Submitted by Douglas

PM SAYS A NEW RESPONSE IS NEEDED TO WHAT HE CALLS “NEW TRADE UNIONISM”

NUPW BLP

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart is questioning the union’s position on escalating industrial industrial action even though the matter has been referred to the courts.[โ€ฆ]

Mr.Stuart has explained that the application before the court is not a regular application.  Mr Stuart says what is more concerning is that the BIDC has made certain reasonable commitments –

These include paying all entitlements if the courts determine the retirement exercise has been wrongful. Also to pay the retirees up until September and suspending the retirement orders. He added that the corporation is also willing to pay the workers up until December if need be. According to the prime minister the union is not allowing for the established processes to be completed. The Prime Minister also hinted that there are certain powers and procedures of parliament available to the government under Section 48 of the constitution. These speak to parliament making laws for peace, order and good governance of Barbados.

Prime Minister Stuart on NUPW strike action

335 responses to “Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart Breaks His Silence on NUPW BIDC Matter”

1. Mr Businessman, when you first started posting on this topic I must say some of your arguments seemed to be reasoned logic. As you added more and more comment to your initial postings the impression started to form that your interest was more concerned with the effect a strike would have on YOUR business and less on the effect it would have on the country. Mind you, you did state the opposite. Not to worry, it may only be my impression.

2. Of course I am worried about the impact on my business, I am a capitalist, I have a lot at stake and i make no apologies for that. But its not my only concern. My posts are to some extent really about my views on the culture of business and decision in making in barbados.

3. In a recent statement this the grounds as laid out by the Unions for Industrial action

Underlying the dispute is a number of issues: a breakdown in respect; a failure to consult; and a breach of the Barbados Social Partnership protocols and the rules underpinning the time-tested industrial relations system of Barbados.

So all of the above is necessary to decimate a country, YES? How interesting nothing to do with salaries which would be in fact necessary to suffice a relevant concern to an individual cost living.
    The notion that age discrimination is a necessary for strike action or even disrespect to union coming from the employer sounds like bullying tactics that would confound and dumbfound Labour Unions world wide,
    Most Unions would shudder at the thought of shutting down any economy on actions that could be hashed out across the table.
    This is a kind of extreme that bears analyzing from a psychological aspect as one would think that the need for strike action would come from a more serious application than five or six year difference in age or Disrespect on a level formalize from a legal disagreement.,

4. businessman July 14, 2015 at 4:48 PM #

โ€œArtetexes can you provide evidence that it did not? My business is tourism based and airlift is a major factor in tourist arrivals. The evidence from my end is that sandals has had a significant impact on airlift.โ€

You were the one who presented the argument, not me, so I donโ€™t have to bring any argument to the contrary.

Your comment re โ€œThe evidence from my end is that sandals has had a significant impact on airliftโ€ is generalized. So too is your reference to being involved in a โ€œtourism based business,โ€ which was basically made to justify the belief that โ€œyou know what you are talking aboutโ€ and we should take your word for it.

However, since your comments were not accompanied by statistical or any other substantiating evidence. Hence, in the absence of such documentation, any rational thinking person would conclude your โ€œevidenceโ€ is just your personal opinion.

For example, in my line of work, I cannot spend a month at a clientโ€™s business and say to him, since many people visited his establishment, he made a considerable amount of profit. So, he should take my word for it, because I am an accountant.
    There is an accounting process which I must undertake before determining if the client actually made a profit or loss.

I mentioned this example to say, with issues such as this airlift argument, I like to deal with substantiating evidence and not assumptions.

5. I am being tongue in cheek david. but the forex would be good, especially if we dont have to borrow it. I am just saying. forex is the lifeblood of the economy. A solution that brings in forex, saves further forex by generating electricity and solves part of the gargage problem is desirable. can we find one with a less worrisome technology?

I just went to the central bank site to view the report. a mixed bag. for me growth depends on getting the deficit to normal levels first. maybe i am wrong but ti see that as job one at this time.

6. Whether the matter is settled in Court it would not be enough to suffice the Union as they have laid out a table full of other disagreements which they have stated is a cause for Strike action..In this matter the PM must moved swift and fast with decisive action to harnessed this political football of many shapes and colors deliberately placed in the way with an intent to do irreparable harm to govt and country

7. Fair enough Artertexes. I am not going to reveal that much about myself and please don’t take my anonymous word for anything.

