The Speaker of the House Michael Carrington QC has been ordered by Justice Jacqueline Cornelius  of the High Court of Barbados to hand over $250,000.00 to a client. A transaction in abeyance for the last two years.The ruling confirms what the BU household has been posting about and what Barbadians already know. Lawyers in Barbados, whether junior or senior, have been managing clients’  monies in a less than transparent manner. BU commends John Griffiths who has shown he has the cajones to seek redress to the Courts of Barbados. Congratulations also to Justice Cornelius for ruling with speed, something the Courts of Barbados is unfamiliar.

Speaker Michael Carrington do the honourable thing and resign with immediate effect from the post of Speaker of the House, the highest Court in the land. Let the fact that you are a pal of the prime minister not deter you from making a speedy decision.

carrington00

High Court rules against senior lawyer

254 responses to “Tales from the Courts–Justice Jacqueline Cornelius Makes Speaker of the House Michael Carrington PAY XXIV”

1. Lets see how effective our Westminster style of government is.
    Some time in 2012 Andrew Mitchell lost his position at the ruling Conservative Party’s senior Member of Parliament in the House of Commons, and put paid to his political, simply for Calling a police Constable a “Pleb”, (some one from the lower class) ,as he was leaving the Prime Minister’s office in Downing Street on his bicycle.
    Mr Carington should be be given the order, ” on your bike!”, by the Prime Minister. Anything less , reinforces what Plantation Deeds/ John Hanson has been saying all along. I am sure that this is not an isolated case,and while we are at it , investigations should be conducted to the manner in which he acquired that land at Jackson, which he is building some monstrosity on. Damn Load of Pluckers

2. question..on what grounds must carrington resign.

the BLP noise makers seem to have an affinity with the actions of a kangroo court,,

3. Commonwealth newspapers,periodicals and magazines please copy.Commonweath Parliamentatry Association please circulate to members and register your objection to having a fraudster among your membership.Write to her Brittanic Majesty’s Commonwealth Heads of Government Conference management committee and object to this dizhonest slime bag of a lying swine being associated with anything to do with that August body and lastly if Elyut got the strength he should ‘Tek pen in hand and ask that the instruments of appointment to the silk,be stripped from this low lifer’….in the year of Our Lord 2014.
    By now Bajans have concluded,rightly so too,that divine intervention is upon these lying,stinking,bag blind hoes and pimps called the democratic Labour Party.wunna stinking fushers.

4. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Prodigal Son

You wrote: “I am not one to gloat over people’s misfortunes but this speaker should resign immediately”.

What misfortune are you talking about? The misfortune of suffering the consequences of your actions?

Also, you must realise that the political class in Barbados does not have a culture of doing the honourable thing, so I am not expecting any resignations any time soon.

5. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Alien;

Thanks for reminding me of the genius of Joe Cocker and the other stars of Woodstock.

Also for reminding me that Carrington and several others in this administration would not have been allowed to wreck our country without a little help from their friends.

6. Artaxerxes January 11, 2015 at 11:13 AM #

The FACTS has indicated a DISHONEST lawyer with-holding a client’s funds for 2 years,

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////// Now ! that is a bold faced lie even in the face of the” judgement handed ” some can;t help BUT to be untruthful then have the tenacity to preach about honesty,

THE NECESSITY to correct fowlshite splattered on BU is tempting but ac prefer to let those who advocate such to wallow in their ignorance

7. @ ac

THEN ALL LOCAL LAWYERS WHO HAVE BEEN BROUGHT UP BEFORE THE CRIMINAL COURTS FOR EXACT ALLEGATIONS SHOULD SUE FOR FALSE ARREST.

8. Here is what is reported in the Nation newspaper,”Carrington , a practicing attorney-at-law, has been ordered by the High Court to surrender nearly a quarter million dollars to John Griffiths, funds received and withheld over two years ago from the sale of a property as well as various bank deposits”.

JAs must be allowed to bray, and loudly.

9. Look at it this way, JA ac………………….If Carrington was working in a corporation, he would have been fired and the police called in.

JA ac, this is the answer to your question..”on what grounds must Carrington resign”…………..

It is unethical for a lawyer to hold clients funds and dont paid them……..even after the client reported the matter to the Bar Association. He must have known that the man went to George Payne. Wasn’t that enough reason for him to settle the matter speedily?

You consortium of acs had to lot to say when the BLP candidate was involved in a financial scandal some years ago? Remember how you railed against the corrupt BLP……………………do so dont like like so, nuh?

10. Can the Nation newspaper ask minister Donville Inniss for a comment on the matter? Let us see if he is his usual loquacious self?

11. No, no, no. This one matter that even the loquacious Donville will not touch.. Cat would have his tongue.

The DLP must be so mad at the Nation…….telling me! All like now their henchmen must be scoping the Nation to find any thing to again refer the matter to the police.

