU, this trade union still has Sir Roy Trotman (an over 60) on their payroll as their consultant. Surely, Moore would have consulted with him to discuss the issues, as well as the pros and cons, before involving the union and its membership in the intended action.

The PM and his supporters would have preferred Walter Maloney and Dennis Clarke to at the helm of the NUPW, since they would have sat idly by (as was the norm) and allow the BIDC board to do whatever pleases them. If the membership asked for representation, those two would have given half hearted, knee jerk reactions, and the matter would have โ€œdied a natural death,โ€

To them, this is MATURE LEADERSHIP.

22. David, do you know how many of the terminated employees are unwilling to return to their jobs at the BIDC?

23. According to McDowall some want to go and a few want to stay, the union will have to meet with to finalize.

24. Observing,

There is a difference between out maneuvering and deceiving. Negotiations require that they be undertaken in good faith. Due to this “misunderstanding” the wind has been taken out of the unions’ sails. The workers would already have breathed a sigh of relief. (Because they never really wanted to strike in the first place. They aren’t that stupid.) They would be happy that a semblance of normalcy has returned to their lives. After this prolonged adrenaline rush the body and mind is exhausted and need to rest. The union leaders would have to work doubly hard to re-energize them. Besides which they are now confused and wondering about the comprehension skills of their new leaders. I have no doubt that Roslyn Smith has not yet lost her faculties and so I have come to my conclusions. Time will tell if I’m right.

Some myopic people would call this a master stroke but I would call it a punch below the belt. Nothing to gloat about at all!

25. That should be “the body and mind ARE exhausted..”

26. Psychology is man’s best weapon and Freundel Stuart knows how to use it wisely,,Yes it was Freundel Stuart open mouth excruciating lecture of the Young Turks that help to derailed the so called victory a victory which was caught up in revenge and as.. kicking in the PM face by the young turks.
    Now that the genie is out of the bottle it is now left to be seen how skilled these turks are in recovering lost ground albeit maybe having to either resend their verbal agreement or revert to putting the interest of the country last .
    Byer Motto therefore will read Fool me once You can;t Fool me twice

27. Its a popular and not misplaced view that Dr. Byer is a political lightweight and having lost to Sutherland another lightweight by such a large margin suggests that premise to be true. In this case of what transpired at the social partnership meeting the doctor comes across as believable. In addition there were numerous independent witnesses at the social partnership sub committee meeting who can corroborate or deny her version of events. None have called her a liar yet so it leads to the conclusion that the unions cheekily with indecent haste tried to steal a march on Byer and the government as well as the social partnership. Its not surprising because the rationale for which the unions have taken our fair land on a roller coaster of brinksmanship is spurious at best. On the streets the word is not only the ten workers have no interest in a return to BIDC but they’ve begun spending their separation cheques and have moved on. Is this who and what the unions were prepared to destroy the national economy for?

The unions must cool off sit down with the social partnership then issue a joint statement which all parties agree to before they leave the room and adhere to when they leave. Byer said BIDC gave into the union’s request not to send the matter to court and to pay the workers until end of September. Are we to believe that the unions conceded nothing in return. If so that was not negotiating that was one party getting its way and the other caving in. Mind you this was always the unions position no compromise even if the country collapses under stinking garbage. This latest confusion ironically allows Barbadians to see for themselves who are the real liars and who are the folk really keen on peaceful industrial relations in our fair land.

28. Has it occurred to anyone we need to wait a little while to observe how this plays out?

29. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ ac
    “Byer Motto therefore will read Fool me once You can;t Fool me twice”
    I imagine the unions will have the same motto. I doubt if they will rely on the “good offices” of Ms Byer again. I can imagine they are feeling as though they have been shafted.

30. @ Dragon,

Forget Byer and the unions we want to hear from the remainder of the social partnership that was at the meeting. Their version of what took place will be the game changer.

31. . “The anomaly in the Pension / Statuatory Pension Act still remains to possibly be used by another board if they choose to, just like QEH will now do with a little more finesse and silence. ”
    There is no anomaly; when the issue first surfaced people were led to believe such for their own ends but excerpts from the debate in Parliament and careful reading of the amendment has put that smelly red herring in the garbagebin to remain uncollected when industrial action resumes.

