Teen Suicide: Boys Need Help Too.

Felicia Browne
It is a tragedy for our society when any child takes his or her life. The death of 12 year old Shamar Weeks in Barbados is one more example of the many children who have committed suicide within the Caribbean region. Teen suicide is one of the major concerns for adolescents who suffer from depression and other serious emotional problems, including trauma from domestic and community violence. The West Indian Medical Journal (2012) states that “Suicide has become a major public health problem among children and adolescents. Over the past five decades, there has been an increase in suicide in adolescents, particularly in developing countries. Cross-national data revealed that about 25% of all suicides occurring globally are in the 15–24year age group, referred to as Transitional Age Youth.
Read FULL TEXT of the submission

This is a tragedy of a gigantic proportion. We need to understand how our society failed this boy because if we accept the current state, they are others out there meandering through life like lost sheep.
LikeLike
Pingback: Teen Suicide: Boys Need Help Too.
LikeLike
The system in Barbados not only fails boys but men. It fails all males and concentrates its bias towards females. Look at the educational system and see the number of failing males it churns out every year with no skills except liming on the block with a see-through bag to sell wrappers and cigarettes.
Can you imagine if this weer a father and his daughter committed suicide? The women’s groups, CCB, Police would have that man in jail and he would have been tried and convicted of incest or abuse whether he did it or not. The same will never happen with a mother. Remember the video with the mother who physically abused her daughter? Can you imagine if that were her father? It woudl boil the blood of the public but once a female does it it is not a big deal.
Barbados’ system but especially the females have a hatred for males except when it comes to getting money or tricking men out of house, property etc. which the law allows them to abuse. Men are ATM cards only to give them something when needed but little is reciprocated. At this rate the progressive male of Barbados will soon be an extinct species at the hands of the female.
LikeLike
No one knows whether it is suicide or made to look like suicide. Until the autopsy is done and I hope they do a proper one the truth will come out.
LikeLike
We do not know that the boy committed suicide.
Wait for the result of the autopsy.
There must be an inquest and the sooner the better.
Correctly many questions are being asked of the mother.
Correctly many questions need to be asked of the father. Because this boy has/had a father.
LikeLike
Guess the spin on this woudl be that because the father wasnt around is why he killed himself. The men in Barbados damned if they do, damned if they dont.
LikeLike
@ Reaction
You have a point about the systemic destruction of manhood in Barbados. That is a different subject… but you need to take the ladies’ advice and await the autopsy……
LikeLike
@Bush Tea
Whether it is found to be suicide or some other heinous act the conclusion should be the same; we are failing …
LikeLike
Reaction May 18, 2015 at 10:30 PM #
“Barbados’ system but especially the females have a hatred for males except when it comes to getting money or tricking men out of house, property etc. which the law allows them to abuse. Men are ATM cards only to give them something when needed but little is reciprocated.”
Come on Reaction, what system are you referring to that is designed to trick men? Whose fault is it if a man decides that a woman’s vagina is worth him sacrificing all he owns just to get a taste? Why are women taking advantage of the educational system and not men?
There was a situation in Barbados where, back in the day, many poor women (e.g. our grandmothers and great grandmothers) were exploited by men. Women were beaten if the man came home and food was not on the table; he had to get the biggest share of food and meat, while the remainder had to be shared among the wife and children; his sexual desires had to be satisfied resulting in them having as many as 10 children; they had “outside women” whom their wife knew about and could not do anything about it. In those days many women lived in fear.
Women decided that in these modern times they wanted to independent and took advantage of the education system as a source of initiating independence. When I was at university, the majority of students were female, while men felt contented in taking them there and liming until the classes were over until it was time to take them home.
She spent 4 years at the campus educating herself, while the man spent 4 years liming and giving her lifts to and from university. Is this the “system’s” fault?
Why can’t men make similar decisions and plan their lives accordingly?
Then after she manages to secure a better job, she becomes less and less dependent on the man. First thing she does is learn to drive and buy a car, so she is not confined to him giving her “a lift.”
She begins to look at her future and saves money towards it. The man is contented by spending his money on her. After a while, the woman tells him it’s time for her to move on, because he is not progressive. Like you, he says “The system in Barbados not only fails boys but men.”
Whose fault is it that the women’s organisations in Barbados are vibrant and have advocated or initiated change in the way women are being treated?
Why can’t the men’s organisations react similarly and reach out to help men? We know that men prefer to chase after women or are satisfied to end up “with no skills except liming on the block with a see-through bag to sell wrappers and cigarettes.”
Men are men, they are supposed to lead, not spoon fed.
LikeLike
Suicide or Infanticide or murder.
One speaks to hope lost, and the other two speak to hope untimely ripped from the hands of the victim, in this case a youth of 12.
The autopsy will tell.
However which way we cut it, we are loosing the battle and the elements of social decay assail us in all sectors (i) the very young (ii) our “hopefuls” (iii) the educated illiterates (iv) the ones on the block (it is not boys alone) (v) the educated unemployed (vi) our working poor – 60% of our working population (vii) our (under-reported) unemployed (viii) our struggling retired and pensioned (ix) those who are rich and don’t care less and of course (x) the PARASITES euphemism for the politicians and the priests (a few of whom appeared in the picture consoling the family)
All these constitute our “Lost Nation of Sheeple” blindly ambling along each day couldn’t care less “because the 12 year old SHAMAR WEEKES is not one of our children, our relative or our friend’s child.”
