Dr Tennyson Joseph

For a little while now BU has been listening/following Dr. Tennyson Joseph public utterances with interest. He first came to our attention when he, along with another academic Dr. Norman Girvan, participated on a Voice of Barbados call-in show (Tell It Like It Is) program back in 2008. At that time he agreed with Girvan that Prime Minister David Thompson (who inherited the Chairmanship for CSME matters) was the main reason CSME preparation had stalled. The nonsense both academics were spewing during the show prompted current Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler to intervene, and in a style which he has called his own, he put dem in deh place.

In today’s press Joseph gives his analysis of the recent cabinet reshuffle by Prime Minister David Thompson. To be honest, the academically challenged BU household we have to admit struggled to follow his perspective on the issue. Unlike the goodly doctor BU sees a reshuffle as rearranging human resources to ensure optimal performance can be achieved by whoever is the shuffler. The prolong illness of the Prime Minister has also added the dimension of ensuring Thompson demonstrates his political astuteness by acknowledging both the economic and political dynamic at play.

It should be apparent even to Dr. Joseph, a political scientist at UWI, Cave Hill that the recent shuffle was to accommodate Chris Sinckler in the position of Finance. The Prime Minister using his best judgement would have been aware Estwick had to be shifted for obvious reasons. Two bulldogs can’t operate in the same space. He also would have been acutely aware of the pre-election period when Kellman and same Estwick would have canvassed hard for Mascoll. During that period Estwick was his usual fireball self and several statements were made in the public by Estwick which must still resonate with Thompson. Perhaps it explains why Thompson is not yet* prepared to allow Estwick to perform in the role as key lieutenant (finance minister). If Estwick doesn’t like it he can lump it and the PM being the political animal that he is knows that Estwick has very little political capital at this time. Bear in mind this is the same Estwick we were up in arms over a few months ago for his role in the now dormant gun incident. It was George Belle the veteran political scientist quoted in the media, also a resident at UWI, Cave Hill who described Estwick as a good politician but somewhat capricious at times.

Dr. Joseph’s references in his article his concern regarding leadership in the government and Deputy Prime Minister Stuart. Frankly he mesmerized BU with whatever point he is attempting to make, we quote – Of particular concern is the extent to which the reshuffle disrupts the apparent future leadership trajectory which was signalled with the past and present appointment of Freundel Stuart as the Deputy Prime Minister. Can a member of the BU family explain? Was Stuart ever thought to have been a serious contender for the PM’s role?

Here is the unvarnished exposition by Dr. Tennyson Joseph which was displayed in the Nation newspaper for all to read today:

ALL AH WE IS ONE: Reshuffle of uncertainty

By: Tennyson Joseph

By Prime Minister David Thompson’s own admission, one of his main concerns as he battles his illness is to ensure that instability is minimised. In this regard, his decision to announce his third Cabinet reshuffle since 2008 must have caused him particular discomfort, since a reshuffle suggests “mashing up” and rearranging.

In assessing the effectiveness of the reshuffle, therefore, a useful measuring stick is its furtherance of the goal of ensuring stability, particularly in relation to governance and economic development.

Viewed through such a lens, it is difficult to declare in the affirmative. In announcing the reshuffle, very little link was made between the repositioning of ministerial responsibility and the overcoming of the economic challenges facing the country.

Indeed, given the oft stated commitment by the new Minister of Finance to the creation of a “society” as distinct from an “economy”, concerns about the lacunae in economic management occasioned by the Prime Minister’s illness may persist. The reshuffle appears to have been motivated more by politics rather than by the objective economic challenges confronting Barbados.

Leadership concern

Ironically, however, when judged as a political response, further instability appears to be on the horizon. Of particular concern is the extent to which the reshuffle disrupts the apparent future leadership trajectory which was signalled with the past and present appointment of Freundel Stuart as the Deputy Prime Minister.

The new Cabinet seems to have upset the usual batting line-up. Specifically, by placing the red meat of finance and economic development in Chris Sinckler’s hands, the Prime Minister has effectively problematised a smooth transition to the senior and tested deputy Freundel Stuart.

Barbados can now expect a period of political jostling to shift the party leadership more in line with that hinted by the reshuffle. The country can also expect a corresponding resistance from those who have been slighted by the new arrangements. Loyalties are therefore set to unravel, and the business of Government is set to take a back seat to politicking.

Indeed, on the very night of the reshuffle the country was confronted with the possibility of the former Minister of Economic Affairs resigning from the Cabinet. Despite his deference to better judgement, a new material reality of open disgruntlement, resentment, disaffection, and split loyalties, has manifested itself within the DLP, in a context where unity is paramount.

The pursuit of stability would have seen the Prime Minister shedding his workload through the transfer of Finance to the Minister of Economic Affairs and would have seen a reaffirmation of Stuart as the undisputed deputy and Acting Prime Minister whenever necessary. This would have signalled continuity, rather than change.

