476 responses to “CLICO Final Forensic Report UNSEALED”

1. I wonder when last has the United States Embassy , laid on a drink up for the local elite, and especially those with loose mouths ,to bring itself up to date with the latest happenings in Barbados that the BU will never hear about.

2. MAN NO DAVID!! NO! NO! NO!…. don’t ban she…. uh beg yuh…

That is what AC wants….. she must just have read the story of the rabbit and the brier patch….
    That woman would give anything for an excuse to get way from Artaxerxes and AWTY….
    …you have ANY idea how shame she is right now….

LOL…this is suicide by getting banned…. she wanna be another BAFFY….

…let her stay here and suffer the death of 1000 posts …. LOL ha ha ha

AC, MOF…. what damn difference does it make?
    shiite man, even the real MOF fits the mold…….

BTW since Peter and Baffy team up he like he done wid we yuh….
    …the two o them like two peas in a pod now bozie….
    hmmmmm!!
    Baffy like he done wid the sheep and gone for goat yuh…. 🙂
    ha ha ha haaaaa
    muh belly!!!

3. The public waited with baited breathe for the report to be unsealed now having to find out that critical pieces of information was removed.meanwhile tge Bu gorsenic experts having retreated to some unknown hiding ground.

bush shite he who laugh first always get laughed at.

4. @David
    What prompted the bride to apply the test? She obviously should have known why wait

It was an arranged marriage and the bride and her family suspected that the groom’s family lied about his level of education.

BTW I had a good laugh about that yesterday with a chap from Bangladesh but he said it shouldn’t have been a problem as long as they can count money……. and isn’t that the truth.

5. Sometime ago I wrote the following on the return of Morris to the Nation
    This whole island is a deep morass of an incestuous pit where there are circles within circles and labyrinths within labyrinths where those who aren’t kissing butt are having their buts kissed now where was I….

I thought Gollop was affiliated with the BLP before he found a kindred soul in Stuart (not the DLP) or perhaps he is an astute businessman who follows the money. If only I had followed my teacher’s advice “Don’t marry for money but marry where the money is”.

Back to the first para, perhaps it’s time to import some of those fine jurist resident in other locales (wasn’t it just a few weeks ago that some were opining that the judges in Barbados are not up to par-see CCJ- who cannot be relied upon to dispense justice fairly and equitably?

During Jury selection the potential jurors are queried about their occupation, knowledge of the case, if any relatives or friends have been impacted by the events etc. The attorneys must be itching to ask the judge if he/she or family members were impacted by the events at CLICO

BTW Gibson was Thompson’s choice to be CJ, Stuart didn’t see any need to disagree…..

6. Ban AC! Ban AC! Ban AC! Ban AC forever! LOL

7. “BTW Gibson was Thompson’s choice to be CJ, Stuart didn’t see any need to disagree’

Was it not Mr Stuart who misadvised Mr Thompson that there was no impediment standing in the way of Mr Gibson’s appointment to the post of Chief justice?

8. David,

Don’t ban poster ‘ac’. It allows us the john public to see the shockingly crass mentality that supports the actions of the current administration.

9. @Bush Tea

When a person becomes ‘known’ on BU and have to depend on others in high places to have their bread buttered then we must give them the latitude to do so. Of course PW is not and admirer of BU and Baffy is a pal.

On 15 March 2015 at 00:32, Barbados Underground wrote:

10. “Ongoing controversial conflicting evedience”?????!!!…. What nonsense!!!!! The legion of demons are grabbing at straws to stay afloat with this issue.

Barbados Today producing a employment contract stating Parris was due gratuity that previously could not be found by the Oversight Committee, Judicial Managers and the auditors, HAS ABSOLUTELY NO RELEVANCE TO THE CIRCUMSTANCES SURROUNDING THE FRAUDULENT METHODS THAT WERE USED TO FACILITATE PAYMENT OF THE $3.33M.

If the contract could not be found, and one suddenly appears [and in the press] almost immediately after the sealed forensic report was unsealed, surely reeks of suspicion.

Similarly how a fictitious invoice was created to facilitate payment of $3.33M, a fictitious employment contract could also be produced.

11. December 04, 2010

UPSET AT THE WAY he was treated by Clico chairman Leroy Parris who told him he would be losing his 15 years of service with the insurance company, messenger/driver Michael Rudolph Cook took matters into his own hands. When he was given the company’s money to deposit to its bank account, neither he nor the money – just over $1.3 million in cash and cheques – ever made it there.

