The CL Financial saga continues to remind Caricom how inept our governance system is and our attempt at regional harmonization.
CL Financial – Bait & Switch

62 responses to “CL Financial – Bait & Switch”
-
@David,
My position has been that the TRINIDADIAN owner was responsible for the Clico debacle but the Bajan managers may still be “accessories” and complicit in the demise of Clico.
I hope that the ordinary investors get back their money.
Those who invested in the “pie in the sky executive bs took a high risk for a great reward and they my be big losers.
-
@ Hants
Do you mean to tell me that CLICO directors Parris, Thornhill, Anthony Ellis, Woodbine Davis, QC, Leslie Haynes, QC, Elridge Thompson, Adrian Lorde, Basil Springer, Edrick Griffith and Vishnu Ramlogan are all “accessories” and are complicit” in this financial crime?
You must be mistaken.
You actually mean to say that these outstanding members of our community, including Green Verbs Parris, two Queens Counsel of impeccable social standing, de udder fellows and de leading Change Management Cuntsultant Dr. Basil Springer a man who does comment in de newspapers every Sundey en does start he column wid de Scriptures, is actually a part uh dese shenanigans?
Wunna peeple so does try to bring down dese outstanding pillars uh we community wid comments like dese…shame pun you doah
-
Let thank God for BU , As PLANTATIONS DEEDS WARNED ALL THOSE WHO GOT SICK OF POSTINGS , TELLING YOU ALL AHEAD OF TIME AND STILL TALKING , TO WHAT THE REAL DEAL IS , AND WHY ALONG WITH THE WHO,
TO HAVE A COUNTRY YOU NEED LAND, PEOPLE, CONSTITUTION , FLAG, LAWS, ENFORCEMENT . POLICE AND THE COURTS SYSTEM, JAILS TO PUT THE CROOKS IN,
AS NOW ALL CAN SEE ALL PARTS OF THIS IS MASSIVE FRAUD , WORST THAN MADDOFF AND SIR ALLEN STANFORD,
THIS IS THE ROOTS OF ALL OF BARBADOS PROBLEM , FROM THE TIME THEY STARTED TAKING LAND FROM QUEEN BEATIRCE HENRY AND VIOLET BECKLES ,
NOW ITS TIME TO PAY THE PRICE OF THE COAST OF MASSIVE LAND FRAUD ,
CLICO , SAGICOR AND OTHER LAWYERS , MINISTERS , POLICE AND JUDGES, WILL HAVE TO ANSWER TO THE MESS, AUDIT, AUDIT, AUDIT THE TIDE HAVE CHANGE, -
CLICO move
SANKA PRICE,
Added 01 February 2015

Leroy Parris
MORE ARTICLES
- Seau gets posthumous election Read More
- Up to Stuart Read More
- Miller out to make good Read More
- PEOPLE & THINGS: Monstrous perversion of common sense Part II Read More
- THE BIG PICTURE: Perceptions: Positive, negative Read More
- FIRING LINE: Je suis Charlie! Read More
- Motivation takes dance prize Read More
- Aussie newspaper taken to task over obit Read More
- Lily Tomlin stars in Grandma Read More
- CLICO move Read More
- Death shift Read More
- Fortress hope Read More
- VIDEO: Prime Minister Freundel Stuart on exchange rate Read More
- BARBADOS EMPLOYERS’ CONFEDERATION: Where is the management, labour cooperation? Read More
- TOURISM MATTERS: Traveller trends in the British market Read More
A HIGH COURT ACTION has been started by Clico International Life (Clico) through its judicial manager Deloitte Consulting Limited, to recover $3.333 million from Leroy Parris, Branlee Consulting Services and the estate of late Prime Minister David Thompson.
Related articles
The claim form, 99/2015, was filed on Thursday. It says that Parris and Branlee, both of Dayrells Heights, St Michael, and the estate of Thompson, represented by his widow, Mara, should account to Clico for that money.
Parris is the former chairman of Clico International Life Insurance Limited and Clico Holdings Barbados Limited (CHBL), while David Thompson was the attorney for the company.
According to the filed statement of the claim, Clico International Life Insurance Limited is alleging that on January 16, 2009, Parris “in breach of fiduciary duty and/or in breach of trust” procured a Clico cheque, number 92, in the amount of $3 333 000 to Thompson & Associates.
Please read the full story in today’s Sunday Sun, or in the eNATION edition.
-
In today’s news we see the judicial manager for Clico has listed in an affidavit to recoup 3.3 million paid illegally to Parris the following,Parris allegedly agreed with the late Thompson (deceased) “he would produce a false invoice for the payment”. Based on the foregoing we have to induct Thomspon into the Lawyers in the News, posthumously of course.
On Sunday, 1 February 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:
-
“I will not, cheat or steal”
Pathways to Progress
-
One by one the DLP M Ps and Yard Ducks will fall from the position that was bought with clico policyholders money, THE CRUSE IS ON THEM
-
Mara Thompson’s appearance on the litigious radar will definitely make things a tad interesting.
Oh what a tangle web we weave when we try so very hard to deceive, That transaction on the Bath edifice between Mara and Parris’ wife still in play?
-
……fa real, now these fella really fanning TIME for January 2016 to come….the day they all become pensionable for life …at the expense of hard working Bajans.
-
Looks like the Opposition will have to stage a walk out on the Deputy Speaker as well, whenever ,or if ever, the Speaker Michael Carrington has reason to excuse himself. Handling stolen items is just as bad as actually stealing. Another Member of Parliament for a Downgrade.
Words like Honourable and August should now be relegated to the Calypso tents, or Dodds . But true to form, there is some honour among thieves. -
Some lawyer will be able to buy a Bentley from this case. The legal fees are going to be “sweet”.
-
Don’t be surprised to hear a “leak” to turn these inswinging yorkers to fine leg.
Any guesses as to which lawyers may be having withdrawal symptoms?
Don’t answer that. Just wait fuh de spinners.