Submitted by Douglas

PM SAYS A NEW RESPONSE IS NEEDED TO WHAT HE CALLS “NEW TRADE UNIONISM”

NUPW BLP

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart is questioning the union’s position on escalating industrial industrial action even though the matter has been referred to the courts.[โ€ฆ]

Mr.Stuart has explained that the application before the court is not a regular application.  Mr Stuart says what is more concerning is that the BIDC has made certain reasonable commitments –

These include paying all entitlements if the courts determine the retirement exercise has been wrongful. Also to pay the retirees up until September and suspending the retirement orders. He added that the corporation is also willing to pay the workers up until December if need be. According to the prime minister the union is not allowing for the established processes to be completed. The Prime Minister also hinted that there are certain powers and procedures of parliament available to the government under Section 48 of the constitution. These speak to parliament making laws for peace, order and good governance of Barbados.

Prime Minister Stuart on NUPW strike action

335 responses to “Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart Breaks His Silence on NUPW BIDC Matter”

1. @businessman July 14, 2015 at 2:02 PM Sometimes when I hear McDonald [McDowall] and co it sounds as if they want to be politicians and run the government. that is not their role…

And why not?

Don’t you know that both the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party were born out of the womb, and nursed at the breast of the trade union movement?

2. @businessman July 14, 2015 at 2:23 PM “I am not giving the PM a passing grade on this or anything so i dont get your point. A statutory corporation BIDC made a decision to retire some employees at 60, how is this now a general government policy?”

Because if you give the government an inch, they will very likely take a mile.

3. @Artaxerxes July 14, 2015 at 3:08 PM “We presently have the largest cabinet in the history of Barbados, inflated by number of DLP candidates who either lost their seat or failed to attain one during the last general elections. Such as Patrick Todd, Irene Sandiford-Garner, Esther Byer, Jepter Ince, Harcourt Husbands, with Haynesley Benn being appointed as the diplomatic representative to Canada and George Huston a board member of the newly established NLICO.

Why can’t we send home Patrick Todd, Irene Sandiford-Garner, Esther Byer, Jepter Ince, Harcourt Husbands and Haynesley Benn? Some of these people are over 60 and a good number of them have been feeding at the public trough for way too long anyhow. The money saved by sending them home could be used to pay the maids and messengers being sent home from BIDC.

4. @Liam Massy July 14, 2015 at 3:29 PM “I donโ€™t see what the issue is. None of these people have age 65 or 67 put down”

So does Freundel Stuart have 65 or 67 put down?

So why can’t he send himself home?

5. @lawson July 14, 2015 at 3:39 PM “mandatory retirement of firefighters in Ontario is 60.

So what is the mandatory retirement age for other Ontario workers?

Is it not true that Ontario has no mandatory retirement age for most workers?

6. “However, Dr Byer took issue with the NUPWโ€™s statement that the ten contentious letters had been withdrawn, saying it was not the correct language to use.

Instead, she suggested it would be more appropriate to say โ€œthe BIDC offered not to act on the lettersโ€…

Mark my words and remember this statement,…

The Unions have won a small battle but continue to lose the overall war. Government has once again wriggled out and will continue to get its way.

Just observing

7. @Liam Massy July 14, 2015 at 4:29 PM “Like Hitler, and Germany”

You wicked person. Why do you insist in likening the Barbados Workers Union and the National Union of Public Workers to Nazi Germany?

8. It is a pity for us Bajans that we never understood the true legacy of slavery. For if we were wise men we would surely have chosen a different path in our development since 1966. We have effectively disenfranchised ourselves for the limited sum of thirty pieces of silver.

What will future generations say of those who allowed this treachery to take place?

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/jul/12/british-history-slavery-buried-scale-revealed

https://www.ucl.ac.uk/lbs/

9. @Hants July 14, 2015 at 9:41 PM “Who will get fired or resign from BIDC ? CEO, CFO, or COO.”

Hants, this is Barbados. Nobody will resign. Nobody will b fired.

