Jack Warner will be recorded as one of the most enigmatic politicians of our time. His popularity as a politician in Trinidad belies the underhand dealings he has been associated with through the years in his capacity as Vice President of FIFA and Czar of the football operations in Trinidad.

The David Simmons report logged on BU blog World Cup 2014: Mohamed Bin Hammam, Jack Warner and Corruption @FIFA exposed Warner for who he is,  corrupt to the very core. BU unsuccessfully requested from Warner’s staff a copy of the Affidavit he (Warner)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

threatened to have filed against Simmons. People like Warner perpetuate the perception that politicians – especially when Black – are thieves and must not be trusted.

BU joins with millions around the world in the hope Swiss authorities will be able to make the charges stick.

Related Links:

382 responses to “Jack Warner Arrested”

1. Jack is on $2.5millon bail and mystery surrounds his whereabouts since his attorney has been unable to have a high court judge meet on the bail matter.The news is that he might be detained in protective custody for the night at least.

2. Watchman i bet you can’t figure out which one of them is an ac,,

3. Colonel Buggy Avatar

When Jack Warner starts singing like a sparrow,and implicates our mouthy minister, this is what we will need to start the collapse of this administration, cause when the FBI and Uncle Sam says jump!. Everyone has to do a pole vault.

4. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Fractured BLP May 27, 2015 at 4:40 PM #

Be careful how you treat a sleeping giant…called Jonesy.
    ………………………………………………………………………………….
    You mean like the weather beaten Sleeping Giant overlooking Barclays Park that is slowly crumbling to bits?

5. Saint Jack continues to plead his innocence although both his sons have pleaded guilt to charges in the US.A case of the berries rolling far from the tree?

6. Colonel Buggy Avatar

A Warner-ing to all of our politicians , especially those who are Ministers. Be careful in traveling to the Untied States. Uncle Sam not only has an eye on you, but also a dossier.

7. @ AC
    Don’t have to bet , all the yards ducks like you, who have from 2008, come from rigs to riches don’t hide, you like to be seen, ask the Ac from St. Andrew who husband uses to go to the gas station in Jackman’s to figure out which AC you are now

8. Yet again the hand of the filthy zionist ‘jews’ is at play here. Just as FIFA was about to vote on a motion brought by the Palestinian FA against the inhumane treatment its players face at the hand of the Israeli monsters, (which could have seen Israel suspended) these officials are arrested. How long have these officials been corrupted? Yet again the US is working on the behalf of Israel…no wonder they call the non-jews ‘the goyim.’ Dumb, ignorant cattle. Why are they being extradited to the US of all places?

And Pachamama is correct. How has corrupt football officials affected the lives of Bajans who are finding it hard to thrive because of the economic nosedive caused by none other than the thieving ‘jewish’ bankers. Why are they not locked to hell up?

9. The president of the Barbados Football Association, Ronald Jones, has insisted that neither he nor his officials were offered any bribes by Bin Hamman or Warner.
    “None of our delegates were offered any inducements or gifts to support any of the candidates during the meeting on 10 May,” said Jones in a statement.
    “The Barbados Football Association was made aware that the trip and accommodation were sponsored by Mohamed Bin Hamman under the auspices of the CFU.
    “The BFA did not and does not see this as akin to bribery or any inducements as in the past trips by Caribbean delegates to meetings have been sponsored by the organisation and agency that wanted to put on the programme.”

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/13717790

10. Does Warner have enough money to pay the American Lawyers or will he have to settle for a few years in jail?

$5 to $10 million US and he could walk.

11. Interesting.

“The sweeping U.S. crackdown on alleged corruption at FIFA appears to have snagged Nike Inc. in its net.

Among the details in the Justice Department’s 161-page indictment are allegations of bribery involving efforts by “a multinational sportswear company headquartered in the United States” to win an apparel licensing deal with Brazil’s national soccer team.”

12. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

from the sounds of that news clip, they will be going after the head

13. Colonel Buggy Avatar

David (not BU) May 27, 2015 at 8:25 PM #

from the sounds of that news clip, they will be going after the head
    …………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Be careful what you wished for, Ronald Jones, your own head may be about to be cracked wide open.
    And to quote the other half-cracked minster, ‘Time longer than twine’

14. In the words of our great Canadian rockers BTO.

“You ain’t seen nothing yet.”

15. and the cleveland Cavaliers going to the NBA finals,,lets hear it for Lebron JAMES,,

16. @ Ac
    you find out what kind of rig you are yet, say something , express your views ,shite you only know about hotels and maybe where sick people go for help but end up dead like your beloved king

17. St George's Dragon Avatar

I am thinking about starting an appeal for contributions to fund an all-expenses-paid trip to the USA for some of our Government Ministers.
    The purpose of the trip would be to investigate the American banking system and in particular money flows from Barbados to the US. During the trip we would try to forge links with the FBI.
    Would anyone be interested in contributing to this trip?

