Vigilantes Caucasian Style

Submitted by Anthony Davis

As discussion continues about the massive search for missing woman Karen Harris last weekend, a watchman at Buttals Plantation in St. George is reporting he was harassed by three members of the search partyBarbados Today

This case is unprecedented in the annals of search and rescue in Barbados!

It is obvious that in such a case one will find the George Zimmermans who think that Blacks are there for a blood sport where they have the dogs and, like during Dr. Martin Luther King Jr’s campaigns, they could loose them at people whenever they want. If my memory serves me correctly, we are in the twenty-first Century – and not the seventeenth, eighteenth or nineteenth. Yet we have three Caucasian males treating Mr. Sam as if we were still in one of the latter three, and he was a runaway slave whose Human Rights they could contravene with impunity.

It does not fall under their purview to interrogate anyone in this country. They were part of one of the biggest manhunts in Barbadian history which was searching for a missing Caucasian female. Perhaps the three really thought that they were part of a massa day hunt when they found Mr. Sam, a watchman, carrying out his nightly duties at Buttals Plantation, and wanted to take him back to the one he had run away from.

This smacks of racism, and must be vehemently rejected.

This episode will put Barbados and its population in the limelight for all of the wrong reasons, and this Government – and especially the Minister of Tourism, Richard Sealy, should start doing some damage control by denouncing what went on at Buttals in the strongest terms if not Barbados will find itself on the list of countries which condone Human Rights violations, and as fast as tourism has picked up, it will plummet.

I would like to hear ASP Welch’s views on this manhunt by those three vigilantes who violated Mr. Sam’s rights as laid down in the Constitution of Barbados which give those who reside here – or even visit us – the right to go about their business without let or hindrance – unless they are known to the police. Does anyone know what the consequences of this unprovoked and dastardly attack on this man who was only carrying out his duties – alone – at that plantation will be?

What nightmares could he have?

He says that he will continue working there, but who knows what will happen with him later on.

Who will pay the doctors if he has to go for therapy?

Most importantly though is: Will these three slave hunters be brought to justice?

Mr. Sam’s Human Rights were violated in several ways:

1. He was hunted down with a vehicle
  2. He was interrogated by the three Caucasians
  3. He was coerced into giving up his boss’ phone number
  4. There was mental abuse also.

I am of the opinion that if Mr. Sam had not stopped running they would have run him over, and the RBPF would have another case on its hands. I hope that the search for them will be just as elaborate and extensive, and they will be soon found!

354 comments

• @Carib

Yes research purpose indeed, why not start with researching why in the USA according to the FBI stats, that you provided, there were 2412 Black on Black Murders compared to 2614 White on White Murders while we know that there are at least 3.5Times more Whites in the USA. Why are Black people killing Black people at 3.5 times + higher rate?

Seems to me that this is a very serious problem that requires attention.

Do you see the point here now?

NB I am not saying to ignore problem policing in black communities or anything else just trying to diagnose whether you can be straightforward or not.

• COMMENTING ON THINGS ABOUT WHICH YOU OBVIOUSLY KNOW NOTHING IS ALSO unnecessary and annoying.

TRYING TO SHOW THAT YOU CAN CONTRADICT SOMEONE WHO OBVIOUSLY KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TAKING ABOUT IS ALSO unnecessary and annoying. ah lie?

• GP

You trying to render this blog useless or wha? lol

• MoneyBrain March 7, 2015 at 4:28 PM #

@Carib

Yes research purpose indeed, why not start with researching why in the USA according to the FBI stats, that you provided, there were 2412 Black on Black Murders compared to 2614 White on White Murders while we know that there are at least 3.5Times more Whites in the USA. Why are Black people killing Black people at 3.5 times + higher rate?

Seems to me that this is a very serious problem that requires attention.

Do you see the point here now?

NB I am not saying to ignore problem policing in black communities or anything else just trying to diagnose whether you can be straightforward or not.

++++

MoneyBrain….for he last time

I……..do…not…..agree……with….your…interpretation….of….said….data.

Let it go.

I am never going to agree with you. Why, you ask? Because I think your interpretation is wrong. I am okay with that.

• Simple Simon March 6, 2015 at 12:01 AM #

So what did workers do? Without work and without land they watched as about 20% their children starved to death. Nothing to celebrate there.

Total utter rubbish.

On a par with Professor Sir Hilary Beckles Phd …blah blah blah!!

Dr. Sir Morris Byer, a former Chief Medical Officer of health at the time was of the opinion that access to potable water addressed infant mortality.

