Those  Democratic Labour Party (DLP) members in parliament advocated the need for Barbados to enact Integrity and Freedom of Information legislation prior to being elected in 2008. There was an expectation Barbadians would have seen movement on this issue within 100 days of the DLP government […] taking office. It is an indictment on civil society we have not been able to pressure government to treat this issue as a priority.  In fact, the DLP was re-elected in 2013 and transparency legislation did not feature as a key platform issue.

It is ironic Mia Mottley’s contribution in the 2015 Budget Debate  has positioned the issue of graft and corruption in government squarely in the public’s domain. If we are to evaluate the fervour which some members of parliament on Mottley’s side supported her on the issue there is a lot to be said about the political class closing ranks.

Here is the Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley’s reply to the 2015 Budget (first hour clipped).

246 responses to “Mia Mottley Prosecutes Government on CORRUPTION in Her Reply to 2015 Budget”

1. Hamilton Hill Avatar

To hear the Attorney General stand there during his contribution and claim that he cannot wait for the enactment of the same, I thought was insulting and clearly shows the level of contempt this admiinistration has for Barbadians.

2. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2015 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS,DLP AND BLP MUST GO VOTE CUP Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2015 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS,DLP AND BLP MUST GO VOTE CUP

All of them are crooks playing games on the People of Barbados, They will go back and drink and make sport on how they fool people again for another Year.

3. Is Mia representing Cahill Energy??

4. Alleyne can you not read and comprehend????? Wonder where you went to school?

5. Alleyne June 19, 2015 at 8:03 AM #

Is Mia representing Cahill Energy?? hahahaha lol

Alleyne that’s a hilarious post and a good question we didn’t know she represents Four Seasons until Sincklair and Inniss spilled the beans. The publc wants to know more on the talk about $10 million fees at 4 Seasons. Shades of Mr. Green verbs. You think islandgal can provide inside scoop?

6. An unquenchable thirst for fame and power does not equal transparency.those two elements “fame”andpower were indictive in her “road show”as she proceeded to persecute govt in Parliament

7. You dems certainly would not have liked Wesley’s contribution on Brasstacks today.

This man is a former diehard dem who was the first one to expose how corrupt low was! He wrote the PM with chapter and verse on what he as a board member saw going on in the SSA and as expected the do nothing PM did nothing.

No wonder the corruption that was exposed on Tuesday seemed to have startled and rattled him!

8. And don’t see how Freudel can argue with this, he is after all over 60 years of age and more often than not makes some really senile sounding comments….lol

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/68878/happy

It will be interesting to note just who Inniss is planning to take his gloves off at, he is having a Jack and Kamla moment…lol

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/68876/inniss-hit-blacklisting

9. Let’s reset the clock and start again
    Renewable energy is needed
    Let’s cansel the ilconceived Cahill debacle and do it right

10. This is what angers me about the frauds calling themselves politicians in Barbados, if Mia has been practicing law without a certificate for these many years as alleged by another fraud, why does Lowe not call in the police to arrest Mia, if he has proof that makes him complicit the deceit and not a good citizen, steupss.

If Mia is/has fraudulently practicing law, she should be arrested and why are the citizens in Barbados only NOW hearing about this?

http://nakeddeparture.com/can-it-be-that-mia-mottley-is-not-a-credentialed-attorney/

11. Prodigal Son June 19, 2015 at 10:41 AM #

“No wonder the corruption that was exposed on Tuesday seemed to have startled and rattled him!”

Prodigal, the DLP supporters are a unique group of individuals.

Mottley leveled some very serious accusations against some DLP parliamentarian.

Rather than present to the public, TRUTHFUL FACTS to disprove these accusations, the DEMS and their supporters are “side stepping” by presenting issues to distract the public from focusing on “DEM” and concentrate on Mot

12. What credentials does the CEO of Cahill ME Clare Cowan have ??? Other than fees to create a shell company offshore to avoid taxes and create an illusion of competence she is a has been radiology technican mascarading as The CEO of a non company

13. I have never heard of a Radiology technician.I have known of a position called X-ray technician,an entry level position.With appropriate training an x-ray technician might go on to become a Radiologist.

14. Correct me if I am wrong.Did not the AG say he witnessed vote buying in St Philip South in 2013.And to this day he has done nothing about it?Is this the same man who says he will be looking into Lowe’s comments about MAM non certification to practise law in Barbados?You see why Bajans have no confidence in these DLP functionaries!The DLP is no better than the PP in Trinidad and the PPP/C in Guyana when it comes to scandals.

