Submitted by Anthony Davis
Jeff Broomes, Principal of Parkinson School

Teachers at Parkinson Memorial Secondary are expected to go on the picket line tomorrow morning to protest principal Jeff Broomes’ failure to take disciplinary action against students who took knives and other weapons to school.” โ€“ Barbados Today 9 Feb 2015. It is incomprehensible to me why the teachers unions are always ready to strike. Is it because about twelve weeks’ vacation – plus about an additional three days as “Teachers’ days” – are not enough?

I don’t see any other profession getting extra days every three months, so why should teachers? The most of the tax payers who pay them, and whose scions they are supposed to teach, do not even get a quarter of the time off for vacation. They seem to have utter contempt for the parents/guardians of their charges, and by extension the students. They already have their education – paid for by the said people whose children they seem bent on depriving of theirs.

Mr. Broomes is concerned that the action may “leave too many children unsupervised”, but they are not the least bit concerned. Barbados must top the list for teacher strikes in the Caribbean – if not worldwide. This situation comes again during the time when students are preparing for exams. Will the BUT and its cohorts be able to alleviate the additional stress being placed on the tax payers who pay them, and on their scions/wards? Will the BUT help pay for the extra lessons for which the parents/guardians will have to pay? I doubt it.

What is the other reason for the strike?

Is that just a red herring for the strike?

I don’t know why so many things in this country are being done covertly!

On the other hand, weapons of any kind do not belong on a school compound, and those who are found with them should be punished. However, it is no excuse for striking if the students were not punished because there are so many things that go unpunished in this country, and no one goes on strike because people are not punished for them. Last year the BSTU and its members played the grand old duke of York and his men, so it seems to be your turn this year. It seems to be nothing but callousness on the part of the teachers and their unions!

For me our children are of paramount importance as they are the most vulnerable in our society, and I have very little sympathy for anyone who wants to deprive them of their education – no matter for what reason. They are an integral part of our society, and some of them are deviant like some adults, so that is no reason to put all of them in the same basket and put stumbling blocks in their way. They are already being deprived of tertiary education by this “people-centred” Government, and now you want to deprive them of their secondary one.

You must remember that you should not put stumbling blocks in children’s way!

I think that teachers should take more responsibility for those whom they are supposed to inculcate with what is set out in the curriculum. Why are you always attacking Mr. Broomes? He seems to be running his school with a tight rein, because before he was appointed principal of the Parkinson Memorial School one used to see many Parkinson students lingering in the Fairchild St. Bus Terminal, at bus stops, and elsewhere. Nowadays that is in the past, so he must be doing something right – perhaps more than some of you who keep haranguing him.

Do good, reap good; do evil, reap evil.” Chinese Proverb

180 responses to “The Jeff Broomes Affair, Again–What About the Children?”

1. BU’s investigation suggest Jeff should not be blamed entirely for the problem. Some teachers do not want to change.

2. when one cast the eyes over at alexander the school where jeff broomes was removed because of a distress environment and look at its present working environment of tranquility there is sufficient reason to belive that broomes was conducive and played a descending role in its environment.
    now cast the eyes at the Parkinson with jeff broomes as head and the similarities to alexander when broomes was head are just about the same , the reasonableness and rationality of asking why is of great concern

3. another question..why should the teachers have to change, and should change not be accompanied with a level of movement an preparedness where by all parties involved can assimilate with ease,

4. All schools Broomes has led there is one indicator his detractors cannot explain, there is improved results. The parents love him so too the teachers. Broomes should be allowed to retire and let us try again but even to retire appears to be a fight. In the meantime the children – the responsibility of a caring society – are left to meander.

5. the question what about the children was that not the same card use in the alexander story, and guess what did not the children and the school survive did not alexander recoup and made as much or as better a score card in the cxc examinations, children adjust however when working environments become stagnant children becomes reactionary,

6. david do not get it twisted,the question at the heart of this matter is not about brromes accomplishment alone, but the type of working environment produce under his control that stagnates and creates chaos, check alexander without broomes the difference is as day is night,

7. Parkinson we all know is located in the Pine catchment area and seasonally receives children who received 10 to 20 marks. Broomes on his assignment to the school reshaped the curriculum to fit the type of student received by Parkinson. What is clear from BU’s research is that Broomes is not perfect but he is a thinking educator and not prepared to go with the flow. He desperately wants his children to succeed and will buck the establishment to force change. BU identifies with this characteristic.