Tullstrom’s work c. 1963 was seminal.

In fact, the Zoning we use up to today to address bacterial contamination was developed in that period.

One of the water sources up to 1917 was the said very well the hiking group to which I referred went to find.

It was no longer used after 1917 because it was found to be a source of Typhoid fever, in fact, it also contributed to the 1907 typhoid outbreak in the North of the island.

People died, especially infants, because of unsanitary water …… true of all colours, common to all Bajans.

I have access to the burial records for Westbury Cemetery from its inception in 1878 right thru to 2008 and can confirm that infant mortality was extremely high … but ….. I suspect if I do the stats that I will find that the 20% may have been plucked out of the air.

It may even be higher.

Of course, I am sure SS can quote his/her sources of the 20%.

It sure would save a lot of work if I decide to check it against reality!!

• @Carib

Let it go.

I am never going to agree with you. Why, you ask? Because I think your interpretation is wrong. I am okay with that. END

Carib, it is not a matter of my interpretation it is a matter of fact. The critical question is why, and how to solve the evident problem. How can any problem in race relations or anything else ever be solved if you cant see a major obvious problem right up in your face. Sad really.

• Interesting article about data collection of incidents involving police shootings.

http://gawker.com/what-ive-learned-from-two-years-collecting-data-on-poli-1625472836

• MoneyBrain March 7, 2015 at 4:51 PM #

@Carib

Let it go.

I am never going to agree with you. Why, you ask? Because I think your interpretation is wrong. I am okay with that. END

Carib, it is not a matter of my interpretation it is a matter of fact. The critical question is why, and how to solve the evident problem. How can any problem in race relations or anything else ever be solved if you cant see a major obvious problem right up in your face. Sad really.

++++++

You are hilarious………….Keep it up.

• MoneyBrain March 7, 2015 at 4:51 PM #

@Carib

Let it go.

+++++

MoneyBrain read the article below from Washington Post. I am interested in your thoughts on the article.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/fact-checker/wp/2014/11/25/giulianis-claim-that-93-percent-of-blacks-are-killed-by-other-blacks/

• From the Washington Post article, the following is stated:

“The 2013 FBI Uniform Crime Report, a compilation of annual crime statistics, also shows similar data: 83 percent of white victims were killed by white offenders; 90 percent of black victims were killed by black offenders; 14 percent of white victims were killed by black offenders; and 7.6 percent of black victims were killed by white offenders.”

• I have been to Barbados on numerous occasions over the past 15 years and feel you guys are lost. The idea that Bajan’s do not embrace peri/menopausal white women is a fallacy. I own apartments in Barbados for holiday makers and as a Black woman I am disheartened by the regularity of white women who pick up black bajan men, for sex. These white women (mostly not attractive) boast of their ability to get sex on the strength of a $10 phone card. Accra beach and Sunday at Crystal Waters are testimony of this preditory behaviour – that is not to mention the number of white men who use young Bajan boys for sex (the latter does not happen on my property, I hasten to add). when I raise objections with the few Bajans that will engage with me, as I am Black of British descent, I am told ‘its economic’. Well no actually, it’s ‘child abuse!’ The problem with Bajans is you believe your own hype. You do not have one of the highest literacy levels in the world – look at the comments in the Bds on line newspapers; a couple of weeks ago, a UK newspaper said Barbados were among the healthiest eaters – so why two months previously were Bajan women allocated the second fattest in the world? A few weeks ago some body said Barbados was among the one of least corrupt Nations (for real)!!! Look at the posts on this blog, the Nation and Barbados today, support you guys to internalise the racism, the Guyanese, Jamaican, Trinidadians and more recently Nigerians are perceived as the pits of the earth.I read these comments and see a mostly unenlightened, brainwashed and ignorant people. However, you have had enough years to do for yourselves – the reason white people treat you like idiots is because you allow them to. As for your big bellied, black, political elite -hold them to account – you pay their salaries – as I see it, right about now Barbados is a little better off than Greece and that’s only because they have mastered the art of smoke and mirrors.
    The fragile Barbados economy is in no state to peg itself to the US dollar, your few exports are uncompetitive along with your tourism offer – unless of course you have millions of BDS dollars in an off shore account that you want to remain competitive on global markets – nuff said!

Liked by 2 people

• @Carib
    you quoted from Washington Post

“14 percent of white victims were killed by black offenders; and 7.6 percent of black victims were killed by white offenders.”

