Show Prudence, Let Political Ethics Be the Principle
Submitted by Dr. George Brathwaite

Dr. George C. Brathwaite
Lord Dicey argued that the legal system consists not only of the procedural enforcement of rules and precedents but also of the informal “customs, practices, maxims, or precepts which are not enforced or recognised by the Courts, [and which] make up a body not of laws, but of constitutional or political ethics.” In the Commonwealth Caribbean – Barbados included – most states govern using the broad pillars of a Westminster model parliamentary democracy.
Indeed, over the last year, Barbados has been celebrating its 375th anniversary year of Parliamentary life which is the third oldest in the British Commonwealth. On top of this, Barbados is now into its 49th year of independence and the challenge remains for all citizens of the country to be ‘strict guardians’ of the Barbadian heritage and ‘firm craftsmen’ of the fate of the nation.
Read full submission – Show Prudence, Let Political Ethics Be the Principle

As each day passes without the Speaker recusing himself from presiding over one of the oldest Parliaments in the Commonwealth, he attracts shame and disgrace to our once proud little island. BU will continue to sustain this message as long as we exist.
LikeLike
Look at the disdain and disgust people are viewing this Carrington matter. Even my good friend who is a Dem has said that Carrington is embarrassing the House and party and should go. The decent dems I know are outraged.
To think that this same man last year when the bees did not go to the 100,000 cocktail party to celebrate 375 years of Barbados Parliament………said that the BLP disrespected him by not attending and of course Donville had his say.
Now look what the same speaker has done to the same chamber. Unbelievable!
LikeLike
Recusing himself is not enough. This man who holds the office of Speaker has a duty to ensure that his office is not held up to ridicule. The Speaker seems to be saying traditions and conventions of parliament be damned, I need to hold on to qualify for my pension.
Mr. Speaker if you do not care about how stupid you look, please think how your reprehensible conduct will impact on your young son. Do you think that he can hold his head up and walk with pride among his friends while you are subjected to this much deserved castigation? Man, do you have no shame?
LikeLike
If the Speaker is having difficulty meeting the court order, maybe Deputy speaker Mara can help him. I suspect that as a Prime Ministerial widow, who is also a paid MP, and a retired teacher she has several streams of income and should be glad to help a loyal to David Dem like Michael.
LikeLike
Freundel Stuart has made a monstrous mistake by defending Carrington. I can not understand how the DLP continues to throw away every prime opportunity it has been presented with to show serious leadership.
This was the prime opportunity for the PM to re-shuffle the Cabinet amidst this allegation along with the allegations against Lowe and family.
What a stroke Freundel would have played by taking on the role of Minister of Finance now that there seems to be an upsurge in the tourism industry. He would have effectively disciplined or used Sinckler for his failed Eager 11 coup and promoted himself ahead of the game.
So for Freundel Stuart to not seize this opportunity to crack the whip is to be seen as “a monstrous perversion of common sense”.
LikeLike
Owen Arthur was indeed correct when he said this was a most “poorrakey” Parliament. The DLP is poor and the BLP is rakey. With those two options, I guess it is better to go with the “poor” ones for now. At least there are not embroiled in defamation cases.
What happens if George Payne testifies and brings all of Mia’s laundry in the open at court?
LikeLike
@ Dr.Brathwaite,
Excellent article, eloquently and succinctly worded, voicing concerns that we citizens have, well done.
That said, did the PM really say THIS?? ”Persons such as the Prime Minister prefer to write off serious concern as “a demonstration of monstrous stupidity.””
If so, I am stunned! Or maybe, not so much……
LikeLike
@ Stupse said ” effectively disciplined or used Sinckler ”
The thing is, he cant! Unless he is sure Poochie will stick around for his pension (I guess he will), he is scared to tell any a dem boo, else its election time if one says I dunwiddat.
Likely the same reason he is ‘supporting’ the Speaker…expediency. If it was 23-7 I suspect things would go down a bit different.
LikeLike
But then, leading for ‘expediency’ , at any cost…what does that say?
LikeLike
Barbadians need to stop supporting these two poorrakey parties. Look at the political meeting Mia has planned for Sunday. Its obvious there is a divide. No Kerrie, No Payne, No Marshall.
People within the BLP are against Mia taking over government before 2018. For her lackluster effort to assist Owne Arthur and her efforts to undermine Kerrie, Payne and Marshall supporters want to ensure she will have to wait and not pull off what would be the best political manoeuvre which was to let the DLP win by a hair then get out Mia then take up the government within 3 years.
