china_smogMinister of Finance Chris Sinckler advised Barbadians one of the reasons government introduced the controversial solid waste tax was to repay several millions owed to Sustainable Barbados Recycling Centre (SBRC). The man behind SBRC is Bizzy Williams recently confirmed on national radio government still owes about 30 million dollars. BU is forced to ask government how much revenue has the solid waste tax generated so far Minister?

At the mention of solid waste tax BU must  also ask the government what is the status of the Cahill Waste to Energy project. It is unbelievable our government has publicly voiced its commitment to a major project which will use ‘young’ technology and feel no pressure to satisfactorily apprise the citizenry of pertinent details about the project, for example, environmental impact assessment, the capacity of the country to sustain an adequate garbage supply and the list goes on.

The docility of Barbadians given the lack of outrage to government’s veil of secrecy and lack of transparency makes one question if we live in a democracy. In contrast we read about officials in a Southern Chinese town last week forced to cancelled plans to build an incinerator after mass protests.  Bear in mind China is a communist country where public protests are more often than not forcefully suppressed.

Here is a quote from the BBC report China incinerator plan cancelled after protests :

The BBC’s Martin Patience in Beijing says China’s middle class is increasingly aware of the huge environmental cost of breakneck development, and authorities are facing growing opposition when they propose to build industrial plants close to cities or towns. According to reports, Luoding officials had planned to build an incinerator that would burn 300 tonnes of rubbish a day in Langtang town, which comes under the city’s jurisdiction.

If Donville Inniss and cohorts can piously demand from the citizenry the need to observe a moral code that is respectful of fellow citizens, the citizenry can also demand from our politicians they tell the TRUTH. In fact the voice of the people who elected politicians to serve should have greater currency.

73 responses to “Solid Waste Tax Dumped in the Consolidated Fund”

1. Got the chance to see the Drainage Minister up close … At first I thought he was a mascot of some sort.. Ugh!

2. old onion bags Avatar

So wait Baffy…..wha you saying?….that D party got in bare boggley big head-ed Ugh-ly people? Man doan mekk muh laugh….so Fractured Ugh-ly too?

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags April 12, 2015 at 7:34 PM
    “… that D party got in bare boggley big head-ed Ugh-ly people? Man doan mekk muh laugh….so Fractured Ugh-ly too?”

So why do you think Fractured BLP keep mentioning what an outstanding presentation made by the Rt. Hon Fumble in Jamaica and now Panama?
    Don’t you think that the ugliest man in any room would stand out like a black fat cat in a white house being chased by a blind mouse with a broken leg called Fractured?

4. so sad to see that the blp foot soldiers have no issues…. that they have now resorted to calling the PM silly names,,so sad, uh think that with an election close by these idiot bees would have palatable issues other than the stupid ongoing distasteful and despicable and begrudging ugly remarks made towards the PM.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac April 12, 2015 at 8:49 PM
    “… uh think that with an election close by…”

For truth? Who told you that? Why have you let the blind black cat out of the ugly looking bag? You mean to say if the P M doesn’t get his promised David Thugsom Mausoleum erected and ready by June 30th then Queen Mara must abdicate forcing the promising man of a P M to call elections by September as in 1994 all over again?

What a man sows so shall he reap. Leprosy is a contagious curse. Keeping friends with a wicked leper must result in contamination of your own flesh and blood.
    If LIAT doesn’t cause the P M to crash certainly Le Roi de Paris will be his Waterloo.

6. miller i will report your findings to the PM. but my guess is that they would be punished with laughter and sent over to the Royal hive of the Queen BEE mia who for lack of issues would use them for rubbing shoulders,

7. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Caswell

You should really read the comments of Tea Bush. You certainly are not making any sense with the ones you are trying to convince me are you reasons for not wanting to lead this country because people need you to represent their unfairness at the level of the union. Are you able to effectively do a good job at that level. So far your advice to someone who is very close to me from the Ministry of Agriculture, after she presented a case for wrongful dismissal, no appointment after nearly or over 20 years in a position, was for her to get a good lawyer. THe last time I spoke to her, she said to me that you helped her very well when the other union was simply playing the ass. You see Caswell your help can only go that far and no further. You are not a lawyer so you can represent her thoroughly in the facts of her case. Imagine what you could do and change as the Prime Minister of Barbados

And please do not listen to that cunt AC. The jackass Prime Minister it,she, what ever the ass it is, loves so much has shown himself to be deceitful, dishonourable, immoral is shite, friends with a crook. He has also shown a propensity to want to jeopardize the lives of the poor in order to keep the rich going. If fancy words and making fabulous lation quotes is what is needed for a Prime Minister; is bad boy mouthings and establish business in pornography is all you need to be a minister, if when ever you speak you have to mix it with lies and manipulation is the criteria for a good finance minister, then Caswell you will not have a problem being an honest, hard working leader for your people who speak to them the truth and tell them why at this time we must do what we need to do together as a nation to fix our current mess. No one would fault you for being honest. The only people who will fault is the cunts who think thieving is as practical a business in government as lying is.

