Submitted by Old Onion Bags

Say what you like. Time is right for Barbados to have a  serious  political third alternative.For sure, there is more than enough interest by both those fed up and looking for a new alternative and  those totally disillusioned who believe that they have something new to offer the charged political landscape.

With another three years now before the next general elections,someone with enough motivation and testicular fortitude to see this country rise like a phoenix from the chaos and grapple,has more than enough time to place the necessary machinery in gear. All it takes is the will.

Listening to the call in programs, one could  also discern there exist a search and seeding for a new body to present itself as a third alternative. However,the history of third political parties in Barbados and the Caribbean (for that matter) is  fraught with failures, and by no means is a motivator to any potential candidates who is bold enough to put themselves forward as a new leader.

For sure, given what prevails, he she should have no shortage in finding new recruits, for within both the DLP and the BLP there has been discontentment.

Could the current morass engulfing the Speaker be that spark to ignite the emblems? Could the political meeting tonight Nr. President Kennedy Dr.,the stomping ground for firework eloquence tonight be that catalyst to feed that ever growing embryo for change? We await with abated breaths…

144 responses to “Time for a Third Party to Enter the Fray”

1. What has happened recently shows that neither of the two parties have the interest of Bajans at heart. I believe that since Errol Barrow died the politicians who came after him are nothing more than greedy opportunists. Errol Barrow had a vision for this country, but these vagabonds just see politics as a means to feather their own nest.

The elderly people would say to the DLP and BLP that “none of them can’t tell the other come back.” The people in this country have allowed the politicians to do as they please. Gabby said it best…THE POLITICIANS MEKKING MOCK SPORT AT THE PEOPLE.

There seems to be lack of integrity among both parties. Selfishness has become the norm. People are becoming uneasy and IF these politicians believe that things will continue as they have been, they are really mistaken. Never say never.

Can you imagine …..

(1)   people have lost their pensions and insurance

(2)   Crooked lawyers have robbed old and young

(3)   Nepotism continues to rear its ugly head

…and the politicians act as though they don’t care. A third party is definitely needed but I am not sure if it will happen soon.

2. should read:

Could the current morass engulfing the Speaker be that spark to ignite the emblers? …

3. :embers

4. @ Onions

A third party…..made up of individuals with the same background(no hands on knowledge of running anything) and education,having to deal with the same realities involving IMF,IADB,World Banks.Cooperate entities,Civil servants,etc,etc,etc,………to do what differently?

Stanton should really give you 6 more.

5. @ Vincent

……”oh ye men of little faith.”

6. “…and the politicians act as though they don’t care.”

Do we as a population care? How many participated in any of the marches– political party, Bobby Clarke or NUPW? The politicians are a reflection of our society and until we accept this fundamental truth, we will continue to spin in clay.

7. Johnathan Cumberbatch Avatar
    Johnathan Cumberbatch

Although I am in total agreement that there should be a third party, there are inherent problems with that option at the moment. Firstly many of us as the voting population vote blindly for one party (e.g. St. John which has been in DLP control for longer than I have been alive). As such this third party with the intent of changing our political landscape would have to overcome an almost insurmountable hurdle of changing the opinion of not only those who are die-hards but also those who are new to voting and only vote to say they did. Secondly what ideological standpoint would this new party have. Currently the ideological leanings of both parties can be described as Democratic Socialist. While I see little wrong with the ideology, the problem comes if this third party is so close in appearance to the current parties that there is no discernable difference. Lastly will they not only hold themselves accountable to people (as is done in Cuba with the recall system) but will they pursue the best path for Barbados in a way similar to that of the great Caribbean statesmen of the 20th century.

If these problems can be overcome then third parties not only in Barbados but throughout the Caribbean will have a greater chance of changing the status quo.

8. Mr Watson Parkinson Avatar
    Mr Watson Parkinson

A third party made up of returning nationals… We have some great minds on the Island coming from the UK, USA and Canada…. With tremendous skills in every single field of work… Let’s use their knowledge, expertise and vision…!

9. WANTED: one Richie Haynes

Dr. Richie Haynes after being fed up with the DLP, branched off and formed the NDP.
    Dr. Haynes who was a physician by profession, was also an astute economist, leader and politician.