LikeLike
*get out Owen
LikeLike
Would not a resignation be an admission to guilt or being a participator to an illegal act /action/ activity by the lawyer /Speaker, a ruling which the court have not stated or rule as a judgement against the speaker (lawyer)?
LikeLike
SHOW PRUDENCE
LET THE WHEELS AND THE SCALES OF JUSTICE BE PRINCIPLE
LikeLike
@ Caswell Franklyn January 24, 2015 at 1:07 AM
” Mr. Speaker if you do not care about how stupid you look, please think how your reprehensible conduct will impact on your young son. Do you think that he can hold his head up and walk with pride among his friends while you are subjected to this much deserved castigation? Man, do you have no shame?”
Very good point raised. The man has neither shame nor class. Neither does the PM (remember the bold-faced lie to the school boy and the vote buying shameful incident?).
Just a bunch of ugly thieving lying incompetent selfish nefarious jokers that have brought Barbados to the pinnacle of moral and political embarrassment and to the precipice of socio-economic disaster.
More than 50 years of free Secondary and Tertiary education and almost 50 years of political independence and this is where Barbados has ended up.
According to your Dear Leader Mr. Integrity you could as well go back to the cane fields and cleaning ‘Massa’ houses (but this time not the white man).
LikeLike
Carrington is NOT obligated to resign unless it becomes a criminal matter or he does not meet the requirement that the judgement has asked for.
Notice that the law firm representing the old man Griffiths is George Payne and Associates. These are the same set of lawyers/associates who are not supporting Mia.
What a fiasco we will see if Carrington takes the Speaker’s Chair on Tuesday and Mia runs up and down the stairs of parliament when he decides to take a break and Mara takes over. For sure, Kerrie, Dale or George Payne wont let no one make such a fool of them. On Tuesday will be BLP ‘Get Fit’ day.
LikeLike
By the way, both parties are a colossal waste of time only interested in themselves, their family and friends. the supporters of the parties are mere pawns in this nefarious political system.
How can an educated population continue to support these parties is mind-boggling!
LikeLike
Why are some of you deciding whether Carrington should recuse himself based on legal standing? Employees are suspended, resign etc on moral grounds or LACK OF CONFIDENCE. Isn’t the Speaker suppose to command the support\confidence of the Opposition? How does Payne NOT support Mia given what his law firm is attempting to achieve in Court?
LikeLike
WE ARE BECAUSE WE HAVE (ONLY) BE GIVEN ONE SIDE OF THE STORY. WE WILL CONTINUE TO STAND ON LEGAL GROUND UNTIL FURTHER EVIDENCE IS PRESENTED THAT SAYS DIFFERENTLY
A RIGHT AND A PRIVILEGE ACCORDED TO ALL . IN LIKE MATTER TO THOSE WHO HAVE REACHED A CONCLUSION IN THE COURT OF PUBLIC OPINION BASED ON ASSUMPTIONS AND SPECULATIONS engaging in LIBELOUS and DEFAMED TERMINOLOGY of People,s Character.
AT THE END OF THE DAY THE RULE OF LAW MUST TAKE PRECEDENT! AND IF THE LAW SHOULD FIND THE LAWYER /SPEAKER GUILTY OF THE alleged ALLEGATIONS NOW PRESENTED IN THE COURT OF PUBLIC OPINION .THEN THIS MATTER WOULD BE SUFFICIENTLY ENOUGH FINALIZED?SATISFIED TO SAY !
MR.SPEAKER YOU ARE WRONG AND YOUR SERVICE IS NO LONGER REQUESTED TO BE A LEADER /REPRESENTATIVE /MEMBER IN THE HIGHEST OFFICE OF THE LAND.
LikeLike
Sunday’s meeting …..venue Nr. Harbour Rd is going to be most interesting….the red ball has started rolling again!
LikeLiked by 1 person
AC
Don’t be an idiot.You must be familiar with the maxim…Justice must not only be done,but must be seen to be done.If you owe me money for over 2 years and despite my pleading for my money,you fail to make hand it over,you are in the eyes of the court of public opinion,a thief.None of your Ifs,And or Buts will change that perception,what Richie Haynes said was more important than the truth.Perception is what got the fool looking bad,bad and now making his defender looking worse.Who the hell other than the few whites that getting all the contracts,will look upon this administration with any confidence.Barbadians must awake to reality.There will be no economic recovery under this bunch.
