Submitted by HAMILTON HILL

FM92.9 the voice of my choice reported it. Nationnews.com published it. PRIME MINISTER STUART SUPPORTS THE SPEAKER. ‘Hold your ground’ was the message from one comrade to another. Question is why shouldn’t he? Why should he not support his comrade? Why should his comrade not hold his ground? What now confronts this country is exactly what its citizens in some sick, twisted and demented way seem to enjoy. For in the midst of it all  the Country at large jubilantly celebrated ERROL BARROW DAY.

Who cares that today represents a blatant reversal of every single progressive policy aimed at the advancement of poor Barbadians by the late Skipper? Who cares that his pet project called EDUCATION, the vessel crafted to sail any native Bajan regardless of colour, class or creed into the ocean of equality has now been ran aground off the coast of Jones beach? That John Connell or the other Senator whose name escapes memory at this time never came close to heaping this level of shame and embarrassment in the lap of a ruling party, but were still made to fall publicly on the sword of retribution does nothing to inspire today’s Bajan as to what real leadership is. We like who we got,and must take what we get.

We had a chance to send a clear message just last week. One hundred and thirty persons if that many participated in a march. What are the numbers on any given Thursday for Q IN THE COMMUNITY? That Barbadians did not come out and in their numbers stretch from St Michael’s Row to way passed Pelican, and in so doing send a clear message to this bunch is disturbing.

Since most Bajans seem to be done wid Freundel, I join the crowd and will even propose to go a step further. Freundel Stuart once said that history will record his administration as the best this country had ever seen. I propose that since we have made such a mockery of the memory of Errol Walton Barrow there should be a day set aside for Freundel Jerome Stuart. As a boy I remember we celebrated Guy Fawkes Day in Barbados and all he did was attempt to blow up parliament. FREUNDEL STUATR SUCCESSFULLY FUCK UP OURS.

148 responses to “I DOWN WID FREUNDEL”

1. @ Sergeant. ..My title was’ I Down Wid Freundel ‘.Inadvertently I presume BU changed it.

2. In the USA, last year, 2.3 billion was stolen by police, in cash, from civilians. This does not include the value of houses, cars etc.

That is big teffing

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Grace Fuller January 22, 2015 at 1:05 PM #
    “Prodigal Son
    It is likely that the lawyers for Griffiths will encourage him to file an affidavit to confirm that the money claimed and ordered has not been paid. If they get this, I am hearing they are going to make an application for contempt of court, not that would be a very serious matter indeed.”

The question to be asked here is if the application for contempt of court is successful would Mr. Carrington be deemed to have committed a CRIMINAL offence?

Is that why the PM advised him to seek legal advice and representation instead of financial assistance from his bank?

Can Mr. Carrington, at this stage, appeal against the first court order to repay Mr. Griffiths within 28 days and produce a statement of account of the client’s funds? Can he appeal against the judge’s verdict given the fact that he, Mr. Carrington, did not contest Mr. Griffith’s first application to the Court?

4. miller,

This whole mess is looking and sounding worse every day. Why the hell Carrington dont pay the man what is his by right instead of all of this bullshit. Bloody thief and liar.

Let this had happen to a Bee………..heaven knows the dems would have had BU on fire, Brasstacks would be hot and the bee would have had to go. Not so, Carrington has done nothing wrong. Even Tricia Watson on Brasstacks today defended him………we do not know the facts. She does not want to but we know! No probate of a will could take 14 years, I do not care what she says. Some of my siblings live in different countries and my lawyer had our business done in months.

Give me a break, Tricia! You and Carrington must be slow!

This is getting to the point where this man will have to get serious with this crook, I’m sure!

5. Mr. Caswell Franklyn, could you please answer this question:

What would be the implications arising from this matter, as it relates to Denis Lowe and the management of the NCC, if those former employees were to win their case at the tribunal?

6. @ old onion bags January 22, 2015 at 9:57 AM #

“@ BU family
    What ever has become of Check-it- out..? I just saw his moniker while research that article and queried…..Check-it if you are reading this come give us a shout…. a proper gentleman him. Not like Bushie…. or rouse-maker Caswell..LOL”

Due Diligence here – (not so) new moniker – thought DD sound better than C-I-O.

