The Speaker of the House Michael Carrington QC has been ordered by Justice Jacqueline Cornelius  of the High Court of Barbados to hand over $250,000.00 to a client. A transaction in abeyance for the last two years.The ruling confirms what the BU household has been posting about and what Barbadians already know. Lawyers in Barbados, whether junior or senior, have been managing clients’  monies in a less than transparent manner. BU commends John Griffiths who has shown he has the cajones to seek redress to the Courts of Barbados. Congratulations also to Justice Cornelius for ruling with speed, something the Courts of Barbados is unfamiliar.

Speaker Michael Carrington do the honourable thing and resign with immediate effect from the post of Speaker of the House, the highest Court in the land. Let the fact that you are a pal of the prime minister not deter you from making a speedy decision.

carrington00

High Court rules against senior lawyer

254 responses to “Tales from the Courts–Justice Jacqueline Cornelius Makes Speaker of the House Michael Carrington PAY XXIV”

1. @ Miller
    You think we can get some unison from Bushie on this call for resignation?
    Unison?

Boss man, Bushie’s position on the kinds of punishment suitable for persons who have accepted positions of high trust and who betray that trust …DOES NOT INVOLVE any damn resignations…..

…more like the stuff that happens at dawn….

Lotta damn shiite…wunna think um is joke….

Well if OTHER honorable persons in high position should show themselves to be willing to tolerate, and to continue to work with this kind of behavior, then we shall know the true level of excreta with which we are dealing….

2. @ Bushie

It’s on questions like this, the responses to, that yuh can tell who real and who supports the status quo. Between the real radicals and the beaten down to mediocrity.

In another place a President would say, ‘let’s look forward, there is no value in looking backwards’. We guess that’s what Cornelius has said.

These are the difference between justice for the well connected and upper classes and the ordinary plebs like you.

We assume some credit must be given for the return of the man’s money for there are many, decades after, who are still short.

3. @ David

I can speak to the installments as I myself recently won a High Court judgement for several hundred thousand $ and that is a condition if the person who has lost the judgement cannot pay up in one go.

However the installments/time period with interest penalties (in my case 6% per annum) have to be agreed and signed off by the Judge who had given the judgement.

4. The FACTS has indicated a dishonest lawyer with-holding a client’s funds for 2 years, and had to taken to court and ordered by the judge to return the client’s money.

And we have some jackasses, befitting of the name given to them [Legion of demons, because they are many] trying to convince intelligent BU contributors that there was ABSOLUTELY NO WRONG DOING DONE BY MICHAEL CARRINGTON.

What a silly brass bowl.

5. On Sunday, 11 January 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

6. @ Artaxerxes

And we have some jackasses, befitting of the name given to them [Legion of demons, because they are many] trying to convince intelligent BU contributors that there was ABSOLUTELY NO WRONG DOING DONE BY MICHAEL CARRINGTON.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

WELL SAID.

7. The time has long come for a BENEVOLENT DICTATOR to bring discipline immediately to Bim. The excellent values with which the oldies were brought up MUST be revived before it is too late.

Does anyone seriously believe that these Bajan oligarchs give a Rodents Rectum for the peeps?

They care only about power, $$$$$$$, Dom P,JWBlue etc. The only Black they concern themselves with is Johniie W BLACK!

DISCIPLINE NOW!

8. @Vincent

Indeed!

This link may help to assist those among us who maybe clueless about Maxwell.

http://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=757&dat=19750513&id=NNgvAAAAIBAJ&sjid=oUQDAAAAIBAJ&pg=5967,1541608

9. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

The Judge need to put 20% on the money for every day he late , In 3 day need to turn the money over , FFFFFFFing Crook,, Speaker ? Are you also behave and Speak for the other crooks like you in the People House,

10. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

true bajan January 11, 2015 at 9:08 AM #

How did The speaker become a QC anyway must we be friends of the PM ? What a shame to the bar members of long standing.@

PIMP title bring in higher lawyer fees and lure tourist to them like a fish hook , hook them real nice, up under the jaw bone and curve and pop out just under the eye,All of them With QC like Ralph Thorne Quick Crooks , cover for each other , P
    With out tourism the lawyers will be out of business they they eat their Own,

11. Looks like Barbados has it’s own brand of terrorists (financial ones) otherwise known as lawyers. This old joke is true to form:

Q: You are stuck in an elevator with a tiger, a lion and a lawyer. You have a gun with just two bullets in it. What do you do?