32. @ lawson
    Things aint bad in Barbados?? I heard they caught a boat load of bajan senior citizens trying to sneak into haiti
    Can’t really blame them…
    Those old Bajans probably heard that you were coming and they may remember the bad old days when massa was coming back to check on his plantation…
    Listening to your various positions espoused on BU um is a wonder they ain’t trying to get to Syria…

@ Observing
    What have you been drinking?

Obviously the DLP idiots have found themselves under pressure after having to eat crow, especially right after Froon’s idiotic display on National TV….and are trying to provide their yard fowls with something to scratch at….

The MATURE message from Government would be that on reflection, while economic pressures are real and urgent, it was an ERROR to jump the gun by selecting a method that is clearly discriminatory. The Government therefore agrees to revert to the pre-letter status quo and will engage the Union, the Public sector and the general public as needed steps are taken to bring balance to the national economy.

Instead, they are running around talking shiite – trying to make sense of what Froon was grumbling about on TV….

OBVIOUSLY the damn Unions have won.
    Shiite man … they got what they wanted….and they came out UNITED; with massive PUBLIC support; re-energised membership and emboldened leadership.
    …and with ALL their strike forces intact….
    Going forward, they will clearly be MUCH more powerful forces with which to contend.
    The BRA and BL&P management must be urinating frequently all like now so…. LOL

On Government’s side:
    Freundel comes out looking like a moron.
    Donville like a loose cannon
    Byer as a blonde
    …and the BIDC Board like a set of stooges…..

Joke of the month is the idiot who came on VOB…. gave his name as a friend of Froon…and argued that Froon ‘will win’ because he was always “stubborn from young…”
    ha ha ha …oh Shiite… wait!! wuh all St Philip people so…?
    Bushie thought um was only the drivers…. ๐Ÿ™‚

33. David,

There seems to be a pattern of “misunderstandings” emerging from these negotiation meetings. Remember the last confusion regarding whose decision it was to send the NCC workers’ case to the tribunal?

I really don’t see what the unions would have to gain by deliberately misrepresenting the outcome. On the contrary, the unions stood to lose credibility and momentum when their misrepresentation became known.

On the other hand, the outcome of this fiasco benefits the government greatly. Confusion and fatigue among the rank and file of the unions.

Of course the unions’ leaders could genuinely have been mistaken. The odds of that with the old hands present seem slim.

As I said before – time will tell.

34. “St George’s Dragon July 15, 2015 at 8:38 PM #

@ ac
    โ€œByer Motto therefore will read Fool me once You can;t Fool me twiceโ€
    I imagine the unions will have the same motto. I doubt if they will rely on the โ€œgood officesโ€ of Ms Byer again. I can imagine they are feeling as though they have been shafted.”

If I were The Minister of Labour negotiating I would be ashamed to admit that I offered a proposal which agreed to withdraw the termination letters with the proviso that they do not return to work. To what lengths can stupidity go. How in the name of common sense can letters terminating the services of workers be withdrawn but the workers not allowed to return to work? in my book, they haven’t really been withdrawn. So dog dead. Nothing to agree or disagree to.

35. If 10 of the 13 wanted to accept or accepted the original offer, was the union action for only the remaining 3?

36. Steupsss…
    This has NOTHING to do with how many workers want to stay away from BIDC.
    Wunna people don’t understand PRINCIPLE?

Employers have a duty to do the RIGHT thing. When such precedents are allowed, then there is nothing to prevent them from laying off based on where you live (those that live too far from the workplace); on Sex (those that have too much period pains); on ugliness etc.

Shiite man…. If Bushie’s employer had treated him the way BIDC did those people – the Bushman would NOT be going back there either….. but that does not detract from the Union’s cause – except in AC’s twisted world ๐Ÿ™‚

Bushie can’t remember when last he was as PROUD of any shiite Bajan as the bushman is of the collective union group….

@ AC
    Please note that CASWELL started the ball rolling with those Customs ‘go-slows’ in wunna crooked tails ….to roll the wicket for Akanni and Toni
    …did you feel the BUP…??? ha ha ha LOL …shiirrttt!

37. What is the principle in destroying an entire country to simply delay an event?

38. “David July 15, 2015 at 2:40 PM #

The workers have been paid to September / December however the agreement is for them to not physically enter BIDC until the dispute is resolved”.

