The whole art of government consists in the art of being honest. Only aim to do your duty, and mankind will give you credit where you fail. ― Thomas Jefferson

Dispute with Waste Haulers enter second week.

The dispute between the Waste Haulers is about to enter a second week and as the impact of the tipping fee on the public becomes clearer there is a disturbing observation a vigilant public must also be concerned about.

One of the principle players in the dispute was served an enforcement notice by the Town Planning Office. BU holds no brief for Mr. Anderson Cherry and Jose y Jose, if he is in breach of a Town Planning (TP) regulation the law should take its course. BU has good reason to question the timing of the enforcement notice. There is a further report another Waste Hauler was served notice by the Barbados Revenue Authority (BRA). It begs the question why no similar audit has been requested by Commissioner of the Barbados Revenue Service Margaret Sivers on Leroy Parris for example?

The other interesting observation about the Waste Haulers protest is the report several drivers of the trucks were asked to produced licenses and insurance documents by police; this they did without incident.

One can be very naive and dismiss the interventions of the TP, BRA and Police as mere coincidences. This is Barbados and the sensible among us understand exactly what is playing out here.  Who is it who once said eternal vigilance is the price of liberty? As citizens we cannot become so cavalierish when independent organizations are so easily manipulated by political appointees with the objective of intimidating those who elected them.

It is no secret former acting permanent secretary Commissioner Margaret Sivers is a favourite of this government. Her expanded role as head of the BRA bears eternal vigilance although it is probably too late. Whether we liked how former Commissioner Darwin Dottin executed his duties – especially as it relates to allegations of misuse of wiretapping equipment – we observed naked political intervention to see his removal and replaced by Tyrone Griffith who has a few skeletons in his closet also. Many questioned why the government appointed Guyson Mayers as head of the Police Service Commission (PSC) given his forays on Democratic Labour Party (DLP) election platforms. The PSC was responsible for giving Dottin his marching order.

Another key player in the Waste Hauler dispute is the incorrigible Denis Lowe. He has made blunder after blunder, told lie after lie, frequently delivering orchestrated statements with the proverbial forked tongue yet an explained unwillingness by the prime minister to censure him. BU listened to minister of foreign affairs Maxine McClean proffering a feeble defence on behalf of Lowe last week on talk radio. Minister McClean should leave her Goebbels inclination to the Senate! To clarify a statement made by her to the youthful and enthusiastic Corey Layne, Chris Sinckler was ‘ordered’ to remove the Solid Waste Tax because he is on public record admitting the cash strapped government now has to look for $40 million dollars. It was not removed out of the goodness of his heart after a review. By the way, does anyone know if Bizzy Williams of SBRC was repaid all monies owed? One of the reasons offered by the minister of finance was that the Solid Waste Tax was to be used to repay SBRC.

Back to Lowe: BU is not an admirer of Lowe after we discovered he was being financed by Peter Allard to be a political stooge. BU published several blogs which exposed Lowe for the disingenuous political fraud we know him to be.

Related Articles about Minister Denis Lowe:

Minister Denis Lowe has zero credibility given his personal indiscretions. His handling of the NCC matter inspires zero confidence when dealing with labour disputes under his purview. One year later former employees he tearfully promised at the LSCC would have received justice by the Employment Rights Tribunal are still waiting for their rights under law to be administered. To suggest BU is disappointed at the quality of governance by the Stuart government would be the greatest understatement. The media has done a good job highlighting the dispute however the fissures in our governance system exposed by the dispute merit greater coverage.

The time has come for People Assemblies to reconvene to ensure the views of ordinary citizens have a equal voice and the power of a manipulative political class  is curtailed. a pipe dream some will say but there is an inevitability to it.

96 responses to “Waste Dispute and Governance”

1. […] By David […]

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

First they came for the Communists
    And I did not speak out
    Because I was not a Communist
    Then they came for the Socialists
    And I did not speak out
    Because I was not a Socialist
    Then they came for the trade unionists
    And I did not speak out
    Because I was not a trade unionist
    Then they came for the Jews
    And I did not speak out
    Because I was not a Jew
    Then they came for me
    And there was no one left
    To speak out for me

The above quotation from Martin Niemoller, a pastor who opposed Adolf Hitler. He spent seven years in a concentration camp.

