The Cahill Energy Waste to Energy project continues to feature in the news. The Facebook page Waste To Energy Plant has attracted 6157 members to date and is a source of valuable information for Bajans to educate themselves about plasma gasification technology and related matters. All should become members of the page to show solidarity with the cause.

If you do not stand for something you will fall for anything!

Cahill Energy

952 responses to “cahill energy Barbados WtE Project – Confidential Information Memorandum March 2015”

1. ONE OF THE MORE INTRIGUING aspects of the whole parallel-universe proposal for a plasma gasification plant to be brought to Barbados is where it is to be built. The answer, Vaucluse, raises more questions. What have the people of St Thomas, let alone the whole of this island, ever done to have this ticking environmental time bomb placed where they live, sleep, work and raise their innocent children? Another, perhaps a little less emotive, but still fairly important, is, where will the water come from to cool down the plant after you have raised the temperature to close to the sunโ€™s? At a recent town meeting staged by Cahill Energy, the filing-cabinet company located in Guernsey which says it has signed an agreement with the government giving it the right to bring a gasification plant here, there was apparently a lack of information. According to Nation Editor-in-Chief Roy Morris, writing in his column, In the Public Interest last Wednesday (July 29): โ€œWhen asked how much water the plant would use, no one from Cahill could say . . . (They) could not say if they would get it from wells or Barbados Water Authority sources, but suggested it could come from โ€˜potableโ€™ toilet water taken from toilets.โ€ Are the Cahill Energy people really that โ€œin the darkโ€ about their own project? Has Cahill Energy been advised that there is not enough water underground at Vaucluse for the project, and that it would require sea water to be piped in from the west coast? Was Cahill Energy also told that doing this would add well over US$10 million to the cost of the project, to which they or their advisors effectively replied: โ€œNo problemโ€? So, you see, the Cahill Energy project is really an exciting blend of the old and the new. We will have the new: The technology of a plasma gasification plant, which has failed so far every time (I have read) that municipal solid waste (MSW, or regular garbage) is used as its main raw material; and we will have the old: the re-introduction of sea water to the sunlit uplands of St Thomas, where it has not been seen since the island rose out of the ocean billions of years ago. The bringing of such a plant to Barbados would not only be a financial disaster for the country but an environmental one. Quite apart from the danger to health caused by any leakage of the proceeds of gasification โ€“ the poisonous carbon monoxide and the highly-flammable hydrogen โ€“ the MSW must be separated first, so even if you can send 1 000 tonnes of it to Vaucluse every day you would have only a percentage left after separation for gasification. We would still have to recycle the remainder. Plus, to make up the rest of the raw material, something with a consistent burn โ€“ wood chips or stripped tyres are usually used โ€“ will have to be imported. Adding sea water to all of this at the end of the cycle will turn Vaucluse into an environmental โ€œblack holeโ€โ€“ lakes of slag, the residue from the gasification process surrounded by mountains of processed and unprocessed MSW, and the hills and dales of stripped tyres and wood chips. Talk about a parallel universe. Patrick Hoyos is a journalist and publisher specialising in business – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/70601/black-white-cahill-energy-claims-ignorance-loses-steam#sthash.RCYd3h3L.dug

2. 16months on and the Cahill energy people are as cluless as the day the were given the chance of a lifetime.
    I would say that the panel of non experts were all new to the project and were not brought up to speed on where the project stood
    Stantec reps were clearly out of their depth and God only knows why they agreed to accompany the clearly inebriated CEO in the illfated badly organised waste of energy (no punn intended)
    The moderator was clearly overwhelmed and was not at all independent as all moderators typically are
    She was clearly the CEO’s lacky and did what she was told .
    Where were all the Cahill people who attended the first town hall meeting
    Where ever they are they were a lot more informed on the project given it was just starting as opposed to the idiots representing Cahill 16 months on
    $5 million spent ??????
    On what exactly???????

3. St George's Dragon Avatar

Why would Cahill be concerned about water supplies? I thought that was to be provided free by the Government.
    On the BL&P position, it is entirely consistent for them to say they looked at plasma gasification but would talk about taking the power from Cahill. They are two different situations. The first is BL&P committing themselves to build and operate a plant themselves when one of the prime considerations must be reliability. The second is whether someone else can provide them with a source of power which BL&P can add to their supplier mix. The different supply sources will vary in terms of cost per kW, speed to bring on line etc. As Peter Williams said “why would I not look at it”. Doesn’t mean to say he is going to use it though.

