Submitted by Crusoe

According to our Nation daily, there has been some confusion on the start of the sugar cane reaping season, with farmers unaware of the schedule set by the authorities.

However, the Government has indicated its intent to invest taxpayer dollars heavily into a new sugar processing plant, costing hundreds of millions.

Does it seem logical, that a Government so intent on splurging taxpayer dollars, cannot even manage a sugar cane reaping schedule and that there is so much confusion between government and farmers?

Does the right hand know what the left hand is doing?

Do they even care?

Or is intent only to spend taxpayer dollars on a failing industry? To the benefit of, not the farmers, not the taxpayers, but those who are contracted to build the plant, take their profits and walk away?

Leaving taxpayers to repay a huge loan and farmers no better off?

170 responses to “Another Sweet Fiasco?”

1. @millertheanunnaki January 18, 2015 at 3:29 PM #

Now why would I want Waterford canes,when I had Haggats ones,I left those for town boys like Bushie and you…lol

The studies cannot revive the industry…..yuh tink um is Lazarus…..

2. What are to do with the PhD’s languishing at the MOA?

3. many a household became sufficient by seeing breath breathed into a society from the whispering sounds of sugar cane , but in time all good things come to an end when what use to be becomes tireless and outdated ,carbon copies become faded and obsolete rules no longer apply . Alas ! sugar has reached that cross road and it,s ability to breathe life into a society has ended,Moreover the whispering sounds from society cannot ignite or breathe new life or take one back to those days of glorious days . The world has entered a new phase having gladiators that put their stamp of approval as to what is relevant or not.
    It is time that those who have a affection for the nostalgic take their bow exit with haste and rather than shed tears of what used to be entertain and accept gracefully that on every horizon a new dawn

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David January 18, 2015 at 4:17 PM

How many are they now? About 18 or so?
    What are you going to do with those over-qualified misfits other than keep them on the taxpayers’ funded welfare roll monthly receiving academic disability allowance.
    These PhD’s, wheel-chair bound behind the desks at Graeme Hall, have no shame whatsoever in seeing their rural countryside overgrown with bush and overpopulated by vermin and their West African cousins the green monkeys slowly migrating to town areas because they know Bajans can’t eat either sea water and sand or bush.

5. @David/Bush Tea/Miller

ac January 18, 2015 at 4:27 PM #

It is now official read the above posting of the legion and weep.

6. @Miller

Sometimes when one observes first the demise of the sugar industry followed by the inability of some of our well educated Barbadians to make relevant decisions about the industry, Vincent is correct when he used the word weep. Bear in mind this mess straddles both political parties. A moribund lot, and this includes the purebred yardfowls.

Now we wait on minister David Estwick to deliver. It doesn’t matter though, his constituents seem to be behind him all the way.

7. David said ”January 18, 2015 at 4:39 PM # @Miller ….
    Now we wait on minister David Estwick to deliver. It doesn’t matter though, his constituents seem to be behind him all the way.”

Let us hope they do a good job then!

😉

8. Vincent Haynes January 18, 2015 at 2:25 PM #
    @Bush Tea January 18, 2015 at 9:09 AM #

@ Colonel Buggy and Vincent
    wunna fellas are making a BASIC mistake….

My humblest apologies

…………………………………………………
    Mine as well, absentmindedly I was wearing my British cap.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes January 18, 2015 at 4:33 PM

Seen.
    End of the third term of crop harvesting and the industry is now officially ‘superannuated’.
    Wonder what Headmaster Fumble is going to say about it to justify his big lie of financial resuscitation. Maybe he plans to give Dr. Estwick a massive myocardial infarction in the coming weeks. More like a political infraction from the lame-duck poodle.

BTW, what has become of our friend Sargeant, our Canadian correspondent?
    Hants, any word on your cold blooded buddy from the Arctic freezer?

10. Sugar cane production may be a dying industry in Barbados simply because no one wants to try new ideas.

http://www.papstar-pure.com/en/Produkte/Teller%2Bund%2BSchalen%2Baus%2BZuckerrohr-6.html

11. Sargeant indicated in an earlier comment he expected to be on island.

12. Hants January 18, 2015 at 4:52 PM #
    Sugar cane production may be a dying industry in Barbados simply because no one wants to try new ideas.

http://www.papstar-pure.com/en/Produkte/Teller%2Bund%2BSchalen%2Baus%2BZuckerrohr-6.html
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    And if we start to manufacture such goods locally, just like Banks Beer and a few other local manufactured good, Bajans will go for the cheaper imported version, coming in from Trinidad and China. Do you know that the Blind Workshop, is seeing hell, marketing such traditional items as mops and brooms,as the Chinese are flooding the market with their “2-Dollar store” items.

