Former Prime Minister David Thompson (l) Former Chairman CLICO Holdings B'dos Ltd rumoured to be local partners in Cost-U-Less
Former Prime Minister David Thompson (l) Former Chairman CLICO Holdings B’dos Ltd rumoured to be local partners in Cost-U-Less

The news that the Deloitte Judicial Manager has taken action to recover $3.3. million dollars paid to Leroy Parris via Thompson & Associates has flushed out Laroy Parris and his credentialed lawyers Hal Gollop QC and Vernon Smith QC. BU will not be side-tracked by the theatre that will be orchestrated around this matter about how $3.3 millions dollars found its way into the deep pocket of former Executive Chairman of CLICO Leroy Parris.  What some of us want to know is if there is consensus the invoice generated to support the $3.3. million payment is legitimate and whether taxes and relevant laws have been honoured. Does Parris and his lawyers dispute the findings of Deloitte Judicial Forensic Report on the matter?

To pursue a clinical approach to discovering truth and justice in the matter of CLICO and the $3.3. million dollar payment we highlight Walter Blackman’s intervention posted on another blog Speaker Michael Carrington and Deputy Speaker Mara Thompson Drag the Highest Court in the Land Into the Gutter.

It is extremely important for all of us to understand that we are witnessing some of the features and results of a system with a foundation that was designed in the early 1980’s. Back then, a handful of civil servants and politicians saw the enormous sweets to be reaped from having poor control mechanisms in place to account for taxpayers’ money. Any millions that could be grabbed from private sector operations were also considered fair game.

A special feature of a life insurance company operating in Barbados is that the safety of policyowners’ premiums is supposed to be protected by built-in safeguards in the form of : actuaries, auditors, accountants and high-quality company management, regulators, statutory reserves, the Minister of Finance, and the Prime Minister.

Note that, under this approach, the buck stops with the Prime Minister. Whenever everything else has failed, policyholders would expect him to do all within his political power to protect and safeguard their interests.

This suit by the JM shows that rather than the buck stopping with the PM, the assault started with him. Armed also with the power of being the PM, the Minister of Finance joined the assault and betrayed the public trust by engaging in money laundering, and other forms of criminal and fraudulent behaviour. Statutory reserves were disregarded; regulators were handpicked, “trained”, and used; CLICO intentionally never had any quality management, and its accountant seemed anxious and willing to sign away millions of policyholders’ cash at the slightest of Mr. Parris’ urgings.

Sensible Barbadians should now be asking: Was David Thompson the only PM and /or Minister of Finance who accelerated the demise of CLICO? Or did he choose to walk a path that had already been mapped out by others before him? Did his criminal, unethical, and morally unsavoury character have any influence on the type of persons he handpicked as candidates, ministers, and successors?

162 responses to “Leroy Parris and the $3.333 Million Payment”

1. @ Money Brain,
    You are a mischievous fellow. I’m not sure that a 95% black population would be prepared to be ruled by either Canada or the USA.

On a serious note the attached film is a marker as to how a people can overcome injustices within their society through unity and strength.

The political establishment in Barbados needs to be thoroughly sanitised.

2. @Exclaimer

Naturally, Bajans would not “want” Canada or US running the island BUT they would LOVE the JOBS and $$$$$$$$$ circulating in such a situation.

Where is the video?

3. @ Money Brain

4. @Miller

The ease with which you rubbished the oversight body (SOI) says it all.

5. We must not forget that this leper guy had a big jet aircraft that would have allowed him to move GOODS and SERVICES hopefully all declared to the local authorities.We listened to this latter day Lazarus last night on DLPTV proclaiming his innocence in true Pontius Pilate style.The man is what Trinis call a bold face liar.Which company in Barbados would owe an EMPLOYEE US$6million.That man got the ‘gumption’ to say he honest?Yea like Thompson,who said the same thing….he will not lie,cheat or steal.Fvckers all.

6. Can;t imagine a “real Courtroom ” made up of these bunch what a lynch mob,

7. Crusoe February 3, 2015 at 7:27 PM # Sadly, Clico’s demise was obvious to many over a year before the ‘official’ crapout.