4. @David,

No one of the contributors to this blog is tackling the question of landfill. Neither gasification, waste separation or another method (except Plasma-gasification) answers that question. Tyres, construction material, vehicle bodies etc; that are not recyclable and utilize a lot of space in a landfill, have to be disposed of. What is the solution?

5. I think it was mentioned way back in the blog
    AD
    Biodiesel
    Recycling
    Composting
    And up cycling
    All doable and in combination can reduce land fill usage by 95%

6. are-we-there-yet Avatar

AC

Zero waste!!

The Plasma Gasification route, even though it has a theoretical advantage over other WTE methods re reducing landfill volume, is not yet a proven technology at the 1000 tons/day operational scale in a small water scarce coral Island that depends on Tourism to produce the foreign exchange that such Islands need for their modern survival.

7. @Alvin

What we are tackling is a lack of transparency, no EIA…

8. The following was received by email:

http://www.zoominfo.com/p/M.E.-Cowan/1846327424

THAT ADDRESS 2881 GIBFORD AVENUE OTTAWA, IS A HOLIDAY INN AND SUITES!!! J

IF YOU FOLLOW THE TRAIL, YOU WILL FIND MONEY LAUNDERERS; JUST AS WITH CANADA LOYAL FINANCIAL

http://www.canadaloyal.com/……..WHO PROPOSED TO BUY OUT CLICO AND BAICOโ€ฆโ€ฆA YEAR OR MORE AGO.

9. Gillian Brightglass Avatar
    Gillian Brightglass

So the offices of Cahill Energy Limited is registered at 2-star hotel/motel by the Ottawa Airport. This is getting interesting.

10. Gillian Brightglass Avatar
    Gillian Brightglass

Where a standard room will cost you the princely sum of CAD$169/night. What a rashole scam this is.

11. Gillian Brightglass Avatar
    Gillian Brightglass

david
    put up a picture of the google maps street view of the offices of Cahill Energy Limited.

12. Do you mean this place?

holidayinn

13. Gillian Brightglass Avatar
    Gillian Brightglass

Thats the one David. The offices of a world leader in WTE technology and project development.

14. No time to play powful foolish. The Government of Barbados must terminate this Cagehill project.

They should hire the best lawyers to contain the “damage” as lawsuits are typical when you dig yourself into a hole.

15. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

Hants, what you mean needs to happen is that the Opposition lead calls for legal action to be brought against the ministers of government who were actors in this careless and negligent signing of a badly (perhaps fraudulent) contract.

Getting out of the contracts will take care of itself as matters progress. That should be the least of the concerns based on the inability of Cahill to execute.

16. Gillian Brightglass Avatar
    Gillian Brightglass

After the partying for Crop Over is over, I am certain the Cahill Energy scam will feature centre stage again.

17. @ de Ingrunt Word,

I wrote exactly what I meant.

18. LOL
    Oh shiirtt
    Say one thing though, yuh have to say the other..
    Bushie stayed there overnight last year and it was quite comfortable…

AC will be able to explain this away easily …. ๐Ÿ™‚

19. PieceUhDeRockYeahRight Avatar
    PieceUhDeRockYeahRight

Oh Lawsie

Brother Bush Tea!!

You done gone done it now!!

You know that these fellows, when dem cyan blame it pun de Leader of the Opposition, dat you gine get blame as being de author of this Cahill Ting???

Whu room you did stand in at de Headquarters of Cahill Enterprises??

Man you see how ingrunt dese buhkhvnts is?

When I did trying to explain to Bookworm bout how dese bajan politicians arising from a pool of buh bad cuss words earlier pun a nex thread de absolute idiocy of these politicians i guess that he would now unnerstand dat dese “very bad curse wrod that de Blogmaster would ban me like Baffy get ban” is really proof that evolution CAN GO IN REVERSE!!

anyway Bush Tea, I still surprise at you man, you now give ASSIE a way to say dat “it is none udder dan de author (not to be confused wid de arfur) of Doom and Gloom, BU’s renown blogger of Common Sense, dat is de Master Mind behind Cahill Enterprises!!

Whey you tink dem four ministers dat sing dat MOU gine hide fuh de nex few months, now dat dem is found out to be a ting dat does rhyme with months?

By de way Bush Tea, you see dem videos dat Hants put up pun Blue Box Care and Krave??

I heah dat ASSIE was pun de Blue Box Cart site

yesireee she did the squarish piece uh plank dat dem girls did walk pun dat nearly trip up bout tree uh dem….