I would seem that we have more than our fair share of Adolf Hitlers occupying the halls of power in Barbados. Also, it seems that they are converting the Royal Barbados Police Force into their very own SS. Heil Hitler – Seig Heil!

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Something is really wrong with this picture. Government is taxing waste haulers into bankruptcy to put money in the pocket of multi millionaire, Bizzy Williams.

SBRC is doing the same work as B’s so why is there no tax to benefit B’s? The simple answer is that you can’t expect to keep all of your money in your pocket, don’t help fund the DLP’s election campaign and expect to get the same benefits like Bizzy.

If this whole impasse was not triggered by corruption, I don’t know what is. Just imagine the circuitous route that this corruption has travelled. Government is finding it hard to justify levying another tax ahead of the Budget so it gets the Sanitation Service Authority to impose the tax, to pay Bizzy, in the form of this so called tipping fee. What the hell is going on here, Sanitation levying taxes?

4. @Caswell

I think they are more concerned with getting kickbacks. Using this to fund an election is a waste of time. I do not see them winning the 2018 elections even if Gearbox was the leader of the BLP.

Anyone notice how everything in Bdos is ending up in a dispute? From the primary school netballers to Secondary School cricket to UWI to Waste Haulers to QEH. There is a reason for this. Food for thought.

Anyone view it as suspicious that after the retaliatory tactic by Govt to audit some waste haulers that Jose y Jose was then burglarised and gutted by fire. Does anyone see the link? Does anyone know the shareholders in that company? Food for thought.

5. When the dust settles the problem of the need to implement an efficient waste management system remains.

6. Forget burning the garbage and melting the antartic ice shelves You have to find a place that you can buy up ..and at some point begin using a barge service to dispose of future garbage.. Like Trinidad is doing.

7. Waste haulers need to call out Bizzy Williams as well.I notice something very disturbing in this scenario.We want to half solve this problem.The pressure has to be put under both the government and Bizzy Williams.Typical Bajan tippy toeing through the tulips.

8. Caswell seems to be the only person in Barbados who is willing to, at least, give the appearance of an alternative way of thinking to the fossilised and general narrative. Somebody who is prepared to actually do something to confront these decadent norms.

We refer to the work of the trade union he leads. All others have descended to irrelevance, from many years now.

And there should be no difference between the matter of immigration or customs officers and this government’s determination to insulate Bizzy Williams from economic forces by taxing people.

These are the two sides to the same coin. And Unity must be helped to articulate that reality in ways that even the ignorant Bajans who so love COW and Bizzy will see.

9. @ David

Yes, BU has well covered Dennis Lowe. But they are all Denis Lowes!

This system cannot be fixed, but by total destruction.

10. @Pacha

We will keep taking aim at the ducks who betray their positions.

11. CO Williams Quarries and Asphalt push out a lot of small truckers by offering a so call free freighting on sand and stone,COW was party to the madness in the sand hole, at the same time COW was selling sand at $45plus a ton from Lears, but the DLP like PIG people

12. Some of the small truckers that were push out by COW find a little work in moving things to the dump to make a living but now Bizzy

13. Excluded from this debate is a formula to keep the environment clean as usual the politics to hang and destroy takes stronghold as the usual and familiar voices of the political practitioners of knowing what is wrong becomes vocal,,however asked any one of these practitioners what are the sustainable solution and the old tired and worn out answers remain the same, what is mostly at stake in the ongoing battle is whether we as a society are serious about tackling those issues that are interfering with the quality of life and mostly associated with problems distributed by the environment or are we as a society willing to take those risk that would eventually be detrimental in cost and health,The political venue that has emerged from this issues serves no purpose but to agitate and prolong critical and important solutions necessary to save and protect the environment,
    We can either fix these problem now even though there may be somewhat uncomfortable to many or ignore and commit suicide going forward,

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@Ben10

Ammmm please help de ole man here

You said and I quote “Anyone view it as suspicious that after the retaliatory tactic by Govt to audit some waste haulers that Jose y Jose was then burglarised and gutted by fire..”