The ministry of education needs to step up. What credibility do they have anyway, Jones sat on the damn AX reports which eventually led to the Prime Minister intervening with the 600,000 Water Commission where his ‘pals’ got out with a pretty penny.

8. Why is Broomes able to connect to parents and students and not the teachers? Broomes know based on his goals he needs the teachers, the year heads et al to achieve. Then the big picture, the education system those knowledgeable agree is broken and needs to be overhauled. What does this say about those individuals who are working to achieve excellence in a broken system? How are we able to measure the performance of actors in a broken system anyway. Should Broomes disengage from his responsibility like many of his collegues in the system have already?

9. what we do know and on record is that broomes has masterful skills of engaging and “possibly” motivating children to do better /However children are not like adults prone not to question and more inclined to please especially when boxed into a situation where/that they cannot control.
    however motivating adults is not that easy and apparently brromes problem might be he perceive adults as children with whom he can dictate without an expectation of the question “why”

10. Finally; we need to focus on righting the system. There is enough evidence to support the view that the archaic ways of the ministry is where the problem is located.

11. Good leaders get results. If you are great at everything other than that you are not getting results – you are still not a good leader. Bad leaders may also get results at someone’s expense.

12. @Alien

You are making the same mistake as the crowd. Appraising a person functioning in a dysfunctional system.

Shouldn’t the BUT and BSTU be striking when the MOE messes up as well? Like ignoring a report on AX for nearly a year?

13. i am sick and tired of these teachers, who in my opinion just do not want to work,and are encouraged by there respective unions,the worrying trend that is developing is,as long as you do not like a particular person he or she must go,i hope some of the said teachers realize that sometime in the future some of them might be principals and there style of management might come into question and they themselves might reap the same whirlwind,these teachers and their unions believe that they are a law unto themselves,this type of behavior needs a strong and decisive check.

14. Just the fact that our resident ass AC is so energized on this issue tells us that Broomes is on the correct track.

What manner of people are these teachers who would go on strike “in fear of their safety” ….but turn up on evenings just before closing time….

Here are a set of JAs that should join the NCC workers…..

Broomes should retire.
    He is too caring for Barbados.
    Let Freundel and AC run things….
    brass bowls…

What ya saying Dompey? Welcome back.
    ….had a short stint in prison did ya…? ๐Ÿ™‚

15. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Am I missing something here?

The blogger Anthony David says, in part “….before he was appointed principal of the Parkinson Memorial School one used to see many Parkinson students lingering in the Fairchild St. Bus Terminal, at bus stops, and elsewhere. Nowadays that is in the past, so he must be doing something right…”

Another comment, from my buddies AC or Legion (incredibly) states, in part “…what we do know and on record is that broomes has masterful skills of engaging and โ€œpossiblyโ€ motivating children to do better …” (It is incredible because legion generally does talk a bunch of anyways a busted clock is right twice a day)

Yet we have a cadre of our school teacher population which seems predisposed/bent/inclined to contention with Mr. Broomes.

A renown change management specialist said that he was working with a large corporation and it had a problem with exorbitant travel expenses (first class tickets, expensive hotel meals, per diewms for outside women things that remind you of the practices of successive governments and public servants right?

How was that company able to stop these practices?

The created an Online Reporting System where it was mandatory that after you travelled YOU HAD TO PUBLISH EVERY SINGLE EXPENSE related to your travel!!!

The disproportionate spending stopped!!

I really dont give a flying badword about Broomes’ management style, to the degree that he is not being insulting to co-workers, and emasculating his staff and THE MORE PREVALENT PRACTICE OF OTHERS OF THE ACCUSERS, (and they know who they are) OF FOOPING THE SCHOOL GIRLS AND BOYS, Broomes is not the output/outcome/beneficiary.