When a finance company is offering eleven percent on deposits compared to commercial banks five percent, don’t you KNOW something is strange?

And yes, only the unknown or a complete idiot would not have pulled their funds.

Not all investments in CLICO were by individuals….many companies and NGOs had excess monies lodged with them

8. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

@ the formerneutral…… analytically brilliant when you choose so to be. Too bad that tunnel vision is more of a convenience than it is a malady. Or is it?

9. @ millertheanunnaki February 3, 2015 at 7:54 PM #

“I wish to contend the Auditors along with the directors played a major role in the fraud and swindle of policyholders that occurred at CLICO.”

I endorse many of your contributions, Miller, however, on this occasion, I have to disagree with your above statement.

Firstly, the preparation of financial statements is the responsibility of a company’s management.

Secondly, the auditors would have conducted their financial audit [in accordance with the auditing standards accepted in Barbados] with the specific objective of:

• examining supporting documentation to substantiate the amounts and disclosures in the financial statements;
    • evaluating the overall financial statement presentation;
    • expressing an opinion on whether the financial statements were prepared in accordance with accounting standards or principles accepted in Barbados;
    • obtaining reasonable assurance that they were free of “material misstatements” and fairly presented, in all material aspects, the financial position of the company at the end of its financial year.

Obviously, the audit firm has its reputation to protect and may not deliberately engage in any activity that would compromise that reputation.

10. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Artaxerxes

Like yuh felt compelled to defend your profession without really putting all your heart into it.

Give us some better reasons, nuh!

11. Slightly off topic.

Did anyone hear that moron who is supposed to be a political analyst on DLPTV on the news tonight?

This so called analyst who has been defending Mr Crook and Fumble for the past two weeks on her soap box in the Pine, had the gall to come on my TV and laud the stance the T &T PM has taken……..hear the moron ” she has shown that she will not tolerate any unethical behavior in her cabinet and has taken a stand”. I was yelling at the TV to the presenter….why dont you ask her to justify what she is now saying with the stance the PM of Barbados took in connection with the Speaker which she supported.

What a moron!

12. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Millertheannunaki and Artaxerxes; I would like to get your views on this scenario.

The facts of the case as outlined in the Nation report of last weekend, and more fully in the earlier JM’s forensic report, suggest that the JM has a sufficiently ironclad case against the respondents (and the documentation to match) to ensure the recovery of the $3.333 million under normal circumstances.

Too many things about the Press Conference that was sampled last night on CBC TV were surreal. I therefore wonder if was called to send a message to a powerful individual and his comrades that he needed their help and was not disposed to travel a lonely road alone.

Such a hypothetical message is likely to fall on deaf ears for various reasons. But the danger to the empire in such an eventuality seems very real as rats have been known to turn vicious and unpredictable when cornered.

I think that the situation, with its several permutations and combinations, suggest that an early election might not be out of the realm of possibilities.

13. I seem to remember Tony Marshall, the UN bound ambassador, who was a director on CLICO’s board saying on Brasstacks that the board never allegedly saw anything to suggest that such massive fraud was being committed.

The auditors did verify that a lot of things were hidden from the board, it would seem as if there were two sets of figures prepared, the false one for the board’s consumption. For example, the auditors could not find anything in the minutes to support the deceitful liar’s claim that he was entitled to $10 million.

Using Bajan slang, that man is going to dead bad, bad, bad!

14. The IMF articulated its concern about CLICO Barbados in their 2009 Article IV Consultation with Barbados report, dated September 14, 2009, as well as offering suggestions relative to the course of action the Barbados government should consider in dealing with the issue.

“On banking supervision, Directors recommended that the authorities review the implementation of certain Basel II standards, particularly regarding the self regulation by commercial banks. They commended the authorities for moving ahead with implementing the recommendations of the 2008 Financial Sector Assessment Program Update, adding that quick and decisive action should be taken to resolve the problems of CLICO-Barbados. Directors also noted that there was a need to develop contingency plans, should the current approach of selling the subsidiaries of CLICO-Barbados to private investors prove unsuccessful. This would be important in order to mitigate any impact on the public finances, and protect the financial system and investor confidence.”