Now as far as the newspapers have reported there was a fire which according to the Hose and Hose spokesperson burnt out all the computers etc beyond recognition

Where you get the burglarized part from??

Was the burglary performed before the arson or after the building started burning? De ole man jes ask dat “Judd for the Defence” question causing I did want to know how de thieves manage to burglarize de place en bypass de alarm system in Hose y Hose?

I guess de Mexican banditos did not need to disable the security because by the time they were stealing the valuables, the building was already burning.

Just as a matter of interest what did the thieves steal?

You had better be careful Adriel Nitwit don’t come for you cause you have a little more info about this suspicious fire than the rest of us

15. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ AC

Looka I know dat you down like ole peeple and want me an Bush Tea to demit de planet like wunna soon fine demit political office but could I ask you a likkle question?

You read the topic of this article?

It is not like the several others that are all over BU about Waste Disposal and Government.

It is Waste Dispute and Governance, two distinctly different threads.

Now I know it is hard for you to understand any “polysyllabic thought” BUT if you see any topics with more than two words adopt a strategy henceforth of ignoring it and to use the words in your last post aptly, “ignore it or commit (verbal) suicide going forward”

16. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

De iPad auto correcting de Bajan Caswell I need your help

I said “Looka I know dat you doan like ole peeple and want me an Bush Tea to demit de planet like wunna soon gine demit political office but could I ask you a likkle question?..

I soon gine gi’ back me son dis iPad, it got me like an illiterate Bajan dialect speaker or wusser still, a relative of Minister Ronald WeJonesing, of “the chilrun are is learning bettah..”

17. BTW Administrator why is my comment awaiting moderation. nothing said is filthy or malicious or salacious just a laymans point of view of presenting a different side of the equation,,,shame on you David if you do not release my comment,,as one who is a full blown advocate of freedom of speech ,i am dumbfounded as to why a mild mannered comment would be awaiting moderation by you

18. @AC

Many have been saying that we should start with the dismantlement of the system. But you would not want to try that. Then the economic system. Then the education system.

Then kill the yard fowls like you! Because reform is impossible for your mindset.

19. Is anyone able to say how does SBRC fit into a Waste Management strategy for the country. What role is SBRC expected to play in the proposed CAHILL WtE plant. We ask against the background of Bizzy admitting his commitment to making campaign contributions to political parties.

When the dust settles the problem of the need to implement an > efficient waste management system remains. > >

20. twice i have submitted a comment one that is not offensive by any stretch of the imagination but one that goes to the heart of what is divisive and curtails the importance of sustaining a society and twice the comment has been moderated , i want to know why , there are comments which on a daily basis goes above and aboard decency however are allowed to be submitted, david is this your way of banning ac by way of moderating ac comments,

21. The Blp misfits continue to live in a world of delusion believing that the have a god given right to freeness and exploit every issue on a political scale pressurized and disposed of in an atmosphere of political frenzy. as the MOF of finance aptly sates logically that to build and sustain an economy it cost money and barbadians can not longer continue to bury their heads in pretense that problems that are inherently attached to a society would simply dissolve by itself if nothing is done to fix and contain.
    The BLP brigade of doom and gloom have been exercising such tactics for the past six and half years but there are those who understand that a multifaceted society with multiple problems needs everyone to pay a fair share and it cannot be left to “chance” in order to fix and necessary changes to be applied.
    A society must understand Who WE Are and where we are heading before jumping into a waste disposal of self destruction and apparently that is where the Blp brigade would want this country to be headed.

