Sandra Husbands
Submitted by Sandra Husbands

Barbados it is time for something new. Of what use for Barbados to shift from DLP to BLP to DLP and back again unless this time it brings forth new models and new attitudes. I want to congratulate Grenville in taking action, to move beyond apathy to making a difference in forming a third party – [see link]. However is this sufficient to do the job?

Is that new shift enough, when the thinking and conditions which formed our political and social culture are still carried in the minds, actions, attitudes and expectations of the people, unconsciously feeding and inviting the inequities and corruption in our land.

What is it in our Barbadian nature which unconsciously cements these conditions? One element of our nature is loyalty but it is a blind loyalty, like fruit that is overripe, it spoils, not because it is intrinsically evil but excess ferments its own penalty – harbouring mediocrity, tolerating disrespect, neglect and abuse to the impoverishment of our very lives until we are emptied. Loyalty must be buttressed with integrity so we do not do damage to our intelligence to excuse the unacceptable. Time for something new.

Citizens must no longer surrender to a political party or a ‘supreme leader’ so they can sleep between elections, stay away from the polls when vexed, vote from habit or put their vote out for sale. We are building a society, which is not the sole responsibility of the few but rather that the elected few facilitate and promote the wider engagement of citizens in the process of our governance for collective economic and social prosperity. Citizens need to be informed, ask the questions, contribute to the discourse and not fear the contention of ideas. Then and only then will political parties be pressured to censure themselves, because the only way to get elected is to meet the standard desired, demanded, and defended by engaged citizens. Less than this, citizens signal, ‘if you buy me a drink’, come to my house, flatter me with political attention, make me brek my sides wid’  laughter at a political meeting, I will vote for you. The new message to political parties will be insistence on knowing the policies and how will it be achieved (read the manifestos, your binding contract and discuss these when we canvass you). The citizen’s message must be clear –‘we will lock you up if you mess with our money, and recall you if you are beyond ridiculous, and we will be heard and consulted on what is being done every year. You will not be given our gov’t because it is your turn’. It is time for something new.

Organs, structures and powers which allow this active civil engagement must be developed. It will require constitutional changes. To start the conversation, one change I will proffer is constituency councils, will become parish councils, with elected officials from churches, social groups, PTA’s, clubs, associations where there is lively and responsible engagement and information. New action groups can be formed around socio-economic issues and be part of the councils. Citizens views about policy and projects can be factored into the governance process. The parish councils will be represented at the social partnership. New administrations will not be allowed to unravel previous projects which flowed from the collective agreement of the people without their input. New administrations will perform the next installment to further project advancement, and bring new ideas and projects to the table. Should the Auditor General and PAC report to the social partnership? Should an expanded social partnership if there was no justification for inaction on matters arising from the Auditor –General’s report or PAC, be vested with the power of the recall? Members of the social partnership will be changed on a rotation basis to bring in new engagement and hold experience to make our collective strong so the necessary repairs and oversight needed by any political system occurs. TIME FOR SOMETHING NEW. But new structures, powers and procedures of whatever form they take will mean nothing until our citizens think differently about themselves and engage their politics differently. Maybe this is why this period of hardship, the uncovering of the depths of vice which permeates our political and economic structures; the inefficiencies of our systems and the barrenness of our current leaders is God’s indirect gift to us. It shakes the blind loyalty, dissipates the lethargy, breaks the fear to give us the space to have TIME FOR SOMETHING NEW.

150 responses to “Time for Something New”

1. I have read your post and your replies and have to admit to being mightily underwhelmed. The system which you are embedded to is beyond reforming. Can you not see that?

So long as our country shows an unwillingness to imprison and sanction those Bajan citizens who have looted from the country’s coffers then you must be prepared for the status quo to remain firmly in place.

Our society requires good people like yourself and politicians from all parties to incriminate their colleagues, business associates and lobbyists in a court of law. Justice needs to be served. The masses must be appeased. If we could achieve this goal then all would be possible in Barbados.

2. Prodigal

You are one who was praising the young union leader but now here is a young woman who seems to be very clear in her thoughts from listening to her from the time she started as a moderator. She is fair and balance as you can get in Barbados. It is person like her who I want to step up in a new party, Andrew Pilgrim is another, the guy that feeds the homeless, Corey Layne should also forget about the two established parties and join. They are both tainted to Barbados any further

3. @ Bush Tea July 8, 2015 at 4:01 PM ,

I agree with your comments. However I’m reluctant to do a hatchet job on my Negro sister. I applaud her for having the courage to raise her head above the parapet. However she should understand that there will be very few people on this forum who will have the courage to come out and thrash her views.

Here is the good lady in action: http://caribbeanelections.com/bb/bb_elections_2013/candidates_2013/Sandra_Husbands.asp

4. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

Bushie, did you study for your PhD in Developmental and Cognitive Psychology before you completed your studies in Accountancy, Maths and Theology or was that later?

You are beyond equal with your well placed nuggets of information. After a strong and reasoned whacking of Ms Husbands you coolly deployed the piece de resistance to put us all on notice: “The REAL problem is that you are a good friend of the bushman…
    ..and a nice-ass person too boot…”

So if you could manhandle this friend, who can’t you whack. Is that it?

Funny enough anyone who reads you knows that well enough already and you really didn’t need to advise Husbands of that here, so …!

