Can We Trust Local Media?

Ronald Toppin resigned as minister responsible for the Fair Trading Commission without a public explanation

In the end the truth about what is happening is the only thing that is of value to anybody. And when a newspaper begins to suppress news, whether at the behest of its advertisers or on pleas from special segments of business, it will soon cease to be of any service either to its advertisers or to business because it will soon cease to have readers – The Time a Newspaper Stared Down the Country’s Largest Advertiser 

The above article reminded BU just how much we take the role of the media in Barbados for granted. Are we satisfied local media presents the unvarnished truth? Is the news and ideologies of the local media coloured by its obligation to keep advertisers happy?  Do we agree the media sector needs to be be managed as a commercial enterprise to be able to honour its financial obligations? Is it possible given the emerging social media sphere for traditional media to  manage the business of reporting news without compromise?

One reason BU has not been embraced by the traditional media has a lot to do with an unwillingness to relinquish our  independence. The views and ideology of BU are our own and so far have been impervious to those whose job it is to manipulate the national agenda. And so it will continue because we have no advertisers to appease. The large advertisers in Barbados are known, LIME, Digicel, car dealers, finance companies to name the obvious few. Knowing the incestuous and corrupt nature of the system can we say with certainty the traditional media is not ‘influenced’?

Are we satisfied the local media is sufficiently probing of issues such as why Karib Cable was given a license to operate days before the DLP won a general election which was quickly acquired by FLOW? What about the entry of Cost U Less to Barbados? Why was Bjorn Bjerkhamn appointed to the Central Bank Board of Directors? Why did former minister of Commerce Ronald Toppin resign from oversight of the Fair Training Commission? What was the rationale of the late prime minister David Thompson’s decision to appoint Leroy Parris as Chairman of Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation? What is the arrangement between government, minister Michael Lashley, Mark Maloney and the Clarkes to manage the Adopt-a-kilometre program?

Many other questions can be asked to expose the supine and moribund state of the local media. There is the CBC which has been manipulated by successive governments. Not to forget Anthony Bryan of the BarbadosAdvocate who has openly adopted the PIG principle. And then there is Starcom Network which is challenged – by their admission – to walk the narrow road between the need to manage the relationship with advertisers and the pursuit and broadcast of truth.

The media, government, citizens and other members of civil society have to play an honest part to fashion the best society possible. If key stakeholders allow themselves to be manipulated by those who are motivated by greed and corruption then what is the purpose of our lives? How do we make Barbados a better place for our children? Who is responsible to act as the disruptive force? Whither the Barbados Association of Journalists?

81 comments

• Pingback: Can We Trust Local Media?

• Caswell Franklyn

Can we trust local media? Yes, as far as we can throw them.

The worst employer in Barbados happens to be the Barbados Workers’ Union. But when given verifiable information about its treatment of its own workers, the media refuse to publish. I personally provided the Nation and the Barbados Today with information, complete with documentary evidence, about their mistreatment of one of its workers. Neither one has printed the story. To be more accurate, Barbados Today published some initial aspects but failed to do the follow up when more substantial information became available.

• Reblogged this on Sheri Veronica and commented:

Yes, can you trust the people who own you?

• John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES,

We can not trust them to bring you all the NEWS all the time , Even in the information the lawyers will over see what is brought in and chop it down to junk, The Big names that maybe be called is not there , So therefore the GUTS of the news and the facts or FINDINGS are removed, This allow all things to stay nice neat and clean all the way up to the AG PM COP . We can also thank Tony Best for his international blocking of the real NEWS.NATIONS PAPER IS SHE-T . CBC.BRASS RADIO, There is no question and answer period as in Press . They print what they are told to print to keep the nasty lies hidden for nasty people and crooks, THEY EVEN SHUT UP ROY MORRIS WITH COURT,
    WE STILL DONT KNOW WHY HE LET THEM LURE HIM FROM BARBADOS TODAY AND SET HIM UP TO FAIL.
    The BAR does the does the same for the Crooks ass Lawyers and never follow up to get the story out there, So that bad lawyers can be named and put of of business,
    SLAVERY NEVER SEEN SUCH IN BIM,
    We really dont think Bajan know what freedom is , Only by traveling to other countries they might get a taste and come back to fight the good fight,
    To many Crooks in BIM boths parties need to let the NEWS report and then they can know what needs to be fixed, This type of NEWS will send most to jail.

• @ Mr. Caswell Franklyn

It is not everyone who is like you and will adhere to a code of ethics irrespective of what it means to one’s personal well being (and sometimes that of one’s family)

That takes balls and character and the very nature of a newspaper, predicated on advertising dollars to keep it viable and of worth to shareholders works in opposition to these exigencies.