Thanks for proving my point that Blacks kill Whites in the USA at statistically significant Higher Rate 14 divided by 7.6 is 1.84 Times.

• Simple Simon March 6, 2015 at 12:01 AM #

So what did workers do? Without work and without land they watched as about 20% their children starved to death. Nothing to celebrate there.

I was thinking a lot about this comment and here is a thought.

It is far more likely for a Bajan to starve today than it was for any of our ancestors who lived in the slavery or post slavery era, hard time or not.

Bajans today believe food is made in a supermarket … Bajans of yesterday got off their behinds and went and provided for themselves what was necessary.

• Wait ….Adrian is not the only british carpet bagger ha. what say you loveridge haters here is another person making the Barbados male even feel less of himself and a woman to boot. Its bad enough already that you have that I will never amount to anything because of slavery monkey on your back, but you are being accused of chubby chasing, and greekfesting as well. So now you know looking down your nose at people is just a brit thing. As a Canadian I will consider it my duty to send you as many fat chicks as possible to help turn the economy around.

• @John

The Pols were misleading the populace into believing that Agriculture was connected to slavery and therefore bad. My own brother was in middle management and then and executive in Bridgetown and had cows, hundreds of laying hens and several lime trees. I was brought up growing pumpkins, peanuts, had a sheep, pigeons etc.

The Govt continues to make serious mistakes where Agriculture is concerned the Ag Policy requires much thought and action.

The ability of Bajans to feed Bajans should be a top priority.

• MoneyBrain March 7, 2015 at 6:50 PM #

@Carib
    you quoted from Washington Post

“14 percent of white victims were killed by black offenders; and 7.6 percent of black victims were killed by white offenders.”

Thanks for proving my point that Blacks kill Whites in the USA at statistically significant Higher Rate 14 divided by 7.6 is 1.84 Times.
    ++++++

The argument was that black people kill more white people than white people kill white people. Get it straight MoneyBrain. You are so underhanded. Your underhandedness is proving that your kind cannot be trusted.

• @Carib

I thought you were done with this but you then brought more info to bury yourself. wuhlos!

• @ caribcanadian at 7:16 PM…Brain March 7, 2015 at 6:50:@Carib
    you quoted from Washington Post…“14 percent of white victims were killed by black offenders; and 7.6 percent of black victims were killed by white offenders.”… my point that Blacks kill Whites in the USA at statistically significant Higher Rate 14 divided by 7.6 is 1.84 Times.++++++ The argument was that black people kill more white people than white people kill white people. “================================

CaribCan I followed your discussion with MB and was hoping one of Artax or Walter with the numerical gravitas would put a point on the chatter.

As a non-expert the data to me clearly supports MB’s assertion re the fact that the incidence in the black community trends much higher than the white.

Of course, your point that there is a pronounced incidence of white murders in the white community is also correct.

But neither of you are backing down. LOL.

Look you guys are about – I don’t know – is it a two hour train ride apart. Get together for a drink and see if you can resolve this eye to eye. MB says he is a big guy so ideally you are not 5’1” and can actually match him eye to eye. As that seems to be the only way you guys will see this on the same level- LOL!

Carib, the data is clear though. And the article says that: “The black victimization rate (27.8 per 100,000) was six times higher than the white victimization rate (4.5 per 100,000). Black offending rate (34.4 per 100,000) was almost eight times higher than whites (4.5 per 100,000), according to the report.”

Stats can be used to show many sides of the same picture and skillful analysts can use the same data to make different cases.

To reiterate: The CIA World factBook states re US pop.: white 79.96%, black 12.85%, Asian 4.43%. That’s 6 times white to black.

In your quote there are 2412 Black on Black Murders compared to 2614 White on White Murders. You parse the stats to make your point that whites do more killings than Blacks. Correct.

But a proper analysis should recognize the context of the stats and the absolute pop size difference.

So MB argues the obvious extrapolation: if the black pop was flipped with the white pop and all other things remained the same then total B-on-B Murders would be more in range of 2412 X 6 and W-on-W murders would be 2614/6.

You say no. That it does not make sense.

For me it makes very troubling sense. We must be focused on what those numbers mean on the ground and what we have to do to improve that trend. Of course, at the same time we must also be focused on police use of deadly force in the black community and police departments perpetuating KKK type hate to citizens they are supposed to serve and protect.

But first we have to at least agree what the stats say.

Have that train trip!