RUN FOR OFFICE CASWELL::::::RUN FOR OFFICE

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

SSS

I went to the lawyer with your friend and I set out the case for him. After listening to me, he agreed that your friend had a case. The matter came up for hearing last week but the judge did not turn up for whatever reason and it was adjourned.

I don’t have to do everything. When my efforts did not bear fruit, I passed the matter over to a lawyer. I did the same thing for the Education Officers who are suing the Government. I have my role and it is not that of a politician. I worked with politicians very closely for many years and if that thought me anything, it is to keep away from politicians. I can’t run a country by myself.

9. @ Caswell
    I have my role and it is not that of a politician.
    What damn role what??!!
    …so what do you think…? that Bushie likes this lotta whacking…?

When one is given a talent and a calling, one does what one is called to do…

Shiite man Caswell… Bushie would MUCH prefer spending his time helping Islandgal to explore her inner feelings and finding new ways to work with wood.. 🙂
    But SOMEBODY has to control the lotta shiite weeds bout the place….

Yours is an even bigger calling….and you have been PREPARED for the task….even through your previous exposures to the political prostitutes…
    Was Moses not RAISED and EDUCATED by the same damn Egyptians he later had to sort out…?

You are advised (again) to have a GOOD look at the story of Jonah and the city of Ninivah….. READ IT!!

10. But wait, Caswell short … and he ain’ got nah big lotta speaking voice … Ha ha .. He ain’ look like nah movie star … but then agen .. neither Owen ….

But he don’ chase after women and he don’ like rum … but Stuart neither …

I’m conflicted .. ha ha

11. Bushie:

What games are you playing. You know as well as I do that you need finances to FIGHT a political takeover. You also need PEOPLE who would Go WITH YOU through thick and thin. Take a lesson from the recent NUPW elections. The rumor that took traction was the rumor that Caswell will be back running the NUPW if Danny Gill won!!

Caswell is being painted by MANY in this country as an instrument of upheaval!! What will happen to Barbados, and it shall happen shortly, will be WHAT the populace WANTS. I totally agree with Caswell’s stance!!! In Barbados we have become ardent lovers and jealous lovers of MEDIOCRITY, tom foolery, toe facedness and any low deception that is the order of the day!!!

12. @ Lemuel
    Skippa….you better read bout Jonah too yuh…
    Bushie ain’t talking one shiite about no “political takeover”….it is about calling on a collection of brass bowl idiots to REPENT from the lotta wickedness, thievery, bribery and unrighteousness that have overtaken the damn place – resulting in the the kind of politics we now have.
    Bushie is NOT calling on Caswell to be no Barrow or Adams. He is being called to CLEAN UP the nasty shop and to encourage clean brooms to come in and sweep up the nasty place…

The fact that wunna keep talking shiite bout “needing money” just goes to show that the mentality of the non-leper crook is now endemic across the damn society.
    …shiite man Lemuel …mean you can’t see that this EXACTLY why David Thompson ended up selling his soul?…. to gain the position of PM so as to “help poor Bajans…”

Lotta shiite….

What money what???!!
    What we need is RIGHTEOUSNESS and JUSTICE…… You should know better man…
    🙂 leave the money angle to Baffy and Artax…

13. Well the Nationnews of April 13, 2015 could not ignore the heroic exploits of PM FREUNDEL. STUART in his galant defence of this region at the just concluded 7th Summit of the Americas.

Well done PM STUART……..onward to your Republic of Barbados.

14. @ Fractured BLP

You are SICK , GET HELP , before its too LATE ,

15. Piece….I don’t even know what to say, how will anyone in Barbados get arrested when all the corruption starts at the top…..

case in point..

https://sheriveronica.wordpress.com/2015/04/12/20000-00-injection-cure-all-who-can-afford-dr-george-h-drakes/

Drakes works for CGI/Peter Harris, of course he will try to discredit Dr. Harley Moseley who happens to be one of the best specialists on the island in his field..of course Harris/CGI has members of the DLP/BLP in his pockets why he is able to still run all types of scams in Barbados against the judiciary and injured Bajans in particular even though that slug former Chief Justice David Simmons no longer sits in the Supreme Courts. Of course Harris never stops bribing lawyers and doctors to disadvantage injured claimants.

All the hired cars from the Owen Arthur friend scam, heard the dude got bail, sits in Peter Harris’ backyard at his house inSeaview, St. James…did the police even investigate Harris, after all it was a hired car scam and his company insured all the hired cars.

Leslie Haynes QC is on CGI’s payroll, him and all the lawyers in his law firm…claimants should know not to carry their cases to this slug.

16. This government is doing the same thing the BLP did in their last term in office, totally ignore the voting pubic and operate like a dictatorship government. The question is “do we have a capable alternative government?