Look how Maxine McClean defending her party in their selling out her dear credit union.Look how UWI invite OSA as an Eminent Person in their Eminent Lecturer series.You talk of a man who can hardly walk?OSA is one of those Bajans in whom there is still a monstrous repository of confidence…
LikeLike
…..but must appear to be done..
LikeLike
Onion bag you mean after the failed Meet the People, Rubbing Shoulders, Marches, Jolly Roger no show cruises the BLP starting on another set of foolishness. Your party really going keep a mob a ton of noise on Harbour Rd to keep the good people of the Farm, Black Rock, Brighton, Westbury and environs from getting a peaceful night’s rest. That cant be right.
The irony of BU posters overwhelming condemnation of Froon and the DLP while singing fulsome praises of Mia and the BLP is that if elections were called today the BLP would come second. The BLP would be the biggest loser.
Peter Wickham and George Belle the two self appointed top pollsters are challenged to prove that postulation wrong. Both Wickham and Belle have been embarrassingly wrong on national election polls but they soldier on as if their reputations were not impacted by their polling debacles of 2013 and 2008.
The BLP backed by Wickham put the legalization of same sex marriages on its discussion agenda. That topic alone would contribute to the defeat of Mia and her troops if elections were called. Like Mascoll the BLP has presented no credible recommendations to turn the economy around and the people know that. Bajans are not stupid. The lack of fresh ideas is a hot button issue that ensures the defeat of the BLP. The hate filled internal strife raging in the BLP will be another contributing factor to a BLP defeat. How will the Bees counter the rejection of Mottley by her mentor the colossus Owen Arthur?
The gauntlet is thrown down to Belle and Wickham to test the theories put forward.
LikeLike
Tax rumour
See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/62536/flying-fish-cou-cou-shedding-excess-weight#sthash.Iv5NmAHS.dpuf
A DISTURBING RUMOUR is making the rounds that is filling those who would be most affected with dread. The talk is that a Cyprus-type haircut scenario could be next for all those who have more than six figures in savings. You would recall that two years ago in Cyprus that accounts of more than 100 000 euros in savings were “taxed” to help the major bank there. From what Cou Cou has heard this talk about the possibility of something similar happening here gathered pace after the credit union tax was rolled out, and is being spoken of in hushed tones ever since. Cou Cou sees such talk as dangerous however given the implications such a move would have on not only these large savers, but confidence in the economy in general. Besides that, Barbados is no way near the volatile financial situation similar to how Cyprus found itself. Cou Cou feels the Government should make a statement to put this talk to rest one time.
LikeLike
@Stupse January 24, 2015 at 3:06 AM #
…………Freundel Stuart has made a monstrous mistake by defending Carrington. I can not understand how the DLP continues to throw away every prime opportunity it has been presented with to show serious leadership……………………
But Stupse,
How can he show leadership when he is not in control of these morons? He has clearly shown us that he cannot touch anyone of them………….why on earth would a man whom they tout as Mr Integrity support a conniving thief who stole from his friend?
To tell your cabinet at the last meeting before Christmas that he intends to reshuffle the cabinet and is now saying on Wednesday that ministers are carrying out their responsibilities and if at any stage he determines that the relationship between a particular minister’s aptitude and a job that he wants done can best be done by asking that minister to function somewhere else, he would do that……
Fumble does not know that almost every Bajan believes that not one of his ministers is doing a good job.
As usual, a lot of mumbo jumbo from him…………not worth the time you would take to read it. The bottom line is ………..it is alleged that when Fumble told the cabinet of the reshuffle, the Stinkliar told Fumble that he better remember who is in charge!
LikeLike
@ Tax Rumour January 24, 2015 at 9:04 AM #
A DISTURBING RUMOUR is making the rounds that is filling those who would be most affected with dread. The talk is that a Cyprus-type haircut scenario could be next for all those who have more than six figures in savings. You would recall that two years ago in Cyprus that accounts of more than 100 000 euros in savings were “taxed” to help the major bank there. From what Cou Cou has heard this talk about the possibility of something similar happening here gathered pace after the credit union tax was rolled out, and is being spoken of in hushed tones ever since. Cou Cou sees such talk as dangerous however given the implications such a move would have on not only these large savers, but confidence in the economy in general. Besides that, Barbados is no way near the volatile financial situation similar to how Cyprus found itself. Cou Cou feels the Government should make a statement to put this talk to rest one time……………………………
No surprise here! I made this observation on another thread on Tuesday. While we were focusing on the Speaker, there was a clip on DLPTV with the clown from St Lucy saying that Barbadians have 9 billion dollars sitting in the banks thinking that having money in the bank is an investment and it is time that the government look at this.
