Submitted by St. George’s Dragon

The problem of the moment in Barbados is dumping. People leave their garbage by the sides of roads, in gullies, everywhere. The authorities say they are against it but in general there is no sign of action against those responsible. While Denis Lowe, the Minister responsible, has been promising new litter laws and increased penalties for years, we have seen no sign of change. Part of the problem is enforcement. Put simply, not enough people are being taken to court for the crime of littering. The current penalties may be low but it cannot be impossible to effect change if people are penalised and publicised for dumping.

Part of the problem is establishing who is responsible. No-one ever seems to be caught dumping their litter. What though, if we can discover who did it?

Enter Corrie Brathwaite, of 37 Dash Valley, St George. She may be able to help us find who left a brown cardboard box containing general refuse, a Roberts feed bag with something stinking inside it (possibly a dead animal) and most helpfully, some papers with names and addresses on them. The box is by the side of the road from Highway 4B to Workmans.

Ms Brathwaite may of course be entirely innocent of any crime and not be the person who dumped the rubbish. She will though, have valuable information about who might be responsible. In the box were two assessment notices for imported goods for which her company appears to have been the customs broker. There was also certificate of appraisal for an imported Toyota Station Wagon and some papers in an envelope with her name on the front which appear to be freight invoices, one of which is in the name of “Dwight Sutherland offices”. I have attached scans of them.

Please, Ms Brathwaite, if it was you who dumped this rubbish, I would be grateful if you would collect and dispose of it properly. If it wasn’t you, please can you help identify who might be responsible?

Attachments

1. Exterior box ID
  2. Invoice Custom Broker
  3. Appraisal Certificate (Japan)

57 responses to “Garbage Enforcement Lacking”

1. One would have thought the police would have been interest at the mention of Corrie Brathwaite’s name. Maybe the Nigerian student have them busy.

2. David wrote “reduced to 1 day”

So that explains why Dover is a nasty stinkin place 6 days a week.

Doan worry doh. Butch gine mek dem clean up.

3. I am sure that Sheraton Centre generates considerably more garbage than Dover or some busy thoroughfares in Bridgetown, yet I’ve never seen any unsightly garbage around this place . I know that they use a Roll-on-Roll-Off portable compactor. Perhaps to deal with the high volume of garbage at this point in Dover,one of these Ro-Ro portable compactors can be utilised. Or would this be a political issue?

4. @Colonel Buggy” Perhaps to deal with the high volume of garbage at this point in Dover,one of these Ro-Ro portable compactors can be utilised. Or would this be a political issue?”

The real issue is the a Gov’ment run RO-RO would end up costing three times the amount that a private person pays, for some reason, and break down after one month.

Am I wrong?

5. We could talk about the Dover Bin until the cows come home. It is obvious that the Ministry of Health, The Ministry of the Environment, the Ministry of Tourism and the Member of Parliament for that area ,have no intention of rectifying this unsightly and damaging mess. Just this morning I passed a trio of tourists , going past some overflowing bins, not far from Oistins , one of whom was throwing off her hands Bajan style, indicating, ” look at this s**** !”
    Perhaps we should appeal to the Minister of Sport ,then again the entire cabinet hold this portfolio.

Wednesday afternoon – 7 January 2015
    http://imgur.com/ancPSOA

Thursday morning- 8 January 2015
    http://imgur.com/Gyu4SEj

6. I am quite certain that I saw the NCC with a garbage compactor similar to those at SSA picking up grass from the verges of the ABC Highway, when they were tasked with the maintenance of the highway. I have not seen this unit for quite a while now. But should this truck /compactors not used on a daily basis to remove all of the garbage generated by stall holders at the various NCC managed markets/sites, such as Dover and Rockley,as I suspect that much of the garbage at the Dover Dirty Bin, originates from the nearby market. Spent coconut shells from nearby wayside vendors, are also ending up in these catchment bins.

7. @ Colonel Buggy

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-essex-30955933

You may be interested in this story.