And of course you are right the lady started a whole lotta big words and much gobbly-gook after an originally nicely crafted piece, ” But new structures, powers and procedures of whatever form they take will mean nothing until our citizens think differently about themselves and engage their politics differently. ” Beautifully and crisply stated.

She was even waxing from the pulpit as you do with” … the inefficiencies of our systems and the barrenness of our current leaders is God’s indirect gift to us.”

We gotta love you and your whacker, fah real! LOLL.

5. @ Bushie,

You are very wise……sometimes.

Your “good friend” calling for “NEW” almost fooled me. I didn’t know she was a BLP candidate.

My only knowledge of her related to her being a business-woman.

Now I gone googlin and discoverin.

Hopefully she will abandom the BLP an hook up with G P 2 Solutions.

6. Mr Bush Tea,

I endorse what you are saying 100%, I too know Sandra passingly and was wondering when I started reading her blog, where she was going with it.

First breath – congratulations to Grenville for his foray into the political melee

Second breath – A brilliant spiel about self actuation of the average bajan and “the fault lying not in our stars but in ourselves that we are underlings”

But then the Third Breath – at 2.08 a.m. having breathed twice, Sandra shows without any doubt that breath one and two were just “hot air blown up the proverbial nether regions of the astute reader” (no play on the word ASS-tute intended) when she states “Let me be clear, ANOTHER (political) PARTY IS NOT THE ANSWER”

So much for congratulating Grenville the 2nd!!

And with that Mr. Bush Tea you, me and Sampoochie and the Devil “clearly” see the mindset in, AND THE FEAR AMONG, those that are on either side of the political divide and those who feel themselves as “inheritors of these fields and hills beyond recall that we are foolish to beieive that we can call our very own…”

Those words are plagiarisms from that waste of time National Anthem which our (black) schoolchildren intone every day, by the way is that Magna Carta or “we-have-carved-up-the-world-and-left-you-as-drawers-of-water-charter” still here in Barbados? The first act of Repatriation would be to burn it.

I patented a bit of software in 2004 called the Electoral Campaign Management System which a certain local software developer sought to steal, his father was a senator. Anyways, it would appear that this theft of Intellectual Property is a bane of mine. I seem always to be encountering thieves along this pathway of Life lol (almost said Pathway to progress)

It was then quite a rudimentary tool (much changed now) one which when I spoke to Mia and told her what the results of the 2007 election would have been late in 2006 in Chapel Gap she remarked that it was incorrect. Time of course proved that it was one seat out.

What the ECMS is predicting is that the current environment WILL permit a third party rather INDIVIDUALS OF CHARACTER and competencies, to run in 2018!! irrespective of what the political pundits are saying.

Not only can a “new stock of persons” run for the House of Parliament BUT WITH THE RIGHT MESSAGE, AND DELIVERY – CONTENT & DEMONSTRATION OF INTENT (that last statement is an oxymoron) they, individually and collectively, can win!!

This is the fear that BOTH political parties have, as well they should, for if they were to listen in the trenches of this country, one which has disenfranchised so many of us, in different ways, they will hear “the drums of seething discontent” which beat to a pulsing cadence, a beat that like Gabby’s “Boots” marches to the polls and will bring “absolute dislocation”

So Sandra it is ok to promote this message of one party

Oh, Mr. Bush Tea, I am sorry that I can’t do the nom de plume thing. The fact is that, neither of them, not the ones who were to implemented my border crossing solution with its passport swiping at Grantley Adams, I notice that they are now doing “its CheckPoint Charlie” module nor the other ones, the ones who met with me at OPAs, and at Tweedside Road, on their birthdays, to state “how unjust it was for a Bajan to have his property stolen without recourse”, neither of the groups have any use for me.

So since I only fear Him who having given the first death can also deliver the second death, I am not using the Nom de Plume route….

7. sorry Reparations not repatriations

8. Donna

I think we can all agree that the system is actually broken, and that there is obviously a pressing need to address this very important concern. I do not believe however, that the psychological barrier which is interwoven with the two political parties in Barbados needs to be broken in order for there to be a collective clairvoyance. I do believe and still hold that when most Barbadians go to the polls, that their vote their conscience rather than party partisanship. By say the their a need to uproot this conformity to party, it to say that most Barbadians are without the intellectual capacity to vote for what their believe and stand for. Don’t underestimate the collective thinking apparatus of the masses because their do understand and are cognizant of the difference.