Instead, the reshuffle has brought internal politics to the fore where a focus on effective administration is demanded. The instability of the Prime Minister’s illness has now been reshuffled towards the instability of internal political rivalry. Managing change now competes with managing the country.

Tennyson Joseph is a political scientist at the University of the West Indies Cave Hill Campus specialising in analysis of regional affairs.

46 responses to “An Academic’s Take On The Recent Cabinet Reshuffle In Barbados”

1. I do agree with some of the points made, however I don’t think the P.M had much of a choice. Let’s not forget Sinckler was ALWAYS loyal to the P.M and has shown signs of leadership, even though he’s still very “green”. On the other hand Stuart, Estwick, Kellman and Lowe were bitterly against Thompson. Therefore the P.M had little choice but to appoint a person loyal to him to be in charge in him absence. I never thought that Stuart, nor Mascoll was P.M material, however it is going to take a high level of political maturity within the DLP to keep the government. Quite recently, I’ve been hearing a refreshed Owen Arthur and a refocused Mia Mottley delivering speeches that the corporate barbados is paying a lot of attention to. Many people are expecting a fight betwwen Arthur and Mottley for leadership of the BLP but they will be disappointed, the fight for leadership will come from within the DLP. I predict a general election within a year.

2. simply anonymous Avatar
    simply anonymous

” Despite his deference to better judgement, a new material reality of open disgruntlement, resentment, disaffection, and split loyalties, has manifested itself within the DLP, in a context where unity is paramount.”

Sheer utter crap. it is pathetic that because he is a UWI graduate, he believes he should used such stupid words to make a simple point. I am an UWI undergraduate, we are taught to use new words to ‘improve’ our communication but they should also make common sense so that even the simple among us would understand. what T. Joseph was trying to say above was this:

“In light of the prime minister’s statement, Dr. Estwick decided to postpone his announcement. However, disunity is in the camp where once unity had prevailed.”

I hope that i have interpreted his load of bull correctly.

3. David wrote:

“At that time he [Tennyson Joseph] agreed with Girvan that Prime Minister David Thompson (who inherited the Chairmanship for CSME matters) was the main reason CSME preparation had stalled. …It should be apparent even to Dr. Joseph, a political scientist at UWI, Cave Hill that the recent shuffle was to accommodate Chris Sinckler …the pre-election period when Kellman and same Estwick would have canvassed hard for Mascoll…”

Dear David:

Girvan was right.
    Joseph was right.
    Belle was right
    Kellman was right
    Estwick was right (except for the alledged gun thing)
    Mascoll was right

The DLP and Barbados would have been much better off if a DLP conspiracy had not “backraised” Clyde Mascoll.

Clyde is a brighter healthier man.

But the DLP membership (and those political operatives who perpetually mislead them) were in love with the brown skin fellow.

And look where that irriational love has taken the DLP and Barbados.

We should when we have a choice between the brighter fellow and the other fellow choose the brighter fellow.

A Cabinet reshuffle should not be about accomodating a loyal lieutenant.

We are acting as though David Thompson is going to recover and be an effective Prime Minister of Barbados again, even though we know that the 3 year survival for pancreatic cancer is 5% (and the 5 year, approximately zero) and apparently the PM’s cancer was diaganosed late in the game and according to the PM’s doctor Dr. Richard Ishmael is responding only moderately to treatments even though he has access to some of the best doctors in the world.

A Cabinet reshuffle should be about what is in Barbados’ best interest, not about ensuring that a loyal lieutenant hands power back to the PM on the slim chance that he recovers. The truth is his chance surviving until the next election is <5% so a Cabinet reshuffle should NOT be about him. It should be about US.

What's wrong with us that we want to ignore the advice given by some of our brightest and our best, including Girvan, Belle, Joseph and Mascoll?

4. @J

How do you know the PM has not made the correct decision from where he sits?

That’s all that really matters anyway.

5. Academics are scoffed at on BU routinely
    The PM is a saint. He has never done anything wrong. Not even taken a cookie from the cookie jar He is not capable of doing anything wrong. and if he even does, how dare you to say that he could possibly be wrong. Have you lost it J? Do you need a psychiatrist? Don’t you know that the anointed one can say no wrong, do no wrong or make any wrong decisions!
    I cant understand how you cant see that Saint David could not possibly have made the wrong decision from where he sits.

Do understand my sarcasm J LOL

6. @GP

The blog above was posted by BU, no need to dance around the mulberry bush. It should be evident to all that you have a ‘beef’ with the PM hence your position. On the issue of the PM your positions held are highly suspect.