Closest clone today would be a Dr. Clyde Mascoll……….there ya go…we gettin somewhere

10. Ammm!like whistling in the dark

11. a third party made up of birds ! butterflies and bottle neck geese , but for godsake any thing but people,

12. Enuff January 25, 2015 at 2:50 PM #

“…and the politicians act as though they don’t care.”

Do we as a population care? How many participated in any of the marches– political party, Bobby Clarke or NUPW? The politicians are a reflection of our society and until we accept this fundamental truth, we will continue to spin in clay.
    …………………………………………………………

Mr Watson Parkinson January 25, 2015 at 3:04 PM #

A third party made up of returning nationals
    ……………………………………………………

Interesting observation and suggestion……Will the masses be sufficiently interested to put in the returning nationals,despite viewing them as mad.

13. old onion bags January 25, 2015 at 3:05 PM #

WANTED: one Richie Haynes

Dr. Richie Haynes after being fed up with the DLP, branched off and formed the NDP.
    ………………………………………………………..

Onions

……and what happened……finish the story.

Man,Stants going deal wid you.

14. Vincent

Did Richie Haynes and other candidates who contested the elections not win seats?…..The NDP made a good showing of its self as FIRST TIMERS…Vincent. That is what happened.

One must also remember this present political climate is totally different to back them….given today’s political climate ..they would have won a lot more seats.

15. @Vincent Haynes January 25, 2015 at 3:14 PM #…and what happened……finish the story.”

Indeed, well said.

But Barrow formed his second party and it went on to do well. So maybe as the author says, ” the current morass” presents the right time for this seismic shift in the political landscape of Barbados.

It’s as good a time as any. Richie’s was at the core about a personality and philosophical clash and as sharp as he was the alternatives still seemed viable to many.

Now, with the opposition leader under duress from personal choices and alleged financial and other misdeeds the viable options seem less alluring.

So if not now, then when!

Where, though, is the charismatic captain to steer this new ship or will this be an old ship with a ‘fresh’ coat of paint and ‘old’ but reprogrammed leaders?

16. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

We do not need a third party if it is going to be made up of malcontents from the other two. We really need to jail the crooks from the two parties and put in place a system where it wouldn’t be so easy to get away with corruption.

17. Chicken and egg situation……..the present system is broke,so we need a new one…..who will conceptualise the new way forward and produce a template and then implement that change???

18. Listening to Brasstacks today, led me to a few conclusions dealing with this political matter of change.They , the lawyers, have no intention to facilitating change in this country.Fortunately for them, current Barbadian youth have proven not to be out and out nationalists to promote change by mass demonstration;so they will continue their charade for a time.Unfortunately for them these 9 and 10 year olds in the fullness of time will not be contented with the shitty end of the stick or to kill each other over weed.They will selectively begin to commit grievous harm to members of the status quo.I am not an advocate of violence but the status quo must seriously understand the environment they are creating expecting no backlash.Whether BLP,DLP,PiPi and Wee Wee increasing injustice,corruption and social inequality in this island must be addressed.For all our sakes.

19. Vincent I stand corrected….In February 1989, four MP of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) government left the party to form a new one, the National Democratic Party (NDP) with Dr. Richard Haynes as its head. The other members were Richard Byer, Peter Miller and Edgar Bourne. Dr. Haynes was subsequently appointed as leader of the parliamentary opposition. The NDP unsuccessful contested the 1991 election losing all four of its seats in parliament. Dr. Haynes was however the only successful NDP candidate in the 1994 General Election..

20. By the way., NDP…..Richard Byer, that name sounds familiar….the $776,845 Harrisons Cave man but of course…..stupesss

21. @Caswell Franklyn January 25, 2015 at 3:42 PM…We really need to jail the crooks from the two parties and PUT IN PLACE A SYSTEM WHERE IT WOULDN’T BE EASY TO GET AWAY WITH CORRUPTION.”————

That sir, is the alpha and omega.

Many problems immediately go away.

There would never have been all this CLICO long talk.

So how do we get those systems in place when members of the ruling class essentially look out for each other? And commissions of enquiry become exercises in prestige and additional income.