We have become quite uncaring in this our “advanced nation”.
We continue to fool ourselves that all is well and “we good” but on self examination we can see the cancer that is eating us alive but as long as we pay our tithes on time or pay obeisance to PM Fumble and Mia and the rest of these political actors “we all good” and the institutionalized malfeasance continues to be practices until, one day, it is too late
LikeLike
Reaction May 18, 2015 at 10:30 PM #
“The system in Barbados not only fails boys but men. It fails all males and concentrates its bias towards females.”
The system “fails all males and concentrates its bias towards females” because men allowed it to happen. What do you expect when men have allowed women to become more qualified than them, resulting in the women taking more and more management positions?
Women have taken over a number of key positions in Barbados and will obviously look out for the advancement of other women at the expense of men.
Then those men who are in management positions also look out for the advancement of women at the expense of men as well, because they are looking for sex.
A friend of mine who used to work at Inland Revenue wanted to pursue a professional qualification and applied to the then Commissioner of Inland Revenue, Sabina Walcott-Denny, for time to attend courses one or two days during the week. She did not approve it saying he will be wasting government’s time. He was told this was against the background of her being given time to complete CGA and a law degree.
If a man was CIR and there was a choice between my friend and a female competing for time to attend courses, most likely the CIR would approve time for the female.
It is things like these that is responsible for the system being biased towards females.
LikeLike
Well said David.
Very defensive, Reaction. The death of a 12 yr old under these circumstances is first and foremost on the hands of his parents. And yes, the father is damned regardless of whether being absentee or not.
You are conveniently overlooking that parents are supposed to be mature and wise counsel for their children and the fact that we have these many young men and women using child birth as some rite of passage or badge of honour clearly indicates that they are not mature or wise.
There are too many lads and lasses like young Shemar flailing in despair because too many men and women have absolutely failed the simple test of maturity but believe they have a right to bear a child (Not saying that is the case of his parents as I absolutely do not know them).
If you believe women hate men so much and use them only as providers then why are men so stupid to be used in this way or so incapable of being an adequate provider for their children?
And why do they have so many children from so many women?
If the educational system is spitting them out unskilled why are they then entrapping themselves in maintenance of children they cannot afford?
Systematic destruction of men is an excuse.
A man worthy of that description rises to the challenges he faces and forges a way forward. And the first thing a MAN does is understand that children are a serous commitment.
Where are these men that you are talking about?
LikeLike
pieceuhderockyeahright May 19, 2015 at 7:19 AM #
“We continue to fool ourselves that all is well and “we good” but on self examination we can see the cancer that is eating us alive but as long as we pay our tithes on time or pay obeisance to PM Fumble and Mia and the rest of these political actors “we all good” and the institutionalized malfeasance continues to be practices until, one day, it is too late.”
PUDRYR, de ole man mekking a lot a sense yuh. I endorse your above comments 200%.
LikeLike
Piece:
If we have epitomized the standing on other people’s neck as the symbol of success, why are we disappointed or shocked at the lack of “human kindness” in OUR society!! It is so sad but if we do not turn our “course”, the suicide age will be lowered, as our teens and children struggle to make sense of the “wickedness” in high places in Barbados.
LikeLike
@ Artaxerxes
Which comes first “the chicken or the egg?”
You are speaking to the symptoms of the problem, more girls/females educating themselves and bettering themselves educationally and financially and moving on, as it is wisdom to do.
Somehow in this equation of “where we are” we have conveniently forgotten “how we got here”
My mother had eight of us, 6 boys and 2 girls.
All of us had to learn to cook, wash, iron, tend stock, cut pawn grass you get the picture.
Who gives birth to these indolent male? youth – the answer is WOMEN
Who is responsible for the values that these males develop, the resilience, the respect for women, the self respect, the commitment to their own improvement…in a society with SFHHs? WOMEN.
If my mother, even in circumstances raises me to respect the female gender, the likelihood of me ill treating the had that did not kill me in utero (as it now seems should have happened) is much decreased, you would think
I do not mean to simplify what is a serious societal problem since we all appreciate that the list of contributory factors is endless but you see my point
“The hand that rocks the cradle rules the world” seems to point another accusatory finger at where we have arrived with our Single Female Heads of Household and “my son IS NOT TO TOUCH A DOLLY” or “learn to cook” cause “I am not raising no bullers”
We are a lost society where we have collectively abdicated our responsibilities as two parent households and now conveniently seek to shift the blame by saying “the church is not training them, the teachers are not training them, MESA is not training them” and the one which I do agree with “they are learning all the bad habits from our tiefing politicians”
We buy them the WII cuntputer games every Xmas with the carnage and slaughter in 3D on our 55 inch TVs.
Then Artaxerxes you and I wonder why “they are rebelling and have grown insensitive to the value of life.”