10. @businessman

Last in first out is what was agreed out of the process of engagement, this is the point. The government and the union always have the opportunity through engagement to change the expectation read move to a meritocratic system.

11. Wait, I missed the news. I was busy reading the PM’s diatribe in the Nation and crying for my country. You’re telling me that he has, temporarily at least, given in to the rapists? Guess the rapists wouldn’t take no for an answer. LOL

12. are-we-there-yet Avatar

There is a larger point here coming out of the PM’s diatribe the day before his Ministers gave in to the just demands of the Union, but in a way that saved face.

The PM is not in charge of this cabinet or this country. He is just a figurehead.

If he had any power would his Ministers have gone diametrically against what he implicitly stated in such harsh language just one day before they did the correct thing?

If he had power would they not have feared the repercussions of taking that chance?

If he had power would he have allowed some of his ministers to get involved in the dirty Cahill affair?

I think an ugly thing is going on in Government today in Barbados. I think that the PM is PM in name only and that his Ministers know this and are individually acting to suit. His mien in his rant 2 days ago and the solution of the grave Union problem yesterday appear to connote a story that only a Psychologist could unravel.

There is no control besides what Donville Inniss and perhaps a few other individuals are almost singlehandedly and surreptitiously bringing to the table.

13. @ businessman
    Well Bush tea maybe I am part of the problem. I run a business to make profits. I have found that the best way to do that is to provide an excellent product at a fair (pir) price, be fair to my workers and abide by the laws.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Not YOU necessarily, …but your ilk is a MAJOR part of the problem.

Not because there is anything dishonourable about business, but because GREED and financial clout never makes good bedfellows. Your contributions here give lie to your above statement about “being fair to your workers and abiding by the laws”.

In the first place, these ‘workers’ are FULL FLEDGE HUMAN BEINGS just like you…some even more intelligent, hardworking, ….more HUMAN that you are… They are not just ‘workers’ (slaves) who are on earth for your service and pleasure.
    Also, the ‘Laws’ of which you speak were largely contrived by those of YOUR ilk….with the primary aim of providing a playing field that suits and facilitates your greed.

In the second place….even within the above context, the current case is EXACTLY about FAIR treatment to the ‘slaves’ AND about abiding by the damn LAW.
    Shiite man…. you mean that even the biased law that wunna write is too much to be observed when it suits wunna purpose?

Bushie HAS to pity wunna people who worship wunna money to this extent…that it comes BEFORE even the very principles that you espoused above…
    It gotta hurt wunna BAD when the grim reaper appears….

The Bushman will say a prayer for you, Lawson and Money B ….although bushie does NOT hold out much hope of any change…. wunna like the $$$$ too much.

14. “mandatory retirement of firefighters in Ontario is 60, as time goes by the citizens are not getting the service they deserve it is a young mans game.”

My friend, that may be government policy in Ontario but here in Barbados MANDATORY RETIREMENT FOR PERSONS WORKING IN THE PUBLIC SERVICE AND STATUTORY BOARDS IS PRESENTLY 65 AND WILL MOVE TO 67 BY 2018 ACCORDING TO ORDER NO 3- PENSIONS (MISCELLANEOUS) PROVISIONS BILL, 2004.WHCH WAS READ THREE TIMES IN THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY AND PASSED AT 2.05 PM ON DECEMBER 14, 2004 ON A MOTION BT THE HONOURABLE MISS M.A MOTTLEY AND SECONDED BY THE HONOURABLE R.R FARLEY. (YOU UNDERSTAND NOW)

IN ADDITION, FOR CLARITY AND THOSE WHOSE HAVE DOUBTS ABOUT THE INTERPRETATION OF THE INTENTION OF THE LAWS GOVERNING PENSIONS IN THE PUBLIC SERVICE AND TO EMBELLISH MR CASWELL FRANKLYN’S EXPOSE OF THE ISSUE IN HIS SUNDAY COLUMN- HERE ARE EXCERPTS FOR YOUR DIGESTION OF WHAT THE MOVER OF THE LAW MISS M.A. MOTTLEY AND AC PLEASE, PLEASE TAKE NOTE HAD TO SAY IN THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY ON DECEMBER 14 2004 :