13. @millertheanunnaki,

Sargeant is probably in Barbados. There has been extreme cold alerts in Toronto for the last few days.

Only poor boys like me stuck in the freezer.

14. @Colonel Buggy if Bajans don’t buy Canadians will. We live in an era where branding and marketing products strategically is the norm.

We have a Consul General who is an Agricultural expert. let him become the super salesman for Agricultural products.

One dinner meeting with this guy and its game on.

http://business.financialpost.com/2014/07/17/loblaw-says-head-of-shoppers-drug-mart-to-exit-reveals-other-changes/

15. By the way have you noticed how Coconut is the new super food and health products based on coconuts is the new big thing?

16. no ! hants have not noticed still awaiting your daily newspaper to read “all about it” hope you did not lose your paper route because of uncollected/collected funds

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….People have send a resounding message to govts across the entire world, that the benefits of organic foods outweigh the risk of processed and chemically induced foods and govts are responding

17. maybe what DR Estwick needs to do,is look across the entire globe and see the many transformations and initiative govts are using to motivate ! instill! and initiate new programs that are the drivers to growth in the agriculture industry without having any fancy foot work, his need of sulking and frowning and acting like a spoiled child who cannot get a favorite cookie is unbecoming ! stale and worned out!,
    his role of advocacy does not begin solely on a platform designed with one concept but continues and should so even when their is a need to detour.
    In the ‘Real world” of politics problems will arise, however the solutions may at times need a diplomatic approach rather than hell raising and flag burning,

18. BU Fellows

RE:ac January 18, 2015 at 8:11 PM #

It appears that the legion is not in agreement…….we will await the the 20th Jan and see what happens,if 2000 acres is lost that’s it.

19. the Govt fiscal responsibility is first and foremost to the country, superseding all other areas regardless of political fall out.
    the political climate is tedious and requires action with a readiness and preparedness introducing methods and goals for long term planning,/solutions
    Taking such a message to people /constituents is not indicative of failure but a realistic approach within a political climate needing solutions,
    i am certain that (much) dr Estwick is aware of, in as much that his ” off the handle ” method of approach may be titillating and one perceive to be that of having a winning advantage,

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac January 18, 2015 at 8:11 PM

Why the French Connection UK don’t you get off Minister Estwick’s back, you pack of disloyal monkeys performing like true ac’s (assorted cunts)? The man is just trying his utmost best to implement the manifesto pledge of his party with regard to the sugar industry.
    Does the following ring a bell or even the sway of the flowering arrow cane blades in the January breezes of the North East trade winds on the St. John rolling hills?

“When the DLP demitted office it left behind a carefully crafted and financed programme for the rationalization of the sugar industry. Its primary target was to increase sugar output from the current level of around 50,000 tonnes up to 75,000 tonnes. This target was based on the availability of the European Union preferential market and domestic demand. It envisaged bringing land back into sugar production through price support and other incentives for farmers. Sadly, this programme was abandoned and the now trumpeted BLP alternative to rescue the industry involves a mishmash of elements – energy and ethanol production from “fuel cane”, coupled with 30,000 tonnes of raw sugar at an investment cost of $400 million.
    Clearly, a DLP administration must revisit the current plans for the sugar sector, and determine their viability in the light of the continuing loss of sugar lands, the high costs of production in Barbados, and the need to obtain firm commitments from farmers to participate in any project for a sugar cane industry that may materialize. The Democratic Labour Party is convinced that sugar cane production is essential to environmental and
    ecological sustainability in Barbados, and will apply its best efforts to ensure that the maximum benefit is derived from the production of all the products and byproducts of the sugar cane plant.”

The question is where have all the sugar cane gone from 50,000 tonnes to zero,000, in the obesity and diabetes of the people?

Now tell us who is civilized and who is the monkey? Should we ask the Tradewinds.

21. hi miller
    very noble of you to want to associate yourself most noticeably to one of giving ‘Support to Dr,Estwwick” proposals, however although it can be assumed that the support comes from a master player of “fudge” your concern to and for disrespect and loyalty which in this case you have applied should be of no concern to you or any other yardfowls in the BLP camp

22. ac said ac January 18, 2015 at 8:46 PM # ”the Govt fiscal responsibility is first and foremost to the country,”

Oh, it SHOULD be, pity Poochie and Magoo don’t have a clue what they are doing.

23. David

Any word yet on the Cane crop or todays CLICO’s JM’s date with the High Court?