15. AWTY,

He did not wait to be advised to get a lawyer. He lawyered up right away.

It is appalling that despite the widely circulated JM’s report, a lawyer can look Barbadians in the face and say….the man is dued this money and in fact CLICO still owes him 6.5 million dollars.

Only a turncoat QC could say that with a straight face!

16. Ask Leslie Haynes about the invoices from CLICO? Parris is a fucking bold face liar now he wants to blame Cheryl Haynes who signed the cheques. Will his estimable friends of Chris Sinckler he gave his wife old Jaguar to and dumb Freundel defend him?

17. Is it true Capita or Public Workers took Leroy Parris money the banks refuse to hold?

18. In 2006/2007 Vernese Estwick Deputy Supervisor Of Insurance acting as Supervisor Of Insurance while Carlos Belgrave was going senile was prevented by the Ministry Of Finance from doing her job. Thus after the delaying tactics by the cabinet she sent the file to the DPP and David Thompson in cahoots with William Layne got vex and sent her on full paid leave since 2007. If not for Vernese Brathwaite it would have been worst if in doubt ask any member of Special Branch or Darwin Dottin.

19. @ Prodigal Son February 3, 2015 at 10:21 PM #

“Did anyone hear that moron who is supposed to be a political analyst on DLPTV on the news tonight?”

Prodigal, I thought you had better sense. You mean to tell me you actually wasted your time listening to Maureen Holder? She should be arrested for impersonating a political analyst.

20. are-we-there-yet Avatar

It is not true that Capita or the BPWCCUL were involved with Parris’ millions.

It was reportedly the Barbados Worker’s Union Credit Union.

Therein lies another part of the tale.

21. @ are-we-there-yet February 3, 2015 at 10:23 PM #

“I think that the situation, with its several permutations and combinations, suggest that an early election might not be out of the realm of possibilities.”

Although I’m not a believer in conspiracy theories, when taking into consideration the manner in which certain developments have been systematically unfolding, I must agree with your analysis.

This DLP administration used allegations of corruption against the BLP as their basis of winning the election, while promising to implement policies for good governance, such as accountability, transparency, freedom of information and a code of conduct for parliamentarians. Recently, Barbadians have been confronted with news of financial improprieties being perpetrated by members or related parties of this administration.

For example, [just to mention a few] some months ago it was revealed that Richard Byer charged CBL $766,855.24 for similar services that were previously rendered for $17,000, without intervention from the minister or acting minister [Denis Lowe and Dennis Kellman respectively]. There was no condemnation of this “financial atrocity” by Stuart or Sinckler or reprimand of the ministers involved.
    Then we had the situation whereby Carrington, in his role as a lawyer, with-held his client’s property and after continually ignoring requests for settlement, he eventually had to be sued and ordered by the court to pay his former client. Not surprisingly, Stuart displayed is stupidity and arrogance by seemingly supporting Carrington in this dishonest endeavour and advising him to retain the services of a lawyer.

Presently, there exist another (court) civil suit involving the late PM, his wife, known DLP associate, Leroy Parris and the suspicious circumstances surrounding the payment of $3.333M. I am still unsure as to the reasons for holding the press conference, except it was for public relations purposes, or as you suggested, it was “a message to a powerful individual and his comrades that he needed their help and was not disposed to travel a lonely road alone.”

Although there may be other instances of financial infelicities on which comments can be made, however, for the time being and in the absence of proof, I’ll treat them as mere “allegations”.

Perhaps by revealing these blatant breaches of transparency and accountability, there could be “shadows” in the background trying to lay the foundation to make sure an “early election might not be out of the realm of possibilities.”

22. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Money Launderer February 3, 2015 at 11:16 PM

Yuh certain yuh got the dates right? Yuh certain yuh got the personalities involved right? Is Vernese still on full pay leave?