12. @ Prodigal Son

The DLP must be so mad at the Nation…….telling me! All like now their henchmen must be scoping the Nation to find any thing to again refer the matter to the police.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

SHOWS HOW CORRUPI THE SYSTEM IS.

13. CORRUPT

14. David January 11, 2015 at 4:37 PM #
    Here is what is reported in the Nation newspaper,”Carrington , a practicing attorney-at-law, has been ordered by the High Court to surrender nearly a quarter million dollars to John Griffiths, funds received and withheld over two years ago from the sale of a property as well as various bank deposits”.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

so where is the criminality of theft in the judgement counselor as so “alleged “and indicated as reason for “a””resignation by the BU BLP propaganda .
    machine

15. @ ac January 11, 2015 at 5:51 PM # “so where is the criminality of theft in the judgement counselor as so “alleged “and indicated as reason for “a””resign”——

Simply stated sir, the resignation is called for not because of any criminality as there has been no conviction in a court of law.

The resignation is called for due to a lack of confidence in the integrity of Mr. Carrington.

Based on the facts outlined the gentleman appears to have been at best unethical and to have acted outside the conventions of the profession to which he has sworn a pledge.

All this based on the fact that the judge who heard the evidence ruled AGAINST him.

Surely Mr. Ac it’s unacceptable for the Speaker of our House of Assembly – the legislative body that debates and enacts the laws of the land – to be anything less than above reproach.

Or is it your view that ‘they all is a bunch of crooks in thay’ (like Hanson preaches) so Carrington can do as he like!!! Shame. shame on you.

16. prodigal u do have a way with words, but in a linguistic manner by way to implied or inform” speedily” does not mean unethical,in the court of law,, what matters are the facts to support or convict the parties with fair and equal Justice which renders guilt or innocent .

now the above brings me to an area where anthony has been trying to overlapped his attention to highlight or prove the propensity of fraud by mr, carrington,, one can bend the rules slightly if the evidence presented in court supported that an intentional act was done by mr, carrington which borders on unethical practices with intent to fraud, and so far no such evedience is put before the public domain for examination,
    the judges ruling as “is” have steered clear of such reasoning although slightly teetering or signaling on bad judgement and a possibility of mr,carrington/s misrepresentation of his client
    however it still will be a hard judgement “call “to imply with certainty that mr,carrington committed fraud,
    my hands at this juncture are folded,

17. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I am not quite sure if Carrington is one of the Medes or a Persian, but one thing for sure is that there is lax enforcement of the laws when it comes to people like him. If a poor boy stole a piece of cheese from a supermarket, he would have been dragged before the criminal courts.

18. Here is what the relevant section of the Constitution states:

19. David

There is no need for any constitution. Our point of departure needs to be, that these people are guilty of something, and should be in jail, until innocence can be proven. LOL

20. @Pacha

This matter has gone viral, Barbadians are aware and discussing. We will have to wait how it translates. What is for sure, the DLP government cannot lay claim to having clean hands when it comes to managing public finances, and the integrity of member of the Cabinet. They are ALL tainted by this matter.

21. Larceny. The unauthorized taking and removal of the Personal Property of another by an individual who intends to permanently deprive the owner of it; a crime against …

I am certainly not a legal man. However our Speaker of the House Michael Carrington QC does appear to have placed himself in an unfortunate position.

I wonder if our justice system will be allowed to operate unimpeded.

22. Seriously are there any honest lawyers in Bim?
    They just cant leave their clients money alone. Then they arrogantly walk around as the old people say as if they make themselves. Bah humbug lawyers and thieving go and in hand.

23. We need to keep the transaction between Richard Byer and the Caves on the radar. While not charged/convicted of a crime the BU court regards this as theft from taxpayers by all involved.

24. David…your reliance on the brief Nation report will come back to haunt you.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn January 11, 2015 at 6:25 PM

Caswell, do you know if the judgement handed down by the judge stipulates a timeframe within which the money must be paid over to Mr. Griffith?
    It would be interesting to see if Mr. C breaks such a court order.

As far as the rules and regulations governing the management of client funds the money should be escrowed in a client’s account and should be ready for disbursement in a timely manner right after the completion of the contract (minus any reasonable legal fees and incidental costs).

We shall see if Mr. C for Crook has misappropriated his client’s money should that escrow account be found to be technically empty after the relevant book-keeping examination has taken place.

26. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Miller

I heard about this on Friday, and I have no more information than what is published in the Sunday Sun.

27. @ David

We need to keep the transaction between Richard Byer and the Caves on the radar. While not charged/convicted of a crime the BU court regards this as theft from taxpayers by all involved.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Agree 100%

28. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

It would appear that these Dems were out in the wilderness for too long (14 years) and have to catch up. I know of one of these Dem lawyers who Galloped off with $750,000 of his client’s money and suffered no adverse consequences when he got caught. As a matter of fact, his friends made sure that he got legal work from the government so that he could overcharge which allowed him to quietly repay the client. Before anyone gets mistaken, I am not speaking about Byer.