” MR SPEAKER, THIS AMENDMENT BEFORE THE HOUSE TODAY SEEKS TO DO THE SIMPLE THING OF AMENDING OUR PENSIONS ACT SUCH THAT WE REMOVE THE COMPULSORY RETIREMENT AGE FOR PUBLIC SERVANTS FROM 60 YEARS OLD TO 65 YEARS OLD’.

AT 10.35 AM IN THE COURSE OF HER SPEECH SHE SAID-
    ” MR SPEAKER, THAT COMMITTEE RECOMMENDED THAT THE RETIREMENT AGE AT WHICH PENSION BECOMES PAYABLE IN BARBADOS SHOULD BE HARMONISED WITH THE RETIREMENT AGE AT WHICH PENSION IS PAYABLE UNDER THE NATIONAL INSURANCE AND SOCIAL SECURITY SCHEMES OF BARBADOS”.

” I WANT TO REPEAT THAT POINT BECAUSE WHAT WE ARE SEEKING TO DO NOW IS TO TAKE TWO SEPARATE PENSION ARRANGEMENTS AND ENSURE THAT THERE IS A HARMONISATION OF THE PENSION RIGHTS AND ARRANGEMENTS THERETO. THE RETIREMENT AGE AT WHICH PENSION BECOMES PAYABLE UNDER THE PUBLIC SERVICE OF BARBADOS SHOULD HARMONISED AT THE RETIREMENT AGE AT WHICH IT BECOMES PAYABLE UNDER THE NATIONAL INSURANCE AND SOCIAL SCHEME.”

“I DO NOT THINK THAT I KNOW MANY PEOPLE MR SPEAKER WHO AT THE AGE OF 60 STOP WORKING COMPLETELY , UNLESS THERE IS A MEDICAL CONDITION OR UNLESS THEY ARE ALLERGIC TO WORK- AND THEY ARE A FEW OF THOSE-”

” THE REALITY IS , MR SPEAKER, MOST PEOPLE AT 60 ARE CAPABLE OF CONTINUING WORK. THEREFORE, IT IS INCUMBENT UPON US TO BE ABLE TO CHANGE THE LEGISLATIVE AND POLICY FRAMEWORK THAT CURRENTLY NOW PROHIBITS THOSE PERSONS FROM BEING ABLE TO CONTINUE IN THE SERVICE”

THE OPERATIVE WORDS IN THIS ISSUE ARE ‘ PENSION BECOMES PAYABLE” AND NOT “RETIREMENT AGE” AND NO COURT OF LAW CAN DE-INTERPRET THE INTENTIONS OF THE MOVER OF THE BILL AND BY EXTENTION HAVING BEEN PASSED THE INTENTIONS OF PARLIAMENT.

15. The PM talking shiite โ€˜bout he HEAR the union plans to shut down the country to affect crop over. I believe he mentioned that just to evoke emotions from DLP sympathizers.

Just like how Sinckler said he HEAR that members of the police special branch HEAR two men โ€œformulating plansโ€ to shoot him.

16. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

So, once again what I typed here six years ago has been proven. Fumble is hiding under his desk day-by-day with no contact with, or authority over, his cabinet. He crawled out for one ‘damn the torpedoes’ statement against the unions (humourously described in the press as ‘noise’) and will now crawl back under his desk to hide from reality and dream of being king once again while his ministers run amok. What a joke we have become; ‘Firm craftsmen of our fate’ rings farcical.

17. After all the shiite that the DLP yard-fowls wrote on BU about Akanni McDowall, the NUPW has won the battle.

Douglas and the ACs were all โ€œjumping up and hollering fuh murderโ€ at the PM talking shiite, saying he is a good lawyer and how he gine follow the LAW.

