Hardly a week seems to go by without one or two prominent figures calling for, or in some cases demanding, more use of local produce by our tourism industry and especially restaurants. First, I absolutely and totally support this objective but I wonder if the energy expended in trying to make this happen is entirely well placed or in fact truly balanced.

Some time ago the dairy farmers were complaining about being forced to accept lower prices and reduced quotas, the virtual monopoly milk processing entity unilaterally stopped making yogurts locally, pretty much a basic serving menu article in most hotels and alternative accommodation offerings. No-one can convince me that it is cheaper to bring in a foreign made refrigerated alternative across 6,000 or more miles by road and ship and for the wholesale distributors to always disperse them within the stated sell by date. There has to be waste and spoilage.

I also understand the economics of mass branded cheeses like Cheddar, but surely there are specialty items that can be made locally like double cream, feta and cottage cheese which are largely imported with a huge drain of foreign currency.

Staying with dairy produce, is it really cheaper or more desirable to bring in New Zealand milk powder from up to 12,000 miles away when you include trans shipping to make a ‘local’ ice cream?

Next is the problem of supply and demand. After decades of having tourism as our biggest single industry, we still appear to be struggling to get this scenario right, even when again it’s down to basic everyday consumer items like eggs, chicken and turkey breasts and others. Let alone the variety of vegetables that visitors from our markets take for granted, but when on-island find it difficult to comprehend that with our fertile land, sun and rain cannot obtain everyday produce on a consistent basis.

It will also be interesting to see exactly what is sourced and purchased locally when Sandals re-open after being granted unparalleled concessions, which the entire rest of the sector is still fighting for and yet to receive 15 months later. Feeding what has been described as a full hotel with up to 560 guests eating at least three meals a day present massive logistical challenges, so I hope that our agricultural sector can rise to the task. Otherwise the regular tirades condemning the remaining hospitality partners may appear to just have been window dressing aimed at the general populous, who may not fully understand the workings and difficulties presenting tourism here.

Perhaps the representative of the most vocal body who according to a political website has ‘devoted much of his time to looking after the interests of the farming community’ can report back to the people to at least re-assure us that the taxpayers ‘investment’ is reaping real rewards for his followers.

Ultimately, we all have to champion food security and conserve increasingly valuable foreign exchange and just maybe Sandals, might help persuade Pine Hill to think again about those yogurts and specialty milk products.

107 responses to “Producing Local Food to Feed Tourists–Can We Do It?”

1. @Adrian

After these guys at the BAS kept so much noise to have an MOU with Sandals they can’t meet local demand?

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20150205/news/news1.html

2. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, the much quoted phrase ‘lip service’ seems to come to mind.

3. no lip service here bajans step up to the plate and said Yes to putting Barbados first Crane Beach Barbados no.1 eat yuh heart out haters

http://img1.10bestmedia.com/Images/Photos/301230/Crane-40_54_990x660.jpg

4. another beautiful beach made by the DLP, lol

5. AS for lip service one should take a backward glance in the mirror and see a reflection of many unstoppable moving lips in the hotel industry that made promises to govts that were never kept, yes this is new and uncharted waters of commitment brought to the table by Butch Stewart one that was neverbeen fully tested because of uncommitted attitudes and practices by some in the hotel industry and acting out on impluse and placing blame
    the agriculture industry has a lot of catching up to do and it is going to take a lot of hard work and good management on their part not to disappoint,
    All eyes going to be on both sides but so far the Sandals brand has been forthright and upfront and committed in saying what they expected ,

6. @Adrian

If the Barbados Agricultural Society is having problems supplying eggs what does it say? What is the problem at source? Are we hearing anything?

7. good mawning lawson.
    uh just another bean counting spiteful hater out of the blp bag of rubbish ,guh long do,centipede

8. Haven.t heard Butch mention any problems about not receiving adequate supply from any one in the private sector it has been almost a year that other entities that were acquired by sandals have been up and running without any level of disruption due in part because of inadequacies brought about any of our local producers none whatsoever,
    however one can expect a high level of noise from the doom and gloomers as there expectation for failure towards this country is at level red, a grade usually given to terrorist activity ,

9. @Adrian

Om another note the ATR72 that which crashed yesterday have caused the others to be grounded. LIAT uses ATRs right?

10. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Yes David, I think that they are aiming to have an all ATR fleet shortly. The last of the Dash 8’s is being phased out.