20. It does not matter where the voices of interest are coming from be it shoe box or bread box, the facts would remain the same , waste management and high energy cost needs to be tackled and all the cross firing is not going to solve that problem

http://www.waste-management-world.com/articles/print/volume-10/issue-4/features/plasma-gasification-clean-renewable-fuel-through-vaporization-of-waste.html

now before you authors of doom and gloom try to shoot the messenger look across the room and please notice ac did not write the article

21. Good article for a scientific journal
    Long on gereralities but short on practical application.
    Had all this information been made specific to the islands waste to energy tendering efforts ie used as part of the scoping document to interested parties we would have had competitive bids to evaluate and make a collective inclusive award to a company with a proven track record in designing an building a plant with proven technology.

22. a proven tracked record ,well most companies with “a proven” track record had to start from the bottom and worked itself into such a category, there is no company in existence that can boost as having a proven track record from its inception ,so this trick u as u go launched to downplay an effort is intellectual poopycock to swing and neuter

23. PieceUhDeRockYeahRight Avatar
    PieceUhDeRockYeahRight

@ AC

You incredibly were right when you said that we have to manage our garbage.

Then as was expected you tried to engage “fifth gear” in the four gear engine of your bedford truck brain box and Whaplax, put de truch in reverse and went thru the windscreen.

Dat was when you tried to use reasoning, a skill which the other two alter egos have, but of which you are sadly missing, by introducing that “starting from the bottom” idea.

You dont start form the bottom with $700M in untried technology DIMWIT.

When you man lef de house to go galivanting why de france you doan stan off de man cuntputer?

24. PieceUhDeRockYeahRight Avatar
    PieceUhDeRockYeahRight

And it is boast, not boost.

I dont know what “swing and neuter” means but then again…

You going to go to Crop Over Celebrations tomorrow?

I hear dat you going to go and try to wuk up pun spring garden like an ole skeet ( not to be confused with Skeete)

Doan worry, doah effing you doan know what’s tuh do jes ” follow de leader leader leader..” cause Fumble and Stinkliar wukking up pun all uh we real good with each passing day.

By de way I did was tuh axe you… Chris Stinkliar sick? Dat Jenny Craig diet ent got he looking too goodie goodie…

25. @Piece

You are dating yourself, Jenny Craig is ole skool.

26. I agree no company starts with a track record but u don’t get it by creating a $1 company and selling it as a company with a history and a track record
    Ur defending a non existent company which the government was stupid enough to give a sweet heart deal that she can’t deliver

27. By Cowan’s own admission at the Open House, her company operates as the developer by outsourcing services. She also confirmed her company has never built a plasma gasification plant.

28. St George's Dragon Avatar

This article raises a number of questions. The first is in the second line of the article “[plasma gasification] can form an integral component in a system to achieve zero waste”.
    But we aren’t doing that, are we? we are actually adding a whole load of king grass and burning that as well.
    Then the cost of the plant. The article says $150 million for a 750 ton/day plant. Cahill’s is 1000 tons, so that’s $200 million. The cost of Cahill’s, we are told, is US$350 million – and that presumably doesn’t include the waste separation which the article appears to say is an integral part of the plant. I know we are not paying for it directly, but we sure are in terms of the $0.26 kW extra we will have to pay for power.

29. @St Georges Dragon

The other info in the article that bears mention is the importance of tipping fees in the p&l equation.

30. you are such a freaking numbskull. how do you think startup companies generate money, you think 700million dollars is a whole f,,king lot such small mindedness, but in the big world of investment that is sh,it money, investors generate money among their own with some support from the banking industry . some of the stories of great innovators and investors are mindbogglingly against a background of having to sell personnal assets and having friends and other business acquaintances believing and supporting them through the process of starting a business oleman. now go invest in a book that would instruct your limited knoweldge on how to start your own business and thrive against all odds ,in the meanwhile you can but a self learning kit.

