It is difficult to feel cheerful in the Yuletide season when so many things in Barbados seem to be deteriorating. It is difficult to feel confident if a minister of cabinet publicly expresses his lack of confidence in how the Cabinet is managing “process and procedure’’. He is on the inside isn’t he? It is ridiculous a cabinet minister who should be guided by the code of collective responsibility of cabinet feels compelled to come public with his concerns and remain a part of Cabinet. All it does is to undermine the confidence of fatigued Barbadians to engage as citizens. It is laughable minister Donville Inniss instead of responding to Estwick’s concerns prefers to engage in the same palavering he recently criticised to explained the decision by government to issue a ministerial statement a few days before Christmas. It is the height of ignorance Prime Minister Freundel Stuart appears to be married to a policy of non intervention when it comes to managing a large and dysfunctional Cabinet.

The news in the last 24 hours that Standard & Poor’s has lowered its long-term sovereign credit ratings on Barbados to ‘B’ from ‘BB-’ explains the government’s rush to deliver a Ministerial Statement devoid of discrete actions to be taken to infuse confidence in civil society players and other external parties. It is so obvious that it is not funny any longer. Barbados has become the laughing stock around the region made so by the unwillingness of private sector entities to speak out about the lack of credibility of the government. We have two recent examples – Minister of Education Ronald Jones, supported by Parliamentary Secretary Harry Husbands promising (committed to) 3,000 UWI, Cave Hill bursaries six months ago and not feeling obligated – in our system of democracy – to update Barbadians on the matter. According to a recent press report when asked about it he said he had nothing to say.

The other laughable issue is CLICO Judicial Manager (JM) Patrick Toppin disclosing this week that there was no choice but to liquidate the Clico Life Insurance (CIL) by way of liquidation in the absence of funding for the implementation in Barbados of the first phase of a regional restructuring plan for CIL. Toppin’s announcement drew a response from government that he (Toppin) should be aware government cannot transfer resources from the Consolidated Fund but instead it must be done through a ‘’new company’’. Coincidently the “new company” headed by retired banker Clennell Goodman recently met with the minister of finance. The big question – why is the government and the Judicial Manager not on the same page? It is a laughable scene playing out where government and the JM would be so far apart on an issue affecting the lifes of thousands of Barbadians some who have died since the fiasco started. How can such a state of affairs breed confidence in a beleaguered people?

BU has stated countless times government’s policy must be implemented in a climate where civil society is optimistic and hopeful there is a high possibility of achievement. With the best will in the world the government with its inclination to engage in superfluous promises of fixing the judiciary, restarting Paradise Beach (Four Seasons), enacting transparency and new domestic legislation, restoring Empire Building, honouring the court order for the Barrack payment, operationalizing the creative industries bill, passing on market price of fuel to Barbadians consumers….

What should be obvious by now – even to the Prime Minister – is that he must do something. We can’t take anymore of the ineptness of the government. Promise us Mr. Prime Minister that in the same way you were prodded to awaken from your slumber during the build up to the last general election NOW is a good time to deliver a repeat performance.

Please tell Minister Donville Inniss to shut to hell up!

165 responses to “Prime Minister Stuart… all we want for Christmas is for the giant to be aroused from his slumber”

1. […] Prime Minister Stuart… all we want for Christmas is for the giant to be aroused from his slumber […]

2. What giant? Maybe the collective will of the Bajan people. But that too is highly unlikely. It is a mistake to expect anything more from this lot. A mistake to surmise they have a smidget of a clue about the fundamental issues. This Yuletide season merely serve as a distraction for them to hide under.

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Entwining is just simply playing the donkey. He is making a lot of noise but he is holding on and the PM, by ignoring him, is allowing our system of government to deteriorate to the status of banana republic.

I predict, if left to himself, Estwick will resign on the twelfth anniversary of his election to parliament. That is when he would qualify for a full pension of two-thirds of his salary. He was elected for the first time in 2003.

4. Careful what what you wish for – you may get it!

5. are-we-there-yet Avatar

what sleeping giant what? More like a lethargic lilliputian who is incapable of performing a normal leadership role.