7. As usual you adjudicate with out the facts.
    I have clearly expressed my views………….but as I have said repetedly free speeach is not frre here. I take you remarks to mean that ANYONE & EVERYONE WHO DOES NOT SAY THAT SAINT DAVID SHOULD BE RUNNING WITH MICHAEL AND THE ARCHANGELS HAS A BEEF AGAINST THE PM.
    I interpret your remarks to mean that IT IS WRONG TO HAVE A BEEF AGAINST THE PM.

i INTERPRET YOUR REMARKS TO MEAN THAT ANYONE THAT DOES NOT HOLD THE P[OSITION OF THE HERD has a highly suspect position. fREE SPEACH? oH YEAH?

i MUST CONFESS THAT YOUR LOGIC IS MUCH MORE FUNY THAN GRADING [P[APERS ON A & P

i DIDNT HEAR YOU WHEN i WAS DIAGNOSED BY A MORON TO HAVE LOST IT OR TO NEED A PSYCHIATRIST.

Watch now. LOL

8. BTW as you know a higher authority dealing with “my beef.” I didnt have to do a thing.
    But my arguements in the two posts above can not be refuted.

9. @ GP
    i DIDNT HEAR YOU WHEN i WAS DIAGNOSED BY A MORON TO HAVE LOST IT OR TO NEED A PSYCHIATRIST.
    Not the best approach to complaining about such a diagnosis is it Doc? Starting your sentences with common letters and then going to capitals….
    ….maybe you need to calm down a bit…?? rotfl

10. No Bushie
    I cool man. Very cool . I like caps and red ink ! I diagnosed with drinking too much tea! LOL

11. Georgie Porgie”BTW as you know a higher authority dealing with “my beef.” I didnt have to do a thing.”

GP as man. you really believe a higher authority give somebody cancer to avenge a wrong done to you?

The God I believe in does not inflict pain and suffering on anybody.

12. David
    I have been searching for archives on BU. Do you have the posts that go back to David Estwick and the gun issue?
    I wanted to show the hypocrisy of some people on this blog calling for Dr.Estwick head then and now giving him all the support he needs to destabilize the party.
    These young MPS would have to be full idiots to let a Sandi happened again.
    I read the article in the newspaper and was very confused. I think his Dean spoke to the crux of the matter.
    The PM knows the persons who he worked with for years. In his judgment he put some person in finance who will still discuss with him what is going to be done. He does not need any arguments at this time in which Dr.Estwick.
    Chris Sinckler is a bright young man who has been exposed to international business working and has gained a lot of experience just check his bibliography here. http://www.gisbarbados.gov.bb/index.php?categoryid=41

13. GP wrote “Have you lost it J? Do you need a psychiatrist? ”

Last week when my psychiatrist checked she tell me my head good, good and she asked me to come back next week so she can check again.

14. @GP

You are always scoffing about lack of free speech on BU but don’t you mean when the herd disagrees with you? If there was a problem with free speech on BU your comments would not be making the light of day would they?

BU stated why we disagreed with the academic and you are entitled to the same, instead you engage in an emotional rant. Frankly GP your position on this matter conflicts with your standing as a Christian. Don’t people who believe in the bible want to believe in miracles? Is it that you feel miracles can’t happen in this case if it were God’s grace?

This is our final word on this because we know you like to be the centre piece of these arguments – lol.

15. @David | October 5, 2010 at 8:28 PM |
    @J

“How do you know the PM has not made the correct decision from where he sits?

That’s all that really matters anyway.”

Sadly, David, you have put the wrong question. Barbadians are behavivg as if the position of Prime Minister is the personal property of DJHT, and have ignored what the constitution says about that office. The elected members of the House of Assembly who support the Government are behaving, also, like old-style Soviet oligarchs.

The way out of the current impasse is clear, but there must be the will to take the road less travelled, for the good of this benighted Island and its inhabitants. That is at the heart of this soggy platitude!

16. Forget all the ‘tawk’ (with apologies to Bonny Peppa)
    Forget the verbal GYMNASTICS.
    THIS DLP GOVERNMENT IS DOOMED !
    ONE TERM !
    ONE TERM !
    ONE TERM!
    LIKE IT OR NOT
    LETS CUT TO THE CHASE
    This DLP government does not know what it is doing.
    It is confused , severly challenged and leading Barbados nowhere fast -yet some people say that they are doing a good job——-a good job of of what ? devaluing Barbados ?
    It seems that as former slaves we like punishment and that we gravitate to those who treat us badly-some of us at least.

Question: Is Barbados better off now than it was pre election 2008 ???

17. Georgie Porgie
    HAVE YOU EVER KNOWINGLY DONE AN INJUSTICE TO YOUR FELLOWMAN.

J
    Cuhdear. I pity the fool.

KISSMYA
    I answer your question a’reddy pun anudda blog but the answer is still de same. Check n see.

Charlie
    Are you familiar with this phrase ‘convenient memory’? Well some of us suffer with that from time to time. Forgive us, for we know not what to remember.