31. All start up companies are nonexistent until they enter the market ,at present Cahill has entered the market and is being recognized as a company, by authorities who issued them a license to exist
    The company ability to perform or not to perform does not remove that status. A company that can provide sufficient documentation that it has certification in a specialized field of technology would be issued a license,.
    Cahill cannot posed as a company without verified govt documentation and approval,it just cannot happen.
    The other point of contention one being lack of experience although being one of genuine concern, Most start up companies garner their expertise by hiring professional management teams who bring to the company their skill and knowledge which builds and form the company in its early stages.
    i applaud this lady for being bold and stepping into a male dominated area of renewable energy and as a female she would have to pass a test of intestinal fortitude but she cannot and should not be deterred by the bows and arrows of vindictiveness hate and callousness ,

32. Simpletons suggest that most track records are established without the need to show experience.That is not a yardstick by which to gauge the Cahill WTE project.Today’s Sunday Sunday carries an example of a local business establishing itself by dint of sticktoitiveness and hard work.The proprietor did not drunkenly con 4 asses of the DLP dunce cabinet who now are trying to con Bajan taxpayers to support a secret deal. Fvckrs all.

33. David et al…

Maybe the REAL question is….

At a time when Solar energy-into-electricity has become viable for home and business owners, a totally infinite resource, WHY are we being pushed back into using finite and costly resources for electricity generation.

This includes Government removes tax benefits for installation of solar units and also, charging now for licensing such units.

THAT…. THAT is the ‘DEEPER’ (other than the obvious Cahill- whatever- its- called ‘issues’) question.

34. @ac August 2, 2015 at 6:45 PM #

All start up companies are nonexistent until they enter the market ,at present Cahill has entered the market and is being recognized as a company, by authorities who issued them a license to exist
    ………………………………………………………..

And you are satisfied that a novice should use Barbados as the guinea pig. Hell no, let this woman take her unproven project and try it out on another sucker!

35. PieceUhDeRockYeahRight Avatar
    PieceUhDeRockYeahRight

Wunna see this DLP spokesperson? All three uh DEM?

Look whu dat injut jes say!!

“…you think 700 million dollars is a whole f,,king lot such small mindedness, but in the big world of investment that is sh,it money?

You see why we in this sorta mess that we in?

With the Gross Domestic Product pegged at $4 Billion, this ingrunt swine is calling $700 million shyt* money and would, like she Prime Minister and de LoweDown minister dat Dem following call all uh we small mindedness

Yes De Ole Man going and invest in a Book as soon as de Wukking up done pun tuesday, we de crop ovar Wukking up causing de DLP still wukking up pun we pooches

De book dat I gine buy is a financial bestseller it called ” How to Bull people and Mek Millions” by Fumble Stuart, Leroy Parris (honorary bul**r, and co-written by D, Inniss, Claire Cowan and Stinkliar. (Featuring AsSie author of the book “Absolutely Clueless” ans AsSes and Crutches) selling at any bookstore in Bulbados for $700 M or $5M. Be sure and get your copy today

If David ent gine ban you Fumble self gine call you husband and ban you skunt causing you single handedly mekking de DLP look twice as stupid as DEM are….

You sure you ent a BLP operative?? I feel dat you is Henderson Bovell doah and dat dem allow you to come heah and do dis sort of ting

36. Absolutely Clueless AC

In March 2014, Hon. Christopher P. Sinckler, M.P., Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs of Barbados, said:

โ€œA major international energy company out of Canada is proposing and will invest in Barbados a minimum of US$240 million with the potential to rise to US$340 million and it portends massive spin-offs for this local economy. Indeed, coming at a time when the country has seen a softening of its foreign direct investment inflows for the last two years it is a much welcome investment of foreign exchange into the Barbadian economy over the next three years,โ€ he revealed.

Sinckler also said โ€œThis investment by Cahill Energy represents a โ€œgame changerโ€ for Barbados and truly belies any doubt that Barbados is still a preferred destination for solid, and impactful foreign direct investment.โ€

Sinkler also said Cahill and its parent company have โ€œas much as 15 years in business, including some in the area of energy?โ€

Now you say that Cahill is a start-up.

So what is it – โ€œA major international energy company out of Canadaโ€ ….with โ€œas much as 15 years in business, including some in the area of energyโ€ or a start-up?

Was the Hon. Christopher P. Sinckler, M.P., Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs of Barbados being less that honest in March of 2014?

37. the guy ova day stop putting words in my mout i never said that Cahill was a startup company my inference was a response where one wise guy was taking pot shots relating that cahill had no track record ,as usual the spin doctors from the blp would gladly inject their poisonous medicine as remedy to revive a story .

38. PieceUhDeRockYeahRight Avatar
    PieceUhDeRockYeahRight

Doan mind Dem AsSIE I jes vote fuh you hear???

Dese peeple wid dem pizionous medicines en ting.