What WILL solve the problem is when the Ministry of Eddy Kashun, led by the most ingrunt educator that this cuntry has ever known, Ronald WeJonesing, uses part of the $30 million Euros and creates a website that published the performance statistics of everysing one of my children in Bulbados, and every badword school in the island, every badword term, so that we the fvcking badword parents can see what our illiterate chilrun are doing at our schools, attendances, performances aggregated or disaggregated by discipline, so that instead of these emotive, constant ongoing shite blogs that mek a man or a woman who really wants like Broomes to e=be an educator can be seen to be doing what we fvcking paying him to do and we parents can know that our chilrun going to school and learning de fvcking work, while we are busting our balls finding money to send them there to learn instead of them fvcking in de classrooms so that perverts like Sanka Price, aided and abetted by Vivianne Gittens can show our kids tekking and giving doggie on the back page of the Nation Newspaper.

CHANGE OR DIE!! from the gunshots from their bushwackers

16. o.k.;et us all pretend that it is all the teachers fault, let us all pretend that the teachers have no rights .let us all pretend that Broomes policies have worked in the past and he is absolutely correct in implanting his policies on others unquestionably/
    then what would be the purpose of having laws that governs the educational system in that case why not let all principals have the rights to imposed and imply the formula or doctrine and rules they seem fit i wonder what would be the outcome .

17. Somehow I am getting the sense that it matters not to which school Broomes is sent.The union is bent on seeing the back of Broomes. Initially from what I heard Broomes was problematic. Now I am not so sure. Touch one, touch all.Universal trade union motto.

18. Here is where the rubber meets the road, does anyone think other schools are not having problems? Why is Broomes being singled out? Parkinson has always been a school that received the low achievers 10 to 30 marks, has always been a school where the bringing to school of weapons has been a parenial issue. Many of the teachers striking have been at the school for years and what? The other Heads prefer to toe the line to protect an uneventful path to pension. How do we expect change if we don’t challenge the system. A system many eminently qualified suggest has become irrelevant. Recently BU listened to the head of the TVET entity lamenting how far Barbados is behind producing an educated person for the global market. The BUT is rife with politics, check those from the BUT who have transitioned to the MInistry of Education starting with the minister and his deputies. You would think such a state would lend to a more collaborative approach.

JAs

On Friday, 13 February 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

19. WAITTTTT…..are we here again? Last time it was Alexandra’s.Seems like BU is the home of Jeff Broomes LOL …same player, same ole same ole…Man if dey send Jeff Broomes to QC, HC or LCC it gine be trouble. Jeff is what you call “a player”of the system and he loves the attention. Now how D ask the teachers get WRONG?..Wanna see them scissors and knives in confiscated and in Uncle Jeff drawers?….Have we forgotten that this Parkinson in the Pine? Have we forgotten how Jeff glasses were snatched off by a parent ( unlike the St.Peter sch.) and CRUSHED? Peoples GET REAL….these kids would out your lights at a wink? TEACHERS STRIKE ON DO. I would and wid good cause. Jeff could talk, he dun know he on the way out in a couple of months and got pay back on mind..

20. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ All (without the ole man cusswords)

When you getting ready to go back to GOD and your time on this side of the veil is limited, certain things does rile you and you will cuss out people for concentrated jobby practices

So, after de old man calm down, I said i would resubmit the entry WITHOUT de badwords.

It is claimed that our educational system has not change much since the 1930’s and 40″s post the war years despite the Edutech debacle of US$236M to improve the school buildings.

We still have questionable tests antiquated curricula, old pedagogical models and remain unable to develop a more responsive educational system.

What WILL solve the problem we are seeing?

A platform to measure and broadcast Teacher Effectiveness and Quantify Impact specifically Student Uptake and Aptitudes in Various Disciplines

Where will it “reside” and Who will fund it?

The Ministry of Education will have primary responsibility for this “Virtual” tool.

It is to be funded by some of the $20 million Euros that the European Union has made available from about 2007 that is sitting idle in the coffers of Bulbados at the Ministry of Education

What will it provide?

Aggregate and Disaggregated Data on Student Performances, Aptitude, Attendance accessible by the student, the teacher of course, the school, the parent, the Ministry and every single Bajan who want so see aggregate data on schools for teachers and students

What is the Outcome?

A system to promote Transparency in our Education system, one that, in addition to other fundamental education metrics, provided frank disclosure to stakeholders, students, teachers, Management Boards, line agencies, communities and our nation.