• Whether Black people kill more white people in America, etc, etc is irrelevant to this discussion. We are talking about Barbados. America has its own history and nuances, which although important are not relevant to the current experience of black people in Barbados or the Caribbean as a whole. America is a majority white country so whites inevitably hold the balance of power. The same is true in Canada, the UK, Australia and Europe. In Barbados and the rest of the Caribbean, whites are a minority though for all intents and purposes continue to hold the balance of power (albeit covertly) and with that 90% plus of the wealth – This as I see it is the problem. The fact is Black people are being jailed for stealing toiletries in a country that is a playground for the rich and famous whilst the rich, blacks or whites get away with murder if they have money? Black men are resorting to in effect whoring themselves for small amounts of forex; the majority of blacks spend so much time cussing other blacks without acknowledging or dealing with the racism in their midst – who owns the Nation by the way and thus has the power to whip you guys up in a frenzy in light of their selective reporting? Facts: Black Bajans have internalised racism to the extent where they have been conditioned to believe they are better than blacks from other islands (so need to give thanks – purportedly); sex tourism is rife, particularly among black men with older white women and young boy with older white men (in England we would call them peodophiles); You all can go to church and lament as much as you like but what are you doing about it? the majority of your land is owned by white non-domiciled people – who sold them the land? Your Black politicians are getting fatter by the day but can’t pay people their NIS money; can’t pay Barrack; experience downgrading by downgrading by Moody’s et al and tell you all its ‘crap’ and you soak this retoric up like a sponge. Unfortunately, like many other back nations, Barbadians of black descent are not demonstrating their ability to govern. This situation is not unique to Barbados but is realised across the globe. Is this because blacks are inferior – I would suggest not. Is this because some blacks allow themselves to be pulled like a puppet on a string – hell yes! We allow ourselves to be easily diverted – a post about the unprecedented response by the Barbados authorities to searching for a white woman, has merit but gets diverted into whether black or white kill the most white people in America – within this context – who cares, how did we get there, are you guys living in America? My reality is blacks in Barbados are still being treated and allowing themselves to be treated as second class citizens in a country where they hold the majority.There are very few blacks that have the resources to import guns, cocaine, etc in your country – these are means of control. The demise of the American indians was due to them being given blankets (aid) that were harbouring communicable diseases – get real people – as a black woman living in England I experience more black on black racism in Barbados than in the UK and, if my sons ever had the audacity to bring home some ‘ol white woman who looks older than me – I’d fling a bowl of water over the two of them. Whilst on the latter subject, why do you middle age white women really think / believe a 20 plus year old Bajan man would find you attractive? In my view this about your own, internalised racism but its painful to witness.

Liked by 2 people

• Love it ….I am giving up coronation st….I thought they could cram everything into one episode but you beat them hands down, I am not about beating my children for their choice in women, or criticizing white non domiciled owners if you are a black one. but other than that I can agree on everything you said 9 out of 10 times plus or minus 3% depending on the amount of vodkas consumed.

• @ Josh,

I read your post with some interest. As a black Londoner of Barbadian heritage I can identify with you. You have made some strong hard hitting points.

You mentioned black-on-black racism. The level of service that I have received from my fellow blacks as a tourist could best be described as discrimination of the highest order especially when compared to the level of service that a white/or other tourist may receive. Your average Barbadian mind has been conditioned for well over 400 years. How does one undo such a mind-set?

Sadly, there were other areas of your discourse which I found troubling. You stated that Barbadian blacks believe that they are better than blacks from other islands – this is nonsense. Strangely enough I have always taken the view that it is Jamaicans who believe that they are superior to other blacks in the Caribbean.

With regards to sex tourism and black men pimping themselves out to white women – I noticed you forgot to mention black women who pimp themselves out to white men – you will find that this is the reality of the tourist industry throughout the Caribbean. Why single out Barbados? The whole of the Caribbean has lost its way.

One thing is clear you appear to be making a lucrative amount of money from your properties in Barbados so there does appear to be a silver lining. I would dearly hope that those guests who are paying you rent on those properties are not sex tourists.