Thank you for your kind comments.

I am guessing you may have stumbled on the old post MARKETING BARBADOS TOURIST PRODUCT@
    https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2012/10/12/marketing-barbados-tourist-product/

Thank you for causing me to look up that October 12, 2012 blog.

I am posting a follow-up on that blog to Falling Oil Price a Boost to the Hospitality Sector blog.

7. Where are the BU legal gurus?

Surely Amused is not amused. Jeff C. probably tired from watching tennis.

I lef out anybody?

8. To be fair to Tricia Watson she stated the matter is before the Court and to take a definitive position from the snippet posted in the Nation is not the best way to inform a position. One would need to read the full judgement to get a sense of the Judge’s priority points.

We have to accept this matter has political, moral and legal views. Carrington may yet wit on the legal front but in the a court of public opinion he has lost the on the other two.

9. @ Norst Invader@7.08am

Your post is on target. In estates and trust matters it is imperative the a statement of Accounts be prepared; all expenses and debts relating to the deceased and the administration of the estate must be paid before disbursements to the beneficiaries .

10. In the face of all that is going wrong F reundel Stuart maintains a bloated cabinet that comprises the likes of the Minister of Referrals Dr Ester. The world over people seek to do more with less. PM Stuart does the opposite.

11. @Hamilton

Thought it was an error on your part hence the parenthesis used in the body. Corrected on BU if not on Facebook 🙂

12. I really do not understand, David.

How can he win on the legal front when a Judge examined the facts presented, found that Mr Crook had indeed held on to this man’s monies for years………….there is some merit in what we read and was told by the client as Mr Crook did hand over some $44,000.

What a Barbados we live!

13. David lawyers have proven guilty persons to be “innocent in court”.

That is why it is always good to “lawyer up”.

However the issue we have to determine in the BU court is what is expected of our politicians.

Would it be acceptable for a member of parliament to be seen in a strip joint getting a lap dances. Of course the excuse would be that he was investigating the effects of imported talent vs homegrown.

14. @ Hants

…me thinks you meant to say… imported salt cod…..to local salt fish LOL

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son January 22, 2015 at 3:38 PM
    “How can he win on the legal front when a Judge examined the facts presented, found that Mr Crook had indeed held on to this man’s monies for years………….there is some merit in what we read and was told by the client as Mr Crook did hand over some $44,000”

I am inclined to agree with you. How can he win on the legal front when he failed to contest Mr. Griffith’s claim in the first instance?
    If he had contested and lost we could understand his recourse to review of the judge’s decision.
    Can we presume that by Mr. Carrington’s silence and refusal to argue his case in the first place he has confirmed the plaintiff’s affirmations?

What is left for Mr. Crook to do other than fiddle the accounts to show that the expenses and legal fees incurred were so high leaving only $44,000 odd to be disbursed to the client.

16. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Hants

I going ask David to ban you!!

Looks whu you gone and do “Would it be acceptable for a member of parliament to be seen in a strip joint getting a lap dances?”

Which honorable member you see in Rehab or Brigette’s?

Wunna so does expose a fellow business pun de cyber highway and spoil a man chances at getting close to island girls in all dis sunny sunshine mekking we all appear as simple Simons

Low blow man, low blow…

17. It will be interesting to see how it plays out. Whatever happens the DLP brand has taken a hit.

18. Which honorable member you see in Rehab or Brigette’s?

Wunna so does expose a fellow business pun de cyber highway and spoil a man chances at getting close to island girls

LOL, LOL RoFLOL even…..what D rasta…..Rehab?, Bridgettes?…PODR is a traveling man boy……(murda)

19. The PM is reported to have said to the press; with regard to the on going Carrington Fiasco:

“Clients can complain for you about almost anything . . . A client once reported me to the disciplinary committee because he said that whenever he called my office I was in court, and I wondered whether instead of being in court he wanted me to be in a brothel. So you really cannot control what clients can complain about

I ask you seriously?

Is this the comment of a SANE man?
    Fit to be:

THE LEADER OF OUR NATION???

