Sandra Husbands
Submitted by Sandra Husbands

Barbados it is time for something new. Of what use for Barbados to shift from DLP to BLP to DLP and back again unless this time it brings forth new models and new attitudes. I want to congratulate Grenville in taking action, to move beyond apathy to making a difference in forming a third party – [see link]. However is this sufficient to do the job?

Is that new shift enough, when the thinking and conditions which formed our political and social culture are still carried in the minds, actions, attitudes and expectations of the people, unconsciously feeding and inviting the inequities and corruption in our land.

What is it in our Barbadian nature which unconsciously cements these conditions? One element of our nature is loyalty but it is a blind loyalty, like fruit that is overripe, it spoils, not because it is intrinsically evil but excess ferments its own penalty – harbouring mediocrity, tolerating disrespect, neglect and abuse to the impoverishment of our very lives until we are emptied. Loyalty must be buttressed with integrity so we do not do damage to our intelligence to excuse the unacceptable. Time for something new.

Citizens must no longer surrender to a political party or a ‘supreme leader’ so they can sleep between elections, stay away from the polls when vexed, vote from habit or put their vote out for sale. We are building a society, which is not the sole responsibility of the few but rather that the elected few facilitate and promote the wider engagement of citizens in the process of our governance for collective economic and social prosperity. Citizens need to be informed, ask the questions, contribute to the discourse and not fear the contention of ideas. Then and only then will political parties be pressured to censure themselves, because the only way to get elected is to meet the standard desired, demanded, and defended by engaged citizens. Less than this, citizens signal, ‘if you buy me a drink’, come to my house, flatter me with political attention, make me brek my sides wid’  laughter at a political meeting, I will vote for you. The new message to political parties will be insistence on knowing the policies and how will it be achieved (read the manifestos, your binding contract and discuss these when we canvass you). The citizen’s message must be clear –‘we will lock you up if you mess with our money, and recall you if you are beyond ridiculous, and we will be heard and consulted on what is being done every year. You will not be given our gov’t because it is your turn’. It is time for something new.

Organs, structures and powers which allow this active civil engagement must be developed. It will require constitutional changes. To start the conversation, one change I will proffer is constituency councils, will become parish councils, with elected officials from churches, social groups, PTA’s, clubs, associations where there is lively and responsible engagement and information. New action groups can be formed around socio-economic issues and be part of the councils. Citizens views about policy and projects can be factored into the governance process. The parish councils will be represented at the social partnership. New administrations will not be allowed to unravel previous projects which flowed from the collective agreement of the people without their input. New administrations will perform the next installment to further project advancement, and bring new ideas and projects to the table. Should the Auditor General and PAC report to the social partnership? Should an expanded social partnership if there was no justification for inaction on matters arising from the Auditor –General’s report or PAC, be vested with the power of the recall? Members of the social partnership will be changed on a rotation basis to bring in new engagement and hold experience to make our collective strong so the necessary repairs and oversight needed by any political system occurs. TIME FOR SOMETHING NEW. But new structures, powers and procedures of whatever form they take will mean nothing until our citizens think differently about themselves and engage their politics differently. Maybe this is why this period of hardship, the uncovering of the depths of vice which permeates our political and economic structures; the inefficiencies of our systems and the barrenness of our current leaders is God’s indirect gift to us. It shakes the blind loyalty, dissipates the lethargy, breaks the fear to give us the space to have TIME FOR SOMETHING NEW.

150 responses to “Time for Something New”

1. Dear Ms. Husbands,
    Agree with most you’ve said in your article. Were you unable to articulate the above in ‘earlier times?’ Are you willing to join this “New Exiting Party?”

I am honestly hoping this ‘New Party” can go all the way to gaining 6 to 8 seats or a majority in the next election.

I would like to see changes made in my lifetime, ie, the break-up of those two dominant parties. I would also like to see people held to account for their deeds, especially where the public purse is involved. We need to break the close (link)/ connection between Members of Parliament and Judges. Members of Parliament must be held accountable to the people.

Integrity Legislation must be a priority in any new administration .

