It is difficult to feel cheerful in the Yuletide season when so many things in Barbados seem to be deteriorating. It is difficult to feel confident if a minister of cabinet publicly expresses his lack of confidence in how the Cabinet is managing “process and procedure’’. He is on the inside isn’t he? It is ridiculous a cabinet minister who should be guided by the code of collective responsibility of cabinet feels compelled to come public with his concerns and remain a part of Cabinet. All it does is to undermine the confidence of fatigued Barbadians to engage as citizens. It is laughable minister Donville Inniss instead of responding to Estwick’s concerns prefers to engage in the same palavering he recently criticised to explained the decision by government to issue a ministerial statement a few days before Christmas. It is the height of ignorance Prime Minister Freundel Stuart appears to be married to a policy of non intervention when it comes to managing a large and dysfunctional Cabinet.
The news in the last 24 hours that Standard & Poor’s has lowered its long-term sovereign credit ratings on Barbados to ‘B’ from ‘BB-’ explains the government’s rush to deliver a Ministerial Statement devoid of discrete actions to be taken to infuse confidence in civil society players and other external parties. It is so obvious that it is not funny any longer. Barbados has become the laughing stock around the region made so by the unwillingness of private sector entities to speak out about the lack of credibility of the government. We have two recent examples – Minister of Education Ronald Jones, supported by Parliamentary Secretary Harry Husbands promising (committed to) 3,000 UWI, Cave Hill bursaries six months ago and not feeling obligated – in our system of democracy – to update Barbadians on the matter. According to a recent press report when asked about it he said he had nothing to say.
The other laughable issue is CLICO Judicial Manager (JM) Patrick Toppin disclosing this week that there was no choice but to liquidate the Clico Life Insurance (CIL) by way of liquidation in the absence of funding for the implementation in Barbados of the first phase of a regional restructuring plan for CIL. Toppin’s announcement drew a response from government that he (Toppin) should be aware government cannot transfer resources from the Consolidated Fund but instead it must be done through a ‘’new company’’. Coincidently the “new company” headed by retired banker Clennell Goodman recently met with the minister of finance. The big question – why is the government and the Judicial Manager not on the same page? It is a laughable scene playing out where government and the JM would be so far apart on an issue affecting the lifes of thousands of Barbadians some who have died since the fiasco started. How can such a state of affairs breed confidence in a beleaguered people?
BU has stated countless times government’s policy must be implemented in a climate where civil society is optimistic and hopeful there is a high possibility of achievement. With the best will in the world the government with its inclination to engage in superfluous promises of fixing the judiciary, restarting Paradise Beach (Four Seasons), enacting transparency and new domestic legislation, restoring Empire Building, honouring the court order for the Barrack payment, operationalizing the creative industries bill, passing on market price of fuel to Barbadians consumers….
What should be obvious by now – even to the Prime Minister – is that he must do something. We can’t take anymore of the ineptness of the government. Promise us Mr. Prime Minister that in the same way you were prodded to awaken from your slumber during the build up to the last general election NOW is a good time to deliver a repeat performance.
Please tell Minister Donville Inniss to shut to hell up!
Again i repeat that the policies of the blp administration in times of plenty did not serve to protect the countries best interest but in the long term has proven to be a hangman’s noose around the baseline of the barbados economy waiting to be pulled.
for the past six years the policies of the present gov was one of trying to wrestle with debt ,the high public service bill, the outstanding loans on books brought about by past govt to private investors, vats payments not received or long over due in the private sectors,
All can deny the reasons and causes but the truth being that country foundation was ablaze by financial impediments unsecured and restricted to further borrowing in effort to stabilize,
Easy way to identify a fool….
Someone who thinks that access to more money is the solution to the problem of spending all their money foolishly……
Easy way to identify a Brass Bowl Female Rabbit…
Someone who thinks that access to more BORROWED money is the solution to the problem of spending money foolishly……
Easy way to identify a Brass Bowl Idiot
Someone who thinks that access to more BORROWED money is the solution to the problem of Brass Bowl Female Rabbits spending all OUR money foolishly……
Shiite man…..
if only Owen had told Mariano B where to put that CLICO cheque…..
