Grenville Phillips II

Grenville Phillips II is the man behind the initiative to start the next political party in Barbados. The following was extracted from the Solutions Barbados – The Next Party.

We are a group of men and women who love Barbados, treasure our reputations, and plan to offer ourselves as candidates in the next general elections in order to give Barbadians a competent alternative.  While we have some potential candidates, we need more – hence, the following.

WANTED

Accomplished men and women of demonstrated integrity and leadership, who love Barbados, treasure their reputations, and are willing to present themselves as candidates in the next general elections in order to give Barbadians a competent alternative.  Prospective candidates must not view politics as a career, but as a brief time of exemplary national service.  Expect: long working hours, vicious personal criticisms, no pay, a slim chance of being elected, and an exciting journey.

Before you contact us, please do the following.

1. Read our Solutions on the Solutions page.
  2. Read Harold Hoyte’s book: “Eyewitness to Order and Disorder”.
  3. Talk to your family and put your house in order.

We do not intend to be elected to simply wait around long enough to earn a pension.  Rather, we intend to govern responsibly.  A summary of our main solutions are described on our Solutions page.  They are designed to address the main problems hindering Barbados’, and therefore your development.  You are encouraged to comment, and we will happily engage you in discussions of how they may be improved.  The improved solutions will become our promises to you.

Our guiding principle is to provide an environment where all Barbadian citizens and residents can become healthy, wealthy and wise if they choose to.  Our Solutions are designed to accomplish this

Current Main Political Parties

Despite their failings, we should count ourselves very fortunate that we have been led by persons who seemed to genuinely care about Barbados.  Therefore, both political parties should be thanked for their past service.  However, we should be under no illusion that it takes any special competence to spend other people’s money.  As a country, we are very deep in debt, and useful unsolicited advice appears to have been ignored as we plan to go further into debt.

One political leader recently revealed that that only those in the political trenches had the right to have their advice on national issues considered.  Since we do not plan to stop offering unsolicited advice, and we have no desire to engage in futile exercises, then we have no choice but to reluctantly enter the political trench.  If the Government or Opposition parties follow our advice, then we will leave the trench as quickly as we entered it – the choice is theirs.

Improving Barbados

The greatest obstacle to improvement lies within you, the reader – the voter.  This obstacle is the fear of change.  People would rather stay with what they know, regardless of how incompetent, than with what they do not know.  Hopefully, after reading our Solutions, you at least know what we support, and to what we object.

It has been said that good managers try to do their best with the resources available to them, while leaders change the environment to allow for better management.  We intend to lead.

We invite you to: share this web-site by including a link on your Facebook or other social media page, inform your friends, family and colleagues about Solutions Barbados, and follow us on this web-site in order to be notified of any updates.

Due to the charging of individuals for breaching the Computer Misuse Act (section 14) and the Defamation Act, we must reduce the risk of inconvenience by reviewing all comments for compliance.  You can help us by not speaking disparagingly about people.  Please note that all favourable and unfavourable comments will be posted, but any defamatory information will be redacted.  We apologise in advance for any delayed comments.

Thank you for visiting and best regards.

SOLUTIONS BARBADOS

Grenville Phillips II, Founder

387 responses to “Grenville Phillips II Launches the Next Political Party in Barbados”

1. The DLP looked good when Dippa was Skippa!

2. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

Enuff, everyone can look good on paper. What exactly is the point? Are you suggesting that we only consider those for public offices after we have seen them in action along?

Sounds like the employment advert “Wanted: Employee with experience starting pay $35K/annum”. So effectively they are looking for a recent college graduate but yet stipulating experience.

Catch-22.

3. De Ingrunt Word Avatar
    De Ingrunt Word

And Dippa’s bio looked absolutely super too. They all do. So really not sure what Enuff is trying to say here re Phiilip that can’t be said for every other prospective public person.

4. DLP should never have been re-elected after failing to implement PROPE INTEGRITY Legislation.

5. @ David ,

Why is NationNews showing a compact fluorescent bulb and calling it an Led bulb ?

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/69612/free-led-screw-bulbs-away

6. @ Solutions Barbados July 7, 2015 at 5:08 PM,

I found your above comments most odd. Are you not aware that the hemp plant is often referred to as green gold. There is a good reason for this. The hemp plant has multiple uses and is used as a vital ingredient from building materials, cosmetics, medicine, et al.

The Caribbean region is the ideal environment for the production of high quality hemp. Think about it.