Couple that with the fact that many of their CEOs are avowed supporters of the Party in Power/Government and you have a construct where proper journalism, a commodity which to begin with we have a dearth of, goes out through the window when we speak of professional journalism.

Case in point.

The Wiretapping Affair which purported to have involved the former Commissioner of Police and the current Leader of the Opposition and soon to be Prime Minister of Barbados.

In the United States of America, Babylon the Great, “I can still smell the sulphur in this seat” any public official caught fcvking man woman or beast, wiretapping the offices of their political opponents, getting kickbacks from food stamps, paedophilia, in fact just the suspicion of the purported act is enough to get the newspapers and TV houses going.

The results if your are found guilty or not, mean that you will have to resign.

Not so in Barbados in fact what happens is that on this small island, the victimization begins and the local media, collectively and individually, and at the individual level, have decided it is not worth their pic.

Look how long I have been asking Vivianne Gittens at the Nation for a piece (of wuk, not the ruff type) at the Nation? Do you think that even if that was a serious query, and that I did have all of the journalistic traits, PUDRYR would be able to get a job there?

Could you ever get a job anywhere at any of these prostituted newshouses?

I seriously doubt it.

Self Preservation is what drives them aided and abetted by the glaring absence of real journalistic skills.

• HAMILTON A HILL

Whither the BAJ. For what does the acronym stand? In relation to what passes for journalism in Barbados it means nothing else but Blowhards And Jokers. The Leroy Parris CBC connection is nothing new for such has gone on for ever, and is as scandalous as the seemingly instant access COW has to the Starcom airwaves, or that of every government minister’s to CBC’s. Remember the Minister Lynch Starcom saga? When the decision was made to isolate Mr Loveridge at the behest of the minister, right there journalistic integrity was sacrificed on the altar of political interference. Then John Public is expected to accept as the gospel the stories that are produced from these bogus relationships. That’s why they hate the blogs. They claim not to read them, yet they know almost instantly what is written. LONG LIVE SOCIAL MEDIA.

• @ SheriVeronica

I have a matter to discuss with you as such relates to “Local Media” and your own Website.

“Balance”

It is noted that we all love our little Rock in the Atlantic, and we all have our “difficulties” with the system e.g. QEH, tiefing lawyers, doctors who operate on us and leave scalpels in our gut causing us to die from sepsis, ministers who get large kickbacks in foreign accounts BEFORE authorizing projects, blah ti blah, but investigate journalism should have some balance along the way.

It is impossible to post any counter for any article that you have “investigated” sorry “moderated” and permitted to be posted on your website.

Your site has gone to the opposite end of the Belle Curve as in Goebellian stying where you publish an article and no one can comment on that site.

Too Far East is West

• John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES,

pieceuhderockyeahright April 26, 2015 at 7:09 AM # @ anythere NEWS maybe some where soon with out any of the sell outs, The ate other that knows what you are saying and let the World see Barbados as North Korea ,CUBA or even Russia,

Next elections there will be a lot to write about , the out going government , MIA Will also be OUT once the lies she spew out is shown to the People,

• HAMILTON A HILL

When Caswell broke the story here on BU about COURTS and the VAT receipts owed to government, did not Wade Gibbons in a subsequent blog claimed to have written and submitted a story about that mess? He said that his report languished for quite sometime before it mysteriously vanished from the system. These are the bitches and sons of bitches that now try to intimidate and scare people away from social media.

• What about holding the media to basic standards of journalism in the same way we pledge to enforce code of dress etc?

• trust what media .. the media in barbados is solely responsible for the yardfowl politics in barbados,, the word trust does not come under the Media Caption in journalism. if there is one thing bajans would never have to fear is waking up one morning and find a media outlet that tells the truth cause the irony of it all is that bajans cant handle the truth the leading newspaper the nation a remake of the national enquirer generates a substantial sales which begs the question who are these people buying ….in order to get the truth one must demand the truth .

• John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

David April 26, 2015 at 7:46 AM #

What about holding the media to basic standards of journalism in the same way we pledge to enforce code of dress etc? @

jokes , the Ministers will be naked, Who Will hold them ? The media is an own arm of the parties,to slap the people around,

• Dee Ingrunt Word

Pieces, all well said that “the very nature of a newspaper, predicated on advertising dollars to keep it viable and of worth to shareholders works in opposition to these exigencies”.

Of course when those exigencies fit perfectly with the views of the advertisers then the worth to shareholders becomes even better. (Fox News)

The very nature of our media set-up would suggest though that Bajans should get all the news that’s fit to print and be impressed with ‘searches for truth and justice’ and other such because our main media is driving by opposing political forces.

Simply stated we can’t trust media anywhere. They all have agendas.

It is correct that big shot politicians and others in Babylon the Great will get skewered in the media for stuff as described but that is a result of the extensive array of media businesses there. So if one door closes another opens somewhere to do something. Not so ’bout here.