17. This party is the same one that pressured the then BLP government not to go the route of becoming a Republic when they were in office. I watch now with interest if the BLP party will now support this venture. Is it that after such a poor showing as P.M our now leader will want to go down in history was the one who upstaged Barrow by going one step higher. Mr P.M whether or not you succeed , you will never be in the same class as The Rt Hon E.W Barrow, not even the same school. Would this not need a constitutional change of a two third majority of ALL sitting M.P’s in the lower house?

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP April 13, 2015 at 10:18 AM
    “STUART in his galant defence of this region at the just concluded 7th Summit of the Americas.”

Well done my hero, Lord Fumble!

Let’s hope he- the big black nasal knight of vanity and of vacillating indecision- continues in this vain of immeasurably outstanding achievements.

But before he marches on to the battle of the republic and lays a monument in memory of the thousands who went to Panama to help build modern Barbados let us see him relocate LIAT.
    No LIAT in Bim, No Republic for Bim. Deal?

All along we were under the impression Barbados was developed from 1962 when so-called free secondary education became the mandate and mantra of the DLP propaganda machine.

So when are you going to erect monuments to the thousands who went to the UK, America and Canada and sent back (and still doing) hundreds of millions in foreign money keeping ostentatious-living Barbados afloat to keep up appearances.

What would Barbados do when that generation of adventurous Bajans leave the scene on the passing parade? Start the cycle over again to fill the forex gap? Would it be Cuba or Panama or even Belize this time?

You could as well forget about the UK. Enginstan does not welcome Windrush West Indian from the banana republics anymore.

19. Bushie:

It seems to me that you do not fully understand what is meant by the statement: Satan is Prince of this world. Only Christ and his coming Kingdom can do what you breathlessly require, not mortal man. This soup shall prevail until the time of the end when time shall run out for Man and his deeds of rebellion!!

20. @ Lemuel
    BUSHIE does not understand…??!!!!
    Ha Ha Ha ….. LOL …oh Shiite….
    Boss, that is the joke of the century so far….seriously!

Skippa, Satan was MADE prince of this world PRECISELY to create conditions where the (very rare and precious) gems of this world can get the OPPORTUNITY to demonstrate that they ARE indeed gems; that they have the patience to show love in the midst of hate; and for them to refine and HONE those special qualities such as love, selflessness, and RIGHTEOUSNESS (the drive to do that which is right).

You are right though that, for the VAST and overwhelming majority of ingrunt brass bowls in existence, “this soup shall prevail until the time of the end…”
    They are effectively…..dead.

….as a bushman said a long time ago, it may indeed be best to let those dead bury their dead…..

But for those few GEMS that stand out, …..shiite man….. the outcome will be glorious beyond your ability to comprehend….
    It will be WELL worth all the effort, sacrifice, pain, sorrow and wait…..

Bushie does not fully understand…???
    ha ha ha LOL
    muh belly…..
    Shirttt!!

21. Maybe the Minister of Trash and Garbage needs to tell us the status of the SSA’s fleet, which he was bragging about some weeks ago,as we are beginning to see a build up of garbage on the streets again. Last Saturday’s Sun highlighted a huge pile up of garbage in Gunsite Road ,Brittons Hill, a place which apparently , is infrequently serviced by the SSA.
    Remind me, who is the Member of Parliament for this area?

22. If what has been reported in the Front Page news story of today’s Daily Nation newspaper, Tuesday, April 14, 2015, that the CEO of Republic Bank in Barbados, Mr Ian De Souza, said that banks were awash with billions in cash, is true of what he actually said to the Nation news paper journalist – Ms Geralyn Edward – then it is clear that again Mr De Souza is totally ignorant about what he has said.

The fact of the matter is that banks are not awashed with billions of cash, when already the estimated amount of money in circulation in Barbados is just about BDS $ 1 billion.

A proper check with the data coming out of the Central Bank of Barbados, on such a subject as the money with the public – will show reference to that estimation itself.

So, what another reported foolish assertion by De Souza to add to his other reported sheepish one that the Barbados economy is showing signs of a turn around. Far from turning around the political economy and services industry sectors of Barbados are entering a deepening phase of political material depression.

As for his reported Keynesian approach to understanding why the Central Bank of Barbados has decided to relinquish control over the setting of the minimum rate on deposits and savings at money banks in this country (said new story in today’s Daily Nation newspaper) and to therefore allow the respective principals of these money banks to set them ( on their individual own or collectively) is for him to not understand the deeper depths to which the government and the core financial system are and have been the principal sectors plunging both the core financial system and the wider financial system in Barbados, as they both and many others within the core financial system compete for the use of money and credits among multifarious others competing for such.

23. The People’s Democratic Congress April 14, 2015 at 3:14 PM #

Looks like Leroy Parris got the drop on most of us Bajans, by depositing his $5Millions into the Central Banks. Wonder what rate of interest will he be paid.
    It pays to know someone on the inside if the government’s clockworks.