23. @ are-we-there-yet February 3, 2015 at 10:23 PM #

“The facts of the case as outlined in the Nation report of last weekend, and more fully in the earlier JM’s forensic report, suggest that the JM has a sufficiently ironclad case against the respondents (and the documentation to match) to ensure the recovery of the $3.333 million under normal circumstances.”

I agree with you again, AWTY, and endorse the above comments.

In a previous contribution I sought to explain the finds of the audit relative to the events surrounding the payment of the $3.333M. During the news conference, we saw Hal Gollop displaying letters containing information to substantiate payment to Parris.

However, if you read the forensic audit report, you will see that Parris’ employment contract provided that he was to be paid a gratuity of US$5,000,000 on May 15, 2008, “in such manner as may be agreed between the parties on terms as set out but amended herein as to the date of payment but in no way otherwise in a letter dated December 5, 2002 between Leroy Parris and Lawrence Duprey”.

This letter dated December 5, 2002, was unavailable for examination by the auditors. CIL subsequently produced a letter dated June 18, 2010 from CHBL to “Professional Financial Services”, which indicated that:

“In addition, under contract commencing May 15, 2005, Clico Holdings (Barbados) Limited will pay to you, a gratuity of BDS$10 million on May 15, 2008. BDS$3,333,333 of this amount has already been paid”.

The auditors “found no reference to this payment in the Minutes of CIL or CHBL at or around the time it was made.”

Note the letter of June 18, 2010 clearly indicates that partial gratuity of BD$3,333,333 was ALREADY PAID. The auditors “examined an invoice from Thompson & Associates dated December 30, 2008, which described four different legal matters in detail and the “fees‟ or “retainers‟ for each” and was APPROVED FOR PAYMENT by Parris. According to the report, the invoice was paid by CIL cheque [$3.333M] on January 16, 2009, which was subsequently deposited to the payee account.

24. @ are-we-there-yet February 3, 2015 at 10:23 PM #

“The facts of the case as outlined in the Nation report of last weekend, and more fully in the earlier JM’s forensic report, suggest that the JM has a sufficiently ironclad case against the respondents (and the documentation to match) to ensure the recovery of the $3.333 million under normal circumstances.”

“Included in the balance owing by CHBL is a payment for $3.333mm made by CIL to the law firm of Thompson & Associates (legal advisors to CIL and CHBL) in January 2009, pursuant to an invoice dated December 2008 purportedly for fees or retainers related to various legal matters involving CHBL. Mr. Leroy Parris, the former Chairman of CIL and CHBL authorized the invoice for payment.” (See page 4 of the forensic audit report)

“On January 16, 2009, a payment for $3.333mm was made to the law firm Thompson & Associates by CIL. We examined the invoice from Thompson & Associates dated December 30, 2008, which described four different legal matters in detail and the “fees‟ or “retainers‟ for each. The invoice was approved by Mr. Leroy Parris, as Chairman. The invoice was paid by CIL cheque on January 16, 2009 and deposited “to the credit of the payee” that day. CIL recorded three of the four matters as an inter-company receivable from CHBL. We were advised that the fourth amount for $237K was believed by CIL to be its expense at the time the invoice was received and therefore this item was not charged back to CHBL. In CHBL‟s accounting records, three of the four matters were recorded as separate transactions as “Professional Fees”, totaling $3.096mm.” (See pages 12 & 13 of the forensic audit report)

The following are the 4 items [in part] on the invoice listed for payment, with associated fees totaling $3.333M.

• Retainer for US and Canadian counsel in respect of the action of Marriott’s Corporation and its successors to enforce the terms of mortgage for $19M = $1.800,000
    • Disbursements, expenses and fees related to searches in the US Corporate Registries and Canadian registries; due diligence [NB: not the “Due Diligence of BU fame] investigations, etc. = $1,046,000
    • Retainers for watching brief for Maurice King QC, re Abanco vs. Grant Hotel Limited = $250,000
    • To legal fees on construction and financing arrangements between CLICO and UWI re teaching block at Cave Hill campus = $237,000

The audit did not reveal that they were two payments of $3.333M, one to Parris and one to Thompson & Associates.