Porgie got a serious complex but there’s none so blind as he who fails to see. I put a multi-million dolla question day fa he n he like he cannnnn ansa um. I gun put um in multi-choice nex time. Po’ soul.

18. @Ravin

The way out of the current impasse is clear, but there must be the will to take the road less travelled, for the good of this benighted Island and its inhabitants. That is at the heart of this soggy platitude!

Why not lay bare what you have to say?

19. It is clear that this type of Monarchical Prime Ministerial driven Cabinet system of Government in Barbados needs to be evolved to one that is a Republican Presidential driven Executive Coalitional Cabinet system of government.

As stated before by the PDC this type/mode of Cabinet system of government in this country has clearly outlived its usefulness. It is no longer suited to today’s so-called political development of Barbados.

In this vein, we will partially repeat what we had said in a previous BU blog (October2, 2010, 8:43 am):
    “There is a greater need to go on to a better, fairer more responsible system of Cabinet Government in this country; one where there will be a President of the Cabinet of a Republican system of government of Barbados – and that at the same time will see the President being the head of the Cabinet NOT THE QUEEN; one where the Cabinet will be made up of a COALITION OF PEOPLE – from parties, non-party political groups, and independents – that would have been elected by the majority of voters of this country; one where some of those elected – from those candidates vying for the independent and non-party political segments – will be elected into the Cabinet and then – ON AGREEMENT AMONG THEMSELVES – will be appointed to some positions, say, the Secretaries of the Division of Finance, the Division of Attorney General/Legal Affairs, etc, that would have been pre-assigned to them within the Cabinet from their independent, from non-party political segments, respectively; and one where once elected by the majority of voters in Barbados into the Cabinet, NO MEMBER OF THE Cabinet – including the President/Vice-President – will – outside of being recalled by the majority of voters – be liable to be dismissed from it, only to be appointed/disappointed/reassigned by the President/the Vice-President to portfolios/areas,
    outside of the portfolios/areas that would have been permanently set down for parties, non-party political groups, independents within the Cabinet.”

That Dr. Joseph has – in his newspaper article – failed to examine the decaying rotting structures ( and processes too ) of this present Barbados Cabinet system of government in the overall governmental national policy, planning and implementation processes of the country, but has instead himself preferred to focus on the Prime Minister’s Cabinet reshuffle and the personal/power motivations and effects of it, and on the lack of perceived articulation between “the repositioning of ministerial responsibility and the overcoming of the economic challenges facing the country”, is largely disappointing to the PDC, given that the reshuffle and its personal political effects have principally emerged from such old decaying structures ( and processes too) within the Cabinet.

That he has also – in this said article – failed to point to the fundamental political problem, as well as the negative that comes with it, of the Barbados Cabinet still being part of the Legislature of Barbados – in violation of the Seperation of Powers principle, but has instead himself preferred to relate the Cabinet shuffle as being moreso motivated by political motives than by the economic challenges that face the country, is also very embarrassing to the PDC, given that the question of the Cabinet/ the present Cabinet structure ( collective responsibility/unanimity ), via its long being a substantial part of the legislature, has been a massive hindrance to the further political, material and financial progress of this country.

Cabinet alone initiates 99.9999% of the legislation that is enacted in this country, and determines ( sometimes blocks) what laws will be changed, modified, repealed, passed, etc., effectively.

Also, the lack of progress of the country becomes more aggravated when a similar greater controlling authoritarian practice can/is related to governmental programs and projects. Many many private sector civil society projects and programs are also stalled or hindered because of many of the stalling obstructing effects of the Cabinet. Just look how long it took for No-smoking in certain public places to come into effect. What about the proclaiming of the Health and Safety at Work laws??

While it is true that very very few major Cabinet decisions are taken quickly and then implemented quickly, it would have been better if Dr. Joseph had looked at the question of the great inability and incapacity of the Cabinet/the present Cabinet structure to properly staddle – at the same time – as time goes by – the notions of being effective, efficient, progressive, liberating, stabilizing, balancing, protective, constructive, etc., all of which are/must consistently prevail – at the same time – as time goes by – at all major levels of society in order for it ( society) to function properly.

Also, much of the present Cabinet ethos is outdated and undesirable in this day and age. The fact is that with information and communication technologies playing a greater role in the creation and implementation of so many governmental decisions and plans, the present Cabinet system of Government, which also largely deals with files, papers, minutes, colonial procedures, secrecies, – must become more adapted to these and some other modern conditions, demands and developments. Its meetings must become more automated and technologized in very secured safe appropriate ways, and be made more and fairly accessible to the populace.

Also, most Cabinet meetings should have by now been telecast on CBC TV and streamed on the internet, with most proceedings thereof being carried live, as part of the enhancement and improvement of the transparency and accountability process in the political management of the public affairs of Barbados.

20. @PDC

Also, most Cabinet meetings should have by now been telecast on CBC TV and streamed on the internet, with most proceedings thereof being carried live, as part of the enhancement and improvement of the transparency and accountability process in the political management of the public affairs of Barbados.

