Submitted by Old Onion Bags

Say what you like. Time is right for Barbados to have a  serious  political third alternative.For sure, there is more than enough interest by both those fed up and looking for a new alternative and  those totally disillusioned who believe that they have something new to offer the charged political landscape.

With another three years now before the next general elections,someone with enough motivation and testicular fortitude to see this country rise like a phoenix from the chaos and grapple,has more than enough time to place the necessary machinery in gear. All it takes is the will.

Listening to the call in programs, one could  also discern there exist a search and seeding for a new body to present itself as a third alternative. However,the history of third political parties in Barbados and the Caribbean (for that matter) is  fraught with failures, and by no means is a motivator to any potential candidates who is bold enough to put themselves forward as a new leader.

For sure, given what prevails, he she should have no shortage in finding new recruits, for within both the DLP and the BLP there has been discontentment.

Could the current morass engulfing the Speaker be that spark to ignite the emblems? Could the political meeting tonight Nr. President Kennedy Dr.,the stomping ground for firework eloquence tonight be that catalyst to feed that ever growing embryo for change? We await with abated breaths…

144 responses to “Time for a Third Party to Enter the Fray”

1. Exclaimer January 25, 2015 at 9:03 PM #

@ Vincent Hayes,

What you are proposing is more of the same. No doubt your saviour would be armed with qualifications, would certainly be an academic, and would have little experience of the real world.
    ……………………………………………………..

Chuckle…..ignoramus…….what saviour what?????

If you belong to Bush Tea’s band of BBE’s ….leave me out….I have a brain and can think for myself as opposed to all of you wannabees,who do not have a clue.

People in the streets……to cause mayhem and destruction…..reduce the worlds population is a good thing ,that is their eternal worth,carrying out mother natures wishes…….idiot.

2. The success of Mia’s meeting will be based on her turnout tonight. I think it is a waste of time in my opinion since nothing will change. Freundel will give her the silent treatment.

3. @ Vincent Hayes,

You, me, Bush Tea, et al are “the people”. We are not delinquents. The majority of us are humble members of the working class community and are not prone to the revolting behaviour that you allude to.

Shame on you!

4. @ Mr Watson Parkinson January 25, 2015 at 3:04 PM #

“A third party made up of returning nationals… We have some great minds on the Island coming from the UK, USA and Canada…. With tremendous skills in every single field of work… Let’s use their knowledge, expertise and vision…!”
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Very few of who we call Returning Nationals,especially those from the UK, would want to enter active politics,but as you so rightly suggested, their knowledge and expertise could be used to stabilise and maintain many of those Government concerns which appear to have a guarantee of five miles or five minutes ,which ever come first. The Ambulance Service, The SSA, the Transport Board .Many of these Barbadians who have returned home, have spent many years employed with similar organisations overseas.
    In todays newspapers we see the Transport Board place a notice in the press, which I can only described as a bloody howler,and would have been more at home in the comic section.

POSSIBLE DELAYS IN SERVICE

TRANSPORT BOARD

The Transport Board ,being mindful of the members of the travelling public
    who are dependent upon our services to conduct their daily activities, wishes to apoligize for the ongoing issues in its service delivery. We must also indicate that these challenges will probably continue to manifest themselves during the coming weeks, particularly during the month of February 2015.

The Transport Board, in keeping with the Road Traffic Regulations and in following the laws of Barbados must have its fleet of units inspected annually.
    As these buses are all aging with the youngest buses being nine(9) years old,
    this year and the oldest buses on the road are now over 18 (years) old, we have found that the ongoing maintenance is becoming increasingly challenging. As with any other operation in Barbados, the Licensing Authority is the only entity that can deem the buses to be roadworthy and this is handled through the inspection process.

At this time we are processing a number of units , consequently we are experiencing challenges with our bus availability. Additionally ,the buses we have are covering our regular route network,school transportation and other school events.

This combination of events has resulted in some delays in our regularly scheduled services. We are again asking the traveling public to be patient as we seek to improve our service delivery. We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused.
    (Sunday Advocate 25 January 2015 page 33A)

EXCUSES !EXCUSES ! EXCUSES!….. The order of the day in Barbados
    Now how are all of the above ramblings and excuses going to appease an already frustrated traveling public. There are companies in Barbados with harder working vehicles, some of which are approaching 25 years of age ,and still working soundly.
    Some years ago, an irate commuter in St Philip who could not get a bus, stopped a bus which was driven by a Transport Board mechanic on its way to a breakdown. The man shouted angrily , “Ya mean we can’t get a bus up here and you driving bout this big empty bus .” The mechanic who liked using big words , turn to the man and said, “ Skipper what are you trying to insinuate? That is immaterial to me!”
    I would like to pass that same statement to whoever at Transport Board is responsible for placing that notice in the pres.