And even there in Babylon news does get suppress and discombobulate too. Media houses that avow accuracy and truth present stories that as compared to another media outlet makes it appear as very different stories.

So, Pieces the shareholders at Fox are very contented with how the news works for their bottom-line. If Fox was a Bajan media house no one would trust their backside either.

Remember too that the US public didn’t know that their wonderful President Kennedy was a serial womanizer.

So just as how things have changed there that all ah we can get all the coverage all the time, so too in BIM; just that here its the alternative media that gives us that news that our main media refrain from publicizing.

We all good. Continue to enjoy the Nation and Advocate and Bdos Today to help our bros and sisters enjoy employment, BUT continue too with a comprehensive search of all and any social media to get the real background.

But what I still waiting to hear though or David maybe you can point me to it: where is the real news about how the good Dr. was able to fill up his mother’s bank a/c with over $1 million dollars. Was that an insurance settlement, prize winnings, investment return or what?

The local media seems to have provided scant info but so too the alternative media. Or I just can’t find it.

Liked by 1 person

• and what about the peoples role in the media expectations,, the media gives the people what they want, after all it is the revenue that keeps the media viable, and if there is no customer to keep the wheel oiled sooner or later the wheel would drop off the wagon., there is also sufficient reason to believe that people interest is a big part in what the media delvers daily,
    Case and point on an average the articles on BU that would generate the most interest are political however the nugget for driving the interest would be salacious intercepted with lots of yardfowl comments,, question where is the truth, the truth being there is an agenda which drives people interest to these articles all wrapped up in sensationalism with very little to do with facts in the presentation.,. Sadly or Glady we like the news that way,//

• @ De Ingrunt Word

You is getting to be a good “agent provocateur” wid youself.

Imagine how you hinting bout illegal proceeds and lotto money de nex ting you going be talkiny bout is how a nex doctor get fire from the lotto when it did find out that dem was giving out de lotto ticket numbers to friends, jes after dem call dem out!!

Dat wa in de days aforetimes when de media house in question, (I cyan say it name fuh fear dat Lashes get me arrest under the Cvntputer Misuse Act) could not transmit real time.

Man dis internet ting real good doah, I jes hope dat I learn how to copy and paste tings better before dem develop de telepathy version and all you gots to do is to tink it and i appear pun you cuntputer!!

I hope dat de send button doan send immediately doah without 3 prompts cause I does be hitting it by accident heah pun dis newfangle IPAD

• Dee Ingrunt Word

Oh lawd, “Too Far East is West”.

Pieces, you mean like if you go right across the old USSR or the new Russia, all cross China and continue pass all the autocratic regimes that you actually back on the coast of Babylon.

You mean like if you condemn one set of processes and then adopt some processes yourself that does completely catspraddle and contravene people’s rights ‘worser’ than before that that real, real bad.

oh lawd, be careful yah. This is social media and bout here we back in the wild west days. Mek sure and leff home wid both your pistols fully loaded. Even at church!

• @Word

BU understands the Nation newspaper has the documentation concerning the 5 million in the mother’s account and have made a decision to suppress it.

• @ Word

You feel David Estwick would lend me one uh he ones, maybe even “THE GLOCK” after all de one dat he pull pun Smiley Teets Dale Marshall purported to be “lost”.

Yes man, I hear dat dat is de reason dat de case of the Gunslinger Bulldog ent get hear yet, “a loss of the substantive weapon dat de crime get commit wid” or someting to dat effect.

PS The Gunslinger is not to be confused with Timothy Slinger – one matter is about pelting gun jes outside a rumshop (the Parliament Buildings) and de udder matter is about tiefing rum while in a Rumshop.

I am made to unnerstan dat counsel in both matters is Owen Seethru who as you know is a man steeped in the intricacies of “Rumshopism”

• @Caswell

What is the latest with those millions owed to the VAT Office by Courts? What has Donville ‘the mouth’ Innis had to say about it?

• Dee Ingrunt Word

So David u can’t get the friend who tell u that to do a ting for you and leak the most pertinent pieces…oh good Lord, please do.

When tings blow up bout here I hope we ready.

Those pics from Nepal are rough. Real pain and suffering after the earth brought their lives to a sudden and complete halt.

Our only saving grace is that we know our earthquake coming so we ‘prepared’ (I think).

What is that little ditty getting used so much recently, ah yes: “when you see a turtle on a fencepost, you know it didn’t get there by itself’.

$5 mil, you say.

That turtle high up on that fencepost. Real high. And he couldn’t have driven the crane that lodged him there!

• @Word

There is a lot at stake with all sides having a vested interest. We were promised info on wiretapping when Anderson Bowen up and died.

Still pending.