We are supposed to be an Island of ‘better learned’ than our forefathers.

The time is RIPE for a New Party.

Ms. Husbands, if you believe you can make a difference, please join Mr. G Phillips and others to bring a brighter future for all Barbados. Your experience in politics can be asset.

2. As I said in a recent post here on BU, even die hard BLPs and DLPs must be disappointed in their parties. These two parties are now in a stage of political fatigue.

3. What are we selling here old Wine in New bottles the narrative says it all, boy oh boy have i heard this all before, TIME FOR A CHANGE< Would some one go beyond those sounds barriers and say where we are we going, and for what purpose and who shall lead The sheep out of Darkness into to light, those are my question awaiting the response ,this is the second article talking about change and i am still in the dark as to where we are heading.

4. Commander in Chief aka -Prankster the Mankster eating Mangoes sunnyside up and egging off while Alfing around to the Max Avatar
    Commander in Chief aka -Prankster the Mankster eating Mangoes sunnyside up and egging off while Alfing around to the Max

Who is this ac character that seems to light on everything ? ac ? what is that ? what does it mean ? puzzled

5. Sandra Husbands Avatar
    Sandra Husbands

Let me be clear, another party is not the answer, the problem lies in the lack of active engagement of the people in their own process to keep their democracy effective. I applaud the desire to make a difference, and this experience will stir many to action. But a proliferation of different parties will not cure the problem. The DLP might have come to ofice with good intentions but it did not anticipate its state today, but here it is. What is needed to keep a democracy working and constantly renewing itself is an informed, engaged and empowered citizen. The creation of such a citizen will only come with death to the outlook and behaviours which enables the present state. Barbados has been lucky in the past to have attracted sufficient talent and character in past administrations to keep the country going forward. Unfortunately there are no perfect administrations not even in a third party. Barbados stumbled badly twice, but this time it is the worst, as the crisis coincided with the worst administration that could possibly come to office. Dems supporters must be in despair. The question, is how can we change our current system so it is not dependent on the willingness of elected officials to act with integrity but rather it has the right checks and balances and a vigilant engaged citizen which ensures that the system works and is corrected when it is tampered with and being derailed. What are those changes, how do we change the thinking of the citizen to take up this responsibility?

6. It is clear from reading this particular submission that the writer is pointing to the underdevelopment of our political system in Barbados.

The creation of a participatory democracy for Barbados has therefore been totally lacking in the historical development of Barbados.

No national democracy exists in Barbados unless many of the people that will be affected by the implementation of the decisions and policies of the government are also made to be directly involved in the processes of the making of those same decisions and policies.

That is why the PDC has long been promulgating on here and elsewhere the policy that – were a certain future coalitional governmental regime elected in this country and of which the PDC will be part – there will be the creation of Constituency Assemblies whereby in each Assembly in each constituency a number of elected constituents – two hundred per Assembly per constitution – will be entrusted with the power and capacity to initiate, debate and pass legislation of the government of this country.

Moreover, in the case of each of the 200 constituents elected on a set Election Day, and for the purposes of the election of the 200 constituents into each Assembly, he or she would be either elected on the basis of a predetermined quota of Assembley seats (120) being given to members of contesting parties; on the basis of a predetermined quota of Assembly seats (50) being given to members of contesting non-party political organizations; and on the basis of a predetermined quota of Assembly seats (30) being given to contesting independent non-partisan individuals.

The 200 seats would be as evenly as possible apportioned among all the Polling Districts contained in each constituency.

So, even as Ms Husbands conceived that  article there was an absence of confidence – in her writings – and as she skirted the issue – of the capacity of the ordinary man and woman to be organized on electoral grounds into legislative Assemblies, and to be given the powers to receive bills from the Coalitional Executive Cabinet and the Judiciary, and to – with the legal assistance of legislature attorneys – initiate, debate and pass the legislative enactments of the government of this country – very fundamental and key ingredients in the positing of ideas and rationalizations for assisting in the process of the building of a participatory  democracy for this country.

