Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur has weighed in with his opinion how the Michael Carrington matter must be resolved. He has suggested the Disciplinary Committee of the Bar Association apply its Code of Ethics to censure the Speaker of the House. Also he opined that the political stock of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) government will be dented by the saga and the Prime Minister should also intervene. He does NOT agree with the position taken by the Opposition to boycott parliament, no surprise there. As far as he is concerned Carrington has broken no rules of the House therefore the Committee of Privileges will have no choice to return a ‘not guilty’ decision.

There is a lot to untangle from the Carrington matter which is moral, political and legal in makeup. What we know is that the Speaker of the House has been ordered by the High Court of Barbados to pay $200,000 plus to a wheelchair bound client; money he has withheld for years. All sane persons agree this is wrong morally, it is wrong legally based on the court order and the noise of public opinion ensures that it will have legal implications for a weak DLP government.

The Opposition has made a decision to boycott parliament because Carrington refuses to recuse himself from the Chair. His defence,  he has not broken any House rules. The Prime Minister, probably advised by constitutional lawyer Hal Gollop, head of the Employment Rights Tribunal and pal, agrees with Carrington’s position. It is obvious Carrington ‘hijacked’ the matter by anticipating the move by the Opposition and Deputy Speaker Mara Thompson was quick to refer the matter to the Committee of Privileges. Many believe the Opposition should have called for a no confidence motion forgetting the Opposition had no control over the matter being referred to Committee. It is true however that by asking for Carrington to recuse himself the Opposition appears to be allowing the matter to play out in Committee. Do we anticipate the Opposition will bring a motion of no confidence if and when the matter is heard by the Committee? What happens in the period until the ruling is made?

BU supports the action of the Opposition. It has a duty to represent the interest of Barbadians and if boycotting and holding public meetings to highlight the wrong perpetrated by Carrington on an 80 year old man is what is required to galvanize Bajans,  so be it. Let Arthur and Stuart defend the sacred rules of the House in the face of an obvious wrong. The highest court in the land must stand for justice in the eyes of the people it serves.

Barbados practices a flavour of Westminster government largely constructed on a bed of conventions. Elsewhere members of parliament have resigned from parliament for a lot less to avoid bringing shame and disgrace to the highest court in the land. Because the Stuart led government defends a two seat majority in the house he is forced, ALWAYS, to distil and act on all issues with only political considerations. This is not about Carrington and whether is has broken any House rules, it is about making sure the DLP can still govern.

The government should have a vested interest in ensuring the Speaker is supported by the Opposition. Continue to make laws in a parliament where the Opposition is absent yet tell the world what a wonderful system of democracy we have.

The inadequacy of our system of government is being exposed by this matter!

264 responses to “The Michael Carrington Watch–Governance Crisis”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

By now, everyone knows that Owen Arthur and I are at one on this issue. I have said from the beginning that Carrington’s matter has no place before the Committee of Privileges. The Opposition should have brought a motion of no confidence against the Speaker from the beginning. The Opposition was outfoxed in the handling of this matter. Mind you, some might say that they were not, that this is exactly what they were hoping to do. They have gotten an opportunity to keep a lot of noise for public consumption that would serve them in good stead when an election is called down the road.

This issue if handled correctly could bring about the demise of the Government and that might be the last thing the Opposition wants at this time. Their attitude seem to be, the Dems created this mess, let them clean it up and the we will take over after. That stupid tactic could very well come back to haunt them if the economy turns around. Barbadians have short memories and might forgive the DLP Government if things turn around.

2. Do we anticipate the Opposition will bring a motion of no confidence if and when the matter is heard by the Committee? What happens in the period until the ruling is made?

Like everything else timing is of essence. I do believe such is the ploy. Mia is going to wring out this till the end to inflict the most damage. Question is if the no confidence motion achieves zip what next?……real egg pon faces boi.

Owen why don’t you just ride off into the sunset and let MAM lead the BLP.All you are doing now is just spitting up in the air. You have resigned and we love you for it. Bye Bye now. JUST LEFT !!!