29. The matter was criminal in nature but justice was served in civil. That is the step most people take as many don’t know they can lay complaint with the Police fraud unit .

30. One is compelled to ask the question, where is Leroy Lynch ?

31. Effective midnight, January 11, the retail price of gasoline will be adjusted from $3.25 per litre to $2.83 per litre, a saving of 42 cents. – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/61948/drop-fuel-prices#sthash.hb9Bzjg2.dpuf

32. @ Ross (who told David)

…your reliance on the brief Nation report will come back to haunt you.
    Look who is talking….

…on what did you rely to accuse others of threats about “shooting at dawn”….? @robert ross January 11, 2015 at 1:30 PM

Your vivid imagination?

33. St George's Dragon Avatar

That’s good news but no doubt they will find another way of taxing us.

34. When someone in authority and position takes advantage of another and a disabled person to boot, they should be made an example of. If the PM sees nothing wrong with the head cook at Clico I wonder how he is going to handle this? They say birds of a feather flock together!

35. The man is not a leper. He is our Member of Parliament, our Speaker and our friend.

36. Recently someone on BU was taken to task for suggesting that blacks should steal smarter, or words to that effect. The actions of the Speaker of the House of Assembly has validated that suggestion. Carry away, Thousands or Millions of Dollars in Barbados, and you are scot free,like Dandrade and the PM’s friend,Leroy Parris, and its business as usual. But take up a tin of sardines or a lil ham from Trimart or Massy, and your arse will be in Dodds in double quick time. There was a time when well dressed individuals used to ply their trade in Broad and Swan Streets as Three-Card-Brag Men, today even more elegantly dressed, they can be found in James Street and Palmetto Streets.

37. I am sure he will be affirmed ’eminent’ for Froon too.

38. His Honour Michael Carrington,

Just need to give his side of the story. Ideally he should have done that in Coyrt

39. AUGUST Chamber? when supposedly trusted people like the Speaker and some of his colleagues in parliament , go about behaving in such an underhand manner, we know then that our House of Parliament, has reached its DECEMBER.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP January 11, 2015 at 11:38 PM

He is not too late to do just that.
    Come Tuesday 13th he could show what an esteem and honourable man he is by announcing in the highest court of the land his intention to:

(1). Immediately write a cheque for the money due to the disabled client along with all court costs and;
    (2). tender his resignation as Speaker in true Westminster fashion as a fitting tribute and a mark of respect of Parliament and its 375 years of tradition.

Now that would show that you guys are not really a bunch of lying thieving disrespectful incompetent wild boys in a “poor-rakey” parliament that have caused Barbados to fall from top dog to the laughing stock of the Caribbean.

Bunch of black bloody liars and monkey crooks dressed up in European suits.
    White people really laughing at ‘wunna’, according to Chalkie.

41. Fractured BLP January 11, 2015 at 11:38 PM # wrote ”His Honour Michael Carrington, Just need to give his side of the story. Ideally he should have done that in Court”

Cuh dear, yes poor fellow, likely his lawyer may have incorrectly told him not to say a word in Court and not to tell his side of the story to the judge….

😉

42. Speaker of the House of Assembly Michael Carrington has suggested the need for a review of the island’s legal system.

Carrington, an attorney-at-law, made the call in light of a recent case in which a man who was granted bail for murder ended up facing the court on another murder charge.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2014/09/17/carrington-condemns-court-backlogs/

43. Why would Carrington not want to speculate what the problems are causing the backlog? He is a QC and court officer isn’t he? We really making sort at Barbadians.

44. Bush Tea

To answer your question….YOU!

45. I should have said, Bush Tea, in your EXCRETA post of 11.10am on 11th.

46. No comment, but stay tuned.

47. @ Ross
    I should have said, Bush Tea, in your EXCRETA post of 11.10am on 11th.
    What you SHOULD do Ross, is to learn to read and to THINK …..and not make ASSumptions.
    Shiite man….. mean ALL lawyers are stupid?

48. @ Anthony January 11, 2015 at 5:13 PM #

“The DLP must be so mad at the Nation…….telling me! All like now their henchmen must be scoping the Nation to find any thing to again refer the matter to the police.”

Expect a smear campaign article from “Douglas”, similar to the one he unleashed on Lisa Marshall.

49. Don’t you all think that if Carrington had the money he would have repaid the man before now to avoid being publicly exposed and to have a judgement registered against him? It is clear that he does not have it. In my mind, that makes it a criminal matter…fraud. The duty of the police is to refer the matter to the DPP, whether the victim makes a report to them or not.

50. Agreed with Inkwell.

Also interesting that, given the potential for this issue to damage the DLP, one of his “honorable associates” did not see fit to loan him the money until he could find a more pliable victim to scam…

One has to wonder how many other lawyers are living at a level that is only possible by loans from client funds…

@ Ross
    Your Client accounts balancing or wuh? 🙂