15. Just like the debate on credentials in the parliament Cowan should make public her credentials and her intentions

16. Do con artists have credentials other than conning people of of dere hard ernt money. she sitting back just waitin for her millions to cum rollin in. She must tink having a big title like CEO makes her special. News for ya mrs cowen. your Shiite stinks like everyone elses.

17. Mr epstein
    Shite is part of the municipal waste needed for the Cahill plasma plant
    Maybe she is part of the 450 tons a day needed to feed the plant

18. Rastarooster June 19, 2015 at 11:42 AM #

What credentials does the CEO of Cahill ME Clare Cowan have ??? Other than fees to create a shell company offshore to avoid taxes and create an illusion of competence she is a has been radiology technican mascarading as The CEO of a non company

Radiology technican????

Think you were looking at Claire (with an i) Cowan

19. On the topic of credentials/qualifications

How do his qualifications as a Social Scientist and a licensed Clinical Psychologist qualify Dr. Lowe to be Barbados’ Chief Garbage Man, with responsibility to award contracts worth $700 million (or whatever) to a Guernsey (or Canadian?) shell company with no history in WTE; which then shops the contract around the globe for multi-million dollar gain.

Sure looks like an unqualified garbage man got taken to the dump by a scammer.

20. not all Canadians are like this Cowan woman she is one devious person with nothing but deception in her heart

21. @DD

The award of a contract by government should not be based on a minister’s say so, any modern government should have a transparent procurement system. This is where we need to be as a country.

22. Can we ask the ministers to publish the evaluation process they went through to come to the conclusion that this Cahill plasma project was the correct decision

Another fundamental question is are Cahill energy allowed to sell on the contract to a third party without proper due diligence ????
    Cahill is a penny stock company with no employees and no balance sheet
    Where is the gobs auiditor general

23. David

Given the current discussions DD thought it would be worthwhile revisiting the original Cahill blog @

https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2014/03/25/cahill-energy-transparency-and-taxpayers-right-to-know/

Which included the following comment:

Due Diligence April 2, 2014 at 11:58 AM #
    are-we-there-yet? | April 2, 2014 at 9:15 AM |

“Disgruntled, sounds very authentic!”

Indeed

DD did not recognize most of the names in the short list, so did a bit of Googling. Here is some interest finds.

China State Construction Engineering Corporation Ltd (China Construction) is China’s largest construction and real estate conglomerate and biggest building work contractor. It is the largest transnational construction company in the developing countries including in Barbados.

China National Complete Plant Import Export Corporation (Complant) is a Chinese company mainly involved in contracting and engineering in the domestic market and several international markets.

ANDRITZ Energy & Environment GmbH (AE&E) designs, manufactures, installs, and services steam generators (bubbling and circulating fluidized bed boilers) and air pollution control systems (flue gas cleaning systems). The company has more than 150 years’ experience and the highest levels of technological competence.

Plasco Energy Group/ SNC Lavalin International Inc.
    Plasco Energy Group builds, owns, and operates proprietary, world-leading technology that converts municipal solid waste into green power and other valuable products. Plasco has more than thirty years of experience with plasma technologies and has received funding from Government agencies, including Sustainable Development Technology Canada. Plasco is the green alternative to municipal waste management providing a socially acceptable and environmentally superior solution.

SNC-Lavalin (TSX:SNC) is one of the leading engineering and construction groups in the world and a major player in the ownership of infrastructure, and in the provision of operations and maintenance services. SNC-Lavalin has offices across Canada and in over 35 other countries around the world, and is currently working in some 100 countries.

So, the two China companies would appear to have the capability to build, finance and operate the WTE plant.

AE&E has more than 150 years’ experience and the highest levels of technological competence.

The Plasco Energy Group/ SNC Lavalin International Inc. have the a proven record in WTE/contracting to build the plant.

But, Cahill Energy appears to be a Guernsey-based shell company incorporated in 2011, with no track record and an incomplete website

It is difficult to understand why GOB signed an agreement with Cahill Energy to build, finance and operate a utility-scale Waste to Energy plant “to utilise the most innovative technology available to transform all kinds of waste on Barbados into clean, renewable energy”.

As an aside, given recent media reports concerning alleged kickbacks and political donations by SNC officers, it is likely that SNC has discontinued these activities – for the time being at least.

