Garbage Enforcement Lacking
Submitted by St. George’s Dragon
The problem of the moment in Barbados is dumping. People leave their garbage by the sides of roads, in gullies, everywhere. The authorities say they are against it but in general there is no sign of action against those responsible. While Denis Lowe, the Minister responsible, has been promising new litter laws and increased penalties for years, we have seen no sign of change. Part of the problem is enforcement. Put simply, not enough people are being taken to court for the crime of littering. The current penalties may be low but it cannot be impossible to effect change if people are penalised and publicised for dumping.
Part of the problem is establishing who is responsible. No-one ever seems to be caught dumping their litter. What though, if we can discover who did it?
Enter Corrie Brathwaite, of 37 Dash Valley, St George. She may be able to help us find who left a brown cardboard box containing general refuse, a Roberts feed bag with something stinking inside it (possibly a dead animal) and most helpfully, some papers with names and addresses on them. The box is by the side of the road from Highway 4B to Workmans.
Ms Brathwaite may of course be entirely innocent of any crime and not be the person who dumped the rubbish. She will though, have valuable information about who might be responsible. In the box were two assessment notices for imported goods for which her company appears to have been the customs broker. There was also certificate of appraisal for an imported Toyota Station Wagon and some papers in an envelope with her name on the front which appear to be freight invoices, one of which is in the name of “Dwight Sutherland offices”. I have attached scans of them.
Please, Ms Brathwaite, if it was you who dumped this rubbish, I would be grateful if you would collect and dispose of it properly. If it wasn’t you, please can you help identify who might be responsible?
Attachments

I am not excusing anyone for dumping illegally but this is what happens when the collection of garbage is separated by intervals of as much as two or three weeks.
LikeLike
If there is an increase in littering by Barbadians then we should have witnessed a commensurate increase in enforcement by the authorities and penalties.
LikeLike
As of last Saturday evening garbage bins in the parking lot at scenic Foul Bay beach were filled to overflowing and surrounded with bags of more garbage laying on the ground. In the treed area up under the cliff just south of the parking lot there were two very large patches of picnicking remnants strewn around including paper plates, plastic cups, plastic cutlery etc. – only fitting I suppose as the place is named “Foul” Bay after all.
LikeLike
@Green Monkey
Pics?
LikeLike
Barbados has become one of the dirtiest Islands in the Caribbean – a generation of bajans now care nothing about this little Island we have adopted the disposable attitude of the US.
It is pointless bringing new tougher anti dumping laws – political sweet talk- unless they are enforced & a program of education started at once in our schools beginning at kinder-garden level, and we start to educate people on recycling as done all over the world
Until we take responsibility & clean up our act then we will continue to be a nasty uncaring population poisoning ourselves.
I took my granddaughters to see the lights @ King George 5th Park in St. Philip a truly wonderful sight – kudos to Michael Lashley- spoilt only by garbage lying around again…………..
LikeLike
Input out put, the more food and other things that are brought into this county at a rate , The same rate must be adjusted to pick up the trash , But we all know that right?
Trash x DLP/BLP =Garbage , The C.U.P will clean up ,
As of NOW, we have more than 45000 hits on Massive Land Fraud in Barbados , with the Names of the Crooks Liars and Scumbags, F.O.I
COALITION OF UNIFIED PARTIES and NAKED DEPARTURE ,like us on FACEBOOK
LikeLike
There are a number of things to commend about this BU expose. Eg.
1)It is well documented.
2)It appears to be even handed as it excoriates both the DLP and BLP MPs who are mentioned.
3) It is logically presented and provides information in support of its major thrust, i.e. the need for official action to be taken against persons who litter.
4) The writer does not appear to be unwilling to get his hands dirty in order to do the job properly.
But I have a niggling feeling that there might be something else in the mortar besides that pestle.
LikeLike
Its Mr Brathwaite:
http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2012/09/06/duo-charged-for-drugs/
LikeLike
Can we assume this is the very Corrie Brathwaite?
Importing used cars is the cover?