“We have been advised that ALTHOUGH PAYMENT WAS MADE TO Thompson & Associates, IT WAS IN FACT TO THE BENEFIT OF MR. PARRIS AS PARTIAL PAYMENT OF A “GRATUITY”. We note that this transaction was not disclosed in the Minutes at that time but was discussed by the Board following the appointment to the Board of the Government representative in mid-2009.” (See page 4 of the forensic audit report)

“We have been advised that Mr. Parris ACKNOWLEDGES THAT THIS PAYMENT WAS RELATED TO THE “gratuity” payments owed to him under his employment contract.” (See page 13 of the report)

So, AWTY, based on the above, I agree with your comments.

25. Another situation that must also be taken into consideration is Leroy Parris’ “employment contract”.

“The employment contract was between CHBL and Professional Financial Services (“PFS”), which we understand to be Mr. Parris’ company through which his remuneration was paid…..” (See page 13 of the forensic audit report)

Essentially, under these terms of employment, whereby Parris provided services for CLICO through his company, Professional Financial Services, in theory, he should be considered as a “self-employed consultant”. Hence, under these circumstances, any remuneration paid to him should not have been treated as salary, but as income.

As such, these payments disbursed to him would have been subjected to VAT, for which he should have filed returns, as well as income or corporation tax returns, depending if PFS was registered as a sole proprietorship or incorporated as a company.

26. are-we-there-yet Avatar

So Artaxerxes;

Yuh see where all this inexorably leads?

Yuh understand why the Bank returned Parris’ money?

Yuh see why the Lawyers seem to be talking only about the balance of around 6 million? not about the 3.333 million.

You made an earlier post which suggested that you knew what constitutes money laundering and as an auditor it is your business to know.

Yuh see why Parris’ loose talk could land him in serious hot water if he is not somehow rescued by pals in Government’s regulatory agencies?

Yuh see how Mara could be caught in the net?

Yuh see dat there would then be only one option that a serious government would take before the sheet hits the fan?

Yuh know what it is likely that thinking, prudent young MPs on the Government side would do who still have a long political life ahead of them?

Yuh note Donville’s statements on de Carrington affair?

Yuh now understand why I said that an early election is not beyond the bounds of possibility?

27. Interesting response from Fowler of BIPA when asked to comment on the Gollop and Smith press conference. She stated no comment. Interesting.

28. There is no doubt a connection between Barbados Public Workers Credit Union, CAPITA and Leroy Parris. It is therefore no surprise that they took his laundered money.

What now needs to be asked is how much commission was made by the CAPITA CEO on the transaction. Paul Maxwell, who is a distinguished son of the former speaker of the house, who was declared bankrupt – is well known for charging 10% of all consultants fees at HIS credit union. His lifestyle is known to emulate Leroy’s and many of the female employees have learnt the hidden costs of wukking for him.

It is also well known that when he was terminated from Cable and Wireless he unofficially worked for the credit union, doing like Leroy and jetting off to the worlds most exotic destinations at the expense of maids and general workers who trust the credit union with their few cents.

The Board of the Credit Union would never learn. There are always many versions of board papers prepared with subtle differences so what they approve is no necessarily what is executed by management.

Anyway eventually all these crooks will be caught. The real question is why they have not been caught already. The answer is they all have DLP political clout. Maxwell because people like Bobby Morris will do everything to protect him and Leroy because successive PM’s Thompson and Stuart are his best friends. Eventually some of the money will be traced to Canada, a local offshore company and a Canadian-Bajan rshe gay financial planner. The connections are obvious for those who have eyes.

Why did public workers bail out clico mortgage and finance? Who received the finders fees? Who were the consultants involved in the transaction? Why was an internal auditor and a financial controller fired when they started uncovering wrongdoing? Why is the Financial Services Commission not investigating?

These are the DLP ties that bind. A former DLP speaker Neville Maxwell and his son Paul. An economic advisor to a government who pretends to be indepent but who is a most rabid Dem. A dead former commissioner of Land Tax who kept this Paul Maxwell close and who died while chairing CAPITA. This man did every valuation for the credit union. Where are these written valuations? Has the board ever seen any of them?