9. Look lady ignore bush shite recently he has been promoted to being top Dawg of the BU classroom now being referred to as Deputy Dawg///// for all his long talk he has yet to stand out in a crowd as a contributor to do any thing worth while well except being here on BU where he can flex his muscle and spout his crap…This Guy cannot even managed his own blog, but got all the answers to the worlds problem. go get a close and personnel look at his blog called Bush tea at large (that is) if it is still activated …Deputy Dawg has all the answer to the nations problem but as yet to step in the arena of politics and show anyone what he can do to make the country better just ignore his sh,te talk he is doing what he knows best to do and that is to criticize and bully people well except ac who does not give two flying “”””’about what he has to say, this guy only claim to fame is that of being associated and having no problem with dictators like Sadaam Heusein ,,Castro and the deceased Chavez,, That says it all about this gully boar who believes that when he comes on BU all must bow and agree with him or else they would be castrated .nobody dares tell this imbecile he is wrong look just ignore the hypocritical ole boar .. and besides with friends like him who needs enemies,
    Any body who have the guts to step on the political landscape and usher in a New era has my respect unlike the talking heads who get on BU and criticize day and night and got not one “”””” to offer, but always looking for something in return. much respect to those who would light the way ,
    one can bet their last dollar that creeps like Deupty Dawg has lost his way and nobody in their right mind would ever follow any one or anything he endorses e,g BUP yes that political rag muh tag idea of his that has been in the early stages of beginning ever since Adam was a lad another one of his pea brain political child ,,,enuff said…
    Lady do what you have to do the fight is not for the swift but to those who endure till the end .At least you have stepped up to the plate and not cower behind a moniker and criticize.indeed it takes guts and intestinal fortitude much of what is missing in the BU classroom where everybody got the answers but None wants to stand face to face in front of the firing squad .

10. I have been wondering for some time who Dompey reminded me of. Now I know… Sarah Palin, equally incomprehensible.

Bush Tea I agree with you 100 %, as I usually do . Actually the only subject that I know we differ on is Caricom/CSME. But then again with the mess going on in the EU and Greece, I need to rethink my position, LOL.

11. Sandra Husbands Avatar
    Sandra Husbands

Hants, that is an excellent idea about worker participation. Staff have to shift from being wage-earners to shareholders, and this is really the natural progression to participation. Workers are not gong to be satisifed with a wage that causes them to fall behind in ‘making a living’. The extension of credit masks the fact that people are not improving in their wealth creation, but in purchasing consumer goods on credit that when payments are finished they have to replace the item again. I constantly discuss these issues with ‘my captive audience at workshops’ and about income versus salaries. Political participation will help as workers through the union and the councils can press for government to give priority where feasible, to companies which want to have gov’t contracts to offer shares to their workers or be listed on the stock exchange so more Barbadians participate in benefiting from their own tax dollars. But we must broaden and deepen investor education to encourage ordinary citizens. To me the underdevelopment of our stock market underscores the fact that if you secure opportunities for shares but if people do not change and rise to meet the new structures, the plan for greater engagement fails. In addition poor regulatory oversight of investment opportunities (Clico and other finance companies of recent and distant memory) dampens the growth of investment among ordinary Barbadians.

12. are-we-there-yet Avatar

I, like some others, was quite surprised to see this blog calling for something new penned by Sandra Husbands, a former candidate of the BLP.

Then I recognized that it was perhaps the first overt manifestation that members of the political class are seeing that the wicket has changed and that there is a possibility that the two top teams will be batting on a very sticky wicket whenever the new elections are called and especially so if Freundal waits until the very last possible date in 2018 to call it as is his trade mark modus operandi.

This blog could then be seen as an effort to test the reactions of the BU community at this stage (reactions that are possibly more honest and less likely to be self serving than one-to-one discussions with individuals) and to differentiate the writer from the others in her camp. I would not be surprised if there are others with similar thoughts waiting in the wings, not only BLP members but DLP ones as well. We will find out when things get appreciable rougher such as the rating agencies reports come out; the latest IMF report is released; more revelations come out in the Cahill affair; More people are sent home as the GoCB has to use other biting strategies to avoid defaulting on our loans, etc.

The DLP government has performed so abysmally in this term and has overseen such unheard of declines in the living standards of nearly every income group in Barbados that, given the current chaos in the International Financial community, there is very little likelihood that things will get appreciably better in the short or long run and therefore little likelihood that it (the DLP government) will retain a majority of seats. Similarly, It is possible that with some current members not likely to run again, and with other deep problems, the BLP might not be able to win an adequate majority to run the Government comfortably if new individuals and a credible new party throws its hat in the ling within the next few months. In addition, there is also the possibility that there might be some defections from both the DLP and BLP as current younger members see the possibility of defeat of their party staring them in the face.

I however tend to agree with the commentators who suggest that a new party is unlikely to win the Government in 2016 or earlier. But, I think it is highly likely, because of the widespread disaffection of the Barbados people with the DLP and to a lesser extent with the BLP, that a new party could win the balance of power and force a formal or informal coalition that would actually control the government.

I agree with Sandra Husbands, something new is urgently needed!

13. Hamilton Hill Avatar

If lady luck were to shine her glowing light upon this country right now and this admiinistration collapsed, where would the writer of this piece find herself? Would she boldly stand up and denounce the deeply entrenched policies of the political party to which she is attached? Would she jump at the chance of a lifetime, since winning a seat would be nothing more than a mere formality? I’m just asking since I find that the mindset of selfishness is as prevalent as rum shops or churches are in Barbados. Politicians understand this very well and continue to exploit it to the max.For the last five days I have traversed the lengths of this land, and I am astounded at the fact that there are still so many voices of defense for the system now inplace. Even though we have gone from one to the other time and again with the same result , seems to me that we have not gotten it. The political class continues to ride us like jack asses.We need a group that is willing to stand up and say no more. Today’s mindset needs to be changed. FROM MENDICANCY TO MILITANCY.

14. @ Sandra
    “Hants that is an excellent idea about worker participation. Staff have to shift from being wage-earners to shareholders, and this is really the natural progression to participation.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Is this one of the NEW ideas then?
    Who will ‘give’ these shares to staff?
    Once they have the shares…. what will it mean? wunna know of course that MAJORITY shareholders run things…?