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Onions

A no confidence motion would imperil the future political prospects of any member on the Government side that supports Carrington’s conduct. They would essentially be saying that they see nothing wrong with his behaviour. They can’t win this where it matters to politicians – in the court of public opinion.

4. I’m not a supporter of Owen. However having listened to his interview in The Nation, I have to admit to being dumbstruck by the clarity of his words and his statesman like delivery with reference to the Carrington affair.

Mia comes across as volatile and aggressive; whereas Stuart comes across as the invisible man. Sadly for Barbados we have in place two party leaders who are both clearly unfit to lead their respective parties.

As for Owen – perhaps the “old man” still has a role to play in our domestic politics.

5. @ Exclaimer January 29, 2015 at 7:36 AM
    Well said.
    At least he sounds coherent….
    In fact, if Owen would renounce the CSME shiite; reverse his penchant to sell off Barbados to foreigners; apologize for the cheque business and promise to cuss even more public servants at 2.00 a.m. on mornings Bushie willing to dun wid Caswell and throw political support behind him…. 🙂

6. Codename Octopussy Avatar
    Codename Octopussy

To Caswell

who referred the matter to the Committee ?

Errol Barrow saw and understood the need for education, something that White slave- owners denied blacks.
    It is a pity that blacks in this country can sell their souls to a political party and politicians by defending and justifying wrong doing because they have sworn some sort of allegiance to a group of people called a political party and so they can not go against their man or men/women and have to defend them regardless of how much wrong is committed. Utter Rubbish ! We should have past that phase long long time ago . Because of our mendicancy , we are prone to shut up and say nothing or defend crap when a man is wrong. Foolishness ! This is not what Education of the masses is about. Certainly not ! If a group of people get together and call themselves a political party, which I understand is not a legal entity in Barbados anyhow, they win an election and form a Government, they do nonsense they should be dealt with accordingly: criticism, protests and demands for right to be done should be the order of the day. Accountability should be paramount. Integrity Legislation should be demanded and wrong doers punished. Where are we going as a people when we allow a group arrogant sons of bitches to hijack morality, integrity, decency, honesty and good values ?

7. @Bush Tea

It aint gine happen so stick to BBE…:-)

8. Codename Octopussy Avatar
    Codename Octopussy

Owen is no OLD MAN
    SAUDI ARABIA JUST SELECT/ELECT A MAN THAT IS NEARLY 100 YEARS OLD TO RUN THINGS

9. LOL @Enuff

Boss, there is no question of Bushie “sticking with BBE”…

Just offering wunna some advice on how best to rearrange the chairs on the deck of HMS Barbados… LOL

Bushie just malicious so…
    ..plus the whacker gotta whack…

10. Why should we have entertain the expectation that Mia should use the malfeasance of the Speaker of the House Michael Carrington to bring down the government? Mia and the Opposition is leveraging her role as the Opposition to reflect the public outrage of a Speaker of the House being allowed to desecrate the highest court in the land. Give her a chance to play her strategy. At the same time Arthur has a point that NGOs et al have a role to play as well.

11. BUNCH – A- CLOAKS and misleaders…….Think Owen foolish nah….cud laud…to mekk a come back…but come back where ..to whom? Ever hear bout a HAS-BEEN?…but there a gain ole age can swell ya head BIG BIG…LOL

12. David, you made interesting and also somewhat contradictory points here.

As the former PM has said and so too – from day 1- Caswell: the matter going before the Committee of Privilege was not the right procedural move.

If that is accepted as factually accurate then it seems that you are suggesting that the house should forcefully institute some action that contravenes their procedural conventions to resolve this mere tempest in a teapot matter. WHY?

You state: ” Let Arthur and Stuart defend the sacred rules of the House in the face of an obvious wrong.”

An obvious wrong, sir, that is a private, civil matter that has not yet run the full course of the law.

Why should we step outside of the ‘bed of conventions’ and well-laid rules for this non-life threatening, non-criminal, mildly disturbing matter of monetary malfeasance.

Further, you state: “The highest court in the land must stand for justice in the eyes of the people it serves.”