We need to stop hiding this information like if it forms part of “national security matters”

We must deal with these (and other) problems in a new way, one where people (teachers, students and parents) feel like if they are a part of the process and not just commodities to be used, coerced to strike, and abandoned when it suits the General Secretaries purpose, the Union of Teachers President, the Minister of Eddy Kashun’s ploy or all these other special interest groups

“Change OR Die”

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David February 13, 2015 at 7:56 AM

If Jeff Broomes is the problem why couldn’t the MoE do to him the same thing the PSC did to CoP Dottin?
    What’s so special about a School Principal? Why not “dottinize” Broomes?

Why isn’t Ex-CoP Dottin not getting the justice he is Constitutionally entitled to?

22. @Onions

Yours is a simplistic analysis. It is the same perspective which explains why we are so passive a society. Selector…

http://youtu.be/r-BtlogDhTg

23. BUT why not strike because of the delinquent implementation of continuous assessment?

24. I think it is fair to say that Broomes is the proverbial puzzle wrapped in a riddle, ensconced in an enigma. A true mystery to unwind.

David its all well and good to say that it’s wrong to try to appraise a person functioning in a dysfunctional system but is this not what Jeff Broomes has chosen. So he has to work the system better.

At this stage of the game Jeff should have moved on from this type of adversarial environment.

Currently he is no more than like the ACs of this blog: trying to make his point in the face of a hostile environment which is so fed up with his past actions that they cannot see any merit in his current actions.

(The analogy is a bit harsh on Broomes but you get the point)

Jeff Broomes is not being smart to go on to Parkinson and develop almost the exact situation as seen at Alexanders. He is the common denominator and must shoulder blame; dysfunctional system or not.

If Jeff is as smart about educational tactics as he thinks he is then stop this folly.

I said it previously. Leave the damn system and start his own thing.

There are may foundations and people around the world who are willing to financially support innovative and positive campaigns in education. Stop this stupid fighting and go seek a supporter for his own private school.

This is 2015 not 1970 or 1980 when such thoughts were impossible.

This folly benefits no one other than we who love to pontificate on everything.

A small startup that evolves into getting government bursaries after he shows indisputable results would be the entrepreneurial way to go.

There is business in education…ask the Americans! For both the finance and the template.

Stop this folly or rather as the man says: Change or Die!

25. @David

Simplistic?….How explain ya self….we talikng about someones life…like you forget a 15 year ole just shot a 18 year ole wid a shott just last week on Chamberlian Bridge in broad daylight over a $1 sweet bread…like you forget they shootin at police nowadays. Times change so doan talk simplistic. These kid becoming like the US…Teacher hear muh again….BY WHAT EVA MEANS POSSIBLE….

26. David February 13, 2015 at 6:12 AM #

โ€œWhy is Broomes able to connect to parents and students and not the teachers? Broomes know based on his goals he needs the teachers, the year heads et al to achieve.โ€

Could it not be a possibility that teachers at Parkinson do not like change or being challenged to be more productive? Do they see their role as teachers as not going beyond teaching? Seems as though they prefer the status quo at the school to remain the same.

What about those former Alexandra teachers who went on sick leave to protest they being transferred to other schools? They are obviously of the opinion they have the right to teach at Alexandra.That action speak volumes about their attitude.

However, based on the comments made by the AC consortium about Broomes, itโ€™s obvious their main concerns are not about the children or the efforts Broomes have made in making the schools better environments, conducive for learning and encouraging the students to strive to their true potential. No one can overlook the reformation of Parkinson under his tenure, since he was able to remove the negative stigma associated with that school.

Essentially, the consortiumโ€™s main focus is to admonish Broomes in an effort to defend governmentโ€™s decision to order an enquiry into Alexandra [NOT Alexander], and by extension, the government transferring Broomes to Parkinson, in accordance with the recommendation of the commission.

27. Bajan slang – corr : 18 year ole wid a Shotty = sawn off shot gun

28. Simplistic?..what is so simplistic about a lead bullet in ya liver of a scissors in your spline..?.Ya think the Judge gine give a 16 year ole 20 yrs to life? …meanwhile you in Two Sons pun ICE of knotup in a wheelchair….TEACHER HEAR MUH AGAIN…..HOLLAR HARD….We the truthful, dun know wha gine on….HOLLLLAA ON march TOO!