The cheques and deposit bags were burnt; cupboards were built in his house; accessories were put on his car and two women, one of whom he only knew by a nickname, got houses out of him. Cook, 50, of Midway Lane, The Pine, St Michael, yesterday confessed to 12 counts of theft of money and cheques from Clico International Life Insurance Company Ltd. and its sister company Colonial Life Insurance Company Trinidad Ltd., on different dates between February 8 and May 18, 2007. And now the offender, who had one prior brush with the law, is on remand at HMP Dodds awaiting sentencing and the preparation of a presentencing report.

He was in the No. 2 Supreme Court where Deputy Director of Public Prosecutions Donna Babb-Agard, QC, revealed that Cook was the one who was authorised to collect the money and cheques, income generated from policies, and from the accounts department and deposit them to the company’s bank account.

But after personnel from the bank queried the non-deposit of money and Clico chairman Parris called in police, investigators tracked down Cook who had signed for the deposit bags. He confessed and told them: “When I took out the money, I burn the bags and the cheques.

I was hurt when Mr Parris tell me that my years I got in at Clico don’t count and that I got to start over, so I just took the money.”

=======================================================

Michael Rudolph Cook stole over $1.3M from CLICO, was remanded awaiting sentencing. Parris is now trying to justify the $3.33M [and more], by fraudulent means.

12. @Balance
    Was it not Mr Stuart who misadvised Mr Thompson that there was no impediment standing in the way of Mr Gibson’s appointment to the post of Chief justice?

Don’t know who advised Thompson but didn’t Thompson wear silks too? He should have been aware of the pitfalls that he was likely to encounter.

BTW remember the CCJ thread? Maybe Thompson agreed with the majority here i.e. Bajan judges weren’t worth a bowl of warm spit that’s why he had to go overseas to find a CJ.

13. “But after personnel from the bank queried the non-deposit of money and Clico chairman Parris called in police, investigators tracked down Cook who had signed for the deposit bags. He confessed and told them: “When I took out the money, I burn the bags and the cheques.”

Leroy Parris called the police for Cook, when he was basically committing similar acts with fraudulent invoices, payments to related companies and parties, through his lawyer.

Just look at the similarities in this scenario. Parris told Cook there will be no money for him after giving 15 years service to CLICO, and he decided to steal money. Cook got locked to shiite up.

Parris claimed his employment contract contained information relative to him being paid a gratuity of $3.33M. When the collapse of CLICO was imminent, Parris [under similar circumstances as Cook], decided to create a fraudulent invoice [with the help of his lawyer and CLICO executive management] so he could get his $3.33M.

Now he has high fallooting lawyers fighting his case and jackasses called AC on Bu talking about “conflicting evidence”, because a missing contract conveniently appears.

Ok, the contract was “found”……….. but does this contract justifies or authorizes creating a fraudulent invoice to facilitate a payment of $3.33M?

14. @”But after personnel from the bank queried the non-deposit of money and Clico chairman Parris called in police [for] messenger/driver Michael Rudolph Cook”

So who is going to call the police for Leroy?

15. @ Simple Simon
    Bushie still waiting to find out why the damn Judicial Manager has not yet called the police…
    De JM like he is a JA yuh….

16. Bush Tea March 14, 2015 at 11:10 PM #

“De JM like he is a JA yuh….”

Bushie, the JM can’t be a JA….. you like you confusing him wid an AC.

17. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

@ Artaxerxes at 9:39 PM, you said: “Ok, the contract was “found”……….. but does this contract justifies or authorizes creating a fraudulent invoice to facilitate a payment of $3.33M?”.

And of course, it does NOT. As you suggested, this contract means diddly squat and in no way alters one iota the claim of fraud.

The fraud is not contingent on whether Parris was entitled to the money. The fraud is he used illegal means to get it.

I have not read the B’dos Today story but it would be a nonsense if the contract has been publicized to prove anything related to Parris’ claim.

Simple commonsense says that you can be charged for stealing your own money.

There is no difficulty here. AC is just being deliberately dense as usual.

If I am CEO of Forts Fund Management and my employment contract guarantees me $10M at year end. I work my butt off and meet my targets but no money is being paid because of a cash flow problem.

So I do a bobol and finagle the company lawyer to create a FAKE invoice to get MY money. Sounds like straight up fraud to me.

18. @Colonel Buggy March 14, 2015 at 5:37 PM “I wonder when last has the United States Embassy , laid on a drink up for the local elite, and especially those with loose mouths.”

Never ever, ever get drunk at a diplomatic party, ‘beausen diplomatic parties are NEVER parties. They are ALWAYS work.