That sir, is also very true and for that reason we expect the actors in that court to use wisely the conventions. We do not expect them to act ultra vires the rules.

Therein is the apparent contradiction.

On another point, you say: “The inadequacy of our system of government is being exposed by this matter”.

Again, I agree and echo Caswell’s basic position that it is being exposed by the inadequate strategy of the opposition.

They have been elected to, among other things, keep the government in balance in Parliament (as best as oppositions can) so in my view they are abrogating that sacred responsibility by absenting themselves from the people’s chamber over THIS matter.

To leave all other business outstanding over this matter is absolutely a flawed ploy.

Caswell described their actions as ‘stupid’; he knows them better than I do.

Like he said and the former PM alluded to, this particular strategy is not useful vis-a-vis proper management of the people’s business; they are merely milking and hoping “this issue could bring about the demise of the Government”.

And then what!!!

13. @ Caswell

Any no confidence motion and D’s misfits will stick together….pensions first remember…

14. @DeeWord

No contradiction if we accept our system of governance is flawed or can be manipulated. Also we have historical inaction of parliamentarians to inform why a disrupting behavior may be tolerated from the Opposition. The House is ruled by a set of conventions/rules many we know are irrelevant to the times. There is no right or wrong approach here if we accept that we have a style of Westminster model hat has been hijacked by a butch of greedy JAs.

15. FROM AN INSANE PERSON

Carrington in his capacity as an attorney withheld money. A Court has ordered it be repaid. Carrington did not object.

Has the matter been referred to (a) the Bar Association and/or (b) the police?

If not, and until the facts are known and not surmised, I am unclear what the ‘morality’ of the situation is on the facts as we know them save that Carrington must repay in accordance with the Order.

Whether his former client is a “wheel-chair bound….80yo man” or a forty legs is, very respectfully to the client, irrelevant.

Owen is right.

16. I read of a similar situation in the Trinidad Express.The difference there is that there have specific laws and institutions to deal with this type of skullduggery.
    I support Caswell’s view that a motion of no confidence is the way to go.
    I recall also that in Tom Adams’s day,he would use a trick which always worked on Dipper and Sleepy. He would create a situation in the House which would guarantee a walkout by the ginger bread DLP opposition,then pass all kinds of bills especially those designed to prop up Caribbean Airways with taxpayers money in the millions,at the same time keeping the public in the dark,unless you got the Official Gazette.
    Back to Trinidad,they have an attorney Lawrence Mahraj,a garrulous Opposition Leader,a strong trade union in the oil belt all combining to raise the temperature of politics in Trinidad.The reaction by Andrew Pilgrim is a good omen.OSA would do well to take him on board,put him in the senate and make him attorney general.OSA ain’t done yet.

17. Nine days have passed and this thing hasn’t gone away!

18. @Gabriel

Why don’t you post the link you mentioned?

Arthur needs to go, he is not healthy. We don’t need another PM to die in office.

19. David
    I will get some guidance on the ‘how’ to post the link

20. BU can played this issue out till kingdom come.However the rule of Law and not one of Lawlessness would remain standing in the way.
    Mia is stuck she has tried to move a mountain with gorilla tactics exemplified by those third world countries that strip citizen of every possibleand guaranteed human rights propelled with misguided conclusion and blind ambition

21. Another one in the news David.

Attorney taken to court……….

22. I hear money gine pay…..doan sweat. Soon.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel January 29, 2015 at 9:15 AM
    “OSA would do well to take him on board, put him in the senate and make him attorney general. OSA ain’t done yet.”

But Archangel, how can OSA do that unless he is PM?
    Do you really feel OSA can form his own party and beat Fumble Stuart in a general election? You really feel the electorate of Barbados will vote for OSA again?
    But then again pigs can fly with mosquito wings.

What has become of his publicly stated promise that he will not be returning to electoral politics after his current term?
    Is he going to run in St. Peter under the banner of his new political party called the OSA Alliance against MAM? Or is he planning to return to the BLP to stage a coup and put its lost soul back together again?
    Another broken promise from a man who once strongly believed a PM should not serve more than 2 terms.