The late Sir Harcourt Lewis may have been the only one who was unto them. God rest him in his grave. He knew something was wrong with all the extremely high-paid consultants.

29. Who are the external auditors for Public Workers?

30. Money Launderer February 3, 2015 at 11:16 PM #

Interesting, are you inferring that this is one of the reasons Dottin was ‘pushed’ i.e. he was in their way??

Also, my understanding is that as you note, the Supervisor of Insurance must report to the Minister of Finance, and my understanding also, is that things were going awry even before 2008.

All in, a weak process of supervising financial entities, wherein the new FSC comes from, but , is this FSC any better, or merely satisfying the necessary requirements of box ticking?

ttthor February 4, 2015 at 2:06 AM #

I was wondering where that money went, thanks for the information. CIBC wanted rid of it, I suspected it went to a credit Union. Hmmm, who was the head of the credit union that allowed it? Haha. Bosom buddies?

And if the last gentleman was ‘onto them’, why didn’t he say something??

31. old onion bags February 3, 2015 at 8:51 PM #

Crusoe February 3, 2015 at 7:27 PM # Sadly, Clico’s demise was obvious to many over a year before the ‘official’ crapout.

When a finance company is offering eleven percent on deposits compared to commercial banks five percent, don’t you KNOW something is strange?

And yes, only the unknown or a complete idiot would not have pulled their funds.

Not all investments in CLICO were by individuals….many companies and NGOs had excess monies lodged with them

What that shows is how many ding-dongs run some of these places.

32. @David,

What you have to ask if whether buddyship or pressure affects audit outcomes / report decisions.

Hence, as far as my limited knowledge on the matter goes, auditors are ‘supposed’ to be rotated every few years, to avoid that.

33. @ Crusoe February 4, 2015 at 4:48 AM #

“When a finance company is offering eleven percent on deposits compared to commercial banks five percent, don’t you KNOW something is strange?”

Yes, Crusoe, it is strange indeed. And it is also very interesting that way back in the early 2000s, Jeptar Ince was manager of CLICO Balanced Fund and had a hand in its development. He used to be on a business segment on CBC TV’s “Morning Barbados”, advising Barbadians that was the time to invest in the Balanced Fund or use the facilities of CLICO Mortgage & Finance Corporation to finance home construction.

Thompson “rewarded” Jeptar as being a member of the CLICO fraternity, by recommending him to be a government senator [replacing Derek Alleyne who was appointed Director of UDC] and his appointment was subsequently approved by cabinet. Ince was sworn in on August 7, 2009 during a brief ceremony at Government House, but commenced duties on August 12, 2009.

34. It is common knowledge that CLICO invested in Rayside Construction, which became a 75% owned subsidiary of the insurance company.

If one were to peruse the January 26, 2009 edition of the Official Gazette, you would see a notice informing Barbadians that David Thompson, in his capacity as Minister of Finance, waived the penalties and interest for non-payment of VAT for over $1M relative to VAT periods from 2003 to 2005. He also waived income tax for the income years 2002 to 2005.

35. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Artaxerxes re your 8:01 post

Another demonstration of lack of a moral compass

36. Good gosh, Josh! You sure hit that nail on the head! Most Bajans are their own worst enemies! Our island is just too small for us to think that when we destroy it we will remain unaffected. There is nowhere to hide.

37. A concern many had were the excessive commission rates Clico salesmen/executives were paid to solicit deposits. Guess we know why.

On Wednesday, 4 February 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

38. @ac,

Even when the real court makes a ruling you spin your web around it!

39. ALWAYS remember that when any Financial outfit promises LARGE INTEREST RATES compared with the market/ competition the RISK of loss is VERY HIGH!

eg Stanford, Trade Confirmers,BCCI, PONZI Schemes, Currency Schemes all have the same appeal to UNMITIGATED GREED!

DONT be a VICTIM! Government will NOT Protect you!

