Submitted by Old Onion Bags
Where does Mac Fingall get off with his absolute rude and crude behaviour, Monday at the Christ Church Foundation School’s Black History Month celebrations?
For those not privy to the goings on, Mac infront the school’s filled auditorium, did the unforgivable. In a nutshell he informed all in attendance, that people(obviously includes classmates) of a fairer complexion, owe their colour to the fact,that a white man indignantly raped their great great grandmothers.
C’mon Mac, we all know you can’t say that. (Even if it were in some cases true). Not when you a retired school teacher from the Lodge School, and today a mentor for many young inmates at Dodds Prison, a societal icon, just recently received a Barbados Service Star.
No Mac, such could be termed provocative and racial insighting behaviour, that if misconstrued by the Foundation’s School students, could lead to disharmony at the Prime Minister’s old school. Now we wouldn’t want that,right Mac?
Listen Mac, Jack ya behaving Slack….hence the Flak. Ya owe the school an apology for such unsavoury behaviour. In future Inspector Bacon, do consider your audience before starting one of your oppressive and haughty omelettes. Ya hear muh Jack?

247 responses to “Come on Mac, Where is Your Class?”
Addenda….Where does CBC’s TV, Morning Barbados find the gall to show only an edited version of Mac’s gobble of no class….skillfully omitting the starlet’s injudiciousness?….tell me Jack?
Even if in some cases it were true. Fa real Onions? Then on what basis do you demand an apology? Tell ya what. ..Get one from”Brugga”Johnson and one from Cow Williams for the loads of Shiite he dispensed over the years, then speak to Mac.Once dey white, we must bow and kowtow, think?
Thinking now OK Hill…. but just exactly what are you trying to harp?…that Shiite once evenly dispersed is suited for our school halls? Sorry but I don’t share your view.
@ old onion bags February 6, 2015 at 7:51 AM
OK OOB, we know that the manjack Mac might not have the sharpest kid in the ‘class’ or exposed to training in social graces like you from Cawmere.
But you being a man of solutions and problem-solving skills ought to be suggesting to the poor Fingall boy how to tell the TRUTH without offending the sensitivities of that brown pretentious lot whose ancestors were not of the cane field brigade but loyal household helpers in the plantation great house.
How should MacDonald have gone about (en)lightening those young ones unable to explain why they feel socially superior those of greater melanin endowment (to use Vincent Haynes phraseology)?
How should the Comedian from the East and a product of a similar forced sexual contact in the grass piece behind Bayley’s plantation have put over his story to those young and “ignorantly naïve schoolchildren of lighter hue whose ancestors from both side of the black and white family tree made the same trip but on a different ship; one from the piers of Bristol and the “white rocks” of Southampton and the other from the gold coast of blackness? Should he have referred them to writings of Parry and Sherlock or the plagiarisms and hypocrisies of {Sir Hillary Beckles} or Eric Williams (From Columbus to Castro or Capital & Slavery) or even the apologetic ramblings of G. K Lewis?
So what you saying here then my friend Millar…that Mac the Jocular has found new meninges from within to become Mac the Prognostic?….and seemingly to do so without noble or nocturne or with regards to timing or place?
With station comes responsibility…
Come Jack or Mac,
And to that he must give regard,
For our youths are but highly impressionable,
One must use tact and not behave slack.
Haughty, becomes naughty, when such attract…
And good grace become mere waste….
Mischievous and unwanton without solicitude or grace.
That my dear friend Millar….there lies the disgrace……(MURDA) LOL.
A study of the DNA makeup of England revealed that 20% of the English population are descendants of Africans.And wonder of wonders Her Brittanic Majesty is one,being a descendant of George 3rd,himself a descendant of the African King of Sweden.Irrespective of our varying cultural experiences,the human race,made up of ethnic groups,all possess those urges or traits common to all humankind:-Hunger,Thirst,Sleep,Sex,Kill.
@ Onions
….why don’t you do yourself a favor and ask David to delete this blog…..
lotta shiite….
Man Bushie
……gimme a CHANCE nuh!!!!!…..LOL
Good on Mac. Recent generations need to know what really went on in Barbados up to the 1970’s. It may be a hard pill to swallow for some, and especially so, as Mac is not using a sugar coating. It is claimed that Eddie Cox at Castle Grant had some 50 children. And a mule cart driver at Blackmans Plantation who never spent a day in school, except in the ‘Third Class’, was the son of the plantation manager, but he was proud to proclaim that he had “Good Blood”
Those who invited Mac would have known his inability to sugar coat and should have anticipated, considering the nature of the subject matter, some friction. That being said he told the truth. The truth sets us free if we allow it and offends us if we are that way inclined. The hard facts of slavery are hard to bear but need to be faced. Whether that was the place for it I can’t say.