Nearly five years of avoiding making sensible decisions that even ding ding would take rubbishes the main tenet of this article

6. Cheez man are-we-there-yet
    You can’t tek a joke….?

7. @Pacha

The reference to sleeping giant must be taken in the context of what he was able to do during the election to arouse and garner support. It should not be confused with being able to lead change.

8. Even though the standard of living for the average Barbadian continues to sink faster than the anchor of an old fishing boat off the coast of St James, there is still confidence in the prediction of this Prime Minister that this will go down as the best administration in our history. That must be the reason why Barbadians have not yet resolved to end the torturous reign of the Stewart Administration. So that those paid to troll social media don’t seek to make an Omar Watson of this writer, let me clarify. This torturous reign needs to be ended peacefully.LONG LIVE SOCIAL MEDIA !

9. Seems to me that Estwick and Stuart are more cleven then SInckler. What is a placing out in the cabinet politics of the Stuart administration is like a play or something of one of the great courts of europe.

10. @Norst the Invader

Are you serious? At the public’s expense?

11. david, this is the beginning of the end of reign of Sinckler. Estwick and Stuart left him to wither on the vine and he is well truly ‘dead’ politically. He has been begging the PM to relieve him of that portfolio but not before ‘heads will roll’ is complete.

12. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

Stay focus on the root cause of Barbados mess , Its Massive land Fraud, Until these crooks address the Fraud on the land for the Pimp title holders, Upon the people for the profits for the crooks , By the Ministers of Both the BLP/DLP , For the investigation by the Police .

XMAS is more like it, What now fool the people to be happy from lies for one day and suffer the next 364 or till the next elections?

As they say in the STATES, ‘ NIGGER PLEASE’ STOP DREAMING , RIP VAN , MORE TRICK AND NO TREATS FOR XMAS,

13. @Norst the Invader

To repeat, at the people’s expense?

14. sometimes thats what it takes to kill off ‘social interest’ in Barbados.

15. ‘special interest’

16. To be replaced with ‘other’ special interest maybe?

17. Mr Watson Parkinson Avatar
    Mr Watson Parkinson

I’d e tumour back on Cuba..? Do we now have to eat humble pie and ask Cuba for forgiveness…!?

18. what do you think?

19. what about the latest S&P downgrade, how many has Sinckler presided over?

20. “Barbados has become the laughing stock around the region made so by the unwillingness of private sector entities to speak out about the lack of credibility of the government.”

And don’t forget the Integrity Legislation yet to be enacted by the DLP, but the politicians can sneak into parliament in the middle of the night and rig up a half-ass law to lock up their own people for posting on social media so they can cover up all their secrets, indiscretions and criminal acts.

Private sector has been in bed with the politicians helping them exploit their own people for too long……you cannot un-ring that bell.

21. @David

You gine fall for Norst the invader talking fooolishness? The same PM publicly expressed his confidence in Sinckler and as fas as I can recall Estwick was part of the Eager 11. The fact is that PM Stuart was and continues to be a failure, but Bajans love commess and Wonderland so let us all stew in the land of REALITY.

22. The Prime Minister , The Government , and the majority of the opposition need to take a basic course in logic and reasoning.Waiting for “Stuart”-ship from one man is akin to spitting up in the air and it landing in our faces.

23. Barbados same rating as Rwanda Lebanon etc….. still punching above its weight?????

24. david – the cat got you tongue? How many downgrades has Sinckler presided over? 1,2,3,4,5,6 or more? Can someone fact check?????

25. @Norst

Donville recently confirmed that the decisions taken by Sinckler are agreed to by the Cabinet.

26. David
    You are making a very marginal argument. We are the ones to be located on the far fringes of ‘the esoteric and the pragmatic’ – not you! LOL

You really think there could be one creative cell in the body of this PM. He is however the quintessential Bajan. Therefore, like likes like.

27. Barbados will continue to received downgrades (no surprise here) as it continues to face the mammoth challenges of tackling high debt!rebuilding and restructing a dysfunctional economy brought over from the previous administration.further adding to the spiral effect was the tourism sector a major financial producer of the economy which went bellied up due to lack of properinvestment and therfore unable to fight off the dismal performance handed by the down trends and patterns of the golbal economy.
    The focus of govt must to remain strong with purpose to rebuild putting measures in place which had eroded gains made and had negative effects on energy! Agricultureand Tourism and must not be directed by loose emotions to hinder !derail! and detach..