I was present at your lecture in 2012, in association with BRC, when you discussed structural design in hurricane zones. Mr Grenville, Barbados could reduce by half her building costs if it were to exploit hemp production.

Take a look at the link below.

http://www.hemparchitecture.com/

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Solutions Barbados July 7, 2015 at 5:08 PM
    “Can you identify a country where growing hemp had a significant positive impact on the economy?”

How about China? What about Australia? USA (especially the state of Colorado) and Canada for starters?

We would not even mention the financial impact on Colombia, Jamaica and our very close neighbour St. Vincent where the ‘underground’ industry is a major forex earner with Barbados being a major contributor (or very large slice) to the market share pie chart.

But of course you would wait until Massy or some other enterprising merchants import the finished products for sale on local supermarket shelves hiring some of the best Bajan management minds in the process.

8. If we consider hemp cultivation must we frame a solution based on if it can be bench marked against something established?

On 7 July 2015 at 22:29, Barbados Underground wrote:

9. How does one expect GP to idenyify with weed .fuh christ sake look where he broughy his message to the well do or upper well to do.He might have book sense but in this world having street sense is equally as important.

10. […] in taking action, to move beyond apathy to making a difference in forming a third party – [see link]. However is this sufficient to do the […]

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac July 7, 2015 at 7:15 PM

Although hemp and weed are from the same family ‘tree’ there are commercial differences between them. Hemp has wider industrial potential with greater value added to the commercial chain.
    The more ‘highly’ profitable weed is more of the cottage industry type with its added value along medicinal and recreational lines.
    For the sake of this discussion let us focus on the industrial potential of hemp to supplement Barbados’s agricultural offering as a replacement for cane sugar to earn or save foreign exchange and preserve the rural environment.
    The collateral financial benefits from genetically improving the THC content of the plant can be exploited as a byproduct from the main industry.

12. Hamilton Hill Avatar

NUPW please don’t make the mistake of trying to negotiate with this inexperienced bunch of egotistical liars. Rather than accept that they started wrong thus this latest impasse, they have sent in the clown (dr do little) .The thing to do is rescind the letters. Then and only then is the table properly set for collective bargaining. These creatures of fate are known to lie like none other. DO NOT TRUST THEIR WORD.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hamilton Hill July 8, 2015 at 8:15 AM

Very insightful. The sorry thing about it all is that the NUPW will fall for it.
    Any change in the BIDC’s position makes Donville looks weak and just a loud-mouth braying jackass who does things with no Cabinet backing. Should the MoL give assurances contrary to Donville’s dictatorial pronouncements will he resign from the Cabinet on a matter on principle since he is not a hand-to-mouth-minister like Estwick.
    Is this the P M’s strategy of silencing Donville once and for all? After all, the Don is Freundel’s biggest critic in the Cabinet and his most likely successor, or so the King of Porn thinks.

Why not raise your very important point on the other more relevant thread? your contribution is worthy of further discussion.

14. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

The NUPW says it is striking to protest the BIDC layoffs. In that regard they are wrong, employers have the right to separate from employees and BIDC has exceeded their legal obligation in this regard.

If the NUPW was striking to protest the broken DLP pre-election promises of ‘no layoffs’, that would be another matter. I get the impression they are trying to have their cake and eat it too; to keep their people employed despite crushing, anti-business economic policies inflicted by the DLP gov’t but not actually address the real problem, namely the inept DLP gov’t.

15. The Candidate wrote ” We tried to include just enough to provide sufficient confidence, but are reluctant to add more. Jesus explained why.”

16. @ millertheanunnaki July 8, 2015 at 8:39 AM #

@ Hamilton Hill July 8, 2015 at 8:15 AM

Very insightful. The sorry thing about it all is that the NUPW will fall for it.
    Any change in the BIDC’s position makes Donville looks weak and just a loud-mouth braying jackass who does things with no Cabinet backing. Should the MoL give assurances contrary to Donville’s dictatorial pronouncements will he resign from the Cabinet on a matter on principle since he is not a hand-to-mouth-minister like Estwick.
    ……………………………………………….

I agree with both you and Hamilton Hill.

When the news broke on VOB this morning, I said I hope the NUPW do not fall for this inept incompetent government’s tricks.

The NUPW has acknowledged that they fell for the PM’s dirty trick with the NCC workers referring the matter to a non existent Employment Rights Tribunal.

We have an ignorant PM, though……………I do not inject myself…….only doctors and nurses………………..what a jackass! This is whom we have as a leader?