See:
    http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/snc-lavalin-bridge-contract-linked-to-1-5m-in-suspected-kickbacks-1.2534234

Radio-Canada’s investigative program Enquête has uncovered a money trail suggesting that almost $1.5 million in suspected kickbacks ended up in Swiss bank accounts of a former Federal Bridge Corporation boss, shortly after SNC-Lavalin was awarded a $127-million contract in 2000 to refurbish Montreal’s Jacques Cartier Bridge.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/business/snc-lavalin-agrees-to-10-year-ban-from-world-bank-projects-1.1316719

SNC-Lavalin is embroiled in an ongoing scandal surrounding improper payments the company may have made to secure construction contracts in North African nations including Libya under Moammar Gadhafi.
    Last fall the company’s former CEO, Pierre Duhaime, was arrested and charged with fraud in connection with the contract to build the McGill University superhospital in Montreal.
    And just last month, a top executive with the company admitted to dubious political donations while testifying at the Charbonneau commission, which is looking into corruption in Quebec’s construction industry.
    “The company’s decision to settle signals our determination as we go forward to set standards for ethics in business conduct and for good governance that are beyond reproach,” SNC-Lavalin CEO Robert G. Card said. “The company has already taken, and will continue to take, measures to ensure rigorous compliance and control procedures are in place.”

DD hopes that GOB has established standards for ethics in business conduct and for good governance that are beyond reproach, and has taken measures to ensure rigorous compliance and control procedures are in place.

END QUOTE

The final comment was in reference to the SNC kickbacks scandals; but it now looks like Cahill may have been playing its own kickbacks scheme.

It certainly looks now like GOB has NOT established standards for ethics in business conduct and for good governance that are beyond reproach, and/or has NOT taken measures to ensure rigorous compliance and control procedures are in place.

And based on the attached letter to Cahill from Chris Killarney – Holtspur Associates – Cahill is trying to flip its deal to COMPLANT, one of the original short listed companies .

24. I am at a loss.

Due Diligence has been posting very good info on this Cahill company. We have read the info and most of us have concluded that it is a shell company. No one can find any info on any projects they have completed. The evidence is irrefutable.

So ow could the Stinkliar get up in Parliament to deny that this company is a real company and not a company with only a brass plate on a building.

The liar’s problem is that these dems think we are idiots and that we cannot do the research and understand. He now says his hands are clean…………wow! We have never heard him deny the allegations surrounding all of the election paraphernalia that was brought in through another company closely linked to these same dlp movers and shakers. And the man declares his hands are clean? Wow!

You cannot make this stuff up! These are the worst people ever to have been elected! Fuh real!!!

25. Prodigal Son

Thanks for your kind comment.

Just trying to be helpful.

26. MAM,Marshall,Symmonds,Payne,Toppin,Bradshaw & Hinkson are all lawyers.Take the Cahill matter to the High Court,block it,make these 4 ministers appear in court and grill them to kingdom come.Ask them where they born,where they went to school,if they got any witnesses that they went to school,what are the names of their teachers,bring those teachers to court ln other words expose their naked greed,lack of common sense and lack of morals to all and sundry and be prepared to go all the way to Byron with it.

27. @ Gabriel
    …..and what happens when other lawyers ask them about VECO, Terminals, and the Prison?
    …the practicing certificate is just a shot across the bow…

This is why it is necessary to CONFESS one’s transgressions and seek forgiveness in order to successfully transform oneself into change agents….

28. Read this carefully and see how well the rite people do in Babadus.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/06/19/offside-2/

29. @Bushie,

Be careful. they might need to burn all de bush in Babadus if Cahill build de WTE plant.

There is a brilliant idea. how about making part of the wte plant a crematorium.

30. Thanks for your work DD.

31. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Bush Tea;

Uh tink yuh might be right as usual!

I which case, the Mottley revelations might also be a shot across the bow and the matter will peter out in the days and months to come.

But one clue that it is likely to be so is the relatively lukewam support that MAM has got and the evident lack of outrage that those who watched the debate has seen evinced by most of her colleagues.

Perhaps with Mia having started the ball rolling, the real change will come from future actions by the likes of Maria? Agard, Eastmond and Symmonds (looking to catapult his chance for a PM ship out of this matter). These MPs, as far as I have heard, have not been accused of personal corrupt acts and could, if impelled to do so, take up the baton in a meaningful way.

