Hardly a week seems to go by without one or two prominent figures calling for, or in some cases demanding, more use of local produce by our tourism industry and especially restaurants. First, I absolutely and totally support this objective but I wonder if the energy expended in trying to make this happen is entirely well placed or in fact truly balanced.

Some time ago the dairy farmers were complaining about being forced to accept lower prices and reduced quotas, the virtual monopoly milk processing entity unilaterally stopped making yogurts locally, pretty much a basic serving menu article in most hotels and alternative accommodation offerings. No-one can convince me that it is cheaper to bring in a foreign made refrigerated alternative across 6,000 or more miles by road and ship and for the wholesale distributors to always disperse them within the stated sell by date. There has to be waste and spoilage.

I also understand the economics of mass branded cheeses like Cheddar, but surely there are specialty items that can be made locally like double cream, feta and cottage cheese which are largely imported with a huge drain of foreign currency.

Staying with dairy produce, is it really cheaper or more desirable to bring in New Zealand milk powder from up to 12,000 miles away when you include trans shipping to make a ‘local’ ice cream?

Next is the problem of supply and demand. After decades of having tourism as our biggest single industry, we still appear to be struggling to get this scenario right, even when again it’s down to basic everyday consumer items like eggs, chicken and turkey breasts and others. Let alone the variety of vegetables that visitors from our markets take for granted, but when on-island find it difficult to comprehend that with our fertile land, sun and rain cannot obtain everyday produce on a consistent basis.

It will also be interesting to see exactly what is sourced and purchased locally when Sandals re-open after being granted unparalleled concessions, which the entire rest of the sector is still fighting for and yet to receive 15 months later. Feeding what has been described as a full hotel with up to 560 guests eating at least three meals a day present massive logistical challenges, so I hope that our agricultural sector can rise to the task. Otherwise the regular tirades condemning the remaining hospitality partners may appear to just have been window dressing aimed at the general populous, who may not fully understand the workings and difficulties presenting tourism here.

Perhaps the representative of the most vocal body who according to a political website has ‘devoted much of his time to looking after the interests of the farming community’ can report back to the people to at least re-assure us that the taxpayers ‘investment’ is reaping real rewards for his followers.

Ultimately, we all have to champion food security and conserve increasingly valuable foreign exchange and just maybe Sandals, might help persuade Pine Hill to think again about those yogurts and specialty milk products.

107 responses to “Producing Local Food to Feed Tourists–Can We Do It?”

1. @Adrian
    The lag with the tourism stats is unacceptable, how can one induce/infuse confidence in the industry when you have to wait 5 months for updated performance measurements?

2. Here is a comment taken from FB which BU agrees:

I travel the caribbean weekly and have been doing so for several years. Barbados has allowed itself to be caught and overtaken several years ago. Yes the hoteliers have a lot of work to do but I personally believe the problem is far far deeper than that. WE ARE NOT PRODUCTIVE ENOuGH AS A PEOPLE and worse, we don’t seem to give a damn. We stand up for nothing, we defend nothing, we just simply drift through life on autopilot expecting that someone else is going to ensure that we continue to live a good quality of life……..we are not only behind now as far as hotels are concerned but in many other areas if we only open our eyes and look. There -I said it.

3. a chance to shine a positive spotlight on barbados .today is the final day to vote crane beach as one of the best beaches in the carribbean

http://www.thecrane.com/vote/

4. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Sadly I agree. The resurrection of the re-DISCOVER initiative has been a revelation for me personally. There is a huge amount of complacency out there in the tourism sector. So many expect everything to be done for them and for free. Of course there are notable exceptions, but its the minority and that has to change if we are going to get out of this current malaise.
    Over our 27 years here we have always had to fight for anything we have achieved and never expected it to be handed over without any effort.

5. So long as there remains in Barbados this very evil, wicked, demonic, irrational, illegal, unconstitutional, unproductive TAXATION system ALL commercial business sectors and their component enterprises in our country will NEVER EVER maximize on their potentialities.

A certain future coalitional government of this country and of which the PDC will be part shall once and for all remove this thieving robbing totalitarian TAXATION system from this political landscape of Barbados, and replace it with the right and appropriate strategies for the government more fairly and properly than ever before coming by access to money from out of the core financial system of this country, and for its more fairly and properly than ever before coming by more of its own remunerations.