24. @Vincent

The people who should know are not saying. What does that tell you?

25. David

Interesting……if the JM’s foreclosure was stopped it would mean that money became available,which would further assist in the start of the crop……failing that the finito prediction seems to stand…..ah well.

26. @Vincdent

The CLICO matter is cloaked in the political. Beware!

27. David

Chuckle…..Beware of what?

….too long in the tooth for that,too besides I have Bush Tea with the wacker as my protector and if push come to shove I have no doubt he will invoke the BBE.

28. @Miller etc.
    Still hanging in, observing and testing various defences against hypothermia. (Hennessy and fireplaces work well).

During my observation I have noticed that there is enough grist for the mill to keep the various voices in full form for months on end. I have also discovered that one of the prerequisites for the Office of President of the Bar Association is to be a stand- up comedian, there was one who skinned e botsy at a Jurist, another who moonlighted as an MC at various entertainment functions and the present occupant who opined that the majority of Bajans trust their lawyers. When is the next “open mic”? Trevor Eastmond and Mac Fingall should be aware that there is competition out there.

29. LOL @ Sargeant
    The bar association probably needs to change their bartender…

Good to hear that you are as well as can be …with the cold freezing your ass off 🙂
    It looks like the old computer was frozen too yuh….
    Boss, why don’t you pack up your stuff and come back home nuh…. you were not designed to live in no ice box….

Man boss, Bushie missing Dompey yuh…
    wuh become o’ he?

There is no way he could stop blogging just so….and we have not seen and new JA bloggers join up…..???
    Did you ban the man David….?!??

30. @Bush Tea

Only poster on ban is Jack who continues to spam BU with vigor on a daily basis.

Maybe his reservist unit was called up to Iraq.

31. David January 21, 2015 at 8:01 AM #

@Bush Tea

Maybe his reservist unit was called up to Iraq
    ……………………………………………………………………………….
    That wouldn’t be the Kentucky FC Brigade ? under the command of Colonel Sanders

32. @ Boy Blue
    Haaaaa ha ha ha …. LOL
    Oh Shiirt…

Muh belly!!!!

….and Dompey is probably armed with a deep fryer ….to be pressed into action when the chips are down…

33. The Government seems to have a plan to resuscitate the abandoned canefields ,most of which have become reafforested. Cut the supply of cooking gas and ,like Haiti, send the masses back into the ground and gullies to “bun” wood.

34. Bushie why don’t you keep quiet about the donkey , you really want to raise the dead! It has been sooo nice not to have that donkey braying here on BU. The other one AC throat ent get hoarse yet or ent get chikki yet to keep her in bed.

35. He is likely asking the Colonel about his wings being as aspirant.

36. Colonel Buggy January 21, 2015 at 1:48 PM #

The Government seems to have a plan to resuscitate the abandoned canefields ,most of which have become reafforested. Cut the supply of cooking gas and ,like Haiti, send the masses back into the ground and gullies to “bun” wood.

……………………………………….

Interesting……….I remember standing at the border between Santo Domingo and Haiti and noting one side lush and verdant and the other totally black and barren…..scorched earth.,,,this was in early 90’s

We need have no fear as Bushie will protect us with the wacker by special dispensation from the BBE.

37. Sorry to have to tell you Vincent, but a whacker don’t “protect”…. um does cut down to size ..with the hope that the regrowth is of a better quality..

As the first bushman said “I come not to bring peace, but a sword..”
    (well remember those were before the days of Briggs and Stratton 🙂 )

…so sorry for your donkey if wunna don’t get the crop going….

38. @Bush Tea January 21, 2015 at 2:28 PM #

Chuckle…….Skippah…..all o we “donkey” is grass……start talking to the BBE.

39. LOL
    start talking to BBE…?
    …and tell ee what bozie?? …to give we a break?
    wuh um doan wuk suh!!

Skippa, um is YEARS now Bushie passing messages that wunna doing shiite bout here …and that wunna asses were headed for the grass….

…but wunna hard-ears…

NO serious attempts to improve justice
    NO serious attempts to improve education and youth development
    NO serious attempt to raise standards – not even in sport
    ….not a shiite but brass bowl politics..

And where are the shiite churches? …all o’ them busy trying to develop MA and PhD theology programs in exegesis ancient Greek …..and to collect tithes…

steupsss
    …hope wunna asses ready for the ride …

You got Vaseline Vincent…?

40. @Bush Tea January 22, 2015 at 8:38 AM #

Hahaha…..Bozy…..it look like your BBE,dun wid Bim

Which is the best thing for us in order that we learn to paddle our own canoe,for too long we have been living on champagne with mauby pockets,believing in all the rubbish you sited,which we agree on.

