It is the turn today (16/06/2015) of the Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley to reply to the 2015 Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals. BU has little doubt the four hour period allotted will be used to poke holes in many of the proposals the minister of finance delivered yesterday. […] One wonders why in a 2×3 country we allow adversarial politics to to get in the way of commonsense – key players appear not to see the value in collaborating and therefore avoid the charade and grandstanding we will be be subjected to for the next two days. This is the weakness in our system of government.
Could it be the leader of the opposition will surprise us all and instead of engaging in the predicable, use her four hours on the public stage to deliver a message that will resonate and give hope to Barbadians?
There is a vacuum of leadership on the political and other fronts in Barbados, will somebody please stand up?

243 responses to “2015 Barbados Budget Reply…”
I thought the BLP supporters said that the BLP had solutions to offer – ha hah ha – solutions my Arse.
Housing credit fund pays $25 for grotto houses……..still locked up with not one tenant!
What Mia fails to realize (going into debate) that the parliament stage upon which she stands and voice concerns calls for mandatory details with crucial answers to the govt policies that goes beyond campaign politics, especially in an environment where she in engaging both sides of the fence and therefore it is critical that she uses a strategy which is crisp and clean with replies that are important in bringing the audience to place where they can feel a sense of security and a conviction of believing what they are told or offered is plausible
So far Mia has played “it” safe by avoiding and steering clear of the big picture by being uncommitted. easy politics though it might be . not good enough to hear crisp sounds bits which in the long run leaves a dry taste in the mouths with a shaking of the head,
*$25M dollars!
AC
Get off you high horse. Your minister missed the mark too, be careful!
MAM declared last week Monday the PS in Finance approved 2.3 million paid to Preconco. She asserts one company was paid 26 million when government owned entities and individuals are suffering for financing. Yet significant sums are being diverted to a few.
Is that MP Dwight Sutherland with his head held low as MAM reads from her documents? Is Maloney not his employer now?
Ok, these are some big body blows for the DLP!
Preconco scandal.
Industrial Credit Fund managed by the Central Bank has issued a 20 million dollar dividend to support government’s cash flow. The fund was set up to support manufacturers.
”David June 16, 2015 at 6:34 PM # MAM says Maloney et al received 23 million 540$ a sq foot for The Grotto, low income housing.”
David, thanks so much for confirming what I suspected i.e. that I am POOR, if that is low income housing, then I am truly below any decent measure of financial wealth.
Thanks so much.
A message to young people…
If you want to make a decent financial living, get yuhself off this rock, unless you are willing to be corrupt like those who do so well here.
If you have education and skills, guh long. If not, get some and then go.
Delay not.
Best wishes to you all.
Yes Mia is being emotional because she is driven by party politics, rather that country interest, more than on one occasion she has demonstrated that her political mouthings have been an embarrassment like the time when she took front stage on the Municipal tax only to be told by her former leader that here mouthings were not factual and misleading. As she now rants and rave one can be assured that when the govt replies with facts that most of what she said would be dismissed with laughter, right now all Mia has done has set herself up for embarrassment,
David BU, Mia says other members of the opposition would make documents relative to the owner of two vehicles being driven by ministers.
Seems as though she has been reading BU.
This is a replay to a budget, not solution time. The MoF offered in his budget proposals that, in his and his party’s opinion, are viable enough to assist with this island’s economic growth.
Seems as though the DLP yard-fowls are quite uncomfortable with Mottley revealing their party’s infelicities and have chosen to hide the DLP’s theme song “bring solutions.”
It is rather unfair to say that Mottley is not replying to the budget within a global framework, especially against the background that the budget was not constructed within a similar framework. Remember Sinckler saying their economic policy was a “home grown” initiative.
Additionally, the economic circumstances/variables that prevail or exists in the international arena, does not necessarily exist in the Caribbean, since or economies have fundamental differences.
@Artax
This is the kind of narrative we need at the national level. All the documemts need to be made public and the PM needs to act.
“Yes Mia is being emotional because she is driven by party politics, rather that country interest”
I guess Lashley and Lowe sending Transport Board omnibuses and Sanitation truck to Trans Tech Inc., while driving vehicles owned by that company, satisfies your definition of these ministers conducting business in the interest of the country.
These she-goats are always mentioning on BU, the 14 years of squandermania and corrupt practices perpetrated by the former BLP administration.
Yet there are extremely uncomfortable with these revelations of this administration’s 7 years of corrupt practices. I could only image, in horror, the state of Barbados, if Barbadians give them a similar 14 years, seeing what they have achieved within 7.
We on BU knew that something was rotten in Denmark with this Cahill deal! Mia’s revelations confirms what we were discussing on BU.
#CahillEnergy #WayDownLowe #MarkMaloney
This is not good!
David June 16, 2015 at 7:10 PM #
“This is the kind of narrative we need at the national level. All the documents need to be made public and the PM needs to act.”
I agree with you 100%, David. It goes to show that, despite the detractors and critics, BU has a role to play in initiating transparency in Barbados.
Keep up the good work, David. And I hope similar zeal will be exhibited if or when the BLP holds the reins of government.
Oh Lord. De white people laughing at we all de way to de bank (again)
MAM needs to be making the larger point. That the people of Barbados are being sucked dried by a new class of oligarchs. These include Bizzy as well. If she is serious she must attack then as a class. No exceptions.