LikeLike
Why are there so many problems on such a less than minuscule island that are appearing to be insurmountable and unsolvable.
What would these politicians do if they had to manage a country as vast and populated as the US.
By the way, unemployment in the US is now below 6%, every month at least 2-300,000 jobs are added to the payroll. There is no longer any excuse re the world wide recession. Of course i don’t expect things to change overnight from the trickle down effect of the Bush Gang, but let’s hope these messes are cleaned up in at least another 2 years in Barbados.
Obama will be leaving a legacy and a half.
The central bank governor seems to be optimistic.
Let’s see what the proud boasters do next.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/61674/red-alert
LikeLike
For those who like to worship the pretentious frauds in buckingham palace, hope you are proud suckers.
http://www.nydailynews.com/news/world/alleged-madame-accused-supplying-prince-andrew-article-1.2065505
LikeLike
Yawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Aren’t we preaching to the converted?
LikeLike
@Well Well
The Royal Family are exempt from Freedom of Information requests and can veto BBC programmes. Why do we put up with this? Their unchecked influence and lack of transparency defies belief.
Let us go back to Prince Andrew, the prodigal son. The Palace has never denied that he has, for years, been cavorting with insalubrious billionaires and vicious autocrats. Human rights? Why should an ageing, playboy prince care about those? Prince Charles is matey with Arab despots too. The next time you feel the urge to denounce Robert Mugabe, remember these royal appeasers. Yes Blair, Clinton and Bush also had unsavoury friendships. But they lost power, eventually. Our royals can carry on sleazing indefinitely.
Freedom of speech and expression is held up as a shining British value. But the Queen and her brood can and do stop the media and authors from pursuing legitimate investigations and asking tough questions. They can come down so heavy that seasoned journalists shake with terror and give up.
The BBC has been persuaded from broadcasting two programmes fronted by Steve Hewlett, a much respected multi-media man. If we, the people, had been allowed to watch the programmes, we might have seen how the Palace used scheming spin doctors to erase Diana from national memory and replace her with Camilla, and how Prince Charles’s actions go way beyond his constitutional role and so on. I don’t blame the BBC. Lawyers employed by the royals are like Alsatians, fiercely protective and very sharp.
Imagine what the reaction would be if, say, Tony Blair stopped the BBC from broadcasting a critical programme on his activities. Britons would be outraged. But with the Royal Family, there is only quiet acquiescence. We are subjects after all, the great brainwashed.
http://www.independent.co.uk/voices/comment/the-royal-family-are-exempt-from-freedom-of-information-requests-and-can-veto-bbc-programmes-why-do-we-put-up-with-this-9956702.html
LikeLike
Ottawa’s new garbage burning plant ….wait…it cant get financing….why I wonder …did yours
LikeLike
Still dropping.
“Oil prices sank to more-than-five-year lows Monday on fresh signs that supply will outstrip demand in the coming months.”
http://www.wsj.com/articles/oil-prices-fall-to-new-lows-on-supply-glut-1420455248
LikeLike
I should have gone to newneversity so I would understand economics.
an dem kinda tings.
I still can’t understand why the price of gas in Barbados still does not reflect the low world oil prices.
Reducing the price of gasoline at the pump would see an increase in consumer spending on a whole lot of other items.
Wha wunna tink?
LikeLike
Hants January 5, 2015 at 5:32 PM #
Reducing the price of gasoline at the pump would see an increase in consumer spending on a whole lot of other items.
Wha wunna tink?
…………………………………………………………………………….
Its not about consumer spending etc etc. This unfair , and unilateral wind fall, gives the government the opportunity to amass some cash to pay off some bills, and to put some money back into the National Insurance Scheme, which we were informed in the press today, is like the National Petroleum Company,….. running low of gas.
LikeLiked by 1 person
ok Colonel Buggy,
They could lower the price by 20 cents a litre and still have a “windfall”.
LikeLike
It is the lack of respect for Barbadians our government ave taken us for fools that we have not had a sensible response on why gas is so damn expensive in the prevailing.