17. Moneybrain

It is your contention that the DLP should have never been re-elected after failing to implement Prose- Integrity legislaton. And I am quite sure many if not most on the right of the political spectrum would agree with your premise wholeheartedly. But their can’t turn a blind eye to the fact that had it not been for the inability of the BLP to effective articulate a convincing message to the contrary, the political state affairs in Barbados might have turned out quite differently. Wouldn’t you agree? In any instance, it is senseless crying over spilt milk because reality is now looking us in the face and becking us to looking forward, and not backwards as you seems to take reposed in.

Nevertheless, why didn’t you and those who think as you do run for political office, since there is a common agreement between you all that much more can and ought to be done for the poor, middle-class and well to do in Barbados? I don’t get it Money. You and your kind incessantly mouth- off as to the in effective this of this DLP government, but you neither your sort have as yet present to the Barbadian people a better alternative. Doesn’t it not seem like a waste of valuable time when you and your sort continually besmear this DLP government, while at the same time you do not have anythng of worth to bring to the table? It kinda a reminds me of the politician who promised his constituents that when he gets to Washington how he s goes to change things for the better. The fella went down to Washington and did as his fellow politicians were doing. And when his constituents confronted him about the change he was supposed to be bring to the poeple, he cried out that the external pressure was too great in Washington. And out of the clear blue sky, a younger standing beside his parents shouted out: what about your internal resolve to withstand the pressure? The poor fella held his head down in disappointment knowing the he could have done much more differently, but chose to put the self-interest above the collective-interest. Money, so the morale of the story is this: you should never speak an unkind word unless you have walked a mile in another’s shoes.

18. Frustrated Businessman July 8, 2015 at 8:57 AM #

“If the NUPW was striking to protest the broken DLP pre-election promises of ‘no layoffs’, that would be another matter.”

Surely you must appreciate during that time the hierarchy of the NUPW was dominated and controlled by the DLP, with Maloney and Clarke at the helm. They were juts all talk and no action.

19. Simple Simon

Moneybrain, boy on the block already know how to shoot. I beg to defer greatly Simple!

Simple, is that why every time we pick up the newspaper or watch the evening news, we hear of some little kid shot or killed by some drug deal gone bad? Simple, the boys on the block are capable of discharging a weapon I’ll give you that much, but their haven’t been formerly taught how to properly shoot a weapon and how to operate that weapon safely. Along with learning how to discharge a weapon, one has to also learn how to shoot it safely. I was taught gun safety in the Army even before I was allowed to discharged my weapon, as well as how to indentify my target before I discharge my firearm.The fellas on the block have no such training and therefore, shoot indiscriminately injuring innocent people. Simple ask Colonel, there are principles in Marksmanship one has to learn even before he or she can be deem as someone who is capable of properly operateing a firearm. And added to that: one has to going to the shooting range ( both police and military) bi-annually and annually to maintain those shooting skills. So the boys on the block knows how to discharge a weapon, but to shoot it correctly, I hardly think so Simple.

20. millertheanunnaki July 8, 2015 at 8:39 AM “Donville look[s] weak and [is] just a loud-mouth braying jackass”

So what’s wrong with this picture?

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

21. Simple Simon

The fellas on the block have a tendency to shoot indiscriminately, whereas someone who has been trained like me, would select my target before discharging my firearm. And shooting is a skill which requires continual and constant practice, something the boys on the block would haven’t gotten before the police took noticed. In the military and the Army in particular, we have what is known as “Rules of Engagement”. And what that simply means is that when you’re in a war zone, you simply cannot fire indiscriminately even if your fired upon. You have first to indentify who are shooting at you and then you’re more than likely justified to return fire, or else you will be subjected to the punishment of the UCMJ Uniform Code of Military Justice,if you injured innocent civilians.

22. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

Dompey July 8, 2015 at 10:43 AM #

can’t turn a blind eye to the fact that had it not been for the inability of the BLP to effective articulate a convincing message to the contrary, the political state affairs in Barbados might have turned out quite differently.

I disagree. I was at the DLP Independence Square meeting listening to DLP nonsense and Estwick screaming from the podium like Gearbox and then went to the BLP meeting in Bay Street to hear Arthur explain why public sector privatisation and rationalisation were priorities to get BDS back on financial track. As far as I’m concerned, Arthur’s honest statements lost the BLP two or three seats right there. The irony, of course, is that we all knew what had to happen but the DLP lied about it and have subsequently tried to sneak it in and defer the wrath of the duped civil servants. I support the NUPW for standing up to political trickery and dishonesty. I do not support their BIDC position.