• @Word

It is interesting you mention how media houses push different agendas. Recently we have been learning how high profile journalists/Anchors are massaging news to build personal appeal/reputations etc. The problem the citizenry has is the need to be continually vigilant on all fronts.

• Easy Squeeze (make no riot)

Can we trust Oppression?

• Alices in Wonderland.

• Caswell Franklyn

I am told that Courts had twenty-one days from the original assessment to appeal. They didn’t. That was more than ten years ago. My understanding is that they finally appealed but there is a matter of finding the file. Mind you, the appeal is out of time but when you have certain people in your back pocket anything is possible.

• Dee Ingrunt Word

Pregnant statement: “We were promised info on wiretapping when Anderson Bowen up and died. Still pending.”

David, sometimes I wonder if your cryptic little remarks are tips of a big piece of pure gold or if you are being overly facetious!

Anyhow, let me keep on wondering.

• But lets face it, unlike the British Broadcasting Corporation, our local media ,including the state owned CBC, depends on the advertising dollar to keep them running,and are all cautious about publishing certain things about individuals and some organisations, for fear of snapping off the hands which feed them.

• ac April 26, 2015 at 8:24 AM #

“Case and point on an average the articles on BU that would generate the most interest are political however the nugget for driving the interest would be salacious intercepted with lots of yardfowl comments,, question where is the truth, the truth being there is an agenda which drives people interest to these articles all wrapped up in sensationalism with very little to do with facts in the presentation….”

Wuh shiite, you are consistent in criticizing BU on a daily basis, while characterizing contributors, who within their right, are critical of the policies of this DLP administration, as BLP misfits or yard-fowls.

Yet you can’t keep off this blog and, more often than not, you are the one who brings a political spin on every article posted to BU for comment, by making each issue a BLP versus DLP “thing”.

Additionally, you are always advocating for TRUTH on BU. But I hope you are also giving similar advice to “Douglas” and the other DLP propagandists, when they posts a lotta political propaganda shiite on the DLP web-site, since all “these articles all wrapped up in sensationalism with very little to do with facts in the presentation….”

• pieceuhderockyeahright April 26, 2015 at 8:35 AM #

“PS The Gunslinger is not to be confused with Timothy Slinger – one matter is about pelting gun jes outside a rumshop (the Parliament Buildings) and de udder matter is about tiefing rum while in a Rumshop.
    I am made to unnerstan dat counsel in both matters is Owen Seethru who as you know is a man steeped in the intricacies of “Rumshopism”…”

Hahahahahaha…………. uh love it PUDRYR, ah love it… wuh loss.

Ya pelting some lashes jes like the calypso “L’il Boy” sang a few years ago. He say “politicians was pelting, policemans was pelting, soldiers was pelting, even my teacher did pelting”.

• Maybe the Nation is holding the $5M story until election time or it maybe planning to use it as a bargaining chip in a case where a photograph was published showing two school….. . What with todays disclosure by the CoP that he will be going after bloggers like he went after sports shooters, I’m playing it safe. By the way, how come gun licenses for sport shooting is now in question but you can get a hand gun for free at a funeral? Only in Barbados.

• Adrian Loveridge

does the list of unpaid Student Revolving Loan Fund contain the names of any seving politician’s children?

• millertheanunnaki

@FearPlay April 26, 2015 at 12:34 PM
    “What with todays disclosure by the CoP that he will be going after bloggers like he went after sports shooters, I’m playing it safe.”

Wishing you, fearless friend, a safe journey in blogger sphere.
    Can you imagine a law enforcement agency- financially sustained from hard working taxpayers’ contributions- has the gumption to declare war on the social media by threats of violating people’s Constitutional rights to free expression while at the same time allowing over 20,000 cars to be on the roads without road tax or basic third party insurance in a little 2×3 island?

Now which party is more of a threat to the society? The stupid motor mouths on social media with nothing to do with their time other than virally jerk off the liars and hypocrites pretending to be leaders in a false society called Bullybados; or the over 20,000 uninsured potential killers and those intent to permanently maim and disfigure to keep some innocent people on the breadline of pain and suffering for life?

Bushie has to be right. Just a nation of brass bowls with clowns holding the keys to positions of leadership and management.

• David,

Can you post the list of persons with unpaid Student Revolving Loan Fund bills?

• Will have to get a copy of the dead tree edition and respond later. It us clear from the recent utterence of Doville Inniss and now the COP this guys have something up their sleaves.

• Can’t trust either the BLP or DLP. Can’t trust media there either.

• The comish have cops monitoring social media but telling students to protect themselves with a neighborhood watch.

UNIVERSITY STUDENTS WHO LIVE in the Pleasant View, St Michael area are being urged to band together and form a student watch’ to protect themselves from acts of crime.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/66653/students-form-watch#sthash.1SvR25Hp.dpuf

• Oh my gosh, the inmates are in charge of the asylum. Students protect yourselves as best you can, me and my boys are on to something big – we are tracking down bloggers and sports shooters. Oh yes, we are also tracking those sea egg divers. Unlicensed firearms? That’s not a problem, they are about to “bury” themselves!!