8. One has to be conscious of the fact that the new leadership of the various unions have not be bought and paid for with an Ambassadorship, a Knighthood, a High Commissionership, a Senate appointment or any such title thus far so that there is no reason for them to kowtow to the leadership (if you want to call it that) of this government. I always tend to be suspicious of people in positions of influence rubbing shoulders with decision makers. Look at what it bought us in the past.

9. For what its worth, the view in St. Lucia, and Antigua is that a sizeable share of their airlift is linked to sandals. when almond closed one of the negatives was the loss of airlift linked to that brand.

again, its anecdotal but in my line i am seeing a different type of customer than i had before drawn to the sandals product. On my website i certainly saw a new buzz and hype around the launch of the new sandals in barbados. what will be interesting is whether it can deliver the summer business it claims it can.

10. I will certainly come back in and comment on that.

11. Any one reading the reasons giving from the Union for strike action should be concerned as to how this strike action can evolve with a snowball like effect giving the diversity of reason related to the strike
    First the public was told over and over again that the laying off of the BIDC was the tipping point and age discrimination gave the green light for strike action.
    Now on review one should wonder out aloud if and when the court decision( if) in favour of the NUPW would be enough and would meet all the necessary concerns affiliated with the strike action;
    However i do believe that the statement today was an implied reaction to the PM statement with a message to openly state the strike action would continue if all the necessary concerns are not met
    Yes the goal post has been moved a lot further from its original place and the new goal keepers have also invoke their interest to block and disallow the court rulings from passing through.
    PM Stuart must take today,s Statement with a seriousness of concern and as as a threat with a desire of the Unions to dig in and to muddy the waters a little further

12. fearplay, I am more concerned about the impact of the seaweed on my business than the strike. I think the industrial action is more about egos and politics than the issues being presented. when egos are satisfied this will end, the politics will always stick around.

13. @businessman – Well said.

14. A victory for workers and the young turks at the NUPW and BWU?

The hit back, describing PM Stuart’s outburst yesterday as noise.

On 14 July 2015 at 21:03, Barbados Underground wrote:

15. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

As the NUPW press conference continues I make the following observation. When prudence replaces arrogance progress surges to the fore. This country stands to reap rich rewards if the exhibitions of blatant arrogance can be reined in.

16. You think Trinidad would be getting mad you are leaving garbage all over their island.

17. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

No David, a victory for Barbados…….if only Barbadians would realize the power of resilience. There is still much to do. The nonsense of acting on the behalf of the people without consultation has to be stopped.

18. St George's Dragon Avatar

Hal Gollop’s statement reported in the Nation about the first Employment Rights Tribunal decision is “the company had flagrantly disregarded the standard….procedures set out in the ERA…”.
    I just looked at what the ERA says about the rights of the employer to terminate employees’ contracts and it seems to me pretty clear that what the Government has done with the BIDC workers is against the law or certainly the spirit of the law.
    The ERA says an employer can terminate an employee’s contract but has to give a certain notice period. There is a list of reasons why termination would be unfair and these include if it is related to age.
    One of the major reasons for bringing in the ERA was to set down the legal rights and responsibilities of employers and workers in connection with employment and to do this in one place.
    The termination and unfair dismissal requirements were surely meant to be comprehensive.
    It is something of a surprise to see that is Government rather than the private sector which is seeking to run an argument that the BIDC workers have not been dismissed, they have been early retired. That is surely against the provisions and intent of the Act.

19. What is going on in Barbados goes way beyond parody. We have reached a sinister stage in our development. The backers behind our government want nothing less than the total submission and capitulation of the Barbadian masses.

20. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

The stealth associated with CAHILL should be enough to hold the feet of this administration to the fire. It is not enough to throw around accusations of rabble rousing, and complaints about not being given the chance to govern as a way to weasel out of answering the hard questions. All we are doing is demanding the transparency promised up by BUSSA ROUNDABOUT back in 2008. Now is the time to demand answers. Come come Bajans…. Freundel aint talking, then bajans should start walking. He’ll get the message.