22. Vincent Haynes January 25, 2015 at 3:11 PM #

Interesting observation and suggestion……Will the masses be sufficiently interested to put in the returning nationals,despite viewing them as mad.
    ………………………………………………………………
    And cheap, cheap I was always told. But mad and cheap only apply to those from Hingland. What about the RN’s from Merkur and Caneedah, are they not worthy of making uo a third party.?

23. @ Caswell

We also happen to know the workings of many governments, in different countries and not a single one has achieved a relative absence of corruption. Despite the pleadings of Transparency International

While we would like to see the end of the mindset Bajan politicians have, we would also like to see a radical change deep within the minds of Bajans, more generally. Something is wrong and no amount of new rules coming from the same culture will fix this.

Maybe, we have to ask Bushie, to ask his second man, to let his Kingdom come. LOL

24. Recently there was a bit of an uproar,by Bajans , when Sir Hilary named his mini Oxford and Cambridge grounds after Usain Bolt. But we have not heard a murmur from those same Bajans over the selection of the Prime Minister of St Vincent and the Grenadines, Dr Ralph Gonzales,to deliver the feature speech at the annual Errol Barrow Memorial Lecture awards Ceremony,held at the Cave Hill campus . And quite rightly so ,as there is no one within the ruling Democratic Labour Party, who is qualified to even call Mr Barrow’s name.

25. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

Vincent Haynes January 25, 2015 at 2:43 PM #

@ Onions

A third party…..made up of individuals with the same background(no hands on knowledge of running anything) and education,having to deal with the same realities involving IMF,IADB,World Banks.Cooperate entities,Civil servants,etc,etc,etc,………to do what differently?

Stanton should really give you 6 more.@

Are you saying who is there NOW know what they dealing with and how to work it, They know the rules , but the rule do not suit their Fraud and Laundering needs , No matter all the rules nothing matters to these BANKS with out Clear Title to Land,Which is one of the back bones to most loans,CLICO, SAGICOR, 4 SEASONS,AND OTHER PROJECTS,

All you need is the rules and then follow the rules , Rules is some thing the DLP nor the BLP care , No even rules of the court , or when to make payments after a house is sold,
    Nothing but crooks , MIA need to be in Jail for the Deaths on Brittion’s Hill , A family of 5 dead , no charges not even in the law suit , Who side is the lawyer on?

26. Radical third party could follow the lead of the left wing Greek party.

ATHENS, Greece (AP) — A radical left-wing party that is demanding an end to Greece’s painful austerity measures won Sunday’s parliamentary elections, threatening renewed turmoil in global markets and throwing the country’s continued membership in the eurozone into question.

27. @ Colonel
    ..Hingland. What about the RN’s from Merkur and Caneedah, are they not worthy of making uo a third party.?

Do us all a favor and please these terms for a Bajan sake…..lol

28. David

WordPress needs a servicing……..ouch ! dropping words n letters.

29. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar

Caswell Franklyn January 25, 2015 at 3:42 PM #

We do not need a third party if it is going to be made up of malcontents from the other two. We really need to jail the crooks from the two parties and put in place a system where it wouldn’t be so easy to get away with corruption.@
    @
    We sure hope people get what you are saying, Who cause the problems can not be left in charge to fix them , NONE of them , they know what is wrong and cant FACE who they have to FACE , FOR THE PERSONS CAN NOT BE BOUGHT WITH THEIR OWN .
    DLP/BLP are inDEED crooks, liars and scumbags ,,,

30. @Suckabbuby

Interesting you mentioned the Brasstacks program today with Tariq Khan, president of the BA and Marguerite Woodstock-Riley, chairwoman of the Disciplinary Committee. No mention of how they plan to overcome the challenge of the backlog with the 7 member disciplinary committee. No mention of the lack of use of the Compensation fund (dealt with extensively on BU), no specifics on how it has disciplined its members for breaching the BA’s code of ethics, no specifics about the fact lawyers who have refunded to pay BA fees continue to practice without being disciplined by the BA etc.

There is no forum on the Internet that has dealt with the shortcoming of the BA than BU but of course we get no credit.

