It is difficult to feel cheerful in the Yuletide season when so many things in Barbados seem to be deteriorating. It is difficult to feel confident if a minister of cabinet publicly expresses his lack of confidence in how the Cabinet is managing “process and procedure’’. He is on the inside isn’t he? It is ridiculous a cabinet minister who should be guided by the code of collective responsibility of cabinet feels compelled to come public with his concerns and remain a part of Cabinet. All it does is to undermine the confidence of fatigued Barbadians to engage as citizens. It is laughable minister Donville Inniss instead of responding to Estwick’s concerns prefers to engage in the same palavering he recently criticised to explained the decision by government to issue a ministerial statement a few days before Christmas. It is the height of ignorance Prime Minister Freundel Stuart appears to be married to a policy of non intervention when it comes to managing a large and dysfunctional Cabinet.

The news in the last 24 hours that Standard & Poor’s has lowered its long-term sovereign credit ratings on Barbados to ‘B’ from ‘BB-’ explains the government’s rush to deliver a Ministerial Statement devoid of discrete actions to be taken to infuse confidence in civil society players and other external parties. It is so obvious that it is not funny any longer. Barbados has become the laughing stock around the region made so by the unwillingness of private sector entities to speak out about the lack of credibility of the government. We have two recent examples – Minister of Education Ronald Jones, supported by Parliamentary Secretary Harry Husbands promising (committed to) 3,000 UWI, Cave Hill bursaries six months ago and not feeling obligated – in our system of democracy – to update Barbadians on the matter. According to a recent press report when asked about it he said he had nothing to say.

The other laughable issue is CLICO Judicial Manager (JM) Patrick Toppin disclosing this week that there was no choice but to liquidate the Clico Life Insurance (CIL) by way of liquidation in the absence of funding for the implementation in Barbados of the first phase of a regional restructuring plan for CIL. Toppin’s announcement drew a response from government that he (Toppin) should be aware government cannot transfer resources from the Consolidated Fund but instead it must be done through a ‘’new company’’. Coincidently the “new company” headed by retired banker Clennell Goodman recently met with the minister of finance. The big question – why is the government and the Judicial Manager not on the same page? It is a laughable scene playing out where government and the JM would be so far apart on an issue affecting the lifes of thousands of Barbadians some who have died since the fiasco started. How can such a state of affairs breed confidence in a beleaguered people?

BU has stated countless times government’s policy must be implemented in a climate where civil society is optimistic and hopeful there is a high possibility of achievement. With the best will in the world the government with its inclination to engage in superfluous promises of fixing the judiciary, restarting Paradise Beach (Four Seasons), enacting transparency and new domestic legislation, restoring Empire Building, honouring the court order for the Barrack payment, operationalizing the creative industries bill, passing on market price of fuel to Barbadians consumers….

What should be obvious by now – even to the Prime Minister – is that he must do something. We can’t take anymore of the ineptness of the government. Promise us Mr. Prime Minister that in the same way you were prodded to awaken from your slumber during the build up to the last general election NOW is a good time to deliver a repeat performance.

Please tell Minister Donville Inniss to shut to hell up!

165 responses to “Prime Minister Stuart… all we want for Christmas is for the giant to be aroused from his slumber”

1. @AC
    This government is like the Ac , wanting to do better,but can not ,too SICK

2. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

We have been telling you all this EX COP have been a crook , liar and scumbags for a long time , Police even say he was a big drug dealer? We know he help coverup for the EX CJ Simmons and also as AG, Your Prime Minister also another crook liar and scumbag , and all the other Sirs Pimp title holders that get free land and houses tax free, vat, free and some times water free,So all the taxes they putting on the People is so they dont have to pay She-it.

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2013/10/police-services-commission-to-gg.pdf

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac December 21, 2014 at 7:52 AM

To the more intelligent and enlightened member of the firm of ACs.

What you are recommending makes a lot of sense. However, there is one vital ingredient missing from your prescription. The TRUTH.
    When those responsible for the fiscal and financial management of Barbados start to be honest, stop cooking the books and manipulating the statistics to suit their own nasty vested purposes then and only then would a ray of hope for improvement come through the tunnel of darkness that faces Barbados.
    I am sure you have heard the adage ‘the Truth shall set you free’. Both Stinkliar and the lying joker called the ‘Guv’ need to stop tarnishing the once good name of Barbados in international financial circles.
    Let the Guv come clean for once and explain where that $300 M in forex disappeared to.
    Did it end (according to well-known blogger) up Jacob’s horse nostrils like cocaine up a paro nose?

Now tell us, ac, who is practicing PARO Economics now? Stinkliar or OSA?