20. I am now reading my Nation.

I can see why the dems are getting on so “antsy” and being so rude.

Reading from the newspaper……………the Judge’s ruling was on December 19…..

if the ruling was from December 19, twenty eight days have gone!

Mr Crook is in deep deep trouble!

I am just asking but is there any truth to the allegations that things have gotten this far, this time because people were tired doing the same thing over and over………..not accusing, just asking.

21. Prodigal

I really feel sorry for tormented soul!

The one – Owen Arthur that you and BLPites have lost.

Both Bees and Dees will help Carrington to his debts.

So dry your tears and go back to sleep…..!

Bajans….too love DEMS!

22. Prodigal

I really feel sorry for your tormented soul!

The one – Owen Arthur stated that you and other BLPites have lost.

Both Bees and Dees will help Carrington to pay his debts.

So dry your tears and go back to sleep…..!

Bajans….too love DEMS!

23. I thought that Mr Crook has done nothing wrong and that he does not owe Mr Griffiths a cent!

See how you all contradict yourselves? Under one moniker you say the bees and dees will pay up…….are you begging the bees now since it is alleged that dees are tired paying up.

Under another you are looking at libel because we have no evidence that Mr Crook did anything wrong as there is no land, no nothing, the judge is wrong, made a wrong judgement, she had no reason to award monies, there is no there there!

You all are priceless……..morons!

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son January 22, 2015 at 6:02 PM

Well spotted, Prodigal!
    I am glad you can spot the contradictions of the asshole hiding behind different monikers. At least both you Prodigal and the much abused miller don’t have to use multiple monikers to tell the truth.

If ‘Carrionton’ has done no wrong shouldn’t the money be in the client’s account and could be easily confirmed by way of a bank statement presented to the judge?
    Why would he Carrionton have to be running about like a blue-ass fly begging his so-called BLP friends to bail him out?
    Doesn’t that make him a professionally incompetent unreliable dishonest lying bastard not fit for holding public office?

25. NOW has called for the Speaker of the House, that august and venerable chamber to recuse himself until the Committee of Privileges dispatches the matter. Of course to do so means that Carrington matter will be lodged in abeyance until the Lord comes.

26. @ Fractured Blp
    The Blpites soul may be tormented by the pain of seeing where our Barbados have come to under this Dlp Government that have no soul ,or mind

27. There is a real sense of shock with the political tremors erupting out of Bridgetown. The arrogance of The Speaker of the House who appears to be supported by the very honourable Freundal Stuart is nothing short of remarkable. Our Prime Minister has made it evident that he is prepared to back a man who has no moral compass. A man who has been referred to (several times) as a common thief on this blog!

There are some of you who believe that this event spells the death knell of our state and view this situation as a sign of our permanent decline. For those of you who believe this, I say to you “Rejoice”; for out of these ashes we will give birth to a new Barbados.

Carrington in his greed has exposed to us the criminal and corrupt machinations of our politicians. Equal to this he has made it clear – for all to see – that our politicians have contempt for the masses.

I appear to be the only one rejoicing. There will be consequences for this government, our two major political parties and our constitution. The BLP and the DLP will have a job to convince the masses that they are political entities and not Mafiosi organisations. It is evident that our political system allows for kickbacks (bribes), intimidation and perhaps worse to facilitate business transactions.

Questions have to be asked: How long has this culture existed for? How much monies were paid to our politicians? Who are the guilty politicians? And who were those groups who paid these bribes?

We need the answer to these questions as the time has come for the masses to “faire le ménage”, that is to say: clean up the corrupt home that we call Barbados. It is inutile to expect our politicians to take on this role as they are clearly a morally bankrupt group.

It is up to Bajans who reside in Barbados to decide their fate. The word sheep has often been used to describe this group; looking from the outside I can see why. From where I stand their fate appears to be doomed. They seem blissfully unaware that their land is been sold off to foreigners, that they are becoming a marginalised group within their country, that their industries are been deliberating been run into the ground and that their government is operating a scorched earth policy which has been designed to demoralise them perhaps in the vain hope that they will emigrate.