• See a couple scans of the student revolving fund defaulters emailed to BU:

• Caswell Franklyn

Since the acting Commissioner of Police appears to be so diligent I would like to ask him a question based on a hypothetical situation.

Mr. Commissioner (acting) since you appear to be sincere about cleaning up crime in this country, what would you do if a person, who works at the Grantley Adams International Airport and who has access to the airside, is caught with illegal drugs, a gun and ammunition?

I only ask this hypothetical question just in case I ever come into possession of this type of information that I would know what to do. By the way, if this person’s aunt and uncle are big-ups in this country, do I need to bother reporting the matter. For now this is only a hypothetical since I have no knowledge of any such occurrence.

It is good to know that we are in the safe hands of the acting Commissioner and that we can be assured that he would treat us like family if we are ever caught posting offensive material.

• Adrian Loveridge April 26, 2015 at 3:53 PM #

does the list of unpaid Student Revolving Loan Fund contain the names of any serving politician’s children?
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Possibly their “outside children”,who may not bear their surname.

• good job David .i see a couple names dat use to live high off the fatted calf now still talking sh,it about govt owe them this and dat, well well well.

• @Caswell

Can you give us a hypothetical name to work with?

• @Miller etc.
    Now which party is more of a threat to the society? The stupid motor mouths on social media with nothing to do with their time other than virally jerk off the liars and hypocrites pretending to be leaders in a false society called Bullybados; or the over 20,000 uninsured potential killers and those intent to permanently maim and disfigure to keep some innocent people on the breadline of pain and suffering for life

Have you forgotten the adage “the pen is mightier than the sword”, the figurative pen of the bloggers is a threat to the powers that be thus the COP {Ag.) is the attack dog trying to silence those who are critical of his masters. Don’t think it will be any different if your leader in waiting (MAM) takes the helm, if that eventuality comes to fruition people like “David” will be at greater risk of being caught in the cross hairs of the RBPF and the might of DPP.

• @Adrian Loveridge April 26, 2015 at 3:53 PM “does the list of unpaid Student Revolving Loan Fund contain the names of any serving politician’s children?”

No but attorney at law Vonda Pile is there.

And attorney at law and former Ambassador to the United States Dr. Waldo Waldron Ramsey is there (wait!!!isn’t he about 80 years old). He of my [diplomatic] household consists of me, my wife, my children, and my [diplomatic] dog.

…but dog bite ya, Errol Barrow (yes Barrow who has been dead these 28 years past) had Waldo back here before you could say “Where’s Waldo”.

And a whole lotta, lotta people who live in the U.S. U.K. and Canada, including a few of my buddies who are [former] employees of the Ministry of Education, the self same institution which runs the Student Revolving Loan Fund.

Lordy, lordy, if the Ministry can’t collect from its own former employees I don’t see how they will manage to collect from other people.

• Sunshine Sunny Shine

The student revolving load scheme could not have done a better job than the publish the defaulters. The next step is to take action against them regardless of who they are and where they are. See what are the possibilities of getting these names on other international media houses, even if it will cost a pretty penny to do so. Can you imagine the amount of millions when multiplied by all those names that have default on payments.

• Sunshine Sunny Shine

As to this topic, traditional media houses are base on who is paying to pick their tunes. That means they can be bought to distort facts or publish with few details what is known to the public. They will never dig deep enough to reveal the hidden truths unless it it someone of a lesser status. The media in Barbados are a compromised lot hiding behind a face of professionalism and university qualification but denying the real purpose of journalism is all about. They are no better than deceit of politicians and the lies they tell to cover their tracks

• Well, local media is just an ‘institution’. An institution representative of a country. If one is not to trust this institution no other is worthy.

Separately, those media have always struggled to operate within a ‘fourth estate’ paradigm but we are deep into a ‘fifth estate’ structure. Some are even talking about a ‘sixth estate’.

If local media could not attained and never tried to attain information and other freedoms of a fourth estate paradigm, how, when, could a 5th estate structure be contemplated.

Media failures as a 4th estate could include the presence, on the law books, of the Public Order Act, the libel and slander laws, protections for certain professions, etc. These failures will ensure an anti-development, in terms of media and more.

These are the reasons government ministers and their lackeys, here on BU and elsewhere, could try to threaten people operating in a fifth estate paradigm solely based on fourth estate failures.

This should tell us how lost our ‘leaders’ are and have been. And we as a culture

• While the police is monitoring social media, they really need to pay attention to this information and take it seriously. These are real life crimes not just some silly little comments by people letting off steam by using colorful language.