6. @David February 2, 2015 at 6:36 AM #

I concur with persons view
    …………………………………………

In the 90’s an “Agro-eco-tourism” slogan and committee was established,presumably it no longer exists.
    In the 90’s the Scotland district of Bim was identified as being the bread basket of Bim and was to be so developed accordingly….nothing happened
    Presently with the marrying of greenhouse and solar technology,we can produce the majority of food required including cold climate crops.
    We know what has to be done,we have the ability……we lack the will to buck the system.

7. A business cannot function efficiently without up to date information.

8. @Vincent

We can use the WI cricket analogy. We have become complacent, lazy.

9. “Our hoteliers have some work to do !” I say our Country has nuff work to do! I agree that we are NOT productive in fact I can say we are rather lazy. If it takes too much effort we don’t bother. Always looking for short cuts to success and that never works unless we are prepared to put in the mileage. We are an over priced country with very little value for money spent.

10. Can we really produce enough for the local market? Given the limited land supply and the reality of what is involved in food production the answer is NO. Why? The cost ! Look at our Milk production. Farmers must have the imagination and creativity to produce and process their produce. If some farmers seek the knowledge they can produce items the market will want. They have to be consistent with supply and quality. Too many inferior products are produced or re bottled and sold as locally produced.

Take for example I asked a bakery why are they still doing jam tarts with strawberry jam, why not use guava? The response was that the supply and that guava jam runs too much under heat. He didn’t know that guava pastries are very popular in the french islands and in the Caribbean, Cuban and Hispanic communities across the USA and South America. The secret? Guava paste something like a guava cheese without the sugar coating are sold in blocks. The filling does not run to water like the locally produced jam. I have bought the guava paste many times from Miami to make my own guava pastries at home. Yet large bakeries like Purity, Zephrins etc are still producing those hard ass pastries with that bad tasting imported strawberry jam. We can also make pineapple tarts a Guyanese favorite, using Pineapple filling from Guyana. Standards folks we must develop high standards and not lower the bar whenever things become difficult.

Until we are made to endure some serious hardship we will remain complacent and unimaginative.

11. Mr Watson Parkinson Avatar
    Mr Watson Parkinson

Barbadian love anything foreign therefore it’s not gonna happen…! No Pride no Industry…!

12. @WP

That is why Bajans must be put on ‘death ground’. Do or die. And its about time!

13. Morexa Martin-Gardiner Avatar
    Morexa Martin-Gardiner

We cannot forget the larceny. Far too many people in Barbados are unable to reap their produce due to the lawless activity of a few. Can you imagine losing almost 200 rods of yams to thieves in a single week? Farmers will never be able to meet demand and profit if they spend good money on crops and someone else is able to steal it and take it to market without consequence. We are not serious on so many levels it isn’t even funny.

14. Mr Loveridge, it can be significantly improved.

The problem besides the economics of it is that we have no confidence in what we can produce.We have no confidence in our brand so these concessions alone is a wasted initiative thinking we can recapture the market,at great expense mind you.When the reality hits they can eat the same shite somewhere else cheaper they wont be inclined to return.I thought it would make more sense to stimulate more production in the manufacturing and agricultural sectors using these low fuel prices as impetus.Concessions alone cannot be a viable long term solution.

15. @Adrian

The hotel concessions we understand kicked in last week.

16. You can buy milk in Miami for 80 cents a quart in a 4 gallon container, eggs for $1.25 a dozen, a 1.75 litre bottle of dark 5 year old Caribbean rum for $11.90, bananas 59 cents a lb and a loaf of bread is often on sale for $1.00. Obviously things should cost more in Barbados but up to 4 to 5 times the price?

Most things imported into Barbados from countries other than the USA have seen a reduction in cost of 20% in the last 24 months because of the increase in value of the US$/Barbados$ but it has also made our export (tourism) 20% more expensive.

The reduction in import cost certainly has an effect on what efforts might be put forth to grow and make things locally. It does not appear that we have the correct economic currency model in place to deal with keeping the country in the correct balance of supporting local production while at the same time keeping exports (tourism) competitive.

17. As times go by, more and more of Bridgetown – the capital of Barbados – is becoming politically economically and financially depressed.

Indeed, these two intellectually and politically backward, bankrupt and discredited factions – DLP and BLP – whenever they take up and retain the reins of government of this country -become the ones primarily responsible for such an inglorious state of affairs.

18. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, in theory last week, but in practice every hotel (or group) now has to apply and await approval. Perhaps Sandals could post the application they completed to make it easier for the rest of us?

19. @Adrian

Also the time has passed when decisions to refurbish is made.