5. @ Colonel Buggy,
    I’m amazed that the government of Barbados does not do more to entice her diaspora young and old to return to the mother country. We should take a leaf out of the Israeli book.

6. are-we-there-yet Avatar

To David or anyone else who knows:
    Is the BLP meeting tonight being streamed?

7. I don’t think that a 3rd party will help, not if the members of such party come form the same homes/schools/churches/communities as the current parties. And importing a bunch of foreigners to rule over us won;t work either.

We just need the people in the current parties to act sensibly and honestly.

Surely that is not too hard to do.

8. “We just need the people in the current parties to act sensibly and honestly.”

Simple Simon have they ever done that? If so when?

9. @Are-we-there-yet

Don’t believe so.

On Sunday, 25 January 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

10. The Party system is archaic … It may have been useful when there was a large group of ignorant field workers and shop attendants who were up against a collection of merchants and landlords. That has all changed since the seventies and the requirements of the population are now a lot more complex. Parties should have be thrown out years ago and replaced with a truly representative Cabinet, the members of which are selected by the variety of interest groups that make up Barbados.

A third party will do nothing but add to the harm and indebtedness … Can you people not learn from the experiences of others … like Trinidad and Tobago ..?

11. I any event they have NO legal status as they are NOT registered as anything… not even a charity. They do NOT present audited statements so there is no way of knowing the source and application of its funds.

How can people seriously expect that those who derive from environments such this, can miraculously transform themselves into accountable examples of virtue ..?

12. @@BAFBFP

And why don’t you flip your question? How will powerbase ensconced in the party system dismantle it?

13. I think the move has to be for as many people as possible to step away from the process , recognising that it is a sham… and for them to encourage of the others as possible to follow suit. Truth is, even with a ten percent turn out, either Party WILL still claim a right to assume office, but once the objection is laid bare by the population, it would be hard for either Party not to take on the simple objections like presenting audited statements to the public to show the world that they are serious about being relevant.

Of course showing books will spell the end of the Parties as we know it, but one step at a time

14. @BAFBFP

The problem with getting the citizenry to disengage is that it leaves the door open for the hardcore party bases (yardfowls) to determine the outcome.

15. For lawyers in the news add- Patrick Bethell, Errol Niles, Lindsay Bolden, Richard Byer, female lawyer Waterman from Cottle Catford Solicitors, Ezra Alleyne, Eastmond

16. It was disclosed tonight that the “man of the moment” was paid $739,000 as the lawyer for the sale of the BIDC building to Gildan. These dem lawyers sure do like that $700,000 figure. The building was allegedly sold for 3 million.

It was also disclosed that the black BMW SUV that the one from the east drives is registered to Transtec as well as the one the lowest man drives.

These companies seem to be doing good business with these government ministers………..just imagine a lot of Sanitation service was sent to Transtec and most of Transport Board work goes to Transtec as well. Now we can guess why.

What a bed of corruption! Why would two government ministers be driving expensive vehicles registered to a company which generates lots of business from their ministries? It never ends with these morons.

But wait, why would a lawyer who got so much money for one job owe a client and would not pay him.

It was also disclosed that there were franatic efforts this weekend to pool together the money.

17. @ Prodigal Son January 26, 2015 at 12:23 AM #

“What a bed of corruption! Why would two government ministers be driving expensive vehicles registered to a company which generates lots of business from their ministries?”

Prodigal, if what you wrote is true, then Barbadians have to take the following that was written in the DLP’s 2008 manifesto with a “pinch of salt”.

“There is therefore a NEED TO CLEAN UP POLITICS in Barbados. The Democratic Labour Party has selected a team of CLEAN, CARING, COMPETENT AND COMMITTED POLITICIANS who have SIGNED ON TO A CODE OF CONDUCT THAT PROMISES GOOD GOVERNANCE.” [Page 46, DLP 2008 election manifesto, “Pathways to Progress”]

If “the black BMW SUV that the one from the east drives as well as the one the lowest man drives” are actually registered to Transtec, then it was not a co-incidence that the DLP named their 2008 election manifesto “PATHWAYS TO PROGRESS”.