Now that CGI/Peter Harris has been caught red-handed deceiving an injured claimant into being examined by a surgeon without the claimant’s knowledge; one is left to wonder exactly how many claimants have been victimized, left maimed, crippled or killed, could say nothing and had no recourse, because of the insurance scam that has managed to survive these many years, just so insurance companies can avoid paying compensation.

Consumer’s Guarantee….what a crock….Guaranteeing the Consumers get no money fits better.

Who gave the insurance companies the right to visit more injury, misery and suffering on the claimants. If you do not want to pay compensation, you should not be in the business of insurance, you are not a collections agency, collecting money only. Why lure gullible people into purchasing insurance with guarantee, then do everything within your power to avoid paying claims. That is false advertising and luring people in order to steal their money, just like CLICO and Leroy Parris, no difference.

Thanks to social media everyone now know the doctors/surgeons who have been taking bribes for years and the insurance companies who pay those bribes; along with the plaintiff’s attorneys who take bribes to sell out their clients to the defendant insurance companies.

Plaintiff’s attorneys who sell out their clients to CGI and other insurance companies should be permanently disbarred by Bar Association from practicing law for bribe taking. Claimants who recognize that the defendant insurance company is trying to injure them by secretly sending them to the wrong doctors/surgeons should let the judge know, if your attorney refuses to tell the Judge, he/she is taking bribes from the insurance company; tell the Judge yourself, and seek guidance from the police for when your case is finished.

Thoroughly investigate the insurance company and the doctor they are trying to have you examined by, he/she could be a surgeon the insurance company will not tell you, they will use deception.

Doctors/Surgeons who write bogus/false medical reports and lie to the injured claimants, the judges and the courts so they can be paid #35,000 and over in bribes by CGI/Peter Harris and other insurance companies; should be permanently de-registered from practicing medicine by BAMP, particularly the doctors/surgeons who are bribed and conspire with CGI and others to maim, cripple or kill claimants to silence them, this particular scum should be in prison for having claimants examined by and operated on by the wrong doctor/surgeon.

If the insurance companies are paying $35,000 and up to a specialist for one false medical report, exactly how much are they paying surgeons to maim, cripple or kill claimants in the name of greed…

Is it $75,000 to cripple and maim the claimant?

Is it $150,000 to take the claimant’s life?

Are the Plaintiff’s attorneys paid $50,000 – $100,000 to sell out their clients or does it depend on the severity of the claimants injuries and amount of loss of earnings to be paid out?

BAMP should know by now that just like it’s the Bar Association’s role to protect the public from their dirty, dishonest member lawyers; BAMP’s role is to protect the public from unethical , bribe-taking doctors/surgeons who are willing to harm, injure or kill already injured claimants for personal gain. And if they cannot protect the public they are just as useless and hopeless as the Bar Association.

If lawyers, doctors/surgeons believe that selling their souls for bribes from insurance companies is more important than their reputations and characters; I would advise their clients, patients and everyone else to stay well away from them. Let everyone including the authorities, see them on the internet and know their activities.

Where is FSC and Frank Alleyne in all of this, they are supposed to be regulating instead of only boasting about how wealthy and financially sound the insurance industry is; where is the due diligence in monitoring criminal activities by these CEOs; they are making a mockery of the justice system.

• How can you trust a media that is dictated to by the politicians of the BLP/DLP.

With the mentality of the leaders, example, now PM Fruendel Stuart wants to tell people what to say, he will soon by trying to dictate when you should say anything. Because he does not like the word yardfowl, does not mean people should stop using it at his pleasure.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/66699/pm-stop-yardfowl-talk

I suppose the appropriate words should be political pimps; it is certainly more appealing a description of the idiots who are gullible enough to follow politicians around like sheep and listen to all their lies and deceptions like it’s gospel.

The words political pimps have more pizzazz.

Everything done in Barbados by the taxpayer paid politicians of the DLP/BLP since 1967 was done at the expense of the taxpayers. When politicians are paid by the taxpayers they are a expected to do their jobs; it should be done without politicians acting like they took their own person money out of their pockets….there should be no political distinction between who did what, just reality that both DLP/BLP are paid to do a job.

• Stop worrying about this latest distraction by FUMBLE trying to tell folk not to use the words “yardfowls”.

Call them “yardfowls” and what ever you need to and get on with the job of telling the populace and the world about the foibles of feeble Fumble, the political incompetent imbecile.

• Well Well

Please post for us the names of these corrupt doctors and lawyers who are engaged in this scam.

Did your relative ever get his compensation?

• The common real Bajan Yardfowl, has reached a stage where it fends for itself and looks after its own needs,while continuing to protect its offspring . No longer has it got to wait on a handful of scratch grain or crumbs thrown at them to survive. They are also been credited for the decrease in the African snail population.
    So , yes the PM is right . Hand -to -mout , cap-in- hand , lickcrish political party supporters should not be associated with such an independent creature. Like the age old dilemma, of which came first, the chicken or the egg, these blind party political supporters came before the chicken, ………as Addled Eggs.