And guess what? THERE WILL BE NO COURT CASE.

By rescinding of those letters the government is basically admitting they were not following the law.

Barbados Today, July 14, 2015:

The Barbados Investment and Development Corporation (BIDC) has withdrawn the dismissal letters issued to ten employees over age 60 following the latest round of talks today with the sub-committee of the Social Partnership.
    General Secretary of the Barbados Workers Union (BWU) Toni Moore, made the announcement at a press conference a short while ago.

The employeesโ€™ representative, the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) had been pressing for the withdrawal since the workers were dismissed last month.

Last Monday the NUPW held a protest march against the BIDCโ€™s decision, and later in the week called on workers of the Sanitation Service Authority to stay off the job and not collect garbage or conduct burials.
    The union had also threatened a national shut down tomorrow if their demands were not met.

Moore described todayโ€™s withdrawal as a victory for workers.

CLARKE and MALONEY GONE…………. LIVE and DEAL WITH IT!!!!!

18. @ Artax
    In all fairness though, Stinkliar MAY have been correct in respect of the two men talking ’bout “shooting” him.
    If you know Bajans well, …especially those who frequent rum shops (almost all) it is not unlikely that HUNDREDS of persons would have made references to such actions in his regard…especially after the shiite tax episode….
    as in…. “Man you ain’t know he want shooting / killing/ beating / drowning / burning”

The problem of course is that unlike the usual cases when such utterances are made, (often towards friends and family) Stinkliar may have worried that such action may have been justified in his case…

19. The Prime Minister having carried out his social experiment, all to the damage of the economy and industrial relations, has decided it was a battle he could not win and therefore sent Donville and the girlfriend to get BIDC to structured climb down against the Unions.

20. Perhaps it was a retreat by both sides.

21. I mentioned in another post inter alia “This whole issue pertaining to an interpretation regarding Section 8 of the Statutory Boards Pension Act could have possibly be an oversight where at the time employees were receiving pension at age 60”. How can you force retirement before the legal time. The Union was totally correct with this one.
    I feel the PM should apologise to the Nation regarding the unjust language he used against the two Union Leaders. The diatribe he uttered could have been used to settle the conflict between BIDC and the unions. But again, Donville the smart dealt an “Animal Farm act” and averted a shutdown.
    From now on, I give full permission for the PM to continue sleeping, since once awake he knoweth not what he speak.

22. are-we-there-yet Avatar

This Island is riding on automatic without a rudder with all the ministers brekkin fuh demselves.

The escalation, and then the peculiar unfolding of the BIDC-NUPW debacle, is enough to make the case and when we add the evident Cahill infelicities, the reaction to the Speaker’s with holding of the old gentleman’s money for years, the CLICO situation, the eager 11 situation, etc. etc., it should become clear that this administration is a far-out outlier in the history of all former administrations in Barbados.

I think the various incidences above can all be traced to leadership or rather lack thereof.

I think that it should now be clear that FS has no control over his Cabinet. The members know that they can do ANYTHING that they like with impunity. That is why two of them could save the face of the Government temporarily yesterday by doing the right thing that totally contrasted with what their leader clearly and muscularly stated.

Does anyone of the BU family really think that FS, after he gave his diatribe two days ago, would have willingly agreed beforehand for his ministers to approve a solution that went diametrically against all that he had said and actually concretize the very negative image he had portrayed for all to see? Those Ministers either knew that he was actually toothless or that there was a 100% possibility that he COULD not veto their actions.

We in a serious bind as many more decisions that require strong, sensible, reasonable and firm leadership are required to pull Barbados up from the hole we are now in. FS and a broken Cabinet seems to be incapable of improving the situation.

23. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David; re. your 8:53 am post;

Where did the Unions retreat? Which basic demands did they give up?
    I think the Union’s victory was complete in all substantive matters.

24. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

Guy Fox, Fumble can’t send Donville anywhere. Donville rescued the DLP gov’t despite Fumble to sustain the illusion that there is governance in this country.