But, I fear that most of us cannot comprehend the sheer enormity of what has transpired so far that makes this case totally different from earlier rumoured acts of graft an corruption by our politicians.

The Cahill project, if implemented, will expose all of us to the likely extremely serious deleterious effects of the largest plasma gasification plant in the world, including denudation of coral stone in a wide swath around the plant, exposure to environmental toxins (if wunnah thought that mount stinkeroo was bad, the Cahill holes and ponds will be a thousand times worse) and will ensure that our tourism sinks as it is unlikely to be able to coexist with the plasma monster operating at over 5,000 degrees centigrade in the centre of our Island.

That is what this Cahill thing is all about and why we need an epiphany before it is too late, but don’t fear, Freundal is in charge.

32. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Due Diligence;

There is some more current info (a canadian news item) on Plasco that I came across recently. I can’t find it right now. perhaps you can fetch it. I think it was about the Ottawa? municipal government cancelling their main WTE project.

Hants; that Preconco response is totally predictable and was the minimum required from them. It only illuminates some of the longstanding parameters of their relationships with governments in power but does not in any way address the substantive concerns.

33. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Oops!

where I mentioned Eastmond above it should have been Hinkson!

34. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Rastarooster June 19, 2015 at 1:29 PM #

not all Canadians are like this Cowan woman she is one devious person with nothing but deception in her heart
    …………………………………………………………………………………..
    Perhaps you should add EMERA’S ,Sarah Mc Donald to that list of devious Canadian persons. Imagine her being on the golf course, while leaving instructions to send home workers .

35. Stinkliar said in the House that the government is not building this plant…according to him the government is not spending any $700 million dollars.

So if the government is not putting a cent into this project, why would the government be paying for the impact study? Should not the people who are spending the money to build the plant be the ones to conduct this environmental study before four dopey ministers sign away the future of our children and grandchildren?

So how can the Stinkliar now come and say the project will go no way without the PM signing off on it.

Does this mean that MAM was correct that Fumble did not know about this?

I must say, I hope Fumble has to really sign off on it because it would stay on his desk like the many others and who knows…………out of spite, it may stay very well let it stay there forever.

We can only hope!

36. AWTY

Here it is.

http://ottawacitizen.com/news/local-news/plasco-energy-group-files-for-creditor-protection

Ottawa severs ties with Plasco as company files for creditor protection

On the same day that city officials recommended that Ottawa end its relationship with Plasco Energy Group, the home-grown waste-management firm filed for creditor protection, resulting in the loss of 80 jobs and the end of an era for a company once considered a shining light in the local clean-tech industry.

The city’s relationship with Plasco is “for all intents and purposes” done, Mayor Jim Watson said Tuesday after learning of the news. “While it’s regrettable the Plasco arrangement did not work out, the fact is we have to move forward and find other technologies other than burying garbage in a hole.”

The 80 laid-off employees — all local — are to receive one month’s salary and benefits, as well as any vacation and other time owed to them. The remaining 25 employees, including president and CEO Ray Floyd, have been retained because they are considered key in helping Plasco move into whatever its next phase might be, according to a source with knowledge of the proceedings.

It appears Plasco simply ran out of time and money. An attempt to secure a grant from the Sustainable Development Technology Canada fund was unsuccessful at the end of January. (The federal fund had granted Plasco $9.5 million in 2005.)

Then on Feb. 1, Plasco missed a $3.5 million payment owed to a creditor, according to court documents. Following a grace period of 10 days, the creditor could have demanded immediate payment of $18 million.

…………………

Just imagine if they had received the Barbados WTE contract, they would be rich now instead of broke.

37. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Due Diligence;

Was just reading back through the early 2014 BU thread which you linked earlier.

I think it should be required reading for the BU family. It describes MAM blowing the whistle on the Cahill matter and then going into a shell and also several revelations by posters such as “revelations” that ring true with the passing of time.

Its good stuff.

David;

I think what would also be good stuff that you could bring up to inform this current debate is the earlier discussion on Dr Lowe’s early dealings (pre 2008) with a matter involving government and an overseas developer and allegations of Lowe being on a retainer for pushing their agenda. Some of the info might be on Barbados Free Press.

38. @Are-we-there-yet

Thanks for the feedback. A better move is to use the Carousel to feature Denis Lowe blogs.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son June 19, 2015 at 2:38 PM
    “The liar’s problem is that these dems think we are idiots and that we cannot do the research and understand. He now says his hands are clean…..”