So….Nice talk – but totally IMPRACTICAL.

On the OTHER hand, COOPERATIVES (particularly Credit Unions) have been the single most successful area of business in Barbados in the last 30 years. Almost all BAJANS are shareholders. They have been profitable, growing, fostering ENFRANCHISEMENT, and have suffered MINIMAL levels of thievery and bribery (except for a few notable forays by known political operatives) and are 100% Bajan operated and managed.

Why reinvent the wheel…?

Why not adopt the Cooperative model for the new party as the NEW business model for the management of Barbadian politics?

Bushie would support Oriel Doyle as Operating Manager and Caswell as Chairman of the National Supervisory Committee….

Why not…? 🙂

@ Dee Word
    “Bushie, did you study for your PhD in Developmental and Cognitive Psychology before you completed your studies in Accountancy, Maths and Theology or was that later?”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    LOL …you looking to make laughing sport at the Bushman now nuh?
    Man…Bushie’s area of study is “Whacking and advanced bush management”.

@ AC
    Bushie only started a Blog to walk in BU David’s shoes for a few steps….Why would Bushie need a cow when David got free milk here…? 🙂

15. St George's Dragon Avatar

Employee shareholding seems to work elsewhere in the world, so why not here?
    There are different ways it can work but generally your employer offers you shares in the company as a bonus, or in lieu of bonuses. You would get a greater value of shares than if you took the cash. You can sometimes buy shares out of earnings at a discounted rate.
    The benefit for the employee is the ability to make a bit extra (take the shares, keep them, earn a dividend, sell them if you want but get more by taking shares than straight cash). The benefit for the employer is that you can pay your employees something of value, but not drain your cash resources.
    The conventional view is that shareholding employees feel more part of the business and therefore contribute and enjoy their work more but in my view that is more to do with whether you are a control freak company owner or if you allow your employees to be part of and contribute to the business.

16. @ St George Dragon
    Ok the Company gets to keep monies that would otherwise have been paid to employees in cash as bonuses …and the employees get what…???!!
    … to buy shares in the company dictated by a boss and owner who can do what ever they wish with that money because they retain majority ownership?

Honestly … assume that Bushie was the boss … how much of YOUR salary would you be willing to invest (leave) in Bushie’s company?

Here is why Co-operatives are DIFFERENT…
    EVERYONE has the same voting influence, independent of the amount of money invested. The PERSON is valued as membership …not the capital.

Imagine the gardener and bushman having equal say as big shots like Money B…?? ha ha ha…sweet.

17. The social and political process involving the total and permanent REMOVAL of these intellectually and politically backward, bankrupt, and discredited DLP and BLP factions by the broad masses and middle classes of people of Barbados has long been set in motion and has now become ABSOLUTELY IRREVERSIBLE.

The same decadent and corrupt and anti-people development DLP and BLP factions have long become and are primarily about their fostering and securing of the personal, familial, cronistic, commercial, financial and foreign affairs interests of the principals of these despicable factions, as opposed to their having become – since the 80s – more and more primarily about the fostering and securing of the fundamental interests of the public, the people, the nation, the country of Barbados.

On a daily basis in Barbados, more and more people in this country are PROVING that the DLP and BLP are no longer qualified and fit to manage the political and governmental affairs of this land, fundamentally because they have been primarily using government to achieve non-remunerated financial goals and objectives for themselves and certain others and fundamentally because their primary role IS NOT SERVICE to the nation and people of Barbados.

For they have wickedly colluded in giving themselves pension arrangements that qualify themselves for pensions only after serving relatively short periods of time in Parliament – and periods that are far far shorter than the time the average person has to wait before they get NIS pensions. On this basis and this basis alone the DLP and BLP ought to have been totally removed from the Parliament of this country.

They have been primarily using government to make sure that many of their own party members and close associates get employment, business and commercial contracts from the government on corrupt and unfair and partisan political grounds. Look at the consultancy that former prime minister, Mr Owen Arthur, gave to one of his Press Aides, Vic Hinckson. Look what Mr Michael Lashley has been allegedly doing with regard to many members of his family and that in one case reportedly caused a problem at the Transport Board leading to the recent industrial action there. For these alleged reasons alone and these alleged  reasons alone the DLP and BLP should have been totally permanently removed from the parliament of this country.

Down with the Damned DLP and the  Blasted BLP.

18. On a related matter of change and what is requires, sometimes it takes an unplanned action to act as the catalyst:

South Carolina House Approves Bill To Remove Confederate Flag From Statehouse Grounds

AP Photo/John Bazemore

South Carolina House approves removing Confederate flag; banner could come down within days.

Read the whole story

19. “The sheep out of Darkness into to light, those are my question awaiting the response ,this is the second article talking about change and i am still in the dark as to where we are heading.”

Wuh, shiite, many of us are “still in the dark as to where we are heading” under this present DLP administration as well.

20. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

Oh David, if you scratch the surface of the Bajan existence we may find that SC and the confederate flag have very related comparisons to Barbados.

That part of US – and I never paid any close attention to this before – have some solid links re behaviours and history to us here. A lot of Bajans end up in NYC and the its environs but as a lke-for-like comparison the Carolinas are more conducive to the Bajan psyche.