18. Power corrupts. Absolute power corrupts absolutely.

Four legs good, two legs better!!

They had come to a time when no one dared speak his mind,

I do not understand it. I would not have believed that such things could happen on our farm.

Animals look from Napoleon to Pilkington, from man to pig back to man, they find that they are unable to tell the difference.

• George Orwell –

“Heaven help us all” – Luciano –

Just Observing

19. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I was wondering when that information about the two Transtec vehicles would become public. Now we have an absolute crisis in the Stuart administration. Without more, it would appear that there is credible evidence to come to a conclusion of corruption. Can this Government survive with all that is now being revealed. I really want to see how they are going to spin this.

20. David said “leaves the door open for the hardcore party bases (yardfowls) ” … But David I went to a Party event a couple of days ago and I was the youngest in the crowd. These Yard Fowls that you are referring to are pretty old people and really do not have that long to go. If there was a way to steer young and middle aged people, the product of Government sponsored education away from the Party trap well then

21. I am offering an alternative and a way to get there. There will always be obstacles in the path

22. ……and what may we ask is your alternative way Baffy? Don’t say a coalition Govt please cuz dat won’t work bout hay….eva

23. …..For sure, there is more than enough interest by both those fed up and looking for a new alternative and those totally disillusioned who believe that they have something new to offer the charged political landscape.

Here comes Baffy……running in from the Marshall n Garner end….

24. Again, it is clear from the messages helped provided under this particular thread by many commenters on this BU network that although they have the rights and freedoms to do so none of them has succeeded in forming a political organization to assist in the social, political, material and financial betterment of the greatest numbers of people of this country.

As much as they might claim to want such betterment development for these our people, they have ABSOLUTELY NO experience in helping to create such political organizations for the social growth of many of our people.

They do not and will never fully understand and commit to the many needs of throngs of people in and beyond Barbados fundamentally because their thought capacities and emotional connections and moral beings have not evolved to such higher levels.

Such people are hardly in positions to be called by any one to higher national social service, or to be able to answer to that call.

They will never know what it is and means to be part of a third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh or whatever else party.

25. @ Baffy
    You are correct about the Party shiite, however your “solution” of leaving them to do as they like is no solution.

Bushie gave THE VERY BEST solution last year …. the BU Ten Point Plan.
    But like a bunch of Nathaniel goats, wunna people are under the false impression that nothing good can come out Nazareth.

The BU 10 Point Plan is:
    …Simple
    …Cheap
    …Bloodless

It requires:
    ..Balls : Caswell, Walter and Baffy
    ..A national voice: David (BU)
    ..Education : BU
    ..Guidance : The Bushie Whacker

Any plan that does NOT require positive, righteous, definitive action from the GENERAL society is no plan.

But as is our wont, we will just talk a lotta shiite and wait for some white people to bring money……

26. @Bush Tea

Now that you mention 10 point plan, we have to put back some of the BU buttons.

On Monday, 26 January 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

27. The truth is that there is absolutely nothing that can be done, legally … so, do nothing… refuse to participate in a process that is a sham… Simple. If the Parties do not expose their financial positions as registered going concerns to the public, do NOT vote for them. The Yard fowls are old people. They will have their way for a couple of terms but every war worth fighting comes with some sacrifice

Bush Tea, you also would like to see a representative Cabinet, with each member being separately selected by its interest group (labour, defence and security, education, small business etc…). Refusing to vote IS THE ONLY COURSE OF ACTION AVAILABLE TO START THE CHANGE PROCESS

28. Not sure what happened to the last comment … It just up so and disappear …!

29. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Baffy

You is a man that I got a lot of respect for whu after all we alma mater is the same place in Waterford.

But de ole man can’t really unnerstan what you proposing and need you to clarify.

Let me see if I got did correct.

Your begin point clearly indicates that you agree that the existing governance model fvck up.

You are however saying that, in the face of a 30 to zero seat defeat of the DLP government in 2018, or sooner depending on when General Elections call, the general populace, in your solution to topple this inefficient system, must not vote and in so doing, where 90,000 would have voted for the BLP, under your brilliant posit, less than 9,000 would vote for the same BLP BUT because the populace has refrained from voting in such radical quantities this will be the catalyst for toppling the system and usher in change!!

Indeed Baffy, I think that you have unknowingly imbibed the “thalIdomide drug of spontaneous good governance” that of late has appeared to permeate this and related threads which beg for change.