• GP GRAN PA YOU ARE ONE OF THE ORIGINAL YARDFOWLS AND OLD HARD BACK ONE TOO

• Yet more magniloquence from our beloved Primate-into-Parris.

• Sherlock Holmes..

THE NATION NEWSPAPER, OR TOILET PAPER…..imagine this wanted man hobbles into the offices of the nation news paper, on crutches, if you please,says he cannot understand why the police is looking for him, they know where he lives and he was at home all the time because he got injured playing football,and furthermore he was attending the hospital for treatment for the said injuries. Well if persons used to get those sort of injuries from playing football then people like messi would be in areal mess,any fool could have observed that those injuries were consistent with a burn out from a fall and a serious at that from a motor cycle, but the brilliant dear reporter decided that the so called non wanted man’s story would have sold some papers, especially since the police were already made to look like villains by the said paper, but guess what the said good boy footballer was later arrested and charged for (1) endangering life and safety,(2) aggravated burglary,(3)possession of an unlicensed firearm and probably the list went on and on,man this is good journalism,you agree.

• Sherlock Holmes.. April 27, 2015 at 9:04 PM
    …………………………………………………………………..
    I had my doubts about the story,especially after seeing the extent of the injury. Should those who brought the wanted man to the Nation, and the Nation newspaper itself , not charged for harbouring a fugitive.

• Sherlock Holmes..

AGREED buggy, agreed my dear fellow agreed.

• @WW – Re your post about insurance claims… would the recent acquisition of a medical facility by a general insurance company executive be part of a master plan to manipulate (too strong a word; maybe “manage” would be better) the medical aspect of accident victims, patient records, claim adjustment and Diagnostic records? Of course not. NOT!

I would suggest that accident victims avoid this facility like the plague if their insurance coverage is carried by “that insurance company”. Just saying’.

• Local authority has shown little or no interest in regulating the private health sector as far as maintaining health records is concerned. It is also an open secret the collusion between doctor and the legal departments of leading insurance companies in Barbados. If the CoP has time on his hands to investigate social media he needs to allocate some resources to this matter. God knows he has enough complaints about the matter on file.

• John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

David ,@ We have to see if this COP is any better than the last COP, Title dont make a man ,

• Its not really fair to pit on COP against the other. Both have had years of experience in the Force, and have been trained at one of the worlds premier police training colleges, alongside the best that we have in the Commonwealth. Who we should be looking at are the damn politicians,who lock off their hands.

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ David [BU]

“Cockroach nah ‘tend fowlcock party..”

The seminal issue is whether the current (or the former) CoP has any idea about the subject matter.

I give you an example about the impact of “contributory institutional illiteracy”

Just after 9/11. a House Senate Committee was investigating claims pertaining to the “Information Readiness” of institutions that were tasked with Homeland Security on US soil.

They came across a glaring example of Contributory Institutional Illiteracy in the form of a FBI chief who, being a Mormon (and moron), held the personal belief that Cvntputers were the tool of the devil” and had therefore taken a stance that his department “was not going to buy any tools of Lucifer”

Of course, being the US of A, he was fired but I just mentioned that to highlight an area of weakness of the RBPF.

It has been the experience of the ole man, and a few that I know that, when it comes to these fellows, while they would like you to believe that they are on top of things, as long as it is not a plastic bag and baygon over your head, since dem din get train in dat discipline, “it ent a crime” sort of thing

• ANO…I need a little more time before names are called, there is a matter still in progress that will ensure that one is not called without the others. For now I am just doing what all civic minded Bajans should be doing, but have not, for the last 20 years, that is why the criminals calling themselves politicians, lawyers, doctors and insurance executives have been allowed to run rampant and roughshod over Bajans.

When I do call names, and everyone on BU can tell you, am not shy, I want there to be a thorough investigation without the likes of Fruendel Stuart, et al talking about their esteemed friends and business partners in the world of insurance not being lepers.

Any relative of mine having to face the legal system in Barbados with the dirty lawyers, bribed doctors and viciously criminal insurance companies will get what is theirs, their money, or else the criminals will get the New York experience.

• FearPlay April 28, 2015 at 8:31 AM #
    @WW – Re your post about insurance claims… would the recent acquisition of a medical facility by a general insurance company executive be part of a master plan to manipulate (too strong a word; maybe “manage” would be better) the medical aspect of accident victims, patient records, claim adjustment and Diagnostic records? Of course not. NOT!

I would suggest that accident victims avoid this facility like the plague if their insurance coverage is carried by “that insurance company”. Just saying’.