@Bush Tea
How do you mean where to put it? Did he not put it in his account?
@ Bush Man
During my stay-away, I have calculated that you are indebted to me to the tune of $28,775.35 in royalities for the use of “Brassbowl”{my word,(orig.author)}…I have registered with the relevent authorities….a default suit pending 2015…U have been given due warning….LOL
…yea but he SHOULD have told him to put it where there is no sunshine…..
@ Onions
…any options for Bushie to just apologize for the plagiarism and lets just move on…. cause letmuhtellya ….both of we will be LONG gone before some judge rule on that case in we High Court….
…or yuh could meet the Bushman in Paynes Bay market at dawn on New Year’s and let us see if the bill fish beak could tek the whacker…. 🙂
what is a affecting Barbadian is a poor government, a poor leader and a set of poor policies which have been poorly executed. WE ARE POOR IN EVERY SENSE OF THE WORD.
SOMEONE NEED TO CONFIRM THE RUMOUR THAT DR ESTWICK IS LEAVING THE DLP IN JANUARY TO JOIN THE BLP. CONSTITUTIONALLY WHAT DOES THIS MEAN FOR BARBADOS?
Truthfully the best Xmas present as yet given to govt was stated by OSA in his statement with profound clarity and absent of political propaganda. “there are no quick fixes” such a message encrypted and told by him can direct and helped to change public,s perception .
What is even more astounding in his statement is the reality that OSA had finally comes to terms with removing himself from the rhetoric of doom and gloom and emphasied with a rhythmic beat worthy of chastisement calling on the private sector to be more engaging in helping to restore and heal barbados economy through investment.
Today i had to pinch myself and actually thought out aloud if OSA legacy might be written as to time present as he struggles and confronts to correct mistakes done in the past in his words. i guess time will tell.
@ Bushie
Apologise what?…..this means an all out war bredds….ya money o ya life..LOL
If a cheque is made payable to OSA,pray tell upon whose account would it be properly deposited,even if intended for a third party.
I am reminded that the dead king did similarly treat the few mill intended for the leper hospital
Horst
Right on the money.Poor rakey down on heel starve out hoes think a big cabinet is the answer to our woes.
The latest is that Estwick and Paul looking to walk in 2015.Paul said even OSA on the front bench and he still on the back bench.
@ Gabriel
If a cheque is made payable to OSA,pray tell upon whose account would it be properly deposited
Boss man…. don’t come with that shoiite yuh!!!
Common sense would tell even a foolish little girl like AC that ANYTIME someone writes you a check when they don’t OWE you, it is because they want to OWN you.
Shiite man!!
YOU AIN’T THINK OWEN KNEW THAT?
….and if he didn’t PLEASE don’t say – that would hurt Bushie’s heart.
In MOST OTHER WAYS Owen was the boss….
Just Like Sir Cave….. until tempted with a couple dollars…
At least Caswell would take the money, Bank um, and then PUBLICLY castigate the bribers for thinking that they could influence his actions…. LOL
Bushie would have sent it back, told them to stuff it, and lobbied the DPP to prosecute them for attempted bribery…..
….. and that is now, far less if Bushie was the PM….
@Gabriel
Arthur had a couple options: 1. return the cheque and have the bank reissue and 2. endorse the cheque to the BLP Campaign Fund by writing on the back, please pay to ….
Endorse this. lol
Sinckler, Maloney, Arthur & Bjerkhamn are the architects behind the two billion dollar british fairy god fathers of recent fame in Barbados. They want the money for the projects, the pierhead marina, the cruise pier, the waste to energy plant and andrews sugar factory. OSA the rascal in the paper saying to reject the offer unless its for projects, knowing full well that he is part of the band of vagabonds behind the DEAL.
@ Onions
.this means an all out war bredds…
++++++++++++
alright den!