When you have no hope and no options, when there is no God in your life, cause mummy and dad do not believe in the opiate of the people, or have grown tired of the pastor and apostle who only wants your tithes, when the only time you see mummy is on a sunday because she wukking in Swan Street for $200 per week after taxes, in 2015, and you cant see you fadder causing he wuffless and got a nex hoare like heself’, when you smoking a spliff at 10, when you guts grumbling so load dat you got to talk loud so nobody doan hear it, when there is one to turn to cause you done beg for $$ to live from every body that you know, then despondency is so great and you make the only choice you see that you have, hang yourself.
“I have seen the enemy and it is I”
LikeLike
D Ingrunt Word May 19, 2015 at 7:28 AM #
“If the educational system is spitting them out unskilled why are they then entrapping themselves in maintenance of children they cannot afford? Systematic destruction of men is an excuse. A man worthy of that description rises to the challenges he faces and forges a way forward. And the first thing a MAN does is understand that children are a serious commitment.”
I have to plea with you to remove the “Igrunt” from your moniker. Your comments were well articulated and are descriptive of the society in which we live.
LikeLike
I bunch of yahoo now shedding crocodile tears ought to be ashamed of self.u guys are the same bunch led by the a.ss brass bowl that hoot and hollered that govt should cut, revoked, or suspend programs that gear to the needs of children namely free bus fares, after school actibities that are centred and geared to enhancing the growth and stabilty of the children .and dsy care programs thst are important to helpingin the care of single and working mothers .u guys really make me sick.a real set of hypocrtical brass bowls now talking sh.it
LikeLike
Here we go again a young child dies under mysterious circumstances (perhaps by suicide) and it evolves into an argument about men vs women and their respective value to the wider society. First of all the causes of adolescent suicide are varied and it is still a subject that psychologists/psychiatrists etc. grapple with, they realize that it affects young people from all walks of life the impoverished as well as the well to do, those from broken homes as well as intact families. We don’t know what we don’t know but it is easy to jump to conclusions.
As to women I am proud of the strives made by the young women in my extended family, I am delighted with the conversations that I have with them and other young(er) women of my acquaintance they have goals and work towards them, the young men are not all lost, it is just that the percentage of women who are high achievers seem to be on the rise and that’s just a reflection of society achieving a balance as in times past we hardly saw any women occupying leadership position in general.
In a small country like Barbados it is easy to think that the pendulum has swung the other way but as a person who looks at the “big picture”, for every female who has risen to some status previously unoccupied by persons of her gender there are thousands of females who are still struggling with the so called “glass ceiling”.
LikeLike
Gentlemen, Artaxerxes and De Word, I am really very sorry,
I cant do this anymore.
what wunna talking bout?
Is this some utopia or someplace else where were are crafting this new definition of “men” or are we dealing with the reality of Barbados?
Let we get real here.
Th first time I went inot a store, a gas station and bought condoms, in front of ALL the people behind me. I was a hard back “man of 23”, and it was in a country that was a first world cuntry where noyone in that line gave a shyte and I would never see them again.
Up until then I used to hide and get them from older fellows or push them among several other items and hop that the attendant did not expose them or ask for a price check.
Wunna men got doggies? Wunna cant be serious?
“I hate condoms cause I cant feel the side uh de ***, dat sound familiar to you?
No where in that reality check dat wunna are seemingly forgetting was the thought of “real men understand that children are a serious commitment”
If was a risk based on “when she last had her period with clearance for 3 days afterwards or 3 days before” contraception effected by the village idiot notwithstanding a little education and rudimentary biology.
Couple that with the lack of education, “the real men does doan use condoms”, augmented by Lil Rick Guiness Hour and the belief by these “men” that 2 Guinness after bareback sex will kill any STDs and AIDS and what we have is the proliferation of AIDS in and among the 15 – 24 group that is well documented.
Wunna really cant be serious bout “entrapping themselves in the maintenance of children that they cannot afford…”
These “men” or biologically capable impregnators ARE NOT BRANIACS nor are they educated fellows like the two of you, and in addition to all of that once we see a young ting who look good and we “head” tek ovah, wunna dun know what de ole man remember once used to be me “sex appeal” and is now me “water spout” does rule de day
Please I encourage you when we comment on these issues to mek it real and speak to the problem that WE MEN or “MEN” got with we appendages…
LikeLike
We can only hear about the child’s mother where is the father??? Many of you misogynists will continue to say that men are being unfaired and left out. Tell me where the rass are the fathers??? Many of them don’t even care if their child go to sleep with an empty belly and will go and support one that isn’t theirs all because of some pussy. Too many men drop their seed and don’t ever look back. Yes there are some men who want to be fathers to their children and because of broken relationship with the mothers it becomes problematic.
For too long men were given a pass for being absent fathers. Women and men must take control their fertility and stop having so many children from a night of sweet sex.
LikeLiked by 1 person
The ignorance of these clowns parading themselves on BU as AC should really take a break from this forum.
These idiots were on BU supporting this administration’s decision to let these same “single and working mothers” pay tuition fees for tertiary level education that is “centered and geared to enhancing the growth and stability of the children.”
Now, common sense will tell me that a single mother with 2 children, would prefer to pay $6 x 5 days x 13 weeks or $390 per term, rather than pay $2,600 x 2 = $5,200 per semester at UWI for the 2 children.