A: Shoot the lawyer twice to make sure he”s dead.

12. ac posted ”For sure the opposition cannot ever raise or present a case formed on morality, they will find themselves on losing ground,”

Do readers notice, that anytime ac is commenting on defending the government actions, or members thereof, it is always ‘what the BLP’ or ‘what the opposition’ can or cannot do.

NOT about what is legally or morally RIGHT.

Merely about what is the next lowest accepted standard!

Is that not indicative of the attitude and philosophy (if you can call it that), of the person (s) represented by ‘ac’?

Governance by the lowest common denominator, instead of reaching for excellence and what is RIGHT.

Sad, very, very sad.

13. Persons who hold high & prominent positions in this Country have a responsibility to ensure that those positions are not brought into dispute by their actions. This case against Michael Carrington illustrates this, he should be ashamed that his actions have brought dishonour to his prominent position as Speaker of the House – sadly though I suspected that his greatest sorrow is that he got caught.

14. David

Thanks……..it would appear that Maxwell could not satisfy a debt(s) and………
    …………………………………………………………………….

Miller

Hope springs eternal…….lol
    ………………………………………………………………………….

Bush Tea

Why you looking to argue,when no need exists?

15. @ Vincent
    …looking to argue?

Bushie is just as ashamed as shiite!!!!
    …that we could have come to this….

16. @ ACs
    you all DLP yard ducks are way pass SICK MINDED , ACs cannot help themselves minds gone , Speaker in January , who next?

17. When Attorney Errol Niles had misappropiated his client’s money …he was sent to jail bail set at $1,000,000. King Howard of Bush hall fame had to bail him out or he would be still up dey rotting…..Let’s now see what will be the outcome here. Law for the Meads n Persians I guess……Whoever said that this pack of Wild Boys and Foul Thiefs will put this island in trouble someday was right. This crop of misfits and blaggards is even worse than I thought..Oh dear…D Speaker of the House? He leaves nothing for an ordinary man.

18. The best political solution is for the speaker to resign and immediately pay Mr.Griffiths all the money owed.

He can remain an mp and spare Barbados the cost of a bye election.

Feel free to talk about morals etc etc but I prefer the focus to be on Mr.Griffiths getting HIS money.

19. Agree with you Hants. Even if Mr.Griffiths is repaid his money it will not recompense for the mental agony experienced so far.

20. For far too long & too frequently Lawyers use clients money as if it were their own, it is time for someone to be made an example of by actually spending time in St. Philip.
    To take advantage of a client in particular one that is handicapped is reprehensible. for anyone to say that Carrington was not convicted of fraud is beyond comprehension is alright then that he refused to hand money that was not his????

21. hand over money

22. St George's Dragon Avatar

The next steps could be interesting. If he fails to repay the money, presumably he can be put into bankruptcy. Under the Barbados Constitution, an undischarged bankrupt cannot be a member of the Assembly.

23. When are the 28 days up for Carrington?

24. @ David January 11, 2015 at 10:41 AM #

The Speaker has no moral authority to preside over the House. We wait to see how the Opposition responds next week or if the political class closes ranks………………

I am not one to gloat over people’s misfortunes but this speaker should resign immediately.

He is viewed as a worse speaker than Burton Hinds. We well know that Hinds
    was no sweet bread in the way he treated the opposition and this speaker has treated this opposition very badly. He who knew he had nasty skeletons in his closet has “pompesetted” on the opposition since 2008. 99% of the time he says…..”no point of order, take your seat’.

Well, George Payne finally got his own back at him. Remember when he threatened to put the whole BLP out………

George Payne asked the Speaker….. “what standing order have I contravened to merit being put out?”…………the speaker unaware of the SO’s……”I would put all wunnah out”.

The clerk had to approach the chair and advise the speaker that he could not put out the whole opposition, each member would have had to contravene the SO’s of the House.

Brute you, what you sow, you reap. Dont lead a clean life and want to lord it over others! God does not sleep.

I tell you here on BU that something has to give…………we cannot go on like this.