7. Of course, many able, capable, committed, disciplined, patriotic, progressivist, developmentalist, coalition building, people-centered parties are PART of the ANSWERS to the astronomical, countless and unstoppable instances of gross and reckless mismanagement and maladministration of the political governmental material and financial affairs by DLP and BLP governments over the years.

Therefore nothing short of the TOTAL and PERMANENT removal by the broad masses and middle classes of people of Barbados of the intellectually and politically backward, bankrupt, and discredited DLP and BLP factions from the parliamentary political landscape of this country, and their replacement with such above referred to parties, shall suffice.

Being the only parties out of all those that currently exist in the country to have held the reins of governmental office in Barbados, it is these decadent and corrupt parties that have not only been failing – and in the most disgusting of terms – to put political, legislative and other measures and programs to help ensure the widening and deepening of the intellectual and political contributions of the average citizen to the political electoral process in this country, but it is they that have also been deliberately helping to prevent and forestall – and by way of helping to maintain, and in many other cases, entrench, the structures and functions of a largely decrepit and dysfunctional political governmental process – the deepening and widening of the intellectual and political contributions of the average citizen to the state/nation building process of this country.

8. @Sandra

There is the view a fully engaged public is not practical (pipe dream) because it can be swayed and influenced by greed and pure ignorance given the blind loyalty you referenced. The challenge is how does one allow build a democratic system when ignorance abounds.

9. balance | July 13, 2012 at 5:45 AM |

I support you 110% and i have already posited on this forum that political parties have outlived their usefulness and to regain trust in our system of governance,the perception of accountibility, and transparency must be improved. To do this we have to take back Parliament from the politicians by having officials elected to parliament from the bowels of the constituencies to look after the interest of the constituents and not the party. Parliamentarians can be assigned certain responsibilties as members of various oversight commiitees or ministries selected from among the members of parliament. These oversight bodies suitably staffed by persons of varying disciplines would decide policy and forward to the technocrats in the relevant administrative departments for execution. In this way, it is hoped that the chances of parliamentarians getting involved in corruption would be limited if not fully eliminated and the characters of parliamentarians would not be open to abuse based on rumor and speculation.. The various independent public service selection bodies would be restored to select persons for employment and to head the various government agencies.Appointments to such critical and important posts like the Chief Justice will be free of bias and gossip.There will be no need for a primus interpares. The role of meeting dignataries and shaking hands can be assigned to the speaker of the parliament or rotated on an annual basis among the parliamentarians. In this system, the role of the governor general and term limits for parliamentarians would eventually come under scrutiny.

Ms Husbands- people always refer to Mr Thompson’s prowess in debates on TV in days gone by but commentators seem to have forgotten that you have been equally as impressive in those school days debates as well so i am persuaded that you do have substance. your suggestions seem to mirror mine in some respects so why not use your profile and position to see how we can work together to push something now. Parliament must be allowed to work in the interest of the people and not party again.

10. What are we Talking about here ! REBRANDING!REPACKAGING ! putting NEW WINE IN OLD BOTTLES.
    WE ALL KNOW THE PROBLEMS NOW MRS HUSBANDS WHAT ARE THE ANSWERS.
    GO AHEAD TELL US< ERROL BARROW GAVE ANSWERS AND HE WAS ACCEPTED . CERTAINLY THE OLE POLITICAL RHETORIC OF CRITICISM IS AN OUT DATED AND WORN OUT PLATFORM WHICH HAS OUTGROWN ITS USEFULNESS
    A THIRD party Must be different with A Brand That Put SELF INTEREST BEHIND And COUNTRY FIRST.

@ BALANCE <
    NO ! BALANCE TO AVOID CORRUPTION WE MUST LOOK OUT FOR THE INTEREST OF THE COUNTRY<
    ONLY THOSE WITH WEALTH AND POWER WOULD BENEFIT IF WE PUT CONSTITUENTS FIRST< BRINGING PEOPLE TO A MIND SET OF LOYAL TO COUNTRY FIRST WOULD BE BENEFICIAL TO ALL.