All you did say is dat its is good dat a woman coming out from under de boot uh menses like Baffy en ting en running stsrttups and dat dangerous Dare Devil fellow and udder uh dem is putting words in you mouth and, dem liable tuh chose you especially now you gots you boot in you mout…..hahahaha

39. PieceUhDeRockYeahRight Avatar
    PieceUhDeRockYeahRight

choke you,,, de words liable to choke you…lord forbid if any one uh dem chose you,,,man i wud not wish someting like dat pun my worse enemy

40. the oleman all up in arms because i say in the world of investment the money that he calls big money is chump change , so that is a fact, there are some houses that is worth more than some WTE plants, now look at this have you ever heard of one of the worlds richest men who owns a yacht worth more than 4billion dollars. yeah now yuh having chest pains , anyhow before you go getting all excited and calling on the blp executioners take some time out to catch up with modern times and life as it changes, ole fart, that is before time runs out on you ,,

41. PieceUhDeRockYeahRight Avatar
    PieceUhDeRockYeahRight

AsSie,

You right I go chest pains woman I frighten uh dem big numbers almost as fright uh we minister uh finance does be when he see a decimal point and a zero in front uh a integer!!

Ahhhhmmmmm I cud axe you a question doah?

You wun happen to know who dat fellow is wid de $4 billion yacth causing de way wunna skippa sailing dis one, it gine sink soon and we going need an ark to save all uh we behinds dem (not the DLP DEM we real real asses)

Oh by de way AsSIE it ent de BLP executioners dat we gots to call, it is de IMF hangmens..or hangwomens,,,i hope dat you like dat wuman at the IMF like how you extort de virtues of dat Cahill wuman ….

And de ole man tek offence dat you has announce to eveybody here pun BU, including my Sexy Suzanne SSS (you do know dat she is pun de island?)

I offended dat you is tell every body dat I got flatulence (you call me an ole fart) and does fart alot expecially when you PR Fumble always brekking wind pun de Bajans …how come you doan call he an ole fart too? Doah yuh might have to call he an ole ***

Any way I gone I gots to go and get some sleep…get up early and trick dat fellow dat you want to come and tek me to Wesbury and mek some dumplings and salt fish, (not dat udder one dat you gots) pack in a lunch box and go up to de National Stadium an’ sit down and watch Krave.

Whu part you going to be? I want to see you in person and … ……………………………………..jes maybe fart in you right hand…I had you tric wid dem dots of continuity….

42. PieceUhDeRockYeahRight Avatar
    PieceUhDeRockYeahRight

i meant to say extort not exhort jes in case you ent know de difference

43. What is interesting is the offices are located at an Airport hotel. I guess the real ‘owners’ of the company don’t what to drive far when they fly into Ottawa.

44. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

AC clearly when stupidity was being shared you misunderstood and thought it was studiously and rejoined the line multiple times. I really do feel your father’s pain for the grave misfortune that has befallen his child.

I know this is futile but I need the mental exercise so…

Do you not understand that relative to Barbados a project of $700M is about 18% of the GDP number mentioned above.

Do you grasp that an infusion to any economy of that amount is a very, very big deal and must be handled with transparency, accuracy and good governance.

Everything is relative.

The entire province of Ontario generated jut over 36% (approx. US$687B ) of Canada’s 2013 GDP (US$1.87 Trillion) according to Wiki. So oh smart AC put that into context.

Ms. Cowan and her crew are effectively offering a project that on comparison would be about HALF the economy of Canada’s most populated province or US$343 Billion !

So do you have any modicum of common sense now to really appreciate the impact of your ridiculous chump change comment.

To our $4 Bil economy an 18% increase could be compared to Billions of $$ in a larger money base.

Good lawd!

45. ” Ms. Cowan and her crew are effectively offering a project that on comparison would be about HALF the economy of Canadaโ€™s most populated province or US$343 Billion !

So do you have any modicum of common sense now to really appreciate the impact of your ridiculous chump change comment.

To our $4 Bil economy an 18% increase could be compared to Billions of $$ in a larger money base.”

M’s Cowan is offering none of this
    She is selling the opportunity off that’s not the same thing
    She has no crew other than those who sat on a panel of project ignorant numptys .
    All those originally involved have faded away over the past 16months none of the people who attended the first town hall meeting were part of her team this time
    Is it possible none of them have been paid ????
    She declares Cahill as a designer builder and operator of these plants
    That’s a blatant lie one of Manny uttered by this scam artist.

46. Where is Liz Spencer the CCO of Cahill energy
    Former director of Cahill international now desolved by Clare Cowan

47. !!!!!!!! Indeed