Bajans hate the truth!! Always like to sweep things under the carpet. Sometimes there is no other way but THE WAY
Donna February 6, 2015 at 9:55 AM # I have to admit that you may be on to something there. It’s something like having a Black History Month. There doesn’t need to be a White History Month because their history was taught in schools. Funny though when I was at QC we took great pride in our school but we were blissfully unaware of the names you mentioned for some of the newer secondary schools. We just thought of the students as children who had received a little less marks in the common entrance. We even had an exchange going with the St. Leonard’s School at some point. I still think that Dame Elsie would have had success in any school, though. She was calm, logical, fair to both teacher and student. She was genuine, compassionate and commanded respect without having to say a word. She had presence. She would have turned some lives around, I’m sure!
Hey Mac…..I was wondering why they did not invite you to Queens College Black
History Month……but I now see why….Ya check St.Leonard’s yet Jack?….
Old Bag,
You have taken my comment out of the context of a continuing discussion on Jeff Broomes and leadership and transplanted it in the middle of this discussion. I am at a loss as to why. I think an explanation is in order because unlike you I fail to make the connection.
…that is how OOL behaves when his donkey is in a vice. …..he catching at straws now that he realize he drowning… LOL Ha Ha ha
If he was to ask David NICELY, no doubt the boss would delete the damn blog and we can all forget that Onions does talk a lotta shiite when he wake up early…. especially after going by the Sea Cat woman and then having to go looking to buy some fish early in the morning to carry home (he does claim that he went fishing bozie…)
….just let it drop girl…otherwise next thing he will start is a lotta shiite poetry that dont rhyme at all…..
this blog is concentrated bovine excrement
the man spoke the truth
Speaking the truth must know a time and place,
At times it can be most indecorous.
How all would love to tell what they think of others to their faces.
Even ponies must gallop and thoroughbreds race….
It’s just the order of things.
@ Donna, apologies for the late response….din see urs.
As Bushie so rightly says…..doan study it, just ona des tings.
@ Bushie STFU do….!(shut
And how about the brown skin son of a Lemon Arbour plantation manager, who failed as a Carpenter’s apprentice, went to England came back and did not know his black mother who was still working in the plantation fields. This guy went on to earn Millions, by what we now know as devious means, and rubbed shoulders with Prime Ministers.
Re; speaking the trute…..recent BCCI luncheon, case to wit.
Old Onion Bags,
Thank you for that. I was beginning to wonder if it was uneaten onions your bags were filled with or onions that were already digested.
Bushie,
Letting it drop now.
Mac was right.
You should not romanticize slavery.
Non concensual sex is rape and all sex between a slave owner and a slave was non consensual.
Hants…..I think you are missing the point…the inappropiateness of being said by a visiting dignitary to school children ages 11 – 18 of mixed complextions n race? This is not Crop Over season and Mac’s role was not that of MC of a tent. Definitely out of place.
No doubt some of these darker ladies were raped and had no choice in the bad old slave days.
However, in recent times I have white male family members (including myself
35 yrs or so back) who had to purposely dodge darker females at school and the workplace. I know some pun here will say it is all about perceptions of $$$$$$$$ and in some cases that is true BUT historically and today there are darker females who love the difference of silky hair (many times that my hair was closely examined), blue eyes, etc. IT is perfectly normal for females or males to be attracted to “different types”. Please dont kid wunna selves bout dis, it is human nature to be such.
I dont place any emphasis on Blondes but love the dark hair, dark eye ladies more (mainly brown sugars, Orientals, Spanishes and Indians). Fortunately, many of these darker types loved me too! When I was working in Bridgetown there were several indicating their availability in somewhat direct terms.
@ Money B
When I was working in Bridgetown there were several indicating their availability in somewhat direct terms.
++++++++++++++++++++++
…no damn wonder your father had to sell his business before you deposited all his money in the hairy bank 🙂
Of course you also know that the situation on the plantations was a bit different from that in Nelson Street….
@Bushy
Two facts Bushy
1 Semen Banking in the Brambles!
2 Where is Nelson St or did U mean the Statue at the top of Broad St? Had one girl pinned me up against Nelson Statue bout 3 am a Sunday morning. Good ting Enid and Livy’s had just fortified muh back wid some good Bajan cutters.