David July 15, 2015 at 2:40 PM #

Similarly Mr Macdowall cannot go anywhere and sign off on anything on behalf of the membership without their approval and the approval of Executive and the National Council. Yes. he is entitled to negotiate and consult but unless sanctioned by Executive and Council he will be speaking purely on a personal point-of-view. So the courteous handshakes and smiles all well and good as a measure of goodwill carry no weight in any agreement until the membership gives the thumbs up. So let the Minister of Labour continue to play games with the Union and its workers by misrepresenting to the public the facts of the meeting. The mandate from the membership was that the letters terminating the services of the workers be withdrawn and/or the workers be paid till they reach 67. On that they could be no retreat because it could have far reaching consequences for workers across the public service. In addition, the Union’s position was sound and rooted in law and parliamentary interpretation. So the Minister of Labour can stutter on TV as much as she likes like a sly fox about whatever ‘firm proposal’ which she proposed and is awaiting response. I hope that the Executive and Council is properly guided legally and ‘industrial relations wise’ when deliberating on the contents of this ‘firm proposal’ so that the membership can have a clear and firm understanding on what was agreed to. Let the cry from membership be a resounding no to the despicable anomaly proposed by the Minister which on the one hand agrees to the withdrawal of the termination letters but on the other seeks to ban the affected workers from returning to work. Let the โ€˜Noโ€™ be a reminder to the Minister that one smart dead at two smart door.

39. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Bush Tea;

I had started writing a response to Observing in which I had intended to make essentially the same points that I now see you have made in your 9:07 pm post. So I’m rescinding that post but will comment on the matter when the Union reps put out their statement defending their actions and understandings. I suspect their response will adequately counter what the MoL (who has a track record of obfuscation in these matters) has stated.

King Solomon;

Why do you and some others continue to misrepresent the oft stated objectives of the NUPW action? The action was not only for the 10 or 13 BIDC workers but for the entire cohort of all Statutory Corporation staff aged around 60 years old who could be subject to the same treatment meted out to the 10 or 13 when the full programme of staff reduction, mandated in the homegrown IMF programme, begins.

40. Minister says Union misinterpreted the Govt’s position. Kinda like the electorate misinterpreted the DLP in the 2013 election. So day is night black is white etc.
    The “King of Hubris” Freundel has been misinterpreted (misunderstood) on numerous occasions.
    No layoffs in civil service . Misinterpreted!
    No fees at UWI. MIsinterpreted!
    Sending NCC workers to a non- existent tribunal. Misinterpreted!
    This has to be the most “Misinterpreted ” Govt on the planet.
    I guess mere mortals have difficulty understanding the “Queen’s English” as spoken by the Exalted ones. Bring on the Republic then, that should solve the problem.

41. There really is no logical basis to prevent an entity from restructuring in the face of declining financial condition. The unionsโ€™ efforts are best directed towards lobbying for legislation and regulations to ensure that the reasons for restructuring are genuine and the severance pay requirement is adequate. This will ensure that all workers are treated fairly during a restructuring. As it is now, the unions seem to agitate for enhanced severance packages in only some instances.

42. @Donna
    “There is a difference between out maneuvering and deceiving.

There’s none in politics.

@St. George
    ” I can imagine they are feeling as though they have been shafted.”

That should say shafted…again.

@Bushie
    “Shiite man โ€ฆ they got what they wanted”

Really? I’ll do a full response to your post shortly.

@balance 9:14
    The letters were not withdrawn.

@balance 9:03
    Good luck trying to prove that.

Just observing

43. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Bush tea; You said at (:48 pm

Bushie canโ€™t remember when last he was as PROUD of any shiite Bajan as the bushman is of the collective union groupโ€ฆ.

Me too!

….. and I can see the fine hand involved in trying to deny them the victory which they won, hands down.

44. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

David, what exactly is to be played out here? As far as I can see the DLP via the Min of Lab is ensuring that the cadre of lawyers get some work to do, as she stakes her position as head honcho on this: How dare the unions ” [give] a press conference without advising either [her] or the BIDC of its decision.”

Apart from ego, all that is in dispute are words and context. All sizzle, no meat. Nonsense.

The union said: The Barbados Investment and Development Corporation (BIDC) has withdrawn the dismissal letters issued to ten employees over age 60 following the latest round of talks today with the sub-committee of the Social Partnership, according to Bdos Today.

Min Byer says: “The BIDC offered not to act on the letters issued to the 10 retirees of the BIDC. 2) Those workers were still employees, now paid up to the September 30, 2015 … and BIDC accepted that they would remain as full employees, pending the outcome of the discussions.”

The letters were “NOT withdrawn”. They were only “NOT acted upon”. In the world of push and shove that is vitally crucial. Vitally!!!