You are aware some matters which are discussed by Cabinet, its relevance not withstanding, will have national security implications or may otherwise be of a sensitive nature?

21. I wonder if this Joseph fellow wrote his article with Westminster in the back of his mind. I don’t think so. A system that at its core is most concern with concentration of power is used by its practitioners for the good of the country and not themselves? Of course the move is political, it has to be.

Westminister has never rewarded the most gifted parliamentarian with the job of Prime Minister, it has always been given to and kept for long periods by the most charismatic/ruthless of the group.

Thompson’s move was predictable. It was predictable if one focuses on his health situation, his Ministerial responsibilities and focus on Estwick’s performance during the estimates debate. In addition to this I believe that the minister of finance has always been the PM or located in the office of the PM in Barbados version of Westminster, and that it might be a requirement that this be so.

Estwick’s enthusiasm for economics unfortunately has not yet transcended to the level that other parliamentarians would take him seriously. Dale Marshall and Owen Arthur took him to school in that debate. I actually felt embarrass for him.

Whether we like it or not charisma, is about 60% if not more of a likely Prime Minister’s requirement. He or she must satisfy a majority of their parliamentary colleagues and the party rank and file that they can project all the things the party would want to market to the perceptions of voters, fickle as they maybe.

Estwick may be popular in his constituency but not in the rest of Barbados, and cannot be counted on to be that charismatic leader that takes a party into an election with heighten chances of success. Fruendel would be an excellent PM if we practice British style Westminster were the PM does not have a ministerial portfolio. Mascoll is good at economics and is suited to be a minister of finance under either party, but he too does not have the charismatic quotient to lead a party, nor the temperament to maintain his leadership given the precarious location of the PM’s position. To my mind Sinckler and I will speak more to this at a later date, is a good package of charisma, ruthlessness, and economic training and understanding to be an effective Minister of finance, potential leader of the party and Prime Minister.

22. David,

That is precisely why we said MOST meetings.

But, realize that while a lot of these meetings on national security defence issues ( both you and the PDC) do take place within the sanctum of the Cabinet, a lot more also take place at various places out side of it.

Take for instance, many meetings between the Minister of Finance and some others inclding the Director of Finance and Planning – who is not inthe Cabinet – on changes to this very evil TAXATION policy, that do not take place within the confines of the Cabinet.

But, the fact that there have been recent Budgetary Proposals in Barbados that have really been partially informed by inputs that have somewhat come through consultations with certain groups and organizations in the country – which was a practice that was not generally seen in this land, does indicate that many other traditional practices of the Cabinet can and must go in a modernizing Barbados.

23. @PDC

Don’t disagree conceptually with what you are proposing but the practicality of it as Adrian has alluded is the Westminster based politics we currently practice. Civil Servants are stricken by the obligation to acknowledge the Secrecy Act of Barbados in their interactions with the public. No doubt in any consultative process civil servants may be hamstrung in their inputs if the process were made public.

@Adrian

You should add that there was a period in the PM’s absence before the reshuffle when Estwick had the opportunity to shine, also when Darcy Boyce was selected to handle the press conference the writing would have been on the wall for all who wanted to see.

24. David,

The Official Secrets Act is largely a vicious fascist controlling device, as you may well know.

Under a future PDC Government it will be repealed, and a modern day National Security Act put in place.

While any government would want to preserve unity of authority discipline within its provinces, this type of pervasive secrecy culture is in total contraposition with the business of the implementation of the best and most effecient practices and precepts for a 21 st Century Governance in Barbados.

There are also many of the general orders that are not conducive to such.

Under a future PDC Government the entire general orders ( Civil Establishment Act too)will go as we will be seeking to create a state partnership business social culture in this country.

Cabinet ministers – most of whom are parliamentarians – and the civil service cannot reasonably expect to so-called represent and/or serve the people and their fundamental interests, and have this backward fascist grotesque pieces of legislation ( regulations and orders) still on the statute books of this country.

25. Hants | October 5, 2010 at 11:14 PM |
    Georgie Porgie”BTW as you know a higher authority dealing with “my beef.” I didnt have to do a thing.”
    GP as man. you really believe a higher authority give somebody cancer to avenge a wrong done to you?
    The God I believe in does not inflict pain and suffering on anybody.
    ==================
    I believe that God judges the sins of men. I have already given you numerous examples from his Word, as this concept is well documented throughout its pages. I believe that the God I believe is avenging the many who had their toes mashed by this evil man. I believe that the God I believe in is avenging the many who have been badly treated by this man whom you idolize. And you can disagree with me but you can not refute my belief. There is much precedent in history and in God’s Word. History often repeats itself

J | October 5, 2010 at 11:58 PM |
    ReGP wrote “Have you lost it J? Do you need a psychiatrist?