22. LT. HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT. HORATIO CAINE.

MR.Pach, murder is a crime, i would hate to believe that you are suggesting such in your comments,i have read carefully some of the postings on this site,and quite recently i have observed that some persons are propagating seditious behaviors. May i remind you persons who have a penchant for so doing, it is against the law,and as we are aware these sites are monitored care should therefore be taken when making or attempting to make certain statements.

23. Sinckler is giving Lowe and the Waste Haulers good advice on today’s front page. Kudos to the waste haulers for standing up for a cause,

24. A very good point Lt. Horatio Caine. It bothers me when I see calls for banning or ‘getting rid of yard fowls’. We do not want our politics to become like that of one our sister islands.

Let’s have a good robust debate. Let the wise and the “otherwise” have that say.

It was over 35 years ago when Canon Jones woke up the hall of HC with the phrase “Some of us and some of us are otherwise”…. That’s all ll I remember from my days at Kolij

25. Who is suggesting to get rid of yardfowls? We are saying yardfowl positions do not add to constructive debate. You said you attended Kolig right?

26. @ LT. HORATIO CAINE. May 17, 2015 at 10:49 AM
    Only UNLAWFUL murder is a crime.
    How can it be a crime to deal properly with criminality and evil?

Righteous people who love JUSTICE sometimes NEED to send strong messages about their low tolerance for shiite…

27. Three times Ihave attempted to submit a comment which simply states that as a society getting our prioities straight should be the order of the day and three times my comments have been disallowed .I dare B U David to release my earlier comment and let the BU audience decides if the language or content is worthy of moderation.in my comment I alluded to the statement made by the M O F on the back page of Barbados today by the way which are highly appropriate and speaks to the level and necessary policies needed to sustain our economy

28. We should ask ourselves why was the decision made to repeal the solid waste tax. In the absence of recall legislation what recourse does the citizenry have if the the political directorate continually ignores the voice of the people?

29. LT. HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT. HORATIO CAINE.

So Mr. Blog master,what is your solution? Riotous conduct?Should we therefore seek to have a coup?This is exactly what i was speaking of everyone seems to be in a hurry to gain the reins of power and apparently by foul means.I believe the citizenry have recourse at the appointed time, when they the electorate are called upon.MR.BUSHIE,they are some defenses to murder eg.the defense of one’s life and property in reasonable circumstances of course, Diminished responsibility, a death that occurs in a sanctioned game of sport that is deemed as purely accidental and the said sport being lawful eg. a boxing match,so to state that the unlawful killing of another human being will send a strong message, i doubt it, murder unless in the aforementioned circumstances is a serious crime that should be punishable by death.

30. btw the blog master has already revealed his solution by way of his actions in not allowing commentary of opposing view that he deems is not to his way of thinking ,just like war the first casualty is the word, His actions taken against a mild mannered an incontrovertible truth which i stated in my comment and his decision not to let the Bu audience read speaks to a troubling mindset one of which the blog master has put in focus on this blog accusing this govt of actions against free speech

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Once again ‘the strategy surfaces”

Not content with the fact that their is strong debate occuring on this premiere Social Commentary Network the agents of the crown now seek the only other alternative which is one of the few circumstances under which a blog can be closed down by WordPress.

So.

What we the DLP have decided is to set up a stage where “the Seed of Sedition” which by the way has been discussed several times before on the site by others of the agent provocateurs AND DISMISSED as not only being undesirable but to no end since, as cuntry with only sugar and tourists, a coup would DESTROY the very cuntry that such persons would be seeking to save

But Lt. Horatio Caine this is expected of you and your ilk for as it becomes apparent the power of the pen, now you seek by these means to interject another angle through which the voice of the people can be silenced.

Now whereas Facebook can be “bullied” into removing certain materials from their site, you have found that the responses to your queries to wordpress have not been in keeping with your effort to get the site closed.

Why would they send little boys like you to fight big man fight ??

And it becomes evident that you, in tandem with Alternating Current or Ass Crack as Bush Tea calls her now are pushing this agenda of “Seditious topics” and a blog that does not allow postings like SheriVeronica.

Wheel and wheel again!!