23. Dompey—

I dont TRUST any political party, virtually ANYWHERE!!

Mao Tse Tung said it best likw 70 years back,” man in society is like a Pearl in a bowl of dirty water, if you take him out and polish him up he sparkles BUT should you reintroduce him to the water eg societal groups, then he is dirtied again.”

People behave badly in groups, hence mobs, plots etc. Benevolent Dictatorship is the correct method as in Singapore where it appears as a democratic election BUT the rulers have Won every election by taking 90%+ of the vote since like 1965. Today even the poor are much better off than in the vast majority of Nations. Indeed, 15% of the population are millionaires the highest density besides a few small Oil nations.

I would have to be an Idiot to run for political office in Bim. Given what some have said pun this very medium—- they dont even want black peeps that are less than real dark, not coming from educated middle or higher class etc. I surely would not want to waste time arguing nonsense when solutions require immediate implementation to solve Bim’s myriad problem.

What did Mr Li do in Singapore
    1 locked up Commies
    2 locked BS propagandists.
    3 made it clear that the correct attitude towards JOBS creation/ business is essential
    4 top notch Education
    5 Integrity Legislation to stop Corruption with wicked penalties
    6 Death to drug traffickers!
    etc

No pissing around wasting time and $$$$

24. I trust Mr Phillips (and his associates) has or will read Lee Kuan Yew’s autobiography and as much as practical on Singapore’s policies and then think about what is practical for Bim.

25. One of the noticeable attributes of the Singapore society is the framework it has built to integrate and homogenize people from all ethnicity and class. By successfully managing the HR mobilizing other resources was less difficult to manage.

26. @David—

Correct. Please note carefully that when Mr Lee cracked down on the Commies they were of his own Chinese ethnicity, thereby he clearly exhibited his unbiased approach and his benevolent dictatorship—- house arrest, prison or deportation. No one was going to be permitted to waste time or get in the way of progress with leftie experimental nonsense. Indeed, I was recently in China and was surprised when our tour guide stated why Communism failed so very miserably (exactly my contention since the age of 19-20)—-lack of INCENTIVE– one can be paid without working and wont receive any bonuses for working harder.

Government workers should be incentivised to make suggestions on improving efficiency and effectiveness of their department. Let’s say U show how to save $1mn per year then in nice fat bonus is in order when adopted and implemented.

27. @Moneybrain

Money boy, by refusing to participate in the political process, does it not send the wrong message to the younger generation of voters? Listen! Because my doctor at one point wrote me a prescription of the wrong sort; it does not give me cause to abandon the healthcare system all together.You have take the bitter with sweet; you have choose between the lesser of two evils; you have to take your chances no matter what the past contains; you have believe in the resilience of the human spirit, with respect to power of love overcoming evil.

28. @ Dompey
    “….Because my doctor at one point wrote me a prescription of the wrong sort;…”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Does that explain your ‘condition’ boss…??

…ya mean you did not hear the real story Domps…?
    Apparently it was his patient that was in ICU when you unplugged the ventilator and heart lung machine to plug in your cell phone for a free charge….

That prescription was no ‘mistake’…. That was one of GP’s students looking to do the world a favour… LOL …ha ha ha ….

29. Any new political party must agree to the early passing of integrity, transparency, accountability and freedom of information legislation. There must also be the ability to recall and punish, any parliamentary representative who is proven to be guilty of bribery, corruption, unethical and/or immoral behaviour.These are the sine qua non of good governance. Lee Kuan Yew’s “Singapore model” may indeed be best suited for Barbados ! Mr.Phillips may wish to take aspects of this model into consideration !

30. Praise the Lod, and pass the ammunition… but do I hear a bid for a fourth party? The more choices the better.

To those who say “no lawyers and no doctors”, please remember that a democracy is inclusive, not exclusive. It would be up to the Members of the Party to determine who is acceptable to represent them, the door should not be closed to entire classes of people (which does not say much for the DLP or the BLP, given their candidates.) Also remember that the finest politician we ever had – Dipper Barrow – was a lawyer himself.

What needs to be attracted to the new party is intelligent, thining people not yard fowls jukking their hands in the Party to try and pull something out in return for “loyalty”.

But thank God there are still a few intelliogent people left in Barbadfos who are willing to put their foot where somebody may step on their corns. There may be hope for Barbados yet – when these two bunches of igrunt Parliamentary hooligans are done with it.

31. @JL–

Proper Integrity Legislation with BIG Sharp teeth plus at least TRIPLE MPs $$$ pay to attract the best brains with experience.

