Denis Lowe exposing his Doctoral Certificate
During the Presentation of the Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals 2015 the intelligence of Barbadians was trivialized (or was it) by the debate whether Lowe has earned a Doctorate or leader of the Opposition possesses the requisite qualification to practice law in Barbados. Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur has routinely described contributions to debate in parliament as ‘poorakey’, now there is incontrovertible proof.
The fact the government and cohorts have been allowed to persist with such a serious accusation is a reflection on wider civil society, and importantly the Attorney General of Barbados. The clarification should not have to come from Sir Henry Forde who was one of two persons who recommended Mottley to the Bar of Barbados, what about the independent entities and individuals who could have deflated the political rhetoric the next day? We refer to entities/individuals like the Law Faculty of the University at Cave Hill, Barbados Bar Association, former Attorney General Maurice King et al. This is one of the major problems plaguing our little society; we allow political brinkmanship to override the intelligent arguments.
The majority of Barbadians would have preferred Lowe, Sinckler and the others respond to the scathing accusations levelled by the Opposition concerning a lack of transparency and accountability about the Cahill Energy Waste to Energy Plant matter and obvious conflict of interest issues arising from Lowe and Lashley leasing luxury vehicles from Trans Tech Inc.
BU reserves our biggest disappointment for Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite who promised to investigate the matter and advise Barbadians of his findings. Commonsense suggests the gravitas of two ministers who sit on the front bench questioning the bona fides of a leader of opposition to practice law should be considered a priority issue. Brathwaite has allowed his political affiliation to besmirch the office of the Attorney General. Then again this is an Attorney General who promised to act on sighting irregularities during the last general election. This is an Attorney General who promised new domestic abuse legislation about two years ago. This is the DLP who accused a BLP government of holding the findings of the St. Joseph Hospital Commission Report over the head of the late Branford Taitt and in the process taint his reputation and puncture his legacy. Interestingly, the DLP has not published the report since ascending office.
The refusal of the Prime Minister to touch the issues raised by the Opposition exposes a bug in our governance system. Who will debug it?
The debate which continues about the qualification of the leader of the opposition and minister Lowe is an indictment on the quality of governance we practice in Barbados. Anywhere in the world a Speaker of the House who has been found guilty of withholding thousands of dollars from a client, a deputy Speaker who has been named in a serious court matter, or a minister who brandished a gun in a threatening manner in the precinct of parliament would have been severely disciplined and asked to resign by any self respecting nation.
What is democracy? – “government of the People, by the People, for the People – has come to symbolize the definition of democracy”
The truth is that the lawyers, David Thompson, Michael Carrington, Michael Simmons, Kenneth Best and Michael Lashley may have their LEC to practice law in Barbados. No problem.
And you accuse Mottley, without any verifiable proof, for engaging in the illegal practicing of law in Barbados.
However, your “golden eye boys” with-held money and property from their clients; refused to pay back a loan they had from Police Credit Union, so his name was placed in the papers as a delinquent; had to run from Barbados; facilitated the production of a fraudulent invoice and driving ‘bout a vehicle as payment for giving Trans Tech buses to repair.
Yeah but the golden eye boy is not running for the highest office in the land neither has he taken a stronghold on to the pole of integrity to point any accusatory finger at no one, and as for DT he is dead and cannot respomd or reply to any accusations ,,Mottlely has taken a huge gamble which now ran the high risk of ruining her party image by taking a moral stand on which she can be challenged on the past and present both having sufficient evedience to reopen wounds that were all but closed against her favor. Her tactics of self destruction hinges on what she perceives as corrective measures which are in reality ticking bombs that woulds eventually overwhelmed and destroy her political ambitions, any politician with political savy and years of experience would not set bobby traps in an attempt to destroy others knowing full well that any truth which lies within their message can affect them and eventually blow up in their face, Think on these things,,,
Some of you simply don’t learn. You allow someone who is clueless about what happens in Barbados to lead every conversation with rubbish arguments. And ac is not Knight.
Perhaps the DLP is lagging with completing the polyclinic because they want to back out from naming it the David Thompson polyclinic.
@David,
The BarbadosToday editorial is interesting.
David July 1, 2015 at 11:51 PM “Perhaps the DLP is lagging with completing the polyclinic because they want to back out from naming it the David Thompson polyclinic.
Well then name the darn thing after one of our heroic public health nurses or after BU’s Dr. Georgie Porgie.
The more things change the more they remain the same?
“Perhaps the DLP is lagging with completing the polyclinic because they want to back out from naming it the David Thompson polyclinic. ”
They are in a quandary. Can’t afford to back off naming the polyclinic after Mr Thompson now. The perception would be that they are in agreement with the allegations levelled against the deceased.
Public Finances of the Arthur adminintratioin. Note that current revenue exceeded current expenditure in each of its fourteen years.
Public Finances of the Arthur administration. Note that current revenue exceeded current expenditure in each of its fourteen years.
Then along comes the Thompson/Stuart administration and this is what happens
2008/2009. The government spends $256 million more than it receives in revenue.
2009/2010. The government spends $557 million more than it receives in revenue.
2010/2011. The government spends $647 million more than it receives in revenue.
2011/2012. The government spends $284 million more than it receives in revenue.
2012/2013. The government spends $260 million more than it receives in revenue.
That is a total deficit of $2.004 billion, excluding the appropriation of $100 million of NIS funds. The facts speak for themselves. What would you say about any housewife who kept overspending her income by massive amounts. What would such spending do to the family’s bank account, provided it had a banker stupid enough to let her continue to do it.
Can this be considered prudent management of the country’s finances?