Fearplay….medical facilities would be the word, Bayview Hospital, Sandycrest Medical, Warrens Clinic, Coverley Clinic…..all should be avoided if their is a claim in progress with CGI, but, they also engage private doctors and surgeons to fake medical reports, lie to the courts in an effort to destroy the case in question, last resort is paying surgeons to harm the claimant, if they can get away with it…….CGI and these facilities should be avoided at all cost…..claimants must investigate the doctors they are being sent to by insurance companies, so they do not end up dead or crippled….greed is greed, claims managers, executives, lawyers and doctors only care about how much money they make, don’t care at whose expense, as long as they can be seen driving beemers, ranger rovers and benz and making absolute asses of themselves.

• Well Well
    There is much merit in what you say.
    From the time I was a young doctor, I wrote brief notes that summarized the relevant findings from my history and examination.

When I started to write reports for persons with personal injuries I faced problems because my reports were deemed “too short” despite or because they contained relevant detail. Since I was a GP, I could not get much for such reports.

In contrast, I was shown long winded reports written by “specialists” which did not at all address the injuries of the patients at all. In fact these reports were lengthy treatises like those that medical students produce when they start to clerk patients—but yet they never spoke of the injuries received nor did they express a reasonable opinion on the patients condition. THERE WAS NO WAY THAT THESE REPORTS COULD ASSIST A PATIENT IN GETTING COMPENSATION.

Then the Insurance companies started harrassing doctors and bringing them before a medical illiterate called Carrington, who was supposed to be the Controller of Insurance.

• GP…..the insurance companies have refined that scam to an art, the bribe is huge, it’s big business with large amounts of cash passing hands between the insurance companies, lawyers, doctors…..unless you are tuned into that level of scam, it’s has become difficult to pick up the threads of what they are doing.

The only way to stop claimants from being victimized is to expose the whole thing and continue to expose it until something gives.

• GP said:

“Then the Insurance companies started harassing doctors and bringing them before a medical illiterate called Carrington, who was supposed to be the Controller of Insurance”.

At this point FSC and Frank Alleyne are suspect, it will only become even more apparent when I have the time to reveal what they should be doing as insurance regulators, but are not, to stop such criminal activities against claimants not to mention the disrespect shown to policyholders as well as to the claimants and the courts.

The Bar Association is also suspect as well as BAMP and they will all remain suspect unless something is done

• wELL WELL
    I IMAGINE THAT THINGS MUST HAVE GOT MUCH WORSE SINCE THE 90;S AS YOU ARE POINTING OUT

• Yes GP……things are at critical mass. It has gone on for too long and as you and I have learned through the years, the longest road has and end…….time longer than twine etc.

You will be surprised how that scam has become a many headed monster.

Not everyone is willing to become victimized and stay victimized.

• Smooth Chocolate

HAS ‘NAKED DEPARTURE’ BEEN TAKEN DOWN FROM FACEBOOK?

• Colonel Buggy

In the regional news section of today’s Barbados Nation, the supposedly flagship newspaper of Barbados, reference is made of the “Antigua and Barbados Government”.

• Georgie Porgie

never know Sir
    FUMBLE MIGHT BE PLANNING A MERGER

• Oh, c’mon GP! Fumble couldn’t plan a merger between two sno cone vendors!

• Georgie Porgie

LOL DONT WE ALL KNOW THAT LOL

• David
    Minister of Health the big voice brewer of sorts,speaking from his lofty perch in the poor rakey house of parliament(de local commons)told the nation today that the David Thompson Polyclinic is now set to be open in September.lol
    And Stuart saying to bajans have no fear we got evating under control.Just have faith and believe me when I tell you something.Don’t mind IMF,nor Moody’s nor BU!

• @Gabriel

Didn’t the prime minister thunder to Barbadians recently that the St.Johns Polyclinic will open in June 2015.

http://loopnewsbarbados.com/2015/03/20/pm-gives-assurance-on-st-john-polyclinic/

• Georgie Porgie

david

we all know, and you know too, that FUMBLE MUST NEVER BE TAKEN AT HIS WORD
    we all know, and you know too, that FUMBLE does not know what he is saying or what he is doing

FUMBLE IS A NEOPHYTE AND NOTABLE NOVICE AND NOT WIT

• @GP

We have to begin to hold Stuart and these politicians accountable.

• Hopefully prior to Republican status citizens would be afforded the opportunity to make meaningful input in respect of the new Constitution.

• Do they still teach Caribbean Geography in our schools?
    Recently I commented on a Nation newspaper report which made mention of “The Government of Antigua and Barbados.”
    In last Tuesdays Nation, in reporting a plane crash in St Vincent.

Small Plane Crashes
    KINGSTOWN- St Lucian police and rescue agencies were pressed into action following a plane crash around 2.30 pm yesterday in St Vincent.

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s