11. WHO IS THIS AC.? A LOWLY PERSON FROM HUMBLE BACKGROUND WHO STRIVE AGAINST ALL ODDS TO BECOME A PRODUCTIVE CITIZENS

12. Are we able to focus on the topic for a change?

Small minds focus on people…

13. Discussing change to stay relevant is a must because change is constant, no need to debate this point. It is about how we confront what we need to do to implement effective change, AND nothing is perfect.

Change or DIE!

14. Ac we are trying to engage in serious debate here not partisan diatribe.
    Fools rush in where Angels fear to tread. Just keep quiet for a moment. and remember silence at times is golden.

15. The CHANGE needs to come from the electorate i.e. the society as a whole, instead we focus on elected politicians; it is political POWER not a political party that is important. Grenville and others would do well to focus on educating the public about government and governance because once we continue to believe that MPs in parliament to “gi we wuk” whether Solutions, DLP or BLP the status quo shall remain.

16. @ David, There is also a psychological barrier that has to b broken. The historical bond between the people and the BLP/DLP is very strong. You will note, I am certain, that some folks are still trying to justify slavery and there are others who believe that the colonialists were great managers. So it is with the BLP/DLP. Many people have determined that these two parties have done a lot and see the emergence of any third party as a negative. I recall Sir. Hilary Beckles saying that the NDP will erode and set back the country and all that the BLP/DLP had done. So this psychological barrier is there throughout the society and not only among those considered to be die hards of either party. You will also note that the Peoples Empowerment Party cannot effectively mount any substantial threat although they are correctly pushing the people’s democracy form of government. Again, the majority is not buying into progressive ideas.

17. @enuff

Yes there is truth is what you have posted, a third party must have populist support but where is the catalyst to come from? It seems to be a chicken and egg scenario we find ourselves. Those entrenched have the advantage.

18. It IS indeed time for something new…..

But that ‘new thing’ that is needed is as elusive as world peace. So far, all we are hearing are new approaches to the same failed political system. The political parties are nothing but organised gangs where the leaders do as they damn well please ..and use their yardfowl enforcers to get their way.
    Grenville’s approach proposes a few slightly more logical laws and rules that make a bit more sense than the current unworkable mess that our ‘brilliant lawyers’ have put together, but in the final analysis – it is the same shiite.

Sandra is just chatting for chatting sake about ‘change’ – but change to what ?
    …a more engaged public?
    …citizens thinking differently about themselves and engaging their politics differently?
    …a different type of politician?

Truth is, they are only slightly different to the PDC. LOL ..At least PDC have a sweet-ass slogan …”Down with the Damned DLP and with the Blasted BLP” ha ha ha LOL ..

The problem is MUCH deeper than this, and the kind of thinking that suggests that our current hardship “is God’s indirect gift to us.” …or in Grenville’s case, that the Sargassum is a blessing to the country ..is childishly simplistic and dangerously wrong. These things tell us that we are doing shiite…

We are doing FUNDAMENTALLY shiite in our national life and infringing SERIOUS, BASIC spiritual and moral LAWS. THIS is why we have hardships and sargassum and downgrades and social chaos…
    Unless we seriously seek to discover where we are ERRING …and take urgent corrective action at the national level, it will indeed be time for something new …. NEW DEPTHS to which we will sink….

19. Bal are you for Real where is the seriousness of the debate when the messages given are right out the pages of political campaigins.am i now to accept a message of political rhetoric as message for Change. I do believe that interested parties for Change have to delivered a message that goes beyond crticism and one that builds and refects a message filled which applicable answers. No balance!the seriousness of the message lies within it is truthfulness and not band aid solutions disguise as Change which involves the dreaded medicine of putting country First.
    The word “Change means nothing unless it comes with a message that encourages its citizens to be contributors to the overall development of its country. Anything absent of such message rings hallow and only give interested third parties a backdoor entrance to hid and maintain the status quo.What seriousness balance.Wheel and come again.

20. Oh btw bal this is still a democracy which is part and parcel of good goverance and only dictators disallow others a right to comment based on the grounds of an intellectual suasion they belive that only themselves possess.

21. For the first time in the history of politics and government in Barbados there have been thousands upon thousands of people in the country sick, tired, fed up and frustrated with the intellectually and politically backward, bankrupt and discredited DLP and BLP factions.