Whilst Barbados burns our politicians have been and are being handsomely rewarded by their foreign and national backers. However, there is a spanner in the work but it needs to be removed from the toolbox in order for it to be effective. Once removed there will be no more BLP or DLP; and what of those corrupt and criminal politicians, both past and present, they will be brought to trial and sentenced accordingly. Justice will not escape them or their families.

28. If someone is happy having a “best friend” even if he is no leper, and is willing to side with and support a professional person whose integrity is called into question, would it be a fair assumption that that same person would be willing and capable of collaborating with criminal elements in order win an election. Has this ever happened in a sister country to the north.

It is worst having a weak leader than no leader at all.

29. @David
    I don’t know if this has been asked,but are there any updtes to these lawyer cases? Some are quite old!

David January 21, 2015 at 11:42 PM #
    A reminder we have started LAWYERS in the NEWS page. Please email your suggestions and experiences for review and update

30. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (make no riot)

I don’t know if the sun will rise
    I don’t know if I’ll be around tomorrow
    If I’m around then I’ll try to do
    all the good things that a man should want to do
    will this mind of mine will think whats good to think
    yes my mind would
    I’ll be good & kind to all my fellow men
    I would smile at all things that should make me proud
    If I could only see tomorrow
    but I don’t know if the sun will rise
    how do I know if going to see tomorrow
    I don’t I say

I don’t mind, live good today
    http://youtu.be/pZvkkKqHyvo

31. Hamilton Hill January 22, 2015 at 1:31 PM #
    @ Sergeant. ..My title was’ I Down Wid Freundel ‘.Inadvertently I presume BU changed it.

Hamilton what stupid NAME you put to this post? LOL….I down wid Fruendel?..what does that mean nuh? Enlighten us….

32. fruendie and crew right like shite to run racket over bajans. dem get up pun dem high horses n say dem want change, change dem want n change is wat dem get. dems now but not sure if they wud be dems again, at least not anytime soon after the next elections

33. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Artaxerxes

You asked:

Mr. Caswell Franklyn, could you please answer this question:

What would be the implications arising from this matter, as it relates to Denis Lowe and the management of the NCC, if those former employees were to win their case at the tribunal?

I don’t see how they could lose the case; no lesser person than the PM stated publicly that they were missteps in the process, but in Barbados you never know. However, if they win the case, the tribunal could order reinstatement. In that case, the workers would have to be paid for all the time they were at home. Since the dismissals were directed by the IMF, management and the minister would have to find replacements for those returning. If they refuse to reinstate, the tribunal could order up one year’s pay.

34. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

@ Old Onion Bags… Man you just enjoy picking at me. If you read and understood what you read, what’s the problem? By their actions, or depending on how one looks at it their inaction, Bajans seem to be loving what’s going on. I sought to join them…..though not to the extent of extoling the virtues of Donville Inniss. Ya get my drift Onions ?

35. @ Exclaimer ”they will be brought to trial and sentenced accordingly. Justice will not escape them or their families.”

You see, this is the sort of drivel that firmly ensconces the status quo. Because people read statements like that and think ‘what sort of lunatics are trying to usurp’.

Not, ‘what are the credible and logical alternatives, of good and decent persons’.

But statements such as yours amounts to a witchhunt and attacks akin to the lunatic fringes across the Arab world.

What have peoples families got to do with how they run the country? Why should third parties pay for a man’s competence or lack thereof?

No, no lunatic fringe for me, thanks!

Hopefully some good and decent and RATIONAL persons shall step forward, to provide decent opposition, not the likes of a lunatic fringe, which actually defeats the purpose of a new party as well as scares people off a new party.

36. @ Crusoe,

I agree with you.

37. Prodigal
    Are you saying that today January 22nd 2015 is 34 days since the Judgement and some further action is due to be made known to the plaintiff or is the ball once again in the plaintiff’s court(no pun intended).

38. this article reminds me of the person who told the PM that he (PM) had a broad nose and the PM respond was i already knew that

now think about it all the respondent to the article Was never UP WID FREUNDEL<

What a waste of literary space

NOW TO<ALL THE BLP yardfowls who have responded WE ALREADY KNEW THAT

39. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Could foreknowledge of the Carrington fiasco have been at the heart of the PM’s (reported in the Nation) informing his Ministers that he was reshuffling ministries in early January this year?