Does he have enough shame to resign? ……………I do not think so.

Would the sleeping mouse demand his resignation? …………..dont look for it!

25. @ David
    You were right to put this under “Tales from the Court”. Bushie will now be looking to see if the next fella that ‘endorses’ a few cans of milk and some petty cash from Massy will also be instructed by our courts to “pay back the owner…”

What agree with what Hants what??!!
    How is the owner getting back his money WHICH SHOULD NOT HAVE TAKEN ANYWAY, be an issue? He should have been awarded TWICE the amount… and the damn thief should be handcuffed, remanded and photographed being led to the cells…

Hants just shame….
    Man Hants …if you don’t know what to say …go and fish or some shiite…

26. ac

As a member of what Anthony calls the “legion of demons” or Pacha, in his guest appearance, calls an effete “mediocrity” and, as you know, having no political affiliations whatsoever, I cannot help agreeing with you that without having read the judgment ‘shooting at dawn’ does seem a little premature. But then, of course, unlike you I was never a member of Wat Tyler’s mob.

27. @prodigal son

You have NOT addressed the question, How is the Opposition likely to respond?

28. Hants said, ”January 11, 2015 at 12:59 PM #
    The best political solution is for the speaker to resign and immediately pay Mr.Griffiths all the money owed.
    He can remain an mp and spare Barbados the cost of a bye election.”

Bye election???? If ONE member goes, it will be a general election skipper, unless ‘independents vote with Guv’ment.

29. Bush Tea said ”January 11, 2015 at 12:22 PM # @ Vincent…looking to argue?Bushie is just as ashamed as shiite!!!! …that we could have come to this….”

Really! I could cry for my country. It is upsetting.

30. Artaxerxes January 11, 2015 at 8:22 AM #

@ pieceuhderockyeahright January 11, 2015 at 6:13 AM #

“And Michael Carrington, Speaker of the House possibly tiefing 250,000 dollars of client funds……… Dis article deserve a page fuh heself.”

I agree with you Piece, that article deserves a page for itself.

Leading up to, and during the 2008 election campaign, the DLP went the length and breadth of Barbados accusing the then BLP administration of corruption. “Mobile cinemas” were set up at political meetings to show all and sundry, the $75,000 cheque Owen Arthur deposited to his personal account, among other things. Then after being elected to the form the government, the DLP spoke of “all the mess” they found in every ministry, as well as former BLP ministers having vast sums of money in foreign accounts.

Against the background the alleged corrupt practices said to have been perpetrated by the former BLP administration, the DLP members have found themselves in a similar predicament, since we now have the following instances of corruption, some of which were revealed by legal procedures:
    The CLICO forensic audit revealed Thompson and his law firm [as an associate and related company respectively] received money from CIL for services rendered, which were subsequently paid to Leroy Parris; Denis Lowe allegedly depositing millions of dollars on his mother’s bank account; Michael Lashley allegedly attempting to take a large sum of money into the USA; the apparent increase in wealth of DLP parliamentarians during a recession [evidenced by the luxury cars and SUVs they are now seen to be driving]; Richard Byer charging CBL $766,855.24 for rendering a legal opinion on a loan contract; and now Michael Carrington, as a senior lawyer and speaker of the House of Assembly, illegally with-holding funds from a client for 2 years.

I remind BU of page 49 of the DLP’s 2008 manifesto, under the headline “Good Governance”, where they promised, within 100 days of being elected, to “Immediately introduce integrity legislation requiring: a declaration of assets by public officials, a Code of Conduct for Ministers and a new Freedom of Information law.”

If the DEMS were obligated their keep to promise of implementing their “good governance” initiative, then surely there would have been a legal basis for requiring ALL politicians to be held accountable for their nefarious activities……………………………………………………………………….

Artaxerxes,

Good post, just thought it should be re-posted here!

31. @ ac, I hereby offer tuh cut down a tree or two, fuh the real good price of ONLY Bds$800,000.

When the contract done, I gine put the money in my mother’s bank account.

I could get a lil pick?

32. Artaxerxes,

Am I to assumed that as Speaker, Michael Carrington can still carrying on business as a lawyer?