This scared me as you know the clown knows everything about every body’s ministry except his own. He is always saying that he is a member of cabinet so he knows what is going on. So to hear this coming from him, meant that there had to be discussion at cabinet level about this.
Watch………..as soon as this is announced, there will be a run on the banks……people will either take their monies out or split the accounts up into smaller balances or do what the morons would not want……take the money out of Barbados.
Do not doubt these people and the lengths to which they will go to get money to feed their “spendamania”.
Remember sometime ago the bandit chaser said that people were bringing in barrels and not paying enough taxes on them…………….look and see that the idler in the tourism ministry has announced a tax.
It seems as if the clowns are sent out there to “fly a kite” to gauge the public outcry, the morons would then wait a little and then bam……tax in your tail!
Does this not tell you that all of the their avenues to get monies have dried up…………woe is the NIS!
LikeLike
No surprise here! I made this observation on another thread on Tuesday. While we were focusing on the Speaker, there was a clip on DLPTV with the clown from St Lucy saying that Barbadians have 9 billion dollars sitting in the banks thinking that having money in the bank is an investment and it is time that the government look at this.
This scared me as you know the clown knows everything about every body’s ministry except his own. He is always saying that he is a member of cabinet so he knows what is going on. So to hear this coming from him, meant that there had to be discussion at cabinet level about this.
Watch………..as soon as this is announced, there will be a run on the banks……people will either take their monies out or split the accounts up into smaller balances or do what the morons would not want……take the money out of Barbados.
Do not doubt these people and the lengths to which they will go to get money to feed their “spendamania”.
Remember sometime ago the bandit chaser said that people were bringing in barrels and not paying enough taxes on them…………….look and see that the idler in the tourism ministry has announced a tax.
It seems as if the clowns are sent out there to “fly a kite” to gauge the public outcry, the morons would then wait a little and then bam……tax in your tail!
Does this not tell you that all of the their avenues to get monies have dried up…………woe is the NIS!
LikeLike
It will be interesting to observe if the government has the political stock in hand to withstand the barrage of public opinion pro Carrington should recuse/excuse himself from the Chair. Bear in mind the government won by 2-seats.
LikeLike
Bajans need to be very vigilant because of the attitudes and practices of the lawyers and politicians going forward.. it’s sad that out of 1030 lawyers on the island (figure from Tariq Khan), if you find 30 honest lawyers in Barbados, you are lucky and definitely not the 30 in the house of vipers called parliament. Bajans have to be more vigiland and pay attention, these lawyers are destructive and pretty soon there will be nothing left for the islands future inhabitants.
I do a lot of traveling and all that can be heard about Bajan lawyers is how dishonest and destructive they are, how many people they have robbed., their own clients cannot trust them.
LikeLike
What is the Prime Minister telling the nation at all. That a Judge may rule that a Speaker of the House should hand over $200,000 dollars to a client, a matter uncontested by the Speaker and all Barbadians are expected to accept and carry on smartly? What manner of man are you PM? Where is your moral fiber?
LikeLike
If Fruendel Stuart told thieving Michael Carrignton get a lawyer, he is telling the thief to challenge the ruling of Justice Cornelius, let’s hope his ass is jailed for defying that court ruling………steupss.
Here is how the real world operates, maybe the corrupt government ministers and opposition can learn something from the Sheldon Silver brohaha. Bajans need to stop pretending they are afraid of these scum politicians and lawyers.
http://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/embattled-speaker-silver-facing-tax-problems-article-1.2090151
http://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/preet-bharara-warning-sends-chill-state-capitol-article-1.2090219
LikeLike
@Gabriel
Justice must not only be done but must be seen to be done
Those words does include the Right of a guilty person/persons to challenge or pursue other avenues of justices on a judgement rendered
Faliure to do so or be disallowed would be a travesty against the laws which gives All A Right to a fair an equal justice.
The door must remain opened until all rights and privileges are exhausted.Then !Then only then would justice be Done but be seen as being done.
LikeLike
In the real world, no one is allowed to get away with crimes anymore, not even the fraud albino rats in buckingham palace.
http://www.nydailynews.com/news/crime/prince-andrew-dodges-abuse-probe-sex-slave-lawyers-article-1.2090175
LikeLike
Togetherness
……Dun know you want to start me up tis morning…..but nah, I in a good mood watching the 9 ways D cat gine get skin…..Besides if you were really worth your salt..you would realise that our plan has worked….