• This is the type of crap you guys need to stop if you want to engender a sense of pride as a black race. http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/03/07/glorious-day-at-the-races/ How many of you black bajans viewed this article and felt a sense of shame? Very few I suspect as this behaviour has become normalised in your country as you have internalised the racism you experience daily. But you come on this forum cussing about racism. In the UK, white people who make monkey chants at black people are deemed as racist; when white people make monkey chants at football matches FIFA and the FA hold them to account for racism and fine the clubs. Until you guys see that you are perpetuating the myth that blacks are akin to monkeys by dressing up as one and prancing around for the amusement of white people, then your call to be treated as equal will not be realised. Similarly when black Bajan men stop belittling themselves by sleeping with white woman that are old enough to be their grannies for forex or a life in the West you cannot moan about being treated like second class citizens when you choose to act like one. I accept that having travelled the latter situation permeates most of the Caribbean and African but this monkey carry on does not. As for those who thought it an accolade to have their children dressed as monkeys prancing about like idiots for the amusement of white people – shame on you. There are real monkeys in Barbados, bring some of them to these gatherings as props. White people from the UK and beyond watch your antics in horror – we black people in the UK in particular have spent years fighting for equality – you guys and your schizophrenic relationship with race and pride hold us all back ’bout you want reparations and equal treatment’- there are very few majority black countries in the world that would find dressing up as monkeys to amuse white people acceptable. You can’t have it both ways – white people run one of unna down like latter day slaves and there is an outcry of racism by the black community – the following weekend black people dress up like monkeys and prance around like idiots at the gold cup horse racing event – not a word.

Liked by 2 people

• @ Anthony. I don’t make a lucrative amount from my properties by the way, they tick over. Nothwithstanding, racism is real and alive in Barbados and attempt to detract from the original posit of this post are not conducive to acquiring a better shared understanding of the situation.

I can’t comment on the sexual behaviour of black women in Barbados, I’m not saying this doesn’t happen but I’ve owned my properties since 2006 and have never witnessed a white man / men using it for sex tourism with black bajan women. That’s not to say it doesn’t happen, but it is not my experience.

Unfortunately, it is my view that many western white women use the Caribbean and Africa as sex tourism destinations – the extent to which black men of these host countries facilitate this behaviour is however what should be of concern.

I do believe Bajan blacks, in general, believe they are better than others. The comments directed to the Nigerian students on various blogs are a case in point. If the students were from Canada, the UK or the USA the discourse would have been different in my view.

This I believe is because Bajans have been drip fed a mantra that they are some how superior as a means of control. If you are going to tell me that black Bajans, in general don’t have a problem with people from Guyana, Trinidad and Jamaica then wow. That is not to say Jamaicans or any other Caribbean countries don’t have their prejudices but Jamaica and the wider Caribbean is not the subject of this post.

In any event, my firm believe is we cannot have a sensible discussion about racism without examining how we as a Caribbean people sometimes exacerbate negative stereotypes.

I too have experienced extreme levels of racism in Barbados, as a black person, with the exception of the Dominican Republic, probably the worst I have experienced in a majority black country.

We can continue to detract from the original intentions of this post or really attempt to arrive at the crux of what is occurring in Barbados today.

Liked by 2 people

• Every year we have the teddy bear picnic at home where people dress up as bears and entertain the kids. In Calavares county they dress up as frogs for the races, on monkey day on dec14 people the world over act like monkeys and fool around bringing attention to animal rights, evolution, and medical research. Its troubling that a non domiciled owner in peeps clothing finds it distasteful that locals were entertaining in green monkey suits instead of flying fish suits and maybe make a few bucks and to be fair the show was on land. That attitude can get you barred from the Edinburgh fringe festival lol
    Now a friend of mine’s wife loves to go around and say things like my house, my tenants, my apts but if it wasn’t for her husband she wouldn’t even have my shoes.So lets cut to the chase here what color is your husband is that why you avoided talking about white men and black women
    Have you ever had sex monkey style ? Kind of like doggie style but is usually done to the beat of …..this thing cant be over
    lastly please be careful…we wouldn’t want you falling off that high horse.

• So sad that you have allowed the discussion to degenerate. For your information in Europe white racists depict black people as monkeys to denigrade them. They throw bananas on the pitch at black football players and make monkey noises at them. We don’t celebrate monkey day here in the UK thank goodness as it is likely to cause offence – a bit like you actually – I find your comments unnecessarily offensive to me as a black woman but who am I to have an opinion or a voice that attempts to address the issues being discussed. I should just shut up and be counted. The question is does racism exist in Barbados for my part, yes it does along with sexism – your blog being a case in point. Please don’t trouble me again as my response is likely to cause you unnecessary harm and distress.

Liked by 2 people

• Excellent points Josh

As a Barbadian living abroad I too shake my head and wonder how on earth we can talk about being down trodden in our own country when we continue choosing to do things to do not uplift us as a people like prancing around dressed in monkey suits when that is the exact reference made by some racists whites. Are we dumb to this symbolism? How do we reconcile that with our kids?