We can ask, are there not in Bdos: vestiges of white supremacy despite the obvious advances and power (sharing) by blacks in politics and business; don’t blacks still work studiously for whites as domestics; didn’t (don’t) we still get instances of white racial harassment towards blacks on residential matters? Just three basics.

There is clearly no one blatant and provocative symbol of racial hatred as the confederate flag and Barbados did not have the deep rooted racial animus of lynching and other murderous acts but we certainly endured our own brand of suffering.

Amen for SC. Still a long way to go there.

These symbols go from the Statehouse and license plates and other public places to be hidden in the hearts and minds and private meetings rooms.

I fully endorse your remarks at “sometimes it takes an unplanned action to act as the catalyst”.

21. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

And David another inverse comparison. the Governor of the State of SC was on record, during her campaign for the Governorship, as offering support for the flag as a symbol of familial historical relevance rather than racial hatred.

That moment at the Mother Emanuel AME Church in Charleston on June 17 allowed her to definitively and resolutely refocus her opinions and support the removal of the flag.

In crass, impolitic,, gender offensive terms: she grew a pair.

What is it that will move Mr Stuart to show that level of leadership acumen and purpose in moving this country’s needs forward?

Regardless of what he waffled on before it’s time for him to grow a pair too.

I pray to God that he is not waiting for a deranged maniac with a cutlass or gun.

22. But Sandra is right. A new party is not the answer. It may only be part of the answer. Until the average Barbadian changes his attitude to politics and government the third party will not stand a chance. Besides, you know they say that power corrupts. When one experiences the reality of politics and government ideals tend to take a battering regardless of the individuals involved. Sometimes expediency takes over just in the interest of getting things done. And then the ideals are progressively eroded until the original party becomes unrecognisable. And so we need to ensure that we examine ourselves, educate and empower ourselves to be watchdogs of any government we elect. We cannot assume that the third party will not be allowed to degenerate the way the other two obviously have. So we need a new party AND we need to do what Sandra suggests. Why do we not allow for the fact that Sandra may be just as fed up with our situation as we are? Good God, Paul was killing the Christians right up until the day of his conversion!

23. @ DIW,

Nimrata Nikki Randhawa

24. NEW PARTY

page 7 of BarbadosToday.

Barbados now has a 3rd party that appears to be on the road to become a viable alternative to the DLP / BLP cartel.

25. are-we-there-yet Avatar

D Ingrunt Word;

You said; “What is it that will move Mr Stuart to show that level of leadership acumen and purpose in moving this country’s needs forward?”

I recall Lambie Craig saying at a political meeting that someone, I forgot who it was, should be arrested for impersonating a PM. Mr Stuart fills those shoes perfectly.

Donna; re your 8:12 am post. I think, fwliw, that you are totally spot on target. Sandra is not a typical politician but an empathetic, good, well meaning person and we do need a credible third party at this time.

26. SANDRA HUSBANDS Avatar
    SANDRA HUSBANDS

My training has taught me not to pussyfoot, find the root and kill it off. The power of sustained positive change lies in the active citizen exerting pressure in the correct way. They do not have to be dependent on the ‘niceness’ of their officials but rather have a system which insists that officials and structures must conform to serve their best interests. The citizen is the best protector of his interest when they act in concert. As David pointed out, South Carolina is a good example, where the people leaned in the other direction, and forced the existing system to change. I want to agree with Bush T and Dragon, that when people get skin in the game, they behave differently, and therefore act forcibly to protect their interest. For example such a thing in our neck of the woods, if workers have shares it would put a dent in our 400m price tag (impact of absenteeism in Barbados), because it could generate improvement in work attitudes and productivity. Again the education matters, because shareholders can pressure owners about share dividends etc. While not majority owning, the sudden withdrawal of even 10 -20% of a company may generate pressure on owners to keep shareholders quiet by doing the right thing. Doug Skeete has started seeking to educate along these lines, because our shareholders are passive about the issue of share dividends and investments.
    Cooperatives, especially to grow small businesses in the way Japan and Korea used them to build world class companies in automobiles and electronics, would overcome the limitations of small businesses. That was the path we were pursuing at SBA, but experience taught us that until people were educated about these matters and acted differently, cooperatives formal and informal fell short. We made progress at SBA but it was only on the matters that we invested the ‘education’ to change mindsets, that produced sustain fruit. Barbados needs this impetus for a new economy that benefits everyone, and perhaps this painful moment creates the best time when it is most possible.

27. @ Ms. Donna.

I am confused by your syllogism.

1) “but Sandra is right”
    2) “A new party is not the answer” leading to your conclusion that
    3) “It may only be part of the answer”

Sandra absolutely said that a new party WAS NOT THE ANSWER.

You first state that she is right and then add “part of the answer…how can can it be both?

I must admit that these “all men are human, all humans are mortal, therefore all men are mortal” high-level-deductive-reasoning exercises confuse me.

@ Mrs. Sandra Husbands

You said “Political participation will help as workers through the union and the councils can press for government to give priority….”

I had a deja vu of the Pathways to progress 60% /40% split of government contracts when i read that. I recall the late David Thompson flaoting that thought about in 2007. I also recall that said proposal was the outcome of a 2003 Review of the MicroEntrepreneurial Development agencies, commissioned by the then Prime Minister the Hon. Owen Arthur.