25. By NOW everyone must AGREE, and understand why Fumbles must (should) keep his mouth CLOSED in future. The man is a liability.If not for his unsavory barrage of nonsense and talking shoite about choke n rob, Akanni et al would still be sweating bullets.

26. There seems to be some confusion as to what was agreed yesterday among the Parties of the Social Partnership.Now there are those who would say it’s in the interest of the labour component of the meeting to give an impression that’s favorable to their cause.The unions have agreed that their interpretation is that a position of status quo ante has been arrived at and that everything is back on the table,going forward.
    A caller to David Ellis moderating Brasstacks today seem to think that there are views or interpretations other than the unions’.To avoid this happening again,there should be an agreed Press Statement issued by the secretary of the subcommittee.

27. Breaking news

The NUPW has just disclosed that not all the BIDC 10 ‘over 60’s’ want back their jobs ‘
    So who were these 10 BIDC workers the unions were fighting for?

28. The resolution was in the favour if the country but as for the intrepretation of law that seems to have been put on the back burner and if all interested parties agreed to put country first that is ok too. so those who still continue to politicize and polarize it might be in their best interest to recognize that the conscience of the nation took root at the table and was the final arbitrator in the decision making. Not politics or rabble rousing

@prodigal and you know what that is the kind of crow i like to eat so keep serving and double top the servings..oh title the menu Country First

29. @Are-we-there-yet

Please access a recent statement issued by the MoL. This matter between the BIDC and union is still flaming.

30. Fractured BLP Avatar

Breaking news

It appears quite clearly that the trade unions are hoodwinking their members into believing they were given an accurate report of what transpired at the Social Partnership sub committee meeting yesterday.

31. @David,

I listened to VoB929 news at 12.30 and was surprised that McDowell did not know how many of the “10” did not want to return to work at BIDC.

Anyone else heard that?

32. Bustopher Jones Avatar
    Bustopher Jones

But who is to say what was agreed? If the unions were reasonably under a mistaken impression as to the terms of the offer by the BIDC, then there might have been NO agreement at all!

33. Will those workers who refuse to return to work be breaking their employment contract ?

34. Fractured BLP Avatar

I heard it too Hants.

Check my earlier posting above @ 12:55pm

Do not ask David…….such shocking disclosures never suits David divisive agenda!

Check out his posting above at 1:03 pm

35. Fractured BLP Avatar

But what can fellow BU readers expect …….’ In Royal David’ s city….. ‘

36. Well, well, well. How can this man of superior intellect keep us of lesser intelligence happy? We criticize him for not communicating with the masses yet when he come down from Mt Olympus to walk among us the unwashed and ignorant, he is further criticized for speaking above our means.

Take my advice old fellow (he is a senior citizen, you know) and do as a wise old sage once advised: Better to keep quiet and let them think you a fool than speak and prove them right. If the purpose of higher education renders one incapable of communicating with all and sundry, then let me be ignorant.

Next time you see the wise one on GIS (aka CBC) attempting to answer a simple question, watch his facial expression and you can almost hear the gears engage as he struggles to translate his complex thought processes into simple language for we humble folk. Don’t forget Dr Don Blackman, one of the worst communicators this country or any for that matter, has ever seen. His motto must have been “Why use two simple words when six complicated ones would do”? Yet the uneducated love him even though they did not understand a word he said. This method of management is know as the “Mushroom Method” – keep them in the dark and feed them BS.

37. @Fractured BLP,

I am a supporter of “David” and “BU”.

I am also a supporter of the “legacy”DLP” but the current regime is extremely difficult to defend in some cases.

38. “Why is it wrong for government to force workers to retire before their attained the prescribed age of retirement? Where are your facts which speaks to the contrary?”

The law Sir, the Law which the same seemingly duncy set of lawmakers are trumpeting to justify their case.

39. Fractured BLP Avatar

Hants

I support all of your above as well……..except……the, at times, the divisive David !!!!