A great and growing proportion of those same people are absolutely done finished with both those factions, on account of their rightful conclusions that  there have been irretrievable breakdowns in the relationships between them and those two jackass political factions, and that there continue to be a fatalism of hopelessness put by them in those asinine parties overall.

22. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

David, as usual you are succinct and pithy “…change is constant, no need to debate this point. It is about how we confront what we need to do to implement effective change, AND nothing is perfect.”

And as Skinner said above it definitely is about “a psychological barrier that has to be broken”.

I was reading that after the definitive JM report was made public that about 40% of the Bajan public still had a favourable impression of Thompson. It was all political defamation by opponents. The psychological barrier.

When someone gets into your psyche as a good and decent person, is intelligence and has all the physical attributes of excellent speech etc to further impress you it is very hard to implement effective and definitive change even when they are uncloaked as a fraud.

Just consider that Bill Cosby had (has?) his wife and many top fellow colleagues stoutly defending him. How could this generous benefactor with hundreds of scholarships for black education, this strong positive black man in many other ways be a serial rapist. It was all a white media whacking. That psychological barrier.

Alas, change is tough and as we get defrauded more and more by these ‘heroic’ figures it becomes even more difficult to embrace others as viable agents of change; but that we MUST….nothing is perfect.

23. SANDRA HUSBANDS Avatar
    SANDRA HUSBANDS

Powerful comments – David – how do we overcome ignorance of the people and Enuffs comment about it is the question of political power and EDUCATION OF THE PEOPLE and breaking the tenacles of the colonial past. The legacy of the colonial past is a mindset that ‘someone’ is to look after me, where a sense of ownership which generates a sense of responsibility for your outcomes does not show up. It started with the surrender to the massa, gov’t, trade unions, political parties and the church. It shows up in the comment “ I don’t care which government gets in, I does still have to work hard to get what I want”. It is our failure to educate and it is urgently needed or no sustained change to the political, economic or social landscape will take place. This surrender caused us to engage politics from what have you done for me lately ( not in terms of let us build a good society) but it was the corn beef and biscuits and buy a drink; give me a job; ah want a bottle of gas; five people in my house could vote, what you gine do for me’. It raises the cost of political engagement that despite good ideas and policies, a party can lose. Enter the puppeteers who provide the election money for SERIOUS FAVOURS DISTORTING THE SOCIAL & ECONOMIC LANDSCAPE. This was well ventilated on BU. Small businesses cannot get government contracts, so they cannot grow to build capacity. Undersized companies cannot get big private contracts from businesses which are the same puppeteers. So jobs do not grow, genuine wealth participation cannot take place and a chokehold is maintained on economic opportunities in the hands of a few. We have participated in our own enslavement and lack. While campaign finance changes will help it is the political, social, and economic education of the masses which will break this hold, where policies and performance govern the vote. Without this a third party will never break through because the political behaviours and expectations will constrain their chances of winning. People must transition from slaves to masters; from a tenant to an owner of the economy and society. THIS IS WHAT MUST HAPPEN IN THIS COUNTRY people must be educated to engage their lives, and country differently though active political engagement. It will force the changes to the economic, social and political structures to SUPPORT AND EMPOWER the average citizen to have the opportunity to pursue and successfully live their best life. THIS MUST HAPPEN..

24. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

David or Enuff of course change needs to come from the electorate. Is that not what an election defines. The fact that there are chickens and omelet suggests that they are inextricably linked: with one automatically comes the other.

Was Fidel Castro the catalyst or did populist support eventually elevate him as the agent of change.

Was Errol Barrow the catalyst.

Sydney Burnett-Alleyne, what was he other than a failed anarchist? Was he the spear of a populist view or was he attempting to be a catalyst for a change no one wanted ?

Bernard Coard, Maurice Bishop and on and on. Catalysts or propelled by the people.

The cataclysmic moment is about disruption of the comfort zone; forcing people to rethink and redefine their way forward. That starts as a spark and grows to a bonfire.