BTW, how is the “No layoffs, No Privatization” stew coming along? Ready to serve Bajans a bigger share of the burnt offering to Loki the god of lies and hypocrisy?

4. Stinkliar has decided he is going to look after the big issues of the Nation, he is selling the Saturday edition from a stall on the way into Bridgetown.

When he was asked what did he think of the credit crunch…he said it was one of his favorite chocolate bars

5. ac last comment has aroused the erotic insensitive nerve of those who insist and persist on the condemnation of the barbados economy, truth be told the ferocious negative talk from those with political axes to grind has also been disadvantageous in sending messages of despair some of which investors and financial institutions regards to be of interest in making decision…
    Overall from those on the outside looking in what matters are the collective voices and all information becomes relevant.
    Truth be told that shooting from the rafters and shooting the whole country in the foot does no one good, the problems that the country are facing can be repaired .However the one solution of looking for quick fixes as the opposition would want all to be believe is the Biggest of all lies being told,
    This economy was run on steroids and make belief for many years which portrayed a barbados of wealth and resources a charade and an illusion way beyond one imagination however propagated as being “All is WELL” well unfortunately that myth was decimated and the real truth and the unmasking of this story became unraveled about seven or eight years ago.
    The opposition preaching about TRUTHFULNESS is as deceitful as it would get when their budgetary performances under their leadership was one to project a barbados that was capable of withstanding the test of time ,only now that the economic tide has reached a high altitude all that has been washed ashore is a tidal wave of deceit and an economy driven by high debt which must be dealt with, as stated in S&P report which is giving cause to the fueling and activating of the constant downgrades to the barbados economy.
    this govt is doing all it can to ward off further and systematic problems built in the economy and the effort and the persistence to criticize might be necessary however when such criticism is level for personnel or political purpose it does more harm than good
    In the final analysis using barbadps as a political battering ram cannot and will not fix or heal the economy .

6. @ watchman alias de yarddog

Gawd mawning yard dog uh up early barking and shitting dog poop all over the place .

7. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

Posted on Facebook. We agree
    “…BARBADOS IS IN A DANGEROUS AND UNTENABLE SITUATION BECAUSE…WE HAVE A COMMISSIONER WHO IS REASONABLY BELIEVED TO BE INVOLVED IN UNETHICAL AND CRIMINAL ACTIVITY.”

ONE OF THE BIGGEST CRIMINALS to ever walk the streets of Barbados, no jail time, pension intact, and headed the most important job in the land — DARWIN DOTTIN, ex-COMMISSIONER of Police. Is ‘Barbados The Terrible’ a book of lies? Every BARBADIAN should read the POLICE SERVICE COMMISSION Report. Every last one of you! Stop defending and start acknowledging.

8. @ ac December 21, 2014 at 10:06 AM #

“ac last comment has aroused the erotic insensitive nerve of those who insist and persist on the condemnation of the barbados economy, truth be told the ferocious negative talk from those with political axes to grind has also been disadvantageous in sending messages of despair some of which investors and financial institutions regards to be of interest in making decision…”

That is among the most shiite the AC consortium has ever contributed to BU. By that statement you have not only demonstrated an absolute lack of knowledge in economical or financial matters, but also, as you usually do, regurgitated the rhetorical party political diatribe of the DLP.

First of all, do you really believe investors read the so called “ferocious negative talk from those with political axes to grind” as a basis to invest in a country. If you think so, then you are indeed more stupid than I first anticipated.

Investors look at countries that have experienced significant levels of economic growth, which has helped many companies within prosper. They also read information about the country, not only from the Central Bank, but also coming from the international rating agencies and financial institutions. They take into consideration factors such as geopolitical risks [such as terrorism or potentially hostile neighbors], currency exchange risks, labour laws and how best they can retain significant returns on their investments, among other things.

Perhaps it would be much better for you to educate yourself a bit more by reading more informative material other than the DLP handbook.

9. ac
    you might want to take a minute and read the letter from estwick in 2009 when he was minister of economic affairs where he was prescribing wages freezes, attrition in the public sector and debt refinancing. he has even told fumble in many many letters the errors of trying to tax our way out of the recession.
    but there was an election to win, so we need NOT tell the people the truth until after the victory was secured. a poisoned chalice is what the DLP have and until they remove sinckler, the governor of the central bank and change policy then barbados will continue to sink economically. HARDS EARS YOU WONT HEAR……..?????????

10. It is amazing how some of you get distracted by commenters who get their news from the online newspaper or a telephone call. Why not focus and discuss the issues? There is a saying that goes something like if you try to reason with persons who lack the ability it is like trying to raise the dead. What is the sense of arguing with some one who is always locked in to a permanent mindset?