Feeling Dr. Edtwick pain must not be overlooked or scoffed at. However in the bigger picture no cabinet minister no matter how disilliusion felt by circumstances and events in his cabinet must not be goaded by outside influences whom so far has not be helpful in constructing but have formed destructive motives a s a method to alter and change.looking before he leaps would be the best advise taken in any actions Estwick might wish to take…have a nice day.

28. Ramblings of the highly meDicated!!

29. Standard and poors must be racist they seem to only give triple a ratings to white countries

30. The above post cannot be from the regular ac.

We are in deep trouble and these morons just do not care.

The stress of the job seems to be taking a toll on the Stinkliar. Is it me or did anyone else noticed that he seemed to have lost some of the weight and he looked pretty gaunt in that full picture in the paper. In the meanwhile the bandit chaser seem to have piled on a few pounds from the high living with all the invites from being in the MOT.

Looking for Fumble to take action is hoping in vain. My observation of the Fumble is that the ministers can do as they please as long as he stays PM. How else would you explain Estwick’s tantrums, leaking his cabinet letters to the press and then pretending that he dont know how the press got hold of them. Who else would tolerate Esther Byer Suckoo, in the competency field, she scores zero.

Barbadians, how much more are you going to sit down and take?

31. Who is the likes of Donville, Kellman, Stinkliar, Fumble and ac going to blame for this latest downgrade?

Never mind, the are not interested in what the rating agencies do! Their ratings are garbage according to the PM. His MOF is eminent enough for him and doing a great job

32. Sorry………..above should read…. who are.

33. It is all about having the confidence to succeed. Do we feel like we do? One blow after the next.

34. Listen wunna the man suffering from bad diabetes how wunna expect him to get aroused? Perhaps AC or the Donkey can try giving him a BJob !

35. islandgal246 December 20, 2014 at 1:48 PM #

Listen wunna the man suffering from bad diabetes how wunna expect him to get aroused? Perhaps AC or the Donkey can try giving him a BJob !
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………….
    No use asking his colleague Pastor Due-Rant, but the man should have enlisted Benny Hines help in raising the dead.

36. @ David the PM’s message can only be “pablum”.

What can he say that will inspire confidence when S & P has already spoken.,

Christmas and New Years messages will be laced with the word “hope” and a whole lot of mamby pamby bs.

Barbados has to “get lucky” because it is too late to evoke “confidence” in an obviously declining economy.

The “get lucky” is if Investors see possibilities for “profit” that is not apparent to us.

To all Bajans treat yourself and family to one day of joy and festive happiness. Forget your problems for one day.

Merry Christmas.

37. Sinckler mush have the skin of an elephant cause no many other people could fail so miserably and still opt not to do the respectful thing and resign.

38. After S&P’s latest downgrade, the only option for this Government to take , to give this country some little chance of getting back on its feet, is to take a couple thousands dollars daily out of the Oil Bonanza Slush Fund, and let Sinckler go around to the various Lotto Outlets and try our luck , using the same system we employed at the last election, Quick Pricks.

39. @Hants
    Christmas and New Years messages will be laced with the word “hope” and a whole lot of mamby pamby bs.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    And we all know that Hope, had owned Sanitary Engineering Works….. # 2 Cleaners.

40. LOLL Boy Blue yuh got me brekking up ROTFLMAO. Maybe we should ask Bushie to help raise the dead LOLL!

41. @ Norst the Invader December 20, 2014 at 3:02 PM #

Sinckler mush have the skin of an elephant cause no many other people could fail so miserably and still opt not to do the respectful thing and resign.

This is what happens when someone is in over their head and has to continue paint a false picture and put on a front to maintain delusions of grandeur and credibility to the masses .

However my belief that these individuals are not put in Ministries based on their technical and managerial competence but based on favorability and ‘other’ factors.

If you were running a $100 million company is there any one in that group one would hire as a CEO.

You have individuals who were one man bands or in a legal practice with less than 20 staff and they are put in charge of a company (economy) managing billions $ and tens of thousands of staff.

What one have is a recipe for continual disaster.

I am yet to meet a politician or lawyer that i would feel comfortable running a business where fiscal management, accountability and balancing budgets are required.