21. Good on him. Frenduel should of start behaving like Owen Authur from day 1. He was feared and respected.

22. Negroman

Why is it wrong for government to force workers to retire before their attained the prescribed age of retirement? Where are your facts which speaks to the contrary? This move by government is a good one and has been common practice by state and federal government here in the states for over three-decades. I can elaborate further if you wish that I do regarding how early retirement benefit both government and the employee in the long run. For one: it free up a lot more opportunity for the younger people entering the workforce for the first .

23. o.k so level heads persist a compromise agreement until court decision is made, two thumbs up for democracy,

24. Negroman, and secondly, the more seasoned employee is paid at a higher than the green inexperiened one.

25. The problems that we have with Froon and his DLP morons stem from simple greed and idiocy…and this foolish idea that we can put anyone to lead, and expect good results.
    Toni and Akanni can effectively deal with THAT matter….
    Hopefully we have learnt our lesson in that regard.

A much BIGGER problem is that posed by the proliferation of predatory foreigners such as ‘Businessman’ who have been making their presence felt much more forcibly of late. Like the absentee Plantation owners of past centuries, these parasites use their assets and bribes with the SOLE aim of enriching themselves as quickly as possible….with no regard for the welfare of Bajans …except to the extent that it affects their profits…after all- there is no value in dead slaves.

The Lime/FLOW/Digicel trinity; the Canadian Bankers; the Massa ‘CARICOM partners’; the EMERA tricksters; and other such ‘Businessmen’ are identical in attitude and approach to those old slave drivers. ….and the local ‘intelligentsia’ who continue to promote the encouragement of these leeches to our shores in exchange for a few bribes and crumbs from their tables, are the ultimate traitors to this country….

We probably DESERVE to have people among us with the attitude of ‘Businessman’ here …who is essentially saying:

“….what justice what? just carry wunna black asses back to work….and ensure that my plantation is making some money hear…!”

26. they came out as strikers but return as patriots resolute to put country first, who says democracy is not the be all and end all to liberty and the pursuit of happiness although some steel donkey jack a,ss that sit on the panel of the BU class room would say other wise and prefer it another way. PM stuart send a hinted message across the bow all heads became level and once again Barbados became Everybody.s home, Democracy IS STILL ALIVE AND WELL .in barbados even when heads knock hearts pound and lips quiver’ The only one sour thumb that stuck out in these past days was MIa who could not refrain or contain herself from stepping in the horse dung of political opportunism and that she will be remembered (for) well i’ll be dam .

27. now the yardfowls can rub the splinters together and lite their own political fire ac is out on this issue MY hands are folded good luck.
    oh one parting shot the Gov of the central bank gave another good report Don;t YOU ALL LOVE BARBADOS?

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac July 14, 2015 at 7:43 PM

A “compromise agreement” that makes your P M looks like one ugly braying jackass full of sound and fury signifying nothing. His reputation is now completely shattered; just a joker of a figurehead taking up space.

Despite being warned upfront about the rather weak and tenuous legal base on which the BIDC was resting its case would Minister Inniss apologize to the public for being misled by his Board? Would this now put a stop to Donvilleโ€™s perpetual garrulous outbursts of nonsense and hot air?
    Should the CEO and her legal advisor continue in their posts?

Where does this leave the governmentโ€™s privatization and outsourcing agenda prepared by the IMF as part of that $400 million loan from the IADB or whoever?

29. Nice ‘compromise’ where the PM, Minister of Commerce and Minister of Labour each had to REVERSE their ‘unshakable’ position and rescind the damn letters….!?
    Truly a jACkass…

All they have accomplished is to unify the UNIONS in a true spirit of unity, and give them a taste of their REAL POWER.
    Bushie would be COMPLETELY unsurprised if this unified union group becomes the source of a new political movement…

30. Artaxerxes,

You were right the first time. I do have more sense than that. Read again and you’ll see that my comments were by way of sarcasm and humour. It is my way to joke around a little. By the way, it doesn’t matter to me who you are. I find your contributions to be logical, informative and totally credible without obvious bias. (Kinda like how I see Ezra when he does the election coverage on CBC. Ha, ha! See, I can’t help kidding around) It seems to me that even if you ARE a BLP supporter or in fact more than a supporter, your interest is in Barbados as a whole. There are still some of us left who can be impartial and call a spade a spade even when it is OUR spade.