18. @ St George’s Dragon
    You are late, the Governor of CB have started an appeal to get money , he is buying it at 5.5% , the trip, to a place where the ministers can’t be touch

19. Jack be nimble Jack be quick Jack can’t escape the clutches of the US Justice system. I understand some accounts have been frozen and the US has already obtained guilty pleas from his sons so they must be singing like a flock of canaries. There are also reports that Blazer ( who has also pled guilty) was cooperating with the authorities and wearing a wire in some of his conversations with some of the accused.

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/sports/soccer/fifa-scandal-accused/article24639364/

20. Jones aint commenting because he was out of football for 4 years? But the charges cover the period 1994-2011!! lol

21. I first heard about FIFA corruption long before Litle Johhnie was born, and LIttle Johnnie is more than two decades old. I wonder if we had all boycotted FIFA’s key sponsors Adidas, Coca-Cola, Visa, Sony, Gazprom and Hyundai/KIA if we could have saved Loretta Lynch the trouble of having to arrest the FIFA officials.

22. That said. I smell a rat concerning these arrests.

Time will tell.

23. A lot of ugly old men. I wonder how many of them were using their gains to buy young pokey. In the words of Captain Sawyer “something for something.”

People say follow the money. I always say “follow the pokey.”

24. Pach

YOU CLAIMED THE AMERICANS ARE THE BIGGEST CRIMINALS IN THE WORLD, BUT YET WE READ AS DOES WATCH POLITICIANS AND WHITE- COLLAR CRIMINALS FROM ALL AREAS OF THE AMERICAN SOCIETY BRING HELD RESPONSIBILITY FOR SOME OF WRONG THAT THEY HAVE COMMITTED AGAINST THE PEOPLE.

While on the other hand, I can’t recall ever reading neither do I recall ever watching any politician in Barbados being led away in hand restraints for the wrongdoings which are incessantly committed by this lot.

But I do understand the American Justice System as well as the Checks and Balances which emanates from Committee on Ethics, as well as the committee which oversights the House Committee on Ethics, the Justice- Department, the State Legislature which can also request that a probe be launch if wrongdoings are suspected. And an individual Congressman or Representative can request that the Justice Department investigate claims of wrongdoings by a politician in any capacity etc.

25. And additionally, an ordinary citizen must myself can pick up the phone and call the FBI, if I happen to suspect that some kind of wrongdong is taking place. Where in the Caribbean does this kind of thing take place?

26. What is so hypocritical is to observe VISA International, a major sponsor of FIFA football, warning FIFA of what it will do if it does not cleanup its act. Imagine if this was some other less lucrative brand what would have been the response.

27. @ Dompey

We know the US systems very well too. And you are quite right about the contrast. But because that is true it does not mean that truth avoid the other truth.

The American experience is about pretense that there is ‘justice for all’ but as praxis the reverse is true. Don’t you see where the country is going? How can it be that in a so-called democracy which is supposed to be about the good economy, of the people, we have all kinds of systems leading us back to serfdom, like TPP? Five years from now you will find that this Obama pet project is the greatest crime of all time.

But this justice department will not see that

And yes, the system locks up people, at all levels, from time to time, but it also ignores some of the biggest criminals like George Bush and his cabal who conspired to kill a million Iraqis. These are war crimes, crimes against humanity, crimes against peace, aggression, genocide …………… the worst crimes in international law. How come the system which you think is more effective than others can’t prosecute these criminals?

The Americans use the ‘justice’ instrumentally.

28. Boy, judging from those pictures having all that money hasn’t done anything for those men. The only one without humongous bags under the eyes is Jack Warner. Good lord, they are frightful! Is this what they call “the Good Life?”

29. Simple Simon,

They would have to buy it! Can’t see even a blind woman giving it to those gargoyles for free!

30. @ Pacha
    Your bias is so clear that you have allowed Dompey to back you into a corner from which there is no escape….
    Bushie trys to examine each topic on its own merit because ALL of us have flaws….

At least in the USA the agents of Justice appear to execute their duties earnestly….
    At least the people STAND UP against clear injustices…a la Police brutality in Baltimore..
    At least they impeach presidents IN OFFICE…
    At least they lock up the Stanfords, the crooked politicians, the non lepers and the “esteemed” crooks….

Shiite man, compared to Barbados, where we have the PRIME MINISTER defending criminals – including former PMs and current MPs….the place deserves a level of RESPECT for this institutional focus…

How can you not respect a Justice Department that uses its resources to tackle a GLOBAL gang of sport mafia with resources in the billions and unmatched political clout…?
    …when local police can’t even touch a semi-literate thief who committed highway robbery on hundreds of widows and widowers?