Paynes Bay @ Dawn…. New Year’s day
…and yuh better sharpen that beak …cause the whacker wukkin…. 🙂
downgrade by moody’s in january fine cattspraddle this government, leaving them with very few options.
@ Norst
..make no bones about it …the dye dun cast.
@ Bushie
…you bringing a knife to a gun fight boy?…….this bill fish beak long SOoooo…doan mekk sport. LOL
@ Old Onions
Knife…???
Skippa, it is called a sword …and is a part of a special armor needed to stand against the Devil’s schemes, ….um should wuk against bill fish beaks…. 🙂
…in addition to the sword, Bushie will also come armed with a special belt , breastplate, shoes, shield and helmet…..
You would do well to go to church tomorrow and consult with your priest on Ephesians 6: 10 – 18 before turning up in Paynes Bay hear…?!!
….’fore yuh onions get stir fried…. LOL ha Ha ha
@ Bushie why have you and Onions chosen to meet in Paynes Bay? You live down dey?
@ Bushie
1 Samuel 17-41
Breast plate- Big sword stupesss?….Read here Goliath..LOL….Onions billfish beak wukkin… ya site! (MURDA)
41 Meanwhile, the Philistine, with his shield bearer in front of him, kept coming closer to David. 42 He looked David over and saw that he was little more than a boy, glowing with health and handsome, and he despised him. 43 He said to David, “Am I a dog, that you come at me with sticks?” And the Philistine cursed David by his gods. 44 “Come here,” he said, “and I’ll give your flesh to the birds and the wild animals!”
@ Hants
…the sea cat woman.. 🙂
winner takes her…
@ Hants
42 He looked David over and saw that he was little more than a boy, glowing with health and handsome [wid a hard middle foot], and he despised him.
So…who you think she want NOW?….D wumam fire he since Crop Ova..LOL
@ Onions
Why you and Bushie don’t behave wunnuh selves?
Wunnuh really think the sea cat woman want two old men…. one with a whacker that he probably can’t get up, and the other with a bill fish beak that’s about 4 inches long [they shrink with age].
Bushie, you better give Hants or me the sea cat woman address.
Merry Christmas Artax….
Paynes Bay like it gone to de dogs, time was when I used to visit mi familia in de area on a regular basis and enjoy de beach now de riff raff have moved in.
This piece is for de religious, moderately religious, de ones who only go to midnite mass at Xmas, de agnostics, de atheists and de devil worshippers. (Choose your category)
Sorry wrong clip
@ Sargeant
Paynes Bay like it gone to de dogs
Skippa, you just insult Adrian Hinds real bad yuh….if you know what is good fuh you …AND you want to have a happy new year …you betta apologize to all concerned… ..AH is no respecter of rank like Bushie yuh….
BTW if you see the Sea Cat woman you would not make that irresponsible above remark…..
…of course you COULD be referring to Onions….. LOL ha ha ha
@Bushie
How dare to allow these mere mortals to enter fray wid a clash of Titans ..the prize..a kindled offering of a neptune find? Next thing ya know……xxx xxx bucket brim gine be dey.
This Colderige n Parry boy just born malicious,as his genes are of the sheep cline. As we all know, they duz oft stray into area where there is no calling. As for Artex….I think is of the Waterford clan, Pray, beg him pardon as this is a genuine case of benevolence.. ole piss beginning to froth, Up n On laddie, up n on……LOL
Sargeant;
Both youtube songs were sublime Thanks!
But I preferred “Joshua fit the battle of Jericho”. The arrangement was superb and the execution flawless.
As absolutely ridiculous and somewhat late as it might seem, the rumoured changes in the cabinet might just give rather stave of the other imminent downgrade.
What external agencies as well as the private sector wish to see in a semblance of competence that the current configuration, particularly in the posts of Finance/Economic Affairs and Tourism, led by the psychotic liar Stinkliar and the Seer of Spirits Richard Sealy respectively, CANNOT INSPIRE.
How that is going to happen WITHOUT OFFENDING the egos of these two men boggles the mind BUT, while it is no quick fix, this would partially allay the rampant feelings that, given that we are saddled with the sleeping giant Fumble, at least the critical ministries would be managed by “more competent” persons.