There is a Barbadian saying, “If yuh doan laugh you would cry.” Now may be the time to laugh a little. It helps in maintaining sanity.

31. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Bush Tea

Once again I agree with you.

If the letters were rescinded and the PM, Min of Commerce and the Min of Labour each had to reverse their unshakeable position there is only one side that has won. The Unions. The Government side has suffered the first of several body blows.

The NUPW and the other Unions have afaik for the first time tasted victory in the 21st Century. I suspect this is the turning point for Barbados where, if built on, we can regain some of the face we have lost due mainly to the inept leadership of FS and the crooked leadership of DT and an acceptance by the populace of the foolishness that masqueraded as governance by the last 2 administrations.

The NUPW president should be commended as I suspect he was the one who crafted, forged the alliances and led the battle from in front. His is a talent that can turn Barbados around.

I will once again say that this battle fortifies my belief that the DLP can be forced from office well before 2018 by a coalition of forces including the Unions and new entrants to the political fray.

32. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Liam Massy July 14, 2015 at 3:29 PM #

I certainly do not care about these old people and I wish their vacant posts can be filled by younger people in years to come.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Let hope that father time stands still forever for you sir.

33. are-we-there-yet Avatar

The next battle is the Cahill skirmish. Let’s see what the FCT, its external allies, the BLP and the people of Barbados will do to force this inept Government to get out of its inane and seemingly infelicitous agreements with Cahill.

34. Quite a climb down for the BIDC and Donville Inniss………………….he looked confused today.

Last night, he said that when they referred the matter to the court and they won, he would not gloat. I thought was bit facetious…………now he and the cantankerous PM will have to eat humble pie…………….oh my goodness!

I like Toni Moore’s quick response to a question this evening on the PM’s savage attack on them………my girl sings out………..that was only noise! Wuhloss………I nearly dead with laughter.

ac, did you enjoy your dinner of humble pie…………I feel your pain!

35. At last the PM has spoken . I think it best if he had just kept silent , as he has only thrown fuel on the fire. Not very diplomatic . Perhaps it’s his legal background that directs his thoughts and actions, but as The Leader of this Government, one would expect a more diplomatic approach to this impasse. Opportunity lost.

36. BU should be mandatory reading for the likes of PM Stuart.For sure,Bushie,Jeff,David,Miller,Arta and others have been seeing the ball all along.You cannot discriminate on the basis of age.Employers have a duty to engage the workers’ representatives when making serious decisions involving their workforce.It’s basic human decency.I recall when Guyson and his gang at the PSC sent a letter virtually dismissing the CoP,the former Dean Senator Harold Crichlow was in distress at the turn of events and said in the Senate”You can’t treat senior public officers like this;its unacceptable.”The irony of it is that the current Dean Frank Marshall signed the letter dismissing the CoP.What an unchristian act.Dean Frank,go and sin no more.Leave these stinking Dems and go praise you God in your retirement.You have brought shame to yourself and your church.Harold would not have done it.Nor Andrew who was fired from the Chaplaincy of the House by your mentor Errol.He had put down a prayer that left Barrow mesmerised and double blue vexed.I got the impression that Harold and Andrew know which God they are serving.Frank,leave out the stinking Dems.They are polluting Barbados with their idiocy.

37. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Liam Massy July 14, 2015 at 3:29 PM #

I remember when Hitler used his words to strike fear in the hearts of the most intelligent people in Germany, causing them to commit atrocities which led to the World War
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Hitler’s instigated atrocities did not lead to WW2. Russia and the West knew of these atrocities, but could not care less. What shook Russian and the West up, was the Germans swift moving Blitz Kreig strategy which saw the taking over of Poland in double quick time.Now Russia and the West were worried about their own lands ,and armies falling in a similar way.

38. It is not only in Barbados check this article in Daily Mail UK
    Cameron’s war on strike bullies: PM launches biggest crackdown in 30 years with plans that will stop walkouts on small ballot turnouts and intimidation on picket lines

39. @Gabriel.
    โ€The irony of it is that the current Dean Frank Marshall signed the letter dismissing the CoP.What an unchristian act.Dean Frank,go and sin no more.Leave these stinking Dems and go praise you God in your retirement.You have brought shame to yourself and your church”……………………………………….