“More of the same, nothing has changed.”

Of course you did use a “disclaimer” when you uttered the words “where feasible”

Then the fairy tale went on with “to companies which want to have gov’t contracts to offer shares to their workers or be listed on the stock exchange so more Barbadians participate in benefiting from their own tax dollars.”

Sandra, I can attest that the clarity of thought, and resolve, of any descendant of Henson ensures that there is no error in your written words, Like your Dad YOU WOULD HAVE READ EVERY WORD THAT YOUR WRITE.

But I am lead to ask this question, do you believe what you write?

Some would say that “your objective was achieved nonetheless – misdirection regarding the absolute need for a third party”

Even Ms. Donna, who has had thrown down her gauntlet as many others who seek change in our situation, she quickly adopted your statement and, contrary to what you stated at 2.08 a.m. subsequently states “Sandra is right”

Ah “the power of persuasion while utilizing obscuration by writing”.

It seems true that if you commingle enough emotive reasoning with truths and semi truths, soon the lie is diluted out.

It becomes like the 10 most popular lies of all time “I’m Fine”, “I’m 5 Minutes Away” (haven’t even left home yet), “Let’s Keep in Touch” (I hope never to see you again) , “I Totally Forgot to Do That Thing You Asked Me to Do” (I remembered but no way Jose), “My Phone Died” (saw your # and refused to answer), “I’ve Been Swamped Lately” (don’t have time for you), “I’m Busy That Day” (and every day thereafter), “I Love It! hon” (usually said to wives and girlfriends trying on outrageous clothing) “Yeah, I’m Listening” (usually said to husbands and boyfriends sharing their exploits usually lies) and the final one “Oh Yeah, I Remember You” (usually said to …well i cant repeat that here)

28. @ Sandra Husbands,

Are you planning to work to”bring forth new models and new attitudes” from within the BLP ?

I live in Canada and Google is my friend.

29. Mr. Weekes,

Do you think you have a patent on intelligence? I am still willing to go forward with a new party. Wherever did you get the idea that she has managed to dissuade me from that path? What I said is that along with a new party we must equip ourselves to be ready in the event that this party should degenerate into the corruption now displayed by the two parties we now have.

Now, as I said before a new party is not THE answer. It may be only part of the answer. A change in attitude and behavior of the electorate is also necessary to effect LASTING CHANGE.

30. Talk is soooo easy….

Meanwhile…
    Credit Unions HAVE WORKED to produce OUTSTANDING results …even for Bajan Brass Bowls…over the past 30 years.

Interestingly, OUR POLITICIANS always find ways to ‘dis’ or TAX the concept.
    Now what does THIS tell us…?

OH WAIT!!!
    …..Bribes are VERY hard to come by….and when it has been tried, CASWELL’s big mouth gets in the way nuh? ..too much damn TRANSPARENCY…???
    ….Multiple “otherwise-successful” politicians have become ‘persona non gratia’ in the movement over the years nuh…? …wonder why?

SURELY Sandra can now come out clearly and unequivocally ENDORSE this old ‘NEW’ approach – that has shown itself to be a successful workable model for Barbados….

Now Bushie will NOT expect such support from COW, Bizzy, Money B, Lawson, Dragon …or from Froon and his esteemed friends…for obvious reasons… LOL
    …BUT surely Sandra…..???? 🙂

BTW…
    Bushie is NOT suggesting that the ‘new’ system be managed by the thieving JAs that has been associated with politics in Barbados, but by some of those ORDINARY Bajans who have shown themselves to be trustworthy with MILLIONS of dollars belonging to everyday persons….
    …. people like Caswell in supervision, Doyle in Cooperatives, Haynes from the League and the MULTIPLE other unselfish VOLUNTEERS who have served so well….

Agreed Sandra…?
    “….those who were faithful in small things….I will make them rulers of GREAT things…”
    ..sounds familiar? ha ha ha

31. Let me make my position clear. The two parties have lost their way. They are too far entrenched in their culture to change without an almost entire change in personnel. This is why a new party is necessary. I stand ready to support any viable alternatives since I will not be entertaining either of the “Labour Parties” in the next election.

32. @ Donna

To use Sandra’s words “let me be clear on what I said”

You said that Sandra was right and I asked you to revert to Sandra’s post which said and I quote here “Sandra Husbands July 8, 2015 at 2:08 AM # Let me be clear, another party is not the answer, …”

Those were Sandra’s words.

I have no problem with the content of what you said thereafter what i did say is that in the echolalia that you used in your syllogism you parroted and assimilated the obscuration that Sandra employed, without any dissent!

I have not taken issue with your posit regarding change I took issue with the fact that you misquoted Sandra and consequently your syllogism IS PATENTLY WRONG.

That is the thing that comes to the fore in these discourses.

You state (a) at one ppoint during a discourse and then somewhere along the timeline, like Animal Farm logic, we shift the goal posts and expect that the reader MUST accept what is being presented in latter times.

Go back to what was stated and you will see the simple point that I am making.

Sandra is not promoting a third party, Sandra’s congratulations to Grenville are therefore empty given what she said in the blog and then what she says at 2.08

No patent on Intelligence Ms. Donna, just a more astute recognition of a is equal to b and b is not equal to c therefore a is not equal to c.