I am quite sure that you have not lost anything and that you don’t need a psychiatrist. I was being sarcastic. I agreed with your post 100%. I made a comment and got the effect I expected . I aimed to show that the so called “free speech” on BU is not really free. Some folk can post what they like (often a load of irrelevant junk ) and there is never a response. Even cursing and swearing is acceptable. But when some others post the herd comes out in force talking bovine excrement.

It amazes me that some illiterates on BU do not understand the various uses of the word FREE!

David | October 6, 2010 at 12:51 AM |
    I am always scoffing about lack of free speech on BU because there is really NO free speech on BU. And I don’t mean when the herd disagrees with me Sir. In my areas of expertise it is clear that the herd does not have a clue when they disagree with me. You have no idea how amusing it is.

Re If there was a problem with free speech on BU your comments would not be making the light of day would they?

I don’t know. I know that BU is not BMJ or the Lancet or NEJM or any reputable publication. So if my comments don’t make the light of day, I will lose absolutely nothing. I know too that anyone can post anything on BU; it could be nonsense, untruths cursings blasphemy illogical incoherent ANYTHING and it goes unchallenged and acceptable!

When I post it must be challenged by a set of illiterates who contradict themselves and make a fool of themselves in the attempt to denigrate me . No one says a word – that includes YOU .

Re BU stated why we disagreed with the academic and you are entitled to the same, instead you engage in an emotional rant.

You have just exemplified my position. I sarcastically agreed with J. Why are my posts considered an “emotional rant”? Is not your response an emotional rant. Are not other responses an emotional rant too? I said what I said deliberately……and got the expected response. You have proven my point. FREE SPEACH ON BU IS A MYTH ! It is not free for some

Re Frankly GP your position on this matter conflicts with your standing as a Christian. Don’t people who believe in the bible want to believe in miracles? Is it that you feel miracles can’t happen in this case if it were God’s grace?

Frankly your understanding of what a Christian is and God’s grace is totally lacking

It is quite apparent to me that you have not read or studied the Bible very much.
    People who believe in the Bible SEEK TO DISCERN AND ACCEPT GOD’s WILL!

Read about King David (the real one) and all the problems in his household, read about Moses who didn’t get to go into the promised land. Read about Samuel when he stood alone, read about Daniel and the prophets and Paul. They accepted God’s will. Those are my examples Not the morons and Biblical illiterates on BU.

If God choses to do a miracle so be it, IF HE CHOSES TO JUDGE SO BE IT TOO. IF GOD JUDGES WHAT MUST I DO? Fly in his face?

Check Joshua 7 Davie ma boy. There is sin in the camp and God has judged.

The man on his death bed and he still holding on to power as if it is something that must be grasped, at all costs and seeking to determine and control to whom power should be givenn next ….just as happened in 1987! IT IS GOD THAT RAISES UP MEN AND TAKE THEM DOWN………JUST AS HE IS DOING HERE. And that is sound truth that can not be disputed.
    I don’t ask God for miracles I ask him to MAKE ME THANKFUL TO ACCEPT HIS WILL FOR MY LIFE.

26. Thanks Doc GP, continue to do what you do best!

27. cocoa chocolate Avatar

God help the DLP if Thompson dies. the few i see as leaders are Sinckler, R Sealy, S. Lashley and Darcy Boyce NO ONE ELSE

28. @ GP….

What is your definition of free speech?

This is mine……
    Freedom of speech
    From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Freedom of speech is the freedom to speak freely without censorship or limitation, or both. The synonymous term freedom of expression is sometimes used to indicate not only freedom of verbal speech but any act of seeking, receiving and imparting information or ideas, regardless of the medium used.

Isnt this what all of us are allowed to do on BU?
    What about all the PPT submissions and Religious essays you post?
    I have to disagree with you here, if you have a problem with scoffing at you, say so but to continue with this claim that there is no free speech on BU is wrong.
    To further contradict your argument, you say there is cursing and blasphemy. Isn’t that also free speech?
    Now if your comments were not being posted, that would be a clear example but they are regardless, just like all the other ‘illiterates’ who post. Isn’t that free speech?
    You also say that BU is not reputable……then by collective (love this word) inclusion, what does that make your medical PPTs and Biblical contributions that you post look like to say…the average outsider?
    I am lost……you use BU (not reputable) as a medium to get your messages across.
    Why?

29. The man on his death bed and he still holding on to power as if it is something that must be grasped, at all costs and seeking to determine and control to whom power should be givenn next

GP what would you do if it were you?

I stuck to things that Estwick cannot place blame to anyone for. He got mash up in the estimates debate twice, in fact Mia Mottley got in on the do as well.