This is a big part of the problem. We never are able to get to a point of agreement about the elements that make up the problem to inform a solution. The first position is always to defend immediate and narrow interest. What is the purpose of education? What is intelligence?
Some dont want to learn the TRUTH! For their own reasons on all sides!
@ old onion bags February 6, 2015 at 2:18 PM #
“Hants…..I think you are missing the point…the inappropiateness of being said by a visiting dignitary to school children ages 11 – 18 of mixed complextions n race? This is not Crop Over season and Mac’s role was not that of MC of a tent. Definitely out of place ..”
You mean to say, OOB, that Mac committed a ‘monstrous perversion’ of etiquette?
BTW, you are going to soon have to drop that phrase “Crop Over season” from the BU lexicon.
Can you imagine the PM can’t keep even a simple promise like sending black people back to the cane fields which will soon be just imaginary places of fun and frolic (and itch) of yesteryear.
@ MoneyBrain February 6, 2015 at 3:26 PM
“When I was working in Bridgetown there were several indicating their availability in somewhat direct terms.”
Maybe those female ‘darkies’ were way ahead of Hilary Beckles and were trying to extract monetary Reparations in their own way; knowing full well that giving you a chance to be on top of a black mare would be like a fly circling around an elephant’s pudendum. LoL!!!
Wait Bushie
You behaving very bad hay today
You may call it the hairy purse as much as you like but some contend it is the only heaven there is.
So while you intend to wait for milk and honey in the by and by your man Onions intends to get his in the here and now. And what’s wrong wid dat LOL
He may never have nuh money but, so what! LOL
Good one.
I am extremely proud that the efforts of many of the stalwarts of the Black Conscious movement of the seventies,eighties & indeed nineties have now bear fruit with important institutions such as schools, churches,the media and even the government embracing our African heritage.
I was in the group that religiously went to Bussa Roundabout every Emancipation Monday and pay respect to the ancestors that fought for our freedom. I remember quite vividly less than ten of us would be at Bussa and many Barbadians especially some Black Barbadians would passed in their vehicles laugh at us and make all kinds of unsavory remarks.The group was the recipient of some very vile and hostile comments.Nevertheless,we persevere.
I also remember the time we were not taken seriously by the management of some schools and also the Ministry of Education when we try to introduce the Black studies programme. We were scoff at and ridicule.We persevere.
Thanks must be given to sister Annette Maynard-Watson a former teacher at Foundation School for her determination in pushing the Black Studies programme. Annette Maynard-Watson is the pioneer in having Black History Month highlighted in our school system. Special praise must also go to Brothers Anthony Reid,Ian Marshall,David Comissiong,Trevor Prescod,John Howell,Dr.Rodney Worrell and David Denny for their contributions to the effort.
The efforts of the ten “mad men & women” who religiously in the eighties & nineties celebrated Emancipation Day,Afrikan Liberation Day,Kwanzaa and the other Afrikan festivals have now being finally accepted.
I thank the enligtened Barbadians including Mac Fingall for embracing our Afrikan heritage.
Mac Fingall you have spoken the truth.
@ Negroman February 6, 2015 at 4:50 PM
Well said, Negroman!
It’s a pity you so blindly, and in abject sycophancy support a political administration that is about to send you and your kind back to slavery, economic and otherwise (including prostitution).
What do you think will happen to those thousands of people especially women who have been sent home to suck salt? Go back to non-existent cane fields?
Hants
All sex was NON Consensual —– some yes , probably vast majority BUT to say ALL suggests that a clever gent like yourself, from great schooling, views this topic from a very emotional perspective without the rigor of analysis and experience of life that you are certainly capable.
Common sense dictates that for many reasons there were some Consensual liasons because that is human nature! I know that it sounds better to be totally one sided!
Mac was making a point that was not fully ‘fleshed” out!
It begs the question, “what is the point of telling youngsters that their forebears were all bastards and the product of crime?” Is that suppose to INSPIRE?
@Miller
What black mare do you speaketh?
Could have sworn that I was much broader in my description.
I have never entered a state of self deception that would lead me to attempt to swim the Pacific Ocean when Joesephine’s River was so close and far narrower.
millertheanunnaki February 6, 2015 at 4:17 PM #
BTW, you are going to soon have to drop that phrase “Crop Over season” from the BU lexicon.
Can you imagine the PM can’t keep even a simple promise like sending black people back to the cane fields which will soon be just imaginary places of fun and frolic (and itch) of yesteryear.
……………………………………………………………………………………………..
