Submitted by Old Onion Bags

Hands down most Barbadians will agree, that the Hon. Donville Inniss is the most perspicacious and hard working of all the other ministers surpassing and relegating even the performance of that of PM Stuart.

Donville Inniss without palaver from the very beginning  hit the turf running. In his first duties as Minister of Health, the Don as he is affectionately known, sought straight off to direct all attentions to reducing Government’s expenditure. He immediately sought out alternate generic drug substitutes in an all out effort to reel in his ministry’s budget and accomplished this disregarding the obvious rattles. His accomplishments are remembered in the QEH to this day, where he is championed as easily the best Minister of Health of recent.
Not only has the Don’s precocity out shone his green thumbed peers, but it has done so while maintaining an impeccably clean slate….unlike some, without gurgle or impropriety like…

Postulations of a Cabinet reshuffle are in the air, based on performance and ability, if all fairness were fair the Don should be sling shot-ed to no less than the TOP.

Stand up and be counted Mr. Minister for a job well done (so far). If only the rest were of your cloth. You have inadvertently proven that even with a dark  an onerous ‘cloud’ there could be a silver lining….stand up indeed and be counted.

125 responses to “Time for Donville to Usurp”

1. Do not agree.

Has Donville improve business facilitation in Barbados like he has been promising since taking up the ministry?

Has he been able to work with the Attorney General and Chief Justice to improve case load management in the Courts?

Why has he done as minister responsible for the NPC to ensure gas supply level remains efficient?

How are those meetings he began with the BCCI going as far as improving collaboration?

What about the Barbados beers at the St. Lucia market?

etc etc

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Onions

You seem to be too easily impressed. I hope that this piece was done tongue in cheek. Why would you want to unleash this hot-air windbag on this country.

Or is it that you are trying to stir up trouble among the various contenders?

3. @ Caswell
    The sea-cat woman from Donville constituency…..so you done know Donville got some sway dey….
    She got Onions so bewitched that she could get him to write any shiite fuh just a little smell…

4. It would not take much for anyone to surpass the Prime Minister’s performance – say a little (when he does speak one wishes that he had kept silent) & do less. Donville has been one of the most vocal of the Ministers & unlike the Minister of everything from St. Lucy does not grate on one’s ears.

5. @ Tudor
    Absolutely true….

“He is not as big a jackass as the worst of DEM”

BUT WHAT A LOW BAR TO SET FOR LEADERSHIP OF A 4 BILLION DOLLAR ENTITY.
    …and this is where we are after 60 years of free education?

Bushie says we should immediately arrest Sir Cave, and everyone else associated with French Connecting (UK) our education system……

…especially Sir Cave – before he escapes the jurisdiction and go and F-up Jamaica too…..

6. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Onions, FWLIW, I agree with most of what you’ve said. Donville is by far the best of a bad lot. The PM is the worst. Exchanging them could only work to improve the situation.

7. This creature is known as Pornville Enniss.Where you get this crap bout the Don from,the druggies?What a load of rubbish!

8. BU

Donville is NOT a favourite of the PM, why would he be? If he was a favourite then the PM is a man who likes to cursed out in cabinet.

9. Look what we have come to, there is consensus that Donville’s is the bad of a best lot. O dear!

10. What a silly article! written by a BU gene-ass

11. @ David,

I have to agree with your assessment on this one regarding the honorable minister . But at least he is communicating, and expressing his feeling, regardless if it is only for a self serving purpose.
    My take on the matter is that he is ensuring that he is the number 1 contender to lead the DEMS come 2018, given that all of the other contenders (sinckler, Jones et al) are political liabilities at this stage. The minister is no fool.

12. A barrel of bad apples, the lot . Pick out the ones which appears to be least rotten and smelly on the outside,and bite cautiously.

13. @ Thinker January 5, 2015 at 11:18 AM #

“But at least he is communicating, and expressing his feeling, regardless if it is only for a self serving purpose.
    My take on the matter is that he is ensuring that he is the number 1 contender to lead the DEMS come 2018, given that all of the other contenders (sinckler, Jones et al) are political liabilities at this stage. The minister is no fool.”

I agree with both David’s and your assessment of this matter. Inniss seems not to be afraid to voice his opinion or be at odds with his colleagues on any matter under consideration by this administration.