So all those names took (encouraged) their populist sentiment and drove with it forward to fires of success and some to fires of destruction.

So are we really going to overstate the obvious. The people have all the power and ability to create new bonfires but still they need something or someone to drive them towards that objective.

We can argue how or who starts it but for long-term positive results it will always be about effectively managing the bonfire. So we always need bonfire ‘party’ leaders. Whether Grenville is such a person is up to the people.

25. This psychological barrier has given political opportunism a very secure place. For example: Dr. Mascoll went up and down the country as a DLP trying to prove the BLP was corrupt with GEMS/JAWS. He even brought a no confidence motion against the BLP. Today he is its chief economics adviser/spokesman. Hamilton Lashley was a DLP MP , switched to the BLP and then “switch back again” to the DLP. That proves that there is really no deep philosophical difference between the parties and this in turn creates a formidable comfort level for political grasshoppers and opportunists. What we really have is a sophisticated one party state and these two parties split up every five years to win the grand prize. Having endured and accepted this unique form of”democarcy”, the people have become as comfortable with the process as the politicians themselves. Hence when in opposition they march with workers. When in government they do not. When in opposition they expose corruption; when in government they do not. This applies to both political parties. It is a mere extension of a very advanced divide and rule approach. We all accept and cloth it in something called democracy. Third parties or new parties will have to seriously address these daunting realities .

26. This is a cleverly written piece.This article shifts the responsibility of right-doing onto the electorate and fully exonerate the political class of any wrong doing.Political class which devil made you do it?This is hilariously unbelievable.

27. I have to agree with those idiots relative to “a message of political rhetoric as message for Change” and “I do believe that interested parties for Change have to delivered a message that goes beyond criticism and one that builds and refects a message filled which applicable answers. No balance! The seriousness of the message lies within it is truthfulness and not band aid solutions disguise as Change which involves the dreaded medicine of putting country First.”

I agree 1000%.

During the 2008 election campaign, David Thompson and the DLP rode of the platform of “TIME FOR A CHANGE” and highlighted that corruption, cost over-runs and arrogance of the last BLP administration as the main reasons why such change was necessary.

He emphasized the need for GOOD GOVERNANCE, INTEGRITY, FREEDOM OF INFORMATION LEGISLATION, declaring of assets and a MINISTERIAL CODE OF CONDUCT, while promising to introduce these policies immediately if elected. We, the electorate, bought into his “offerings” and elected the DLP to office.

Unfortunately, this is going on eight (8) years that the DEMS have been in “power” and there has been absolutely no CHANGE.

During the 2008 election campaign meetings, Thompson displayed a $75,000 CLICO cheque Arthur deposited to his personal account. During a 2013 election campaign meeting in West Terrace, Arthur revealed information from the CLICO forensic audit that proved Thompson’s involvement in laundering $3.333M and receiving other funds from the same CLICO. The STATUS QUO remains the same.

We also heard about BLP ministers receiving “gifts” or “ex gratia” payments for approving contracts from certain companies or individuals. Now we are hearing about the SUVs belonging to Trans-Tech Inc. that are being driven by Denis Lowe and Michael Lashley.

We knew of Arthur’s arrogance and how he insulted people (ask Harold Hoyte). Stuart is no different; he is just as arrogant and insults people as well. Ask Hilary Beckles.

There is no significant difference between the performance of Noel Lynch and Richard Sealy as ministers of tourism.
    Or Mia Mottley and David Thompson as leaders of the opposition, since both have used similar strategies.

The DEMS were highly critical of Greenland and similarly, the BLP has been highly critical of CAHILL.

The DEMS rightfully criticized the GEMS project. But they bought Sam Lord’s Castle, borrowed money to repair it and will give it to someone to manage. Then there is the Sandals nonsense (like if people visit a destination because it has a Sandals hotel), Four Seasons, and Kellman intervening to the detriment of those people who protested against the new marina in St. Peter (opposite Heywoods).

Arthur’s “bagman,” Rodney Wilkinson, was replaced by Thompson’s “bagman”, Leroy Parris, while Al Barrack remains unpaid under both administrations.