We also turnout in droves to watch others race cars and rally, while we simply stand on the sidelines and cheer as if we are participating as well. Pure spectators. I would never forget when one of those rally car drivers imported 2 cars with parts for the single purpose of rallying yet his black employees were paid poorly and had not received any raise or bonus in years. And to top it off, 2 of the spectators at the rally events were his very own employees. Man if that ain’t pitiful I don’t know what is

And yet we being oppressed

• DeeWord March 8, 2015 at 1:48 AM #

@ caribcanadian at 7:16 PM…Brain March 7, 2015 at 6:50:@Carib
    you quoted from Washington Post…“14 percent of white victims were killed by black offenders; and 7.6 percent of black victims were killed by white offenders.”… my point that Blacks kill Whites in the USA at statistically significant Higher Rate 14 divided by 7.6 is 1.84 Times.++++++ The argument was that black people kill more white people than white people kill white people. “================================

CaribCan I followed your discussion with MB and was hoping one of Artax or Walter with the numerical gravitas would put a point on the chatter.

As a non-expert the data to me clearly supports MB’s assertion re the fact that the incidence in the black community trends much higher than the white.

Of course, your point that there is a pronounced incidence of white murders in the white community is also correct.

But neither of you are backing down. LOL.

++++

The argument, and I went back to check it out, was about black killing white in greater numbers than white killing white. The data supports that.

He’s saying that black kills white in greater numbers than whites kill black. The data supports that.

I am not wasting time with people whose only desire is to confuse the issue.

He showed his dishonesty in other instances in the discussion and did not have the balls to own it. As someone said on here…you can’t negotiate with these types.

What many have said of white Bajans, he proved true. It was good to see the written, public, exchange unfold.

• Josh, like Lawson and Exclaimer I read your post with some interest. I too came away with a ‘huh’!

You certainly have captured quite a lot in one rant as was suggested but with some apparent confusion of thought.

Most simply where I see that confusion is decrying the shift to US race issues.

All these various blog post go off on tangents and this particular shift was certainly an interesting back drop to the race issue in Barbados. Issues of race allover provides excellent context to issues of race anywhere.

Barbados is not the only country where black men sell their services. That was a strange indictment as an example of Barbados’ head in sand view of race.

And by your own admission black-on-black racism in the tourist market in DR is as bad as in Barbados. Sadly, it happens all over. Unless you are perceived as a member of the ‘jet set’ a black person is given less than wonderful acclaim in countries where a large swath of the pop is black. The reasons are many. Suffice to say it happens all over.

I can agree with you that we have many issues here and that the country is deeply troubled.

I disagree with you on what you see as some of the fundamental reasons for that.

A pagent of dancers and actors representing the green monkey – an animal that is a key part of our animal kingdom – leads to your critique that we are basically acting the stupid simians to the white community. And selling ourselves into the racists chants that blacks are akin to apes.

That is truly astounding analysis.

I suspect I can make a similar astounding analysis to suggest that the pervasive nature of scantily clad cheer dancers at professional sports is wonderfully symptomatic that white and black women are selling themselves as cheap sex objects and pros.

• josh March 8, 2015 at 6:43 AM #

Unfortunately, it is my view that many western white women use the Caribbean and Africa as sex tourism destinations – the extent to which black men of these host countries facilitate this behaviour is however what should be of concern.

++++

By no means am I this practive but it happens in Asia as well. It’s really an economic thing. Sex tourism. And it’s not just a single man or woman thing. Couples too. And you are right, it is not taken seriously. And some of it is pedophilia which is very disconcerting.

The divisiveness, in terms of nationality, is long overdue to be smashed to smithereens. Unfortunately, it is so very entrenched.

• correction…

by no means I am defending this…..

• @DeeWord

Thanks for the professional analysis.

I believe Carib is clever enough to want to play with this as she would like to just emphasise other major problems like the very troubling Police data showing bad behaviour. If I were her I would have admitted the stark and troubling facts but stated my belief as to why it is so and what must be conducted to solve it. No doubt bad policing in certain areas is part of the problem. Terrible education, poorly organised family life etc are contributory factors.

Your approach and questions are far more productive in gaining key info.

Carib was very frustrating but that is ok, we can still interact.

• @Josh

Excellent!

I say that even though Carib and I were side tracked by the info she brought to the table.