@the traditional media, God doesn’t like ugly.

31. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Pachamama

You commented:

“We also happen to know the workings of many governments, in different countries and not a single one has achieved a relative absence of corruption. Despite the pleadings of Transparency International”.

You are correct but there is a difference between our experience and the different countries of which you speak. And that is, in Barbados even though corruption surrounds us like the air we breathe no one is ever held to account. In the different countries, people go to jail and in some cases, they are executed.

In this country, corruption of politicians start with their election. They break all the electoral laws with impunity. I remember the PM a saying that he witnessed vote buying and as far as I know, the relevant authorities have not received an official complaint from him.

32. @Caswell

To me fair to the Prime Minister he indicated he would have all the relevant laws scrutinized and reviewed as necessary.

33. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I well remember a case where a friend of mine made a complaint against a senior and well respected lawyer. The evidence against him was iron clad but the matter was never adjudicated. The lawyer in question sought and won the election for chairmanship of the disciplinary committee, and as they say, matter fixed.

34. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

There is no need to have the laws reviewed. All the legislation is in place but it is observed in the breach. For example, I reviewed the election expenses returns of several DLP candidates, including the PM and you would be surprised to learn that none of them declared that they had posters.

35. Vincent Haynes said ”Vincent Haynes January 25, 2015 at 2:43 PM #@ Onions
    A third party…..made up of individuals with the same background(no hands on knowledge of running anything) and education,having to deal with the same realities involving IMF,IADB,World Banks.Cooperate entities,Civil servants,etc,etc,etc,………to do what differently? Stanton should really give you 6 more.”

You are joking right??? Many, many out there are FAR more intellectually competent and qualified to run things, ANYTHING, including Government, than the likes of Lowe, Kellman, Lashley etc ad nauseum.

What makes the lot in Parliament special? Certainly NOT intellectual capacity, barring Mia and Own (who needs to retire).

Joking. Seems you are far against a third party…. wonder why???? 😉

36. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar

David January 25, 2015 at 5:26 PM #

@Suckabbuby

Interesting you mentioned the Brasstacks program today with Tariq Khan, president of the BA and Marguerite Woodstock-Riley, chairwoman of the Disciplinary Committee. No mention of how they plan to overcome the challenge of the backlog with the 7 member disciplinary committee. No mention of@@

After sitting in the court dealing with Ralph Thorne for over 2 years and after the 3 meeting they made this Skunt a QC as he eat peanuts and get on the phone . and call bomb to clear the building , Evidence show he was and still is a crooks and no ruling. The BAR better check the deed they on,

The BAR is a place to have a DRINK, The BAR is in the pockets of the lawyers set up.

37. On the third party, we may know sooner than later. As the economic wheels grind to a halt, an election will become imperative. Like it or lump it, that is how it will be.

THAT is when the third party will be shown as really necessary, that or the Opposition.

And the writing on the wall is so clear as to the economic wheels coming off the axles, it is not funny.

And notice the tactics? When people now question economy, it becomes a thing of ‘natural hair’, this or that , anything to discuss BUT the economy…..

Unfortunately, sleight of hand works only so long, when bread is not on the table, run like hell.

38. Crusoe
    When the heat is on Carrington,a diversion to the Nigerians and Donna StHill being put up by “Connections”,designed to throw a sprat to catch a whale…..

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

When the third party comes, AND IT WILL, let the ole man suggest this pre-emptively.

It needs to put a mechanism in place to deal with its election of their leader BEFORE it convenes and assigns that role.

IF it defaults to the First In and First to have paid the deposit rule, is leader, then it is putting the single element in place that will destroy that effort even before it is born.

As you ladies and gents work up the courage of committing to national service I would wish to suggest that you think of the Legendary Round Table of Camelot and Arthur and operate on the basis that none of you sits at the head of the table but let such leader come forth organically.

Plan for this even before you reach that hurdle since it WILL COME and if it is not something that you have considered BEFORE YOU REACH YOUR RUBICON, it will scuttle the initiative before you set sail.