Who wants to board a stinkin, ah mean sinking ship? We have out foxed a hungry fox don’t you think?…thrown the greedy fish a rancid bait……now we are just watching and enjoying you all in horror and PAIN….
Talk about lack of fresh ideas….now there is a laugh. Who does be begging who everyday on the call in programs and the blogs for ideas? Certainly not we. Was it not you all who said “there will be no PRIVATIZATION….and yet the rest is history…..why even your name is a represent of ‘the beg’…and wrap ourselves around the flag?. shix?…LAME LAME !
Don’ don’t let me start on you son…You all’s plight to date is so pathetic that an ole pensioner in a wheel chair is your latest prey. We never had to press the charm button ‘all out’ like you…..begging the very same people you are crucifying daily with morbid n draconian taxes on the one hand, yet coming to them with the other with the confluence talk…Poor you all, poor indeed. Do I have to say any more? You all’s 7 year spate is the POOREST in all the history of Barbados and that is undisputed.
Tell me while you have my undivided attention Toots…..what you all doing with all these taxes you all collecting? I hear now the Taxes on Assets is planned to reap a mint….Imagine taxing poor peoples’ barrels ( listening to that now lame duck ‘sen-actor’) that contain $3 and $5 second hand Salvation Army checker pants air marked for some destitute lil fella from Brittons Hill or the Orleans…..Are these the lack of ideas you talkin about?….Man gimme a break …ya killin me wid laughter…. I in stitches now ,duppy tucks even. (MURDA)…LOL
LikeLike
The latest salvo is the government side in the Senate attacking the banks? If the government side believes the government should collect more taxes from banks why not advise their colleagues in the Lower House to do it? Why quarrel and make noise about it like everything else they do? Haven’t the banks shown that they will always pass on the taxes charge and there is nothing our impotent and supine successive governments have done about it? Senator Sandiford-Garner need to shut to hell up.
LikeLike
Credit Unions are by no means in the same financial category as banks. They cannot provide half the services banks can provide….how then can they be accorded this same n hefty tax?….. Maxine has bitten the hand that fed her….
Did Mr. Kung Fu not agree that they cannot tax their way out of this situation?
So what’s new….what else is there to tax? Air ?
LikeLike
Part of the problem is that the government is not rolling out policies on the back of any philosophy.
LikeLike
Barbadians are a presumptuous lot. Imagine asking the manager of NPC to come out and break his silence over the shortage of the natural gas supplies in some quarters of the island. The NPC Manager is just taking a lead out of the books of the Manager of Barbados and the Manager of the House of Parliament.
LikeLike
@Prodigal ”Does this not tell you that all of the their avenues to get monies have dried up…………”
My thought is, with the tourist season this year seemingly good, or very good, with the additional windfall on gas prices and the raised tax on gas,
Where the rangate is the money G-O-I-N-G-????????
THAT is my query!
LikeLike
What kind of country is this?
When we have a national crisis because of 250K.
And none of the people these blokes serve can’t find these few dollars to de-escalate this burgeoning crisis.
Maybe it is the straw that will break the camel’s back and lead to a wider conversation about the feckless criminals at the centre, of all local environments.
These are the people who just went to parliament to transfer tens of millions to Bizzy Williams. Still, they will never recognize that they are all chump do their masters’ bidding.
We should be ashamed that a Speaker of the Parliament of Barbados has been caught with a hand in a cookie jar. Commingling foolish money. If he were teefing 250MM some would have more respect for him. But petty crime, like this!
LikeLike
@ David January 24, 2015 at 11:25 AM #
The latest salvo is the government side in the Senate attacking the banks? ……………
…….Haven’t the banks shown that they will always pass on the taxes charge and there is nothing our impotent and supine successive governments have done about it? Senator Sandiford-Garner need to shut to hell up…………..
I just heard this woman on the 12.30 news and nearly hit the radio with the dish I had in my hand.
She was more or less as usual being her arrogant self, crucifying the banks for passing on the taxes they raised on the banks unto the banks’ clients. Does this woman live in the real world? Is this not how the real world of business operates? She said the banks should not pass on the tax, they should hold off as the tax is only for one year. When has this government ever imposed a tax on the taxpayers and took it off at the end of the stipulated period?
……..Remember when VAT was increased by 2.5% for 18 months……..and how long ago was that? It is now permanent!
……Remember the consolidated tax was imposed for 18 months. Did the Stinkliar not say that he has extended it for another year? Dont look for it to come off under this DLP either.
……Remember the Solid Waste tax is only for a year….let’s wait and see what happens. Bajans paid up after all the fuss, so the liar is emboldened to leave it for another year!