Of course, given that we are dealing with men with dimunitive heights and expanded girths, one would expect the customary “if wunna mek we leggo we han’ and embarass we, we is gine to mash up de show”
Dompey a hearty and healthy festive season to YOU DOMPEY
@ac December 24, 2014 at 6:40 AM #
“Again i repeat that the policies of the blp administration in times of plenty did not serve to protect the countries best interest but in the long term has proven to be a hangman’s noose around the baseline of the barbados economy waiting to be pulled’…………………………………….
Chalk this post up to another one of the bs you spew on BU.
Can you ever be honest and stop being such a yard fowl? Even David Estwick , one of your own has clearly declared that ALL of the problems the economy is experiencing is as a result of the Stinkliar not knowing what he is doing.
Admit it, the dems knew how to plot and plan to win elections but NEVER had a clue how to govern. That my BU blogger, is the crux of all that ails our fair land!
Get real. Whatever OSA did, the actions of you dems over turned every thing and threw the economy into a tail spin from which it cannot recover!
The dems do not know how to manage an economy, plain and simple.
@ ac
“Again i repeat that the policies of the blp administration in times of plenty did not serve to protect the countries best interest but in the long term has proven to be a hangman’s noose around the baseline of the barbados economy waiting to be pulled’…………………………………….
Looka here johnnie #2…….the days under these jokers cannot MARK FAT…compared to those under OSA…..if this captain cannot drive, just call a spade a spade cuz in the end ..evabody knows this is . Message of hope and wrap arund D flag and all the rig-ma-roll aint cuttin it. Not one of these fat cats aint being axed..only half day maids, messengers and NCC workers who kept the mosquitoes at bay…..
Bloody piss poor I say again. THEY HAVE LOSS THEIR WAY .(period)..Q.E.D
Prodigal
You know I have your back for sure.I do not understand either,how Bajans can see every other country reducing the price of petrol at the pump reflective of the drastic reduction in the cost of a barrel of oil from $115.- to $55.- between June and November/December and this crooked government can only find it in their heart of hearts to reduce our price at the pump of 9% per litre.
Which JA in the cabinet can expect the people to accept that they are interested in the economy or the society.Everybody can see that by reducing the cost of purchase at the pump puts more money into the economy.I do not understand why the business sector do not stop the long talk and act.
We will see if there is any truth to the rumour now in the public domain.
@Gabriel,
When we look back on the other time the DLP help office under Sandi, there were some individuals who knew how to govern and that one could respect despite the errant Sandi…………..persons like Philip Greaves, Maurice King, Evelyn Greaves, the late Blackie…….but now we cannot name one of the current lot whose ministry is doing well.
And to think that not one of them would resign and save Barbados from the rest of the morons!
Baff. Merry Xmas to you. Where de hell you get that bloggers list from. David, keep up the good work since we will need you more than ever in 2015 when the political spin bowlers tries to deceive us from both ends. Earlier in the post, someone asked what ideas the opposition can give to uplift our economy. That person must realise it would be suicidal for any opposition to give an a-z financial ideas to a Government who will apply them and take full credit. Although I must say, that various intellectual people and businesses tried to embrace this government, but certain ministers refuse to listen and others refuse to wake up from a 5-year slumber. Looking at the precarious position Estwick find himself, it would make good sense for him to resign. His pension has been approved and he can start hitting out since he have nothing to loose. Regarding the bond issue by those British millionaires, I say firmly. Don’t tek a cent from them. With a 4 billion economy, and 2 individuals holding a quarter and dangerously, being the highest percentage owner, our name will be Stewarbados. Stewart and Stuart – somewhere these two names frightening me.
Wishing everyone in Bloggers country a Happy New Year.
Thank you Baffy and the best to your good self
I feel honoured to be mentioned . Bless up because wishing others good is a good thing-that leads to good-Karma
David December 27, 2014 at 6:33 PM #
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
good advice ..but empirical evedience has proven that the mind if left exposed can be altered ,manipulated and coerced Exhibit A religion.