And how does not paying bus fare enhance one’s growth and stability? Wuh Shiite, the children at the primary schools getting corned beef, cheese cutters and nuff bread for lunch, and you call this “important to helping the care of single and working mothers”?
On one hand (and when it becomes convenient to them) this legion of demons support ALL decisions by this administration to make Barbadians pay increased taxes or for goods and services provided by the government. And on the other hand they are supporting people not paying bus fare.
“You guys really make me sick. A real set of hypocritical brass bowls (ALWAYS) talking sh.it.”
LikeLike
“DAILY NATION sources said that he was still breathing when the body was retrieved, but died before the ambulance arrived”
See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/67602/mum-pain-autopsy-performed-shamar#sthash.jok23lQd.dpuf
A thorough investigation into this child’s death is required.
LikeLike
Just like snakes seeking a prey the blp yahoos wrapped themselves around every issue to impose selserving dictates rather than compose or formulate solutions that are relevant and related for the good and continuance of society. As with any issue one would witness the yahoos sitting in judgement of what is wrong with society with the one exemption themselves
LikeLike
@Artaxerxes May 19, 2015 at 7:02 AM “his sexual desires had to be satisfied resulting in them having as many as 10 children”
What 10 children are you talking about? I know at least 2 women of my mother’s pre-contraceptive pill generation who had 21 children each…all with the same husband. In those days a married woman could not say “no” to her husband..and the men of that generation could have but chose not to spill their seed upon the ground.
LikeLike
@Reaction May 18, 2015 at 11:03 PM “Guess the spin on this would be that because the father wasn’t around is why he [the boy] killed himself. The men in Barbados damned if they do, damned if they don’t.
No spin.
But if as is alleged, this boy was being beaten real, real bad it was the RESPONSIBILITY, nay the DUTY of the father to extricate the boy from a bad situation.
I want an inquest. I want all of the hard questions asked, and not only asked, but ANSWERED.
I love men, women and children.
I don’t love bad behaviour from ANYBODY.
LikeLike
The evidence suggests there has not been ANY ISSUE ever presented for discussion on BU that the consortium does not have some self centered DLP based commentary to offer. Hence, it is reasonable to conclude that these AC jokers have “wrapped themselves around EVERY ISSUE to impose self serving dictates.”
“Rather than compose or formulate solutions that are relevant and related for the good and continuance of society”, or be willing to rationally and intelligently discuss or explain any of government’s policies or the rationale by which decisions are made without cussing people, they prefer to be critical of others labeling them as “BLP misfits”, “BLP yard-fowls”, “brass bowls” and now “yahoos”.
This trait of insulting critics, which has become synonymous with, and endemic among the DEMS and their supporters, is exhibited every Sunday during their constituency branch meetings, when they use this forum specifically to appease their supporters and cuss those with opposing views.
Essentially, the ACs are bringing to this forum what their DLP counterparts have been presenting in parliament, certain sections of the press, constituency branch meetings and any other forum where the DLP can have an audience.
LikeLiked by 1 person
@Artaxerxes May 19, 2015 at 7:02 AM “Women decided that in these modern times they wanted to independent.”
Not only in these days.
My mother who was born more than 100 years ago and who in the pre-contraceptive days gave birth to many, many daughters told all of them to get as much education as possible, to learn a trade or a skill or as she explicitly said “get something to work with and learn to work for yourselves, never, never find yourself in the position of pointing out your hand to a man saying “gimme” “gimme”
It has worked for us, for our daughters, granddaughters, and now out great granddaughters.
We still love men…but we ensure that we are NEVER EVER financially dependent on them.
Both of my grandmothers, both married women, both born deep in the 19th century both worked for themselves. My father’s mother continued working beyond her 80th birthday weeding cane ground at Mangrove (St. Peter) Plantation. She, an agricultural labourer with little formal education, put together with her sister Mary in the in the 1930’s and bought 2 tiny house spots. Those house spots were sold in the 1990’s to enable a grand daughter to become a lawyer…so if you see a female lawyer don’t assume that some man got her there. Maybe she is standing on the shoulders of her grandmother, a virtually illiterate agricultural labourer who had the foresight to buy a piece of land in the very difficult 1930’s and who had the good health and good sense to continue working into her 80’s.
LikeLiked by 2 people
About liming on the block. If only liming on the block was only about chatting and playing dominoes, but we know that is not the case.
We need to ask ourselves how many of our parents, especially male parents, that is fathers spend their money on satisfying their own desire for alcohol, tobacco, marijuana and cocaine and other drugs both legal and illegal rather than spending their money on feeding, housing and educating their own children.
We need to ask ourselves, if the money spent on alcohol, tobacco, marijuana and cocaine was instead spent on feeding, housing and educating our children.
Would be all be better off?
Would be all be worse off?
LikeLiked by 1 person
@ Artaxerxes
In your 4 paragraph post of 11 a.m. you have summarized the state of mind of the collective known as the DLP and the BLP that we are saddled with.
Both parties DO NOT LIKE opposing opinions NOR critique but this party likes it even LESS and are, because of their ineptitude, more vehement in decrying any dieesnting views.