LikeLike
@ Colonel Buggy January 5, 2015 at 5:48 PM
“This unfair , and unilateral wind fall, gives the government the opportunity to amass some cash to pay off some bills, and to put some money back into the National Insurance Scheme, which we were informed in the press today, is like the National Petroleum Company,….. running low of gas.”
I have no problem with the government retaining some the super profits to pay off some of its bills. But, be Christ, stop the lies and deceit. What policy of setting prices at the pump based on the movement of oil prices on the international market! What palaver about being locked into forward contract pricing mechanisms and uncontrollable costs increases!
Tell the people now it is raining cheap oil we will not only have to find less ‘scarce’ foreign exchange but we will build up our local cash reserves to ensure our alternative energy policies and programmes are adequately financed with the ring-fenced super profits from the current glut of cheap oil.
Can we expect to see a major push whereby most government-owned buildings are fitted with solar panels (including the BWA) paid for with the super-profits or will this myopic incompetent administration “lick out” the bonus money (like a sugar factory hand from St. George on a Saturday night on the Main of yesteryear) and allow the country to remain at the mercy of Emera once again when oil prices skyrocket (again) on the gambling tables of the commodities market as Putin is removed from office and Venezuelans change their government?
LikeLiked by 1 person
@millertheanunnaki,
Lowering the price at the pump means a redistribution of the “windfall” thereby stimulating our consumer driven society.
Putting money in Bajans pockets means more fy fish an macaroni pie gine sell.
Simplistic but that is my theory.
LikeLike
WITH AVERAGE PRICES NOW 30 CENTS A LITRE LOWER THAN THE 2014 NATIONAL AVERAGE, MOTORISTS CAN EXPECT A DIRECT SAVINGS OF OVER $ 12.6 BILLION DOLLARS IN 2015 IF PUMP PRICES STAY AT, OR DROP BELOW THEIR CURRENT 95 CENTS A LITRE VALUES. THROW DIESEL INTO THE MIX AND YOU CAN ADD ANOTHER $4.8 SAVINGS FOR A COMBINED $17.2 BILLION WINDFALL FOR CONSUMERS.
http://tomorrowsgaspricetoday.com/
LikeLike
Forgive the cut an paste above.
LikeLike
are-we-there-yet January 5, 2015 at 8:40 AM #
“…I have a niggling feeling that there might be something else in the mortar besides that pestle.”
If you are saying you suspect this is something political, I can confirm it is absolutely not. It’s dead straightforward. I hate littering. There is no excuse for it.
LikeLike
garbage enforcement…for barbados a must read
https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2007/08/25/the-basic-problem-with-barbados/#comments
LikeLike
if oil drops hants doesn’t your investments,pension plan etc
LikeLike
The skip at Accra beach is so full the garbage is now piling up beside it!
This is disgusting. Apparently not a priority for our tourism & health experts!
LikeLike
@Redman et al
Please take pictured if you can and forward to BU.
LikeLike
With so many of us apparently concerned about littering, maybe this will work at no cost to government and be a benefit to the country.
Just as we have a Crime Stoppers Programme where witnesses to a crime or knowledgeable about a crime can contact the authorities confidentially and receive a reward if the information leads to a conviction, why not do the same with littering? All that would be required is a camera to record the person littering and with the proliferation of camera phones that should be easy. Submit the photo to a specially set up unit without having to confront the litterer, and receive a reward if it leads to a conviction.
This is only an idea so bigger brains can work out the details.
LikeLike
David, as you probably know by now, this Dover Skip is once again, featured in its disgusting state in today’s Nation. Also we see the Nation featuring the equally as disgusting now abandoned Bajan Helicopters complex, of which we had pictures published in BU last week, But even more astonishing is to learn that this heritage urban site is under the control of a government ministry. Clearly more proof that this government’s aim is to destroy this country, lock stock and barrel.
LikeLike
@Colonel Buggy
So where do we go from here?
LikeLike
@Colonel Buggy Here are the two pictures featured in the Nation you referred.
LikeLike
And Kellman wants to put vendors on this Bajan helicopter site. I give up.