She should really shut the hell up, she does not come over at any time as someone who is supposed to be well qualified.
We are doomed with morons like these in government. She is the cause of this new tax in the Port………..she flew the kite and the MOF hauled it in. Morons!
LikeLike
Irene Sandiford is very ungrateful and has undermined the very credit union that helped her.
I guess she is so well off now she can join with the demoncratic party and impose bigger taxes on their profits. Remember when the demons crucified OSA when he let the cat out of the bag and said that the bandit chaser allegedly benefited from “freeness” of the credit union. Remember how the demons cussed OSA and said he attacked a woman?
These demons have broken down every rung on the ladders left in place by successive governments and they do not care. They all got free university education and all of those demons stood in Parliament and the Senate and justified the hefty tuition fees on Barbadian children. Some who had aspirations of going to UWI but now may never be able to go because they cannot pay the fees neither can they get a job.
Barbadians were truly fooled!
LikeLike
Prodigal Son January 24, 2015 at 1:25 PM #: “…she does not come over at any time as someone who is supposed to be well qualified…”
Unfortunately the case for most…
LikeLike
@ Prodigal
……..Remember when VAT was increased by 2.5% for 18 months……..and how long ago was that? It is now permanent!
……Remember the consolidated tax was imposed for 18 months. Did the Stinkliar not say that he has extended it for another year? Dont look for it to come off under this DLP either.
……Remember the Solid Waste tax is only for a year….let’s wait and see what happens. Bajans paid up after all the fuss, so the liar is emboldened to leave it for another year!
Include in that….the David Thompson’s increase in vehicle registration which was supposedly for 18 months also..
I think it is the Laffer’s Curve theory that states……increasing taxation can have a negative effect, slowing down an already ailing community, retarding the money multiplier, killing off what little growth, that there might be, in short being counter-productive…
But what do they care, majority of Dems believe in participating the fatted calf now by any means….for they surely know once duped Bajans will not be voting for DEMS ever again.
LikeLike
fyi
LikeLike
Join
BLP PUBLIC MEETING
Tomorrow at 7:00pm
Off President Kennedy Drive, St. Michael
LikeLike
this is the only response we could have. what’s going to happen when more, bigger crooks are discovered in the above line up
LikeLike
@ Well Well
This is what we tried to tell you yesterday. Everybody, everywhere is corrupt. It’s just a matter of degree. It’s virtually impossible for anybody, anywhere to be in public life and not have some stench of corruption emanating from their vicinity.
When we look at the people that the BLP feels confident in sending out, we see at least two (2) known crooks. Given time, indeed all of them, the BLP people, above, could be considered some kind of criminal. From the leader down.
So Bajans should grow the balls, no pun intended, to tell Mia and this to kiss their collective posteriors.
LikeLike
and this lot
LikeLike
This man Carrington has affected 3 important constituents.First and foremost the people of Barbados wherever they reside.Secondly,HM Commonwealth of Nations of which we are no ordinary member but one with the 3rd oldest parliament .Thirdly HM inner bar of advisors and advocates.
In addition he should have shamed himself and his family. Idoubt whether he has shamed his political brothers and sisters in the Party.
LikeLike
The people behind the Facebook page should link the page into the Commonwealth Secretariat’s office as well as whomever awards or confirms the Queen Counsel designation.
Shame the brute!
Does anyone know when is the next Commonwealth Parliamentary Association’s next meeting? Send the info on his thieving ways to the CPA and that should shame his thieving behind!
LikeLike
Isn’t that Dale Marshall top far right? I thought Togetherness aka Waiting aka x 25 said he was not speaking at the public meeting?
Cut down to size
A PERSON KNOWN for their impatience is said to be like a fish out of water these days. The individual thought with a seemingly resentment of the leader of the organisation by those working in it, together with the support of an experienced staffer, that they would have been able to catapult themselves to the head of the entity. But the embattled manager had other ideas. They chopped this grasshopper’s long legs off and reduced them to be just another worker. Now this person is said to be asking around as to what should be their next move as they are nowhere.That is, they have no major role and have been clearly sidelined possibly because of their links to those who have made it clear they do not wish the leader well.
LikeLike
Gabriel January 24, 2015 at 3:07 PM #
This man Carrington has affected 3 important constituents.First and foremost the people of Barbados wherever they reside.Secondly,HM Commonwealth of Nations of which we are no ordinary member but one with the 3rd oldest parliament .Thirdly HM inner bar of advisors and advocates.
……………………………………………………………………………….