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, 2. Strive to understand what is most likely to be true, not to believe what you wish to be true
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………. Truth even in its virgin form is not absolute, there are many formulas and versions of truth all steeply rooted in traditions and cultures ,making truth almost impossible to define or understand
3. The scientific method is the most reliable way of understanding the natural world.
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………. Not so., reason being that before there was a scientific method to understand mankind existed through the knoweldge of nature resources and heavily relied on superstition to dissect and create
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………. 4. Every person has the right to control of their body.
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………. Sorry BRo. Man kind has not reached that pinnacle to self control. it is obvious by the way mankind continues to self destruct.
5. God is not necessary to be a good person or to live a full and meaningful life.
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………. the jury is still out on that theory.However for many God plays an important part in their lives and arguably for some a deity which they cannot live
without, who are we to question.
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………. Yes and NO..life path are riddle with success and failures sometimes taking a chance can result in receiving one or the other,
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………. 7. Treat others as you would want them to treat you, and can reasonably expect them to want to be treated. Think about their perspective.
good thought.How many have tried and failed . the question being how do we treat our selves .
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….Fair and honest assessment, but how many are willing to put others ahead of themselves
There is no one right way to live.
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………. crazy but true,,except that there is only one life to choose from
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
Agree,
Christmas present to be ready in March.
http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2014/12/31/st-john-polyclinic-to-be-completed-by-march/
You posted last comment in the incorrect section, try Jokes Corner!
Has our Governor-General been politely snubbed? I wonder.
Boy Blue December 31, 2014 at 11:24 AM # Has our Governor-General been politely snubbed? I wonder.
Why you asked Blue Boy……cuz….his Christmas message???
Probably because our local Bajan Caucasian centenarian refused to sit while the GG was sitting?
On Thursday, 1 January 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:
David; Because, 1) arguably, he looks to be in perhaps better shape than the GG and 2) He went to visit the GG, the GG didn’t have to go to him. But none of these indicate a snub, per se.
@are-we-there-yet
It is probably more about whether Woody observed protocol. The GG probably gave his approval anyway which makes the observation moot.
A friend of mine ,a policeman, at the then Bridge Police Station, in the course of his duties, paid a visit to a nearby place of entertainment, whereupon he was met by a tethered snarling dog, and was warned , ” do not get too close, that dog hates black people.” Animals very often behave like their owners.
Woody is a red man in bajan parlance who proved to the GG that he is a licensed driver at 100 and furthermore’ I gine prove to you by driving down to Government House’ and which he did.I saw pix of him sitting and reading to Sir Elliot.The man looks a good 80,clearly fit as a fiddle and proud to show off his various ‘life at 100’ skills to Sir Elliot. I am sure the GG was impressed.At least we were spared the crap about eating nuff yam and potato and cassava and nuff coucou and saltfish and pigtail and all the foolishness that passes for advice to the young to eat and live to a ripe old age.
At least we were spared the crap about eating nuff yam and potato and cassava and nuff coucou and saltfish and pigtail and all the foolishness that passes for advice to the young to eat and live to a ripe old age.
…………………………………………………..
Why am I not surprised?
“Prime Minister Stuart… all we want for Christmas is for the giant to be aroused from his slumber”
And he has!
I was surprised with our Prime Minister forceful rebuttal of Sir Hilary and the uncharacteristic language that he engaged to undermine the ex-chancellor of the UWI. I would call his words a public slap down.
Here are those words as quoted in Barbados Today:
“We have a principal of a university descending from Mount Olympus, as he sees it, and deciding that he presides over an institution of learning that is not just an institution of learning but that is an alternative government.”
Our esteemed Prime Minister went even further in his chastisement of Sir Hilary: “If you want to be a politician, leave the security of your prepared position, come down and join the fray and be prepared to be dealt with politically.”
“OUCH!”
http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/04/22/shall-we-punish-our-mr-stuart-with-laughter/