This DLP administration accused the former BLP administration of ignoring the Audit General’s reports and recommendations. Unfortunately, this administration is equally as guilty, since Auditor General has “unearthed” a number of financial improprieties perpetrated by this present administration.

The Public Accounts Committee questioned the reason behind NHC receiving millions of dollars without parliamentary approval. Stuart’s answer to this query was to repeal the PAC Act.

The only visible difference is that the contracts have shifted from Bizzy and COW to another set of white people, namely Maloney, Rotherley, Innotech and Jada.

“The word “Change means nothing unless it comes with a message that encourages its citizens to be contributors to the overall development of its country. Anything absent of such message rings hallow and only give interested third parties a backdoor entrance to hid and maintain the status quo.”

Yes, the above quote is ABSOLUTELY TRUE.

And if we take these few examples into consideration, we will come to the realization that, despite all the talk about CHANGE, the STATUS QUO REMAINS THE SAME.

28. When people have grown accustomed to being spoon fed it becomes difficult to take that spoon away from the mouth. It becomes very hard to break that cycle of dependency . Therfore the job for change requires a leader with the vision and foresight to create a message first with Hope included and pivotol bringing with it a message of selfreliance one that challenges with a determination of e veryone becoming masters of their own destiny.First by creating a message built on hope the mechanism of political interference that binds falls apart wherby the citizen doubts of selfhelp becomes clearly formed on a foundation of ones own ability to rely on one self. Martin luther one of the greatest leaders was able to bring people of all races togethetusing the philosophy that challenges and a movement to create an equal society which is still in progress

29. Well put Artax

30. Sandra Husbands Avatar
    Sandra Husbands

Artaxerxes, so true, the cancer or the problem cannot be dealt with at the surface. You must unearth the root of the problem that constantly produces the same result. To have a working democracy stays strong, and can rebalance itself to maintain equlibrium, it requires opposing forces to maintain the integrity of the structure. For example, businesses need regulations and an assertive vigilant consumer body to bring pressure to bear on issues of price, quality and service otherwise a nation will birth weak businesses who make money by simply charging more and oppressing their consumers lives. Government needs opposition parties, objective media, independent and professional judiciary and engaged citizens operating through political action groups formed around specific issues ( not party political groups) which are watchdogs on environment, education, culture, sports, agriculture, family life, business associations etc These equal but opposing forces keep each other in check and produces a more healthy democratic process. Without this the institutions finding no opposing force to keep things upright will deteriorate or go bad, just as a building will collapse without care for structural integrity and equilibrium. Citizens must be part of this equilibrium and shapers of their destiny. They cannot be tenants of their commonwealth but owners of their commonwealth in a real and felt way. This speaks to the need for a country to have a common philosophy which governs priorities and processes. Our philosophy is also broken. What do we want it to be so it serves and guides in building a country that can be relevant, and effective in changing global circumstances?

31. So, I notice we are all agreed that the system is totally broken and we cannot continue as we have been doing. Let us then not seek to disparage each other but instead discuss where we should go from here. Remember we are all in agreement on the main point! That has to count for something.

32. “The only visible difference is that the contracts have shifted from Bizzy and COW to another set of white people, namely Maloney, Rotherley, Innotech and Jada.”

Are you comparing apples with apples?

I thought COW built roads and developed land while Maloney and the others built houses and apartment buildings.

The reality is that black building contractors could join together as a consortium to bid on large Government projects.

33. “SOME $11 MILLION in rent is owed to the Barbados Investment and Development Corporation (BIDC).”

34. Our system is being compromised by our inability to stem the influence of money and the establishment which will vigorously defend the status quo. Why does anyone think the anti corruption act continues to languish somewhere. We are dealing with a #monsterissue which requires a herculean effort to disrupt to Dee Word’s point.

35. Sandra,

Keep talking! Somebody has to be in the forefront. It’s going to be a long journey but it begins with a single step. I’m gearing up for the journey.

36. Hants July 8, 2015 at 11:33 AM #

“Are you comparing apples with apples?”

Shiite, man, you are just nick-picking.