@ Dompey
    Strong points….
    Make another good point like that this week… and Bushie will apologise for all the cussing over the years….

31. D Ingrunt Word Avatar
    D Ingrunt Word

David, why is it so hypocritical that “VISA International … warning FIFA …[to] cleanup its act”.

With size, comes power so they were able to play their righteous card and ‘shame’ FIFA. Were they a less powerfil global brand they definitely would not have made such a public outcry because they would have felt less immune to any possible economic blowback.

If by hypocritical you mean that they sang one song up-front but very possibly played a different tune in the back rooms, then I surely agree with you.

I always think of Walmart Corp whose founder was so keen to maintain a pristine relationship with vendors and business contracts and built his multi billion world-wide behemoth on that principle but yet the leaders who followed him and continued to sing that song loudly were ‘caught’ making all types and manner of bribes with their expansions in Mexico some years back.

That is true hypocrisy of corporate enterprises. Happens daily.

On the other hand, there is a perverted sense of hypocrisy that always permeates scandals where an insider becomes an informer. In this case, the US big-shot official Glazer enjoyed years of living ‘high on the hog’ and now he has found his ‘righteous soul’.

Mr. Glazer would have shown himself to be a more ‘righteous’ man had he blown the whistle on these shenanigans years ago; but of course he would likely not have had the luxury living accommodations and excellent life-style with the rich and famous if he did that now would he.

That too is hypocrisy.

32. @ Bushie

Neither you nor Dompey is able to back this writer into any corner.

Your central point is to give the USA credit for the FIFA indictments. And we have some agreement on that point. But then you stop there. As if that situation exists in a world of its own. That the US Justice Department, itself, is not party to global and domestic crimes for centuries.

This has to be the proper context in which the indictments must be located.

You have therefore succeeded in relegating yourself to accepting a crumb for the table of this Great Satan. This act is most anathema to ‘Hesus’

33. D Ingrunt Word Avatar
    D Ingrunt Word

Ladies , Donna and Simple Simone, is it not fair to say that there is often a direct correlation between wealth and lingerie and age and vigor? The more wealth you have the more fancy lingerie you waste money on; and the younger you are the more vigorously you pursue those purchase habits.

Surely, if you are going to condemn the ‘old fellas’ be fair nah. Some of these guys are now in the late stages of the second half of their ‘life’s match’. The big Referee could bring an end to their game and careers anytime now.

So yes some of them look tired and ragged. But at the start of their game and indeed careers they were vibrant, vigorous and smooth of face.

I’m sure they had absolutely no problems buying fancy lingerie for fancy ladies then and arranging private shows. I am sure the ladies didn’t scoff at the ‘ugly old men’ then,

Certainly not evoking some sexist disconnect here but come on now, be fair and reasonable.

34. @Pachamama May 28, 2015 at 6:28 AM “And yes, the system locks up people, at all levels, from time to time.”:

Dear Pachamama: You are being disingenuous.

The United States imprisons more people per capita than any other democracy, and those people are disproportionately young black men.

If I was a black woman raising a son in the United States I would shudder or better still I would try to get out. The United States is no place to raise black boys…and the over privileged George Bushes f this world will never see the inside of any jail.

We all pretended that there were weapons of mass destruction in Iraq, when Hans Blitz had seen none, and in any event his inspection was not finished; and we rejoiced when the United States physically, militarily, politically, socially and culturally destroyed Iraq.

We called it shock and awe.

In truth it was shocking and awful.

And now we, but especially the Iraqis are left with ISIS.

The truth is that because the United States is so powerful nobody tells them when they are wrong.

Nobody calls them back.

The United States could long have gone after the American companies whose money funds the FIFA corruption.

35. Simple Simon “follow de pokey” ROTFLMAO Bushie boi yuh better watch yuh back from now on! LOLL

36. @ Simple Simon

I agree with you! Can’t say all the things we said previously, over years.

However, the charge of being ‘disingenuous’ is not deserved. That suggest a deliberate effort to speak an untruth. Ours was a general statement, not intended to adumbrate all the implicit, explicit factoids.

Yes, the US even has more prisoners than most of the world ‘combined’. Not merely individual countries. So you are also imprecise in your charge.

And yes, over 70% are Black or Latino. It has over 2 million people in jail or prison.

True!

37. @D Ingrunt Word May 28, 2015 at 9:45 AM “The US big-shot official Glazer enjoyed years of living ‘high on the hog’ … he would likely not have had the luxury living accommodations and excellent life-style with the rich and famous.

Glazer is also an ugly old man..who probably has to by it.

I have a sincere prayer this morning.

Dear God: If this is what one looks like after years of being a big shot enjoying living high on the hog, luxury living and excellent lifestyle with the rich and famous.

Dear Lord in Heaven: Save me from being a big shot enjoying living high on the hog, luxury living and excellent lifestyle with the rich and famous.