30. I must register this comment here and now. I remember being in Barbados at a time when the West Indies team was on their way to England for a test series, with Malcolm Marshall as its manager. It was to be Malcolm’s last tour, as he took sick, collapsing and spending some time in a British hospital where he was diagnose with inoperable stomach cancer. He soon returned home to die. He made one public comment about his ailment that stuck with me. He said; to always get a second opinion. Malcolm had suffered with stomach ailment for many years.

Here it is that the PM was seen by a Doctor for over 20 yrs and had exhibit symptoms though not specific to what now ails him, nevertheless did not respond to medication given for what was thought to ail him then. Not blaming anyone, just want to reaffirm Malcolm Marshall’s advice to us all.

31. GP
    I want to posit that you are illiterate also. You may be a doctor but you are illiterate by the way you write and interpret what is being posted on the blog.
    You are looking for people to emphasize with you. When you wrote your medical advice and people were bigging you up they were not illiterate. Now they are telling you that bajans are not like you, callous and uncaring, you are calling them illiterate.
    You are like those sadistic priests who preach from the pulpit on Sunday mornings and entered little boys on Sunday evenings.

32. But Charlie it can only be your fault for taking other than medical advice from GP. Even then you should heed Malcolm Marshall’s advice and get a second opinion. Lol!

A man can both be a Doctor and exhibit childish behavior also, and if this behavior is an unintended manifestation resulting from efforts to maintain his curiosity, so be it.

33. Charlie

BU folk cant big me up…you dont know me. Nor can nyou pull me down.

Nor am I callous uncaring or childish. I just making some mock sport in between my work sessions.

Adrian
    Marshall had colon cancer not stomach cancer But getting a second opinion cant hurt. I read several Biochem texts or Bible commentaries on any topic so I tend to speak with authority in my subject areas.

And I would give up the power man After all dont we believe these words ?

The Lord has been the people’s guide for past 300 years. With Him still on the people’s side, we have no doubts or fears. Upward and onward we shall go, inspired, exulting, free. And greater will our nation grow in strength and unity.

34. Charlie
    I doan kno bout you but I see GP as an egotistic piece-a-shoite. I ask he a simple question an he won’t ansa it because he done kno dat he would be puttin he foot in he mout. So ig’rant.
    And he is feel real proud calling people illiterate, jackass and all de derogatory names and he fail to understand dat we are trying to tell him dat as a man of de ‘cloth’, which he professes, is very unbecoming. Everybody by now kno wah ta expect from Bonny Peppa. Fiah. Dat is my reputation pun BU because of my ‘tongue’. But crois man, he claims to be holier than de Pope and always carrying on like a cent-hore. stupseeeee.

35. Porgie
    you are callous, uncaring n childish to mention a few. who fooled you otherwise?
    The words that cometh from thy mouth defiles thou, GP, so please stop shadow-boxing.
    We in as bright/smart (ya too love a compliment) as you but pleaseeeeeeeeeee, we in as foolish as you tink neitha. Pleaseee.

36. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

A bit off topic, but I feel like placing it here!

The following is part of an extract I happened to have kept in my files. I took it from the other Blog site; it was written by a Mr. Reuden Eversley, and I am wondering if this is the same Reuden Eversley, the Planted Political Poultry(PPP) at CBC DLP TV, where he takes strict directions from the other PPP Buffoon sitting higher up “at the hellum”.

I would like Reuden to read this again, and answer the following questions:

(1) Are you God that you can accurately declare somebody’s season has come to an end, and to boot, boast that you are particularly delighted about the role you played in bringing about that end?

(2) Whose season really looks more likely to come to an end, and tell me the name of the destructive operative whose season at CBC DLP TV MUST definitely come to an end after this Government serves one term?

(3) Who more resemble “naked men, stripped down to the skin, of all of the arrogance and all of the hubris that the people of Barbados had to endure particularly over the last THREE years approximately”?

(4) Should the people of Barbados learn a lesson from all of this, that when exercising their constitutional right to vote, be particularly careful about changing a good thing without good reason, and be wary about being influenced by some real serious LIES?

(5) With whom is the day really catching up?

Peace be unto you Reuden.

Reudon Eversley
    July 30, 2008 at 12:14 pm
    In response to “Tell Me Why”, let me it clear to you that I have NO INTEREST in any position at CBC, be it General Manager, News Director or Whatever. I keep hearing this rumour but I wish to make it clear that I have been there and done that already. It is of ABSOLUTELY NO INTEREST TO ME at this stage of my life.

I already have a job — it was not provided by the new Government of Barbados — and I am very comfortable and happy and enjoy the opportunities which this job has provided. I am blessed. Whenever doors were shut in my face, others opened up with better opportunities.

FINALLY, FYI, I HAVE RETIRED FROM JOURNALISM. Writing the column for the Nation is just a weekly pastime. Having served as Director of News and Current Affairs at CANA and subsequently as Editor of the Advocate, I reached the peak of the profession. So I have moved on, made room for others, and am very happy with my post-journalistic life.