I am reminded of a statement made by PM Stuart in early September 2013, relative to government’s intension of examining the possibility of pursuing an economic citizenship policy. Stuart confirmed he was in discussion with other officials, including Darcy Boyce and the Chief Immigration Officer, “about whether it should be possible for foreigners with high net worth to receive full rights as citizens through investment.”
    However, on September 25, 2013, Donville Inniss expressed the view that he was not in favour of introducing an economic citizenship programme to Barbados. He further stated Government was well within its right to discuss the issue since considering the matter did not mean it had to be implemented.

It also brings to mind Inniss’ efforts in convening a meeting with Dr. David Estwick, [after one of his usual out-bursts] at his home.

14. I have come to the conclusion that it is a waste if time talking about these morons.

I do hope Ashley Toppin would tell the dead king how this band of morons that he put together and foisted on Barbados have frigged up this country almost beyond repair.

Donville is just a smooth, slick self serving operator! He and the DLP are a waste of time!

15. Errol Barrow’s responses are indicative of the measure of disdain he had for certain people.Of Gerty he said”Listen woman,let me tell you the facts ‘o life,to
    which Gerty responded ‘I know de fax ‘o life.My mudda tell me’.Barrh went for the big put down”Woman,you think everything is sex!
    Then there was a fella who had ambition and who eventually got fired from the senate at a political meeting by Miss Braffit shop in the Erleans.Dippa send 2 messages to he ‘ova de air’ as Marvo would say.”Nuh carpenter son en gine be no ministuh in my guvvament and the nex’ ting you aint no senator no moe.
    The next fella that the dipper wash ‘e mout pun is the Primate.He got dismissed
    tersely….you are a coward!
    Now,this fella enniss.Is not this the fisherman boy?It look to me like only the dead king and Sir Olympix boy would make the grade in a Barrow cabinet.
    We can see clearly now why this cabal of dems is so unpopular.Too poor rakey!

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son January 5, 2015 at 2:45 PM
    “Donville is just a smooth, slick self serving operator! He and the DLP are a waste of time!”

Donville is just another bold-faced blatant self-centered liar.
    Why should he be forgotten or forgiven for the lies told about the opening of the St. John Polyclinic in December 2012? What about the promised new General Hospital earmarked for Kingsland and agreed by Cabinet?
    Why should he be remembered for only the reduction national drug service budget; something that was on the cards long before he took over the MoH?

Donville’s ultimate ambition is to become PM. He would do and pay anything to oust Fumble and take over the reins. He better move quickly because it will soon be well nigh impossible for the drunkard to become head of a DLP administration any time before 2030. When the current DLP administration is ousted by the electorate for the damage done to the pride and psyche of Bajans that party will either disintegrate or remain in the political wilderness for a long time; as long as the humiliatingly scarred memory of the current generation of Bajans remain alive.
    Don’t be surprised if another political party arises to replace that once great and popular but now discredited party about to suffer a slow death as it descends into the bowels of political purgatory.
    It would be the fitting punishment for the deceit, lies and pretense perpetrated by the DLP for the last 7 years and counting; causing Barbados to fall from a Rolls Royce society with supreme ‘black’ governance of enviable qualities to a third world banana republic of junk bond status and with crumbling physical and social infrastructure.

BTW, Prodigal Son, any word on the rumoured Cabinet changes?
    It would be a move of the Machiavellian brand if Fumble were to make Donville Minister of Finance as a fitting reward for his hubristic-inducing behaviour.

17. Mr Inniss just made more teachers go to Solidary House tomorrow by talking CRAP about teachers getting 2 month vacation and a professional day home. Was vacation created for teachers or children? Teachers are never on vacation because you cannot leave the country without seeking permission.

How about him working in parliament for 8 years and getting a pension that a normal civil servant takes 331/3 years to get.

How come he agreed that lowly paid workers can go home and then agree to be part of the largest cabinet in the history of Barbados at the same time.

They are all very selfish people.

18. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Clone

I am not trying to be critical of your comment but all public officers, not only teachers, must apply for permission if they intend to leave the country, even if they are on vacation.