And he surely has disappointed HM Prisons Dodds, where reservation should have been made for him.
LikeLike
@Enuff,
Dont worry with the liars, now known as the demoncratic party.
Some time ago, the BLP held a public meeting. A line up was agreed and one person who thought he was powerful and bigger than the party, called a call in programme to say he was not going to speak at the meeting. The party would not want a repeat of this, I would think.
I could never understand politicians…….yes, you all are all different and have have big egos but as part of a team, there must be some give and take. If you are leadership material, you would rise to the top!
LikeLike
Unfortunately I am hearing a rumour of an additional tax, could be unfounded, but the way everything is being taxed, maybe possible.
It is the D-Bot tax. The longer a member is, the more tax, by scaled measurement, will be. This is for the males. Females will be taxed on the size of the posterior.
I am not sure how many Ministers will have to pay much tax, but rumour is that Mr.Bush Tea of this site, will be hard hit, due to his renown.
Apparently Ms.AC is also blue vexed that they would do this to her.
She is apparently going for a bank loan on Monday.
LikeLike
To memebers of the Honourable Chamber
Mr. Speaker Sir, I rise on this occasion to speak to the vexing issue of the fiduciary responsibilities of your Honour and I would like to say that Honesty , dignity , integrity and even Mariah Carey dictate that an honourable person should know what is the honourable thing to do in any situation with which that honourable person is confronted.
To the General Populace
The Prime Miniser of Barbados the Right Honourable Freundel Jerome Stuart made a serious error in rising to speak in the defence of the Dis-Honourable Speaker of the House. The emphasis here is on the word -HONOUR/HONOURABLE- , something that is not bestowed as some people seem to think but something that is earned based on a number of factors that usually and more often than not is focused around the unwritten rules and ethics of the presiding environment. Part of this honour is knowing when to fall on your Sword–
LikeLike
We could talk until we are blue in the face. This government is not going to have any consideration for, or even listen, to the masses, until the next general election campaign.And we already know how they will come. London has its Chelsea Pensioners, Barbados is lumbered with its Palmetto Pensioners.
LikeLike
Prodigal Son January 24, 2015 at 4:59 PM #
If you are leadership material, you would rise to the top!
…………………………………………………………………………………………………
Speaking of leadership . During the Great War, a German General described the British Army as ,”lions led by donkeys.” There isn’t a single lion within this ruling administration. But there appears to be one crafty lion tamer.
LikeLike
ha ha Leadership ,,wid the real leader of the BLP please stand up.
LikeLike
O. K. so the BLp has been given a reprieve”sort of” with the carrington issue,, question, how is this issue going to help the BLp win the next election,
with the many problem and fires stoking within the BLp party yet to be resolved, it is conclusive to say that the BLP is not ready in any sense of the word in governing the day to day affairs a country when their family squabble like the hinkson and payne story under the leadership of mia has yet to be resolved.It would be interesting to see how this all plays out, given the onslaught of allegations and accusations hurdled at carrington from the slurry mouts of the blp yardfowls, guh long boy, high wind know where old house live, anyhow it is time fuh you yardfowls to start buying some rope cause wunna ole house all but ready to take flight, Kaboom!
LikeLike
@ ac January 24, 2015 at 8:37 PM
“…O. K. so the BLp has been given a reprieve”sort of” with the carrington issue,, question, how is this issue going to help the BLp win the next election…”
You just don’t get it, do you ac for assorted crap?
Isn’t it obvious that any political party contesting the next general elections will beat that deceitful lying party (dlp)?
Unless a third party comes along able to stimulate and motivate the electorate the BLP will win by default. The only people that could vote for the DLP in any significant way might be the johnnies still blinded by their allegiance to the Skippa whose legacy and memory have been destroyed by the current bunch of cunts dominating that once illustrious political party.
There will be no money from jada, cost-u-less or even the Williams clan to back a bunch of lying losers to buy votes from unemployed young people as was done in February 2013.
Now what ads can you launch to make OSA look bad? A naked young girl in the unemployment line on Bush Hill running from a vampire looking like Mia?
LikeLike
D jokes in here never cease…..(MURDA)…..
LikeLike
Miller wrote ” buy votes from unemployed young people”.
So will the BLP have the money to buy the votes.
Seems like no money no vote. lol
LikeLike
Presumably there will not have to be any vote buying next election. The demoncrats are going to be to ashamed to even canvas. They will be afraid to ask any man, woman or young person for a vote. They may get pelted!