There was a fellow late of BU, called Bovell, de ole man forget he first name but he used to come here and piss parade just like AC and legion does, Henderson Bovell.
Henderson was David Thompson’s right hand man and things with south and he jumped ship for the BLP and became their most vociferous supporter, until he was silenced.
This manifestation that is called AC is not unique, it is called appointing people with little thinking power as your blind lieutenants so that they can do the will of the despot.
The thing about this though is that these IDJUTS CAN ONLY BREED IDJUTS and therein lies the said destruction, that even the ones that appointed them, AFTER A WHILE, fear and have to do something drastic because otherwise they realise that these ranting supporters will ultimately do something that will bring about their destruction
“Whenever a separation is made between liberty and justice, neither, in my opinion, is safe..”
“Whenever a separation is made between allegiance and common sense, the results, in my opinion, is abject cretinism or AC….”
LikeLike
@ Simple Simon
You sound proud of your father and mother and her job at what these young ones would call menial labour.
That is a strange thing SS to have a pride in your parents who might not have had the formal education that you have but upon whose shoulders who you are, stands proud.
If i could bottle that essence of being and reproduce it and put it into the drink of Bajans from all walks of life, that sense of pride in our small beginnings i would do that willingly
If i knew how to incense people to the riotous heights like Lil Rick and Chiwawa, and Hypa Dawg with stories like yours I would love to bring that type of seditious thought to our society every evening if some Bajans who love their country like you love this country would put some advertising $$ into a Let We Tek Bak Barbados 1/2 hour program.
But dis is not Rum or Guiness that we are selling, we are selling upful living and standards and values and getting rid of poorakey politicians who were poor BEFO they went into our House of Parliament and poorer still as such relates to their values and integrity now that they are there.
War, pestilence, plagues, earthquakes, acts of GOD have their place in the affairs of men who are hellbent on destroying themselves
LikeLike
This is one of the many issues which the blp yahoos would have to capitulate on moral grounds after their loud and boisterous voices called on govt.daily to administer prescriptions to cut/slash/and burn preventative or alternative methods which might not be a cure all..but have been found to give positive and remarkable results in the growth and development of children.
Now once again the blp is seen seeking refuge in sites wherby they can engage in the “art”of hitting below the belt while perscribing perscriptions to alter and confuse with a relevance to attack parents and households on the methods of child raising
LikeLike
Can someone tell me wtf ac talkin bout?
LikeLike
@ Mitchlans
It would seem that you are new to the site.
Do not go to close to the flames of the cyberspace psychosis or you will, like Daedalus, rather Icarus, have the wax between your wings burnt.
Keep away from the Dark Force Skywalker
LikeLiked by 1 person
@mitchlans May 19, 2015 at 1:24 PM “Can someone tell me wtf ac talkin bout?”
ac doesn’t speak, read, nor write English.
She speaks something called dlplish.
This language is mutually unintelligible with all other languages in the world.
So it makes ac a very ineffective communicator for the DLP.
LikeLiked by 2 people
@ mitchlans
AC is really a result of a female rabbit crossed with a donkey….reversed…
In the circumstances she actually does quite well.
The problem for us comes largely because she seems to be advising the DLP on policy….
LikeLiked by 2 people
@ Piece, Simon and Bush, thanks. I was beginning to think I had crossed into an alternate universe where there were some people who had been subjected to frontal lobotomies and had that part of their brain replaced by a module which trots out obsessively irrelevant nonsense integrated with an imaginary and wholly unjustified sense of superiority. It was only after I read your safety warnings that I realised I was partly correct and should just hope they shortly implode from the pressure of self imposed incompetence and inanity and vacate the premises to enable intelligent life to replace them.
LikeLike
pieceuhderockyeahright May 19, 2015 at 12:13 PM #
“This manifestation that is called AC is not unique, it is called appointing people with little thinking power as your blind lieutenants so that they can do the will of the despot.”
“Whenever a separation is made between allegiance and common sense, the results, in my opinion, is abject cretinism or AC….”
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
PUDRYR, you are indeed correct. Many of these party supporters who contribute to BU, by their comments, often demonstrate they do not have the ability to think rationally.
I remember the days when Henderson Bovell performed a similar role to that of AC for the DLP when he was amongst their ranks.
He subsequently switched allegence to the BLP and continued in the same vein, this time articulating that party’s rhetorical party political diatribe.
In an era when the educational system was “liberated” thereby enabling all and sundry to acquire an education, it is rather unfortunate and disturbing that some people, who profess having intelligence, can put their dignity aside and blindy support any political party.
LikeLiked by 1 person
On a much more serious note, however it transpires this child met his tragic demise and for whatever reason or reasons, the entire system failed him as it is failing hundreds, if not thousands of others. From the culture of keeping one’s nose “outta other people bidniss”, to the absence of a safe, trusting and believing person in the child’s life, to the dearth of positive local role models as opposed to an over abundance of negative local role models, to the culture (again) of a quick f*ck and to hell with any consequences, the poorly dealt with issue of bullying, the even more poorly dealt with (culture again) issues of child abuse, incest and child ‘prostitution’ (sex for money or any material gain) and on and on. That a child should die for any one of these or a myriad of other reasons is not just unacceptable, but unconscionable. So what will we do about it? Same as we do about everything else these days. Nothing. That is almost as sad as the loss of a young life itself.