33. We keep circling back to the need for education about civics. Who are the decision makers and what will motivate them to change the status quo?

34. @ Donna
    Don’t get yourself tied up…
    Another ‘party’ that brings a different set of brass bowls to the table under a similar system of GOVERNANCE as we now have …is just spinning TOP in MUD….

We have TWO Choices…

….Change the HEARTS of our politicians into warm, honest, caring, upright and open personalities ( Ha Ha Ha LOL … good luck with THAT!!!)

or…

We must implement a system of GOVERNANCE that will make it IMPOSSIBLY for JAs and lackies to succeed in their shiite …while ENCOURAGING and nurturing warm, honest, caring, upright and open personalities…to positions of leadership.

We ALREADY have the Co-operative concept which has SHOWN that it works in Barbados WITH the same brass bowls …and produces EXCELLENT results….

Shiite man…. How much is ONE and ONE…?
    Even AC must be able to figure this one out….

35. @Bush Tea

What is the latest with the credit union bank?

36. @ David
    What is the latest with the credit union bank?
    This Barbados we talking bout David…what do you expect..!!?

Banks are too profitable, too influential, and too obvious an avenue of business for the Co-operative movement for a Cooperative Bank to be taken seriously…

Our politicians have nightmares when they consider the possibility of Credit Unions seeing the kind of growth with a Bank as they have seen in General Insurance…
    ..and of course the ‘leaders’ of the movement are only slightly more proactive than Froon…

Who the hell ARE the leaders anyway…???
    Imagine a BILLION DOLLAR business and we don’t even know who is in charge….???
    ..at least Bushie don’t… 🙂
    Steupsss…

37. Wasn’t there a Justin Robinson report? What does it recommend anybody?

38. SANDRA HUSBANDS Avatar
    SANDRA HUSBANDS

BINGO BUSH TEA – ‘We must implement a system of GOVERNANCE that will make it IMPOSSIBLY for JAs and lackies to succeed in their shiite …while ENCOURAGING and nurturing warm, honest, caring, upright and open personalities…to positions of leadership.”

What is needed is a system of governance, inclusive of the people, protected by the people used by the people. What prevents this from happening? The current understanding and attitudes of the everyday citizen which will only be changed by social, economic and political education, formal and informal, so they understand their best interests. It is a better protection against P.R. manipulation, dishonest narratives, deliberate misinformation and keeps a check on ‘misguided, blind loyalty’. It begs the question how we can use the social media at this time to mobilise, educate, and engage Barbadians in a systematic way to raise the level of thinking and consciousness of their interests. I am thinking of Facebook, BU, Instagram, Twitter and blogs used in a systematic manner so we start growing Barbadians who become ‘firm craftsmen of our fate’. This will exert pressure on our political parties, impacting on the candidate selection process, the manifesto construct and hopefully governance in the upcoming election and beyond. If such a mobilisation can occur, persons who want to make a difference step forward to add more political action groups – consumer body, environment, education, justice etc. Let the education and mobilisation begin.

39. This morning BU scanned FB and noted one of the more popular pages Naked Departure dot com has become very popular, this morning the discussion was about a video of two men engaged in sex on a beach. We like it so. The job will be difficult to engage the ignorant.

40. SANDRA HUSBANDS Avatar
    SANDRA HUSBANDS

It is what we are up against, David.

41. Mr. Weekes,

Whatever.

Bushie,

I’m not tied up at all. It takes a little while for a party to get so sure of itself that it believes that it can do whatever it pleases and get away with it. While a new party of “brass bowls” makes its inevitable descent into the abyss we the electorate can work on the checks and balances or system of governance which is necessary. That’s all I’ve been saying. Don’t know where you and that other guy are getting your ideas from.

42. No amount of trying to nurture the electorate on social media in good practices will be of help.It will draw the few enlightened to novelty but wont capture masses from frivolity.That directly opposes as to why this site is successful.This site gives voice , it exposes , it agitates and it offends.Its influence is felt ,hence why its heavily monitored by those who it offends.If that was to carry through to our highest levels of administration then change will be inevitable.We must stop poop-sharking thinking the electorate is squarely at fault when we are just operating in the environment provided.As the old adage , any port in a storm and if it takes a new party then so be it.I rather that than violence or spending another 50 years waiting for the current offerings to develop character,balls and a conscience.

43. We expect the NEW party to conform to our requirement for TRANSPARENCY followed by Integrity leglislation and a Freedom of Information act.

So we expect all candidates to follow the lead of Owen and Mia. Declare your assets.

44. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Sandra Husbands

If I tell you who I am you will get worried. But your mother is a close family friend and I am known to you. Let us just say the friendships have their genesis in nursing. I have read most of what you wrote and I am incline to say that a lot of it makes sense. However I am concern as to why now you choose to bring these valuable insights. I know that you are part of the BLP machinery to which the SSS hates with a passion. I also know that you are one of the last of rear view who have not been attracted to politics because the money sweet and easy to get. So please tell me why are you here making these contributions. Are you no longer part of the BLP and will endeavour to embrace Phillips new political party. I have known you to be honest and upright. Are you still that way.

45. Dear Sandra Husbands,

Yesterday at 5.00pm I stated how mightily underwhelmed I was with your post. Twenty four hours have past and my initial views of you remain the same.