29. All that is necessary to right the system that the laws of goverance be adhere to by allthose associated with the education. a guarantee that protects both teachers and children a protection that gives way to living in a holistic and peaceful enviroment
    For some reason/s Broomes always seem to cross those lines with the predictable ending of chaos..
    Again i reiterate that Alexander seem to have recovered /survived without the presence of Broomes while broomes again is caught in the public glare and noises of perception and speculation…Sad!

30. No no NO ac….I not putting D blame on Jeff shoulders dis time like Alexandra, sorry…last time I had your back there….I want the MOE to make sure the students are DISARMED…put in metal dectectors, improve security,punish severely a fella or TWO….PROCTECTION FOR D TEACHERS is paramount!!!!! Jeff boy ya din dey long enuff for a conspiracy…..or have U? LOL

31. @ millertheanunnaki February 13, 2015 at 8:07 AM #

โ€œIf Jeff Broomes is the problem why couldnโ€™t the MoE do to him the same thing the PSC did to CoP Dottin?
    Whatโ€™s so special about a School Principal? Why not โ€œdottinizeโ€ Broomes?โ€

I agree with your commentsโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ and I like the term โ€œDottinizeโ€. I f you donโ€™t have the patent, Iโ€™m going to use it.

32. @David
    Parkinson has always been a school that received the low achievers 10 to 30 marks
    ++++++++++
    Since you have repeated that observation do you believe there is something fundamentally wrong with these students and what happens at the other schools that receive the 10-30 group?

I donโ€™t think that the teachers should go on strike (but that seems to be the modus operandi of everyone in Bimshire whenever there is a dispute) however they do have a point if students who bring weapons to school are not being disciplined.

Schools should be a safe haven for students and teachers and if the occupants have to worry about safety then the educational experience is compromised.
    If this continues metal detectors in schools will be as ubiquitous as desks and while to some Broomes may be the greatest thing since sliced bread; it is apparent to this observer that his repeated issues with his subordinates and others renders him unfit for the position he currently holds. The Ministry of Education in what they thought was a Solomonesque move took the opportunity (after Alexandra) to let him switch positions with the Principal of Parkinson, they should have let him serve out his days in some back room rather than inflict him on Parkinson (which could do with some enlightened leadership) only to see the same issues crop up again.

Insanity reigns

33. Jeff Broomes received much public support in his clash with Mary Redman who came across as haughty, spiteful, opinionated and wrong. It was refreshing to see Broomes put Redman and his enemies behind him and report for work at Parkinson Memorial. The time has come though for Broomes to depart the scene. He’s made his point and still has some goodwill from all reports he is a knowledgeable teacher who cares about his pupils. In the twilight of his long service its time he goes home and puts his feet up maybe get involved in cricket administration again. The BCA cries out for quality human resources its scraping the bottom of the barrel in intellect and integrity. Broomes you are slipping into the deficit column creating more problems than solving them. For everything there is a season. Its your season to quietly retire.

34. If ac is saying (in the first two posts) there are questions to be asked, I quite agree. As Hamilton H has said, however, there is a sense in which the trouble which follows JB may well have been orchestrated by the Union – and that is one of the questions. IF the pupils and parents “love” him, then I don’t buy into the concept of creeping. Children instinctively know what’s right and just. Really good teachers are few and far between. The mediocre will always find cause to carp and to attempt to destroy. It makes them feel holy. I simply don’t understand the idea that he should retire. That is not an answer with any academic or personal merit. It’s simply a runaway.

But sure, to use the clichรฉ now – a puzzle wrapped in an enigma.

Now David – I am very glad to see you write that those who swim against the tide, the pricks, have it as you will, are to be “identified” with. At last – true democracy.