De ole man also would suggest that you reassess these thoughts because while I would not call you a bad word by saying this was a thought befitting of AC, proselyte of the Damned Lied Party, I would however caution you to stay away from the fumes of the contact cement while you sticking together the chairs at the furniture factory

30. Piece;

Man ga long and vote, do, and put the other set in. There is a saying about doing the same thing over and over again and expecting to get a different result …

31. Baffy……I lost too,……exactly what is your proposed beef? What is the alternative you propose?…..you are not being clear

32. @ Baffy
    Bushie is completely amazed that you can take such an obviously flawed position to “do nothing in the face of shiite” and wait for evil to go away….
    Do you know that it is by “doing nothing” so far that we find ourselves in this shit?

What kind of world do you think this is…?
    Boss…
    When good men do nothing – shit happens.

shiite man… even when good men do their best, …shiite still happens…..but good men with balls will either flush it or whack it…. 🙂

STOP WITH THAT SHIITE TALK ABOUT NOT VOTING….
    People respect your outspokenness, and with that clear exception, (and the Peter Wickham thingie) you are usually on solid ground.

The solution is for solid citizens to STEP FORWARD, and for Bajans to decisively support them with their votes……and then to execute any fella that betrays their trust at dawn on the following day….

33. Bushie:..The solution is for solid citizens to STEP FORWARD, and for Bajans to decisively support them with their votes……and then to execute any fella that betrays their trust at dawn on the following day….

Now there you go….simple and concise….beef…

Baffy ya waffling…..tis thread about ‘solutions in hand’. (Ovid)

34. The process does NOT permit “solid citizens to STEP FORWARD” and win … The Parties and their merchant backers (and media houses) will see to that. It has never happened in the US (with billionaire independents failing to advance) or anywhere else, so how could you be so confident that it could happen here …?

35. Any Political Administration that assumes office with a ten per cent turn out will do the same shite that could be expected with the usual 60% turn out … the difference will be that the WHOLE WORLD will be made aware that Barbadians NO LONGER consider the process a valid one.

36. It was also disclosed that the black BMW SUV that the one from the east drives is registered to Transtec as well as the one the lowest man drives.

These companies seem to be doing good business with these government ministers………..just imagine a lot of Sanitation service was sent to Transtec and most of Transport Board work goes to Transtec as well. Now we can guess why.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Birds of a feather flock together.

This is kickback on a large scale.

37. I presume this Transtech stuff is all hearsay and no evidence because surely it is otherwise a dereliction of duty by anti fraud authorities that a govt official is using a vehicle for personal business and that vehicle is registered to a company which contracts with his ministry . Straight up fraud if true.

But this is Barbados so what anti fraud authorities I talking ’bout.

One commenter suggests that there was prior knowledge before this allegation was made at the political meeting but nothing was done by anyone to initiate an investigation.

I am happy that BU can raise these supposed peccadilloes because the more I read it seems to me that the den of iniquity in Barbados is so widespread across all parties that Mr Franklyn’s comments in an earlier post are irrefutable.

Nothing will change was his basic position unless corruption can be checked.

And of course there is no one to be a legitimate checker re that corruption. Ipso, our society doomed.

We talk about Nigeria and the levels of corruption there and what we bajans miss in our absolutely stupid bliss is that for many years now the underbelly of this society has been vile and abjectly corrupt.

We have not reached the stage of secret killing and other depravity (like Argentina just recently, the latest) principally because of our small size.

We actually believe that our society is well regulated and meets acceptable standards of governmental, corporate governance.

This corruption may not have metastasized to cripple the entire body but boy it is surely well entrenched and killing us just as well.

38. I read, with much interest, an article on the back page of today’s Daily Nation entitled “Open shop: Inniss wants non-lawyers on Bar’s disciplinary body”.

To summarize, Inniss, while addressing the DLP’s St. James South branch meeting, basically said one of the significant weakness in the legal system was that “lawyers govern themselves too much.”

While staying clear of the issue involving Carrington, Inniss said the opportunity should now be used to have a more enlightened discussion about the legal profession because “today it’s one lawyer, tomorrow it is another lawyer and we keep going around and around on issues.” He also suggested Barbados should look at implementing a Legal Profession Act, similar to that of Jamaica.

Inniss also said, “when I hear about the fees being charged and the resulting cost of doing business in Barbados, it is significant, but that is a particular group of individuals in society that nobody wants to touch, they are sacrosanct…… but not in my eyes.”