11. THE ONLY REASON SINCKLER IS STILL MOF IS BECAUSING CERTAIN POWERFUL BUSINESS MEN IN BARBADOS AND TRINIDAD GOT THE PM SCARE TO MAKE THE CHANGE. THE ECONOMIC POLICIES OF THE DLP HAVE BEEN IN EVERY RESPECT A TOTAL AND UTTER FAILURE.

12. ac December 21, 2014 at 10:06 AM #

Your ramblings on this blog can only be described as DLP propaganda, because you can never, at no point in time, present to BU facts from any document to substantiate “This economy was run on steroids and make belief for many years which portrayed a barbados of wealth and resources a charade and an illusion way beyond one imagination however propagated as being “All is WELL”…..”.

You are in the habit of taking DLP political diatribe and running off with it as though it is gospel.

You must be aware the DLP spent 14 years in opposition, which gave them plenty of time to research and address the economical issues facing Barbados, if they wanted to be taken seriously as an alternative government.

Any opposition worth its salt would have known a recession was imminent. The policies outlined in their 2008 election manifesto and the policies implemented when they formed the government, demonstrated the DLP underestimated the severity of the economic downturn. So, were the DEMS wasting time in parliament between 1994 and 2008?

Additionally, the 14 years in opposition and over 6 years as the government, has provided the DLP with approximately 20 years and 10 months to formulate or develop alternative economic strategies to restructure the economy. Instead, they have spent this time blaming the BLP for their inadequacies.

But, the continuous downgrades by the international rating agencies and David Estwick publically stating his party [DLP] is responsible for the economic woes Barbados is presently facing, have proven this present administration is incapable of managing the island’s economic affairs.

My homework for you is to bring any report from any agency to substantiate the crap you contribute to BU.

13. Remember the children.

14. @ AC
    YOU ARE SICK ,GO, R.I.P

15. Mirror image / Take a Selfie.

16. Dedicated to de Guvment…

17. Dedicated to de Minister..

18. and finally, for the blogger AC

19. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

At least ban AC for a week or something. Are you David going to suffocate the Blog family.
    I would have to ask you David if you are AC yourself and using it as a ploy, the AC character, that is .

AC is actually nauseating and why would you not ban AC for at least a week.

We know that AC is many different persons. I am sure that I picked up the writing style of a certain loud mouth minister, not Ronald Jones, sometime last week or week before.

JOKERS that is what Layne described most of you Bajans.
    This Country is in the state that it is in because many of you have sold your soul.
    What DLP party what ! My Party what !
    YOU should have voted this incompetent bunch out –One Term was more than enough to get a gauge of the nonsensical.
    Now even hardened DEMS are saying that this bunch got to go.

IDIOTS !!

20. Greetings, David. This is just to note that I find the former format with the pink background was far easier on the eye that this current one, which is too grey. Ageing eyes!

21. Greetings to you too Ado, thanks for the feedback!

22. David,
    I agree with Peter

23. @AC

I never argue with a fool. They tend to drag you down to their level, then beat you with experience.

24. I too agree with Ado’s comment re background colour

25. Will work o the background colour, be patient.

26. Again thanks for all the feedback and apologies extended for the inconvenience during the annual exercise of making changes to the blog. We like to change the blog in ‘live’ to incorporate as much as the feedback as possible. We have selected ‘champagne pink’, appropriate for the season :-).

27. oh! and the back bencher mr independant OSA has broken his silence and has given his two minute statement to address the nation with his own episode or version of what TRUTH must be told,
    i dare OSA to direct his attention to the matters of TRUTH by telling the people about the huge debt which his administration helped formed and created which has been compounded with excessive doses of high interest payments which must be payed by the taxpayers

28. ac
    the blame game aint carrying any water anymore. the government now have to decide what they going to do given the moody’s have also indicated that they intend to downgrade barbados sovereign debt rating in january, 2015. maybe another ministerial statement from sinckler would do the trick to spare us that eventuality, NOT.

29. the PM says he is confident in the policies of the government………………so we can all relax and sleep restfully tonight, NOT.

30. The question to be asked is to what extent the PM’s word has weight.

31. david
    i don’t think people in Barbados take what anyone from the dip says with any weight. they refuse to have an honest and open conversation with the people of Barbados preferring instead to play politics at every turn. this is motivation 101 and management 101 but somehow the government DONT get it.

32. the GOCB should not be speaking for the GOB and the Minister of Finance and PM should let the people know that, after a few occasions of put him in his publicly, he will get the message.