On Monday, 2 February 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

20. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, absolutely. This effectively means that every single hotel will have to try and play catch-up, but being at least 18 months behind, plus the availability of credit is now at hugely inflated rates.

21. If we had an over abundance of food there would be no larceny. Let us create those conditions. Instead of looking to lock up people for foolishness. Solving the food problem is just a part of creating a different society. A society where Dodds should be unnecessary even when ‘crimes’ are committed.

22. Remember the European Union’s “Butter, Beef and other commodities Mountains” laid up in massive warehouses deliberately creating artificial shortages ?. As it stands, its more profitable for our farmers in Barbados to produce relatively small quantities of local produce and retail them at exorbitant prices, than to produce adequate supplies and receive less for them.

23. Pachamama February 2, 2015 at 4:50 PM #

If we had an over abundance of food there would be no larceny. Let us create those conditions. Instead of looking to lock up people for foolishness. Solving the food problem is just a part of creating a different society. A society where Dodds should be unnecessary even when ‘crimes’ are committed.
    ……………………………………………………………………..

The Dream by Random Bajan
    Submitted by Crusoe
    ………………………………………………………………..
    Now Crusoe has us all a-dreaming

24. so what about breadfruit and advocado and green banana them things don.t count for food too, yuh see adrien how know how to hit plenty sixes with soft ball, but everybody knows that the use of local products on a regular basis is all but exempt in some of these star hotel, jut like local artist

25. Correct Adrian, it is well known local supplies are not guaranteed in the quantities required to embed in menus. Recently a fruit drink manufacturer confirmed she had to import raw materials from Grenada and elsewhere.

26. Morexa Martin-Gardiner February 2, 2015 at 9:25 AM #
    We cannot forget the larceny. Far too many people in Barbados are unable to reap their produce due to the lawless activity of a few. Can you imagine losing almost 200 rods of yams to thieves in a
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    If only the authorities were as vigilant and quick to act with crop thieves ,as they are with illegal Sea Egg harvesters.

27. We see that the Boat Yard, not a stone throw from the old Bridge Police Station has now taken on the role of Beach Rangers and the now disbanded Harbour Police.

28. This admission by James Paul, a government backbencher,we find amazing.

IN THE DARK

BAS caught off guard by start of concessions for hotels

Added by Carol Williams on February 3, 2015.

Saved under Agriculture, Local News

The head of the umbrella body for farmers appears to have been caught off guard by the February 1 date for hoteliers to begin accessing Government concessions.

And chief executive officer of the Barbados Agricultural Society (BAS) James Paul is now calling for urgent talks on the memorandum of understanding (MOU) signed several months ago between his organization, Government, hoteliers and manufacturers to ensure it is strictly adhered to.

James Paul

James Paul

“We have not been advised of any arrangement being put in place to allow the concessions to proceed. The release sent out said they can apply. The question is when they apply, what happens,” Paul told Barbados TODAY.

“The BAS board has a meeting this week and I believe that this issue would come up, and I even believe that now we will most likely be writing the Ministry of Tourism and the Ministry of Agriculture in respect of ascertaining exactly what the story is in respect of this whole arrangement.”

On the weekend, the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association (BHTA) announced it had received correspondence from Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy notifying that hoteliers could now apply for the concessions on consumables not listed on the revised Second schedule of the Tourism Development Act (TDA).

“In order to qualify for the concessions, hotels must be registered with the Ministry of Tourism as a qualified tourism business, as already required for the TDA,” the group explained in a media statement.

“It is a groundbreaking development for the industry and the association and we trust that the implementation of this system will not only bring some relief to the operational costs of our members, but will also allow them to generate more cash flow, which can then be reinvested into their hotels.”

But Paul said he was “a bit surprised” about the manner

in which the arrangement was proceeding.

“There was a special machinery that was supposed to go into place in order to determine the legitimacy of the application and then we had to put things in place to monitor how they are going. I haven’t heard anything like that.

Meantime, the BAS is anticipating increased business for farmers after Sandals Barbados officially opened last week following a US$65 million upgrade.

He said while no contract had been signed, he was confident the renowned regional brand would deliver on its promise.

“We did due diligence and we know for a fact that Sandals has contacted local producers, they have taken sample produce from local producers to determine what the taste profile is like. The BAS has not received an official order from Sandals, but we have supplied them with prices and they’ve promised to get back to us . . . There are other significant agricultural producers which have been contacted by Sandals . . . We have now to contact them to determine what the response is,” Paul added.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/02/03/in-the-dark/

29. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

after reading your posted James Paul statement, all I can say us OH Dear, OH DEAR. When will these people get it together? Open almost a week and supposedly full with a potential 560 guests and NO order yet?