40. “Lastly will they not only hold themselves accountable to people (as is done in Cuba with the recall system) but will they pursue the best path for Barbados in a way similar to that of the great Caribbean statesmen of the 20th century.”

My friend please tell me how many political parties are there in Cuba with a population of over 11 million people.

41. “A third party…..made up of individuals with the same background(no hands on knowledge of running anything) and education,having to deal with the same realities involving IMF,IADB,World Banks.Cooperate entities,Civil servants,etc,etc,etc,………to do what differently”

Fitting comment. rather than a third party; a look at a system which to strengthen parliamentary governance to meet the needs of the people the system is supposed to serve might be a better option.

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Balance

“….a look at a system which to strengthen parliamentary governance to meet the needs of the people …”

These are a key part of your statement which speaks directly to the points that (i) that introspection into that “system to strengthen” WILL NOT COME FROM or, THROUGH EITHER OF THESE EXISTING ENTRENCHED SYSTEMS.

CHANGE OR DIE

NO OLD WINE, NEW VESSELS OR NEW WINE OLD VESSELS, NEW WINE NEW VESSELS

VOTE PRB – the Party for the Rebirth of Barbados

43. It seems that many of the relevant persons commenting under this particular thread would really like to wish away the other parties that exist in this country, based on their very biassed, ill informed, ignorant and spurious opinions and insinuations about there being only two parties existing in Barbados.

Well, they will NEVER succeed!”

For those who just visit this BU web blog, and who do not post, and who however are interested in learning or knowing the facts as to the number of parties that exist in Barbados, we in the PDC must state for the benefit of understanding that there are more than the two older intellectually and politically backward, bankrupt and discredited DLP and BLP factions in this country.

Though they do not follow the essential western model of political parties, there are five other parties in Barbados other than those two older stupid irrelevant parties – the four parties that make up The Coalition of Unified Parties – and the New Barbados Kingdom Alliance, etc.

Thus, those facts impale the notion that there is a need for a third party in this land and destroy the need really for a thread of this nature.

Forwards Ever, Backwards Never.

44. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

** These are a few key words from your statement… (De Ipad really acting up pun de ole man..)

45. @ Mr Watson Parkinson January 25, 2015 at 3:04 PM #

“A third party made up of returning nationals… We have some great minds on the Island coming from the UK, USA and Canada…. With tremendous skills in every single field of work… Let’s use their knowledge, expertise and vision…! ”

You have raised a very interesting suggestion. Unfortunately, amongst this group you will find an elite, petite bourgeoisie mentality who would treat their countrymen and women with the same level of disdain as the current BLP AND DLP parties.

46. @ Caswell Franklyn January 25, 2015 at 3:42 PM

“We do not need a third party if it is going to be made up of malcontents from the other two. We really need to jail the crooks from the two parties and put in place a system where it wouldn’t be so easy to get away with corruption”

You appear to be on the road to Damascus. I would go one step further and introduce the death penalty to those politicians who have aired on the side of corruption. I would backdate this to the period when Arthur Owen was governing Barbados.

We need to send out a clear message to our politicians that those who chose corruption over good governance will forfeit their life.

47. Crusoe January 25, 2015 at 6:03 PM #

You are joking right??? Many, many out there are FAR more intellectually competent and qualified to run things, ANYTHING, including Government, than the likes of Lowe, Kellman, Lashley etc ad nauseum.

What makes the lot in Parliament special? Certainly NOT intellectual capacity, barring Mia and Own (who needs to retire).

Joking. Seems you are far against a third party…. wonder why???? 😉

……………………………………………………………….

Excellent point……so why are they not offering themselves…….you and I know the answer…..I would like you to shout it out ,so you and others can fully understand why we are in the mess we are in…..leh muh hear yuh

48. @ Vincent Hayes,

“Chicken and egg situation……..the present system is broke,so we need a new one…..who will conceptualise the new way forward and produce a template and then implement that change???”

What you are proposing is more of the same. No doubt your saviour would be armed with qualifications, would certainly be an academic, and would have little experience of the real world.

It is to the people and the streets where we should be looking for any fundamental changes in the system. Individuals and communities should collaborate with each other in order to become self-sufficient and autonomous. The aim would be to make our current system of government redundant.