Corruption will be severely penalised! PRISON and at least DOUBLE fine of any money involved.

This concept that people get in to Politics to finance their OWN WEALTH ACCUMULATION PLAN MUST BE SQUASHED!

32. @JL–

And yes we should limit Lawyers to no more than 25%of MPs, too many of them are very clever CROOKS and dont give a Rodents Rectum about the populace!

33. MoneyBrain… I have lived in several countries – I currently live in Canada – and it appears to me that politicians globally have not only made their “profession” into the scum of the earth but have also put (or not put) laws in place so that they can NEVER be held accountable for their immoral and/or unethical and/or dishonest deeds and misdeeds in office.

If this new party gets the nod at the next election, by putting intelligent ethics-in-pilotics laws into effect I think Barbados can show the rest of the world that democracy need not be an elected dictatorship or a kleptocracy, that our leaders CAN be held to the same standards of ethics, morals and behaviour as the rest of us are, and that no matter how high you climb, you can take the same vertical fall as anyone else.

Barbados is in a TERRIBLE state, and that is not from the behaviour of the average person but from the irresponsible and unaccountable behaviour of our politicians. There is a reason why there is an island-wide shutdown coming, and there is a reason why the politicians of the day want to muzzle any criticism by threatening legal action against social media.

I keep bringing up the NIS – which is a mandatory deduction from salaries, is NOT NOT NOT from taxes, and is NOT NOT NOT at the beck and call or control of politicians. Yet it is almost all gone – spent, loaned or borrowed by those who are tasked to protect it as a sacred trust for the elderly, poor and sick. But not one of those who suggested or directed its disposal will EVER be asked to account for their actions. HUNDREDS OF MILLIONS OF DOLLARS, down the drain, and nobody will be touched by that.

It is way past time for change in Barbados, and I thank God that someone has come along to offer that change. I also ask God not to let this party become the same way as the others, just another bunch of disgusting do-nothing layabouts with their hands in the taxpayers’ pockets.

34. Dompey,

What do you do when the parties are equally evil?

35. “Donna July 11, 2015 at 9:23 AM #
    Dompey, What do you do when the parties are equally evil?”

You mean like they are now? Form more parties, and contest them at election time. The yard fowls are not the majority, and at all times the electrorate should be given choices.

I even personally advocate the addition, at the bottom of EVERY ballot for public office, of a final “candidate” NOTA = None Of The Above, and the insertion of an election law that, if NOTA gets the majority of THAT ballot, then ALL of the candidates at THAT ballot be barred from standing for ANY public position for ten years or three terms, whichever is longer.

This is based on the concept that if all of the candidates are SO BAD that the majority of the electrorate do not want ANY of them, then it is time to give fresh faces a chance.

36. Hi MB:

We are proposing fines of 10 times the bribe for both giver and receiver, with the whistle-blower getting the full value of the bribe (or 1/10 of the fine).

Best regards,
    Grenville

37. @Solutions —

Certainly a step in the correct direction.

38. @ James Lynch July 12, 2015 at 4:01 PM
    Brilliant and absolutely workable.
    …..unfortunately therefore….It will NEVER be considered in Brassbados.

@ Solutions @ Money B
    We are proposing fines of 10 times the bribe for both giver and receiver, with the whistle-blower getting the full value of the bribe (or 1/10 of the fine).
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Ok…
    …so what happens when the b*&^%$# (bribers) have spent the bribe money (or given it to their mothers / girlfriends/ rum shops/ outside women/ gambling friends etc?) …and they don’t have two dimes to rub together (’cause cents done wid…)????

Money B going pay the fine …AND the ‘bribe-money’ to the whistle blower?
    …..or wunna expecting “Bushie the foolish taxpayer” to pay THAT too….?
    wunna beginning to sound like StinkLiar yuh…

These ‘off the cuff solutions’ ain’t really wukking hear…?
    What EXACTLY is it that this new party is trying to achieve…?

39. @Bushie–

You should know i have stated many times Tough Integrity Legislation is essential, I know you agree. I have also stated to at least triple 3X MPs salaries to attract the highest quality people.

Your hypothetical is easy to solve:
    1 check for hidden assets, foreign Bank Accts etc
    2 NO $?? Then double the prison term
    ( in my Prison system relevant education is high priority, mixed with hard work eg 60 hour “work week” for an inmate will change from 60hrs hard work to some ratio of “work” to studying for a relevant and useful career. Remediation for the better educated)

40. @Bushie—

In Singapore, my wife’s sister-in-law who is an Architect , goes to the prison for 3hrs on Sat am with her Toastmasters associates to discuss with the inmates how they can change for the better.