19. Not surprising that a blunder of this magnitude in respect to signatures by JM in the now touted report would be dismissed by a wave of the hand by the blp misfits. such a blunder under judicial prudence and fairness would bring the report itself into question for impartiality in content and be deemed characteristically tainted and flawed with providing such evedience to deliver a guilty outcome.
    the report now hinges on questions that any fair minded person would asked, firstly it has given wrong information,on one account. which then begs the question how many more errors unknown to the public or answers that might be embellished or put in a context to sway or has been misinterpreted by the JM
    under international law this report would not see the light of day under judicial process as it shows a blatant bias to misinformed or coverup evedience that would be of merit to delivered fair justice,

20. @ AC
    in short…
    Wunna shame as shiite….

..It must be MURDER to have to stand in front of a group and give a speech nuh….
    ..Fully aware that everyone there KNOWS that you are a liar and a thief
    ..that NOTHING you say can be trusted…

Shiite man!!! no wonder that Froon only talks to tourists….

21. Information to misled or misinform especially when said information would be used in the court of law as providing critical evedience or to be pertinent to be being a representative or a guide toi that which is right to due process but proceeds to overlook with callous or mistakenly entertaining wrongdoing irrespective that the information can rendered harm to an individual is as dangerous as a man shooting off a firearm in a crowded theater ,,
    This report with out any doubt falls into such a category .especially when accepted in the public domain as pertinent and legally binding and without blemish irrespective of the fact of the many mistakes now under legal scrutiny and which yet has to be given full exposure

22. Ignorance definitely knows no bounds.

“ac February 10, 2015 at 7:11 AM # : Question WHERE WERE THE JM MANAGERS BETWEEN THE YEARS OF 2004 AND 2007 when Clico was failing to live up to their statutory arrangements , It is truly amazing how the JM seem to exempt self from their role of negligence in the Clico collapse but have used the Houdini method in pursuit of justice….”

The above statement is proof enough that those DLP missfits going under the name AC, don’t know a shiite ‘bout nothing and thing they contribute about this issue should be dismissed as nonsense.

The method of trying to taint the forensic report as being “biased” or it was prepared specifically to implicate Thompson and Parris, will be method employed by the DLP in an effort to question the integrity of the auditors, as well as their attempt at damage control after Parris’s and Thompson’s integrities have already took a “beating”.

I agree that the “the report now hinges on questions that any fair minded person would ask, firstly, CLICO’s management provided wrong [or withheld] information, on one account” and a fake invoice was found on another.

Why management withhold information from the auditors, and a few days after the report was made available for public perusal, correspondence that previously could not be found, has now conveniently been made available to the public?

There is also a situation where evidence suggests a fraudulent invoice was used to facilitate a pay to Parris. “Which then begs the question how many more (fraudulent information), unknown to the public or answers that might be embellished or put in a context to sway or has been” falsified by Parris, Thornhill, et al, in an effort to prove their innocence?

23. Terence Thornhill admited in the report to the auditors from Deloitte, independent auditors, the invoice is a fake. We need to broaden the discussion to discuss discounts given to family and friends of Parris, the issue Rayside wife raised in Barbados Today about land owned by Rayside ending up being owned by Parris, the repayment of loans in Duprey’s name etc.

On Sunday, 15 March 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

24. forensic evedience is critical in the way it is gathered and handle ,in the report it is now absolutely clear that the gathering of information by the JM was not taken with a sufficiently sterile procedure that would clarify but seemed to half relied on falsified documentation susceptible to show inherent biases enough to duplicate and compound with differing levels of contamination.
    To say garbage “in” would be a true indicator of putting garbage “out”

25. what is there to discuss about david thompson estate in any case most would be speculative and laden with political diarrhea irrespective that the man is not able to defend himself and whatever has been said would be for the sole purpose of scoring political potshots , steupse

however what is at stake is the future of a democratic judicial system which if anyone pays close attention reeks of an under belly and flow of traffic on social media to influence a predictable out come and which is worrisome and should be expose and not left to be driven by instruments of political power barreling downward like a freight train out of control

26. Surely hignorance plummets to a bottomless pit?

27. @ Artaxerxes
    Good … you are back.
    You took a brief break and as expected, ignorance had no bounds. One suspects that shame will again prevail and they will shut their ass now that you are back….

On another note…
    Can you PLEASE explain to Bushie how it does not become the duty and responsibility of a court-appointed JM to report immediately to the police any instance of fraud, criminal behavior or other illegal activities once he takes control of a company.