33. Oh Shoite man…..Wha Her Majesty so say when she hears the new about she representative in Parliament ? Buckinham Palace go rock… and QC nuh….a real mockery dat !…..quacky and capricious or clandestine that what

34. JAs must bray.

35. The other part to this incorrigible act by Speaker Carrington is that fact Mr. Griffiths reported this matter to the toothless Barbados Bar Association.

36. Well Michael Carh -way -ton….ass is really grass in Dodds Prison!

37. If I go into SuperCentre and steal a chicken, will the same judge give me time to go and raise a chicken to replace the chicken I stole ? If so, I gine tief some chickens from SuperCentre tomorrow !

38. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Prodigal Son;

Your post of 1:48 pm is most relevant to the issue.

Is a person in the post of speaker, like those of Ministers, mandated or compelled to give up their lay professional activities while holding such posts? It appears that some Ministers in the past (including a former deceased PM) obeyed this in the breech only. So was this only a convention that could be put aside if an incumbent sought to do so or was this an actionable committment by Ministers and perhaps the Speaker also?

Perhaps Caswell could give us some info on this.

On another matter, Does anyone else think that the person of the greatest relevance in the denouement of this matter is not Michael Carrington but is the PM, who is expected to uphold the conventions of the honourable House and who certainly has the power to remove anyone deemed to have caused dishonour to that august body? That the matter has reached the stage that it now has without any discernible action by the PM suggests that it is and will be business as usual by the PM and his cohorts.

I wonder if this was the fire behind the smoke of the rumours of the last couple of weeks that there would be an imminent reshuffle of the Cabinet in early January.

If the PM is true to his usual modus operandus there might be a reshuffle with the speaker demoted to, say, the Ministry of Agriculture on 15th January (the very last day in January that could be considered as early January).

But if such a reaction occurs what would we expect the Opposition to do. If they are true to current form, the most likely action is nothing substantive, some noise but business as usual.

Hope I’m wrong.

39. What about the fraud aided and abetted by the then “Office Manger” at the law firm?

40. It is alleged that many of his colleagues are now pretty well off. Before this shit hit the fan, why did he not try to ask for some help from them to save his face and the DLP?

41. @enuff

Who should be the plaintiff in that matter?

42. Welcome to Barbados. Tiefing QCs & assorted eminent persons will relieve you of your cash. We have become a nation of thieves. These eminent persons roam the land free to steal as they wish. Resignation? Will never happen.

43. Well, I would say that this was sweet revenge for the Nation.

It is alleged by some Nation staffers that the DLP has its henchmen who go through the Nation daily (I wonder if Fractured Dem is one) to scope for even a word not in place when being critical of the government and the DLP. There are a few cases pending against Nation reporters.

You can understand their glee when they got wind of this!

Retribution???

44. The DPP ent

45. A call for him to resign yes…. But where is the call to protect other clients from the same fate?

In Barbados it is easy for a Lawyer to have controls of clients funds without any accountability. How many have suffer the long process of being refunded they monies from transaction they no longer want their lawyer having conduct over?

I know there are others who fall in this category and if clients are properly directed more face could make the headline either in civil or criminal court.

46. Take a look back at all the lawyers who had to face the courts for such matters. some even flee from bout hey. Some are locked in some complex court battles.

47. Truth be told. Lawyers don’t make a lot of money just like that. They must have transactions such as conveyances and estates that have a high dollar value. Same with Personal Injuries and malpractice settlements also. There are a few other areas where money is made. However a simple consultation and a letter don’t translate to no big funds. A lot of work has be put in before in earnings are realised.
    Monies earned is generally at the end of the transaction.

Some do behave like they have loads of money but you must wonder how they finance their habits.

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Redman January 11, 2015 at 2:48 PM #
    “Welcome to Barbados. Tiefing QCs & assorted eminent persons will relieve you of your cash. We have become a nation of thieves. These eminent persons roam the land free to steal as they wish. Resignation? Will never happen.”

It is occurrences like this that have contributed greatly to the downgrades and poor perception as a place to do business investors and others are having of the present-day Barbados.

If this dishonest jackass continues to be the judge in the highest court of the Land you can expect a massive slide in the country’s rating on the International Transparency index in the coming months.

49. Michael Carh-way-ton (of money $$$).
    Seems as though he learnt this skill well from 2 bold face crooks like Milller and Prodigal.