Gab,

Do you know what is real irony? The Dean’s chickens have come home to roost. There is real truth in the saying…..what you sow, you will reap.

Would you believe this very Dean now wants to sue the Anglican Church on his way out? The church changed some laws a few years ago allowing priests to “work” until age 70. Would you believe that the dean is arguing that the amendments are not clear and that he should get both a pension and a salary.

Talk about irony……………he supports this wicked government and yet he is hauling the church over the coals for pension and salary!

40. Who will get fired or resign from BIDC ? CEO, CFO, or COO.

41. Prodigal
    I heard there were three of them who were in receipt of the pension and had remained as incumbents,drawing a salary in their respective parishes.When the dichotmy was drawn to their attention the other two gave back their pensions money and continued serving to age 70.It is my understanding that what you have said about Dean Frank is so.

42. Gabriel,

I know of the three but did not know two returned the pensions………..wow!

Now back to the BIDC fiasco…………VOB cut into the news conference late so I am unclear why the BIDC withdrew the letters.

Can you say?…………Judging from the PM’s rant last night (now he should have really kept his mouth shut)…what caused the change of heart for as far as the PM is concerned………
    the NUPW were bullies….choke and rob…..he even talked about rape…………

The PM’s yardfowl John Goddard now looks like a fool. He called the President a boy on VOB……..he said the PM is stubborn and would not lose this one! Imagine that.

So will the workers show up for work tomorrow?

43. Statement on the end of the BIDC Impasse

HON. MIA AMOR MOTTLEY Q.C., M.P.

I am relieved that the Government of Barbados has reversed an ill-advised position of retiring workers who have reached 60 years old at the BIDC and other statutory Boards. You cannot hide and pursue a programme of economic redundancy behind the disguise of retirement. Barbados can only benefit from a recognition th…

See More

44. As I listened to the Prime Minister’s speech last night this quote from Abraham Lincoln came to my mind “Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.”

45. I am only a businessman but the situation seems far more nuanced than is being suggested here. If as reported a large number of workers have already cashed their cheques what happens now? Was this ever really about these workers

david is last in first out your idea of a meritocratic process? the unions seem locked into this?

We keep ignoring the incetive issues. The more difficult it is to fire the more reluctant businesses are to hire. We are protecting the jobs of the employed while denying opportunity to the unemployed and new workers coming onto the market. The more flexible labor markets of the usa and uk have lower levels of unemployment than the highly protected workers in the rest of europe.

46. Well Bush tea maybe I am part of the problem. I run a business to make profits. I have found that the best way to do that is to provide an excellent product at a fair pir price, be fair to my workers and abide by the laws. I am of the view that market based economies while far from perfect provide a better quality of life for more people more of the time than other systems I have observed to date.

47. Page 1 of BarbadosToday.

Assault but no battery.

48. @Hants July 14, 2015 at 12:35 PM “The evidence David. lol”
    http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/69868/hundreds-festival

The Americans typically do not arrest sitting Cabinet members. Please note that they did not arrest/took no action against Jack Warner while he was Trinidad’s Minister of Defense. But you can bet that they have their eyes on our Mikey whenever he visits the US of A, and that they are gathering information.

He will not always be a Cabinet Minister.

The Americans are in many ways a very, very patient people.

lol!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

49. @businessman July 14, 2015 at 1:08 PM ” populists, editorial writers, bloggers and talk show hosts donโ€™t have to pay the countryโ€™s bills every day.”

Actually we do pay the country’s bills everyday.

We the people.

We the tax payers.

We the electorate.

We the citizens.

I paid my taxes on Friday. Did you?

50. @businessman July 14, 2015 at 1:21 PM “Since the budget and the requirement to have a tax clearance, the reaction in most quarters leads me to conclude that there is a huge swathe of persons in Bim who have never really paid corporation or income tax… because we donโ€™t like a government.”

Really? From where I sit most people aren’t complaining about tax clearance certificates…because most ordinary working Bajans that I know pay income their income tax via Pay.As.You.Earn.

If the business community hasn’t been paying income tax and corporation tax why doesn’t the government make them pay first…before forcibly retiring 60 old TAX PAYERS from BIDC.

And the present dispute has nothing to do with not liking the government.