In sum, the guillotine was not dropped but your head is still on the block. At the moment, there is some type of contraption restricting the blade from falling but your head is still on the block.

Now if its my head (union) then as far as I am concerned the execution was stopped…If I am the executioner (BIDC/Min Byer) then no, no, no. The blade was just not released, yet!

The bottom line is that there will be NO EXECUTION today or at least next 2 months. Whether its due to a stay or withdrawal is good business for Pat Cheltenham and his brethen, obviously.

Oh and if the workers stay home as fully employed until resolution and get paid why should anyone be concerned. It’s a win-win for them.

Are we really going to lose sleep over this palaver of wills and power strutting. The main pain is avoided this is back to the petty management folly– on both sides.

45. @ Bush Tea July 15, 2015 at 9:07 PM

“Joke of the month is the idiot who came on VOBโ€ฆ. gave his name as a friend of Froonโ€ฆand argued that Froon โ€˜will winโ€™ because he was always โ€œstubborn from youngโ€ฆโ€
    ha ha ha โ€ฆoh Shiiteโ€ฆ wait!! wuh all St Philip people soโ€ฆ?
    Bushie thought um was only the driversโ€ฆ. “……………………………..

Bushie,

That was that moron John Goddard, a former teacher at Harrison College. This was a man who messed up a lot of innocent children’s lives……..a man who came to classes drunk and hardly taught people’s children when the day came……..a man who helped stress out the former principal, sending him to an early grave. When the principal came to the school and asked for a return to high standards, he and a group of teachers did not like that.

Hardly an example and certainly not in a position to condemn the young union leaders since he played hardball when the BLP was in office.

Imagine he referred to Mr McDowall as “the boy”. He and Freundel are birds of a feather.

46. @ King Solomon July 15, 2015 at 9:56 PM #

What is the principle in destroying an entire country to simply delay an event?
    …………………

Are you not witnessing the Dems destroying the entire country daily, monthly, yearly?

47. Like all living things, the unionsโ€™ way of representing workers needs to evolve. In this age of increased competition for our major industries, a growing debt burden and a tentative economy, it cannot be in the countryโ€™s best interest to purposely derail the economy for any reason under our current system of government. A possible model for the unions is the aforementioned legislation, with supporting regulations, along with a dedicated labour court to ensure that related legal matters are addressed in a timely matter.

48. The MATURE message from Government would be….

A mature message is impossible with this bunch

OBVIOUSLY the damn Unions have won.

It should never have been about winning and losing. Therein lies the main problem of this whole saga and where our industrial climate stands at this stage.

they came out UNITED; with massive PUBLIC support; re-energised membership and emboldened leadership โ€ฆand with ALL their strike forces intactโ€ฆ.

With the exception of the emboldened leadership sounds kinda like the BLP in 2013. We all know how that went.

Going forward, they will clearly be MUCH more powerful forces with which to contend.

How can one go forward when one’s still stuck on the current problem?

The BRA and BL&P management must be urinating frequently all like now soโ€ฆ. LOL

You seem overly optimistic. That’s not a typical Bushie trait. Is this the same BL&P that told BWU to piss off?

I’ll say again, it’ll take more than balls and brawn to achieve what’s desired. Labour and workers deserve better than the shoddy treatment and piss poor representation they received over the last few years. At least young McDowall and Moore are trying. Barbados on a whole deserves better than what we have masquerading as leadership in critical areas at critical times.

@awty
    Based on your 10:08 post, the Union should have NEVER backed down until other conditions were agreed to and a concrete determination on a time frame for addressing those other germane and important matters was reached.

Back to my hole. There will be fireworks in the morning.

Just observing

49. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

Balance, and what sensible and proper industrial relations practice would instruct ” Let the cry from membership be a resounding no to the despicable anomaly proposed by the Minister which on the one hand agrees to the withdrawal of the termination letters but on the other seeks to ban the affected workers from returning to work.”

What exactly makes this ‘anomaly’ so egregious right now?

All parties, well principally the workers, have been made whole again. They are being paid to stay home pending resolution. The matter can now move forward to that resolution. Why should the members reject a reasonable and practical holding position?

Your rhetoric seems provocative and confrontational. There is a time for that and in this matter now here again is not the time.

Give the next month and half the space to get a final resolution. Surely, that is an important aspect of negotiations as well.

If that fails and strikes make sense at that time, then so be it.