11. Good morning AC It must be sunny in Barbados at the Black Rock hospital today for you to be up so early. How are things at the home. My son and his friends flew in yesterday for a week before going to Trinidad. See we love Barbados not hate it that is why we hold it to a higher standard than the rest of the Caribbean because it is capable of doing so.You and your ilk have set the bar so low that any and all minor achievements seem like earth shattering news. Have you not realized the reason that you are in that hospital in the first place is you think you are one of Mr Stewarts testicles. Give all the hotel owners the same playing field and you wont have to go abroad to find a tourism savior.

12. the bar ,,,wuh u need is a good bar of soap and an attitude adjustment, cause the playing field you playing on covered with garbage, Btw enjoy yuh time in barbados and suck up all the sunshine yuh could get cause it gonna come in fuh good use when yuh go back to that dreaded ice box up north,

13. dreaded icebox back home?????? no she is with me

14. @lawson

If all Trinidadians were encouraged to vote for the horrible Maracus Beach what would have been the result?

15. here comes the notorious BU naysayers .pity the fools.

16. David exactly …lucky china isn’t in the Caribbean lol

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ lawson February 5, 2015 at 6:19 AM #
    “.. another beautiful beach made by the DLP, lol”

Lawson your wit is just as beautiful as the Crane beach created by Nature in God’s twinkling eye of 7 years.
    The jackass(es) of ac(s) want us to believe that Beautiful Barbados is a 7 year old child. Pity the child is still in diapers when it comes to garbage collection and disposal and the maintenance of its environment to promote public hygiene.

Barbados was once a well-kept and orderly country capable of rivaling Bermuda and Malta. I remember when the South Coast from Hastings to St. Lawrence was a strip of astonishing attraction rivaling many a place on the Mediterranean tourist belt.

18. Yeah . The number 1 beach in the Caribbean ! What a pity that we have to bypass number 2 in order to get there.

19. @Adrian

Did you read the Sandals article in the Nation today? The one with Paul next to Butch with the body language, ‘where is the first purchase order of local produce’? Butch was smoothed and promised to deliver soon.

20. one thing you would never get from the sandals brand is a lack of commitment sandals have already tested the waters and knows what to expect ,
    Sandals already uses goods from Pine Hill Dairy, Chickmont Foods, Banks and these entities already have established a good relationship with Sandals.

21. ac February 5, 2015 at 8:23 PM #

Sandals already uses goods from Pine Hill Dairy, Chickmont Foods, Banks and these entities already have established a good relationship with Sandals
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    I wish that the Government owned and controlled CBC TV was as committed as Sandals , in establishing a good relationship with Banks,instead of bragging abouts its vast following ,local, regional and worldwide of its popular “Q in the Community” programme, which promotes a brand of beer, other than the locally brewed Banks.

22. colonel

the issue concerns the moral duty of hoteliers committing themselves to buying local product,
    the adversting dollar is what paid the bills in the case of cbc

23. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, I am sure that Sandals will buy some local products, but at what level?
    Even at a miniscule spending of $10 per guest per day thats $40,600 a week
    so let Mr Paul confirm that this is happening.

When open, our average LOCAL spend per day was around $40 per person for food and beverage.

24. @Adrian

Given the situation with local producers having to import eggs one wonders if the BAS (local producers) will be able to supply Sandals with consistent quality and volumes.

25. what is happening and has been confirmed is that sandals is buying local products a first grade level of commitment unprecedented and unheard of in the tourism industry in barbados. Adrien why don,t you pen an article detailing how much dollars spent annually in the past that the farmers have generated from the support of hoteliers purchasing local producers instead of getting up so early in the morning throwing cold water over what is more likely to happen,

26. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

ac,

if you actually ready Mr Paul’s statement you will see that Sandals have asked for prices but not actually placed any significant orders. Please feel free to post some evidence if this is not right.

27. just like fingall said that light colored people resulted because their ancestors were taken by the slave master. Which follows that ones that weren’t taken were not as pretty. So carrying his thought a little further if the rich at sandals and sandy lane have there way with our vegetable children you and I will be left with ginseng carrots, multi eyed tubers, onions that no-one will cry for , and the local razor blade lettuce that is more akin to barbed wire than food. Yes sandals may be good for Barbados…..but at what cost mr fingall….lets march

28. In all respect to your answer Adrien what you say is no in dispute by Sandals at this point and time . Apparently both sides are still in the early stages of negotiations and ironing out details, however what i am gathering from some comments here is a mindset that all that is being transpired between butch and the BAS might be for naught, and it seemed to me that such a response might just be a bit too early to concede as an outcome

29. lawson February 5, 2015 at 2:51 PM #

..…lucky china isn’t in the Caribbean lol

But, China is in the Caribbean

The following is from a January 30 article ”Chinese Connection” in the Advocate.