His hands are clean alright! Clean of the Four Seasons project. Not a word anymore about this project which had investors queuing outside his office every day to take it off the government’s hands. What’s the position with that project now? Growing elephant grass for the new WTE or moi mossy (river tamarind) for the technologically advanced sugar cane factory?

Any body who relies on the word of that pathological liar has to be a regular patient of the purported (mock) clinical psychologist “Dr.” Denis Black Mout Lowe down.

We can surely see that Stinkliar’s loss of weight is all due to him having to run constantly from those two assassins who threatened to kill him. Why isn’t this moral reprobate no longer in fear of his life? Are the two would-be killers behind bars?

40. whether the bees like it or not the WTE will be moving forward in spite of all the fiction and distortion of the truth by one MIA who now has found herself between a rock and a hard place with those whom she has accused with salacious and scurrilous activities calling her out in the media as a bold faced double tongue liar, describing Mia as a “witch :” is being kind

41. ac

DD posted the following to another blog but has received. no explanation

“What DD finds curious is that he found nothing concerning Dr. Lowe’s time in Human Resources at CIBC or CIBC FirstCaribbean back min the early 2000s, which was likely his stepping stone into the lucrative field of politics in Barbados.”

Can explain why Dr. Lowe (and DPL) leaves this employment out of his bio?

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac June 19, 2015 at 5:35 PM

You mean to say that the WTE will actually start in September before the Sugar Cane Factory that started since January 2014?

So what happened to the Sugar Point Cruise Ship terminal? Awaiting a berth at the Pierhead marina to ferry people to the Paradise Four Seasons?

Come on jackass, which foreign investors would take up US$ 400 million and invest it in a WTE in an economy with a junk bond label and no natural tradable resources as security?

BTW, ac, 11 days to go for the official opening of the DLP crematorium in St. John. Have you received your personal invitation as yet? Neither Prodigal Son nor Bush Tea has received theirs. What’s wrong? A strike at the Postal Service or are they still on there ‘lying’ on PM’s desk just like the go-ahead for the WTE and the sugar cane factory?

43. ac should tell BU why the late David Thompson had to reshuffle his cabinet and move the low man from the ministry only after a few months.

The low man never denied the text he apparently sent asking for his cut nor has he ever denied the allegation from his own siblings that they found mysterious millions of dollars stashed away in their mother’s account.

ac, the people want answers!

44. @DD

BU understands Lowe had a brief stint at CIBC in a low level job, he probably is if of the view to mention it would degrade his bio.

45. Let me say this Lowe is a cabinet minister he is not aspiring to become the PM of Barbados so putting the spot light on Lowe is just a futile attempt by the BLP to overshadow mia weakness and to cover up all the illegalities and malfeasance that belong to her and is of public record in other words trying to erase mia/s past.., guess what it is not going to work ,pulling out Lowe as the whipping boy with an agenda to divert attention from mia is not only foolish but a wasted perception and conjecture which will not fool the public , the public is not foolish and can see when there is a political shell game at play, question to you Bees ..knowing that Mia has a tainted and sordid political record how is it possible that you guys can overlooked her record/history by using deception and focusing on a govt minister who is not seeking to be PM of Barbados, is this a new found strategy of trying to confuse the public minds by sleight of hand to reign in a new govt.. my advice to you Be careful. Lowe is well known as a proud man and simple man across barbados ,unlike mia whose public record and image is linked to political corruption and bad deals and mismanagement for fourteen years,,

46. miller,

LOL, the place still aint ready for opening.

I heard the sour puss in her brief contribution in the House on Wednesday saying that the condition of the St John Polyclinic has her depressed. If it was ready for opening, she would not have been saying so. They would have been touting the success of being able to open it in June as promised by Fumble.

Why………..we all know that the dems are of a special breed…….the stinkliar would have been shouting to the top of his lungs, John Boyce would have been grunting from his deep throat, the ape would have been saying we had to clean up the mess we found and the sour puss would be saying……look what the BLP did not do in 14 years, it took the DLP to now finish.

Then the party would have followed and the piggies would come out in their numbers to feast! Dems are indeed a special breed!

47. And yes miller you will be given preferential treatment ,seat is ready and an ambulance and crew are at hand to take u to the QEH just in case you need emergency treatment

48. ac,

You could really stop trying to fool the public that Lowe is a humble man. Lowe has always been a pompous ass!