Amen.

P.S. Dear David the Blogmaster: Do you have any pictures of these men’s wives or of their young outside women…and don’t give me the argument that the wives and outside women did not do anything wrong…they too enjoyed being with a big shot enjoying living high on the hog, luxury living and excellent lifestyle with the rich and famous.

So if you have some pictures, especially pretty ones please post them.

Thanks.

38. If a young Bajan accountant told me about Jack Warner more that 20 years ago it means that a lotta, lotta people (including WAGS) had to know what was going down at FIFA.

WAGS=Wives and girlfriends.

More than 20 years ago he told me then “you understand that Jack Warner is a c******

And he did not mean Bajan’s curse word.

39. @Donna May 28, 2015 at 8:53 AM “gargoyles.”

Gargoyles. LOLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ya killing me.

These foolish old men deserve to be punished with laughter…in addition to what ever the U.S. Justice Department has in store for them.

Thanks Sister Loretta…now if only you would go after the bankers and politicians I could pray Lord now lettest thy servant (me) depart in peace.

40. Yep….RICO rocks, lol

So are we going to see the FIFA water boys in the Caribbean joining Jack? some of whom just up and suddenly resigned their FIFA posts after the Jack brouhaha started to hit the fan.

Will we see Ronald ‘crack heads and shoot some people’ Jones sharing a cell in the much vaunted federal system in the good old US of A with Jack, both long stay visitors; those charges carry some very serious federal down time. When the citizens in Barbados expressed their concerns about Ronald Jones holding both a ministerial post as well as a local FIFA post, and worried about his ability to focus on his portfolio; Jones was quick to convince everyone what a wonderful magician he was at multi-tasking.

Yes, the US has the most prisoners in the world the majority of whom are blacks and hispanics, yes, it’s big business for the US state, city and federal governments, no I don’t like it because it’s too self-serving; but I see nothing wrong with locking up those government officials in the Caribbean who have had the islands beleaguered, under siege and blighted with corruption for decades now. Someone has to bell the cat, particularly when they break international laws.

The people of the Caribbean need some respite from corruption perpetrated by the bribe takers and bribers who are protected by layers of politicians and lawyers, you cannot have it both ways.

Kamla is the only Prime Minister in the Caribbean with the balls to cut Jack Warner loose, all the males have been admiring him and his corrupt ways for decades.

Unlike the powers-unto-themselves who believe that ‘they should not jump at every little thing” corruption and theft by public officials being the every little thing, as voiced by Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart in the Michael Carrington speaker of the house case. Kamla actually got rid of Jack

I am sure there are still lots of applications for extradition available to take the criminals and their blighted corruption out of the Caribbean and give the people a rest; they deserve a break from the corruption, the younger generation and future generations should not have to adapt to and tolerate corrupt leaders. Who else will be willing to police these criminals and protect the people.

Don’t just lock them up, but melt the keys.

So, how the politicians and ministers in Barbados so quiet so, eh!! lol

41. @Pachamama May 28, 2015 at 9:51 AM “This act is most anathema to ‘Hesus’”

When you say “Hesus” you mean yourself or do you mean the Lord of Lords and Kings of Kings?

42. @ SS

They are ONE! We are One!

43. Simon said:
    “Dear Lord in Heaven: Save me from being a big shot enjoying living high on the hog, luxury living and excellent lifestyle with the rich and famous.”

Most of the rich, greedy and famous are now committing suicide, that is how happy they are…. Eugene Melnick who Barbados welcomed from Canada with open arms, was banned for a period of time from doing business in Canada, big scandal. That is another of Balzac’s epigrams.

These little tinpot politicians in the Caribbean only aspire to be wealthy at all costs, they are harbingers of greed; them and the business people and insurance companies who own their very souls.

Most of them are not aware of nor do they care about the story of the tortoise and the scorpion.

44. Someone has to bell the cat:

“Meanwhile, US prosecutors are going after 14 people – nine current and former FIFA officials, four sports marketing executives and an accused intermediary – in corruption allegations spanning more than two decades and involving sums in excess of $100 million. Seven were taken into custody in Zurich on Wednesday”.

See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/67972/us-swiss-timed-fifa-raids-maximum-effect#sthash.ld6FhYTM.dpuf

45. @Simple Simon May 28, 2015 at 10:21 AM “The United States could long have gone after the American companies whose money funds the FIFA corruption.”

Dear David:

Forgive me for quoting myself “The United States could long have gone after the American companies whose money funds the FIFA corruption.”

Let me add that much of that money, especially from Coco-Cola, Nike etc. comes from the poor black communities in the United States. And Coco-Cola and other soft drink manufacturers are driving the obesity epidemic in the same poor black communities in the United States and increasingly worldwide.

But nobody tells Coco-Cola when they are wrong…nobody calls them back ‘causing the money too sweet.