“We grow with years more fragile in body, but morally stouter, and can throw off the chill of a bad conscience almost at once.” ~Logan Pearsall Smith

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags January 29, 2015 at 9:44 AM
    “I hear money gine pay…..doan sweat. Soon.”

And would the sources of these funds be deposited and reported in accordance with the requirements of the Anti-Money Laundering Act?
    Or would we see another violation of the laws by banking authorities, government and law enforcement officials in keeping with Barbados’s new acclaimed status of being a banana republic?

25. Miller
    I believe your second option and something will occur that will give rise(pi) to the tidal wave that will bring in OSA the surfer,sorry saviour.
    No doubt the usurer,a black leprous Ethiopian Jew with blood in his eyes would be the Lazarus bearing the quarter mill at a price to be negotiated.

26. Hants January 29, 2015 at 9:41 AM #

Another one in the news David.

The yard fowls deaf all of a sudden they don’t want to hear you. The question is why is Gregory Nicholls a BLP candidate for St. Michael North borrowing $15,000 from a man on Deacons Road on Election Day? Not only that Deacons Rd is the center of St. Mich North. The question not to mention the answers are pregnant with possibilities none augurs well fror Nicholls, the BLP and definitely not the yardfowls. Carrigton sinned and must pe punished. Nicholls has taken up the baton lets discuss his case. Life in Bimshire sweet never a dull moment. When will we as people learn. If you don’t learn from the past you are destined to make the same mistakes in the future. A luta continua.

27. Nicholls BLP candidate for St. Michael North West not North.

28. @Hants

It appears the money owed has to do with his campaign financing.

This Carrington issue is not going away. The talk show and social media is ablazed

29. My Two cents January 29, 2015 at 10:32 AM # Nicholls BLP candidate for St. Michael North West not North.

Ya see U…..you got so much blood in ya eyes and nincom in ya poop that ya talkin shoite…

So tell muh.. what else you want to bring into this fray to espouse your Honourable friend?…..My friend you bring a thumb tack to save an elephant…..

30. @ My Two cents January 29, 2015 at 10:23 AM #

“The yard fowls deaf all of a sudden they don’t want to hear you. The question is why is Gregory Nicholls a BLP candidate for St. Michael North borrowing $15,000 from a man on Deacons Road on Election Day?”

I hope you are you implying that because BLP candidate Gregory Nicholls is the news for owing a man $15,000 that means Michael Carrington should be immediately exonerated for the deed he did to Griffiths?

If you had actually read and understood the responses to the Carrington affair, contributors were more or less upset that lawyers have been “duping” their clients for years. What was more upsetting was the fact that the lawyer in this case is the Speaker of the House. One who has the title honourable and has performed a dishonourable act, even if it was done in a private capacity. As a consequence, all and sundry has been asking for the Bar Association disciplinary committee to be more active and punish these dishonest lawyers.

Born out of this issue, was the decision by BU to compile a list of ALL dishonest lawyers describing the unscrupulous acts they performed.

Rather than trying to imply, “wunnuh BLPs talk ‘bout Carrington, now look at wuh happen to Nicholls”, perhaps what you could do is add Nicholls’ name to that list.

Yard-fowl, remember, “two wrongs don’t make a right.”

31. are-we-there-yet Avatar

From the glimmerings of a increasingly dotish old man, I don’t get it (that is OSA’s and Caswell’s position).

It seems to me that a no-confidence motion will certainly fail in the same way that a wonted conclusion from the committee of privileges will also fail.

In the interim shouldn’t a message be sent to the speaker that the honourable thing for him to do would be for him to recuse himself from speaker’s seat until the matter is sorted out? Staying there is thumbing his nose (wunnah cud like it or lump it) at overwhelming public opinion that it is inherently dishonourable for a lawyer to refuse to turn over the proceeds of a sale that he is keeping in trust until ordered to do so by a Judge

When the no-confidence motion fails, as it must, would’nt the clear inference be that he was right all along and that he did the right thing to the old man? Would this be in the interest of the legal profession or would it further add to the injuries clients are subjected to by certain members of this profession, fortified that a top member of their class did it with impunity and therefore they could also be justified so to do?