Can we continue to blame the world recession for Barbados’ financial woes? Or put the blame on the profligate spending of the Government.
Also note. Maximum revenue of the Arthur administration was $2.3billion in 2007/2008
Revenue of the DLP administration as per graph was as follows:
2008/2009 – $2.6 billion approx
2009/2010 – $2.3 billion approx
2010/2011 – $2.3 billion approx
2011/2012 – $2.5 billion
2012/2013 – $1.8 billion approx
Ask yourself. Where was the money spent and was it spent wisely? Clearly it was not spent on capital works, as the graphs show.
“Yeap and the point being which the yardfowls would not admit that the Blp moral authority is bankrupt in the same way they left the country on the brink of bankruptcy ,”
Ac get your facts straight – show me anything in that graph above to suggest the BLP left the country bankrupt.
the shamelessness of Mia to be bestowing accolades of morality on herself can only be described as arrogance.How on earth can some one who have lived a world of corruption and lies and deceit preach or condemn any one on such matter
Doesn’t the truth require concrete and hardened Facts does pointing an accusing finger become a truth or a Fact. Mia Mottley has done so under the guise of wanting to achieve power by assuming that if enough mud is thrown in the air some will eventually fall to the ground leaving an indelible stain which is hard to remove on those she choose to accused
the truth of the matter is that at times the mud is composed of elements and deposits that are miror images of the accuser which leaves stains and blemishes which are instant reminders of who they really are .
@ balance
As they say the proof of the cake is in the eating , Numbers on a paper was not reflective of the hidden economic truth of barbados a country which became financially anemic and paralysis under economic pressures as the global economic melt down hit our shores , so what is your point,
“@ balance
As they say the proof of the cake is in the eating , Numbers on a paper was not reflective of the hidden economic truth of barbados a country which became financially anemic and paralysis under economic pressures as the global economic melt down hit our shores , so what is your point,”
To respond to your rubbish would only serve to dignify it so Ms Malaprop I rest my case
Well balance no need to response starting as far back as 2007 the barbados economy responded in a clear precise and analytical manner proving you wrong wherby the numbers which you provided were not true indicators/ which should have helped to provided a solid foundation in pulling barbados out of a global economic storm.. As we all now know the country was laden with debt and the balance of payment exceeded more than what was left by the BLP on the books/record to pay the debt,
Look at this ac is thanking David for separating FACT from Fiction as the BLP yardfowls as usual used misinformation and throw it in the public domain as Fact exhibit A / Margaret Knight alias ac,
this is a shining example of how these clowns operate by uses of perception, and added to their nonsense is a clueless Mia Mottley who seems to become the main source of unfiltered garbage as she wobbles her way through the political land mines and bobby traps which unknowingly and ignorant of the fact she sets for herself in an attempt to harm and destroy others
You may be right about ignoring idiots, …but shiite man, don’t YOU have some level of responsibility to ban the jackass AC after some reasonable limit?
How come you does ban Bushie’s pal Jack “Donkey” Boremann?
Wuh he got more sense, and is MUCH more interesting than AC…and besides, one can understand that he must get lonely out there on his mock blog trying to piggyback on your outstanding work here…
What is AC’s excuse?
Man ban the damn idiot nuh!!!!
@Bush Tea
Jack is a spammer who degrades the blog. It is a judgement call. The best way to cure ignorance is to expose it. Didn’t we use this approach to apartheid in S Africa?
“….Didn’t we use this approach to apartheid in S Africa?”
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
NO!
…we banned their asses from everything -even cricket – until they came to their senses.
of course for AC that would be a lifetime ban…. 🙂
Bush shit unlike u ac does not let lies get in the way of Truth or Fact on one hand you lambast politicians as liars and thieves and on the other hand you endorse politicians who have a questionable past tainted with illegalities and corruption and that is a Fact.
@ ac
you are very sick , go and pray for your soul
Really!Mia comes lambasting and hurling unfounded allegations in every direction.in the meanwhile the hypocrisy floats to the top as the misfits and antagonist try putting new wine in ole bottles calling it change. Better yet should be named shame.
Btw deputy dawg alias bush shite wid all yuh so called common sense u have not been able to
manage your blog called Bush Tea at large .yet you got the balls to tell administrators how to manage theirs ..Dawg u need to get a f..ing. life .hypocrite
are the name ” deputydawg”applies and fits your personality in more ways than one
Ignorance is definitely a curse!!
It seems when it was being distributed, this lot ran to the front of the line, thereby receiving A Considerable amount.
the Fact is that the ignorance keep you coming back for more,, if only you and the other antagonist had the intellectual wherewithal of avoidance.
sounds familiar as if it is 2013 all over again,,
What are the results of the AG’s investigation into Mia Mottley’s eligibility to practice law in Barbados?
Artaxerxes, your 11:01 post is a reminder that this whole thing is verifiable LOLLROF matter. What exactly was he investigating again!
How do you investigate a non-issue.
Caswell said that our constitution does not require the AG to be a lawyer and I take his word for that so no issues there re our legal system. But two former High Court judges (one being the CJ) and a former attorney general would have to be retroactively reprimanded if this stupid claim had any validity.
Do you really start such an investigation that not only wastes time but brings affront to the leaders of the legal system, or do you tell your fellow ministers to retract their stupid remarks.
In short Artax let’s go with AC explanation above to suggest why nothing has been done: “[We should] not let lies get in the way of Truth or Fact …”
Solid philosophy. Stupidity or lies should never interfere with facts.
Pingback: Attorney General Adriel Brathwaithe | Liar and Politician | Barbados Underground