19. Caswell
    Thanks for that for the clarification

20. @ Bush Tea January 5, 2015 at 7:46 AM #

“The sea-cat woman from Donville constituency…..so you done know Donville got some sway dey…. She got Onions so bewitched that she could get him to write any shiite fuh just a little smell…”

Just a little smell of what, Bushie……….. the sea or the cat?

21. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

Who is the best bowler on the current WI team? After he has been crowned, tell me exactly where in the grand scheme of things he fits relative to cricket? As to that absolute jobby about clean hands….tell that to any diabetic that relied on the same drug service you mentioned.

22. Why are we not attracting class acts to the political class?

23. The PDC must thank the Almighty that more and more Barbadians are coming to the realization that the intellectually and politically backward, bankrupt and discredited DLP and BLP must go in the not too distant future from the parliament and political landscape of this country.

And so what a very intellectually puerile and contemptible article indeed that is substantially premised on Mr Donville Inniss having done well as a minister in government. What foolishness of a scandalous nature!

24. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

Epsom salts, Aloes or Castor Oil…….the lil piece of orange had the same effect ,and so did those doses of punishment. In blind man land one eye man is king….Amongst a bad bunch………..tek ya pick, cause even if ya wrong…..ya still right.

25. But wait this is what it come to? …affa a hard days toil..I now walkin here to this?…….truth is.. all the rhetoric I hearing but nothing o disprove any of the above statements…. you guys need to consider performance and forget personal issues.
    Mr. Inniss is the best performing of the lot. ..and this lot is what we have… 4 more years to ride with..like it or lump it. I gine and bone these fish Do!

Bushie….U ban…keep from out st.James ya ear! LOL

26. Miller,

I haven’t heard anything over the Christmas holiday! I tried to keep my time free of those morons in an effort to enjoy my time. Who knows with this clown prince we have as a leader? The plan to include OSA may have been true and since it leaked out, he no doubt has changed his mind!

At this stage, who cares? The chaos will just get worse ……..case in point the black lipped moron! You think the nonsense he spewed last week and the arrogance he displayed would ever be tolerated by any other PM? Hell no! Look the nonsense that OSA fired George Payne for! For a man who turned out to be the biggest fraud ever to have crossed the political landscape in Barbados!

27. snip

sadbajan January 5, 2015 at 12:42 PM #

i would please like someone to commission a CADRES poll just to see the real level of satisfaction or dissatisfaction with this present government and who are the preferred leaders.

Donville most likey….based on performance…..forgetting personal preference.

28. Define performanc4e, and it does not mean talking.

29. What I continue to find incredible that Freundel Stuart and Chris Sinckler poorly advised by a unsuited-for-the-job Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados are not only destroying Government’s ability to pay current accounts but their cavalier behaviour is now creeping into the market place starting with the downgrade of Sagicor and the principals of Sagicor are looking to move their domicile from Barbados to a more stable country.Jobs and confidence gone thru the eddoes again.If somebody don’t stop this rot in a matter of weeks more financial institutions will be similarly affected and finance for infrastructural or any development would only come from the Shylocks waiting with bated breath in the wings.Some say 3S back in town,this time its the Stuarts.Wuh gaul bline all ‘o dem stinking, brassbowl hoes called the dems.Singlehandedly, in bare ignorance,destroying a good,solid country like Barbados,now fast becoming a one eyed place of abode

30. David asks “Why are we not attracting class acts to the political class?”

Politics requires elements of classlesssness. lol

31. I would love for Barbados to be managed by Mia Mottley and Donville Inniss. They are two of the brightest and more passionate politicians in recent times. Inniss clearly knows something about management, public sector finance and a lot about politics.

However, I do not see him as a man who is focused on being PM. He seems to enjoy wherever he works and is indeed a great communicator.

Until Mia and Don come together, may I suggest that PM Stuart make Inniss his Minister of Finance.

Assuming that the Minister of Finance must come from within the present Cabinet (regardless of what one thinks about the bunch of them); Inniss stands out as the one best suited to replace Sinckler.

Let us look at the contenders.

Sealy is too laid back and lazy. Very mediocre in Tourism.

Estwick is too hungry for that post and has not been a bright spark in any Ministry he has held to date. He is a loose cannon.