32. yes the commentary which i submitted about five hours ago is no longer “awaiting moderation” but has been removed. part of my comment stated that a society must be able to determined who we are before heading into a waste disposal of self destruction.

33. SSA and Barbados Government has now shown their hand. Theys are trying to raise money from a tipping fee yet they are tendering for the supply of 20 skips and four skip truck. Williams industries the owner of SBRC and to whom the $28m contract for the new leachate plant are the only importers of metal in Barbados and are therefore likely to win that tender through one of their companies either Structural Systems or Coles engineering.

A clear indication that they are intent on extending the unfair competition and put the private hauler under more pressure.

At the same time supporting big business, Williams group for the skips and Simpson for the skip trucks. (Who else in Barbados imports skip trucks?)

Get the picture.

34. @ Pieceuhderock
    LOL…
    Man you could have allowed the Lt. to pursue his argument a bit longer before bringing on the hammer….
    He was correctly saying that “murder unless in the aforementioned circumstances is a serious crime that should be punishable by death.”

Bushie was about to ask him what punishment he thought appropriate for persons in the HIGHEST position of TRUST …who deliberately steal the CLICO pensions and savings of THOUSANDS of the very people they were appointed to serve and protect.

….and about those charged with law and order who PROTECT an esteemed criminal ..while holding out threats against LAWFUL INVESTORS whose name he has….

….and about those who take bribes from strangers and sell their own people off into slavery like the brothers of Joseph with the pretty coat…..

Wonder what he would do with them nuh…..?
    …probably guarantee them full pensions for life….

35. @ac

Your comment was moderated because you included the acronym MOF. You may recall this is a moniker you insisted in using although you denied it. The comment has been released and contrary to your rant was never posted to BU but was redirected to the moderation queue. You may have the last word.

36. @LT. HORATIO CAINE. May 17, 2015 at 1:21 PM,

“So Mr. Blog master,what is your solution? Riotous conduct?” Should we therefore seek to have a coup?”

You sir, sound a touch too paranoid. In most democracies people take to the speech to voice their dissent against their leaders. Likewise a general strike is a potent tool to utilise in order to bring change to a government’s style of governing. Let’s hope that this “lorry” strike grows and that all Barbadian workers follow suite. Would you Mr Caine define such actions as riotous?

Apart from waiting for the next general election what are your suggestions to halt the “riotous conduct” of the incumbent government and the illegalities being practiced by our corrupt politicians and corrupt leaders of businesses?

Whilst we Bajans procrastinate, Macedonians take to the streets in their thousands to make the demand for their Prime Minister to resign from office. That Mr Caine is what we in Europe call democracy in action.

http://www.theguardian.com/world/video/2015/may/17/macedonia-pm-under-increasing-pressure-tens-thousands-take-streets-video

37. AC

And if there is an option, an intention, of entering ‘the waste disposal of self-destruction’…………………..why would it be necessary to find out who we are a priori.

38. D Ingrunt Word Avatar
    D Ingrunt Word

Lt Caine, you appear to be more fictional that factual in your thoughts and comments above.

People posting ‘kill the yard fowls’ or some such comment is nothing more than ineffectual noise of free speech. If you are Bajan you know that such verbose words are part of the vibe and vernacular : ‘man, I should shoot yah ass’; ‘ I got two minds to kill yah rass’ or the simple ‘I gine kill you’.

Of course society is more violent than it should be and with our elders being so careless and corrupt with our affairs of state things could get heated and appear dangerous but your police review of these sites in an attempt to ferret out sedition based on such commentary is laughable and ridiculous.

You are going to investigate bloggers for every bland Bajanism! The courts would consider you and fellow officers as real jacka..

I am not a cop or lawyer, but it’s quite strange to read the defenses to murder you cited. Why would a prosecutor charge a person with MURDER in instances where the death took place in “a sanctioned game of sport that is deemed as purely accidental and the said sport being lawful eg. a boxing match”.