Is’nt the current action by the Opposition designed to keep this matter in the forefront of the consciousness of the Nation and shame the government into doing what is right.

Isn’t OSA giving succour to the Speaker and the Government by downplaying the dishonour to the institution of speaker and the house itself wrought by the actions of the speaker and his support by the PM and instead castigating the actions taken by the Opposition to redeem that honour in furtherance of his campaign against his bete noir?

Is OSA merely paying lip service to the need to ensure that the aggrieved Mr. Griffiths get his monies by implicitly suggesting that the Speaker should be assisted to get monies to defray the debt and not highlighting that he should have the monies to do so in the first place or suffer the consequences? Not having the monies available in the first place is a clear indicator of something serious.

So what other action is OSA and Caswell recommending to Ms. Mottley to hasten the removal of a speaker who might be classed as dishonourable by virtue of the judgement by the Madame Justice in the civil case? Or are they inured to maintaining the privileges of the political class?

We know that the no confidence red herring will not work. We also know that the Committee of privileges method will not work. I don’t think that OSA or Caswell have mentioned any other method. They merely condemned the action already taken by the Opposition, which suffers from the fact that it allows a callous Government to stealthily bring items that might not be in the interest of the people and have them passed without discussion.

But does boycotting make any substantive difference to the Government passing those items if it were minded to? Is boycotting the Chamber because it is deemed to bechaired by a person who might be considered dishonourable in the eyes of the majority of the knowledgeable population, stop the Government from doing anything it wanted to since it has the numbers, perhaps even swollen by OSA?

Should we agree, like the political class and perhaps even its former member, that the matter is standard and small potatoes for the legal class and that nothing can be done and the status quo should remain?

Do we accept that it is right that Lawyers should keep client’s monies until a Judge makes a ruling against them? Will that be the new norm? Is the message being sent to all the lawyers out there, who might be minded to accept this situation that its ok to continue smartly and that such behaviour is vindicated even if they are caught by a Judge and a collection is made for them to pay the funds?

It also seems to me that the person who engineered that the matter be sent to the committee of priveleges was the acting Speaker, not Mia Mottley. Why blame her for that too?

32. Wait who was D acting speaker then……Oh yeah Mara Thompson…yeah D wife of David the King and manager at the now closed dung David Thompson & Associates….yeah CLICO…..uh ha..yeah….$10 Million dollar son..movin D earth to freeze…..are-we- near-yet?

33. Haha Old Onions who signed the $10m cheque?

34. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Oops! I asked above: “So what other action is OSA and Caswell recommending to Ms. Mottley to hasten the removal of a speaker who might be classed as dishonourable by virtue of the judgement by the Madame Justice in the civil case?”

I didn’t read David’s brilliant chapeau article above until just now. It seems that the preferred action by OSA is to have the Bar association take action on behalf of the House and people of Barbados.

I can merely ask; Is that realistic? Is that the level of thinking that some on this blog are heralding as great and forward looking?

I think OSA was perhaps the best prime minister that Barbados ever had. His contributions to Barbados cannot be gainsayed. He should rest on his considerable laurels.

Re. strategizing for an early elections; I think the time to change the DLP was in 2013. Having retained power then and further wrecking the economy, I think that they should be the ones taking the requisite hard decisions to right their wrongs.

Unless something happens that suggests that their further sojourn there will cause irreparable damage I think their noses should be held to the grindstone with the Opposition pointing out the instances they have transgressed along the way.

They made up the bed. We put them there when we should have known better.

35. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Are We There Yet

Nooooooooo…..

First Nooooo to your statement “When the no-confidence motion fails, as it must, (agreed) would’nt the clear inference be that he was right all along and that he did the right thing to the old man?”