It has to be a joke!

30. The decline of our agricultural industry is intentional. Those responsible for this decline are the government (past and present), landowners (who leave their land fallow) and a farming community who lack the imagination to evolve.

Adrian, I believe that this collusion between the government and Sandals represents a paradigm shift in Barbados agricultural policy and her governance. This government believes in “laissez-faire”; and at the same time is happy to offer financial incentives to attract foreign companies to Barbados. Once these foreign companies are installed in Barbados they are given “carte blanche” to cherry pick the best of Barbados.

Adrian, I know that your sector lies in tourism. However you should be more transparent with the real problems facing Barbados. We have a monumental problem in Barbados – and it is called corruption.

Unless we remove every vestige of our corrupt political system, I can see no future for Barbados.

The article below details the problems that we face in Barbados are not unique.
    http://www.theguardian.com/global-development/2015/feb/02/africa-tax-avoidance-money-laundering-illicit-financial-flows

31. @ Exclaimer
    Unless we remove every vestige of our corrupt political system, I can see no future for Barbados.
    Well said.
    You also explained the value that Caswell holds for any future for Barbados.

Who else is publicly committed to such a goal, AND have the balls to articulate AND to stand up for such a vision….?

32. Going to the grocery store in Barbados is like going to see a carnival freak show. I haven’t seen so many misshapen vegetables since AC posted her family tree. I am probably spoiled with the quality and variety of the fruits and vegetables back home but I am the type of tourist you get very demanding till drunk. I don’t like to see black spots on my tomatoes, brown on my lettuce, or carrots that look like a ginseng root. I had never seen eggs before when they are boiled have 3 separate layers. If Barbados is going to supply these hotels they are going to have to step up the quality and variety we tourists demand it. Although since our dollar has dropped 20 % recently which usually makes us less uppity.

33. In Googling Sam Lords Castle, the following is the second link

http://www.barbados.org/samlords.htm#.VMukpVoaXu1

Sam Lord’s Castle

Photo of the beautiful Georgian mansion n its glory days is in barbados..org piece.

Located in the parish of St.Philip, Sam Lord’s Castle was a beautiful Georgian mansion built in 1820 by the notorious buccaneer Samuel Hall Lord, known as ‘Sam Lord’.

Legend has it that Sam Lord acquired his wealth by plundering ships, which he lured onto the reefs off the coast, by hanging lanterns in the coconut trees. Captains mistook these lights for Bridgetown and wrecked their ships on the reefs.

Read about Sam Lord and the other pirates of the Caribbean who called Barbados home!

The property was run as an exquisite hotel for many years but unfortunately it was consumed by fire in 2010 and is currently closed.

The beach at Sam Lord’s Castle is a beautifully secluded one that is perfect for picnics and just relaxing. The sea in the area is quite strong and has underlying currents, so swimming is not recommended.

Methinks it is time for Barbados.org to do an update.

When you click the link Read about Sam Lord and the other pirates of the Caribbean who called Barbados home! you are taken to page that includes headings for Stede Bonnett and Modern day pirates.

This could also do with an update.

Stede Bonnett is described as follows:

“Known as the pirate gentleman, Stede Bonnet became one of the pirates of the Caribbean in a most unusual way!

A retired British army major and well off plantation owner in Barbados, the middle aged Major Stede Bonnet suddenly turned to piracy in early 1717 and actually purchased his own pirate ship, an unheard of act among the pirates of the Caribbean!

Bonnet sailed his pirate ship “Revenge” off the New England Coast, capturing and burning several ships, before returning to the Caribbean. Here he befriended perhaps the most famous of the pirates of the Caribbean – Blackbeard!
    The friendship quickly changed as Blackbeard took over Bonnet’s ship before the ‘pirate gentleman’ once again took charge.

This unusual Caribbean pirate was eventually captured and sentenced to death. He was hung for piracy at the end of 1718.

Under Modern day pirates Barbados.org could add.

Gordon “Butch” Stewart

Seen by the Government of Barbados as the savior of the Barbados tourism industry “Butch” Stewart, a Jamaican businessman, became one of the Pirates of the Caribbean in a shrewd way.

Originally an appliance salesman, Stewart supplied kitchen appliances and air conditioners to a government-owned, “all-inclusive” resort in Ocho Rios. Stewart then purchased an old hotel on one of Montego Bay’s largest beaches, despite having no hotel experience.