If so, what has happened in the interim? Why no action on that score? Typical procrastination?

It would appear, from today’s Nation, that no monies have been paid to Mr Griffiths up to at least Tuesday this week which would still be 4 days outside the date set by the Judge. So could this be the reason that the PM enjoined Mr Carrington to get a lawyer and sought to obfuscate that message by also suggesting that the LOO should also get a lawyer?

Interesting days!

40. @ Crusoe,

I’m disappointed that you have singled out one sentence in my discourse; but at the same time respect you for remaining loyal to your own individual sense of morality. Do you think that Carrington and Stuart could learn something from our exchange?

41. @pieceuhderockyeahright January 22, 2015 at 4:07 PM “Hants I going ask David to ban you!! Looks whu you gone and do “Would it be acceptable for a member of parliament to be seen in a strip joint getting a lap dances?” Which honorable member you see in Rehab or Brigette’s?”

I am going to have to tell your madam and your pastor about you. You have no business knowing about Rehab or Bridgette’s.

42. David January 22, 2015 at 4:29 PM #
    “It will be interesting to see how it plays out. Whatever happens the DLP brand has taken a hit.”

Whereas thousands of people choose to study the law, I choose to study the lawless.

Having said that, I expect to make all of the mistakes and fall into all of the traps that any callow ‘legal ignoramus’ would, when looking at this case. So up front, I ask readers to bear with me.

Let us assume that sexual consent can only be given by an individual who is at least 16 years old.

A mother in a mythical country, faced with a change in working hours, sought out a friend who had a baysitting business. She contracted the professional services of her friend to babysit her 12-year old daughter. To make a long story short, the mother eventually took a case to civil court seeking child support, after the 50-year old babysitter impregnated her daughter. The babysitter raised no objection to the claim, and mounted no defence whatsoever. Deep down inside, he knew that the charges were true. He was the baby’s father.

The judge ruled that child support must indeed be paid.
    However, to make sure that justice was being dispensed fairly, she told the babysitter that he must return to court in 4 weeks’ time with the results of a DNA test. She also ordered a test for the mother and baby.

If the babysitter returns to court with DNA evidence that proves he had sex with, and impregnated a 12-year old girl, would that evidence expose him to criminal prosecution for statutory rape? In other words, can the evidence secured in a civil case be used by the DPP to commence proceedings in a criminal case?

So far, the Michael Carrington “scandal” is a matter in civil court. In reporting on the case, the Nation Newspaper said that the Judge ruled “that Carrington RENDER AN ACCOUNT OF ALL SUMS BELONGING TO THE PARTICULAR ESTATE within 28 days.”

The way I see it, for Mr. Carrington to properly render an account of ALL sums, he has to show the amount and date that money came in, and how much went out and when, to arrive at what is now left.

In dealing with the SUMS THAT WENT OUT, Mr. Carrington will painfully reflect on the fact that he knew he was performing a fiduciary role. Deep down inside, he will admit to himself that he was a trustee, and was bound by law to protect the interests and rights of the beneficiary, who in actuality was his client. He will wince legally, politically, and professionally each time he puts down the date and amount that his client’s funds “went out”, or ought to have come in, but didn’t.

Unrealistically, if Mr. carrington could match those funds that went out with funds that subsequently came back in soon after, he might still have a chance. Barbadians would condemn him for poor administrative practices and for “taking liberties with people money” but they would be the first to defend him if anyone tried to lock him up. I can hear them saying: “Why wunnuh don’t go and lock up them really ‘teefing’ lawyers who car’ way every blind cent from so much people? At least Carrington could still account for, and produce his client money when the Judge forced ‘e to. Look, leave the man alone.”

Realistically, if Mr. Carrington shows his client funds going out of the account and never coming back in, or if he shows instances of funds being received on behalf of his client and never being accounted for, then he would have demonstrated to the Judge that he betrayed his client’s trust, and that he had contemptously trampled on the fiduciary principles that were deliberately established to restrain him in his handling of clients’ funds in the first place.