LikeLiked by 1 person
Blame for our situation must be shared between men and women. Both sexes have been selfish in the pursuit of their own satisfaction. We must understand that we need each other for the advancement of society and ultimately ourselves. Those women who treat men as ATMs should stop to consider their actions and those men who treat women like prostitutes, maids or pieces of meat should do likewise. We all need to consider that these children we have made will be the ones in charge of society when we are in our dotage. If we don’t raise them right and show them love we will be the ones wishing we had the strength to commit suicide when we reach old age. I am doing my part with the help of the Loving Father because I hope to live to a ripe old age.
Any bias that is currently being seen in the system towards females may be so in some cases but is not sufficient cause for the failure of males in Barbados. Disadvantaged men together have enough power to fight for their rights and attain then but prefer to lime instead. I have taught my son to have respect and love for God, himself and all humanity. He has learnt his lessons well. These attributes will serve him well in his quest for the Good Life.
LikeLiked by 1 person
Simple Simon May 19, 2015 at 2:10 PM #
“ac doesn’t speak, read, nor write English.”
SS, you must be fair, the English AC writes is called “Middle English” and can be adequately read by someone like Geoffrey Chaucer. The below quote, from the “Miller’s Tale” was written in English, but not the English we are familiar with today. However, we can determine by the following what the ACs are actually thinking or doing before they sit to compose their contributions.
“This (AC) was risen for to pisse, and thought they wolde amenden al the jape; she should kiss her ers er that she scape. And up the wyndowe dide she hastily, and out her ers she putteth pryvely, over the buttok, to the haunche-bon. This AC anon leet fle a fart, as greet as it had been a thonder-dent.”
LikeLiked by 1 person
Michlans,
We’re not all doing nothing. Some of us are trying in our own little corner. Just before this child was found dead I was monitoring a situation with a child at my son’s school. For reasons which I will not disclose, my son seemed to be his only friend. I encouraged my son to stick close (though he really didn’t need my encouragement) and had him report to me every day. The school finally dealt with his situation the day after the tragedy of Shamar’s death. What are you doing in your corner? If we all acted in our corners Barbados would be covered.
LikeLike
Here is a quote taken from the mouth of the now leader of the BLP in respect to present govt programs that was to help assist working mothers and build and create sense of self worth in our children ,these are principles which no one should argue against especially in spite of the now highlighted issue of mental issues and teen suicide
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
How ironic that these very programs which the Blp yahoos have criticized and wanted remove/////// in the weeks and month ahead following this tragedy would become a testimony to the efforts that govt have fought for in providing a foundation upon which poor children in this society accessed in times of need
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
Ac knows that the BLP foot soldiers are hating the Fact that ac is keenly aware of the many causes that creates and escalate mental problems ..however the fact is that in all my comments there is a truth which should be heard.
At this juncture MY HANDS ARE FOLDED
LikeLike
In my last comment a quote from the now blp leader was presented .however for whatever reason only part of the quote was displayed
Here is the quote in its entirety
The goverment potters about ill-advised schemes like Constituency Councils and summer camps,oblivious to the danger
that dawdling is having on a timely economic recovery.
By the time the they realize the error of their ways much
pain will have been endured by an unsuspecting public
Who they are trying to win over with ” freeness”
Free summer camps and free bus rides may yet
be too dear a price for the country to bear
LikeLike
So Constituency Councils and summer camps were designed to stop child suicide? Wow.
And in respect of Mia’s quote – it looks to me like she got it just right.
LikeLike
@Donna
Yes men need to stop, yes women need to stop but we live in an imperfect world and it will not stop. Actors in civil society have to try their level best to minimize occurrences such as occurred to Shamar.
LikeLike
What is stopping the autopsy because additional resources are needed? What is happening!
LikeLike
How ironic that the very words issued by David BU “Whats happening are the identical words which ac used in one of the many comments to highlight the fact that bajans have a nonchalant and lackadaisical attitude when it comes to burdensome societal problems but in the event disaster occurs every one wants to know “whats happening” or how did it happen.
LikeLike
to nite i have a wide mouth open smile because in the midst of this tragedy one would never have thought or circumspect that issues to serve the working mother and child which the blp said that should be abandoned those issues which are broadly based and founded on Judea christian principles instructing all that we are our brothers keeper now stand upward and forcefully in the face of critics and self serving demagogues as a reminder that they were wrong,
LikeLike
Are some contributors to BU who are supporters of the DLP suggesting that summer camps and “free bus fares” are policies that will assist in enhancing child growth and stability?
Rather than making the usual generalized statements and political rhetoric, perhaps these supporters could list some of the initiatives developed and implemented by this administration “that can be considered a testimony to the efforts that government have fought for providing a foundation upon which poor children in this society accessed in times of need”?
As it relates to the “free bus fares”, the “saving” that were initially gained by the “single and working mothers”, were eroded when bus fare was increased from $1.50 to $2.00; VAT was increased to 17.5% from 15%; reverse tax credit was reduced by 50% to $650; consolidated and solid waste taxes were introduced. And under these circumstances, these same poor people that they are alluding to, have to pay UWI tuition fees for their children.