NOOOOO! The no confidence motion would fail procedurally because it would not have sufficient ayes to carry it BUT IT IS A LEAP to say that it would support the fact that Carrington was right all along, in fact it would be another nail in the DLP’s coffin in support of the fact that LL OF THEM WOULD BE ON RECORD in support of the thief

Second noooooo to your “or would it further add to the injuries clients are subjected to by certain members of this profession, fortified that a top member of their class did it with impunity and therefore they could also be justified so to do?”

The rest of the “Clan of the BloodSuckers” the Barbados Association of Arrogant Lawyers, shortened BAAL, our domestic manifestation of the Canaanite demon god, these members of the “Order of Spirits” WONT GET a “get out of jail free card” to do it as they choose.

In fact, as is being seen in recent times, all across the cuntry Bulbados, more and more people are bringing these scouldrels, who cant help but misappropriate the assets of clients that they are charged to safeguard.

Third Nooooooooo

I going haft shorten your quotes cause dem long man “Isn’t OSA giving succour to the Speaker and the Government by downplaying the dishonour…..castigating the actions taken by the Opposition…”

Another post(ee) answered this, Gabriel I think, simply put, if the opposition ent in de house doing dem job, the DLP fellows liable to pass any law dem like. Absence is an abrogation of duty not an aid in these circumstances

Man I was going through your submission and by the time I realised how many no’s i was going to have to make I jes stop.

AWTY, somebody hijack your BU profile? Whuloss man sorry woman, this is soooo unlike you…

Let me skip all the othere five no’s to NOooooooo Number 10

There is no one on the side of the Opposition barring Payne dat has de balls to say anything WITHOUT MIA MOTTLEY’s permission.

Santia Bradshaw GET DE SCRIPT FROM MIA, you unnerstand that?? YES?? Hopefully there is one yes today.

And listen, when you leffing you cuntputer you MUST LOCK IT or put it in safe mode, mek sure dat you password engage, cause as you see today, somebody come on pretending to be you and write a berriffle of poop and got some people tinking bad tings bout you

Man I gine and get de insulin shot, I miss de 12 oclock ting man and I tired….

36. @ Enuff……who sign the cheque?….I is a solutions man…a Jumper….I cus tell ya whey D $ 10 Million is… and who duz be humble like a lamb and more guilty than a Sleeper or is that Skeeter, or Sheeper..ona DEM

37. Exclaimer January 29, 2015 at 7:36 AM #

As for Owen – perhaps the “old man” still has a role to play in our domestic politics

Yes he could have played the role of elder statesman, counsellor and adviser to his party , sorry former party, and the country but no, instead he spends his time sniping and griping from the sidelines.

38. … Ya see Enuff…tis ting ent just start wid $9 milLowDung or Cut10-1 or $775gran Byer and todate now D “Speaker”…….How you feel these underlings going feel to know DEM did BIG able Parlimnt boys and a dead man cud move tons more earth than dem able body soles? DEm want some of the souse while them dey….and um in dun neither…..the truth gine surface when they gone….nuff more being done in the nite while we wid bright eyes barely seeing the surface….Alibaba did bigger than Capone ya….go read d will.. ( Mamagreybo)

39. are-we-there-yet Avatar

PUDRYR;

Yuh really need tuh tek yuh insulin on time, yuh!

1) Wuh yuh tink gine happen if dey had a no-confidence motion? I’ll tell you.

a) It will fail. It will achieve nothing of substance. Put dat in yuh insulin.
    b) The Government will claim that the failure vindicates their position even if to thinkers like you it doesn’t, and many will agree with them.
    c) The status quo will remain. Carrington will remain unscathed as speaker, washed white as snow. He and others, including his PM, will continue to degrade the House
    d) The Opposition would have to stop their boycott.
    e) OSA and Caswell will claim victory
    f) The lawyers will have a precedent to follow

Do or did you see any damage to the Government from all of dem voting their confidence in Sinckler in dat failed no-confidence vote? The rank and file of the country couldn’t care less. they expect the government to support him.