However, Donville was also found it necessary to state if he “raise the issue of the need for us to reform the Legal Profession Act and particularly that part that speaks to a disciplinary committee [to include] individuals who are not members of the legal profession, I don’t know that any of the lawyers in Parliament will support it.”

And these comments against the background of the Stuart, who is also a lawyer, supporting Carrington.

I know I’m not as brilliant as Bushie, Onions, are-we-there-yet, Walter, Caswell, David BU, Miller or even the ACs, but from Donville’s comments, I believe he is “covering his ass” because of the perceived negative impact Carrington’s case may have on the DLP, while at the same time suggesting disciplinary action should be taken against unscrupulous lawyer.

We definitely need a credible and viable third party.

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ DeeWord

“I presume this Transtech stuff is all hearsay…” forms the lead in words for your last entry

I cant believe it!!!

I am not going to take a leap of faith, (before someone goes to the registrar’s office, someone like a lawyer who I understand can go online and confirms who the directors are and send a scan of that information to BU) and assume that it is the truth.

If one were to believe this here is another tangent that one would have to take Dee Word.

Beyond your extrapolated “dereliction of duties” observation by the Anti Fraud Authorities etc whom one would believe would be proactively searching for these improprieties as part of their paid job description, there is another issue that is even more frightening.

This would be the the issue of the level of Idiocy of both minister/directors, commingled with contempt that these nitwits have for the people of Bulbados, let us pause to examine how stupid they are.

Dee Word llet me brek it down fuh you cause it would mean that you are (i) tiefing money under the chapeau of Minister through (ii) awarding contracts to a specific company (iii) a company of which you are a director of record …

Dee Word, even the other fellows was more sophisticated thieves than that.

Dem would set up shell companies overseas with point men and women and then have those entities submit contracts and award them the wuk and pay them in US$ of British pounds.

You would at least feel that even though they are ignorant they would ask Quisling Boyce how it is done (please note for future reference de ole man did not say how he and Lashes allegedly does do it)

Dese fellows not only is tieves but them ingrunt squared wid dem stupidity

Devaluation cometh rapidly while there are female rabbits driving us

40. @ Baffy
    Sometimes you disappoint….

It has never happened in the US (with billionaire independents failing to advance) or anywhere else, so how could you be so confident that it could happen here …?
    steupsss

Is BU in the US?
    Is Bushie in the US?
    Does Caswell and Baffy live in the US?
    Does Walter care about the US?
    US shiite!!…. they are the problem. They have refined the illusion of materialism that confounds the world…
    Don’t you see that the biggest idiot on this blog is our very own American Commodity…. (AC 🙂 )

Ya mean you also fall victim to the folly that nothing good can come out of Nazareth….?

Shiite man, this is an opportunity to be INNOVATIVE, CREATIVE and to become a role model for how modern governance can be instituted.

By the way….
    …has there been any coherent critical analysis of the BU 10 point plan;
    …any question as to its viability;
    …or ANY serious logical concerns about our ability to execute it?

Wunna people are simply amazing….in the abundance of water…..

Bob Marley was used as a subtle messenger to the world….
    but few would notice that…. we are too blinded….

Political voilence fill ya city, ye-ah!
    Don’t involve Rasta in your say say;
    Rasta don’t work for no C. I. A.
    Rat race, rat race, rat race! Rat race, I’m sayin’:
    When you think is peace and safety:
    A sudden destruction.
    Collective security for surety, ye-ah!

Don’t forget your history;
    Know your destiny:
    In the abundance of water,
    The fool is thirsty.
    Rat race, rat race, rat race!

Rat race!
    Oh, it’s a disgrace
    To see the human-race
    In a rat race, rat race!
    You got the horse race;
    You got the dog race;
    You got the human-race;
    But this is a rat race, rat race!

41. @ DeeWord
    Boss…. ya got Bushie speechless..
    …can’t find a shiite to cuss ya for recently boss.

Much respect… 🙂

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Bush Tea

What are the ten points again?

Where can one view them?

43. Nipple suckers .still talking the same shit .how many years now.Pretentious ! Pitiful and dellusional Bush shite!Baf!pachaman all wunna have the same qualities as the people wunna criticise Selfish and selfcentred and arrogant as shite.All this hot air nothing to do with country .If wunna was really fuh “real” wunna would have step up to the plate. Nipple suckers .