It CANNOT be the case that, having been appointed to manage an entity, a JM has no responsibility to DEAL with such infringements of the law…or can it?

In which case, what would have been the response of the police?
    what progress would have been made to date?

If ordinary citizens are expected to report criminality to the police authorities, then how on earth can a court-appointed official not be required to do so…?

Once that fraudulent invoice had been uncovered that matter surely MUST have been reported to the police…..

The problem that we have is not that government is incompetent and corrupt, …because that would only be possible if permitted by equally incompetent and corrupt citizens.

28. @Bushie

The questions we have to ask is why one of the original JMs jumped ship and what is the relationship of the other JM to related parties – in the interest of transparency.

29. Fractured BLP March 13, 2015 at 5:41 PM #

“A sneek preview of the results of the Cadres Poll to be published in this weekend Sunday Sun shows:
    If General Elections were to be called now –The DEMs will win 21 seats….. Freundel Stuart will remain PM
    Barbadians are wary of Mottley’s……Wicker – ism. There you have it……..Dems NOW…Dems……AGAIN.”

===============================================================

“THERE HAS BEEN a dramatic downturn in the favourability of the ruling Democratic Labour Party (DLP) among Barbadians since the last election, two years and a month ago.
    As a result, voters have given it a failing grade and Prime Minister Freundel Stuart has cascaded downhill as an approved leader, yielding to Opposition Leader Mia Mottley, who is now ahead of him by more than three to.”

Fractured BLP, it seems as though you got your information from Maureen Holder, John Lovell, AC or the Advocate.

30. Bushie

Yuh gine kill poor AC. Have mercy nuh!

The Generals don’t talk too much to the neophytes, if at all!

31. LOL @ David
    the problem with you is that you have too much information…. 🙂

Bushie wants to start at the bottom and work his way up – while keeping his tail clean and covered…. The bushman is a whacker-user, not a grave-digger….

Step 1 – What is the JM expected to do as administrator of the company?
    Step 2 – What is his responsibility once criminality is uncovered?
    step 3 – If said criminality was NOT reported to the police, then why not…?
    if reported, then what happened (or did NOT happen) and by whom?

After we get some facts then we can look at the WHYs and wherefores….

32. the fact is that the JM job was to provide information now on the eleventh hour the information is being masked and shown up as meaningful in the pretense that some suspecting parties would have used methods to steal , unfortunately the glaring problems arises when evedience presented shows differently as in the recent revelation of the signatures, how does an untrained legal mind supposed to differentiate truth from falsehood without given both sides of a story ,what so far the story in itself has been given a salacious meandering set of information heralded with speculation and thrown into the public domain as factual on social media

33. @ Pacha
    H’ignorance cannot be killed….it is condemned to be with us until the end…
    …and bushie was talking to Artax – not AC….

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea March 15, 2015 at 7:54 AM
    “If ordinary citizens are expected to report criminality to the police authorities, then how on earth can a court-appointed official not be required to do so…?”

Excellent observation, Bushie!
    It boggles my mind too how come Parris has not yet been arrested by the police and questioned based on the unsealed forensic report.
    But we all know why Parris continues to be treated like a real leper too contaminated to be put under interrogation out of sheer fear of what Greenverbs would reveal like his long-lost contract of his employment. Nothing to do with the authority of the JM to deal with such matters like the reporting of known criminal acts, right Artaxerxes

We shall see if the Opposition buries its head in the sand and allow this blatant case of gross dereliction of duty by the country’s law enforcement agencies to go unnoticed and unreported to international regulatory agencies.

35. @ David
    We need to broaden the discussion to discuss discounts given to family and friends of Parris,
    Before you get there though, should we not widen the discussion to look at why BOARD MEMBERS failed to address and abort these schemes in the first place?
    Shiite man….. these are people who allowed their good names to be used to fool the public that CLICO was in good hands.

“Put your life savings here man…. look who is on the Board”

Those BOARD MEMBERS had a fiduciary DUTY to policy holders to arrest the shiite at an EARLY stage….. but instead, they sat around looking for ‘deals’ and perks…..

Perhaps there are some who tried to address the slide….?

Why are we not asking them some SERIOUS questions?

Wait …. who is Adrian St. Claire Harcourt Lorde in Appendix 3?

36. Dee Ingrunt Word Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Word

@ ac March at 7:52 AM: ” to influence a predictable out come and which is worrisome and should be expose and not left to be driven by instruments of political power barreling downward like a freight train out of control”====

AC we are in concert. I join you in your remarks above.