Our Disagreement is effen BBE drop the bottles that created the big bang or effen he carefully combined the ingredients and created these flawed beings and worlds…..hmmmmm

41. a touch of reality the real problem that most carribbean leaders must come to terms with and address when dealing with sugar cane, cuba USED TO BE,, but like all small nations have fought and tried to wrestle the inevitable but to no avail

http://www.reuters.com/article/2014/03/04/cuba-sugar-idUSL1N0M10TP20140304

42. Heard yesterday that Parliament has approved the bill for a new ‘multi-purpose’ sugar factory, including USD250Million.

Goodness, the lunatics are running the asylum. Of course, building a new sugar factory, may have benefits for SOME!

43. One more thing on this issue.

Successive Governments allow the rampant importation of vegetables etc etc.

Food which is essential and wholesome.

Government now is spending USD250Million on a new sugar plant.

Sugar, with our high diabetes rate, is effectively a poison to many.

Yet, we are splurging money that we do not have, on a sugar factory, to process canes that we do not have money to reap, to produce more poison.

Instead of spending such money to support farmers and develop plant and technology to produce more locally grown wholesome food.

Quaint is it not?

But then, money across many, many, many farmers is not like spending USD250Million on a few ‘contractors’ to build a factory which will have questionable utility.

44. Has David Chihuahua Estwick mentioned about developing byproducts from sugar or is the focus still on the primary crop.

45. David January 28, 2015 at 6:15 AM #

All I have heard is a ‘multi-purpose’ facility, what that means I have no idea. But the with an inability to harvest in the first place, how can the project be viable? Let alone, the main product is still sugar. If the main product is not viable, the rest is irrelevant.

46. @ Crusoe
    Sugar IS viable.
    What is NOT viable is having idiots running the show ….at all levels.

You are correct that sugar is essentially a poison and a leading cause of the current global obesity plague (Corn Syrup is much worse), but there are many unhealthy crops that are very viable economic options.

When you have clear idiots making multimillion dollar decisions, with questionable motives and using money that is NOT their own….you have a recipe for failure.

Why do you think that even unique, unmatchable products such as sea island cotton, black belly sheep, Barbados cherry and Barbados tourism have all proven to be NOT viable for us…?

Dr. Estwick has shown that his forte is in giving emotive political speeches and cracking sweet-ass jokes…. But what does he know about LEADERSHIP or MANAGEMENT????

Wuh if we are satisfied with jokers running the ship we must be prepared for disaster in a storm….wuh shiite, we are at risk even is a small swell….

47. Well since sugarcane is no loner being grown by farmers, then the new sugar factory will have to grind stones. COW grinding rocks to make sand, building a new cement plant next to our port and flour mill. Our flour will further constipate us with the cement dust in it, the port will become a dusty placeand will finish kill our Tourism and our pristine waters will become alkaline with the cement dust killing the few fish we have left . DEM really want to finish killing off the population. I have NEVER heard of such madness being uttered by IDIOTS we have as a government and COW!

48. BUSH TEA

re Man boss, Bushie missing Dompey yuh…
    wuh become o’ he?

LEFF HE WEY EVA HE IS PLEASE
    re sugar is essentially a poison
    PLEASE KINDLY NOTE THAT THE GOOD LORD AS ORDAINED THAT ALL CREATURES GREAT AND SMALL MUST HAVE GLUCOSE TO RUN THEIR BASIC METABOLISMS

EVEN PLANTS USE THE ENERGY FROM THE SUN AND COUPLE IT WITH WATER TO MAKE GLUCOSE

EVEN DIABETICS NEED SOME GLUCOSE TO RUN THEIR METABOLISMS
    FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP IS JUST A MIXTURE OF GLUCOSE AND FRUCTOSE AND IS METABOLISED BY THE GLYCOLYTIC PATHWAY JUST LIKE BEET OR CANE SUGAR

THE WORLDWIDE CAUSE OF OBESITY IS NOT SUGAR BUT THE RESULT OF TAKING IN EXCESS CALORIES (carbs< fats protein and alcohol) AND A REDUCTION IN ENERGY OUTPUT DUE TO INCREASING AFFLUENCE

PLEASE KINDLY TALKING SHITE ABOUT THINGS ABOUT WHICH YOUR UNDERSTANDING TENDS TO ZERO

49. PLEASE KINDLY stop TALKING SHITE ABOUT THINGS ABOUT WHICH YOUR UNDERSTANDING TENDS TO ZERO