“While most Barbadians may only be slightly aware of the magnitude of the change that the emergence of China as a global power implies, it has touched our lives in a number of ways.

And according to Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados, Dr. DeLisle Worrell as he spoke at the press launch of the Fish and Dragon Festival, Barbados and the Caribbean can benefit from our interactions with the People’s Republic of China.

“We do know of the Chinese interest in direct investment in the Caribbean; it is substantial and it is to be welcomed because it benefits both sides. Barbados and the Caribbean benefits from the increase in our capacity to produce goods and services and the associated employment. China, for its part, is in search of opportunities to diversify foreign investment work portfolios,” Dr Worrell said.

“I’ve only recently been sensitised to the extent of online commerce with China and the in-built features that facilitate that commerce. The Chinese Embassy… the Barbados China Friendship Association and other groups and individuals have provided us with glimpses into China’s rich, ancient and modernising culture…” he noted.

“The Confucius Institute is about to get going, we see reports submitted to China and articles on the experiences of Barbadians living there. What all this makes us realise is that a whole new world has emerged with China as its hub and we are feeling the swells reaching us, even at this far distance. This has whetted the appetite of many and there is growing interest and curiosity about the possibility for networking, exchanges, travel, culture, entertainment, sports, commerce, conferences and all the many ways our society’s might interact.”

Indeed most Barbadians are only be slightly aware of the magnitude of the change that the emergence of China as Barbados’ largest source of FDI will touch their lives and those of their children and grand-children in the years ahead.

The following is from a February 3 article “Shake loose! – Stop clinging to colonial ties, says ‘Gabby’’ in the Advocate.

“ONE Cultural Ambassador is of the opinion that some of the colonial ties which continue between Barbados and the United Kingdom need to be severed.

Placing great emphasis on the existence of colonialism in the island’s schools especially, yesterday in an interview with The Barbados Advocate, Dr. Anthony ‘Mighty Gabby’ Carter called for an end to such.

He said, “I grew up under colonialism and neo-colonialism, and I always felt that of all the Caribbean islands, Barbados is the most conservative, the most British-oriented, the most colonial clinging, independent state I have ever come across.

“It is because Barbados was not just a slave place, Barbados was the Headquarters for slavery in our area. And so a lot of these colonial thoughts have still continued to permeate our society.”

Gabby should be more concerned with implementation at UWI of the Confucius Institute, which is one of the propaganda vehicles of Government of China that is being used in China’s modern day colonization of Barbados, and many other countries.

The Confucius Institute has been kicked out of schools and universities in Canada and the USA.

Instead of singing about stopping Government Boots, Gabby should start signing about stopping the creeping “LEFT-RIGHT” China colonization that is becoming MASSIVE. Gabby has to make it clear to Jack, or Freundel, or whoever, that DA BEACH IS OURS before DEM give the 166 square miles to China in exchange all the loans they getting from China.

As Barbados’ Cultural Ambassador, Gabby could start at The Fish and Dragon Festival, using the theme “In the Spirit of Friendship”, and no doubt being funded by China, that has the appearance of a Chinese propaganda vehicle as the Dragon will slowly swallow the Fish, in its creeping colonization of Barbados.

30. It is harsh to be severely critical of Sandals, after all it is a work in progress. Of course the guests will have their say.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g666621-d4187495-Reviews-Sandals_Barbados-St_Lawrence_Gap_Christ_Church_Parish_Barbados.html#REVIEWS

31. PM Stuart addressing the Frequent Visitors to Barbados , who incidentally get to see and hear more of him than the average Bajan

” Go unto the highways and byways and spread the gospel that the Almighty decreed that you should savour a slice of paradise,and that paradise is Barbados.

32. sandals a work in progress don’t make me laugh! , do you know of any other carribbean hotel chain owned by one of it.s own, is well known !established internationally ! and has already proved its capabilities world wide,Sandals has nothing more to prove ! one or two negative reviews cannot and wiil not hampered or change the majority of positive opinions of the Sandal brand ,don;t hold yuh breathe thinking that negative reviews would cause a major downward slide to the sandals brand, silly uh needs to stop beating a dead horse ,Sandals is on top and will remain on top .

33. ac February 5, 2015 at 11:55 PM #

colonel

the issue concerns the moral duty of hoteliers committing themselves to buying local product,
    the adversting dollar is what paid the bills in the case of cbc

It goes more than just paying CBC’s bills. If the tens of thousands who happened to watch CBC’s Q in the Community, ever happen to come to Barbados which brand of Beer do you think that they will buy. Then we, tongue in cheek , ever so often, try to ram the Buy Local or Buy Bajan concept down our throats,when the same Government itself is not doing what it advises its people to do.
    This is the same situation which obtained with Acme manufactured mini buses. Interested operators in neighbouring islands, were skeptical in investing in ACME mini buses, when the Barbados Government controlled Transport Board was , at that time ,showing no interest in acquiring Acme mini buses,which have stood , and is still standing, the test of time.