44. ..DeeWord January 26, 2015 at 8:57 AM #
    I presume this Transtech stuff is all hearsay and no evidence because surely it is otherwise a dereliction of duty by anti fraud authorities that a govt official is using a vehicle for personal business and that vehicle is registered to a company which contracts with his ministry . Straight up fraud if true.

But this is Barbados so what anti fraud authorities I talking ’bout.

Wait……..WE GOT TWO BUBBADOES NOW ???

45. @Bush Tea January 26, 2015 at 9:59 AM #Boss…. ya got Bushie speechless..—–

You sir are never speechless.

As the quintessential thought-shaping guru here I accept that your skills to craft the most appealing and publicly acceptable ideas to validate your position can be compared to some of the best who have plied that trade.

And I do mean the best: Goebbels, Cheney and so on. Now, no disrespect. Because although one may not agree with all those men stood for, clearly from a sense of professional respect it can be argued that they were masters at their craft of propaganda/public discourse.

So with all respect fella you are good. So being speechless is a mere tool in your ample arsenal.

The mere fact that you think you need to ‘cuss me’ is funny all by itself.

I love your Brother Bob vibe.

“Political voilence fill ya city, ye-ah!
    Don’t involve Rasta in your say say;
    Rasta don’t work for no C. I. A …

You got the human-race;
    But this is a rat race, rat race!

One love.

46. @pieceuhderockyeahright January 26, 2015 at 9:45 AM # I am not going to take a leap of faith, (before someone goes to the registrar’s office… confirms who the directors are and send a scan of that information to BU) —–

Pieces I didn’t understand that any minister is a director of any company.

I understand the comment was that they driving cars that are registered as owned by the company.

That ain’t going show in any company corporate filing.

Can be confirmed of course otherwise though .

47. are-we-there-yet Avatar

DeeWord;
    Like Artaxerxes, you also are an adept at shaping words and ideas in a clear, succinct and absolutely focused manner that leaves no room for misunderstanding. The blog is so much the richer because of your contributions.

48. Jesus Christ Caswell is on the program demonstrating the folly of the Opposition and incumbent with their playing to the public and NOT doing what is relevant … He properly criticized the role of the Privileges Committee and suggested a No Confidence motion against the speaker to force the Parliamentarians to do the right thing to protect their individual images .. and JACK ASS David Ellis pulled every stunt from up his sleeve, (diversion to dillute the point, blaming the public even, even giving “his take”) to throw Caswell off of his mark… THIS DAVID ELLIS IS VERY MUCH PART OF THE PROBLEM. He could just keep his ass shut …!

49. @ dee word

You are Correct.

Insulin at twelve.

Ole man wandering more recently

Bound to happen

Ossification and calcification

You tink dat licensing authority would have any records showing the corporate owners of the vehicles?

50. @ DeeWord January 26, 2015 at 10:56 AM #

“Pieces I didn’t understand that any minister is a director of any company. I understand the comment was that they driving cars that are registered as owned by the company. That ain’t going show in any company corporate filing.”

DeeWord, unlike you, Prodigal, Piece and more so Caswell [‘causing he does use he real name], I staying clear of that “minister driving a BMW SUV owned by a certain company” thing, especially with that particular minister.
    And wunnuh really prove the old saying that “Bajans got short memories” is definitely true. ‘Cause wunnuh like wunnuh forget Omar write ‘bout that same minister allegedly hastily retreating in the same big ride, and he computer land he before the court.

You guys on BU are too paranoid and read too many things into nothing. I’m going to look at this issue from a different perspective. Transtech Inc. does fix cars, no maybes ‘bout dat. D two ministers in question took their cars to that establishment to undergo mechanical repairs. The seriousness of the problems necessitated Transtech keeping the vehicles for an extended period of time. Therefore, the owner(s) of Transtech exercised their civic duty by LENDING the ministers those vehicles to use until the repairs are completed. Is there anything immoral or unethical about that? If you get in an accident don’t the insurance company give you a hired vehicle?

It’s just a mere coincidence that first choice for the repairs of Transport Board buses and Sanitation trucks is given to Transtech, or that Lashley said he was going to review the contract TB has with UCAL. So what if Lashley is aware of the allegation that TI charges more for fixing omnibus transmissions than UCAL? Lowe knew that Richard Byer charged $766,855.24 for a similar service another lawyer rendered for $17,000.

I only way I would believe that this vehicle thing is true, is when Donville talk ’bout it.