Let’s look briefly at the government’s school meals program. We have a situation where primary school children are being fed hot dogs, hamburgers, corned beef sandwiches, cheese cutters and pasta for lunch. The fruits they receive, more often than not, are “English apples.”
Government should create a department mandated with the task of developing child development policies, as well as coordinating child development programs, while encouraging non-governmental organisations and the private sector to fund certain projects (e.g. establish centers for children in difficult circumstances).
Social workers, trained in child psychology, should be assigned to schools to deal with child development issues as it relates to soci-economic disadvantages, inter-parental conflicts and sexually transmitted diseases.
These social workers should also look at families residing in urban areas where there is some overcrowding (i.e. housing areas within and surrounding the city). In such communities, children may be faced with problems of poor living conditions; health and environmental issues; lack of moral direction or a collective community responsibility for their upbringing. Because of poverty, children may engage in child labour or early employment; be tempted to become involved in illegal activities; drug abuse; early pregnancies and STDs.
LikeLiked by 1 person
@David……It gets more interesting.
“The Royal Barbados Police Force (RBPF) has an obligation to its internal and external clients to deliver professional investigative services at all times. Forensic evidence often forms part of these services; frequently it is the most critical determinant of the integrity of the services. As a consequence, the RBPF always seeks to ensure it employs the best forensic resources available to it. Having considered all the issues in the case of Shemar Patrick Weekes and the dire consequence of misinformation, it is the reasoned judgment of the Authorities that a more scientific approach which is not available here should be employed. Hence, there has been a delay in the conduct of the post mortem. Nevertheless, measures to procure these scientific services have already been employed.
See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/67618/police-seeking-assistance-shemar-weekes-autopsy#sthash.2CBHs21p.dpuf
LikeLike
And guess what all of the above mentioned in the last comment cost money. Are you willing to dole out the extra cash necessary to implement these new and bold initiatives. Ac challenge all theblp foot soldiers to excute and forward those initiatives presenting and demanding of the blp leadership to take a closer look going forward
By giving thoughtful concern on the issues and concerns of mental issues affecting the poor.furthermore in so doing not only by talk but by action.
However those on the other side would not be surprised ( given her previous rantings and ramblings concerning what she described as “freeness” for the poor ) if a change of heart by Mia would be politically motivated
LikeLike
It is interesting and opens the question about the quality of forensic investigations to date. Let us see how this plays out.
LikeLike
Do you really think it’s productive turn EVERY ISSUE (especially one such as this suicide) presented to BU for discussion into a DLP versus BLP scenario? But this is your political strategy.
You DLP political pimps and yard-fowls always talk about poor people, and this particular DLP administration has eroded all the social initiatives introduced by previous DLP administrations. Free health care; free child day care; free tertiary level education; NIS (whereby we have a situation whereby those who are unemployed, sick, on maternity leave and in some cases, old age pensioners have to wait long for their benefits.
A previous DLP administration decreased severance payments and the period during which an individual could receive unemployment benefits.
Are these situations not affecting POOR PEOPLE?
I challenge you AC and the other DLP yard-fowls on BU (and I notice since Stuart’s comments about “yard-fowls” you have ceased using the term), rather than coming to the site with a lot of shiite political diatribe, come with something sensible.
Judging from the type of reasoning, political spin and rhetoric you constantly use on BU, you are essentially using this site to mount a political campaign for the DLP. Your strategy is similarly used on the platforms political meetings.
Unfortunately for you, 95% of those individuals who contribute on BU (with the exception of Togetherness, Waiting, My Two Cents, NationBLPNewspaper, Fractured BLP and AC) are intelligent and focused enough not to be taken in by your shiite.
LikeLike
Arterexes..
Do you think ac gives a rats a..s.s what you think about the comments..it is like throwing salt in your eyes and it gives ac,s a belly laugh.
LikeLike
You are a sick demented woman with a serious psychosis.
In one breath you come with your parsimonious rantings about how we must be conscious about what your clique of vagabonds were doing to address suicide by football matches and camps.
Two seconds later, you start cussing on the same site which seeks for the most part to commiserate with those who feel that we have all lost a child and seek, in some form or fashion, to say to each of us, this is our responsibility and to make us cognisant of the fact that we collectively are failing.
If only for this one act, I would really ask that you should be banned for the rabid animal that you are.
LikeLike
I am painfully aware that we live in an imperfect world. Just like Jesus though, I must state the ideal towards which we must look for direction. I am doing my best in my sphere of influence to convince my church to actively join in the fight at the community level with practical programmes. So far I have been shut down by the general body but I have recently acquired a partner to whom it will probably pay greater attention. It is the job of the State to protect our children. They cannot do it alone. My pre-teen son and I are working. Since we’re all of us in agreement here that not enough is being done – what are we all going to do about it?
LikeLike
Ammmm.(foot soldier)Artexeres why would ac engaged in speculative rheotric in regards to a tragedy..ac deals in fscts not hearsay or some media perceptions .
Btw you should have noticed that my comments here dealt wiith facts.