Bajans have always been convinced that they are better, probably because Barbados had an excellent education system from early on, the English only control and the arrogance inherited from the English over the last nearly 400 yrs.

However, “leadership” is very poor now and Corruption is rife. This was not the Bajan historically.

• Perhaps the confusion is my attempt to demonstrate that racism is multi-faceted and in some respects we do not help ourselves as a people. My reality is I have spent a number of years working in race relations in the UK. The FA and FIFA fine a lot of football clubs for making monkey chants and throwing bananas at black football players – for good reason – it is seen as racist symbolism and most people in Europe see and acknowledge this. Last year when I had a stint working outside of London, I was looking in a shop window and had to endure a car pull up aside me with a load of white people doing monkey behaviour and chanting monkey noises. Then, football ban after football ban, outcries from the non white European population, we rock up to Barbados and what does one witness, black people prancing around dressed up as monkeys! The fact that Bajans don’t acknowledge this symbolism and believe it’s OK to entertain white people in this manner is the problem. How do you explain to a white child in the UK that it’s not OK to call their fellow black students a monkey because that’s what they saw in Barbados! And yes, lots of people sell themselves as cheap sex objects but not as cheap sex. I accept that this is not a problem that is isolated to Barbados but for black people, one that extends across the Caribbean and Africa. This blog is about racism, of course racism does not lend itself to Barbados only but this is a Barbados blog. I think if we’re going to have a conducive discussion it needs to extend beyond the narrow confines of how white people treat us to how we treat each other and our own sense of self-respect. Blacks in Barbados are a significant 90% majority the fact that they are treated as second class citizens in their own country and own, purportedly, less than 10% of wealth is something that needs to be explored including our own sense of worth. Yes white Bajans play a part in ‘keeping the black man down’ but we are our worst enemies for failing to see or reach beyond what we perceive is in our immediate grasp. The US stats are interesting but not a reflection of Barbados plus a purposeful deflection in my view.

Liked by 1 person

• There is no way that black peeps own just 10% of all the wealth in Bim that is utter nonsense. Where is the evidence to support that? I believe it is one more way to sensationalise inter racial conditions in Bim, used primarily by Politicians that want to receive votes.

Undoubtedly Whites own a very disproportionate share but 90%?

Whether whites want to keep Blacks down or not, the fact is that Successful black people dont wait around for whites grant them success. All successful people usually have strong objectives, work cleverly and hard to achieve.

I went to school with gents that came from very poor families and they sometimes were hungry. These same gents today are MDs of Companies that were considered Whites only 40 yrs ago some are top Lawyers worth $MNs, are contractors making big $$$ etc.

It is downright dangerous to suggest that black people cant succeed in Bim, it is Psychologically counter productive. Youth must believe they can succeed and giving this hopeless nonsense wont help them.

I have seen Black customers discriminated against by black servers/ business owners.

• I agree with you. I don’t know the percentage but I don’t think, by observation if you discount the Trinidadians, I’m that far off. Aspiration and hard work is the key to success but my own experience suggests this is easier for me as a black woman in the UK than in Bim, for a number of reasons but operating in Bim is hurdle after hurdle and I do believe my encounters with black government officials would be different if I were white.

• millertheanunnaki

@ MoneyBrain March 8, 2015 at 11:22 AM
    “I went to school with gents that came from very poor families and they sometimes were hungry. These same gents today are MDs of Companies that were considered Whites only 40 yrs ago some are top Lawyers worth $MNs, are contractors making big $$$ etc.”

Thanks, MB, for confirming that you and your ‘successful’ school mates worship one and only one god called “Money”.

So all this shite about Christianity and about helping others and giving away your world of material possessions in order to inherit a place in your god’s kingdom and continues to be pushed down the throats of once enslaved blacks is just a bunch of ‘crap’ peddled by your “white” ancestors to make more money and keep blacks in their subservient places.
    You agree Money B?

• josh March 8, 2015 at 6:00 AM #

This is the type of crap you guys need to stop if you want to engender a sense of pride as a black race. http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/03/07/glorious-day-at-the-races/
    …………………………………………………………………………………………..
    And to top it all, not surprisingly In today’s Sunday Sun we see the boss monkey presenting the cup to the winning horse owner.

• Miller:

You mek me shame doh. It took you so long to see the “right” side of Money Brain. Where he stands on his “money” Olympus and show “us” with the scraps of knowledge his “own” can not or would not use!! I truly believe he has a “good” heart, but it is well placed in the wrong section of his anatomy!!