LikeLike
@ Sir Bentwood Dick
‘….but rumour is that Mr.Bush Tea of this site, will be hard hit, due to his renown.”
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Never mind Islandgal with her blabbermouth….. 🙂
LikeLike
i am glad this issue with that thief Michael Carrington is as it is…i want to see the DLP back in the jungle where they came from before the end of the year. the majority of them have shown the world that when guerrillas are put in charge then not only will the people be eating bananas but the guerrillas will be robbing, the poor, the rich and anyone they desire because they had NEVER had it so good and it is certain they never will again. now the head Retard is telling this thief to get a lawyer!!! he stole money for his benefit and he is being advised by the head of an island (to the world, we have to be a banana republic) to get himself a lawyer. when they are up at 3:00a.m. conniving with their other lodge fellows and demons, why can they not just chop off each other stupid heads and replace their degenerated brains with that of humans? how long must honest Barbadians have to look at these buffoons in suits? when u make a pac with the devil, it is for a certain length of time, right down to the second after that you are in dead man’s guts. i hope all those asses know that and fully understand that when their faces morphing in front of other ordinary humans that says, their time is short….let them be aware
LikeLike
Pacha…………again, the problem is not the degrees of corruption, the problem in Barbados is that all the politicians and lawyers have gotten away for decades with every degree of corruption, it’s the getting away and not paying for their crimes is the problem.
Those dudes in Albany, New York, most of whom are lawmakers for the state of NY are quaking in the corrupt ass boots this morning because they all know they have all been corrupt at one time or the other, yet they all know that when the other shoe drops, they will pay in public for their corrupt ways, no one in Barbados can say the same for the corrupt lawyers and politicians in Barbados….I am sure you got my point now.
It’s disgusting that Fruendel Stuart will even tell a thief like Michael Carrington to get a lawyer when a judge has already ruled, that can only happen in another banana republic just like the one the DLP/BLP have reduced Barbados to in their many faceted greed, just like Pavlov’s Dogs.
LikeLike
Prudence? Owen is stated in todays Nation as remarking that Griffith needs ‘justice’.
Well, funny that. He never ever remarked on Al Barack.
So, as usual, just a jibe to get at Mia …..AGAIN.
Principles my foot, more like twists and turns.
LikeLike
Ha Ha Ha
Why wunna think Jesus used the analogy of wheat among tares to describe the proliferation of wickedness in this world?
There was the suggestion in the parable to abandon the whole project and collect both wheat and tares and burn everything….
…but the wise master decided to let them both grow together until the wheat was ripe, THEN to separate the two at the harvest…..
hmmmmmmm…
Of course some of the poorrakey wheat will fall victim to the weeds, but those that develop and ripen will be top notch…some even bush men 🙂
The other thing is that while weeds look large and impressive when left to themselves, you just need to put a whacker in there ..and their ass is grass in no time….with bush flying all over the place….
Ha Ha Ha Ha
Those crooked tares only flourish because we let them…..
LikeLike
Today’s Trinidad Express carries a story headlined AG Speaker Must Resign.It vindicates Caswell’s contention that a no confidence motion was the way to go in the handling of the Carrington matter.Maybe you could place the entire report on BU for a comparison on how the two countries handle a similar dilemma.I am convinced Mia was deliberate in putting Santia,like a lamb to be slaughtered,to deflect her responsibility, in her attempt to save Carrington tail from exposure.
LikeLiked by 1 person
Examine the question “And how will we know if they are for us or against us?”
That question could as easily be answered by (I) the actions through which the SS soldiers were able to confirm suspected Jews when the demanded suspects to pull down their pants and expose their covenant of circumcision or (ii) “shibboleth” the word which the 42,000 Ephraimites could not pronounce that caused their death
Equally so, as Mr Caswell Franklyn first announced, and Gabriel now repeats, the question of “why did the leader of the opposition choose (by her proxy Santiago Bradshaw) the teethless option of the committee of privileges”.
And the answers comes back to us.
Because it would have created a precedence where other lawyers in the honourable house would have been open to the same parliamentary process in the future and Mia, who is also a lawyer, also knows the story of Haman and the Gallows he built for Mordecai.
And Answer Number Two, because if such action had won, and toppled the government, with Mia as the Leader of the Opposition, at the ensuing General Election, she would have become Prime Minister.
However, Owen Seethru yet liveth and his Prometheus-like “possessions” DO NOT PERMIT this ascension to the Illarian Throne, not yet.
To all who would be president, king or prime minister keep wunna doggie clean and wunna transgressions limited to unpaid parking tickets
LikeLike