40. @Artaxerxes February 4, 2015 at 12:25 AM #

“………..This letter dated December 5, 2002, was unavailable for examination by the auditors. CIL subsequently produced a letter dated June 18, 2010 from CHBL to “Professional Financial Services”, which indicated that:

“In addition, under contract commencing May 15, 2005, Clico Holdings (Barbados) Limited will pay to you, a gratuity of BDS$10 million on May 15, 2008. BDS$3,333,333 of this amount has already been paid”.

The auditors “found no reference to this payment in the Minutes of CIL or CHBL at or around the time it was made.”

Note the letter of June 18, 2010 clearly indicates that partial gratuity of BD$3,333,333 was ALREADY PAID. The auditors “examined an invoice from Thompson & Associates dated December 30, 2008, which described four different legal matters in detail and the “fees‟ or “retainers‟ for each” and was APPROVED FOR PAYMENT by Parris. According to the report, the invoice was paid by CIL cheque [$3.333M] on January 16, 2009, which was subsequently deposited to the payee account”……………………………

Artaxerxes,

What a tangle web of deceit!

Only problem for the thieves is that no matter how hard they tried, they left a tangled web which is now unraveling.

Arta, I have a question for you, if Leroy Parris and his now lawyers are claiming that he did not thief anything and that the monies were dued to him, if it was all legitimate, why was it necessary to pay the money to the dead king’s law firm, falsify invoices for work that was never done, tried to implicate Maurice King in the mess?

If he was due the money and it was all legitimate, there was therefore no need to write the cheque to Thompson, now was there?

Thieving bold faced liars!

41. Will the public be told the depositors who benefited at the time of the run on Clico that Parris referred to in his press conference last week?

42. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Didn’t Parris bring a lawsuit against CLICO or CIL for payment of his gratuity around 2009 or thereabouts? What was the outcome of that? Anybody knows?

When was the lawsuit brought? before or after the $3.333 million payment was made to DT’s company? Anybody knows?

Would the outcome have anything to do with the necessity to get the monies in any way possible?

43. @ are-we-there-yet February 4, 2015 at 1:26 AM #

“Yuh understand why the Bank returned Parris’ money?”

AWTY, obviously, Parris’ deposit would have been in excess of the $10,000 threshold, which would have required him to explain the source of this income. So, there is the possibility he was not give a legitimate reason as how he come into possession of such large sums of money.

##############################################################

@Prodigal Son February 4, 2015 at 10:52 AM #

“….if Leroy Parris and his now lawyers are claiming that he did not thief anything and that the monies were due to him, if it was all legitimate, why was it necessary to pay the money to the dead king’s law firm, falsify invoices for work that was never done, tried to implicate Maurice King in the mess?”

To attempt an “accounting stunt” like that, proves that these guys were novices. I believe because of the scope of assessment of a financial audit, CLICO management was able to manipulate the auditing system.

A financial audit involves performing procedures, on a test basis, to obtain audit evidence supporting the amounts and disclosures in the financial statements. Hence, based on information received, everything may have appeared legitimate to the auditors and they would have written their report according, listing and explaining any errors they encountered during the audit. It would be up to the shareholders, if they saw the financial statements in their entirety, to question why certain financial procedures or guidelines were not adhered to.

However, a forensic audit goes much deeper than a financial audit, because the auditors, more or less, are looking for fraudulent transactions. As such, I doubt very much that CLICO’s management was aware of the intricacies of fraud investigation or they never anticipated the company would have to undergo such an audit.

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Artaxerxes February 4, 2015 at 11:43 AM
    “ financial audit involves performing procedures, on a test basis, to obtain audit evidence supporting the amounts and disclosures in the financial statements. Hence, based on information received, everything may have appeared legitimate to the auditors and they would have written their report according, listing and explaining any errors they encountered during the audit. It would be up to the shareholders, if they saw the financial statements in their entirety, to question why certain financial procedures or guidelines were not adhered to.”