And I am particularly delighted that Owen Arthur’s season has come to an end and that I played an active part in bringing this about and that he, today, as Freundel Stuart so aptly described him in the House of Assembly during the recent Budget debate, is “a naked man, stripped down to the skin, of all of the arrogance and all of the hubris that the people of Barbados had to endure particularly over the last ten years”.

Let it serve as a lesson to others. Night always runs until day catches. Peace be unto you. Nuff said.

37. @GP, “I believe that the God I believe in is avenging the many who have been badly treated by this man whom you idolize.”

Dr. Georgie Porgie. Hants does not idolize one rash bowl body on dis facting planet.Period.
    I do not know the PM. Never even seen him in person.

I just do not understand how you can profess to be a true christian and spit so much vitriol at people who oppose your views.

I am a complete moron GP because I stupidly believe that the words kindness,forgiveness,empathy, caring ,understand are the fundamental principles that true christians live by.

Hants is not a true christian and I still don’t hold any evil intentions to the likes of Owen Arthur even though I have been told that he has cost me a whole lot. I have put aside my rage and will use the “humanity God gave me to control said rage.

I might be a moron GP but I still have enough good Bajan sense and some TV psychology to know that you truly believe that God will forgive all your sins whether in thought,word and deed….just like me ex girlfriend.
    De two uh wunna wudda mek a good pair.

I hope I will be forgiven ef uh mash yuh corns. pray fuh muh GP.

38. Hants
    At anotha time, I will give you a lesson in real bajan cursing cause I doan kno wah is rash bowl or facting. Stop mekking up words man. David is leh we use de rale whuns sumtimes once we doan ova do. Doan mind I does ova do sumtimes but he kno dat I ol n slo so he is gimme a brake.
    Ya too swoite doe.

But seriously, you will get nowhere with GP. His ego is way too huge.

39. Hant, GP is no more christian than you or anybody else. In fact I think that most would agree with your take on christian teachings. Don’t you worry we will all meet him hell. There is a need there for someone who has all the stories about the place. lol!

40. Hants
    I am glad that you do not idolize any one.
    Last night for bare sport I replied to a post J made with sarcasm. I told her that she cant make remarks against the PM. Since there is no real feee speech on BU, the blog leader and you thought that I had to be censored.
    I want you to show me the vitriol that I have spewed at any one. What about all the ad hominems that come my way. Are these not vitriol too. You guys are proving my point. And I find it so amusing.

You do not know if I forgive or if I am kind or caring or emphathetic. And If I don’t idolize the PM or give two hoots about the PM that does not make me a criminal . At no point have I expressed hatred or anything against the people’s idol.

I do not hold any evil intentions or hate against any one, but I have expressed my belief that God is judging the man. I have listed several men and leaders that God has lifted up and taken down according to the Bible. My opinion might not coincide with yours, but under “free speech” I am entitled to have, and express an opinion with out this unnecessary censorship. The hate and vitriol that the so called BU family has expressed towards me will not change my mind.

When Thompson dies he will be planted like de rest of we even if with more pomp and circumstance. That can not be refuted. It is my opinion I stand by it.
    I BELIEVE God put he up and now he teking he down. He not the first and he wont be the last. That is my opinion, and under so called free speech I have the right to my opinion and to express it. And I say this with no rage and rancour and with no ad hominems to you or anyone. So cuss me some more LOL

I HAVE NEVER SAID I WAS HOLY OR ANYTHING I HAVE COME HERE AND SHARED MY KNOWLEDGE OF THE Bible

So are you saying that if I was not a believer I would be entitled to say what I like?.

You folk don’t have any logic or coherency at all.
    You all have wunnah opinions. Wunnah state wunnah opinions and wunnah defend wunnah opinions. So I aint nobody too? LOL Well I will state and defend my opinions. LOL

None a wunnuh wont be my judge at the bema.

So you all continue to do what you all do and let me have my fun in peace “under the free speech on BU.

Bring on the adhominems because you cant defeat my logic or the truths I have stated..

41. Let us stay focussed on the important issues people. We have had this conversation before and it is not going anywhere.

42. Adrian Hinds
    Ahemmmmmmmm (clearin de troat) I beg to differ. Bonny will be in Heaven. Sorry.
    Mawning hunny.

43. You all ascribe too much importance to GP
    He obviously strives on attention and responses to his comments.

GP, stop talking about God; it devalues Kingdom matters and turns it into a joke.

44. David wrote, “Let us stay focused on the important issues people.”
    I will take that as a warning.

45. Robert
    Ah cryinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn. Dere’s a lotta trute ta wat u say.I luv dis part ‘specially:
    “GP, stop talking about God, it DEVALUES Kingdom matters.”
    I luv ummmmmmmm.

Hants
    But David kno dat we like ta sway evry now n den too. He doan mind. Doan mind he. LOLLL . Ya does get all de jokes when ya sway.