LikeLike
pieceuhderockyeahright May 20, 2015 at 10:44 AM #
“If only for this one act, I would really ask that you should be banned for the rabid animal that you are.”
I agree with you 200%, PUDRYR, Irene and her lot need to be given a time out, and forcibly so, from BU……. it’s about time.
Some have argued that diverging views will make this forum a bit more interesting. However, the consortium does not bring anything of substance to any discussion, only a lot of party political rhetorical diatribe, while turning every issue into BLP versus DLP contest. This has become quite sickening. Every day, to every topic….. “same old warmed over soup.”
A good example is this topic. The ONLY things that group of yard-fowls can mention as government’s child development policies are summer camps and “free bus fares”, NOTHING else. They should be ashamed!!
LikeLike
pieceuhderockyeahright May 20, 2015 at 10:44 AM #
You are a sick demented woman with a serious psychosis.
In one breath you come with your parsimonious rantings about how we must be conscious about what your clique of vagabonds were doing to address suicide by football matches and camps.
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………
But you have to agree with Ronald Jones’s latest statement that some people should not have children.
Including his Mamma , I can think of quite a few others close to him.
LikeLike
I am a DLP yardfowl. I also am well aware that you cannot defend the indefensible.
For the longest while I stopped reading anything posted by ac and a few others.
If wunna don’t like what a poster writes don’t read it. You are FREE.
David should not ban anybody unless they threaten the existence of BU.
LikeLike
Aratax and Pieces you guys are definitely reasonable and sensible fellows but unfortunately you also display your S&M proclivities on this AC folly fah all to see. We all have got caught in attempts to ‘debate’ their positions because we actually believe we are dealing in a rational way with rational people. STOP. That is not the case.
In simple terms, IGNORE the consortium and their political piffle. To continue to focus on their drivel is to empower their words…
Consider how Kim Kardashian parlayed the public’s base desire for any and all drivel into a $Billion corporate juggernaut…why give AC even a modicum of notice in that vein.
At least Kim is very easy on the eyes and creates a wonderful fantasy that her man can get to heaven and back in 10 minutes or less; among other things that drives her business.
But, good lawd, AC does not present scandalously funny (or salacious) political videos or commentary and is certainly not pretty in word or thought.
So, why are you guys wasting time adding to their ‘Kim’ show?
Uness they are breaking news from the PM or Gov’t they are USELESS, so surely you guys can get your self flagellation vibe going otherwise!
Go to WI town hall meeting on Friday or become a fan of Real Madrid or Man U or something like that. Lotta pain and much to talk about in any of them. But please cease and desist from responding or even seriously reading AC.
Doing yourselves a grave injustice!
LikeLike
Here comes the”jolly green giant”on the attack.
Great one of stature what could have ac done so wrong to have cause u to take your usually large feet and stamp them in my neck .Please sir i beg your forgiveness if a told a truth which u rather forget. Peace and out..Hav a nic day.
LikeLike
Sorry bro deigrunt t
my attackers cannot help themselves cause inside all my rantings and ramblings and dilpish language there are facts and truths which they have to erase, so like good students they keep there pencils sharpened with an oversize erase .. Iam not here to convince just simply to connect the dots.
LikeLike
Can we stay on the subject and not travel the predictable path.
LikeLike
“In an era when the educational system was “liberated” thereby enabling all and sundry to acquire an education, it is rather unfortunate and disturbing that some people, who profess having intelligence, can put their dignity aside and blindy support any political party.”
So profound Arta, so true; and even moedisturbing is that this political tribalism is well entrenched.
LikeLike
Good morning balance,
LikeLike
Meanwhile a 23 year old St Thomas father has been charged in connection with the death of his 3-month old daughter.
(fine print today’s Nation page 3)
Whats next? Like Haiti is accused to have done , have we made a pact with the Devil early in 2008 ?
LikeLike
When we have senior policy makers saying that our children have devils in them…why are we then surprised when stupid parents beat their children…perhaps the parents are hoping to beat the devils out of their children.
For the record let me state that none of our children have devils in them.
Unfortunately I can’t say the same for politicians…but nobody beats the politicians.
LikeLike
only cowards beat their children,,imagine an adult ten times the the size of the average child resorts to antiquated and barbaric practices to discipline a child, what does that say of a “so call modern society” which prides itself on intellectualism having to lean on inhumane practices to discipline a child. it says that society is sick and in need of mental psychological and sociological help .a society that is teaching and developing offspring to be wife beaters and females living in a world of fear an frigging bogged down with unhealthy traits that leads to low self esteem which then is manifested in social and economic problems for self and govts,
LikeLike
therefore it is necessary and important that society gets back to the drawing board crave out a path that is constructive not only to child discipline but to human discipline one that removes obstacles of destruction .one that is entrenched with a full fledged of positive growth and practicalities that is formulated into building minds towards that which is useful and progressive .
The old adage that we are what we think and what we believe can be applied and quickly transformed in the development of the mind and patterns exhibited in human behaviour
LikeLike
On Calgary news tonight there was a story about a 12 year old that died from hanging as a result of a game on the internet, children are encouraged to do it and are told it is safe and will get a high from it. The parents figured their son died because he tried it on his own.
LikeLike