So Nooooo! Tek yuh insulin nuh

2) You obviously did’nt understand my post about the boycott. It doesn’t matter one whit to the passing of anything the Government wants to pass if the Opposition is there or not. They have the numbers, especially since OSA can be relied on to oppose anything that Mia does. Of course it would be better if they were there to monitor and comment on any bill, even if ineffectually, but I think the Opposition serves a higher calling by highlighting the dishonour to the Chamber by the actions of the speaker and one that can eventually win the overall battle.

Tek yuh insulin now, nuh! It shows!

40. Two days ago I told my wife that the Dems must have every foot soldier out there researching which attorney with connections to the Bee’s had any dealings with them, a relative, friend or business associate and was tardy in handing over money. Low and behold, #1 is uncovered today and let me tell you, this will not be the last. Distractions to the central issue will abound.

My fear is that by letting this court ordered judgement remain unresolved for so long and further, having a sitting PM and former PM appear to be lending support to the dastardly act, will reinforce in the minds of attorneys so inclined to start or continue a practice that flies in the face of good reason and honest logic.

A question that begs an answer: Would the current PM or former PM be happy and satisfied with this shenanigan were they the litigants or a close member of family? Just askin’.

41. are-we-there-yet January 29, 2015 at 11:17 AM #

are-we-there-yet January 29, 2015 at 1:39 PM #

Excellent posts!

First I too wondered why the BLP did not bring a no confidence motion but then dismissed that as it would fail and the dems and OSA would again try to humiliate MAM.

I listened to OSA and I could not believe the line this man has taken, only for the sake of opposing MAM. Does anyone believe that were he PM or Leader of the Opposition and his Speaker was embroiled in such a nasty scandal that he would have taken the position he has?

Nearly everyone has expressed outrage at Carrington’s treatment of Mr Griffiths so I dont know what is OSA’s point about nobody is looking out for the man. He doting or what? He who called people to cuss them for pettiness now is seem to be condoning a thieving crook!

Imagine him siding with the very people whom he described as wild boys and who lambasted for not attending Parliament…………now all of a sudden in an effort to stick it to MAM, he is a regular on Tuesdays! Lord have mercy!

42. But wait, onions……………………..

Did you hear the talk making the rounds on the cocktail circuit? It is alleged that when it was known that this judgement was rendered, in an effort to keep the secret, the dems allegedly pooled together this money to bail out the situation but the money was allegedly used to buy luxury goods instead of paying the debt………..allegedly! Things dread, then!

Yet it was disclosed at the meeting on Sunday night that there was a frantic effort on to collect monies, oh lawd!

But wait, what is the next move since the judge’s orders have been disobeyed!

43. ANONYMOUS PRIVATE Avatar
    ANONYMOUS PRIVATE

Luke 11:46New International Version (NIV)

46 Jesus replied, “And you experts in the law, woe to you, because you load people down with burdens they can hardly carry, and you yourselves will not lift one finger to help them.

To all these M.P’s and lawyers who prey on the underprivileged…

44. Why don’t you post the link you mentioned?

We don’t need another PM to die in office.
    …………………………………………………………………………….
    Right now many Bajans would not agree with you.!

45. Prodigal man stop trying to drag stinking red herrings across the trail. Owen repeated what Froon said on the Carrington saga and they are both correct. They never said Carrington’s apparent kleptomania is to be condoned. They never gave him props for the crooked way it appears he dealt with his wheel chair bound client. It is unanimous in the court of public opinion that Carrington’s behavior is repulsive to say the least. What OSA and PM posit is that what the arrogant Carrington did was not in his capacity as Speaker of the House. They posited that there are rules, laws and processes that govern the House that apply to everyone from the Cynthia Forde to Kellman to absentee Hats Payne. Carrington is a goner in the court of public opinion but in the House the rules and laws that apply to all members applies to him.

The question stands what was BLP candidate Gregory Nicholls or his agents receiving by borrow $15,000 on Deacons Road on election day for? Artexass, miller, onion, bush, casweel, pdc ,anyone?

46. @Mytwocents

Maybe to counteract the ipads, hd tvs and laptops?