LikeLike
We as a people have lost it , David. The indiscriminate dumping of garbage and the reluctance of those in authority to rectify this ongoing problem, is just the tip of the iceberg in this indiscipline, don’t- care -a- damn, devil-may-care society. We are now tottering on the brink of anarchy, where many do as they jolly well pleases and , bugger to all others.
Will we be able to take back control of our highways from the road hogs, bicyclists , motorcyclists and wannbe racing car drivers who turn parts of the ABC Highway into a free-for-all Bushy Park after certain hours of the night.
Will we be able to arrest the proliferation of illegal firearms in this country? We are unable to get dasheens, plantains, mangoes, nutmegs and other produce from the neighbouring islands, but the underworld, has no problem importing guns and drugs from some of these same islands.
But indiscipline now appear to be part of our culture. The accompany photo which I snapped today sums it up. A Transport Board bus stopped in the center of what we Bajans call a 4-cross road, blocking all traffic,and especially those coming up two relatively steep hills, to collect some secondary and primary school children, who themselves are rushing like cattle to board the bus. These are the same Transport Board bus drivers who will see an old lady or an old man ,yards away from the bus stop and refuse to stop for them.
We have thrown all of our values into the garbage.
LikeLike
@Colonel Buggy
Thanks, will submit to BajanFlick shortly.
Updated: http://bajanflick.wordpress.com/2015/01/06/transport-board-bus-collecting-school-children-at-a-four-cross-road/:
LikeLike
Something went wrong there downloading above Pic .
LikeLike
Col I said it before you need joe arpaio get those inmates out picking up garbage let the criminals see what there going to be doing if they want to eat. I was always amazed at how decent people when confronted with the dilemma of a full garbage container will just throw it on the ground beside it rather than find a better place to dispose of the waste.
LikeLike
Colonel Buggy January 6, 2015 at 6:28 PM #
wHERE WAS THIS PHOTO TAKEN?
IS IT SOMEWHERE IN ST JOSEPH?
LikeLike
Is Barbados being sabotaged? Huge garbage pileups, natural gas low for restaurants, hospital supplies low…..
Nah, no one could be trying to cause real estate prices to drop so they could clean up by buying Low and selling high later…
Could they?
LikeLike
Georgie Porgie January 6, 2015 at 8:00 PM #
……………………………………………………………
St Joseph is right. The Cross road at the junction of Hillswick-Joes River -Cleavers Hill.
More than likely many of these children are from outside of the St Joseph Parish. I probably was wrong in assuming that some of these were primary school children
LikeLike
Crusoe January 6, 2015 at 8:17 PM #
Is Barbados being sabotaged? Huge garbage pileups, natural gas low for restaurants, hospital supplies low…..
Nah, no one could be trying to cause real estate prices to drop so they could clean up by buying Low and selling high later…
Could they?
. …………………………………………………………………………………………….
And look whose hand we have put much of our real estate into. They not only have bought a large chunk of our real estate , but now they have been given the ok to dispose of other pieces of real estate as well, as they see fit, i.e, to those who will pay more than the locals.
………………………………………………………………………………….
LikeLike
@ Crusoe January 6, 2015 at 8:17 PM #
“Is Barbados being sabotaged?”
Based on a contribution to BU by “Togetherness”, Barbadians are indiscriminately dumping garbage in an effort to embarrass the government, so the answer to your question has to be “yes”.
LikeLike
Colonel Buggy January 6, 2015 at 8:19 PM #
THANKS
THIS IS WHAT I THOUGHT
HAVE NOT BEEN DOWN THERE FOR A LONG TIME
LikeLike
look overkill not going to be the winning hand for the BLP remember when it comes to record and history the impact can been seen for many years to come,, the blp has a poor record on the enviroment and it will be rolled out in the appropriate time , so gals and guys keep in mind the story of the hare and the tortoise,,lynette thompson she sure left a lot lot of garbage which would be dug into and i mean piles and piles of it,,
flash back from the year 2006
lynette speaks
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………. more political poop from the mouth of enviromental minister
LikeLike
I do not think that any Barbadian is dumping garbage indiscriminately just to embarrass the government. The fact is , we have morphed into a dirty set of bastards. Full Stop.