33. What this government never seem to have accepted since being elected is that about the same number of of the electorate voted for the BLP last general election and trying to counter the divisiveness which our system of governance breeds should be a priority.

34. The PM is seeming to suggest that the rating agencies (S&P and Moody’s) want to drive Barbados into the hands of the IMF. I think he is again playing politics because everyone in Barbados knows the GOB is already implementing most of the IMF prescriptions albeit without the benefit of unlocking capital for development/economic stimulation.

35. What will they say in April when it become obvious that the economic projects have been wide of the mark and the economy continues to be stagnant??

36. Well, we did ask for the sleeping giant (not) to arise from his slumber.

He did and as usual talk the same bs. So S&P hates Barbados, then?

Only the PM, the governor and the Stinkliar know what is good for Barbados. The problem Fumble is that real economist look at the figures presented and can see the lies and that the figures do not add up.

Fumble, shut the hell up and go back to sleep. What you said is rubbish, S&P will soon get the last laugh! You all are the worst people to ever have power……..ever!

37. can someone direct me to food and beverage industry that Fumble spoke about in his response to S&P?

38. taxes in our asses come January when Fumble ‘Ernie’ Stuart and Chris ‘Bert’ Stinkliar realise the Ministerial Statement didn’t work with S&P. Poor Stinkliar, he is easily to biggest failure this country has even has as MOF/PM.

39. I agree wholeheartedly, Norst.

40. A likkle crismas ease.

Gasoline is now selling at $3.24 per litre – a saving of 33 cents.

41. Gas in Toronto $1.71 Barbados dollars.

42. ”Norst the Invader December 22, 2014 at 2:07 PM #
    taxes in our asses come January when Fumble ‘Ernie’ Stuart and Chris ‘Bert’ Stinkliar realise the Ministerial Statement didn’t work with S&P

Sadly, even if you are right, the problem is that more taxes are NOT the answer. More taxes will cause the economy to get worse.

From the beginning here I explained why their methods would not work. And they will not.

They have not a clue what they are doing.

Poochie and Magoo, t’would be funny if not so sad and horrible for BIM.

By the way, the ONLY thing more taxes will do is devalue salaries, far MORE than the 8 % a previous government did to public servant salaries (we already pass the 8% this time)

But no one marching now.

And further, how can you expect to cut the fiscal deficit by increasing taxes, when people are losing jobs, moreso in the private sector, thus there is no net increase in taxes?

Voodoo economics?

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Crusoe December 22, 2014 at 7:33 PM
    “Voodoo economics?”

You really mean ‘Paro Economics’!
    Do you remember the expensive Ads the DLP backers promoted in the last general elections portraying OSA as continuing to practise that type of economics if Bajans were that stupid as to get rid of the DLP re-elect the BLP?

The present DLP administration is about to sell its economic soul just to prove it is the “best government” Barbados ever had.

Thank you Fumble & Stinkliar for proving Bajans to be the most stupid people in the Caribbean, if not the World. Don’t just listen to me a simple miller. Listen to the former PS William Layne who called them ‘”Jokers” aka Bush Tea “Brass Bowls”.

You, modern Bajans, have provided an ‘alternative reflection’ to the E.W Barrow’s Mirror Image speech.
    Barbados is now a beggar nation and fast becoming a friend of none and satellite of any two-bit loan shark, schemer and racketeer.
    Is this still the same country that used to punch above its weight to even becoming the No.1 developing nation way back in 1992?

44. I am still waiting to hear what can be done to improve the Barbados economy and reverse the downward trend.

I am calling on the BU top guns to “show what you can do for your country”.

Miller, Bushie, Prodigal, Artax, wunna can open de batting.

45. EXPLAIN YOUR POLICIES clearly to Barbadians, so everyone can get involved and help save the country – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/61109/arthur-level-people#sthash.tiLXJRml.dpuf

46. Even Owen giving sound advice.

47. @Hants

The government does not listen. There is no respect for the need to efficiently communicate, too many policy and implementation botch ups etched. People have disengaged.

48. @ Hants December 22, 2014 at 9:55 PM #

“I am still waiting to hear what can be done to improve the Barbados economy and reverse the downward trend.”

I always give ideas on “what can be done to improve the Barbados economy and reverse the downward trend”, but no one on BU takes my ideas seriously or are willing to engane in a serious discussion.

49. A big part of the problem is that not being privy to government financial information it makes the debate moot.

50. An unfortunate accident which occurred in the Glasgow ,Scotland. Fortunately the likelihood of anything like this happening in Barbados , has been almost eliminated , thanks to the Minister of the Environment.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2883759/Six-feared-dead-bin-lorry-crashes-Glasgow-city-centre.html