Darcy – cannot be as he is a Senator

PM Stuart – does not have the god grasp of the subject and is too removed from reality

Stephen Lashley – would be a good AG but too weak for Finance

Inniss on the other hand has great success in 3 Ministries to date – 3 large Ministries. He has done well to contain and cut expenditure whilst seeking to raise revenue. He has a good grasp of Public Finance and Macro Economics. He is a team player. He is well respected and admired by the private sector. He is decisive and communicates. He can inspire confidence.

I would be happy to have elections now, but until then Inniss for Finance.

32. And Caswell…..look I now snip this from your thread Jun.2012.. “Well Done Donville Inniss” in Blogging

In the past, I have been critical of Minister Inniss when he made disparaging remarks about civil servants. I think that it is only fair when he does something positive that he should be commended. His actions in this regard go a long way in redeeming him in my eyes. Well done Donville Inniss, unfortunately for him, I live in the constituency of St. Thomas.

…….give jack his jacket man ! …

Questions 2,3, 4, 5…….not really a fair ask….U serious ?

33. If Donville has what it takes it will happen. Leaders emerge often times out of challenging situations.

34. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Onions

If I am nothing else; I’m fair.

When Donville or anyone else does something that is positive, I will say so and I did. Equally, when they perform poorly, I will say so as well, without fear or favour, and that is what I did. Now all Inniss is trying to do is to make a few sound bites aiming to position himself as leader of the DLP after it implodes. He somehow feels that if he talks the prettiest, he will emerge as leader and then prime minister when the Dems rehabilitates itself. What he does not realise is that the process will take about 30 to 40 years. He might live that long if he avoids going for treatment at the QEH that he helped to destroy.

35. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Cool runnings

I am beginning to believe that you and Donville are one and the same or at least his wife.

36. The fact remains…………….does Donville has the respect of his colleagues? Can he command their respect and oust Fumble?

Let us face facts, our problem lies in the fact that we have a weak, weak leader. Since we are saddled with them until 2018, if Donville can take over the DLP, maybe some how we can stall the inevitable! But alas, these dems are cowards……they are only interested in getting their portion of the fatted calf, to hell with the people whose votes they bought. These are the ones who are suffering the most, you know……………… but they could not care less.

But all Barbados knows that the only thing keeping this party together is getting to their pensionable day……after that all hell will break loose! They know that they are incompetent and do not know what the hell they are doing and that they have a weak, lazy incompetent leader.

But they do not care! They have the power.

What a pity!

37. 1:16pm: VOB 97.9FM Brass Tacks

In response to a caller, Donville Inniss said that 90% of the times a minister says the file is on his desk…. it’s not true.

Kellman is one who often has files on his desk to be signed.

38. Donville needs to understand the value of tone when engaged in public discussion.

39. Lynette Holder was rough on the Don, very articulate indeed.

40. I was shmyfh a couple days ago after hearing Caswell Franklyn call Denise Johnson David Ellis repeatedly.Here is a guy who in haste to be crtical and castigate everytom dick and harry in a ten minute condemnation of govt could not get the name of the moderate correct

41. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Aratxerxes

You wrote:

“In response to a caller, Donville Inniss said that 90% of the times a minister says the file is on his desk…. it’s not true”.

I did not hear the remarks by the minister so I am relying on you for accuracy. If he did indeed say that, he is really saying that his fellow ministers are LIARS 90%of the time.

42. That means he is calling Chris Sinckler a big big liar! Why……every time he holds a press conference he always say……the file is on my desk as we speak etc etc. Donville only confirmed what we already know…………the dems are nasty liars!

43. @ David
    But looka how Onions gone and run Donville in a trap nuh….encouraging the poor man to expose himself like that…

That is one of the most pathetic performances by a minister in a while….
    not only tone, but attitude and aggressiveness….and unprepared….
    …kept asking aggressively what other panelists and callers should be doing – as if we elected ‘others’ to run the damn government.
    Also picking on the damn woman all the time – no wonder she unleashed on his sorry ass… ha ha ha

Bushie really though that he would have been more tactful…. (like the boss man Sir Cave, …the inventor of “tactful” when in public)… but he came across like a bully….steupsss!! ….he seems more suited for his reputed business….

Well if this is the best that the DLP has, then our best bet is to start making arrangements with the undertakers….