In 1981, Butch Stewart founded Sandals Resorts International, to operate his “all-inclusive” tourism properties in Jamaica. He subsequently expanded his “all-inclusive” empire beyond Jamaica to other Caribbean islands including, The Bahamas, Saint Lucia, Antigua, Turks & Caicos, and Grenada.
    “Butch” was the man credited with “saving the Jamaican dollar” in 1992. When the dollar began to slide leaving Jamaica in a dismal economic state, he came up with his “Butch Stewart Initiative”, which pledged a consistent flow of US$ earnings to check the depletion of hard currency in the official banking system. Jamaicans joined him in his patriotic efforts with the result that the dollar was made stable and confidence returned to the Jamaican economy.

In 2013, Following years of declining tourist arrivals, the Barbados economy was in a dismal economic state; foreign exchange reserves were being depleted and the Barbados Government was desperate to avoid having to devalue the Barbados Dollar which was pegged to the US Dollar.

In the hope that “Butch” could be “the man to save the Barbados Dollar” the Barbados Government turned to “Butch”

In 2013, the Government of Barbados agreed to purchase, through Barbados Tourism Investment Inc.(BTII), Almond Beach Village Resort, one of the largest tourism properties on the Island; which, along with two other Almond properties, had been closed by its Trinidadian owners, .

BTII was instructed to work with Sandals Resort International “to have a Sandals Beaches Resort in Barbados within three to four weeks”. BTII determined that Sandals be given the nod to operate and manage a rebuilt Almond Village under the Beaches brand, with an option to purchase the property at a future date.

Having been unsuccessful in an earlier attempt to gain a foothold in Barbados, “Butch” was anxious to take advantage of the opportunity to extract a deal from the desperate Government to expand his Caribbean empire to include Barbados.

With the much stronger negotiating position, “Butch” who was reported to have a worth of $1 billion, used his vaunted “Marketing Might” to obtain concessions from the Government previously unheard of; various tax concessions for 40 years.

Those 40 years of concessions had a value of far greater than the treasures plundered of Sam Lord and Stede Bonnett combined.

“Butch” agreed to assume another former Almond property, Casuarina; and after investing $65 million to renovate and upgrade the 280 room Casuarina property; and, in January 2015, rebranded and reopened the Casuarina property as Sandals Barbados.

Having plundered Barbados for 40 years of concessions, Gordon “Butch” Stewart is the true Modern Caribbean Pirate; but fortunately for him will not be sentenced to death and hung for piracy.

34. Stede Bonnet another well off bajan wanting off the island…. I think the DLP was in power then to.

35. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (make no riot)

36. Before there was a Sandals brand govts have always extended concessions to the Tourism industry with the hope of seeing gains which will benefit the agriculture industry long term with a major bulk of the support for local products being generated by the Hotel industry. The fact being that the farmers dilemna and or lucklustre support for local produce has resonated no matter which govt has been. in power.Yes there might be impediments and challenges which the local farmer must take control and managed in the areas of food supply and demand.However when all is said and done the relevant force of customer support is equally and important to the farmer survival
    So far the Hotel industry has fallen short in this area to deliver but have made and acheived major strides in demanding over the years.
    The plight of the poor farmer should not be solely placed at the feet of govt/s but those who have been granted or given plenty in hope that there will be commitment of enthusiasim in putting country First.

37. Barbados is a serious predicament despite what the officials are staying about this winder season. It is a fact that foreign exchange is very hard to come by, for both private sector and government agencies/departments. In fact it is being rumoured that the Governor of the Central Bank himself has given out an edict to DELAY AND FRUSTRATE AS MANY APPLICATIONS FOR FOREIGN EXCHANGE between now and the March 31st, 2015.

38. Grace

This is from the article “Philanthropy and Preservation: Lessons from the UK Things That Matter By Sir Henry Fraser” in the February 1 edition of the Advocate

“Lots of Bouquets this week; first to the Prime Minister for stating loudly, clearly, and hopefully putting to rest foolish talk about a possible devaluation. It’s a “no brainer” now, that devaluation, which destroyed the economies of Jamaica and Guyana, makes no sense. The problem is, I suspect, that just as devaluation was accelerated by Jamaican businessmen keeping their profits in the USA, some of our own less-than-patriotic businessmen may have been keeping foreign earnings in the USA out of fear … contributing to the dramatic downturn of 2012”.