34. colonel you still insisting on gripping about the free market enterprise system way of governance, now i believe it would be Banks beer call to determine where it wants to spend its advertising dollar and not the opposite way around, yuh need to take off your political lenses and clean them i believe they might have dropped too many times in a of pile of garbage,

35. It never ceases to amaze me that Government has the resources to keep track of those visitors who have visited 40-50-60 times, and knows when they arrive and where they staying so they can invite scores of them to schmooze with the PM at Ilaro Court; but that same Government does not have the resources to pay retrenched workers, and…., and….., and………..

The very least they could do is to stop inviting the press to attend and report on these soirees, and stop rubbing it in the noses of those unemployed and other ordinary Bajans who have to scrape to put food on the table.

36. O>K DD nothing to worry about ac will pass the message on to MIA maybe just maybe she can organize a protest march or ! OR! boycott parliament against, the PM schmoozing parties! how is that for some over ripe breadfruits,

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy February 6, 2015 at 8:49 PM
    “If the tens of thousands who happened to watch CBC’s Q in the Community, ever happen to come to Barbados which brand of Beer do you think that they will buy. Then we, tongue in cheek , ever so often, try to ram the Buy Local or Buy Bajan concept down our throats,when the same Government itself is not doing what it advises its people to do.”

So true!
    What beer do the Brits call for in Barbados? Only shows the hypocrisy of these Mother F***kers with stink mout Donville Inniss being the biggest of them all.

38. miller seems like u have one or two many banks question does the govt of barbados own Banks Brewery, Can or should the govt tell the directors or Board members how ! who! and where they should spend their advertising dollar, Should the govt promote all local products regardless as to whether they pay for advertising at CBC TV,
    BTW maybe u can get Mia to bring this issue in the next house sitting, under the heading ‘BAD GOVT”

39. ac February 6, 2015 at 9:43 PM #

BTW maybe u can get Mia to bring this issue in the next house sitting, under the
    ………………………………………………………………………………….
    Perhaps, Godmother or not, we should get Mia to raise the question of $millions that have gone into the late PM’s Estate.

40. From the PM’s welcoming file
    “It matters to us that you are comfortable when you come to Barbados,and that we will continue to use our best endeavours to ensure that not only we preserve what we have,but we build on it and make it better.
    ………………………………………………………..
    Yea a la Bridgetown and the Garrison Heritage sites, and Tyrol Cot.

41. colonel so, o.k. again i will pass the message to mia i think will be another reason to stage a boycott,

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac February 6, 2015 at 9:43 PM

Well stop the shite talk about 100 % Bajan and buy local.

Go and tell James Paul to stop bothering the hotels and keep out of Butch Stewart’s way as he ‘sandalizes’ the place. Are you the same idiot that was praising Sandals for buying local agricultural products?

You the hypocritical jackass who still want us to vote for the Crane beach instead of Grand Anse or some other beach in Antigua. It’s a pity St. Lucia is not so well blessed or you would have sent down a volcano of vacuous vilification on poor Adrian Loveridge.

43. Barbados should allow Hotels to import food for the tourists……..

and subsidize and encourage local food production so Bajans will eat good quality food.

Food security should be a priority.

44. From the PM’s Book of Fairly Tales, 3rd Edition
    This one is a howler. Sounds more like a piece from the lips of the court jester Dennis Kellman

“We have determined that if we set high standards for us , and we make Barbados a congenial place for ourselves,when you come here you will find our charm irresistible; and so far that has been working. SO DO NOT EXPECT US TO CHANGE IT.”

45. Hants February 6, 2015 at 10:21 PM #

Barbados should allow Hotels to import food for the tourists……..

and subsidize and encourage local food production so Bajans will eat good quality food.

Food security should be a priority.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Perhaps others could add to this list of imported vegetables that are routinely found on almost every supermarket shelf in Barbados.
    Carrots
    Tomatoes
    Broccili
    Cauliflower
    Leek
    Eddoes
    Ginger
    Irish/Idaho/ English potatoes
    Onions

46. That brings tears to my eyes

47. How many times must you hear that we can be 90% self sufficient ,by virtue of of Green houses and solar power…..chuckle…..I know …..somebody from over and away must tell you……..nothing changes.

48. very impressive