40. Are unionised workers allowed to accept a termination of employment without consulting with their Union ?

41. Fractured BLP Avatar

Let’s recap some of the events on this BIDC matter:

BIDC. decides to retrench 10 BIDC workers who are over 60 years old.
    BIDC paid them their due entitlements everyone of the 10 cashed their cheques and moved on.
    The trade unions cried foul…..and marched for thes 10 st BIDC to be reinstated.
    PM Stuart among other comments ssid on Monday that he, ‘ deliberately stayed out of it so that Barbadians can see what this ‘protest’ was about’.
    Lo and behold the NUPW on July 15 2015, publicly declares that some of the BIDC do want their job back !

A disclosure from the NUPW that comes in the same day of a planned national….SHUTDOWN of the country! !!

42. @Hants

The workers have been paid to September / December however the agreement is for them to not physically enter BIDC until the dispute is resolved.

43. Somebody just told me that our PM, in Bajan parlance, does wake up foolish. Ha, ha!

44. @ Donna

โ€œThe resolution was in the favour if the country but as for the intrepretation of law that seems to have been put on the back burner and if all interested parties agreed to put country first that is ok too.โ€

What I tell you? These jokers will quote from Esther Byer and write about putting country first. They just wonโ€™t admit they got it wrong this time.

45. The broader picture here does not have anything to do with those BIDC workers who do not want to return to work, but with ALL employees of statutory and quasi government departments.

Because of the actions of the trade unions, the BRA, CBC, QEH and other stautory corporations that were set to forcibly retire workers at 60 years of age, now have to shelve those letters.

46. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

LOL, Donna there really is no problem ‘waking up foolish’. I mean sometimes we does get up foolishy-follishy because we a tad disoriented initially: bad dream, spouse snore all night, room hot, bare unrest in country. All sorts of reasons.

The problem is remaining foolishy-follishy the whole day even after a refreshing bath and a good breakfast!

Now that is trouble. LOL.

47. I am a bit disappointed with the unions response to the withdrawal of the termination letters.The immature and childish remarks – victory for the unions were totally UN-called for. I believe a more subdued and rational statement could have been issued.
    Nevertheless I am happy that the impasse has finally been settled.I am also satisfied that Prime Minister Freundel Stuart,Donville Inniss and the rest of the government had to concede defeat. I hope this defeat would allow the government to reflect on its performance to date and its interaction or lack thereof with the public. This government needs to be more humble.
    Wrong is wrong and no government has the right to discriminate against any worker because of the worker’s age.The government tried to practice age discrimination.
    I understand the government reasons for seeking to retire those over sixty workers. I am of the firm view that opportunities must be sought for our young people to contribute to the continued development of this country.But this should not be done in a way to cause other segments in the workforce to be at a disadvantage.
    The government should have had dialogue with the general public of Barbados as well as those being retrenched so as to make it abundantly clear of its intentions.Barbadians workers are not stupid. Simple reasoning with the people of Barbados would have negate many of the problems this government encountered in carrying out its policies.However,the contemptuous,arrogant & stupidity of Freundel Stuart would not allowed that poor excuse of a leader to operate in such a manner.
    Prime Minister Freundel Stuart is a major disappointment.Nevertheless,I am a still a loyal supporter and the party will always have my unwavering support when it is doing the right thing.
    Never will I ever support the despicable Barbados Labour Party.

48. It should have been however,the contemptuousness,arrogance and stupidity of Freundel Stuart would not allowed that poor excuse of a leader to operate in such a manner.

49. What a mess!!!

IN A NEW TWIST, Minister of Labour Senator Dr Esther Byer says the islandโ€™s two trade unions have misrepresented the offer which was put on the table yesterday. – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/69931/byer-unions-misrepresented-offer#sthash.FCGSemjl.dpuf

50. Why couldn’t they agree to issue a joint statement and move on? All the chatter, gloating on both sides for political gain.