He may not be able to send them back to the canefields, but he is paving the way for them to go back to the Sugar Factory Yard. Bulkeley old factory yard is now becoming a venue for a different kind of grinding and sweetness.
Word has it that the plans for the new $500 Million super factory, include an amphitheater and a marbled dance floor and bar. When it fails as a River Tamarind Bush factory, Photohog Lashley could take it over as a permanent home for Q in the Community .
@ Money Brain
ALL was non-consensual….ALL
Shiite man, Just being here was non consensual.
…being here as a slave was non consensual
…living and being treated like animals was non consensual
Man…. even if some delusional slave thinks that she consented, she did not… she was just ignorant and scared.
What was she going to do? say no and have her REAL man skinned alive or boiled in oil or some shiite….?
Conceptually, consensual sex needs to be among EQUALS.
Unlike Onions, Fingall knows what he is talking about…… Onions know about old wives and sea cats…..
@Bushy
Human Nature is what it is!
Attraction did occur from female darker ones then and now. Nature cares nothing about slavery or equals, it is biochemistry, it is intangible and for many it can be UNFATHOMABLE! BUT it is what it is. People always want something forbidden, something that improves their situation, something different.
@Bush Tea
Agree with your commonsense position, how could a person in bondage (chattel) have given consent?r
This is not a thread about TRUTHS……but rather appropiateness. The extent some will go to diminish a point. Does one insult their invited guest? Likewise rules of appropiateness applies. Beat around the bush all U like…
With all this stupid talk of white , black, yellow & Brown, anyone remember that it was our own African people that sold our ancestors to the slave traders, let’s get pass this negative talk. Yes, learn our history, so not to make the same mistakes again, but is that being done? when we hear of all the boats that are leaving Africa with humans beings on them for Europe, and some don’t even make the journey, they die at sea trying, who do we blame for that? We need to better educate ourselves, & our people so that we can move forward instead of going backwards.
@ old Onion Bags
“Likewise rules of appropriateness apply….”
I did not hear the speech in part nor in whole but I am led to wonder what Mr. fingall might have sought to achieve in using this occasion to provoke this and other commentary.
Suppose during a debate about Mao Tse Tsung I was quoted to say “power comes from the mouth of a gun” while in Yemen or for that matter at a seminar where the Minister of Eddy Kashun Ronald WeJonesing was, many, including that illiterate Joanie, would be lead to believe, I was preaching armed Revolution with AK47s etc.
The issue of appropriateness for 11 year olds in 2015 is a grey area for me because if the know what a doggie can do and videoing each other in “lascivious acts” that excited Sankey Price and Vivianne Gittens (by the way what happened to that case?) then knowing about their pedigree may be fair, evocative instruction
@ Onions
Bushie won’t expect you to agree that the truth is ALWAYS appropriate. Otherwise your ass would be grass when the morning come …and you have to go home and tell the truth …that you just buy the couple fish in Paynes Bay market …and that you spent the whole night fishing in the sea cat woman’s pond.
You think those school children are idiots… like AC?.
Do you know that nowadays when you tell children shiite ..they simply pull out their phone and google it….
…and then embarrass your tail with the FACTS…? Think Fingall foolish?
Don’t try and tell the truth UP FRONT…. see if you don’t end up like the Parris fellow who like he turning out to be a leper after all…
The truth always catch up on you…. Best to be up front with it and then deal with the consequences.
The truth ALWAYS set you free…
Bushie why don’t U give it up……rationality outwits decoctions almost always ! It is what it is- LOL ,,,wait Mac called you???
The ethical dilemma .. should medical advances that may come from data accumulated by germans in the concentration camps be used to maybe save lives today??? Should black men or women not see beautiful mixed women or men as hot because they may be the offspring of the plantocracy. Very confusing we better march
Lawson
The trut is dem bin looking pun brown sugars with much lust for years.
Oprah dun grab Steadman, Chris Brown wasted lil time up behind our Ri Ri, the examples are somewhat exhaustive.
Dem seeeeeeet Brown Sugars will drive people crazy!
Mac Fingall could have added that “Many of the early settlers were the misfits of English society: gamblers, kidnappers, political refugees, etc.” !!!
PODRYR,
Again apologies the tardy…
……it is a straight forward case if ever…..Mac made a disparaging reference to one section of the Foundation students population….in preference to another. That in my books is unbecoming and unfortunate given the occasion.
Dear old onion bags:
So what should Mac have said? That plantation owners and managers typically married black virginal girls and that with the blessing of the church and state the couples lived happily ever after.