35. Ac not only was Mr. Broomes removed from Alexander but a number of teachers that were also seen as problematic.

36. Another thought

The teachers are in a tizz because Broomes has “not taken action” against the pupils. But what does that mean? Perhaps, could it just be – I really don’t know – that the matter is settled and understood by all concerned? In my post above, I wrote about a child’s sense of justice. Maybe, it was that which Broomes plugged into. What did the teachers want – suspension, lashings, expulsion? Now I know the “old values” are in the news. But not everyone would wish to go there and, indeed, some of us would want to raise people up, to create conditions for flowering, not put them down and leave them in the shackles of the uncreative, severely judgemental ‘lash’ mentality rooted, as it is, in Pharisaism. Maybe Broomes in not a Pharisee. Has he ever articulated his philosophy? Maybe he should do that.

37. Is there a more irritating voice on the news than Pedro Shepherd. Good Lord only Wayne Waldron of NUPW matches his unlisten- ability. Who selects these two bit leaders? In future teachers you have to not only choose wise leaders not saying Shepherd is wise but ones that are easy on the ears and possibly eyes. The last criterion will be the hardest. Shepherd sounds like he ready to declare his hand as a political candidate. His union is on the wrong side of public opinion on this issue. Stop the grandstanding Shepherd and get back to work we are not paying you to be stubborn and talk foolishness. This is a mickey mouse affair not worthy of phony industrial action. Loud stewps.

38. If the situation at Parkinson School is so badly out of hand, and is considered by the striking teachers as not a safe place to work, due to the actions of some students, then with the same teachers , practically abandoning their class rooms for the whole of this week, leaving these same so-called wayward and violent students to their own devices, supervised only by Prefects and a hand full of teachers, who opted to carry on, then Parkinson School this week should have been a virtual battleground, with Police and the Defence Force being called in to quell disturbances.
    If Jeff Broomes is able to maintain discipline with such a depleted force, then I take my hat off to the man.

39. ole onions all that you have called for in reference can only be achieved by costs .Question why would broomes accumalate that many weapons without seeking/reporting or requestingpolice involvement.This behaviour highlights one of broomes flaws one of control and his propensity to want to bend the /change the rules to accomadate his way of thinking .
    A flaw which expains his impracticalities and which does not allow him to build bridges rather than destablize forcing others to abandon. what ever formulas he has for progress

40. @Sargeant

What is happening at Parkinson School and Broomes can be highlighted at many other schools. Recently HC had the issue of natural hair, if this was Broomes and Parkinson School what would have been the result? BU is not absolving Broomes from wrongdoing because he is human. Managing children with limited cognitive ability requires commitment, critical and innovative approaches. The system is broken and there is little opportunity for a principal to rollout Joe Clarke approach. Many schools across Barbadose battle with children entering with weapons etc, this is not new. What’s new is that teachers would seek to blame Broomes.

41. David, its very interesting that you compared Broomes to Clarke by posting that Clarke interview.

I would suggest that today in the US, many educators like Clarke are operating Charter Schools (a school that receives public funding but operates independently of the established public school system).

There are several strong willed, independent educators like him who are as fed up with the system there as here in Barbados and because of changes made due to political pressure a modern ‘educational change agent’ has valid options.

Clarke as a educator in the late 90’s to now would have taken his message and tactics along the path called charter schools. His own fiefdom where he could show that his methods worked (or not).

Obviously there are non-public schools in Barbados but not the duality of system as practiced with the charter process; however, Broomes’ tactics, as I suggested previously, needs to embrace new methods and truly give direction to his vision that he can enhance the kids’ education.

The Clarke type fights have been long fought and solutions designed. To repeat that is not the hallmark of a visionary.

When will we change our moribund processes and give voice to other methods like those of the Broomes of the world.

42. oopps, ‘an educator’.

Oh father, I did not go to school during the summer when the rooms were closed and it was only the ground staff around! LOL.

43. why should one want or be forced to work in an enviroment of high risk where there are weapons involved especially when the the person put in charge seems to be more protective of the childrens bad behaviour than the safety of the teachers
    That is indeed a violation of peoples safety and protection and if “need” be to stay away until such issues be resolved so be it.
    mr .brommes should have thought about the fall out before stasching all those illegal weapons and not calling inthe proper authorities .yes the blame lies within his scope as principal and admonistrator

44. ac February 13, 2015 at 10:47 AM #

โ€œQuestion why would broomes accumalate that many weapons without seeking/reporting or requestingpolice involvement.This behaviour highlights one of broomes flaws one of control and his propensity to want to bend the /change the rules to accomadate his way of thinking. A flaw which expains his impracticalities and which does not allow him to build bridges rather than destablize forcing others to abandon. what ever formulas he has for progressโ€ฆโ€

What proof do you have to substantiate the fact if Broomes did not report this matter to the police or the Ministry of Education?