Don’t you think then an external auditor (say with the international reputation and technical resources of PWC) adhering to internationally accepted auditing procedures would treat a payment of $3.3 million as “materially” exceptional and worthy of further investigation (given the size and nature of business of its client say CLICO Barbados) to establish the authenticity of the transaction(s) purporting to justify the payment?

Don’t external auditors also have a duty of care to the shareholders and their representatives i.e. directors by reporting any “significant” cases where it has been identified that “financial procedures or guidelines were not adhered to” by way of a management letter before signing off that the financial statements present a true and fair view of the company’s financial status?

Was the $3. 3 million payment approved in any way by the Board of Directors and ‘minuted’ at any Board meeting or did the internal control guidelines gave Mr. Parris the authority make such a large payment on his own?

45. Another problem that the goodly Mr. Parris will run into is what is a clear breach of basic conflict of interest guidelines. He would have approved a payment to himself. Surely someone else ought to have made such a sign-off if it was indeed legitimate as they now say.
    No. He was working on the assumption that it was not a bone fide payment and therefore had to be done using this subterfuge and with attorney-client privilege this should never have become public in his eyes. In that scenario he could theifingly (but honestly in his eyes) signoff believing what he did in his leather chair upstairs in his office suite would never be known. Alas He is now playing double jeopardy because whichever argument you explore the conclusion demonstrates a fraud as having been done.

The only good thing is a that most of this 3+ million will now go to legal fees. So it won’t stay long in his pocket. Those lawyers too will eventually suffer their fates for accepting tainted blood money. Have no doubt it is blood money because people died as a direct result of these CLICO shenanigans.

46. Money laundering: An individual accumulates wealth way beyond reason and is accused of acquiring this wealth by fraudulent means. Said individual secures the services of an attorney (or three QC’s) and pays hefty fees to these honest QC’s out of these ill begotten funds. The learned gentlemen either know of suspect that the source of the funds they are receiving in payment have not been lawfully acquired. Could they be accused of aiding and abetting in money laundering? Once proven in a court of law that the person dispensing the funds is guilty of a financial crime, would anyone known to have received payment for good or services be liable to forfeit same?

It would seem to me that if legal advice of the highest calibre (and price) is secured with this tainted wealth then the individual is putting himself/herself in an advantageous position with stolen assets.

Did Mr Stanford not have his assets frozen by the courts thereby preventing this travesty of justice from occurring?

47. @ millertheanunnaki February 4, 2015 at 12:30 PM #

“Don’t you think then an external auditor (say with the international reputation and technical resources of PWC) adhering to internationally accepted auditing procedures would treat a payment of $3.3 million as “materially” exceptional and worthy of further investigation (given the size and nature of business of its client say CLICO Barbados) to establish the authenticity of the transaction(s) purporting to justify the payment?”

Very pertinent questions, Miller.

An auditor’s code of integrity mandates him to be honest in revealing to management, any instances of financial impropriety or regarding any potential problems that may exist in the company’s accounting system, which he may encounter during the course of an audit. Additionally, professional secrecy requires an auditor not to disclose to outsiders, his client’s confidential information.

However, In the case of the $3.333M, the auditor’s duty is to inform the client of any concerns they may have pertaining to the transaction. Yes, he is within in his right to “establish the authenticity of the transaction.” Unfortunately, he does not have the authority to conduct further investigations unless he is requested to do so by the client, or it is within the scope of work of the audit.
    It is not a case where the auditor “may see something wrong and would call the police.” Having been made aware of any financial irregularities, it is the duty of the client to initiate further investigations.

Your question re “Was the $3. 3 million payment approved in any way by the Board of Directors and ‘minuted’ at any Board meeting or did the internal control guidelines gave Mr. Parris the authority make such a large payment on his own?”, would be best answered by representatives of CLICO.

It would be interesting to know if CLICO distributed audited financial statements to shareholders.

48. This link is to the Documentary—Four Horsemen.

“… we are the aroma of Messiah; God is always displaying Jesus through us wherever we are,
    like some fragrance that fills the air with the knowledge of him …”

49. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Artaxerxes;

Check out this link.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/34673/parris-suing-clico

Does it clarify the situation as it now stands?