With respect, but that is an absolute conundrum of folly. For all our sakes I hope you are not the officer tasked with overseeing our rights if these are your interpretations of law and justice.

For the record a Murder is generally defined as: “when a person, of sound memory and discretion, unlawfully kills any reasonable creature … with malice AFORETHOUGHT (my emphasis), either express or implied.”

How does that happen in the NORMAL course of an approved boxing match that would lead to a charge of murder thus evoking that defense. Folly!

As another blogger said: wheel and come again!

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ De Ingrunt Word.

Man I like you bad man…bad

Looka how you call dat fellow a cuss word and you ent prance up like de ole man would en ting..

An absolute connundrum of folly,

whu lossie I wudda call he a good bvhkhunt and dat wudda be cause fuh dem to add onto to dem list to WordPress whey DEM complaining dat we is cussing and preaching sedition, murder, encouraging arson, and disorder, coups, strikes and generally cussing de prime minister and mekking de cvntry look bad at the level of the IMP and de World Bank

You and Bush Tea does mek me come heah especially when de madam out saving souls and ting. Fortunately I cyan walk bout too much. Unna does see me in de back uh de soup van sitting down pun a Fridey, I gots to keep me donkey quiet.

But de doctor ent say nuffin bout me mouf and me fingers…..

40. I just read NationNews and had a wtfrance moment. Barbados or LA.

FROM ALL REPORTS Wayne Albert was a simple man in life, and the funeral service to celebrate his 40 years was in keeping with that.
    – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/67519/final-resting-bloods#sthash.D4Vw2kSh.dpuf

41. @Hants
    Wuh yuh getting excited bout? De Nation said he was a simple man who had a simple funeral, no over the top celebrations .

From all appearances there was only one request to the mourners “wear something red”.

42. John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES, Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES,

CLICO, DONT BE SIDE TRACK WITH TRASH

43. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON A HILL

The more things change, the more they remain the same. Don Blackman discovered that even a change of association did little to obstruct white shadows that loomed ominously over Barbados. Today they still threatened. In 1987 Red Plastic Bag sang a song called UNDER PRESSURE. In classic RPB style he sang “we only know about milking cow….look um is the direct opposite now. Fast forward to 2015 and a cow by any name is still a cow. We still UNDER PRESSURE.

44. David please check u moderation bucket it backlogs

45. Colonel Buggy Avatar

@Caswell

What we are beginning to see played out in this country in a reenactment of events which took place in Deutschland in the early 1930″s. And like the many who were willing and ready then to support the ex Corporal from Austria, we have our own Brown Shirts and Black shirts among us.

46. While I join those who contend that the current government maybe out to sea, I am of the firm opinion that we should be taking better care of our household garbage. We have dumped in gullies; polluted the beaches and generally act very carelessly when it comes to garbage disposal. The country is essentially dirty and we are all to blame.

47. And William who is the stakeholder responsible for instituting policy and enforcing laws?

48. @Ben10 May 17, 2015 at 6:17 AM “Anyone view it as suspicious that after the retaliatory tactic by Govt to audit some waste haulers that Jose y Jose was then burglarised and gutted by fire.”

A Simple Response: Yes I view this burglary/fire as being suspicious.

Does anyone see the link?

A Simple Response: Yes I do.

Does anyone know the shareholders in that company?

A Simple Response: No.

49. @Pachamama May 17, 2015 at 7:49 AM ” this government’s determination to insulate Bizzy Williams from economic forces by taxing people.”

So while the government is busy insulating Bizzy, who is insulating us, the taxpayers?

I thought that the government was supposed to look out for the national interest?

But I am only a Simple Simon.

50. @Hants May 17, 2015 at 6:16 PM “I just read NationNews and had a wtfrance moment. Barbados or LA…FROM ALL REPORTS Wayne Albert was a simple man in life, and the funeral service to celebrate his 40 years was in keeping with that.”

He who lives by the sword, shall die by the sword. This is the word of the Lord Halleujah!!!

And it does not matter whether he is a Blood or a Crip.