Can you tell BU what rules Broomes has the โ€œpropensity to want to bend the /change to accomadate [accommodate] his way of thinkingโ€?

What intimate knowledge do you have of Broomes that puts you in a position to criticize his management style? Were you employed at Alexandra or Parkinson, which gave you gave you the opportunity to interact with Broomes and determine how he conducts himself?

Seems as though your attacks on Broomes are based purely on the same speculation you constantly accused many of using as the basis to criticize Freundel Stuart, Carrington, Leroy Parris, the Thompsons or any member of the DLP.

45. It may surprise many to learn that guns were in schools as far back as the late 50’s. As a Prefect, I was commended for my loyalty towards my classmate, by the Headmaster ,before he reprimanded me for not reporting him for bringing to school a .22 pistol, allbeit an old half rusted one.
    How did the Headmaster handled it ? He sent for the boys parents,and turned the matter over to them , after giving them a severe dressing down. No police was involved. The father got rid of the old rusty gun, after sternly disciplining his son in the way it was done then. The boy as far I know, never went near a gun again , and worked in the Civil Service until retirement. The Headmaster, moved on to higher heights in the Department of Education and now has a school dedicated to him.

46. David wrote “Barbados battle with children entering with weapons”

Anytime this happens the parents and the police should be called to the school to deal with the matter.

Why wait until they start bringing to school glocks.

47. Could it be some of those weapons were collected before Broomes’ tenure at Parkinson. Some of us to personalize every issue. Parkinson is in the Pine catchment area. The school and its environs is frequented by the bad johns from the area. Some of us sit in our ivory towers ignorant about the challenges faced. Calling the police etc is a band aid to tackling the problem in the area. We need the community as a whole to work with the school leadership to wrestle the problem. Does anyone think if Broomes were to leave it will solve the issue of indiscipline at the school? The BUT is demonstrating leadership by striking against Broomes? Why not strike against the ministry for its poor management if the system.

48. โ€œwhy should one want or be forced to work in an enviroment of high risk where there are weapons involved especially when the the person put in charge seems to be more protective of the childrens bad behaviour than the safety of the teachersThat is indeed a violation of peoples safety and protection and if โ€œneedโ€ be to stay away until such issues be resolved so be it. mr .brommes should have thought about the fall out before stasching all those illegal weapons and not calling inthe proper authorities .yes the blame lies within his scope as principal and admonistratorโ€ฆ.โ€

Why is it that, according to news reports, only 25 teachers seem to have a problem with safety and 25 others are not involved in the protests? If itโ€™s a matter of safety, should not all the teachers be concerned?

Why is it expedient for you to believe one side of the story [something you have requested all and sundry on BU not to do] and not take into consideration the views of those teachers who find Broomes to be a decent manager?

What then is your opinion of those teachers who have chosen not to be involved in these protests? Are you saying they are deceitful or liars?

Do you have copies of Broomes evaluation as principal of Parkinson, which would give you information relative to his management style and how he interacts with staff and students, that you could be so adamant in criticizing his management style?

How do you know and what proof do you have that Broomes did not involved the police or the ministry of education?

Your comments are based on mere speculation, because you cannot present any proof to substantiate the nonsense you have posted on BU about Jeff Broomes.

49. David wrote “We need the community as a whole to work with the school leadership to wrestle the problem.”

I agree but until that happens you cannot allow children/teenagers to bring weapons to school without consequences that may act as a deterrent to others.

Broomes should have taken pre retirement leave and go and watch the world cup in Australia. Let somebody else step up.

50. what difference does itake if one or twenty five protest the issue is about safety or protection and those who use means to seek a resolution should be commended.

Artexeres really don , t know what was the purpose of your comment other than to provoke usless debate. have u ever heard of rosa parks the lady that stood alone.these twenty five might not be in vying position to
    be a rosa park but their actions to stand up for right is on that same page