We have all seen those pretty signs , erected by the Ministry of Health over the years especially after a clean up at those sites where garbage is frequently dumped. These signs threaten illegal dumpers with the full weight of the law…… A very heavy fine or a term in jail , or both. Very soon after these signs are erected, they cannot be seen for the garbage that towers them.
We have become a nation of bull dogs with rubber teeth.
LikeLike
The Dennis Lowe Dover bin , was emptied yesterday. I went past this bin about an hour ago, and its packed to the top with garbage again. Come tomorrow morning we will see this bin and area in what has become their normal state, overflowing with stinking garbage.
No body seems to care anymore! Barbados a country without a leash!
And these buggers ,including the PM ,had the gall to sit down recently and pat themselves on the back about the Bridgetown and the Garrison Heritage Sites.
LikeLike
Well Well January 5, 2015 at 11:28 AM #
Why are there so many problems on such a less than minuscule island that are appearing to be insurmountable and unsolvable.
What would these politicians do if they had to manage a country as vast and populated as the US.
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
Our politicians are in this business, as they are otherwise useless as business persons,and in some respects unable to hold down a job, outside of the public service. Many of them started businesses which shortly afterwards failed miserably. They are like the Italian captain of Costa Concordia, sitting at the table feasting, while the oarsman is steering the ship towards the rocks.
LikeLike
If the bin was emptied yesterday and it has been filled again today maybe the bin needs to be emptied every day or every other day.
LikeLike
Mr. Hinds indicated the contract to empty the skip 3 times a week was reduced to 1 day when the government encountered hard times.
LikeLike
The box was by the side of the road when I passed by earlier. I was hoping someone would be shamed into taking it away.
LikeLike
One would have thought the police would have been interest at the mention of Corrie Brathwaite’s name. Maybe the Nigerian student have them busy.
LikeLike
David wrote “reduced to 1 day”
So that explains why Dover is a nasty stinkin place 6 days a week.
Doan worry doh. Butch gine mek dem clean up.
LikeLike
I am sure that Sheraton Centre generates considerably more garbage than Dover or some busy thoroughfares in Bridgetown, yet I’ve never seen any unsightly garbage around this place . I know that they use a Roll-on-Roll-Off portable compactor. Perhaps to deal with the high volume of garbage at this point in Dover,one of these Ro-Ro portable compactors can be utilised. Or would this be a political issue?
LikeLike
@Colonel Buggy” Perhaps to deal with the high volume of garbage at this point in Dover,one of these Ro-Ro portable compactors can be utilised. Or would this be a political issue?”
The real issue is the a Gov’ment run RO-RO would end up costing three times the amount that a private person pays, for some reason, and break down after one month.
Am I wrong?
LikeLike
We could talk about the Dover Bin until the cows come home. It is obvious that the Ministry of Health, The Ministry of the Environment, the Ministry of Tourism and the Member of Parliament for that area ,have no intention of rectifying this unsightly and damaging mess. Just this morning I passed a trio of tourists , going past some overflowing bins, not far from Oistins , one of whom was throwing off her hands Bajan style, indicating, ” look at this s**** !”
Perhaps we should appeal to the Minister of Sport ,then again the entire cabinet hold this portfolio.
Wednesday afternoon – 7 January 2015
Thursday morning- 8 January 2015
LikeLike
I am quite certain that I saw the NCC with a garbage compactor similar to those at SSA picking up grass from the verges of the ABC Highway, when they were tasked with the maintenance of the highway. I have not seen this unit for quite a while now. But should this truck /compactors not used on a daily basis to remove all of the garbage generated by stall holders at the various NCC managed markets/sites, such as Dover and Rockley,as I suspect that much of the garbage at the Dover Dirty Bin, originates from the nearby market. Spent coconut shells from nearby wayside vendors, are also ending up in these catchment bins.
LikeLike
@ Colonel Buggy
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-essex-30955933
You may be interested in this story.
LikeLike