47. @ are-we-there-yet January 29, 2015 at 1:39 PM #Yuh really need tuh tek yuh insulin on time, yuh!…1) Wuh yuh tink gine happen if dey had a no-confidence motion? I’ll tell you….a) It will fail. It will achieve nothing of substance. Put dat in yuh insulin.————-

Mr AreWe…, unless I am missing something here I believe all aficionados of the political process understand that a no confidence motion would fail as the DLP have the majority.

For it to succeed a number of interesting scenarios would have to be in play and none of those appear to be in the tea-leaves.

However, my understanding of parliament tells me that such a motion triggers a robust debate – assuming it made the floor – and in that palaver as Pieces suggested: ” ALL OF THEM WOULD BE ON RECORD in support of the thief”.

That is one key aspect of any parliament: hearing the representatives speak to the issues.

Pieces may have missed his insulin dosage but he was still lucid enough when he wrote. LOL

You have indeed made a tremendous leap of logic to get to the premise: “it would support the fact that Carrington was right all along”.

How can the failure of a procedural parliamentary motion validate Carrington’s action and invalidate the law pertaining to lawyers handling of clients money?

That makes no practical sense as a debating motion can’t overturn the law related to fraud— which I presume would be the criminal statute under which Mr, Carrington’s action would be brought (I stand to be corrected).

I think we all understand that the stratagem is as important if not more so than chatter or impulsive acts.

Getting the DEMS on record would be one such strategy; walking out is another. The problem is that unless the BEES plan on forcing an election, or have another plan to get Carrington from the ‘Chair’ then returning to the House when he is there is a defeat.

Not sure how that speaks to a solid strategy!

Frankly, not sure how it speaks to a shrewd future PM either.

Say what you want about Arthur (and his remarks DO NOT condone Carrington; not from a practical interpretation) but you hear the reasoning of a planner moving chess pieces to some desired end. I am not seeing how the BEES are coordinating their chess game.

Maybe you see the end game they have on board with these chess moves.

48. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Are We there yet

I like you bad so bad that as you saw I “liked” your comment, or part of it anyways

I “liked” the part which says, and I quote “Of course it would be better if they were there to monitor and comment on any bill, even if ineffectually, but I think the Opposition serves a higher calling by highlighting the dishonour to the Chamber by the actions of the speaker and one that can eventually win the overall battle.”

You are saying precisely what I said the Opposition party, instead of all the grandstanding and shifting to Committee of Dis and Dat, and walking out of parliament and all of that, needs to do their job and speak out about the moral injustice and the other incompetence and dearth of economic ideas these clowns represent.

Notwithstanding the Rules of the House, and the Immunity afforded its members, the fact is that, as Speaker (or any representative) of the House, tiefing nor kleptomania, is something that they need to agitate about, instead of vacating the Parliament.

You ever notice how, when a conversation comes up among we big chested men, bout how a friend of ours get catch suc*ing the female rabbit of one of his friends, you ever noticed how few, if any of us, will castigate that covetous fellow?

Cause we know well dat if that cuckolded buddy had gone there de night befo’, dem wudda catch we instead uh he, in de sauce!!

This is precisely the point, not a man jack can get up and say to Carrington, man gi back de man (ole man or young) he money, not a man Jack, including Tariq Khan of BAAL, cant come out and denounce de man either!!

A woman in de church put a point to the Dialogue Session pun ***day evening at de church linking a man’s height and his “parts” size to all of the trouble in the world. She actually say dat this is why dem Boko Haran fellows kidnap them 12 years old girls!!

She say dat mens who is wanting in certain tings does overcompensate in the only places where they feel relevant.

I would bet you dat dat $205K get spend pun de hairy purse which we all know doan have no bottom, no pun intended.

All uh dem in de same barrel Are We There Yet and not one fellow cant pull back the next one.

49. News of a settlement in the making between Carrington and Griffiths just reported on 929 News……funds said to be available…what ever that means….IS BOUT TIME….D whole holding back was ” a monstrous perversion of common sense”..which will cost DEMS a seat…

50. Wow, the money has been collected and alleluia!! Mr Griffiths will soon be getting his money after 14 long years!