• Bajeabroad March 8, 2015 at 9:37 AM #

…………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    You must realize that we have not moved very far from under the evergreen tree at the Plantation Yard. As portrayed in the classic movie Roots, the planter class used us for entertainment,and to this day , that “Fiddler” mentality is still engrained in our minds. We must make sport for those who look down on us. And its not only at the bottom. Take our Prime Minister for example, he keeps as far from the masses of this country as possible,and on those few occasions when he has to speak, he is forever putting his people down. But he is certainly a horse of a different colour, within, when he is associating with the planter class, all smiles and happiness when presenting the Gold Cup to the winning horse owner, or putting on an elaborate reception at his official residence for frequent visitors.

• @Miller

Reasonable attempt to corrupt my point but really sadly lacking. The money in MB refers to my knowledge of the subject and not the absolute accumulation that you would like to get away with characterising the word as.

Having established that, it is tough to pass the cashier at the retail store with a PhD and no Cash $$$, or by saying,”I volunteer for—-“.

Society in Bim and elsewhere find it easier to score $$$ and much tougher to rate Altruism. I was not instrumental in developing these views or attitudes. FYI, I dont believe money is everything it just beats whatever is in second place. lol
    Actually, I do believe in volunteering and just finished my duties for Heart and Stroke, do believe in advising youth, do believe in treating people fairly, tolerating annoying people like Carib, lol.

• Miller wrote

So all this shite about Christianity and about helping others and giving away your world of material possessions in order to inherit a place in your god’s kingdom and continues to be pushed down the throats of once enslaved blacks is just a bunch of ‘crap’ peddled by your “white” ancestors to make more money and keep blacks in their subservient places.END

Miller are you saying that black Bajans in 2015 can not figure out this and arrive at an intelligent solution? Are you casting doubt on also those black “Pastors” in the Cbean and elsewhere that make a very good living keeping their own peeps poor and in line.

• @Josh

In some cases being white is worse, there are those that want to discriminate against white people. For example my nephew, a student studying at Uni in Canada lost his Bdian Passport. The Passport people told him tough luck it would take a long time to get a new one. His father called an old school chum (not white) and it was fixed in 24 hrs.

There are numerous examples of Police etc discriminating against Whites in today’s Bim as presumably payback for history. eg my brother is driving along and a fella rides his bicycle out of a gap into his car, the Police respond and demand that he give money to the poor fella—-they troubled him for years because he refused to pay. Same thing happened to my cousin whose car was hit by a bicycle coming out of a gap at speed on a wet road, the car had damage to the fender and the windscreen was broken, over a $1500 in damage. Luckily the bicyclist had jumped off the back just before impact and was unhurt, so my cousin bit the bullet on all costs and did not bother calling the Police.

• @Col B

I appreciate your point but there are loads of Black horse owners and at least one who was the VP of the Turf Club. Black gents love the horses too.

• @Lemmy

My brain is securely placed in the correct part of my anatomy.

• @Col B

People of any race or group have a tendency to try to kick the ladder down or associate with certain types of people perceived as better, when they “arrive at or near the top.”

All the talk about racism but does anyone here seriously believe that any fella from the village can go up to a successful black man and ask for his daughter’s hand in marriage and stand a high probability of a yes? That scenario wont work in most cases regardless of race. Humans are complex creatures.

• Yeah, I know what you mean. Someone reversed their truck into my car last week and drove off – the biggest case of discrimination I’ve experienced in my life time (lol!)

• Did the Police come and tell you to pay the offender and make your life hell for sometime after? lol

• Nah, some arse kept bothering me online chatting foolishness

• Put down the phone in his ear. lol

• For real. Go walk the bear or something.

• I am a Bajan i walk the Rum not bear.

No need for you to be like a bear with a sore head.

• Easy squeeze (make no riot)

Black problems / issues are not a disease,
    they are symptoms

• Meanwhile it appears that the Barbados Government /Immigration Department is powerless over the deportation of the 11 Nigerians who were recalled by their own government,and whose Visas have probably expired, and are now asking for due process, and threatening to take the Government of Barbados to court. Something they would dare not have tried with the T&T Government who, ensured that they were out of T&T on the day their visas expired.
    Every bloody soul waltz into Barbados ,and begin to call the shots!
    Who is in charge of this pedaling shop anyway?

• Pingback: Caribbean Film to Make Atlanta Debut, May Change Views on Race Relations | Red Carpet Shelley - Caribbean Entertainment News

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s