Surely “Butch” will be keeping Sandals Barbados’ foreign earnings in the USA out of fear … contributing to a dramatic downturn of 2015

39. James Paul was on CBC news last night crying crocodile tears over the murder of one of his constituents,and demanding justice, after voting in Parliament last week for the abolition of the death penalty.

40. One thing about the death penalty…you never have to worry about them doing killing again

41. Due Diligence February 3, 2015 at 8:20 AM #

Legend has it that Sam Lord acquired his wealth by plundering ships, which he lured onto the reefs off the coast, by hanging lanterns in the coconut trees. Captains mistook these lights for Bridgetown and wrecked their ships on the reefs..
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Perhaps these are the lights which the Captain of SS Barbados keeps telling us that he is seeing at the end of the tunnel.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy February 3, 2015 at 5:21 PM
    ” Perhaps these are the lights which the Captain of SS Barbados keeps telling us that he is seeing at the end of the tunnel.”

Colonel B, you really do have a wicked sense of humour!

43. millertheanunnaki

Wicked indeed.

Luv it

44. the seriousness of this discussion and the plight of the farmers as they look to the hotel industry in helping to maintain and sustain its survival through their support carries with it a moral and ethical persuasion that having being missing a moral code necessary to ‘make happen” promises made over the years by both sides
    Adriens article as usual always leap forward in making conclusion before looking back.

45. Lawson February 3, 2015 at 8:12 AM #

Going to the grocery store in Barbados is like going to see a carnival freak show. I haven’t seen so many misshapen vegetables since AC posted her family tree. I am probably spoiled with the quality and variety of the fruits and vegetables back home but I am the type of tourist you get very demanding till drunk. I don’t like to see black spots on my tomatoes, brown on my lettuce, or carrots that look like a ginseng root.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Where have we gone wrong in terms of agriculture? I am not even going to touch yet on the farmers of yesteryear, but every year at the Annual Industrial and Agricultural Exhibition,it was mostly the schools which hogged most of prizes especially for vegetables.Some of the biggest carrots that I ‘ve ever seen were produced by Southborough Boys School (Clifton Hill).Today we are importing similar size carrots from Canada, and as Lawson quite rightly put it , locally produced carrots are more like ginseng roots. We are also importing tomatoes. Either our soil in Barbados has become worn and tired, or we are getting inferior vegetable seeds from our overseas suppliers, or maybe our farmers have not got the knack of all of those small vegetable farmers, like my father and those others down in Goodland and Blackrock, who produced vegetables that would have rivaled anything that we import today.
    But looking at some of the local carrot fields, it would appear as if the system of “singling out” has been abandoned.

46. Col I am sure you are doing hydroponics on the island but I saw a clip on the news the other day about a couple of fellas growing salad and herbs vertically, they supplied the local restaurants and stores and seemed to be making a good living,

47. Colonel Buggy February 3, 2015 at 10:29 PM #

Where have we gone wrong in terms of agriculture?

…………………………………………………………………….

In the 60’s we abandoned our true and tried cultivation methods of local produce developed over centuries here,for inferior products out of the north purchased with our new found dollars in order for our merchants to get richer.

Not rocket science

Note blemished fruit and veg. are just as nutritional as the other

48. In the last few years a vegetable farm complex was set up at Strong Hope Plantation lands , utilising greenhouses and from all indications seemed to have been flourishing, in both ways. This establishment is now closed,and one wonders why?
    Lets hope that taking these lands out of agriculture,is not a prerequisite , to developing the lands for housing, given the fact that the surrounding areas of Mount Wilton , Clifton , Walkes Spring , parts of Strong Hope,and even the Russia Gully , have now become exclusive residential areas.

49. say whatever one likes about Butch Stewart he stands for commitment, it is a long time and coming that a hotelier faced the media and gave his word of committing to purchase food from the agriculture sector without forwarding a negative criticism about the local farmers,
    hopefully the farmer will live up to their end as this might be a new adventure and an opportunity whereby they can once and for all prove that they have the ability as well as the management style to deliver,
    there has been plenty pressure coming from both sides towards the govt now it is totally up to both sides to live up to their end of the bargain as the govt has done all it can do to satisfy

BTW congratulations to crane beach barbados for making the top of the list Best Caribbean Beach YES NO 1

50. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

‘Barbados looks to Jamaica to ease egg shortage’ – Jamaica Gleaner – 5th February 2015.

Mr James Paul in negotiations with Jamaica to import 300,000 eggs.

Surprise! Suprprise!