I have no desire to denigrate you. But I have arrived at the sad conclusion that you lack the nous, the charisma, the ruthlessness, the exceptionalism and above all the credibility to play a role in politics. I have found your post to be exceptionally weak. The language that you have employed belies a character that lacks conviction. Where is your passion?

Barbados is in ruins. We are witnessing the disembowelment of the Negro race on this tiny island. Are you aware that consecutive governments in Barbados have had a strategy in place to encourage an exodus of her Negro population?

What are your views of Cow Williams and his family clan? Do you not feel uncomfortable that this white man owns so much land in Barbados, whilst Bajan Negros have appeared to be pushed evermore to the margins?

If you had any convictions you would have spoken out in a loud and clear voice condemning this man and his family. Further to this, you and your political colleagues should have drawn up plans to compulsory purchase all land owned by the William’s clan. Such an act would have been like a shot across the bowels of the elite in Barbados.
    I could quote other examples but I will not. Set in this light – it is evident to me – that you have nothing of substance to offer to the political scene in Barbados.

What Barbados needs is a person who can fire up her population. May I suggest to the BU scholars an example of what I am talking about?

46. SANDRA HUSBANDS Avatar
    SANDRA HUSBANDS

II can see from your energy and passion, you are a sprinter in life, and that will impress others and obviously it impresses you with yourself. What has that built for Barbados lately? The journey of change must be broadbased and sustainable. This particular race is a marathon to shift thinking where the progress comes by people changing their behaviour to move things forward in such a way that it cannot turn back. This marathon race calls for stamina, discipline, focus and endurance and I have trained for it. No doubt we are each trained for our calling. So next time someone needs a house cleaned or a tree cut or deprive someone of land which they bought, we will definitely call you. But if you need attitudes changed, behaviours modified or restructuring of an organisation, I am one of many Barbados can call upon. I want to empower people to get their own things. If you need that where you are working in the vineyard. Give me a holler.

47. @ Sandra
    “What is needed is a system of governance, inclusive of the people, protected by the people used by the people. What prevents this from happening?”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    …..You and those of your political ilk…that is who…

Is this familiar…?
    “in the abundance of water, the fool goes thirsty….”

If you are unaware, ask someone who knows …or use your friend GOOGLE…
    You will find that…
    WE ALREADY HAVE SUCH A SYSTEM OF GOVERNANCE
    IT IS ALMOST UNIVERSALLY ACCEPTED BY ORDINARY BAJANS
    IT IS PROTECTED BY OPENNESS AND TRANSPARENCY

…it is called the co-operative system.

why not just drink…?
    ..too obvious?

48. ALL the new and newer political parties in Barbados must be strongly supported in whatever ways by the vast majority of people of this country.

For, it is in these parties, rather than in these ramgoat DLP and BLP factions, that the most progressive social, political and other ideologies, philosophies, psychologies and policies are conceived, produced, and organized for general public absorption and analysis.

The new and newer parties must provide such progressive and revolutionary and people-centered ideologies, philosophies, psychologies, and policies, as that, they have been seeing from their own experiences and from the natural and practical advantage of being outside of these intellectually and politically disdainful and barbarous DLP/BLP factions, the enormous evidence of the sheer and total bankruptcy and idiocy of those DLP and BLP ideologies, philosophies, psychologies and policies that are helping to massively degradate, dedevelop and ruin – and in many cases that are beyond salvaging – the social political material and financial affairs of this country. And on the basis that they are duty bound to come up with those progressive and revolutionary and people-centered ideologies, philosophies, psychologies and policies that are far better, more valid in whatever ways than those ideologies, philosophies, psychologies and policies than the older ramgoat DLP and BLP factions have been bringing throughout the course of their existences, and that are most likely to help profoundly and lastingly redevelop, transform and better the social political material and financial affairs of this country beyond what those joke factions have already brought – and especially once they are visualized by many people as being capable of being implemented properly, they (these new and newer parties) must therefore be viewed by most adult citizens of this country as naturally primarily being about making fundamental differences – and for the better – in these adults’ own lives and those of the vast majority of people of Barbados.

Any local people who therefore wish and yearn for their lives and their own societies to be bettered ameliorated in so many ways must seriously recognize and strongly support in whatever ways these new and newer parties, as being fundamental to such amelioration in their own lives, and by extension as being fundamental to the revolutionizing of the wider societies in Barbados.

49. @PDC

A lot of what you wrote us a pipe dream. We must focus on reordering how political parties operate. If we don’t the new parties will follow the same path because to stay popular political parties have to rely on the money class, and we know what that will mean.

50. @ David
    political parties have to rely on the money class
    You mean that they like to…

You need to note that this limitation does NOT constrain the Credit Unions.
    By pooling thousands of pennies in the COLLECTIVE interests, more than enough resources are available …without the need to be mendicant…or to bend over.

Would you not therefore have thought that in a country like Barbados with 90% of the masses seeking enfranchisement; with a small percentage of the society benefitting from the assets of 400 years of slave-based exploitation; …that a BLACK government would be disposed to support and encourage the Credit Union movement…?

Have to give Tom Adams his due in this regard…. but shiite man… look how fast this bunch of JAs have shut down all Credit Union incentives… while incentivising Bizzy and Maloney…

Now what do you suspect drives such logic…. huh?

..and how does an upright and highly intelligent person like Sandra support such policies..?