37. @ Artaxerxes,

Not nit-picking, just hoping that somebody else would observe that all the companies mentioned are part of an undeclared “business cartel”.

All fuh one an one fuh all. lol

38. Time for something new because Tourism gine get some serious licks.

1.00 CAD = 1.57 BBD. Canadians will likely avoid vacationing in Barbados.

UK may be hit by the Greece meltdown.

We need NEW Businesses to diversify the economy.

In the short term grow more food for emergency rations.

39. I did not realise that this Tricia Watson was such an ass-licker for this inept incompetent government! Wow!

She has to sing for her supper……..she is feeding at the trough now………I read she is now chairperson f some government entity!

40. @Hants

There is also the perennial problem of direct airlift out of non Toronto cities.

41. And they say a child shall lead them.

Let us wait for the outcome of the meeting with the MOL in session.

42. Will these Johnny Burger going wait till cadavers stink up the whole Bridgetown before making an “INJECTION? Or will the norm totality of morass prevail?

43. Disillusionment everywhere. I wondering who going jump Ship and join tis new party?

44. Sandra Husbands Avatar
    Sandra Husbands

How can we make the Barbados experience a felt and dynamic one in which each person feels a vested interested, and this goes beyond giving them ‘things’. How do we penetrate the tremendous unrelenting noise which competes for our people’s attention comatosing them from the pain, so they can be educated politically, socially and economically?

45. @ David
    Boss….anybody warned Sandra Husbands ’bout BU yet….? 🙂
    This ain’t Roebuck Street or George Street yuh….

Everyone is welcome … but we does call a spade a spade …. shiite talk does get flushed
    ….and big names DON’T count.

Suggestion for Sandra…

…adopt a nom de plume….anything but AC.

46. Sandra Husbands Avatar
    Sandra Husbands

Bush Tea – try for a point of discussion so there is serious conversation that results wider engagement occurs. It is one thing to flagellate the political class, but at the same time discourage engaging dialogue with the wider Barbados public, who could only feel they after your above remarks that they should not venture here as there are self-appointed gatekeepers who want to define your contributions, not necessarily engage thoughts.

47. @ Sandra Husbands who wrote ” each person feels a vested interested,”

How about giving workers shares in the companies they work for.

Just so you know. Bushie gives good advice

48. @ Sandra

What point of discussion…?
    YOU are the one that initiated the excellent suggestion that something NEW is needed…then you go on to espouse the same old shiite packaged in another wrapper about :
    …..”making the Barbados experience a felt and dynamic one in which each person feels a vested interested”
    and about
    ….”penetrating the tremendous unrelenting noise which competes for our people’s attention comatosing them from the pain…”

Mistress …. Bushie don’t mek that kinda sport hear? That kinda verbosity may work at one of your group sessions where employees dare not complain because people getting ‘let go’ real easy nowadays…. but you must know that this is bare shiite talk….

Bushie AGREES that something NEW is needed, but when someone whose very NAME is synonymous with the blasted BLP comes along with rhetoric about the current mess being a blessing from God and with NOTHING NEW as starting point …wuh dat blights tuh get Bushie’s whacker going….

You mean um is a blessing for the blasted BLP right…??!!

What NEW are you proposing…?
    What problems does it solve?
    What benefits does it bring to the table?
    What fundamental flaws does it address – that would suggest different results going forward?

Steupsss!! …man Sandra use a Nom de plume nuh….
    so Bushie could feel free to really cuss your donkey.
    The REAL problem is that you are a good friend of the bushman…
    ..and a nice-ass person too boot…
    Umm is a LOT easier to whack a nom de plume….. ha ha ha
    LOL … but then again…so are most of the political scamps …..ha ha ha

49. Bushie wrote “The REAL problem is that you are a good friend of the bushman…”

So Bushie you so cruel that you can’t give your “good friend” a free pass.

50. Agreed with you bushie. Grenville Phillips is speaking about a new party with new ideas. Sandra Husbands decided it was best to get involved to change the concept of new party to try something new which seems to be new ways within existing parties. She seems to be testing the water but got so many calls that is now back tracking from her initial congratulations to Grenville