CORRUPTION RACKETEERING this worst than the Mafia. WHAT IS THIS GOVERNMENT ABOUT? BAJANS HAVE BEEN SOLD TO LOCK STOCK AND BARREL! And wunna sitting back and tekking it?
@David,
It is good MAM is exposing infelicities. Can’t wait to hear the counter attack.
I wonder if Bizzy knew that this government is stabbing him in his back?
O Lord come for yuh world….!!!!!! This administration if it had any decency (and we now have incontrovertible proof that it doesn’t) should resign tonight.
”David June 16, 2015 at 6:34 PM # MAM says Maloney et al received 23 million 540$ a sq foot for The Grotto, low income housing.”
If I paid a contractor $540 per square foot to build my 1200 square foot house I would have to pay the contractor $648,000. The thing is my modest well maintained 1200 square foot house is worth only $250,000.
So tell me which bank or credit union in Barbados would lend me $648,000 to build a modest house which is only worth $250,000.
And please tell me as well why I would commit myself to borrow $648,00 to acquire an asset worth $250,000
But I am only a Simple Simon and may be missing something.
Maybe some of the big brains on this blog can enlighten this
Simple Simon
Her response to Cahill is reminiscent to CLICO debates ,an issue which now has seen her voice silenced .within time as WTE project gets moving like clico her voiced would become silenced and her speeches become a reminder of her politics driven by party politics
Mia has just said that we “got over chickunga last year” I beg to correct her. There is no chickunga now because there is no rain now.
As soon as the rain comes down the mosquito eggs now in hibernation will hatch and the mosquito borne diseases will reemerge.
The entire DLP should resign forthwith. No exceptions.
Unless Bajans take a stand NOW they will be buried alive! Those 4 Ministers should take jail and the PM should resign immediately.
The front pages of the newspapers should make for interesting reading tomorrow.
@David June 16, 2015 at 4:46 PM “The issue of restraint of trade appears to have caught MAM’s attention. Asking a cross section of Bajans to get a tax clearance certificate was proposed in the budget.”
The Barbados Revenue Authority (BRA) does not have the staff or technological capacity to prepare and deliver tax clearance certificates to all of the thousands of people who will now require them.
Thank you MIA job well done! We need to get out in the streets and demand accountability and FOI.
In the name of all that is Good, can those that are the supporters of the DLP just see that this Cahill project is the most despicable, corrupt and destructive act against the people of Barbados including the many ordinary, decent and good supporters of the same DLP.
@islandgal246 June 16, 2015 at 7:47 PM “Unless Bajans take a stand NOW they will be buried alive! Those 4 Ministers should take jail and the PM should resign immediately.”
If as Mia has said the Memorandum of Understanding with Cahill was signed without the say so of the Attorney General and the Solicitor General can someone tell me exactly what was gong through these Ministerial heads?
Wow, Richard Sealy begging for help.
Mia could have told them how to fund the 1.5 billion dollar deficit!
He forgot what his colleagues told Mia……….we aint want to hear nutten from wunnah, wunnah had wunnah time, now is we time, any ideas wunnah got, keep to wunnah self, we gine do things we way!
Wunnah desperate now????? Too late!
@David June 16, 2015 at 4:37 PM…@Hants “Here voice sounded pipsqueakesh and her right hand was flailing like crazy.”
I don’t hear you calling male MP’s emotional when they pull guns on one another.
Are you sure you not being sexist?
This administration either willfully or with incompetent and ignorant cluelessness is enslaving Barbadians for the next 30 years to be the chattel of Sandals and Cahill. Where is a Clement Payne when we need him?
The most looked forward to presentation will be Denis Trans Tech Lowe.
the govt side is speaking no ranting and raving here,, and political mud slinging just diplomacy and facts ,never mind that the BLP party gets there misinformation and half truths from the Nations and gives them as fact,,,lawd cum fuh yuh world soon…
Who exactly are these “4 ministers”? (I missed the earlier part of Ms. Mottley’s speech but I did hear horrid concessions and nefarious demands of Cahill detailed in the memorandum of understanding).
He is a bold faced dangerous brute, so do not be surprised at anything he says!
If this memorandum of understanding with Cahill was signed by these four rogue ministers without going through the proper channels then it is null and void.
Ping Pong
Stinkliar, Kellman, Lowe and I think the fourth may be Estwick!
Mia read from actual documents and a JA like ac calls it mudslinging! You are a shameless yard fowl!
We were less than persuaded that MAM had anything pertinent about the future to say. She missed an opportunity before a national audience to impress.
The highlights of her presentation were about graft in government. OK, but these are better used in an election context. They did not add to her perceived stature as a national figure.
Quite flat, she failed in our books to advance any coherent theme that would separate her from the likes of Sinckler or Stuart. Thus we give her a failing mark!
I don’t think Estwick is one. Is he a lobbyist for Jada?
@ David (BU):
“For the cause that lacks assistance, the wrong that needs resistance, for the future in the distance, and the good that [BU] can do.”
Thanks, David, for a job well done! The only genuine voice of the Fourth Estate to represent the interests of the People.
I can bet Bush Tea is also very proud of you.
“The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.” – Edmund Burke 1729 – 1797
Pacha you are one disgruntled dawg! Got to you basket and sleep !
@Ping Pong
Apparently the Cahill people will accept elephant grass/Tamarind hence his involvement from the back end.
The use MAM’s words he was probably ‘duped’.