I have not lived and worked in Bim for 35yrs but have the impression that adults are not “giving back ” to society to the extent many do here in TO. Certainly in my day volunteer coaching in Sports was very limited, whereas in TOR we had 2-4 volunteers for each team of say 15 players. People must be encouraged to participate in character building at some level, I have found it very rewarding especially when a youngster reports back that they took my advice and were rewarded when they overcame some fear eg being hit by a baseball. Also, I had to suspend players for bullying/ fighting and so spent time explaining why I was forced to take such action and what changes the youngster must make.

41. @ Money B
    So when you put these b$%#@&s in prison for DOUBLE the term….AND provide them with counsellors. consolers, teachers and a second chance at success….

…who the a$$ paying for all that….?
    “Bushie the foolish taxpayer” …right?!!
    Boss – why not just execute the B$#^&%$ …(after making them pay the $1 for the bullets?)

Wuh ..wunna getting on like if it is a REASONABLE mistake for an official to take bribes.

Shiite man…. a decent respectable old man like Bushie just gotta mek a small mistake and step cross the road in front a ZR …and Bushy’s ass is grass…
    …and wunna looking for easy escapes for LEADERS and persons in AUTHORITY who ACCEPT high levels of responsibility, and who betray citizens that trust them…

Dat is TREASON boss!!!

The old time Leaders had MUCH more sence than the lotta educated jokers we have nowadays hear….

42. @Bushie—

Why not back up the prison truck and just run a hose from the tail pipe???

Please be assured that I fully agree that wishy-washy leadership is part of the problem, DISCIPLINE must be demanded and enforced.

Once again you are forcing me to remind everyone that it is not some poor unfortunate Official taking bribes, these “officials” EXTORT the $$$ from businessmen. Receiving Goods from the Port for sale at Xmas ie Nov, in January is not helpful.

43. LOL @ Money B
    You! that prison truck thing could work yuh!! 🙂
    …once the diesel used come to less than the $1 for the bullets….

No need to waste national resources unnecessarily on such scum…..

44. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

We don’t have bribery in Barbados, we have extortionate legal, finder’s and consultant fees going to people in positions to make grant permits and contracts. I suspect the only laws being broken are in regard to tax declarations. I recently heard the term ‘lobbying budget’ being used by a frustrated foreign investor when referring to graft, he mentioned it just before leaving the island with his investment capital. There are no more brown paper bags, the process is much more complex.

45. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

@Frustrated, about 25 years ago a friend was explaining to me how the John Gottis of this world had efficiently layered the ‘extortionate finder and consultant fees’ to which you refer above into the fabric of the corporate and government world not only of the US, but as he explained people like him were performing that way all over the world.

A quarter century later Gotti is dead but that mafia mentality extend its tentacles all over and by everyone is any position of influence ( As they were before Gotti even became famous) .

Frankly, the schemes are often less complex and more very sophisticated.

The only ‘good’ thing one can say about all this is that the foreign investor may have left here with his money but its unlikely that he could go anywhere to any other island or to US, Europe or South America and not encounter the same ‘extortionate legal, finder’s and consultant fees’!

46. Hi Bush T:

If the offenders cannot afford to pay the fines right away, then they can pay in installments. Why not simply read the Policy Solutions?

Best regards,
    Grenville

47. @ Solutions Barbados
    Why not simply read the Policy Solutions?
    …cause bushie is NOT really a nit picker, and Bushie DON’T have the time to spent on petty details…when BASIC fundamentals are missing.

It is very hard to comprehend how you are setting about “solving problems” without even defining the issues; the system weaknesses; the reasons for past failures; the resources available; the ultimate objective desired….. NOTHING SO!!

So are you simple assuming that everyone who went before you were idiots lacking the basic common-sense to see whatever it is that you think you are seeing…?

Why do you think engineering problems BEGIN with environmental studies and client requirements?

Steupsss
    “…If the offenders cannot afford to pay the fines right away, then they can pay in installments….”
    …and what if they don’t pay in instalments?
    …What if they INSIST on not paying AT ALL?

You know how many men currently REFUSE to even pay maintenance for THEIR OWN children?

48. Sorry, Grenville, but Bushie is right. When I first read your solutions I realized that you had stepped right into the minor points without setting down your broader framework. We will need that before we can consider voting for your party. I don’t mean to discourage you but rather to encourage you to start at the beginning.