44. I thought Lynette was good enough to the point that Pornville was angered by most of her barbs.Liesl Daly of the private sector was very articulate and poignant in her contributions.I am happy to say Jeremy Stephens made many of the points I have been making on BU and moreso the effect of these downgrades on not only insurance companies but on banks and other financial institutions holding government paper.Charlie Skeete burst Pornville’s bubble in every respect but especially so in terms of Barbados’s standing as a country in which to do business.I found Bizzy could only talk about Bizzy and was walking on hot coals so he introduced a mythical Englishman and a mythical American to say the things Bizzy wanted to say but found it prudent not to ruffle somebody’s feathers for fear he might lose out on something we don’t know about.Donville Inniss would do well to take the bull by the horns and bring about the recommended changes in Government bureaucracy, bajans’ work ethic and availability of finance in this country.

45. @ Gabriel ”principals of Sagicor are looking to move their domicile from Barbados to a more stable country”

This would be a logical move, as a company cannot have a rating higher than the country in which it is domiciled.

Thus, if they want to maintain their rating based on their strength as a company, they have to move to a domicile to a country with AT LEAST their own rating.

46. caswell have you figured out the name of the moderator where you were the guest,,,,still shaking my head ,,,so embarrassing,, next time rely on a cue card short term memory is a sign of an advanced age and a deteriorating brain,

47. @ Gabriel January 6, 2015 at 2:45 PM #

I agree with your contribution. Donville Inniss came across as a bully towards the other guest [except Williams] and more so towards Lynette. When forced in a corner, the usual DLP retort is to tell critics “bring solutions instead of criticizing”. However, Lynette’s response just goes to show that people are actually contributing to the development of Barbados. It is the government that should create an environment that would facilitate business establishment.

Bizzy Williams is on record as saying he is a PIP, he supports the party in power, so for obvious reason he would not want to “mash” Donville’s and, by extension, the government’s corns.

I hope Onions listened to Donville’s performance on “Brass Tacks” today. And if he did, perhaps he would post a similar article to BU, but with a few major adjustments.

48. well ,the lady talk in generalization,repeated the same ole talking points expecting more input from govt, when confronted on alternatives her rebuttals were in large contained to her previous comments , at one point she was left hanging as she tried to confront the minister on the lack of meeting not scheldue with govt and business partnership,,alll in all she came across as one who had scripted responses and an obvious role to play, any questions that would evoke comments or opinions from her apart from her planned model of response was elusive , the minister was being respectful and rightfully so,

49. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Artaxerxes

Sorry for the minor correction but Bizzy did not say that he was a PIP: he said that he is a PIG (I quite agree). That is party in Government.

I am waiting for the time when our justice system matures like the example below:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/liveblog-live/liveblog/live-updates-sentencing-of-robert-mcdonnell/?wpisrc=al_alert#cd201132-51b8-4b30-988c-524306027a02?wpisrc=al_alert

50. @ ac

You must not have listened to the same Brass Tacks today 6th Jan.

Donville was very arrogant and Lynette was on point when he asked her to respond what the SBA was doing in moving the country forward via Small Business members.

You are telling me that 2 years ago when he was made Minster of International Business ………………………. he went on record saying that he would speed up business facilitation in gvt.

Two years later he is still talking the same talk with 2 years of inaction and SAME false promises/commitments.

He came across on the program as arrogant and aggressive.

He was only polite to Bizzy Williams as they are in (gvt) partnership together with major projects.

The only two people who came across with credibility to me was Lynette and Jeremy Stevens as both being properly prepared and concise.

Donville is only smart to those who do not have a high degree of intelligence but is filled with a lot of hot air.

I was a member of Rotary and know of him only too well.

He is about his own progress and not the welfare of the local people.

In the last several years when talk was going around of Ministers taking cut in both salaries and allowances he got on the same VOB in response to a female caller that he was totally against Ministers’ cuts as he has a family with children to feed (even though he is making approx $17,000 monthly both salary and allowances).

The man is making $17,000 monthly and don’t give a damn about the over 3000 gvt workers sent home or waiting on an invisible tribunal, and also people in the private sector being sent home because companies closing down.

Is this the type of individual that should be a representative of the same people behind close doors he cares nothing about?