It is this type of situation that would make the cases of Mr. Carrington and the fabled babysitter above quite similar.

Under this scenario, would evidence of financial impropriety produced in a civil case trigger a response from the DPP to prosecute? If so, should a politician expose parliament, his political party, and himself to the public hounding and humiliation that will result from criminal prosecution?

Finally, before and throughout the civil case, it would appear that Mr. Carrington either did not receive, or that he rejected advice to hire a lawyer.
    Public reports now indicate that the Prime Minister has now advised Mr. Carrington to seek professional legal services. In essence, the Prime Minister seems to be broadcasting that criminal prosecution is likely and imminent. He seems also to be signalling his government’s and party’s willingness to accept any and all political and moral risks that the Carrington “scandal” has generated.

I can already see the minds of cynical Bajans coming up with a trial date of March 2018.

43. Not really off topic as this thread is dealing with garbage anyway.
    The continuing sage of the Dover Disgusting Dust Bin. The bin has gone /relocated ,but people still continue , like docile horses, to dump garbage on the original site.
    http://imgur.com/s2Ta3Oc

The next downgrade to Barbados will be coming from the UNESCO Heritage people, when Bridgetown and the Garrison will be given a rating of Standards Poor….. Frigging Poor!!
    http://imgur.com/DsSZZlp

44. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ all who are Concerned about de Ole Man’s whereabouts when de night come

I must tell wunna young one the reason de ole man know bout dese new places dem.

Embarrassment

Imagine dat de ole man arguing a pint in de church about hypocrisy and the fact that Jesus did not come for the saved but for de sinners who were in the dens of iniquity and den issuing a Challenge for de Pastor and the Holy Hands crew to find demselves in Castros and Harry’s

Man everybody laugh at me and tell me dat dem places bun down and is no more and dat I gots to get wid de program so de ole man din want to get embarrass again so I toss in dem names like a star boy, dem did mention two more but de memory din catch dem.

If wunna cud fill in de names I would be appreciative of the help.

No volunteers?

Man wunna smart man, I nearly ketch de backsliders among wunna jes now…

45. @Walter Blackman January 22, 2015 at 10:32 PM #….

Senor, you are too educated to really make this type of comparison so I will presume this is for BU discussion only.

In the Carrington matter surely the discharge of the civil matter by a complete repayment as described in the judgement will make a criminal matter rather moot. That is to say, the DPP could bring such a case but to what avail really other than a political vendetta.

Mr. Grififth would be returned to a full and proper state so what great public right would the criminal case really be correcting. But the DPP could would make that call.

In the other instance statutory rape is a crime. No ifs, buts or maybes. The judge in your hypothetical civil case would be duty bound to lay the facts of that matter before the DPP immediately.

The babysitter should be walking out of civil court into the hands of a police officer.

Now, like you I am no lawyer nor am I trained in your high-end discipline so I am trying not to fall into those ‘traps’ you mentioned

46. So everyone think Freundel wicked and corrupt….

Well, this is how they roll in the ‘civilized’ (according to Wel Well) world of the US:

The News reports: “Gov. Cuomo called the arrest of Assembly Speaker Sheldon Silver “a bad reflection on government” but would not say if he believes the embattled pol should resign his leadership post.”

And this is the same governor who established an ethics panel to investigate corruption and then when this same whispered to him that was not a good idea, the Governor disbanded the panel.

Now that is a big-foot move only mcguffies who large and in charge could do. Night does run… as they say.

And this Gov has the Presidential glint in his key for down the road. OMG.

We think things dread in BIM.

Another Assembly speaker down south got a gazillion indictments against him and had them there during the elections. He still win. He refuse to resign and pompasetting as the chief legislative officer in his state as essentially a soon to be convicted felon. He has absolutely no moral and ethical ground to sit or stand but refuses to go and ALL his political party colleagues support him.

This Carrington thing is light weight in the scheme of things. He is a scoundrel and scallywag no doubt but merely a poorakey one.

47. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Walter

I don’t think that the PM advised Carrington to get a lawyer because a criminal charge is in the works. My take on it is even more sinister. As far as I am aware, Carrington did not file a defence, in which case, the judge would have given a default judgment. Now let’s say that Carrington engages an attorney-at-law at this stage, his first move would be to go to court and seek to get the judgment set aside because he has an arguable case.

If the judgement is set aside, the matter would be set down for trial and with a whole set of adjournments, Griffiths would meet his maker long before the case is heard.

48. Walter Blackman January 22, 2015 at 10:32 PM

Unrealistically, if Mr. carrington could match those funds that went out with funds that subsequently came back in soon after, he might still have a chance. Barbadians would condemn him for poor administrative practices and for “taking liberties with people money” but they would be the first to defend him if anyone tried to lock him up. I can hear them saying: “Why wunnuh don’t go and lock up them really ‘teefing’ lawyers who car’ way every blind cent from so much people? At least Carrington could still account for, and produce his client money when the Judge forced ‘e to. Look, leave the man alone.”

DeeWord January 22, 2015 at 10:59 PM

“In the Carrington matter surely the discharge of the civil matter by a complete repayment as described in the judgement will make a criminal matter rather moot. That is to say, the DPP could bring such a case but to what avail really other than a political vendetta.

Mr. Grififth would be returned to a full and proper state so what great public right would the criminal case really be correcting.”

DeeWord,
    From the above references, it is evident that both of us addressed the (unlikely) situation of the money being repaid. Both of us agree that the public would view a criminal prosecution of Mr. Carrington as a political vendetta.

Now, unlike you, I have also addressed the (more likely) situation of Mr. Carrington not being able to repay the money:

Walter Blackman January 22, 2015 at 10:32 PM

“Realistically, if Mr. Carrington shows his client funds going out of the account and never coming back in, or if he shows instances of funds being received on behalf of his client and never being accounted for, then he would have demonstrated to the Judge that he betrayed his client’s trust, and that he had contemptously trampled on the fiduciary principles that were deliberately established to restrain him in his handling of clients’ funds in the first place.

It is this type of situation that would make the cases of Mr. Carrington and the fabled babysitter above quite similar.”

Interestingly enough, you overlook this very important and critical point completely. Why?

49. DeeWord January 22, 2015 at 10:59 PM #

@Walter Blackman January 22, 2015 at 10:32 PM #….

“In the other instance statutory rape is a crime. No ifs, buts or maybes. The judge in your hypothetical civil case would be duty bound to lay the facts of that matter before the DPP immediately.

The babysitter should be walking out of civil court into the hands of a police officer.”

DeeWord,
    In this case, the fraudulent diversion of a client’s funds by a lawyer saddled with fiduciary responsibility ia also a crime. No ifs, buts, or maybes……
    Your writing above therefore suggests that the Judge “would be duty bound to lay the facts of (this) matter before the DPP immediately.”

I hope you can see clearly now why I wanted “to really make this type of comparison”.

50. Caswell Franklyn January 22, 2015 at 11:50 PM #

“I don’t think that the PM advised Carrington to get a lawyer because a criminal charge is in the works. My take on it is even more sinister. As far as I am aware, Carrington did not file a defence, in which case, the judge would have given a default judgment. Now let’s say that Carrington engages an attorney-at-law at this stage, his first move would be to go to court and seek to get the judgment set aside because he has an arguable case.

If the judgement is set aside, the matter would be set down for trial and with a whole set of adjournments, Griffiths would meet his maker long before the case is heard.”

Caswell,
    Thanks for bearing with me and my legal ignorance. I thought that once the Judge ordered Mr. Carrington to “render an account” within 28 days, that is what had to be done. I had no idea that a lawyer could be hired, after the judgment had been handed down, to come in and have the Judge’s ruling “set aside”.
    Politically, the approach you just outlined would be much more attractive, convenient, and cleaner for Mr. Carrington and the PM. It certainly makes a lot more sense than my “rookie” projection of impending criminal charges.
    However, that begs the question: Once the judgment has been set aside, would the opposition lose its right to claim that a ruling has been made in civil court against the Speaker, and so he should recuse himself?
    Would he now be able to sit “in the chair” until the matter has been “argued”?