“to influence a predictable out come”: As attorney of CLICO during several years in early to mid 2000’s Mr. D.Thompson did not instruct his clients of the laws and rules being breached with the non fling of their audited financial statements and also not fulfilling their statutory requirements as an insurance provider. He influenced a clear and predicable outcome.

“left to be driven by instruments of political power “: Mr. D. Thompson became PM in Jan 2008 after that period as legal adviser for CLICO and despite clear and unequivocal knowledge of the state of affairs and legal breaches of the CLICO company he proceeded to use Government finances that entangled the Gov’t and people of Barbados to the fortunes of this company. A clear and direct political act by him.

“barreling downward like a freight train out of control”: In Dec of 2008 as PM of Barbados, Mr. Thompson’s personal email was used to direct a private legal matter associated with the law firm that bore his name. Checks were issued based on that direction and monies deposited into a/cs under the control of Mr. Thompson and people associated with him. A clear act of barreling out of control – moral. legal and ethical.

So we agree completely. Often I accuse you of being deliberately dense but I must warmly applaud you on this occasion for your absolute wise analysis.

We all look forward to such continued clarity. I am confident that Artax and others would accept this enlightened clarity of thought.

37. Gita Sikal the crook from CLICO Trinidad also own land at Crystal Heights http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/GITA_WANTS__49m_MORE-134189028.html

38. @Bush Tea

Not so fast!

The Forensic Report and other information confirmed many decisions taken by Parris, Thornhill et al did not reach the Board. On the other hand Sir Frank Alleyne vacated his position on the Board because he was not satisfied with what he saw and heard. We need to explain the gap.

39. CLICO was one big Ponzi Scam pertuated by Duprey using Leroy and willing conspirators using lawyers and politicians.

40. The local connection and association with senior executives of CL Financial uncovers what local authorities – BIPA included – appear not able to prove.

41. there are many gaps that need to be filled( in) before forming conclusion to accused or scape goat,, as far as new information suggest the fees were owed to by lp as an agreement between him and Clico. However what is being presented in the social media by way of mudslinging and innuendo is that no such agreement exist and LP and his lawyer made an invoice to collect illegitimate fees which in part was a significant cause for the company belly up which is an untruth and leaves a scathing stench as proof on which the policyholders depend on for govt to reimburse their money and that is wrong,

42. To repeat for the 100th time, the audit revealed that Parris and Thompson conspired to create a fake invoice to weasel 3.33 million dollars out of Clico policyholders monies.

43. this site has been the worst offender by not giving both sides of a story, Using braking methods to circumvent and imply, Detours as a way to get around, and running stop signs as if it did not matter who was coming from the other side like being on a joy ride
    this site has allowed itself to be steeped in a highly charged political song and a dance as it tried to tiptoe around relevance oblivious of reasonable clarity,
    a road so dangerously used by rag tag reporters that sooner or later give way to losing their own credibility,

hav a nice day,

44. AC is Adrian Clark a former work colleague

45. Bush Tea March 15, 2015 at 7:54 AM #

“Can you PLEASE explain to Bushie how it does not become the duty and responsibility of a court-appointed JM to report immediately to the police any instance of fraud, criminal behavior or other illegal activities once he takes control of a company.”

Companies are placed under judicial management for the purpose of allowing business operations to continue, to achieve the objectives of:

1) Rehabilitation of the company (rehabilitative proceedings) to facilitate the company remaining in operation so as to be restored to profitability and in a bid to avert liquidation or winding-up of the company.

2) Liquidation proceedings:
    a. Procuring a more advantageous realization or distribution of the company’s assets amongst its creditors
    b. Identifying the circumstances surrounding the failure of the company and hold those individuals responsible for the failure, due to mismanagement or misconduct, accountable for their actions.

Bushie, based on the above, you have a valid concern, and with all the evidence revealed by the 2 forensic audit reports, I’m amazed the JM, so far, has only sought to file a civil suit against Thompson’s estate and Parris.

Unless this is the first step in the legal process, or they are awaiting permission from the court to conduct further investigations.

46. how does one conspired to a debt that is owed to them?

47. What is BIPA waiting for? @Ac,you were always ignorant and self serving

48. Here is what the Forensic Report undertaken by the Forensic & Dispute Services team of Deloitte LLP in Canada reported Thornhill as saying:-

He believed that the creation, approval and submission for payment of a false invoice to facilitate a significant payment from CIL to Mr. Parris’ benefit (via PFS) and to conceal its true nature was an acceptable transaction.

If the invoice was false how was it acceptable?