42. @ Islandgal
    Maybe we should ask Bushie to help raise the dead LOLL!
    Steupsss
    Woman, why you don’t stop releasing Bushie’s bedroom secrets nuh?
    When you go and let everyone know of bush tea’s reputation in that particular area how the hell will a single bushman be able to keep up with the demand…?

…bad enough that ac keeps going over to “Bush Tea at Large” and sending love notes and kisses …..without you letting on about the prowess of the “Tea” 🙂

43. Bushie tek care AC doan give yuh Clapengunya! LOLL YUH TWO TIMING BUSHMAN!

44. Bear in mind Sinckler is the mouthpiece of Cabinet, it is a collective, or suppose to be.

45. david, is it helpful to have the central bank make a stupid statement about the s&p downgrade not being justified?
    the PM must lead, he must act, he must make some change. we are slipping further and further into economic disaster.
    they cannot get the confidence until the economy starts to grow and the cannot get the growth until the deal with the debt cost. the debt interest cost must be addressed so that we can get the fiscal space to drive the growth.

46. the government, including the GOB seems to only be concerned with playing politics at every turn.

47. @Norst the Invader
    I am yet to meet a politician or lawyer that i would feel comfortable running a business where fiscal management, accountability and balancing budgets are required.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    A fellow on the block suggests that we put this present lot in government in charge of crime. And we all could then go to bed safely at nights, as they would ensure that like every other government entity in Barbados, that Crime does not pay.

48. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

From one crook to another.
    Barbados Today

Leroy Parris’ assets must be frozen, says Opposition Leader Owen Arthur.
    The Barbados Labour Party head said it could end up costing $350 million “to fix CLICO”, but he claimed the former CLICO boss was living large while policyholders and pensioners suffered.
    “Those who have profited improperly have to be pursued. Don’t make you (the people) alone pay, you know where the money is, some of its in Antigua, some of it is in St. John,” Arthur told supporters at a political meeting tonight at Haggatt Hall, St. Michael.
    “Pursue Parris, pursue Parris, Parris’ assets should be frozen,” he urged.
    “I am saying that part of the solution must be to pursue Parris and what he got and to pursue David Thompson’s estate and what he left. The BLP will support any reasonable steps or proposals brought by the government. The time for foolishness has passed.
    “The govern must feel that they can trust the government and if this is not fixed it will cause a great disruption in this country. If the government cannot honor its obligations, if it has put itself in a box of bricks, if it cannot come up with all of the money to pay all of the principal, come and level with the people. Tis is a serious matter, people have to make provision for their future.
    “People who have insurance policies must be assured that when those insurance policies mature that they must get them,” he added.
    Arthur said a part of the CLICO solution would be to move assets held by CLICO Holdings “under the ownership of the life company so it can meet it obligations”.
    “I feel that after the assets have been removed to CLICO to settle the insurance part that any other assets should be put at the disposal of those who have pensions arrangements with CLICO, and that the government must tell people whose pensions are invested with CLICO…how much money they are going to get back and how much money they are prepared to put up,” he advised.
    Arthur called the CLICO debacle “the greatest of robbery that has taken place in the Caribbean since the days of the pirates and the buccaneers”.
    “The CLICO issue is not just only about Leroy Parris and David Thompson, the CLICO issue involves the entire DLP, it is precisely the reason why the DLP does not merit to be returned as a government in this country again,” he asserted.
    “The DLP has created a culture and an environment in this country within which a debacle such as which has taken place at CLICO could take route and be fostered and nurtured in this country.”(SC)

49. blah!blah!blah!

What is the purpose of the Gov.of the Central Bank quarrelling with S&P.Far from it the Governor should take from and draw from the negative outlook a determination to work harder and prove S&P wrong in the future instead of publicly injecting needless quarells which in effect gives the opposition more food for yardfowl perception and speculation while providing a platform where all doom and gloom actors can dance to the tune of Negativity
    In such instances staying on point and highliting the positive is the best and formidable approach
    S&P is not barbados enemy however it does have a job which demands an unbaised approach and use the analysis received as a projectory for the financialmarket
    This govt should not find itself caught up in the whirlwind and the war of words with financial giants but should take the negative report as a learning tool and a foundation for wanting to do better